Reading Reviews for The Willow Tree
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Karou_Marauder Pearls and Silver Filigree

9th July 2014:
Hiya!

This is quite a mysterious beginning. How did Hugo get there? At first I was thinking accidental magic, but then I remembered that you can't Apparate even accidentally in Hogwarts. Your explanation was much better, anyway :P

The fact that there's STRANGE INITIALS on the OLD ACCESSORIES makes it even more intriguing. Antiques make everything mysterious, don't ya think?

Ooh, Forbidden Forest...spooky! You describe Hugo's feelings well, and also how the Forest traps him with foliage.

Hm. First I thought she was a ghost, then a nymph-type thing, but no! She's a vampire, hehe. Silly Hugo.

It was all a dream anyway. Sometimes I think that's taking the easy way out, but it works really well here!

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

Author's Response: Hello!

I like to write mysterious things, for some reason. They never actually seem mysterious to me until I go back and proofread, and then it's like, "Oh wow, I really did not give a lot of information about this!" This story was a lot like that. :P

Antiques are cool. They've got a past, and sometimes the past haunts the future. :)

Lots of spooky things! Yes, of course she's a vampire--because why not? :) And yeah, the dream-thing was taking the easy way out, mostly because I had a word limit for this story and I didn't want to get too far into a story and then have to cut it off abruptly. I actually wouldn't mind turning this into a novel or short story because in my head, Hugo eventually meets the vampire girl in person. But that's for another time. :)

Thanks for your review!!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #2, by lumos_knox Pearls and Silver Filigree

4th July 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Ravenclaw Blue vs Bronze review tag.

I think this is a very beautiful story. Your descriptions are really spot on and give so much more insight.

The mystery girl was a very big mystery. I didn't know where the story was going to go. Then, when I read the vampire line, I was like o_o. I didn't guess at all. I actually thought it actually happened to Hugo. Fantastic twist ending.

I love the stories where the main character goes on an adventure to find it's only a dream. You've written it really well, building up all this mystery, and only half solving it in the end which leaves the reader to keep thinking about it afterwards. There's very good technique in here.

Everything goes into such detail, which brings me back to description. I'm transported to the Forest, I'm feeling what Hugo's feeling, I'm seeing what Hugo's seeing. It takes serious skill for authors to be able to get this right and you've got it straight on.

You lead me to believe the girl would be really nice, and the line "we'll be the best of friends" totally got me. Then, that twist ending. Fantastic.

Of course, you got Professor Binns right. His drone would put anyone to sleep. Hugo's friendship with Lorcan Scamandander is cool. I like that next-gen friendship.

All in all, a very nice story. Loved it!

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for your review!! I'm so sorry that it took me so long to respond!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! I'm always so worried that my descriptions are off or aren't quite enough, so reading that you thought they were good just makes me smile.

Yes, the dream ending. I took that path, knowing that it was a bit of a cop-out, but I actually ended up liking the way it turned out. It gave me an idea for a bigger story about Hugo and the mystery girl, but until I have time to write it, it will remain an idea. :) It's good to hear that you liked the build-up of the mystery!

Yep, the girl isn't nice at all. In my head, she's this really dark, awful vampire--someone haunted by her human past, seeking revenge for what happened to her.

Professor Binns was probably the easiest character for me to write. He's so drone-like and boring. I love him. :)

Thank you so much for your sweet review!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #3, by Red_headed_juliet Pearls and Silver Filigree

10th June 2014:
Bahahaha! Ok, Now I wish I had reviewed this as I read it.

I love the description in the introduction. In fact, I thought your first sentence was quite beautiful, and you managed to keep up with the wonderful description throughout the entire piece.

As far as I can remember, the subtle increase of creepiness in the tone was very nicely complimented by the inner thoughts of 'the scholar, not an athlete' Hugo Weasley. I really enjoyed all of it. I mainly use dialogue to show personality, so seeing something like this is always refreshing. +]

I really started to creep out when she was standing there, and I went through a whole list of creatures that it could be before

the absolutely perfect ending. I love things like this, and you really side-swipped me with it.

Thank you for a great read! Until next time!
B vs B

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for reading it back in April and for reviewing it now!

Awww, thanks! I'm always /so/ afraid of how much description I use. I worry that I don't use enough to set the scene properly, so it's nice to hear that I set this story up well!

"Increase of creepiness," hah!! It makes me happy that you found it increasingly creepy! To be honest, I have trouble writing dialogue that sounds okay to my own ears, so inner thoughts are my favorite way to show personality!

Oh wow, you liked the ending?! That's so wonderful! Thank you! I felt like I was flaking out and writing a lame ending, but in truth, I sort of want to turn this story into a novel. So it might not be the ending after all...

We'll see. :)

Yes! Til next time! Thanks so much for reviewing. :D

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 Pearls and Silver Filigree

20th May 2014:
Hi!

I'm here for the BvB review battle.

This was really, really well written. It was clever and well thought out. I didn't even see any typos, so great job with the editing.

Hugo as a Ravenclaw. That is genius! You wrote him so well, with the small details that showed us he was an academic through and through. From the way he *needed* to know about the girl to the fact that he was out of breath from jogging a few yards, just characterized him so well. He obviously looks like Ron, with the long nose and tall frame. Your writing is nearly flawless, that these details are gleaned from the passage without being overly obvious.

But the story! I want to know more! Was it a vampire? A ghost vampire? Did Hugo really dream it - or did she just make him *think* it was a dream and now he belongs to her in some magical way? I feel like the name is important, but it isn't ringing any bells... not sure.

Thanks again for this great story!

~Beth

Author's Response: Hi!!! Thanks for your review!

Yeah, I'm sort of a freak when it comes to grammar, so I'm super pleased that you mentioned that I didn't make any typos. Despite my best efforts, I always seem to miss something, but I didn't on this one! :D

Yes! Claws=the BOMB DIGGITY!! Hugo is one of my personal favorites, but maybe that's because he's not as prevalent in fanfiction as the Potters or Rose and Scorpius are. His lack of athleticism sort of mirrors my own (why go running when you could be reading?!), and it's those little things that make him who he is: an inquisitive, rule-following sort of dude.

Nearly flawless?!?! Oh, you are TOO kind... I'm blushing! ;) Thank you so much!!! That's one of the best compliments I've ever gotten, no joke!

Honestly, I want to know more about the story, too!! I wrote it with the intention of making it a one-shot, but it ends in such a bad place... I want to make it a novel if I ever find the time. :)

As for the name... Funny story: There is no particular significance to the initials except for the fact that A) I wanted to conceal the identity of the girl, and B) I wanted the initials to spell something sharp and pointy. :D

Thank you so, so much for this great review!!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #5, by LightLeviosa5443 Pearls and Silver Filigree

20th April 2014:
Hi! Sorry that this didn't submit, what's weird is I got the page that said your review has been submitted.

Anyways! This was amazing! I really loved your use of a minor character in Hugo. It was a great change from everyones use of bigger more popular next-gen characters. I also really liked the way that you had him be a Prefect, studious Ravenclaw who never broke the rules and was a bit of an introvert. It was really fun.

I had a feeling that Hugo might be dreaming, in the beginning, but when he found the mirror and then the comb, I thought oh maybe not. His thoughts were also really cognitive. I think you did a great job with this.

It was super fantastic, and I really loved reading it! This is definitely a story that you should be wicked proud of!!!

xoxo Sarah ♥

P.S. Team Luna Diggory is the best!!

Author's Response: Hello!! Sorry that it's been forever since you wrote this review...

Thank you so much!!! I personally think that Hugo is AWESOME, and I really want him to be a Claw (because Claws are cool!). He's not a typical guy (I hope), because I'm a girl and I have no idea how to write from a male perspective, but I tried with him, I really did. I think that he's adorable with his introverted, rule-following personality. He's like a less annoying Percy! ;D

Yes yes yes!!! At a loss of how to end it, I made everything become a dream! (A bit of a sell out, I know, but I was under a time crunch!) :) Thank you so much for your lovely compliments!!

Funny you should say that... I actually am sort of proud of this story, even though I literally threw it together and posted with only a few days to spare. I sort of want to turn it into a novel (when I find the time, which might never happen...).

Thanks again for your review!!!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragon Pearls and Silver Filigree

18th April 2014:
Howdy! Since I am reading all the entries in the Eggstravaganza before voting, I figured it's only right that I go ahead and leave reviews as well...so here I am!

I thought you gave us a nice portrait of Hugo in this piece. In the midst of a dull lecture in History of Magic and then entwined in a small mystery were helpful bits of information about him as the main character that helped us understand why he took the actions he did (however foolish).

The descriptions were also good, particularly of the mirror Hugo found and of the actions and appearances of characters and settings you included. You also did not shy away from stronger words, which is always a plus in my book because it really helps put me more in the story and in the case of our friend J.A.G., made me more understanding when Hugo became captivated.

I will confess to a slight disappointment that it involved a seemingly vampiric creature in the end. I suppose I've just got a general malaise about such creatures now and it would have been nice to see you bring those descriptive skills to bear on a being of your own creation, but c'est la vie.

Regardless, I think you did a good job with a mysterious plot in a one-shot format, especially given the time crunch you were dealing with so bravo!

Author's Response: Hello!!! Thank you so much for your review, and I'm so sorry that the response was so late!

I'm glad you thought my portrayal of Hugo was nice!! I wanted to establish his character in a small amount of words so that I could carry on with the action of the story. Yes, he was quite foolish, but at least it was a dream... right? :P

Thank you!! I always feel like I lack descriptive skills, so whenever I get a chance, I go crazy trying to come up with words to describe exactly how something looks in my head. :) Strong words are better than weak ones, and it's great that you thought I put some of those in this story!

Yeah... I'm sorry about that whole quasi-vampire thing... To be honest, I pulled this story together with only a few days to spare, so the vampire thing was kind of a cop out. This one-shot is still an open plunny in my head, though. I sort of want to turn it into a novel!! (And then maybe I can turn that "vampire" into something cooler!)

Thank you so much for your review!! I enjoyed reading it when I first received it, and I also loved responding to it!! :D

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #7, by keyty Pearls and Silver Filigree

18th April 2014:
Aw it was just a dream. Is it mean of me to say you copped out? :P Vampire Hugo would've been so interesting! But I love the eeriness of it all. It's so intriguing throughout the story. I kind of wish it was longer, but I know there was a limit on the words. Anyway, I think this was really interesting. It's a unique approach, to make the person a vampire. I would be interested in reading more about her. I loved reading it! Good job :)

Author's Response: Hahahahahahahahaha, your review made me laugh a lot. Thanks for that! :)

Yes, it was just a dream. It's totally not mean of you to say that I copped out, because I did. When you have a word limit, it's a bit difficult to make a saga about Vampire Hugo. (However, when I started getting into the meat of the story, I got so many plunnies. Maybe I can turn this into a novel one day?)

Yes, I wish it was longer, too! I want to add chapters about Hugo's nerdiness and things like that. For instance, why did the disappearing girl choose him?! Even I don't know the answer to that one! I would like to know more, too. ;)

Thank you so very much!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarik Pearls and Silver Filigree

18th April 2014:
Wow, what a mesmerising story! I really loved how you used the third prompt for this story; really, you've created such a strange and mysterious atmosphere throughout the fic, and I suppose it's really fitting, since Hugo is pretty much wandering through an unsettling dream world.

You have a very good eye for detail, and I absolutely loved your vivid opening descriptions and how inviting the lake and the flowery lawn and the sunlight outside must have been to Hugo, trapped in a stuffy old History of Magic class.

The mysterious girl had a really ethereal air about her. There was something almost mythical about her presence, and the way Hugo sees her as some kind of nymph who leads him into the dark forest...and that last part of his dream was such a twist! So was Hugo dreaming of a vampire? It makes sense why she would lure him to a dark secluded place! I love how you described the word 'jag' as 'short, staccato' - lovely use of diction there.

I'm really glad for Hugo that this is one of those dream fics! And I get the feeling that he'll always prefer sitting in boring history of magic classes instead of wandering about the Forbidden Forests. I also loved the way you emphasised his Ravenclaw qualities, and how he feels that he has to adopt some of his cousins' Gryffindor traits in order to deal with the situation. I liked the emphasis on his lack of athleticism, respect for rules and so on. Great characterisation!

This was a lovely and very fascinating story to read! Great job, and Happy Easter to you. And Team Luna Diggory for the win! ♥

-teh

Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: Hi, teh! Thanks so much for your review! It's so detailed and marvelous--you're so sweet for writing all of this for me. :)

The third prompt really caught my eye, so I had to sit down and come up with something weird and wacky for it. Hugo is kind of an Alice in Wonderland figure in a way--my goal was for him to forget that he was formerly in History of Magic and to become immersed in the dream world, but I'm not quite satisfied with what I've done (editing will happen!).

Awww, thank you so very much!! I'm always afraid that I don't use ENOUGH detail, so I really concentrated on the description of the grounds. I got inspired from the beautiful weather and greenery of the place where I live. :)

I really wanted the girl to seem otherworldly and from some bygone time--so I'm glad that she came across as ethereal to you! She's definitely persuasive with the objects that she drops to lure him in. Originally, I had no idea what I wanted her to be, but in the end I went for the vampire angle. But definitely not a Tw*l*ght-esque one. Yuck. :) Ooh, diction! Thank you! I like describing things as "staccato" because it's a musical term, and "jag" just begs to be described as such. I also thought of "jag" as a biting word... Which is kind of what ended up happening in the dream. :D

Oh yes, it's probably better for his health in general that it wasn't reality. He's not an adventurous kid, and maybe that dream will keep him from falling asleep in class. Like me, he is NOT an athlete or a brave person, so summoning his cousin's Grffindor-ness was quite a feat! Thank you! (I can't say that enough...)

HOPPY Easter! :D Team Luna Diggory will forever reign supreme! :)

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #9, by DracosGirl012 Pearls and Silver Filigree

18th April 2014:
Cute... But very odd!! Not a bad story!! I rather liked it, as I have been reading way too many serious fanfictions lately, so I actually enjoyed it!! Good job!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for your review! It was quite odd to write, but I really enjoyed writing it. I'm so glad you liked it!! :D

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login