Reading Reviews for Arise
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by happyanon Closure

3rd August 2014:
It's beautiful. It was so beautiful.. dear you've made me cry so hard. Oh Ava and Albus.. i can't even.. i have no words but beautiful. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. Sorry that it made you cry, but that makes me feel like I did my job, so yay? Haha. Seriously, thanks for the review. Hope you have a fantastic day. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by HPFAN Closure

1st July 2014:
This is such a good chapter. Very sweet. Very nice way to say goodbye to a character. I wondered how Al would say goodbye to her and this was a very sweet moment. Charlotte finally realizing that her fathers house is no longer her home is a fantastic way to show that her life is no longer tied to those who have caused her so much pain. Thank you again for the story and this chapter. Although I may stay away from this story until the edits are finished on "Risen" just to keep in the moments of the story, I will still come back and read everything you write, I just get too involved in one story to be fully into another. Thanks again

Author's Response: Hi!

I fully understand not wanting to read anymore with this story... yet. :)

I wasn't going to write anything for it until after the edits for Risen were done, but this chapter came to me so I decided to add it. Most likely, there won't be updates with this anytime soon.

Thank you for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Derek Christmas Eve

9th June 2014:
Please update. Have been waiting 6 weeks for a new chapter. Can't believe you killed off the sister and albus's love... Poor fella is still in the grieving processes.

Author's Response: Hi. Thanks for the review... I put this story on hold to go back and work on the original story, but I do have material I can work on. I'll try and post something soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by hplover28 Christmas Eve

8th May 2014:
I have never reviewed anything...ever! But I had to with your story. I've read quite a few stories on here and I have enjoyed most of them but yours was/is the best so far. Part of it is probably because you just seem to be a natural writer and your writing style is so easy to read (and grammatically correct)!I really love it! Anyways,I read both Risen and Arise in less than 2 days and I really hope that you keep writing this story because I have fallen in love with your characters. Looking forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Hi Hi!

thank you thank you thank you! You're brining a much needed smile to my face. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. keep going back to Risen so you don't miss out on all the new stuff and edits going on. I'll be doing more with Arise when Risen is done too- you're not going to want to miss what I had planned for Arise. :D

Again, thank you so so much for your kind words.
-Laura


 Report Review

Review #5, by HPFAN Christmas Eve

15th April 2014:
I am so glad we got to see what Al was thinking about Ava. I almost feel worse for him than I do for Charlotte. It is in interesting dynamic between the two of them. A best friend and a sibling both consoling each other, sharing information the other didn't have. As for the happier moments I thought the entire game night was light-heartedly cute. The interaction between all of them was quite reminiscent of previous story which was one of the things that drew me in to begin with. The question I found most intriguing was the tree one. The main reason I say this is that I was just asked this on a job interview. Apparently the way you answer is quite telling of your personality. It also made me wonder why Al said Bonsai? Anyways, Thank you again for writing, as always I look forward to your next chapter and to seeing where everyones lives end up.

Author's Response: Hi hi! I wrote that chapter to accommodate some requests for his point of view. So I don't feel like it was my best chapter, but I'm glad you liked it.:)

I've been asked in interviews before what animal I would consider myself most like- both professionally and personally. It always throws me a loop when they ask questions like that- but I do believe it is very telling. It's also one of the actual questions in that game. haha.

I'm doing some big edits for Risen right now- including adding quite a few more chapters and polishing things- so if you want to- check back soon and read it again? I'm begging... ignore me. Ha.

Hope you have a good day. Thanks for all the reviews, I look forward to hearing from you. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by AIP Alexander Exams

13th April 2014:
Hi! I was planning on posting a review at the end of Risen: Out of the Ashes, but i guess i'll answer your desperate plea at the end of this chapter :p
So my ideas on the chapter (and stories)... it think the chapter is great! it gives a short account of key events in their lives, and shows us how she deals with the stress of taking her exams (her being a 'Claw and everything) and how James is able to calm her done and bring out a happier cheerful side, eliminating that stress. Dom as always, loves making things awkward.
Now on a sadder note; I think Risen: Out of the Ashes had the potencial to be one of the best stories on the site, but i believe you left too many blank spaces you won't be able to fill out with this story. Some examples are: the object James gave away that he thought ruined his relationship with his father, how Asher found out about James and Charlotte's relationship and how he coped with it, the struggles of living with James in the summer, how he gave her the promise ring, the outcome of her skirmishes with avery and how she would react if she ever saw him outside of school, if she ever saw her father again. the list goes on and on, and you could have easily written 10-20 long chapters about the story or maybe even more. The reason i point this out is because you have an amazing gift that permits you to bring your characters to life and create an awesome plot line which gave you a great versatility when writing your chapters (you could alter the story as you pleased and it would still be very interesting). Your writing is easy to read and overall very enjoyable. I know how hard it is to keep the story going when you have so many other things to do, but i find it a shame that others won't realize how good you can be if you are not trying your best (which is how i categorize your last 3-4 chapters of your last story and the ones you've posted until now of this story[including "A goodbye"]). the chapters yo have posted until now are very interesting but i know you can do so much better (you've done it before!).
Anyway... can't wait to see how you finish your sequel and i'm eagerly anticipating your next story!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for the review. I actually plan on going back and doing editing for Risen, which will include more detail and longer scenes, as well as possible extra chapters. My life this past year, while writing this had been pretty hectic and all over the place (including a move and starting a new job) and I know the story reflects that. Risen will be flushed out a lot more, because I know I have it in me to make that story a lot better. I may or may not add a lot more to Arise- time will tell.
I really do appreciate the review... writers need constructive criticism as much as they need praise. I will try and answer all those things you brought up... and my plan for editing Risen will answer most of those. I hope. :)
Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #7, by HPFAN A Goodbye

13th April 2014:
Yep, hate you now, never commenting on another chapter. Not really, that was just a very serious chapter and I wanted to start off joking. So, where to start? It was, as you said, very heavy and quite sad. I feel like Ava's regression into drugs and ultimately her death is something that most people wont understand. The fact that she had a future, still had a family, and still had good grades weren't enough. Abandonment issues strike a very deep nerve that takes a lot of hard work to overcome. Unfortunately it is often younger teens, riddled with hormones, yet lacking the maturity to understand them, that are effected the most severely. I keep thinking back to the earlier chapters of R:OotA and how different Ava's character was and the journey she went through and I can't help think of Al and how he dealt with such a loss. Its a heartbreaking aspect of life when someone so young is lost. Once again thank you for your writing and for the chapter. I will be holding you to that scouts honor.

Author's Response: My favorite reviewer! :) Sorry to make you hate me. I'll try not to do it again.

I'm glad you understood why I did that. I seemed like the right thing to do. Personally, I understand quite well the path that those in pain walk. I grew up in a difficult situation. My brother went one way (Ava's way- though he's still around and doing well) and I went Charlotte's way. We write what we know, what can I say? People make choices they don't mean to, and sometimes you don't get to come back from it.

I added the next chapter (should be up later today- hopefully) on a whim... it goes a bit into Al's feelings, so I hope you enjoy that. You and one other person commented on wanting to know that, so I added a whole chapter to get into it a bit.

And unless I get another whim... the next chapters are going to remain very light hearted. Those should be more enjoyable. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by 2Focusd A Goodbye

13th April 2014:
I didn't think it was too bad and it did fit. I was hoping we would get Al's reaction n see whether he had moved completely from Ava or not

 Report Review

Review #9, by Derek Graduation

12th April 2014:
Haven't reviewed before on your story. Awesome sequel and continuing the story. Hope you can slow it down a bit and write more with interaction with the group. Thanks am a fan!

 Report Review

Review #10, by HPFAN Graduation

12th April 2014:
GGAAHHH that was soo awesome and I have the dumbest grin on my face right now. I know you know why and all I can say is thank you. On to the chapter? Yes I think so. I was hardly surprised when James came to pick up Charlotte in the morning. I knew he would want to spend as much time with her today, what I didn't expect was the camera, it was a nice touch. I loved how this chapter showed that James no longer needs to worry about Charlotte, its out of pure love that he wants to spend time with her. The graduation ceremony was spectacular and it kind of reminded me of my own. That was the only day that I ever felt nostalgia for a school and I was only there for 4 years. I could never imagine spending 7 yrs in one school. The post graduation conversation, as you already now made me quite happy. I was a little sad to see that Ava didn't show up at all but that is who she is. As always thank you for the chapter and the writing I look forward to each and every word you write, both chapters and responses.

Author's Response: I totally meant to credit you for that idea... but I was falling asleep as I posted that chapter and forgot. My bad. But I'm glad you're happy. It was a brilliant idea.

I was home-schooled for many years and never really ever got that attachment to one school, but being the massive HP fan I am, I have an attachment to Hogwarts. It was easy to imagine missing it and how it would feel to say goodbye to that school.

There's probably going to be another five or six chapters and then I'll be done with this (I think) and onto my other two fanfics, while I'm also trying to work on two novels. Writing had taken over my life.

Don't hate me for the next chapter.



 Report Review

Review #11, by HPFAN Exams

11th April 2014:
This was cute chapter. I am very glad to hear that Ava is at least trying, whether or not it works is still to be determined. The rubber duck quote caught me off guard and I may or may not have spit a little bit on my computer. Then the Patronus part, I feel like an owl pairs well with not only her intelligence but personality as well. It was interesting to see it mentioned I always wondered what the next-gen Patronus' would be. As always a terrific chapter and thank you for writing. It's actually funny that you mentioned you stalled a bit on this chapter because I can never tell with your writing. I read it as if you sat down and just wrote away, words spilling from your finger tips. It always seems so natural. I look forward to each and every chapter.

Author's Response: Heh... that sort of is how I write actually. So I guess I'm not as bad as I think I am. Curse of a writer really is to think everything we do sucks- no matter how much time and thought we put into it. Just posted the next chapter, so that should be available to read soon. Glad you're enjoying everything. Makes all the doubt worthwhile to read all the nice reviews. :) Gah- seriously- thank you from the bottom of my fangirl heart.

 Report Review

Review #12, by HPFAN Downward Spiral

11th April 2014:
I consider myself quite lucky that you decided to go the longer, multiple chapter route with this story. Selfishly I was hoping for it all along. Now, onto the chapter itself. Is psychology a profession in the wizard world? Since this is your story can you make it one? I feel like the more Charlotte grows and matures the better she gets at helping people. Her intelligence and experience with suffering seem to make a combination perfect for listening/advising. And Ava? poor, poor Ava. It's hard to be that age and be abandoned by parents. Yearning for someone to blame while simultaneously doing whatever you can to forget about the pain. Sometimes as much as people want to help its never really about anyone else. Its about how you deal with yourself first and foremost. I know I will enjoy whatever you have planned because you are writing it. Thank you again for the chapter and for writing. It is always a pleasure to read your work

Author's Response: Hi.

You know, I somehow never considered psychology as a profession in the wizarding world. but that might have to change for the sake of the story. Charlotte would be ideally suited to it.

I've stalled a bit on the next chapter, but hopefully i'll finish it soon. Crossing my fingers that will happen today. :)

Thanks again so so much for the lovely review. Means to absolute world to me.


 Report Review

Review #13, by HPFAN Reunion on a Train

10th April 2014:
I love that you are doing this. It's like a snapshot of whats going on in their lives. Its a perfect way to show how they have changed. I love that Charlotte is maturing and learning that she can't control peoples choices. I doubt she will ever truly let her families decisions go but its nice to see her coping better. I also like that Harper grew up a bit and started to make her own decisions. Great chapter as always. Thank you for writing and I look forward as always to see what you have in store next

Author's Response: Hi again, my favorite reviewer!

I'm glad you're enjoying this story too. You got lucky. Originally I was just going to try and do a one-shot (though a very long one) and the more I think about Charlotte and James, the more ideas come to me about their life after sixth year. Looking like there will be at least six chapters at this point. Hope you enjoy those too. Thanks so so much for reviewing and for reading. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login