Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Forever and a Day
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Santa Claus Forever and a Day

1st January 2015:
Ho ho ho, and hello again, Sarah! :)

I have to tell you, that of all the stories I've read by you so far, this one is my favorite. It's just so gorgeous, so raw and open and honest and beautiful.

That opening paragraph just about killed me. What a way to begin a story. I love being inside of Angelina's head here as we go through her discovering her baby. And when you brought Fred and George into the picture, oh man. My heart aches for George in that moment when you mention the baby is going to be a boy and how he cries. And then you say this: You were Fred from the start. - The feels! Gah! Perfect.

The second section was just as wonderful. I love this line: Like maybe for the first time in years everything was completely whole again. - So powerful. And I'm a huge fan of George, so to see him feeling whole again with this child named for his brother just makes me both smile and tear up.

Section three is so sweet and so hopeful. I love reading about all the things this little baby will grow up to become and how very needed he will be by all the people whose lives he will touch. It's such a lovely sentiment.

Part four is so bittersweet! Gah! The feels! I'm not a mother, but I can imagine how one might be overwhelmed with both sadness and pride to see their child growing into their own and not needing them as much as they once did, but still loving them with your whole heart and being just as there for them as always, even if they might not need you quite as much anymore.

The next two sections are, again, so lovely. It just makes my heart clench to read all about Angelina's unconditional love for Fred and how she will always, no matter what, be there for him. And then those last two sentences are the perfect ending to this gorgeous story. I love the way the title ties into it, too.

Once again, you've mastered the art of the song fic. The lines you chose were perfectly selected and placed and reflected in the surrounding writing. I also love the simplicity of both the song lyrics and the story itself. It made for a very beautiful, refreshing story that isn't weighed down by heavy description, but light and stripped down and real and poignant. This is my favorite story by you so far. Really, really well done, Sarah.

Happy New Year,
Santa Claus

 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heaven Forever and a Day

7th May 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Aww! So cute! I think I'm reading all your cute stories through review tag :P This was just so adorable.

I really like how you used motherly love as opposed to romantic love. It is not the kind of love I expected with this song, but it fits rather well. It's as if the lyrics of the song are questions Angelina is asking herself, and she's answering.

I felt a little teary at George's reaction. Of course he'd think of Fred. And Angelina is so wonderful in her support! It was a nice, subtle touch, reminding us of their relationship.

Lovely to read :)

Author's Response: Hehe, Review is handy for that, huh? I'm so glad you liked it! This is one of my favorite stories that I've written. I think. i don't know. I like a lot of them. I appreciate the lovely review! Thanks so much!

xoxo Sarah ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by Aphoride Forever and a Day

13th April 2014:
Hey there - dropping by from the Blue v Bronze Review Battle! :)

So I loved this. This was so absolutely, completely sweet. The lyrics worked so well with the story and the idea and theme, because the relationship between a parent and child is so different to any other relationship in life, you know? And this really reflects the idea of absolute, unconditional love that that relationship has.

Angelina's character is so sweet and caring, and I loved the references to George, and how you avoided talking about Fred I, you know, because a lot of people compare the two and it's nice to read something where they don't do that.

Your details are so great! I loved how you included little, everyday kind of things in this as well as the big things - becoming a parent and husband and growing up and those sorts of things. The knee-scrapes and things were great too include too - and they really added so much to the story, filling it out so nicely so that even though it was short it didn't really feel that short, you know?

The writing in this was so good, too. It's really succinct and clear and lovely. It flows so well throughout and it's so cute and every word feels so well chosen - there's not one which feels out of place, which is great since it's so short, you know?

So yeah, I really liked this! I'm so glad I read this! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hey Aph!!

So this review was really sweet!! ♥

I'm so glad that you liked the way the lyrics worked with the story, and how I showed the relationship between mother and son. I also am so glad that you loved the George references, and lack of Fred references. I wanted to show that even though George and Angelina were still healing from the loss of him, the son kind of patched up that empty hole.

I'm just so flattered that you liked it, and I actually had to add the part at the beginning because it was too short, so I'm glad you didn't think it was TOO short!!! Thanks so much for this lovely review! I really appreciate it! You're so sweet!

xoxo Sarah ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Red_headed_juliet Forever and a Day

11th April 2014:
This is so sweet! It reminds me of that children's book "I'll love you forever". I like this quite a bit. I feel the same way about my son, so it's nice to think about George and Angelina experiencing the same overwhelming emotion about little Fred.

No CC. I don't think you could make this better. A mother's love for her child is simple. To add anything would just take away from that, in my opinion.

Great job.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it! I'm flattered that you think it's good the way it is! Thanks for the lovely review!

xoxo Sarah ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm Forever and a Day

10th April 2014:
Hey Sarah!

This was so cute! It was another one-shot which had this letter sort of feel to it, but thankfully with a lighter subject matter because I donít think I could handle any more angst after last time. I really loved the little intro so we could get settled into the one-shot if that makes any sense and it set the scene for it perfectly.

I really loved the use of the song lyrics and how they acted as internal questions in a way and then she answered them. It was so adorable to see how much she loved her son and how much she almost wanted to do George, and Fred too, proud with him so they can show that though there was a war it can have a brighter end.

The way she started dreaming about itís like was so sweet. I think the line about still being there even when you donít call me mummy was so cute and just so adorable, then the bit her loving him for as long as she lives. It fitted the song so well, I was actually listening to it while reading to get into the mood of it more and they went so well together.

Wow, your writing is improving so much every time I check out your page, keep it up!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hey Kiana!

You're not the first person to say that! I didn't realize how kind of similar it was until after I posted it. But I like it! I think it works best for the way I wanted to write this. I'm glad you liked the way I started it off. I actually had to add that as an after-thought because my word count was too short.

I had a pretty hard time combining all of the song lyrics and making it work, and finally I settled on this way so I'm glad that you liked the way I kind of had them be her thoughts, too. I'm just so glad that you liked all of it. Ugh. That mummy line killed me, and I'm not even a mum. I'm trying to hit those mom's right in the feels.

KIDDING. Kind of.

Anyway, THANK YOU SO MUCH! You're so sweet!! ♥

xoxo Sarah ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Veritaserum27 Forever and a Day

8th April 2014:
Hi Sarah,

Here for your review swap! You've managed to do it again! This story was so sweet and touching. I love that you chose to write about baby Fred. You could have chosen any of the couples, but Angelina and George's first baby was so special to them and (I think) he was the first male Weasley born in the next generation - so extra special to the whole family.

Overall, this is such a nice story depicting a mother's love. It made me smile, laugh and aw-ww.

Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

I'm so glad you liked it! I really just love writing sweet and touching. It's fun, it's nice, and the reviews always give me such a warm feeling inside. Thanks! I wanted to write a George/Angelina, and this song just clicked for me. Yeah! I mean, aside from Teddy who is kind of an honorary Weasley.

Thanks for the swap! I'm so glad you liked the story!

xoxo Sarah ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by True Author Forever and a Day

8th April 2014:
Wow, it was such a nice little one-shot!

Personally, I always go for shorter word counts, I think they are most challenging and that's where we get to know how skilled the author is. And I must say, you did a great job with that! :)

I've never heard the song, but now I'm going to. :D Is the theme of the song the same or have you taken the freedom? This idea is very original and you have presented it well in such a short word count.

Great job! I've never read George/Angelina and I'm not a big fan, but still I'm glad I read this. :)

Thanks for the great read and review swap Sarah!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks hon! I'm glad you think I did a good job! It's an amazing song, definitely worth a listen! I'd say I went along with the feel pretty well. I think its a song definitely more geared towards a lover, so I kind of twisted it a bit, but not much. Thanks thanks! I actually had to add more because it was too short :P , thanks for swapping hon!

xoxo Sarah ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by kenpo Forever and a Day

7th April 2014:
Aww, Sarah, this was really sweet! I don't know what I was expecting when you were talking about this, but it wasn't this.

That isn't a bad thing, though. This was incredibly sweet!! The song is stuck in my head, now, but that's okay!

I think that you fit the song in really well, and I think it was very creative. I'm happy that you're putting your new TA status to use:)

My favorite part was when you said "Until you no longer call me Mummy". Or whatever. I'm too lazy to scroll up to see exactly what you said. I really liked that part, though. Yep.

What I'm trying to say is that this was really sweet and cute and you should write more. Even though you already write all the time. Do that, but more.

Author's Response: Awee, Georgia, you're sweet!

I don't know what I was expecting to write, honestly. I know, the song is super easy to get stuck in your head. I've been singing it for the last week. Sorry!

I actually had such a hard time fitting it in, I couldn't get it to fit in a way that seemed perfect, and I'm really picky. Thanks hon! I am too ;) I couldn't wait to do it.

That part almost had me in tears, I was like ugh cuteness right now. It's Until you no longer call me Mummy, I'm pretty sure, so no worries you got it right ;) And even if you didn't I don't care :P

Thanks hon. I don't know if I can write more. Just kidding, I probably could. Oh my. Imagine if I wrote a chapter of something every day. Frightening. I'd be unstoppable. But that'd never happen. I get distracted way too easily.

Thanks for the review darling! ♥

xoxo Sarah ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lostmyheart Forever and a Day

7th April 2014:
Sarah!

Yet another great story from you. This was really beautiful short story, it was so sweet.

I've been thinking of writing a one-shot of this song as well, since last year, but I haven't had the time to write it.
Your take at it is wonderful, I loved it. Especially the part with George being happy and sad at the same time, I almost teared up (don't worry, that's normal. I have weak tearducts :b )

It reminded me a little of your other story, Loved and Be Loved (if I remember correctly?) - where it is hopeful and affectionate.

Even though it was short, I think it said enough about the way Angelica felt about her little boy and I loved the way you put the lyrics into story.

It was a wonderful story!

Love,
Avi

Author's Response: Hi Avi!

You're too sweet! I'm so glad you liked it! I've been dying to write a one-shot of this song for a while, and I just couldn't decide what on! And then yesterday it just hit me! Haha, don't worry, I have weak tearducts too.

I am feeling very hopeful and affectionate lately, I kind of liked the feel of Love and Be Loved, so I wanted to write it about something happier (like babies!)

Thanks so much, especially for reviewing!!

xoxo Sarah ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login