Reading Reviews for Two Lilies
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by victoria_anne I hate my name

22nd October 2016:
You surprise me with a review, so I'm here to surprise you with one :D Also I can't believe I haven't read everything on your page yet! MUST FIX.

Okay I am so drawn in already! Hey, come on Lily, there's such a flower as a chrysanthemum. Be grateful your name isn't that ;)

So the teacher is a Harry Potter fan :P I approve, even if Lily doesn't.

AHHH oh my goodness! What happens next?! Does she swap with a real life witch?! How exciting, you're so good at keeping me hooked with your stories, Chi! I'll be back, but in the meantime remember you are beautiful and I heart you and I hope thou art having a wonderful-eth day!

Author's Response: B!!! Thank you!!!
This was such a lovely surprise! I really didn't expect it and you're awesome!

Ahahah! Not everything, but you're getting there! I don't know if I should feel flattered or nervous... Flattered is better. *blushing*

I'm so glad you're intrigued. This story is really not my best, very old and immature stuff... but I guess it's cute anyway...

There are definitely worse names she could've been called, of course... but I guess sharing the name with a well known fictional character might be annoying.

Ahahah! I guess you could approve. :P

Does she swap? Uhm... maybe? You'll have to read on to find out. ;)

Thank you so much for this lovely surprise review! And for everything else! I sort of needed some esteem induction today...

Hope you're having a wonderful day, too!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Epilogue. Back to the start.

31st December 2015:
I feel like I'm on a rollercoaster because after all the sad of the last chapter, the first line of this made me so HAPPY. ♥ No time has passed at all! (It's kind of like she went to Narnia, if you've read those books - because there you could spend so much time and then come back and find that no time has elapsed. :P )

I'm kind of glad Lily couldn't remember the specifics, because it'd be hard to live with the knowledge of the upcoming death of her parents, her future with James and then her own death. After all the mentions of dreams and how the two Lily's sort of communicated in dreams, it was fitting that she felt it had all been a dream and remembered it like it was a dream.

And Muggle Lily ended up with Muggle James... with a son called Harry XD haha, cute. While it was kind of sad that she and Remus were torn apart, she still thinks about him, and i'd say is probably no different to many other fans of the series who love him as a character and are upset over his death! :P And the end with both Lily's thinking about each other and sending each other the notes over the piano was really sweet!

What a great story Chiara, I had so much fun reading this! Happy Hot Seat, and have an amazing New Year! ♥

Author's Response: In my first idea, Lily would get back at the funeral, but then I thought it worked better this way, with them getting back to where they left. Yes, a bit like in Narnia. :P

I wanted her to have only vague memories because I didn't want to change the story (and it would necessarily happen if she remembered everything). Plus, like you said, it would be too much knowledge to live with. I'm glad it sort of made sense with the dream theme.

If my name was Lily Evans and I married a guy named James Potter, I would totally call my son Harry. Wouldn't you? :P

Yes, in the end she belonged in the real world and, while it is a bit sad that she had to leave Remus, it is also the only way things should've gone.

Oh, I'm so glad you found their goodbye through the piano sweet. :)

Thank you so much for giving this story a try and getting to the end! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it, despite its many flaws! :) Thank you so much for making my Hot Seat special! Have an amazing New Year as well!!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan Time to say goodbye.

31st December 2015:
Waaahhh!!! Wow, this chapter was so much more intense and sad than I expected. I was NOT expecting the car crash thing at all - sidenote: a car crash is my headcanon for Lily's parents' death as well. But I just wasn't expecting it that soon.

And I felt bad for Muggle Lily, being in a place she doesn't belong and going to a funeral for people she's never met and feeling guilty that she's there instead of Magical Lily, but more than anything I felt awful for Magical Lily who was finding out through a dream - finding out that there's been a death in her family and she has no way to be there and go to the funeral. I can actually relate to that so much and I just feel terrible for her at not being able to be there.

So despite the sadness of the situation I was so glad that they switched back, because even though Magical Lily is going back to a reality in which her parents are dead and her sister still hates her, she will be able to attend her parents funeral. I just feel so sad that she didn't get to say goodbye - something I think everyone who's ever lost anyone feels.

And I'm thinking back to that passage of Mr and Mrs Evans (the magical ones) talking about how Lily hadn't written them any letters that term (because it was a different Lily) and now I'm all sad again. I was not expecting this chapter to crush my feels so hard. but it was still wonderfully done. ♥

Author's Response: I know... This chapter was a shock for me too... Because when I started writing the story I really wanted it to be mostly humorous, and then it just turned tragic without me wanting to...

It was really hard for Muggle Lily, not only because she knew she was in a place she didn't belong, but also because she was reminded of her own father's death. It was like experiencing it all once again.

And Magical Lily... Yes, it always feels like you didn't give them a proper goodbye. It's horrible, and in Lily's case is even worse because she's not there at all.

I'm so sorry for crushing your feelings like that (but also a tiny bit proud of it). If it is of any consolation, it was really painful for me to write, too.

Thank you for another amazing review, honey!!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Dreaming of home.

31st December 2015:
I forgot to say in the previous chapter's review that I'm glad Lily finally told the Marauders what was going on, because it would only end up with more confusion if she hadn't - and even more when the real Lily of that reality shows up again. Though I think it probably went less well when Magical Lily told Muggle James what was going on haha.

Aw, I was so sad Muggle Lily decided she couldn't accept Remus that way :( I had such high hopes for her despite her confusion in the previous chapter. So I was really glad when they finally talked it out and she began to accept him again.

Also, things got super interesting when they were kind of seeing into each other's lives through dreams, like the boundary between their realities is breaking down, it kind of hints that they're about to switch back again. I do wonder how Muggle James reacted to Lily's news. I mean - I can kind of understand the Magical world being able to accept things like this much easier, because they're used to weird things happening around them, but Muggles aren't and he must have just thought she was crazy. It'll be interesting to see that dynamic once they've switched back haha.

"Cool! They're right when they say music is a universal language!"
A multiversal language, I would say...
-- I am just nerding out so much right now ahahahaaa I love this. I love that they were able to communicate through music despite not being totally present in each other's world, and I love the multiverse pun. Haha.

Great work!

Author's Response: They needed to know... Everything was already complicated enough...

She only needed some more time to get over the shock. And to sort her feelings out. I'm really glad they manage to talk it out too. :)

That was exactly my idea, that the boundaries between their realities were breaking down. I'm so happy you found it interesting.

I might've expanded Muggle James' reaction a bit more. It would've been fun. Ahahah!

I really enjoyed the idea of them communicating through music and I'm really glad you liked it too! And the pun as well. ;)

Thanks for another awesome review. You are the best!

 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan Jealousy and misteries - part II.

31st December 2015:
Back again! OMG YOU WENT INTO MULTIVERSES :D I know you said in one of your responses that this is an older fic when you weren't as mature of a writer, but I still think a story can have a lot of merit even if it was written when you were younger and more new to writing. I still really love the premise of this story and am enjoying it! And despite all it sort of sci-fi-ness, it still feels like something that could totally happen in the magical world, the idea of 'spirit twins' or however that translates exactly - it's cool and I think it makes sense too with the magical workd, as Lily is a witch and so she probably brought on the change through a spell unintentionally.

animum commotion, or whatever it was it was named -- haha. classic. for a Muggle who doesn't have much to do with Latin on a regular basis, it's kind of just forgettable words to her! :P


(but of course she did) and I actually think you wrote her coming to terms with it really, really well. I think it's so realistic for her to be struggling with the idea and kind of not okay with it, because it's so new for her (as is the entire magical world, in fact) and she's just adjusting to having what she knew of the world and of Remus end up being wrong. It doesn't mean she's a bad or judgemental person, because it's really a lot to take in, and she does feel guilty about how she's reacting, but she just needs time. I thought it seemed realistic. Her reaction about the confession that the other three were Animagi made me laugh though - at this point she's heard everything so it was kind of like "idk what that is whatever" XD

Lots of secrets and confusion and feelings in this chapter - I loved it!

Author's Response: Ahahah! Well, I think your take on the Multiverse in Icarus is much more accurate! This is surely more magic than science fiction. I stole the Multiverse concept but I definitely twisted it... I'm glad you appreciated it anyway! :P

I suppose that if you've never studied Latin it would be hard to remember... Eheheh!

She definitely shouldn't have followed him... but I suppose she couldn't resist anymore... I think that anyone in her situation would be scared and confused. It's so much to take in. Ahahah! I'm glad you enjoyed the Animagi bit!

Thank you for this lovely, amazing review! I'll answer the others in a bit!
Love you,

 Report Review

Review #6, by Freda_and_Georgina Dreaming of home.

30th December 2015:
Huh. This chapter was much harder to follow than any previous one. I think I followed it in the end, but it took a while to figure out which way I was seeing. When the section opened with "I saw her/me with/at" helped.

Well, it sounds like things are moving towards conclusion. (Certainly has been interesting so far!)


Author's Response: I suppose this is a bit more complex because, other than the alternance of POVs, there are the dreams and the two Lily's appear both at the same time...

There isn't much more to go at this point. Hope I'll hear from you again!
Much love,

 Report Review

Review #7, by Freda_and_Georgina Jealousy and misteries - part II.

30th December 2015:
Phew! what a crazy whirlwind!

Glad she finally came clean with them all, so there's that. And yeah, it's all complicated! I don't envy her position, it's complicated enough without relationship drama. I'm interested to see how things resolve. (Unless they specifically don't resolve.)

Well, this is the last review owed for the challenge. (I think I'll leave one for hot seat too...)


Author's Response: Yes, it's all really crazy at this point! Poor Lily the other, so much to take in. And the romantic confusion adding to it all... I don't envy her either! But, yes, she's come clear with everyone now, at least.

Thank you again for the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Freda_and_Georgina Dates.

30th December 2015:
Hey! Freda again!

I really wish colored font was a thing; then I can know faster whether it the other Lily or a new section for the same Lily. But I wasn't lost for too long ever, which is saying something considering the content.

I like how fictional Lily is discovering James' good qualities through a real life James; it almost makes me wonder if that James accidentally swapped with the fictional one, but both Jameses seem to know what's going on in their current world, so probably not but that would be a funny twist of fate for a different version of this story.

Kinda concerned about the Marauders, since the whole Harry Potter universe could be changed and as a canon-police type of person, I have trouble ignoring that. Just so you understand why I am being harder on Lily/Remus.

I also liked how muggle Lily is noticing fictional James' human side; and "conveniently" in a way that makes it all the more complicated. So I'd love to see where that goes. I still hope she will come clean with that James.

Well, there's one way to find out! It is completed after all...
{*submit this review & cont. reading next ch*}


Author's Response: Hi again, Freda!

Erm... Yes, you're not the first to say that the transition from one POV to the other is a bit confusing... But not too much, apparently. That's good. :)

Ahahah! No, each James belongs to the right reality. But it could be an interesting twist. ;)

The story might change drastically, but maybe not... Personally, I don't dislike AUs. It's interesting to see how events could develop if you take a different direction on something.

Lily the other is starting to see James in a different light. We'll see the consequencies of it...

Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Freda_and_Georgina Jealousy and misteries.

30th December 2015:
Freda here continuing off of Georgina's review string of reviews we owe you waaay back from our challenge! (Don't worry, I read the previous chapters first.)

On technical stuff, I didn't notice quite as many typos in this chapter as previous ones. I'd recommend going back and fixing them; obvious typos tend to decrease the likelihood of the reader continuing, or at least it does for me.

On this chapter, I keep trying to encourage this Lily to admit that she isn't that Lily, or at least accidentally had her mind erased, to more than just Remus & Dumbledore. It just makes it harder to fix in the end; if that messes up the whole universe. (But then I guess there wouldn't be as much of a story and all.)

Curious to see where you take them! Onto the next!


Author's Response: Hello, Freda!
Welcome to you too!

Oh, well... As I already said, this is one of my earliest works and my grammar and writing in general wasn't as good as it is now. I need to get back and edit all of my stories, but it requires time and will that I don't have... It's on my to do list, though.

It's a bit too soon for Lily the other (I'm keeping Georgina's name, I like it) to share the truth with everyone, but she will in due time. Don't worry about it. ;)

Thank you for the review!
See you soon,

 Report Review

Review #10, by Freda_and_Georgina Questions and answers.

30th December 2015:
Last review of the day! I'll probably be back, but I don't know when. There are only so many hours in a day.

One part of me really wants Lily to read the books, or at least encounter the books. Another part knows how detrimental that would be. However, since she already knows about Peter's betrayal (honestly I thought there would be (aka wanted) more reaction to that) and the fact she marries James, how much worse could she make it?

James Potter the other is an interesting development, do I see a potential love interest for Lily the other? And if not, could you please send him to me, he seems amazing. I was grinning at the irony the whole time.

Quick grammatical note: you say "...mother's permission, but even her couldn't withstand..." when I think you meant "...mother's permission, but even she couldn't withstand..." Not huge, but would really help improve this.

Freda will be back with your other prize reviews (and if not I'll probably keep reviewing this anyway), so see you later!

Author's Response: Hi again, Georgina!
Well... I think there were so many things going on that processing them all was just too much, so Peter's betrayal sort of got in the background in Lily's mind. As for the books, I think that knowing about her death was one thing, but knowing about the reasons for it would be a different thing entirely. Imagine knowing you'll have a son destined to save the world (and suffering so much in the process). Wouldn't it be overwhelming?

Lily the other and James the other? Mmmh... Maybe? He is quite amazing! I'm afraid you'll have a bit of competition... :P

I'll fix that. Thank you.
Thanks again for the lovely review!
Much love,

 Report Review

Review #11, by Freda_and_Georgina Unexpected attraction.

30th December 2015:
Wow, Lily the other fell hard for Reamus. I could see why she would feel safe and comfortable around him because he's the only one who knows she's not who everyone thinks she is. At least Dumbledore was understanding and hopefully they can get this sorted out before Lily the other completely messes up Lily's grades (and vise versa). I'm half curious where Lily the other would be sorted if they switched places before Lily's sorting ceremony, probably Gryffindor.

Now I just want to see Lily the other perform magic to prove that she's not going to be a complete outcast here. And I really hope nobody's hearts get broken. But, we'll see.


Author's Response: Hi, Georgina! Thank you so much for another lovely review!

She did, didn't she? Well... Remus is such a sweet and helpful boy, and she really needs someone who can give her support and make her feel at home.

I actually haven't thought about Lily the other's possible sorting... but Gryffindor would definitely be a possibility. :)

Magic won't be an issue, don't worry. ;) I can't guarantee about heartbreak, though... But, like you said, we'll see!

Thank you again!
Much love,

 Report Review

Review #12, by Freda_and_Georgina A traumatic awakening.

30th December 2015:
Hello! It's Georgina again.

Now I'm really wondering how they just switched places; is there some magic force that granted Lily the other's wish to be somewhere else? Or do we just not know?

I was kind of surprised that they just gave away their secret so quickly, but at the same time it's understandable when you don't know what's going on to have someone to understand what you're going through and can help you. It'll certainly be easier to transition.

Lily seemed to take it a lot better than Lily the other, which makes sense because I always thought Hogwarts teens matured faster than muggle teens since they're thrown into the world at seventeen. I like the contrast and comparison, since they react to huge things similarly but at the same time they handle it differently.

This story's plotline is really picking up. Hopefully Lily can adjust to the modern world while Dumbledore sorts out Lily the other's situation. Wait, will she be able to go through her classes being a muggle? I guess we'll see.

Moving forward.

Author's Response: Hi again, Georgina.
I will answer to that question on later chapters. I'm not sure if it really makes sense or not... Anyway, I can't spoiler anything! You'll need to keep reading, if you want to find out! :)

I was a bit doubtful about them opening up so quickly, but at the same time I felt they needed to tell someone or they would have gone crazy.

Lily is certainly more mature than Lily the other. They have a lot in common, but they are quite different at the same time. In addition, I think Lily finds it slightly easier to adjust because she's used to supernatural happenings.

We'll see how the two will adjust to their new realities. And we will see how Lily the other will deal with the magical lessons, too.

Thank you again for the review and see you soon!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Freda_and_Georgina I hate my name

30th December 2015:
Hello! This is Georgina with some reviews we owe you. We apologize for not coming sooner, but 6 reviews (3 reviews each) was kind of daunting. But then your name appeared in the Hot Seat review exchange and I saw it as my opportunity to begin giving you the now 4 reviews I need to give you.

I figured we could start with this story since it's one of your only stories with less than 5 reviews per chapter, plus I do like some parallel universes.

So this story: since this is just the first chapter where you're giving exposition to Lily the other's character (I think I will refer to the modern Lily as Lily the other because why not) I can't really start talking about the storyline or things like that yet. But, I can comment on her character; which (being frank) is kind of annoying. Now, I understand she's having a bad day so the fact that she's a little more on the--how to put it--self-centered side is understandable and believable. However, I do also like how self-absorbed she is which makes it realistic to a typical (annoying) sixteen-year-old. A part of me is still having trouble liking her, though, and is hoping to see good character development.

One thing to note; you say "Can we avoid relive the torture" when I think you meant to say "Can we avoid reliving the torture". It's a simple edit, but it will help readers get into the story instead of focusing on your grammatical errors.

Thus far, I'm enjoying it despite my dislike of Lily the other's character at this point. Moving along.

Author's Response: Hi, Georgina!
Thank you for stopping by!
And don't worry about the lateness, there's really no rush at all! ;)

To be totally honest, this isn't my best work... It's one of the first stories I posted on here, and my writing has improved a lot since then... But I still think it's sort of funny! :D

Lily the other (I like the expression, by the way) is not the most likeable character. I totally agree that she is a bit annoying. She is, and I'm afraid will stay, a mostly selfish and egocentric person. But she will mature a tiny bit through the story...

As I said, this is one of my earliest works, so my grammar wasn't at my best as well... I'll need to do a good edit of everything, one day or another. I had set a goal for myself to start editing before the end of the year, but I didn't find the time yet... And I'm too lazy... Thank you for pointing that out.

I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter, despite not really liking Lily the other's character, and I really hope you'll like the next chapters as well!

See you again soon! And thank you so much again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by marauderfan Dates.

30th December 2015:
Back again! It's about time I was to get back to this story as it's been way too long since I was last here. I blame work.

Aw! This was a cute chapter, and both Lily's worrying about their respective dates was kind of amusing - Magical Lily having issues with twenty-first century mobile phones, and Muggle Lily worrying about everything from more shallow topics like clothes, to more serious topics like how she's kind of changed the nature of James and Remus' friendship unintentionally. I feel badly for her at being in that situation, but it's not her fault for liking one versus the other. She can like who she likes, and she's not being malicious.

And Magical Lily sees some similarities between her crush Muggle James and the Magical James she left behind! Hmm... ;)

I think the strongest part of this story is its dialogue, and how the groups of friends interact, I feel like I'm thrown in to any normal conversation between friends. It's also nice to see how well both Lily's have accustomed to their new surroundings and that their respective friends who know about their reality-switching are accepting and supportive, and still treat them as friends.

Great job on this chapter!

Author's Response: Hi again, dear Kristin! :)

Oh, don't worry. I can understand being busy. And I'm always happy to have you back here!!!

To be totally honest, this isn't my favourite chapter... but I suppose it is quite amusing to see both Lilies worrying over their dates. ;)

Ahahah. Yes, it's not the best situation, knowing that their friendship is a bit cracked because of her... Things will adjust soon, anyway.

Yes, magical Lily is seeing some similarities between the two James... Interesting, don't you think? :P

Thank you so much! This story is definitely not my best work (my writing is still very immature here) but I'm glad you are eenjoying it anyway and that you like the dialogue and the interactions among the characters. :)

Thank you so much again!
All my love!

 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan Jealousy and misteries.

15th November 2015:

I'm so glad we did that review swap a few days ago because it reminded me that there were several stories of yours I wanted to read, so I'm here for this one again! :)

Lily held herself together really well during that conversation with Snape, I was so worried she'd let something slip! It was bold of her to refer to the events of June without actually knowing what had happened, so she's lucky it happened to work out in her favour to say it :p

"Of course not." He said, squinting. "I'm Sirius." -- Hehehe. I don't know why, but no matter how many times I hear this pun, it is always funny. :P

Omg, yes. Remus the Were-yeti. Please write this XD

Haha, what a weird dream though. You did really well writing the dream - dreams can sometimes be hard to write, but you got the balance between things that make sense, and things that make sense in dreams but not real life (like people turning into other people) and reflection of stresses in the day. It was really entertaining to read.

I also think it so realistic that even after Lily has trusted Remus with her secrets, and overheard a piece of what the boys were saying, he still wouldn't be ready to open up to her about the Furry Little Problem. He's only just met her, and that's a secret he holds so close, so I thought it very in character that he refused to tell her.

James is not dealing with his jealousy well, though. At least his real world counterpart isn't a jerk, and is a good dancer.

Speaking of real world, I do wonder what's going to happen when(/if?) they switch back, with Witch Lily knowing all about her future, and Muggle Lily now pining for a fictional character (though she's in good company, as I'm sure she's not the only person ever to crush on a fictional character. ;)

Loving this story! :)
All the hugs in the world,
Kristin xo

Author's Response: Oh, Kristin, darling!
This was such a sweet surprise!!! Thank you!!!

Ahahah! Lily is quite smart, isn't she? I totally wouldn't have been able to handle everything like that. Well, she figured out Snape was feeling really guilty about it, whatever it was... She was quite lucky, though...

Ahahah! I can't resist, I love that pun too much!!! :P

Remus the were-yeti! Ahahah! Kristin, I adore you!!! And don't give me ideas, I already write crazy enough things... Why don't you write it? It would be a wonderful piece of captivating nonsense! Would end up among my favourites in a heartbeat! :D

I love writing dreams. You know I do. In dreams everything is possible and you can make them funny, or angsty, or scary, or all of the above at the same time. I had so much fun writing that bit!!!

Remus isn't ready to tell her. He's so used to keep it secret, and I think he's also scared of losing her. Rightly so, I daresay... Uh oh! Spoiler? Maybe? Maybe not? :P

Ahahah! Poor James... He's not happy... His counterpart is quite cool! Why have I never met anyone like him when I went dancing? :(

Eheheh! Interesting questions... We'll see...

All the hugs to you too!!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by marauderfan Unexpected attraction.

13th August 2015:
Oh, poor Lily - it must be so confusing for her - not only is she transported into a world she knows is fictional, but she's starting to fall in love - which is confusing enough, without adding in the fact that she feels like she's messing up a timeline or something. And I feel like this is only the beginning of a lot of confusion and complication with Lily and Remus, James, and probably Snape as well.

I like how you've written Remus- he's very unassuming and kind of shy, and guarding his secrets. His description of Lily (the witch Lily, not Muggle Lily) is so spot on and astute of him and I love the last bit about how she comes across as haughty because she's so much of a romantic and has really high expectations - that's totally what I'd imagined of her but never put words to it and I thought that was cool.

Also the details such as the portrait walking out of the frame and leaving Lily so confused with out any stationary landmarks in the corridor! THAT MUST BE SO CONFUSING! Can you imagine trying to pretend like you know your way around a school where things in the hallways move, and even the hallways and staircases themselves move?! I'm amazed no one has caught on that she's clueless. Probably because they're distracted that she's so extra-friendly with Remus :P

This was a great chapter!


Author's Response: KRISTIN!!!
Oh, thank you so much, honey!!!
It was such a sweet surprise to find this lovely review this morning!!! I love you!!!

Yes, everything is very confusing for her right now... I agree with you, falling in love is already confusing enough without being stuck in a fictional world she knows so little about. And one of the few things she does know is that her counterpart is supposed to marry someone else... I'm realizing now how crazy it all is...

I'm glad you liked Remus! He's my absolute favourite character!!! Unassuming and shy is a great description for him!

I'm so happy you liked his description of Lily, too! I always found that passage to be a bit boring to read, but at the same time I wwouldn't have known how to write it differently. I'm happy it fits with your idea of Lily, too!!!

Ahahah! Yes, that's pretty crazy, too!!! She's been lucky so far because she's never been alone wandering around the castle. Mary or Remus has always been with her... For the moment... I'm so happy you liked the detail of the portrait!!! :)

Thank you so so so much for another amazing review!!! You can't imagine how much it means to me to see you so enthusiast about this story!!! You are awesome!!!

Tons of hugs and kisses and an ocean of love!!!

 Report Review

Review #17, by AlecJamesCaius_ Epilogue. Back to the start.

21st July 2015:
This was a great ending chapter and gave alot of closure. Now I may have come over as if I didn't like this story all that much through my reviews, but I actually really liked it. I was just being critical so I could possibly help you. But this really was a fun read.

One question I've had for the majority of the story however was left unanswered, that or I missed it. In the latter case I hope you can tell me. Both Lillies seemed to remember their adventures. So WHY did non modern Lily end up marying non modern James and get non modern Harry, while she knew that she would be killed by Voldemort in a few years??? How can you just live out your destiny if you know you and your family will be brutally murdered in a few years?

Anyways, again, good work!


Author's Response: And finally the epilogue!
I'm very happy that you liked it! :)

I thought I explained it here, but maybe it didn't pass well... Lily doesn't remember every detail of her twentyfirst century's experience. She knows it had happened, and she remembers flashes and sensations, a bit like it was a dream. But she doesn't remember, for instance, her parents dying. Or seeing PoA. Or most of what Charlotte told her about Harry Potter. She remembers only enough to know that she should be more tolerant and enjoy life more and share more affection around.
I know it was a bit of a forced choice, but I had no other way to make it work (couldn't think of one, at least). Because, like you said, she would've tried to save her family if she'd known what was to come.

Thanks for doing this swap! And I'm happy you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #18, by AlecJamesCaius_ Time to say goodbye.

21st July 2015:
Again, a very confusing chapter unfortunely. the litle spaces were confusing the merlin out of me. One time the little space indicated a pov switch, anotherh time it was a time jump, another time it didnt mean anything and just continued the story line. Its too bad because this story wouldve been alot more entertainingng too me if it was more clear. Its an easy thing to edit though!
Another thing I didnt understand was how theyre were so upset about people they barely knew. It was a fun story all in all, especially the parallel universe concept, imo

Epilogue next!


Author's Response: Again, sorry for any confusion... I'll see if I can fix it.

Lily is so upset because, even if they aren't her parents, there is still a sort of connection. Besides, knowing they died in a car crash brought back the memories of her father dying. It was like falling into the nightmare again.

As for the boys, they weren't really upset about Lily's parents, but about Lily herself. For Remus it felt especially hard, because he wished he could make her feel better, but didn't know how. And I suppose James felt something similar, too.

I'm sorry grammar and formatting issues disturbed you that much, but I'm very happy you liked the parallel universes concept and that you enjoyed the story in its whole.

 Report Review

Review #19, by AlecJamesCaius_ Dreaming of home.

21st July 2015:
Alec again for the multi swap.

The concept was interesting, but I had to read this chapter several times to fully understand it. The frequent POV switching without any real indication that it happened was the main reason for this, but if that wasn't confusing enough, we saw one lily play a scene through the eyes of the OTHER one continuously.
I was completely lost the first time xD

Although I don't like modern lily that much anymore for being that mean to Remus (I doubt the Marauders acted like that when they found out, modern lily doesn't seem to have such great character) I'm glad she ended up with Remus. There were some big grammar issues like: "You really dreamt her?" which isn't right in any situation. But I guess the story is coming to a close. Lets see how the last chapter is!


Author's Response: Hi Alec.
Here to (finally) answer your reviews.

I'm sorry this got you confused... I wanted it to be a bit (I wanted the reader figure out with the dreaming Lily what was going on) but I never meant for it to get too confusing. I'll try to find a formatting that can work better.

Modern Lily is far from perfect, but who is, really? Her behaviour with Remus wasn't good, and surely the Marauders were quicker in accepting Remus' condition. But I'm sure he's received far worse reactions in his life. And I really can't judge Lily too harshly for her behaviour. She is my OC after all (it's a bit like having a daughter). I'm happy you're glad she made up with Remus in the end, despite everything!

Thank you again for the review.

 Report Review

Review #20, by AlecJamesCaius_ Jealousy and misteries - part II.

18th July 2015:
Multi swapping!

Note: This review got taken down because I used a swear word in the original. Sorry it took so long to re-upload, I kinda forgot about it ghehehe, sorry...

Peter has been super ooc to me this whole fic. Like he's another person? He doesn't have any of the character traits we know him from. I disliked how mean Lily acted in this chapter, out of nowhere... And developing feelings for James as well all of the sudden? What happened to Remus being 'the one'? What's up with that? Now I know she was supposed to dislike or atleast not like this time as much anymore, otherwise she couldn't go back, but still.
I LOVE YOUR PARALLEL UNIVERSE CONCEPT ! Because it could actually fit in canon unexpectedly perfect: non modern Lily came to appreciate James' qualities in the future. This works perfectly because before her trip to the future, she hated non modern James even though she was destined to marry him. So, as you explained, since she was straying from her destined path, she had the switch so destiny could set things straight again. Makes sense, because Lily always hated James and then boom: they suddenly dated last year and had a child barely 3 years later. Always sounded unbelievable to me. This could actually explain it. Interesting how this was what the story was all about all along, it had a way bigger underlying meaning than I expected. Still wonder how non modern Lily is going to just accept that she, her future-husband and future-son will die. Knowing non modern Lily, she would do absolutely anything to protect her son&husband. If she knew they would be in danger in the future, she'd do anything to save them, even if it would go against destiny, right???But Good job! Like, seriously!


Author's Response: Hi Alec.
No worries, it's ok. :)

Oh, Peter. He is a bit of a mistery in my opinion. You probably expected him to be clumsy and stupid? I can't see him that way. He must've been quite smart if he managed to foul his friends so effectively. And he must've been braver than he's often depicted if he accepted to become an Animagus to spend full moon nights with a werewolf. And the Marauders wouldn't have wanted him around if he had no interesting characteristics at all.
Obviously, this is only my opinion... And I might have outdone it a bit...

I know Lily isn't exactly likeable in this chapter... But she's scared, and confused, and lost. As for her attraction towards James, it had been there all the time (even if not as strong as her feelings for Remus) and now that she can't figure out her feelings for Remus anymore, she's clinging to James instead. Does it make any sense to you?

I'm happy you liked my concept of parallel universes. Yes, Lily falling for James was partly the purpose of all the switch thing.
I have sort of a justification as for why Lily didn't try to save her family, but you'll find out only at the end, I'm afraid.

Thank you for the review and see you againon the next chapter of this/your story!

 Report Review

Review #21, by AlecJamesCaius_ Dates.

14th July 2015:
Hey there, Alec with the multi swap again

One thing that you should consider changing is that when you switch POV's, you have absolutely no kind of indication that it happened. Its confusing. Very confusing honestly.
There was alot of bad grammar sadly as well, and my last point is that this chapter was like, incredibly fluff. Fluff happens to be the one and only genre I can't stand, which resulted in me not liking it all that much... That's not your fault though!! insert *its not you, its me* here
Everything just went so WELL. In my opinion, there should be at least SOME kind of conflict, tension,drama etc. In a story. I do believe though you haven't classified this story as fluff?
Something I really like is how modern James is as non modern james and slowly shows nonmodern lily why she eventually fell in love with non modern James, something she did not understand at all at first.

hope you liked my review,


Author's Response: Hi, Alec.
Sorry for the lateness.

I'm sorry you found the POV switching confusing. I tried to separate the two POVs with spacing, but maybe that isn't enough. I might try with asterisks or something...

I'll check the grammar. I'm planning on finding a beta and go through all my stories. I just need to find the right moment to do it.

Oh, well... I like fluff... I'm a "butterflies, rainbows and unicorns" kind of person, if you know what I mean... Reality is already so hard, I think a bit of fluff in fiction is only healthy. :)
The drama will come, anyway. I needed this chapter to be fluffy, because what follows isn't at all...

I'm happy you enjoyed how modern James is the link for Lily to understand that she can like non modern James. That's exactly what I wanted to do.

Thanks for the swap,

 Report Review

Review #22, by AlecJamesCaius_ Jealousy and misteries.

14th July 2015:
Alec here, back with the multi swap.

Interesting chapter here, several things happened. I have to get it out of the way: there was a good amount of bad grammar in this chapter and sometimes just weird wording of what you wanted to say: for example, dragging James away by his ankles??
Both James and Snape were well portrayed and reacted to Lily/Remus exactly as you'd expect. Even though much happened, I can't help but feel the story wasn't really moved along all that much in this chapter? Haha, maybe its just me. I also feel like the plot hasnt picked up completely yet, is that true?
The story is a fun read however, its reads away quickly, which is a good thing!


Author's Response: Hi Alec.

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, despite the grammar. As I said in the other response, I'll try to go back and fix it.

I'm happy you liked my portrayal of James and Severus.

Well, no... I think the plot hasn't picked up completely yet... I'm happy you're finding the story amusing, anyway. And that it flows well. It's good to hear.

Thank you for reviewing,

 Report Review

Review #23, by AlecJamesCaius_ Questions and answers.

10th July 2015:
Hey there, Alec here for our multiswap.

The scene were the James she met while dancing told her his full name was "James Potter" genuinely made me laugh out loud when Lily said "Holy Merlin!"
That was really funny lol. I have to say though, I don't think THAT many people know the HP universe well enough to know who James Potter and Lily Evans are and how they're related. Well, they'll probably know James Potter, but if I'd go and ask my sisters if they know who "Lily Evans" is, I'm positive they wouldn't know. That's just nitpicking though!
For the rest, this was an easy chapter. Not too much happened except for Lily meating this new James, and us getting to know the Lillies better. I guess the chapter DID forfill its purpose though. And of ofcourse, I was wondering what was going on in the modern world! Will the new James play a bigger part in the upcoming chapters? Another big question is: How will Nonmodern Lily be able to live out her destiny if she manages to return to her own time line? And how is she so damn cool about her husband and her dying at mere 21 years old, being betrayed by their good friend? XD
When she heard she was going to die in 5 years she was like "Hm, okay" but when she heard she was going to marry James Potter she was like "Whaaat." XD
The story is still entertaining! Expect my next review soon!


Author's Response: Hello again.

Ahah! That's good! I'm glad I made you laugh! :) It was my purpose!

Yes, you're probably right. Lily Evans is not that famed... It's one of the (many) things that don't convince me 100% of this story, but it worked for the plot, so...

Yes, this was meant to be more of a fill in chapter.
Interesting questions... We will see... :P

Well, I think she simply hasn't registered the "I'm going to die young" part fully. She doesn't know exactly at which age it will happen, only that she will leave Harry behind when he's a baby. And she's angry at Peter, obviously, but she doesn't see him as a friend, so I suppose she isn't so hurt by his betrayal (James would've taken it a lot worse). I just think that, even if she knows she's going to die early, she still see death like such a distant thing, while the prospect of marrying the guy she most dislikes in the world is absolutely shocking. It's how adolescence works, don't you think? And she's learned so many things in such a short time that she wouldn't be able to process everything anyway...

Sorry for all the rambling. I'm very happy you're enjoying reading this. :)
See you soon,

 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfan A traumatic awakening.

10th July 2015:
Lily's room is Gryffindor colours! Aw :)

Wow though, this chapter is just... Can you imagine not knowing anything about HP and then waking up in that world? Or watching the movie of your future life and knowing that you're going to die at 21? Gah, either way would be just so scary! I'm glad they both ended up meeting nice people in their respective worlds and were able to tell the truth to someone. It would be so hard to just pretend you knew what was going on - because it'd be so easy to mess up and forget someone's name that you're supposed to have known for 6 years.

Muggle Lily's friends seemed to react much less wildly than I predicted. If I were Charlotte and my best friend just told me they were actually from the pages of Harry Potter I'd first just not believe them, and then be sooo overly excited and probably end up scaring them away. Good thing Witch Lily met Charlotte instead :p

I really wonder what's going to happen when Witch Lily finds out all about her future. And how Muggle Lily is going to fare in her first class because she can't actually do magic. Unless she has gained Witch Lily's magical abilities as well as looking just like her?

so much to wonder about. This is really a great story and I will be back to read more of it soon!!

Author's Response: Of course! So happy you liked that detail!

I'm sure it was pretty shocking and scary for both of them. I was a bit worried that it wasn't verosimilar for them to tell the truth so soon, but in all honesty how could they not? I would've exploded if I didn't tell someone. And they were lucky to have found such nice people!

Ahahah! I know what you mean! I suppose I did go a bit soft there...

Can't tell... Sorry... :P Keep reading and you'll know!

Thank you so much, darling! I'm so happy you are enjoying this story! Can't wait to hear what you think of the following chapters, too!!!

Tons of love, hugs and kisses!

 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan I hate my name

10th July 2015:
Chiara! Omg, I saw the summary of this and was like WAIT ANOTHER STORY ABOUT LILY GOING BACK IN TIME AND MEETING HER GRANDPARENTS?!? I was so excited. And then I read the first section and it was totally not what I expected - in fact, what you have is better! I can't wait to see where this goes. :D Someone who doesn't like the Harry Potter series, ending up in the Potterverse somehow. Ahaha it's such a great premise!! (also how can I do this too? :P )

I laughed at Lily disliking her name. At least it's not as bad as like, Hyacinth or something. :P

Lily's narration is pretty funny. She seems like a typical teenager - bored by school and looking forward to the party at the cool guy's house. I like how much she goes on about all the boring school things she doesn't like, such as history and logarithms... Well, she thinks it's a boring day but I have a feeling it's all about to get very interesting! omg DID THEY SWITCH PLACES?!?!?!


Author's Response: Hey Kristin!
Wow, I didn't expect you on this one! And I'm so happy that I caught you by surprise!!! Well, I read a lot of stories of people who end up in the Marauder era and then try to fix things. I didn't want this to happen here, so I wanted someone who didn't have knowledge of what was going to happen. And to have someone who hates Harry Potter just gives a very funny perspective! :)

Erm... Well, I'm afraid I don't know (I think I would've already left for Hogwarts ages ago if I knew...) But Lily arrived there because she was wishing to go away... Maybe if you wish it hard enough... Give it a try... :P

Ahahah! No, definitely not that bad!!! :P

She is the typical teenager. Well, not completely, but mostly. Boredom will be the least of her problems soon!

Thank you so much! Your enthusiasm makes me smile so widely! I'm so, so happy you enjoyed this first chapter!!!

Tons of love,

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>