Reading Reviews for The Wild Rose
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissesWeasley123 Chapter One

12th July 2014:
WAIT I AM SO CONFUSED. YOU ARE A LITTLE MIND BOGGLER AREN'T YOU?? ♥ First and foremost, amazing descriptions!

And I too like everyone else thought this was a Scorose until LILY and what the hell Scorpius is he some sort of psychotic lover??? :( That weirdo why did he kill her? All beauty must die. -- this is so intense and chilling and wow, my heart rate accelerated like 100x more than my normal heart rate as wow wow wow! This entire piece was extremely intense and you were keeping it so light and then BAM IT COMES SLAPPING ME ACROSS THE FACE and everything!!! She's dead. Just. Wow.

This is so different from anything I've ever read, and I think it's so cool! You should totally write a prequel or something, as it's amazing. Really well written, I think this is a great example of a fab dark story!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by Infinityx Chapter One

10th July 2014:
WHAT JUST HAPPENED. AVI. WHAT. :o

I thought it was Rose. And the whole story was so beautiful and romantic and I was near tears because it was just gorgeous. And then. What. It wasn't Rose. It was Lily. And she's dead. I love that twist. Absolutely love it. I did not expect it to be Lily at all. When I read about him hitting her and how beauty has to remain, I was sad...but it was a deep, slow sad (if you know what I mean)
Then I got to know it was Lily and my heart stopped.

Avi, you are just amazing. I'm so glad I decided to stalk your page. I'll be back soon. I can't get enough of your writing.

~Erin

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Erin :D

Haha, yeah, it was surprise at the end. I did hint a few times during the story, who they were but only things that really made sense AFTER you've reached the end :D

I'm so glad that I surprised you :b

Thank you so much for your review!

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #3, by Unicorn_Charm Chapter One

7th July 2014:
Hi there!

Oh my goodness! What an amazing story!! The whole time I was thinking it was going to be this cute little Rose/Scorpius story and then BAM! Not only does he kill her, but it's not even her, it was Lily! I don't think anyone, anywhere would ever see that coming. Wow. I really liked this. Like a lot. The writing was fantastic. I loved how it kept going from her POV then over to his. And that little snippet in The Daily Prophet was definitely foreshadowing what would happen, but who would think that? Truly, this was fantastic. Probably my favorite one-shot I've ever read. I don't think I have ever been that surprised at the ending of one. Excellent, excellent job on this! Well done! Thank you so much for sharing your story.

House Cup 2014 - Educational Decree 2

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #4, by DMsSlytherinPrincess Chapter One

7th July 2014:
Wow. First next gen I read. This was amazingky written. I loved how it went back and forth. It was deep. I loved how it had lil explainations of her family and life at Hogwarts.
Also, BIG shock at the end. I re read it to make sure I read correctly. I loved the ending as tragic as it was. Im weird lol.

For the 2014 house cup review challenge

 Report Review

Review #5, by HeyMrsPotter Chapter One

7th July 2014:
Hi, Avi! I was SO excited when I saw this story, I absolutely ADORE Where the Wild Roses Grow, it's one of my favourite songs of all time. And what an amazing story to come from you being inspired by the song!

This was such a perfect story. I loved the format, how you kept switching between his and her point of view but for the same moments. The fact that the girl turned out to be Lily was sucha huge twist, the way you hinted made me just think it was Rose the whole way through. Very clever, Avi, you sneaky thing! Then, as if that twist wasn't enough, Scorpius turned out to be the murderer! I thought nothing of it at the start when the murdered girls were mentioned when Lily was reading the paper, it's safe to say that was an ending I was NOT expecting at all!

Not only did you have an amazing story full of clever twists and turns, you also have some of the most amazing description in there too. Like this:

'Her hair was long and beautiful, in a deep red colour that was in strong contrast to her milky skin.'

and this:

'As her long hair played in the water, her dress floated elegantly on the surface.'

You are one seriously talented writer, Avi. I must come back and stalk your author page some time ;)

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

 Report Review

Review #6, by kenpo Chapter One

16th April 2014:
WHOA WHOA WHOA WHAT?!?!
I'm... I'm I don't even know.

Hold on. Let me reread that a few dozen times...

Okay. I think I should've seen that coming. Should I have? My brain hasn't been to full power since the Eggstravaganza started, so... I'm not sure.

So, it was Lily the whole time, right? That's so weird. Whoa. Right! Because you mentioned that all the Weasley girls look the same. And you also foreshadowed with the fact that she was reading about three murdered girls.

So... Scorpius is a total psychopath?

Something that I'm confused about... you mention a few times that it's a lovely afternoon, which makes me think they're outside, but then you mention the hotel bar, so they're inside? That's a small detail, but I just didn't know how to picture it in my head.

This was so weird. I didn't look at the genre, or I might've suspected something...

I don't even know what to say, ahahaha. Awkward laughter to fill the silence.

Scorpius is so creepy. Your writing style was so good!!

I don't know what to say. This was so good. I'm so confused, and I love it.
-Georgia
-Huffleclaw/Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: Hi Georgia!

Haha, yeah sorry for the plottwist!
But yes... Scorpius is a total psycopath. I did leave a few clues in the beginning of the story, but not something I expected the readers to find out. But you did! :) I kind of hinted that he was the killer for the three other girls. Creepy fellow :b

Yes, it is Lily al the time. It was a little difficult for me to write it, without giving too many informations as I wanted to give that shock effect in the end. It looks like I managed to pull that of! Haha :)

Hmm. Yeah, you're right. It does sound like they're outside, which they only are in the end. I'll fix it when I get the story re-written or beta read, so the future readers won't be confused about it as well.

Thank you so much for your review :) I loved reading it!
- Avi


 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heaven Chapter One

8th April 2014:
SLYTHERIN REVIEW TAG!

Okay, so I'm a bit of a sucker for ScoRose, and that's why I chose this piece. Also, I thought Chris Hemsworth as a face claim for Scorpius was an interesting choice, one that I don't see too often. So yes, I also read this story because of the banner :P

I read the first paragraph, and literally my first thought about Scorpius was that he was a serial killer. I have no idea why. Maybe because I've been watching too much Numb3rs. Maybe because one of the genres was horror/dark. Maybe because Rose found Scorpius more interesting than an article about three murdered girls - but then again, if Chris Hemsworth popped up in front of me like that I'd find him more interesting than whatever I was doing.

So I continued and I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the point of viewed swapped between the two of them. I love swapping points of view! I think you've carried that off very well!

My sense of trepidation grows as I keep reading this story. I'm biting my nails - something's about to go wrong, I know it! If your aim was to build tension and suspense, you've definitely achieved that. This line: "I wondered if she would follow me down to the river." reminds me of the song "Come Away to the Water" by Maroon 5 I think, off The Hunger Games soundtrack. He's a serial killer, I know it!

OMG. PLOT TWIST. Okay, so I knew he was a serial killer. Scorpius was giving off serious serial killer vibes. BUT THEN HIS VICTIM TURNED OUT TO BE LILY AND NOT ROSE AND THAT MADE THINGS LIKE TEN TIMES BETTER. So. Good. I loved that ending! Fantastic story :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Argh I loved reading this review!
Hahah, then it was an excellent choice I made! Chris Hemsworth is gorgeous(!) but he also kind of looks like a villain, if he looks serious or angry enough. So I thought he'd be a nice portrait of Scorpius :)

Well, you guessed it right! Scorpius is a serial killer, and a creepy one at that. I wanted to hint that with the headlines on The Daily Prophet and you noticed! Yay! But yeah, if Chris came around I'd loose interest too, haha :D

I am so glad you thought the swapping views went well! They're awfully short and not very descriptive (to add more tension or suspense) so I was a little anxious to see what my readers thought of it. No complains to far. Hehe :)

I have never heard of that song from Maroon 5, I think I'll check it out :) Any song from the Hunger Games are worth a listen ;) :P

Thank you so much for your review! I loved it and I am so glad you loved my very twisted ending! And sorry for not responding to your lovely review any sooner.

Big hug,
Avi


 Report Review

Review #8, by alicia and anne Chapter One

8th April 2014:
That was a really great one shot! The way that you used descriptions had me hooked.

I was not expecting that at the end, that is one great plot twist and you worked it beautifully. I was in shock for a few minutes and I know I'm going to be thinking of it later on.

I have never seen a Scorpius and Lily story written in a way like this, I've actually never seen Scorpius written like this. I absolutely loved it!

Fantastically written, well done. :D

Author's Response: Hi! :D

I'm so glad you liked it!
I love plot twists and I was so happy that I managed to surprise the readers, and you as well. There was small clues in the story, like Scorpius thought of it as five years since they last saw each other and Lily thought of it as five.

Did you notice the newspaper in the beginning? :)

Thank you so much for your review!

Big hug,
Avi


 Report Review

Review #9, by patronus_charm Chapter One

7th April 2014:
Hi!

Wow, I loved your take on Scorpius here it was such a great change from the usual playboy person he is. I guess he was still a playboy with all these girls he was dating and then killing, but he had such a creepy air about him it was so much fun to read. Throughout the one-shot there were flickers of what really lay beneath it all, but Im so glad that you didnt reveal all his evilness until the end as it made for a much more interesting read.

Ok, I have to admit, after remembering you asked for a faceclaim for both Lily and Rose, I had a feeling about half way through the story what the twist could be, but if it hadnt been for that I wouldnt have realised. All the mentions of roses and flowers in general, then obviously when you say Scorpius the answer is Rose, so the fact the answer was Lily this time was a great twist. I think the closing lines with Lily questioning why Scorpius called her that were the best ones, as it sort of made me question Scorpius sanity too, and whether he was all there (obviously killing people is a big sign of that too, but yaknow. :P)

This was such an intriguing read!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!

I am so happy you loved my take on him. I didn't write much about him, as I would have wanted to, but I wanted to write him as mysterious, so the ending could be a surprise.

Oh yes, where I asked about Lily and Rose. A little give away, but I hoped no one remembered or noticed it :b hehe.

I loved those lines too. I took them from the song I was inspired from. Lily didn't really think of it, and thought that he recognized her as her and not her cousin. But she didn't realize it till the very end.

Thank you so much for your review! It made me so happy.

Big hug,
Avi


 Report Review

Review #10, by randomwriter Chapter One

7th April 2014:
Hello :) I'm here for our review swap.

I'm still a little stunned by this. I had to go back and re-read this. You clearly have a knack for shocking your readers, because WOAH. If I got it right, TWO plot twists at the end.

The minute I read the first line, I started humming the tune of the song, which is quite creepy. So it added to the overall effect of your story, I think. You've blended the song into the story well.

I did spot a couple of grammatical errors, but I think they may have been deliberate to keep in line with what you were trying stylistically. Speaking of that, you've done a great job there as well. I love the switching POVs. You've managed to do it without creating confusion or making it messy. I also loved how you didn't reveal Lily's identity till the end. That came as a huge shocker.

His presence was suddenly more interesting than the unsolved murders of three young women, so I delicately folded the Daily Prophet and before I could stop myself, my eyes travelled back to his.
^This, I think, is one of the most cleverly used sentences. While it does add to the overall feel of the story, you don't give it much attention till you come to the end, and then you sit back and go, "OH. Now that's what happened." The retrospective genius of the line just hits you. BAM.

Scorpius is such an intriguing character. We don't see many of these over here, and I oddly enjoyed reading about him. Maybe you could write another one shot or two centred around him? I'd read them for sure :p He's a psychopath, creepier than most. It's also disturbing how meticulously he'd planned her murder and how cleverly he executed it.

Overall, you blew me away with this, and I don't think I can put it in any other way. It was stylistic, well written and the story was a stunner. It also flowed well and your characterisation was quite unique and interesting.

Great job :)

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Yes, there are TWO plot twists! I love plottwists, so I've been waiting wit excitement to see what my readers thought of it. So far, I managed to shock all of the reviewers, except one :D hehe.

The song is really creepy but so beautiful at the same time which is why I loved it and this story sort of blossomed in my head.

Oh, I think it depends on what errors you found. There is probably errors I didn't deliberately wrote, but when Lily thought of the flower, I wrote rose as small and not as the name of her cousin. But... that wouldn't be a grammatical error, I suppose. But I'm thinking of getting it beta read, so thank you for pointing it out. Now I'm sure that I need a beta :)

Wheee. A line!
I'm so glad you liked it. I'm a little proud of it actually. A hidden clue. And I was so excited to see if anyone else got it and you did! Yay!

I could definitely see a one-shot based on him and his... escapades. I'll think about that! :D

Thank you so much for your review! I loved reading it.

Big hug,
Avi


 Report Review

Review #11, by Veritaserum27 Chapter One

7th April 2014:
Woah.

Not one, but TWO twists at the end. And so many questions left unanswered. The beginning of this was written in such a way that I thought you were setting this up for a multi-chapter story between the characters! Great job with that. I love a good twist.


Scorpius is clearly insane in this fic. He plots everything out so carefully and this is not obvious until the end when he says "All beauty must die." It makes him a really creepy bloke.

The only problem I have with this is that Scorpius killed her with a rock. Is there a reason he didn't use magic to enact the murder?

I think my favorite part is that you clearly foreshadowed where this was heading with the fact that the girl was working on the unsolved murder cases of three young women - that was absolutely brilliant.

Overall, nice job! Thanks for a great story.

PS: This was for a review swap, but I was the second to respond, so I understand if you don't get to mine.

Thanks!

Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth :)

Yes, TWO twists :-O maybe a little too much, but like you, I love them!

Scorpius really is a creepy bloke in this story, or that's what I was going for, so I'm glad you see him as a creepy bloke as well.

I remember in the books (forgive me, it's been a long time since I've read them) that it was possible to see who you've killed with your wand, so I've always thought that the perfect crime for a wizard or witch was to just do it without a wand. Of course I may be wrong. Maybe it was just that only incident between Voldemort and Harry.

Ah! You noticed my clue! I'm so happy. I think you know by now, who killed those young women *wink wink*

Thank you so much for your review! And you probably noticed that I managed to review your story as well :D

Thank you so much for your review!

Big hug,
Avi


 Report Review

Review #12, by Iellwen Chapter One

6th April 2014:
He WHAT?! I had to read the passage twice - no, thrice to make sure!

WOW! I did NOT see it coming. You evil genius, you.

Amazing read - definitely a new favorite!

Quick thought:
Since the mention the river so much and it's such a beautiful day (the twisted, evil me is laughing) maybe add a little description about the sounds of the rushing water or the reflection of the sun catching it (or something else, I don't know ^^) - just a thought, to mask the repetition of 'river' :)

The tone of this one-shot reminded me a lot of Maupassant - he's good (that's an understatement) with that kind of tone [difficult to describe without spoiling!]

Awesome read! ♥

Author's Response: Iellwen!

This review made so happy! Made my entire day ♥

Yes... he did what he did *evil laughter*
it was a little extreme, but I like stories with not-so-good endings. Plus, I wrote a little clue in the beginning of the story, that tells who he 'really' is. But I'm not so sure if it was written clearly enough, hehe.

One of your favorites!? *blushes* Gosh, thank you! ♥ ♥

And thank you for the advice/suggestion. When I get to re-read it, or get it beta read, I'll definitely add more description of the river or anything around it.

I have no idea who Maupassant is, but I'll check him out as soon as I can :) hehe.

Thank you so much for your review! ♥
AND for the shout out. It surprised me so much!

Big hug,
Avi


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login