Reading Reviews for Clementine
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heaven Clementine

24th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm pretty sure I owe you a review swap from a bajillion years ago, and I'm also pretty sure that it was for a particular story, so:
1) I'm terribly sorry for this terribly late review
2) If you know which story I was actually supposed to review, let me know, and I'll get right on it.

Okay, so I came to your page fully intending to review the next chapter of Illuminations, but guess what? THERE WAS NO NEXT CHAPTER. My heart broke. I may have exclaimed in disappointment. My dog looked at me funny before returning to his snoring. Life went on. And I found this story instead.

Ah, I'm a bit of a sucker for these two, although I don't read stories with them as the main pairing often - this may be like, the third one, ever. But I can't resist an Every Word Counts challenge entry! And this was just too cute!

First of all, props to you for writing in second person! It's difficult for me to do, so I am always blown away when someone else does it, and of course, as with all your writing, you do it oh so well. The choice of person works really well here. I find that I talk to myself in second person when I'm unsure of myself in the same sort of way that Fleur was, or when things don't go as I thought they would.

And ah! Bill was so cute! He got her a matching rose! That's adorable! I'm going to expect nothing less from now on, haha! And he asked her out in her native tongue! That's even better. It means so much when someone you like makes that extra effort to connect with you that way. He's a keeper, Fleur! ;)

Thanks for the lovely read, as always :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by krazyboutharryginny Clementine

20th June 2015:
Amazing Race - House Cup 2015 - Go Go Gryffindor!

This is a really stunning one shot. I don't know exactly what the challenge you wrote it for was about, but it seems to me that you incorporated colour perfectly. Honestly I find it adorable that Victoire worried over wearing orange because Bill's hair is that colour and she thought she'd be "too obvious".
It was a lovely detail that Victoire felt awkward trying to find words to talk to Bill (since she was just learning English) and then at the end of the story you had Bill doing his best to speak to her in French. Just that small detail gives us SUCH a good picture of his character and what he's like as a person.
I've always loved this pairing, but it was really lovely to see a story depicting the beginning of their relationship. I felt like they were both realistic and likeable characters here.
Also - "Maybe, if you'd worn lavender, it would have been different" is a great sentence. It really sums up the feeling a lot of us get when decisions don't go the way we'd been expecting them to.

This is short and pretty simple, but I really did enjoy it!


Author's Response: Hey there, Kayla! :) Thank you so much for stopping by! :)

Thank you so much! :) Yeah, it was an old challenge, but I'm glad you think so! I really liked tying the colour orange into hair colour - it's one of those things which is sort of true, which I know people who would worry about those things in rl, haha, and would think that it would mean something.

Thanks! :D I just couldn't resist having him ask her out in French, tbh - it was one of those things I always really wanted to do from the beginning. And yeah, I didn't really think that of course she would still be learning English, so it's kinda nice for him to try learning too, so thanks for mentioning that! :D

I've seen a couple, but the idea for this was just so strong I had to do my own, you know? So I'm so happy you liked it! :)

Thank you so so much for the lovely review - it was such a great thing to get! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotter Clementine

12th June 2015:
This was a beautiful story. I don't read many stories about Bill and Fleur, and if I do they're usually Next Gens, when Bill and Fleur are already married and have kids, so I loved reading this! I thought you really got into Fleur's head, and I liked seeing a more vulnerable side to her. JKR always writes her as being so confident and sure of herself, so I liked seeing her hesitate and really think about how she would be perceived by Bill based on what she wore that day. It made her feel much more human and relatable. The end of this was so sweet! I liked that he knew she wore orange a lot, so he got her an orange rose, and that he asked her to dinner in french! That really made me smile. Overall, I thought this was a really lovely story! It just made me really happy :)
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey there - thank you so much for stopping by! :) Good luck with the rest of the House Cup! :D

Gah, thank you! I know - they're somewhat of an underwritten pair, but I really like them, tbh, so when I got the challenge prompt, it seemed kinda obvious to me to do Fleur for it, since I'd wanted to write her for a while. Yeah, a lot of people portray her as a bit arrogant, so I liked deconstructing that and taking that away from her - it made things a bit more interesting; though I'm so glad you thought it made her more human because I really wanted her to be relatable so that means so much! :) Haha, yeah, it says in the books that Bill's pretty smooth, so I had to include that - especially the French and the rose and the general moment :P

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was such a great surprise to get! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by SunshineDaisies Clementine

12th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

What a sweet start to a relationship! I love Bill and Fleur together, and I've always wondered how they got together. I really like this simple, natural approach instead of the rather large romantic gestures that often turn up in fanfic. This felt real all the way through. Right from being worried about what to wear in front of your crush to freezing when he talks to you. It was absolutely lovely to read!

Author's Response: Hey there - thank you so much for stopping by! :) And good luck with the House Cup! ;)

Thank you! :) I'm always really nervous about writing sweet, fluffy sorts of things, so this was really out of my comfort zone, so I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I really wanted to give them a simple start because I've honestly never seen a large romantic gesture happen, and I don't think Fleur would necessarily like them :P And I love Fleur as a character, so writing her was such an obvious choice :)

Thank you so much for the review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #5, by Dojh167 Clementine

12th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

The idea of Fleur habitually dressing in orange is unusual, and yet the way you write it it feels very natural. It is a little funny that she doubts herself based on the color of Bill's hair, but that also goes to show how much she really cares about what he thinks compared to others in the past.

AGH the rose and the cute and the feelings! Excuse me.

That was really extremely cute. It really showed how nervous and excited they both are by each other, which is really fun to see.

I was a little contused by when this was set. By the fact that they were just meeting I would guess before the Third Task, but I was very confused by them going into Fleur's office.


Author's Response: Hi Sam - thank you so much for stopping by! :) Good luck for the rest of the House cup! ;)

Yeah, it's not a colour I think is obvious when thinking about Fleur - but when I got the prompt, I really wanted to do something a little unbovious with it, and I'd wanted to write about Fleur for ages, so it seemed obvious to go that way, to me. Haha, I wanted to show that she really does care, definitely, but also that when you're nervous you're not always logical, you know? Sometimes people worry about things for no real reason, so that's kinda what Fleur does.

Hehe, no worries ;) Yeah, I had to include the rose! Bill was always described, I think, as a bit smooth in the books, so I wanted to bring that out here :P

I think there's this kind of mutual awe, in a way, on both sides - like he knows her as a Triwizard Champion and she knows him as Harry Potter's friend/a cursebreaker, all of which are pretty cool things. But yeah, there's definitey a lot of excitement and mutual fascination :)

Oh yeah, it's not the clearest, I gotta admit - it got cut severely, so that's probably why. Yeah, it's sort of their first proper meeting, when Fleur's working in London at Gringotts :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by cherry_pop94 Clementine

11th June 2015:
Here for our review swap! (Sorry, this is LONG overdue).

I love Bill and Fleur. I absolutely adore him and I think she's just such an interesting character. Fleur's often portrayed as vapid, but she was a Triwizard champion! She was in the Order. Fleur's a fighter for sure and though there isn't that kind of action here, her intelligence still shows. Also, the colour orange would look phenomenal on her.

I think I might like Fleur so much because I love the French language, so I really like how you incorporated her heritage here. A lot of fics talk about Fleur's difficult adjusting to English, but what about Bill trying to understand her culture too? It's absolutely perfect that he learned that bit of French for her and I think it just shows that they had a life full of learning together. A man like Bill would move the Earth and stars for the woman he loves, so he'd certainly start picking up French for her.

Anyway, this was a perfect little moment and you did the length extremely well too. Thanks for sharing!


Author's Response: Hey Stefi - thanks so much for stopping by! :) (And no worries about timing - RL gets in the way sometimes; it happens! ;D)

Yay, another fan! :D I love them too - I think they're such a fascinating pair because there's so much we don't know about them (apart from that Fleur is beautiful and Bill is cool). She's definitely a lot more than beauty and what people normally portray her as, so I liked showing her as a little more doubting and nervous than people might have otherwise thought she was. And yeah, she'd look pretty good in orange - though pretty good in anything, I think :P

Haha, me too - I love France and French and just everything, really, so I had to incorporate it, because it's kinda an important thing for people, you know? People like others making an effort to learn their language, and like you say, I think he'd have done that for her. It's incredibly sweet, and I think they'd actually be pretty romantic together, haha, so yeah... :P (Also I couldn't resist having him ask in French, really I couldn't... :P)

Thank you so so much - I'm so glad you enjoyed it, so thank you for stopping by and for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by DracoFerret11 Clementine

11th June 2015:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums, here to review for you for the House Cup 2015! So, let's go over things:

Plot/Characterization: This was really cool. I don't read many stories about Fleur, but maybe I should! I really liked the way she wanted Bill, but couldn't bring herself to be the one to say it. The way you wrote her internalization was beautiful. It seemed so canon, so fitting. She really seemed to be FLEUR. And her confidence was great, followed by her loss for words. It was just a really smooth transition, and you wrote it beautifully. Great job.

Interactions: I loved when Fleur tried to lure Bill into asking her out right away and was disappointed when she thought she failed. That really showed a lot about how much she wanted him. And I loved his gesture with the rose and learning a phrase in French. Really sweet.

Descriptions: I think you did a great job with the visuals in this story. I could imagine the colors and moments throughout it. Well done.

Overall, I really liked this story. I think it was sweet and well-written, and I enjoyed it. Good job!

--Emily (DarkRose)

Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hey Emily! Thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thanks! I'm so glad people like reading about Fleur - I know she's not a massively popular character, but I have a bit of a soft spot for her, hence this :P I really wanted to make her a little less confident and sure and a little more than simply beautiful, you know, so I'm so glad you liked that - it was really important to me that she felt vaguely right, so thank you so much!

Haha, I liked writing the whole her thinking he wasn't interested thing. I knew from the beginning I wanted to include the line in French and a rose, because why not? If you're going for fluffy, you might as well dive in, haha, so I had to kind of extend it a little, so I'm so happy you thought it worked okay! :)

Thank you - I loved writing the colours and the visuals, though there wasn't much space to put them in around the action, so I'm so glad you liked it! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was so great to get! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyL8 Clementine

5th June 2015:
Hi Laura.

Sorry it took me a little while to get her. It's Claire's birthday tomorrow, so I had to leave her an extra long review. But I'm finally here now, and I had to do this story, because I love the 'Every Words Counts' challenge. Whenever I review someone, I always look to see if they've written for it. It's just so interesting to see what author's can do with just 500 words, and I'm really blown away with what you've managed to do in so few words. This was amazing, Laura. It was so cute, and I've never really liked Fleur and Bill before but you made me in just 500 words. That's insane. You're crazy talented!

I like that she seems to have this routine when it comes to seducing guys, but then he totally destroys it because she really likes him and that makes her very uncertain of things of things she used to be certain of. I think Kaitlin is very right in her review, when she says it makes Fleur seem more human. She isn't the most likable character in the book, and I always thought she and Bill was a bit of a strange match, but making her doubt herself really made the difference for me. I feel like she was far more likable here, and I saw their relationship a little bit differently because of that.

I guess what made me think they were a strange match, was that I didn't see them as being anything alike - I couldn't see them having much in common, except that they both were supposedly very good-looking. But that alone is not enough to make me like them. And although Fleur says she really loves him, it's very different when you actually get to see it. And you're story made the difference for me, and I really don't hate them as much anymore. So good job on that!

I think it was a very beautiful, cute story, and I really enjoyed it. I'm amazed by how much you've managed to convey in so few words - it takes a great author to do that. So once again, I'm blown away by your crazy talent. Thanks for the lovely story, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend! :D



 Report Review

Review #9, by TreacleTart Clementine

11th May 2015:
Hey Aph!

I'm here for our review swap!

I am always interested to see what people can do with five hundred words. It seems like such a short space to tell a story and I'm amazed that anyone can make it work.

This particular story is lovely. Fleur isn't exactly one of my favorite characters mainly because she seems sort of arrogant in the books. I like that you caused her to doubt herself in this a bit. It made her more human really. That momentary uncertainty about whether she should stick with the tried and true orange dress or go with a lavender one instead really gives us a peak at how interested she is in impressing this guy (I'm assuming it's Bill). I had to chuckle a little bit when she started to doubt herself again since he hadn't shown up when she'd expected him to.

I thought the choice of 2nd person POV was really interesting for this. Usually, you see 2nd person much more frequently in the action/adventure genre, but it suited this well. The only little thing I would critique is that I personally find 2nd person to work its best when there is a lot of detail because it allows the reader to really get inside of the story. I know you were limited with how much description you could include because of the every word counts challenge, but I would love to see this expanded a bit.

I thought the ending was really sweet. Bill holding the orange rose and using shoddy French to ask her to dinner indicates that he's really been paying a lot of attention. I could see a guy like him doing something like that.

Another good story. As usual, your work never fails to be beautiful. You just have this quality to your writing that is hard to explain, but it really makes it stand out. Good work!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Freda_and_Georgina Clementine

7th May 2015:
Its really fitting that Fleur is not used to being unsure of herself. And for her to be interested in grabbing and keeping attention. Orange rose? I haven't heard of them but cool! The speechlessness is also very unlike Fleur, and she knows it. That was sweet of him to try and ask her out to dinner in France. So short, but it's perfect.


Author's Response: Hi there! :) Thank you so much for dropping by!

Thank you! :) I really love Fleur as a character - I think she's somewhat underrated in terms of her ability and so on - so I really wanted to do her justice with this, so I'm so glad you liked her! Yeah, orange roses - they're real, too, and so beautiful, and handily fit in with the colour I was given for the challenge. Haha, yeah, of course I had to include that - it might be a little cliche, but tbh, I think it fits the two of them, you know?

Thank you so so much for the lovely review - and I can't believe you went through as much of my author's page as you did in such a short space of time so thank you so much for that too! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by Shadowkat Clementine

13th April 2015:
Wow, not many are able to pull off second person like that. Really good!

Author's Response: Hey - thanks so much for dropping by! :)

Thanks so much - I hadn't written second person for a long time when I wrote this so I felt so rusty doing it, you know? So I'm so glad you liked it and thought it worked okay - I was so nervous about it! :)

Thanks so much for the review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #12, by The Basilisk Clementine

1st February 2015:
Hello. I'm not one for saying "aww" being a Basilisk and all, but at this point, I absolutely mussst (don't tell my other Basilisk mates). This little snippet in Bill and Fleur's life wass very adorable and I loved it.

Your characterisation of Fleur was spot on - it wasss quite aligned with canon. It was also cute how she was caught with surprise at how she wass at a loss of words because she never was before. The whole picking the dress thing was also very sweet, the uncertainty and doubt plain - and it showed how much she wanted Bill to ask her out.

The ending of course was the sweetest bit with Bill asking her the way he did. I loved the use of the "orange" throughout as well - it wasss a nice theme. The writing style wass amazing and there was a beautiful flow to it that had me pulled into the story. Great job!

Hiss Hiss,
The Basilisk
*slithers back to Chamber*

Author's Response: Ooh, hello there, Basilisk! :) Thank you so much for stopping by on my story - I'm very honoured ;)

And don't worry, I won't tell anyone (mostly because I'm a little bit scared you'd eat me :P).

I'm so glad you liked it - Fleur especially! I like her as a character, so I really wanted to give a slightly less arrogant take on her than usual, haha, hence the loss of words and her difficulty with it. Picking the dress... it's probably the most stereotypically girly scene I've ever written, haha, but I'm glad you liked it - it was so much fun to write! :)

Mahaha, I couldn't resist the French and the rose! :) And I can't claim full credit for the orange theme as it was for a challenge and that was the colour given to me - I just then used it ;)

Thank you so much for the lovely review, Basilisk! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by Lady Asphodel Clementine

11th January 2015:
Omg! This is unbelievably cute! :D

This is amazing! Your way with words - it's so smooth, haha!

The colors you describing the dress, I love it! The second line in the first paragraph really sticks out to me.

It's amazing how you made Fleur uncertain of her self, yet you keep her confident through her uncertainty until she got Bill's attention.

And the way you ended - again - it was really great! Even though Bill butchered the French language, hehe!

This is literally amazing for the 500 word challenge. I love reading these! And you did amazingly writing it in Second pov. I have to still attempt it.

That is all! Keep being awesome!

- Asphodel

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for stopping by - and for the review swap! :)

I'm so glad you liked it - fluff and generally cheerful/romantic kind of things aren't really my sort of thing, haha - so I was so uncomfortable writing it, but the idea wouldn't let me go!

Aww, thank you! I'm so happy you liked the description - it was so hard to fit into three words what I'd normally say with fifteen, haha.

I loved writing Fleur, actually. This was the second time I did it; she's just such an interesting character with how seemingly perfect she is, and her strength of character, which I always admired. And yeah, she's a girl who gets what she wants even if she's nervous ;)

Haha, yeah Bill kinda murdered it a bit :P I'm glad you liked it, though!

Omigosh, this was the hardest thing I ever had to try and do, though. I'm normally so long-winded, it was a real challenge for me, so I'm so happy you liked it! :)

Second person pov isn't so bad - I'm sure you'd do brilliantly at it ;)

Thank you so much for the review - it was so lovely! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #14, by maraudertimes Clementine

6th January 2015:
OMG! So sorry for how long this tool me to finish this review swap!

OMG again! I love this! This was so cute and I love Teddy/Victoire, so it was doubly cute! I loved how Victoire was doubting herself all because of Teddy - super relatable! And the fact that she hinges on wardrobe choices to dictate how her life goes doesn't stray too far from what I think of when I imagine Fleur's oldest child.

The fact that Teddy kind of ignores her until the very end, presumably because he doesn't want to give anything away is probably for the best since Victoire is used to boys falling all over her. But then the orange rose! *Squee* Oh j'adore, and j'adored that he used French even if his accent was terrible, because that just sounds so cute!

This was such a sweet story and I wish it was longer, I really want to know what would happen on their dinner date (unless there is a continuation and I just missed it...) Absolutely stellar story, I'm so glad to have read it! Thanks for the review swap!

Lo :)

Author's Response: Hey, no worries - it's so easy to get caught up in things! (I'm so easily distracted, so I totally understand!)

Thank you so much! It's actually Bill/Fleur, though the mistake is easy enough to make ;) I loved making Fleur insecure - it's a different interpretation of her, I think, than normal, but I liked the idea of it when it came up. And yeah, clothes are so very important to her! :)

Yeah, he 'doesn't notice' her, haha. Really, he does, but it takes time to go out and buy a rose to match the colour of a girl's dress ;) And yeah, Fleur's used to getting what she wants, so it's a strange situation for her to be in. I couldn't resist doing the orange rose and the French question because it was so terribly cliche, you know? :P But it suited them somehow.

No, there's no continuation, unfortunately! I don't think I'm going to be doing a second one - fluff/romance isn't something I'm particularly good at or I'm very fond of, sorry!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it, though - it was a story I was so nervous about, so it means a lot! :)

Thank you so much for stopping by, and for the swap! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by hangingwallflower Clementine

11th August 2014:
Review tag!

This was a beautiful piece. I really admire how you managed to capture so much in so few words, you really handled the Every Word Count Challenge perfectly. The use of color also really brought something to it - how the color of her dress means so much and is a symbol of her confidence. The characterization of Fleur is excellent and very apparent, even in so few words. I'm also incredibly jealous of your ability to write in second person and the imagery you managed to create with so little.

Very well done, thank you for writing and sharing this!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thank you so much! I was so nervous about doing the Every Word Counts, because I'm so bad at keeping things short, haha, so I'm glad you thought it worked! Colour... I love including colours with things, they're so much fun to write and I loved tying it in with Fleur. She was such a great character to write, and I loved doing this piece so much! I've written quite a bit in second person, but I sort of bumbled my way along with it, haha, so if you want to try it, try it! :)

Thank you so much for the review, it was so lovely, and again for stopping by! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by maskedmuggle Clementine

12th July 2014:

Ahh! This was amazing and I really loved it so much! I loved the idea of this, with Fleur trying to pick between a lavender dress or an apricot orange, and noting how with Bill she isn't sure what to do. That just really emphasised already the impact that Bill has had on her. The next part was even more brilliant, especially with the orange rose!! I loved how that just connected so well with the orange dress. Bill using French to ask her out was perfect, and so was her response. This was so beautifully written, and I absolutely loved it! ♥

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thank you so so much! I'm so glad you liked it because it's slowly becoming something I'm actually kinda proud of and so it's nice to see people liking it too :) I can't say the colours, especially the use of orange, was my idea because it was for a challenge, but I'm happy you liked it! Haha, and yeah, Bill really does effect her, but it all works out in the end, since she effects him just as much ;) I just had to include some French at the end... couldn't let the opportunity pass! :P

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #17, by Beeezie Clementine

12th July 2014:
Aw - this was really sweet!

I love the way you captured Fleur. I do think that as the series went on, especially as she and Bill became involved in the Order and suffered losses in the war, she gained some depth and became a little less shallow overall, but this presentation seemed perfect for the Fleur we met in GoF. And, I also thought that it was perfect for someone in this position in general - I think many of us can tend to fixate on fairly insignificant things when we're attracted to someone (or just under pressure in general), especially clothing. Her stress about whether wearing an apricot dress would be too obvious because he has orange hair was perfect.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for dropping by! :)

Thank you! :) I'm so glad you liked Fleur - I really like her as a character because, like you say, she reveals she's so much more than the stereotypical beautiful, stuck-up girl, so I tried to present her as something more than just beautiful and haughty and confident. Haha, and definitely - it took me a while to settle on that scene (it seemed a bit trivial to me, tbh, at the beginning) but it seems to work fairly well, so I'm so glad you liked it!

Thank you so much for the review - it was so great to get! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by UnluckyStar57 Clementine

12th July 2014:
I love the symbolic-ness that the colors seem to carry. For Fleur, orange=Bill, and wearing orange=wanting Bill. She chooses between the sunny orange-ish apricot color and the coolr lavender, which would show that she is collected and aloof, I think. But apricot orange signifies that she's totally a mess underneath her composed exterior. :)

Awww, Bill, you sweetheart. An orange rose? They should've seriously considered having those colors at their wedding for the color scheme. Then the orange would clash with the Weasley hair, and it would be totally beautiful. :D

Okay, this review is rambly and weird. But I hope that I've expressed my enjoyment of this short little story! :)

House Cup 2014 Review


Author's Response: Hi Mallory! :) Thanks so much for stopping by! :)

I can't really claim all the credit, since orange was the colour I was given, but I liked the idea of it tying into Bill's hair colour, haha. Plus, for someone like Fleur it could be a genuine worry :P Yeah, lavender is much more calm and serene, I think, while orange is a bit brighter and more bubbly and hints at more emotion (though I think you put it a lot better! :P)

Haha, I did like making Bill smooth - he kinda felt like he should be, you know? And yes, they should have! It would be have been wonderfully clashing and strangely symbolic, haha.

No worries - it's not that rambly or weird :P And thank you, I'm so glad you like it! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by kenpo Clementine

11th July 2014:
I don't know why I haven't read this before! I knew that it was good, but I honestly had no idea what it was about or the length or... or anything about it, really. It was good! I was not disappointed.

I like a good Bill/Fleur, and this was no exception. You made her such a lovely character, and someone that's easy to connect with. At the same time, though, you didn't take her out of character. She's still Fleur, but you've shown a side of her that's often missing.

I loved Bill! He only makes a brief appearance, but it says so much about him. The (bad) French was adorable. You also give a lot of characterisation to him just by how he makes Fleur feel, and how he makes her rethink what she normally does. They changed each other, and that's really good!

This was a really great one-shot! I'm so glad that I finally got around to reading it!


-House Cup 2014 Review-

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it - it was a fairly strange think to write for me, haha.

I love Bill/Fleur, too, they're such a sweet pairing, I think, and I've always felt sorry for how people often portray Fleur, so I liked showing her in a nicer light here, being worried and stressed. Ha, the fashion bit was mostly to help with the Fleur feel - so I'm so glad you think she was still in character! :)

I'm so glad you liked Bill - I never know what's enough or not in stories, haha, so the rose was there mostly to fulfil the colour requirements, and then the French... gah, I couldn't resist putting it in! :D

Thank you so so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #20, by Pretense Of Perfection Clementine

11th July 2014:
Aw, I really love reading a good Bill/Fleur, and this was no exception. I think you did a wonderful job at making Fleur as someone that is easier to relate to than she is typically written, both in fanfiction and even in canon. With what seems like every member of the male species drooling over her, and her part veela heritage, I often thought she was an intimidating and unapproachable character, but you really managed to change that. I love you how showed that she can be insecure and doubt herself, despite her beauty, just like every single other girl out there. I love her indecision to choose between the lavender and apricot dresses, and that tiny flicker of self-doubt. Her desire to not appear desperate or over-eager add the perfect touch of humanity to her character, and I'm so impressed words can't even describe it. My only offer of CC is sort of more of a question, but toward the end she is "irritated" with him, and I'm not entirely sure why, it read a bit weird for me I guess. Mainly just because, for me at least, when I like someone, it takes a lot for them to irritate me, and I'd probably be more excited, anxious, or fidgety if it were me. It's obviously such a trivial little thing, but I always try and point out something if I can, but seriously, I LOVED this so so much, I'm definitely going to have to read some more of your work.

--house cup 2o14 review--

Author's Response: Yay, another Bill/Fleur fan! :D Thank you so much - I'm so glad you like the way I wrote Fleur in this. I think she's often given a bit of a bad rep in fanfiction, which isn't wholly deserved, so I liked having the chance to write her a bit more sympathetically. And yeah, she seems so untouchable! I'm so glad you liked that - I wanted to show her as fallible, as struggling and I liked the idea of her struggling with what to do when she wants someone, not she is wanted, if that makes sense. It helped that it tied in with the emotion and colour I was given in the challenge! :P Ooh, I don't really remember, tbh... the only thing I can think is that from memory it was meant to be more of an 'she's irritated with him because she's disappointed' kinda thing? Like rather than getting down, she's kinda blaming him for, as she thinks, not noticing? I dunno if it makes sense, sorry!

Thank you so so much for the lovely review, and all the compliments! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #21, by ginnypotter242 Clementine

10th July 2014:
Aww, that's adorable. Bill and Fleur have such a cute relationship, I wish we could have seen more of them in the books! I love them because they seem so different at first. A beautiful, elegant, French part veela and a blood traitor Weasley with a dragon fan earring- not your typical couple! You definitely explored Fleur here in an interesting way. I have no doubt that Fleur always looked completely flawless and payed strict attention to what she wore and how she looked. The bit with the color of the outfit was sweet- the fact that she chose her outfit with Bill in mind and went for the color of his hair is adorable.

Bill at the end was sweet! An orange rose, and asking her out in French? I can totally see Bill doing that for her. He's such a sweetie :) I can totally see him trying to learn French to impress her, and the rose was a nice touch. Who knew that Bill could be such a romantic?

The fact that you wrote this in 2nd person makes it really interesting. It's such a hard way to write, but you did it really well and it worked out great. It flowed well and didn't seem awkward or choppy like a lot of stories in 2nd person do. This was a beautiful one shot! Great job with every part of it!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Hi Sara! :) Thank you so much for stopping by! These are all such lovely surprises to wake up to! :)

Thank you - I'm so glad you liked it! :) And me too! I loved the way they were presented, as so different but somehow falling in love despite that, and it's something I've always been curious about... Fleur... omigosh, I love Fleur after writing this! I've always liked her, but actually writing her is so much fun! I liked exploring how she was always so well-dressed and co-ordinated and Bill kinda turns that on its head and confuses her, it was an interesting change from how I've been her written a lot.

Bill! I loved writing Bill - he's such a softie, haha :P I couldn't resist including the French given that it was Bill/Fleur, and the rose just had to be orange since it was the colour for the challenge... so it was sort of always going to happen :P But yes, Bill Weasley = secret romantic :P

I honestly really like writing in 2nd person, though I haven't done it in a while - I've been trying to explore other things and branch out a bit, haha - so it was so nice to come back to it in this, so I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was so great to get! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #22, by Karou_Marauder Clementine

10th July 2014:

Aw, this is cute! You've shown Fleur as insecure about her dress for the first time, which kinda foreshadows the fact that he's the one for her, as we know by the fact that they end up married. :P It's also really cute that he gets an orange rose, to match her dress. It shows he thought about it and about her a lot over lunch. Fleur's little bit of self-doubt, uncommon for her, is nicely placed too.

It's so sweet that Bill bothered to learn French just for her sake, because she's French. It again shows how much thought he's put into her and asking her to dinner. It's also kinda funny that his accent is terrible. I dunno, I just found that little part funny :P

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

Author's Response: Hey there! :)

I'm so glad you like it! You know, I didn't really think about the idea of potential foreshadowing, haha, but it kinda does - thank you so much for mentioning that! (I have a habit of doing those kinds of things...) Haha, the orange rose - honestly, when I wrote it, I thought it might be a bit too much, seeing as I'm hopeless at romance/fluff, lol, so it's so great you like it!

I really love Fleur and Bill as characters and as a couple. I think it's one of those little background things which just really fits, in some weird unpredictable kinda way :P Ah French, haha, well, I love French myself so I had to throw some in, and yeah it adds a bit to Bill for him to do it, I think. Yeah, the terrible accent - well, something had to go not-quite-write, haha, and that was it! But accents are hard, so it kinda made sense, and I hoped it would make people smile so I'm glad it made you laugh ;)

Gah, this was so hard for me to write so I'm so so glad you liked it and thought it was good and all - thank you so so much for the lovely review and for stopping by! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #23, by HarrietHopkirk Clementine

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

This is just beautiful! Really, really beautiful, and I really enjoyed reading it. Well done and thank you for writing it.

I love Fleur's thought process. She seems so confident in her looks and set in her ways. Her picking out the dress was a perfect moment to describe, and your language and word choice really suited the pleasant tone of the piece. Really very pretty and romantic and sweet and everything.

Before Half Blood Prince, I really only thought of Fleur as being stuck up and self centered, but suitably badass as she was the Beauxbatons champion. Obviously that changes with the whole 'I am good looking for the both of us, I think!' and she remains one of my fave characters. This fic humanizes her, and it's lovely to see how Bill swept her off her feet :) I loved his little foray in French! So cute!

A really beautiful one shot. Favoriting!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for dropping by to review! :) I'm slightly in awe of you, so to get this from you was just amazing :)

Gah, thank you so so much for that! I'm so happy you liked Fleur - she's one of those characters people always seem to write stereotypically, I think, because in the beginning she is fairly stereotypical: the pretty, clever girl who's haughty and stuck up and all... but I love showing her as a different kind of person, kinda more real. Gosh, the moments in this... I wrote at least 300 more words than the limit, haha, so it was really hard to cut it down, so I'm so glad you liked the ones eventually in it!

Thank you so so much for the review and the favourite - I honestly struggled so much with writing this response because I just didn't know what to say. At all. Thank you! :) :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodore Clementine

10th July 2014:
Hi again, Laura!

Ah, this was such a lovely story! I really like Bill and Fleur together but I've never really read a lot of stories about them, but I love the fact that you wrote about the very beginning of their relationship. I like the way that it started so simply, it's a really refreshing change from the dramatic way most relationships seem to start in stories.

The portrayal of Fleur here was fantastic. I loved the fact that you showed how confident she normally is but she's got Bill on her mind and he's making her question herself, which is really cute - it's something so simple to show the attraction. And she's so impatient for him to notice her, it's really cute. I loved the fact that they were so nervous around each other when they're starting out, and the fact that he asked her out in French (well, just that you included French in this story at all) has made me smile so much! It's so cute and adorable and this story has just made me love Bill and Fleur even more!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey Sian! :) Thanks so much for stopping by - it was such a lovely surprise to get, and totally unexpected, so it really made my day! :)

I'm so glad that you liked it - it's honestly one of the biggest challenges I've ever given myself and I found it so hard to do, so it means so much to hear. I, er, actually don't like reading romance much so I don't really know how relationships tend to start in those kinds of stories, haha :P I'm glad you liked it, though! :)

Thank you so much! I really like Fleur as a character - I think there's so much to her that we don't see because of how little she's in the books, so I loved exploring her more in this, even if not that much! Ah, I'm so happy you liked the fluff and all, as I was so nervous about that. Fluff and me do not get on well at all :P I love French, so... yeah :P I couldn't not include it! :D

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, and congrats on doing so many (seriously, it's amazing! :D)!

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #25, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Clementine

9th July 2014:
Hey there!!

Oh my goodness, I can't tell you how wonderful this is!! I literally have the biggest smile on my face, it's so so cute!! I need to read more Bill/Fleur.

I love the confidence you have to Fleur. Well, I should say confidence that Fleur usually has. I equally loved how much she was doubting herself with bill... A mark of how much she likes him I guess. It was very well written though. Then, once she has grabbed his attention I like that he left her guessing a little while, again I think her impatience shows us how much she like him. Then, oh my goodness I absolutely adore the fact he asked her out in French. That's honestly really cute, I loved it. Again you show us how nervous she is around him, and also him around her... His voice shaking slightly.

All in all I thought this was so a cute missing moment story, I loved it!!

Lauren :)
House cup review 2014

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thank you so much - and yes, you should! They're such a lovely ship :D

I'm so glad you liked Fleur - I know she's not always a particularly well-liked character, so I liked being able to show her as being a bit more, well, normal, I guess :P She's always portrayed as very confident, so it was fun to kinda turn that on its head, at the same time as showing it :P And haha, I just had to include the French! It was almost mandatory, given it was Fleur :P

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was so great to get! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>