Reading Reviews for Flawless
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 007 Flawless

30th May 2015:
The only intelligent word/sound that came to my mind after reading this was: Awww www www www!! This is honestly the sweetest story I have read in a while. It is raw, it is emotional, but it is also honest to the core and that is what I love most about it.

Bill and Fleur were always that fairy tale couple. The mysterious bada** Weasley got the beautiful girl and that seemed to be enough until I read this and you added another thousand and two layers to their love.

I loved the idea of how Fleur seemed to merely settle for Bill while she saw him as someone who was perhaps even better than her. She saw the man who had a good heart just as he did for her. They saw each other's soul and loved each other for it which is such a beautiful thing.

You did a wonderful giving Fleur her voice. Yes, she is a little full of herself, but you can definitely tell she is good to the core. She is much more than just a pretty face with an obnoxious accent; she is a mature woman who is courageous and strong and wants to see the best in people. This is such a lovely story, I truly enjoyed reading it :)

xoxo, 007- License to Review

Author's Response: Hi there! I am so sorry for not responding to your amazing review for so long... I was just too busy with RL for a while and did not have much time to spare for hpff. :( But I did read your reviews and I cannot explain how happy they made me. :)

Well, that's what I used to think about Bill and Fleur when we came to know about their engagement too, but that scene from HBP which I have referred here changed my perspective about them. And then I started thinking what must have made Fleur fall for him so hard and this one shot was inspired.

I'm so enthused to know that you liked the way I wrote Fleur here! It was quite challenging actually for I had never done much thinking about Fleur's mindeset and her way of thinking. She seems to shallow at first and I don't blame Mrs Weasley for judging her so quickly too because we all did it at first after all.

Thank you so much for all the anon reviews James Bond! ;) You made me feel lovely!


 Report Review

Review #2, by tangledconstellations Flawless

10th February 2015:
Hey there!

This was really lovely, and I decided to read this one out of all of your stories because I love Bill and Fleur. I love that in the books everyone think Fleur is just vain and Bill is just ridiculously lucky - but really they do love each other. Mrs Weasley finally accepting Fleur as her daughter is one of my favourite moments from the books. I think they're such a special couple, so it was really lovely to read them from your point of view and how you see their relationship. I definitely had a sense of 'pink' when reading this - it was so fluffy and lovely, but at the same time it was a very self-conscious piece. Fleur is very aware that she does like him for looks, but then their love cuts through that. It was really nice to read.

It works really well as a snapshot in to one moment, especially considering the heightened emotions at this point in the story. Everyone wants Bill to be okay and to get better, especially Fleur. But while the story carries on in canon past this point, I like that only here is where the one-shot is centered. It's just about the two of them and it feels really intimate and close to them. I also loved the way despite them seriously talking about their feelings Bill is still cracking a joke and Fleur is still telling him off. They're so cute!!

Your writing is really great too, and it read so nicely. Right from the beginning I could picture where Fleur was and the quietness of the hospital wing. Your writing really denotes the pace which meant that your piece had a great rhythm too!

I really liked this and will definitely read more of your stories in the future :D

Laura ♥ xxx

Author's Response: Hi Laura! Thanks for stopping by!

Ohh I love Bill and Fleur too! They're like one of the cutest canon couples, aren't they? And I always believed they loved each other deeply and their love definitely wasn't about looks. This was confirmed in the hospital scene so it has always been my favorite scene from the whole book too. That's why I decided to give this a go even though I don't like fluff all that much. I'm just happy you agree with me and that you enjoyed this! :)

Fleur is a challenging character to write because readers often get distracted because of her good looks. I also wanted to say how love isn't skin deep too.

Yeah, the emotions are very intense in this story. But it was quite necessary because Fleur was too close to losing Bill just a couple of hours before this story takes place. She is still very scared and sensitive. Noting that, Bill did not do serious talking, but instead tried to cheer her up. I believe that her face looked way too pale and worried to him when he woke up! ;)

I'm so happy you liked my writing! Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by HappyMollyWeasley Flawless

20th January 2015:
Hi, this is Molly with the review from our swap.

I haven't seen many Bill/Fleur stories before, and I've never read any I think. I would probably never think of this ship myself.

The moment in the Half-Blood Prince when the Weasleys are sitting around Bill in the infirmary is one of my favourite scenes in the book. This is where Fleur shows that she is truly devoted to Bill, and I think it's also now she is fully accepted by his mother. I like that this fic is a missing moment just after that.

Fleur is in character. She is very aware of her looks and her brilliance, and although she has confidence in herself and is sure about herself she's not thinking of herself as superior. She wants Bill to love her for her personality, not just because her looks or brains. And he does, which is very sweet.

Another thing I like is how you describe how they met at Gringott's. It's good to know that Bill wasn't among the crowd of drooling boys she usually was surrounded by.

I've not found anything I don't like really, so this review lacks cc. ;-) A well-written chapter which is both sweet and interesting!


Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for stopping by! :)

I'm so sorry I'm responding so late! I was waiting up for a couple of reviews from swaps and stuff and wanted to respond to all of them at one time. I hope you understand!

Whoa, did I really make you read something you usually don't? That's so great! It's like a complement to me seriously. Very few stories allure me to something I generally avoid. :)

I know! I really love that scene. It is one of my favorite scenes too. I think it was very important for the relationship between Bill and Fleur because as you say that's when Molly fully accepted Fleur as her future daughter-in-law. I have wanted to explore it for a really long time and this is the outcome so I'm excited that you liked reading it. :D

That's how I'm quite sure they met. Fleur must have fell for Bill only because he wasn't one of the boys who followed her around and because he was different right? I'm glad you could see that happening.

Ohh God, thank you so much! I can't believe you don't have any cc for me. :) It feels like a certificate. :D

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! You made me day!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Wistful Flawless

15th January 2015:
Hey, Ashwini! This is Wisty stopping by for your review swap.

So, I was immediately drawn by the banner and title. I am ten out of ten the kind of horrible person who judges a book but its cover, and this was was so beautiful and appealing. More so, it fits the story perfectly. There's this clear pull of love through out this story, and I loved it. I just love this one-shot so much oh my god I just cannot. Moments that JK Rowling hinted at but never really explored are my favorites, and I never knew how much I needed to know how Fleur felt about that night in the Hospital Wing until now.

So, I definitely ship Fleur and Bill. It's that ship I never saw coming in the books but completely fell heads over heels with when it happened. You characterized them perfectly. Bill, I imagine, would always tell Fleur how much he loved her, how beautiful she is, and in your portrayal, how flawless she is. I love how Fleur took this moment to tell him that he's the flawless she wants to be, the kind of goodness that is more than just skin-deep. Their teasing and laughing and the easy comfort in their relationship was perfect.

I loved reading this! Thank you for the swap and please keep writing gorgeous bits like this!

- wisty

Author's Response: Hello! It was great to see you here!

Oh my god I do that all the time too! :P I always end up picking out stories based off their banners and titles. It's good to know that I'm not the only one! ;)

Yes the banners IS too beautiful! It's my most favourite banner so far actually. The artists over at TDA are too talented. :D

Aw thank you! You're too sweet! :D I always wanted to know what happened after Bill woke up so I decided to explore it myself for a couple of challenges I was interested in. It was a bit hard to write such a fluffy one shot as I mostly write mystery and angst, but my eternal love for Bill and Fleur helped me do that. :) I ship them too! They're very hard to resist aren't they? :P

Yes, that's how I always imagined their relationship to be. one can understand that Bill can (well anyone can) fall in love with Fleur but we can't help but wonder what she saw in Bill. That was the thought that inspired me to write this story. I'm so happy you agree with this and you enjoyed reading Flawless. :)

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving this lovely review! Hope you come back for more!


 Report Review

Review #5, by maraudertimes Flawless

11th January 2015:
Hiya! Kinda late on the review swap - so sorry! I chose this because I just love Bill/Fleur, so I hope you don't mind!

This was so cute! I loved how it was entirely centered around Fleur in the hospital wing because she wasn't really interacting with everyone which is a twist on a Fleur story. Of course, there was the obligatory "Fleur is gorgeous" parts, but I liked how you handled it with Fleur always reminding the audience that she had brains too. Her mother's looks and her father's brains - it's magnificent!

The word flawless is something that obviously means something to the both of them and it was so cute how you used it, especially how you incorporated the line "The kind of flawless I wish I could be." I thought that showing Fleur, someone who most would consider flawless, wishes that her flawless could be more like Bill's, because it gave her even more complex layers.

I loved the ending because it was so cute! And of course, Bill woke up, so that was a plus, but honestly, I loved how cute they are together and Bill/Fleur is one of my favourites, so their little antics were super cute!

I really liked this and I'm glad I got the chance to read it! Thanks so much for the swap - this was really good!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hello there! And don't apologize... I was even more late for this swap I know! :P

I don't mind of course. :) Anyone who loves Bill/Fleur is basically my fried because I kind of love them! ;)

Haha, thanks! This was probably the cutest and fluffiest thing I have ever written. I'm not comfortable with writing fluff so I was actually stepping out of my comfort zone with this one shot. It makes me really happy to know that you enjoyed reading it. :D

I always think that many aspects of Fleur's character go unnoticed just because she's so beautiful and gorgeous. I wanted this one shot to be more about her inner personality and the goodness of her heart if you know what I mean! She was wise enough to be a champion after all.

When I was given that line, I could think of no one else but Bill and Fleur. Fleur is probably the only character we would say is 'Flawless' due to her beauty with brains reputation. And I wanted to explore the reason she fell in love with Bill so deeply for a long time. The quote was just something that pushed me to do so.

Bill and Fleur equals to cuteness literally! They are one of my favorites too!

Thanks for the wonderful review! It was fun swapping with you. Let me know if you are interested in another one!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Prime Potter Flawless

6th September 2014:
Beautiful story! It made me feel very Bill- Fleur ish. :D Its hard to write about Fleur but you did it wonderfully well. And you have some lovely description and imagery. Great story!

Author's Response: Once you understand what she is like, Fleur isn't that hard to write about. I read JKR's descriptions of her in GoF as well as HBP and that made it much easier.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #7, by blackballet Flawless

19th June 2014:
Oh my gosh! I never even considered Bill/Fleur because I don't really like Fleur, but now it makes me so happy! My absolute favorite part is the last couple of lines. They really wrap together Fleur's thoughts really well.

I think that in some spots you were a bit rambly, like when she spoke about her family. I didn't find it relevant to the task, and it distracted a bit from the point of the story. Other than that, I really enjoyed this.

My favorite part is that Bill doesn't seem to expect that she will tell him why she loves him. I think that's a great part of his personality that you pulled in slyly. He believes her on her word, and doesn't need reasons. She feels obligated to give him reasons because she just realized why she loves him, and is desperate to voice them.

Thanks so much for pointing me towards this one shot on the forums!

Author's Response: Oh, really? :O Bill/Fleur is one of my most favorite ships from the series. But I'm glad you gave the pairing a shot and my story made you like it! That's kind of the best compliment for me. :)

Well, thoughts never take one direction in my opinion. They tend to ramble. In this story, I had to write her whole thought process. I hope you get what I was thinking about!

Yeah, that's the difference between both of them. Also, Bill had told her why he loves her for so many times that she was too eager to return the favor. :)

I'm so happy you enjoyed my story! Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by bellatrixlestrange123 Flawless

9th May 2014:
I'm so sorry this is a little late but I'm here with our review swap!

OK, so I love this! From the very outset it was so brilliantly heartfelt and warm to read! The feelings that you created for Fleur to embody - I think we've all been there with those feelings so it was a very relatable read, and that's always a good thing!

Also, you had such good imagery in there too! ' An inky black sky peppered with stars' is simple yet effective and I loved it! (Feeling a little jealous right now :p )

I think writing about how Bill got his scars and Fleur's feelings towards it was a wonderful path to go down, and then tying it in with love and person appearances just all seemed to fit in very well! And my did you make Bill charming!

Haha, keep up the great work!

Bella x

Author's Response: Here I am more late than you were! So sorry for the wait. :( Real life was evil and I didn't have enough time for HPFF. But anyways I hope this one makes up for it!

Wow, I'm so glad you liked it so much! I'm usually comfortable with writing angst and mystery so it makes me a little more happier to receive compliments for a fluffy story. :)

Hahaha don't be jealous! ;) You can also create great imagery by painting the scene before writing it down. I used to have problems with descriptions too!

Thank you! :) I've wanted to write Bill/Fleur for ages but never really had the chance to. This plot seemed perfect for the Taylor Swift lyrics I was given and also the colour pink and the feeling of love that I wrote it down. I'm glad you enjoyed it overall!

Thanks for the amazing review and again sorry for the late!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Aphoride Flawless

12th April 2014:
Hey there - stopping by for our review swap! :)

So I recently wrote a Bill/Fleur as well, and I do love the pairing so when I saw this on your page I knew I had to stop by! :)

I love how well the quote and the colour suit them as a pairing - I honestly didn't realise this was written for any particular challenge at all until I got to the bottom and saw the author's note :P

I really like how you characterised Fleur - she's still retained the slightly haughty edge from the books, like she knows she's better than everyone around her, but you've tempered it so well with her being caring and sweet and completely in love with Bill and unconcerned, really, for what he looks like because she realises and knows that, in ways, he's better than she is and, perhaps, arguably more perfect. I love that contrast between them and how she thinks that she wants to be like Bill rather almost than like herself... it's such a sweet thing to say, and you manage to avoid it sounding self-deprecating and keep it as more that she admires him and thinks he's amazing, you know?

Your writing in this was lovely, too. There was so much great description and so any lovely little details - like how Fleur had persuaded Molly to go home and get some sleep, and how Bill had woken up before... they're little things but they add things to the story and Fleur's character, you know? The only thing I would say is that you might want to read it over again or get a quick beta/friend to look it over for you, because there were a few places where the grammar was wrong (commas in the wrong places, for example) or the phrasing was a bit odd. I know there were a handful of instances I noticed, but I can't quite remember where any of them were, sorry! But a read through should pick up most of them, I think ;)

Your writing is so lovely, too! I love how so much of it is description and an inner monologue - it works so well with the subject matter and how you've characterised Fleur. It's got such a smooth style and feel to it, it's great!

So yeah, I really enjoyed reading this! Thanks so much for the read and the swap - it was really great! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hello Aph! Lovely to see ya! :D

I love Bill/ Fleur too! They are always so sweet! And besides, their love was true. :) They make a beautiful couple. :)

Aww, thank you! I was a little worried about writing a story for two challenges.

I'm so glad you liked Fleur! She's not that much hard as a character, but in this story, it was difficult to justify her love for Bill and how he was 'the kind of flawless she wished she could be'. That's why it took like three months for the idea to be written down in words. :)

I think the relation between Molly and Fleur became much better after Fleur accepted Bill with all his flaws. That's why I believe that Molly was persuaded to take rest by Fleur and Arthur. :) Feels great to know you liked the little details!

I totally know about the small mistakes. I'll look over this as soon as possible. :)

Thanks for the review swap and the awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by LightLeviosa5443 Flawless

8th April 2014:

Bill/Fleur feels! I was feeling very Fleur-tastic today, so I chose to read this, and I'm so glad I did! You've so appropriately titled this, and I'm so in love with the voice you've written it in. I really loved the way that Fleur thought back through everything, as to why she would, does, love him. I thought it was so sweet, and endearing. We all know that she said "I'm pretty enough for the both of us" so for her to admit that, and to not understand why she loved him just felt so human to me.

I think one of my favourite parts was when she told him to be quiet and said let me tell you why I love you. THE CUTENESS I'M LIKE DYING FROM IT. GAH.

Really really lovely job on this, hon! Thanks for review swapping with me!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Sarah! :D

Haha, I'm glad you were feeling 'Fleur-tastic' that day! I am looking for some feedback on this new one-shot of mine. :)

Well, I'm not bragging, but I love the title too. :P It came into my head the moment I received the quote 'the kind of flawless I wish I could be.' and I decided that I should go with it. :) I had the concept clear in my mind, but I took a little time deciding between Bill/Fleur and Remus/Tonks. I went with B/F as I'd written the other before and I'm so glad you enjoyed that!

Haha, yup that was a really cute part! XD Especially for me. But I'm just happy I wrote fluff and you liked that!

Thank you so much Sarah!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by CP Flawless

7th April 2014:
Beautiful story! I loved the title, it's so gorgeous. Fleur was nicely characterized and also the banner goes with the plot perfectly. :)

Author's Response: Hello CP! It was lovely to see you around for this story too. :)

I'm not bragging, but I love the title too! It came into my mind the moment I was given the quote- 'The kind of flawless I wish I could be.' It's a beautiful one, really. :P

I'm glad you liked Fleur! She was a bit hard to write and I was a little worried.

I LOVE THE BANNER!!! It's the most gorgeous one I have.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by MaeAndRee14 Flawless

3rd April 2014:
Hi Ashwini! Now you must forgive me! I'm so so sorry! I'm so late for our review swap! Sorry!

I loved this! Can I just say, that I'm seeing a lot more fluff in your work? And I LOVE IT! Btw, cant wait for the next chapter of TTD!

The emotions! Girl, so not fair to have so many gorgeous emotions in such a perfectly written story!! I don't know what to say! Speechless! Love it! The thoughts on how he wasn't flawless but he was flawless to her was so gorgeous!! and the ending! perfection!! the "who says I don't want your body" haha! Hilarious! and really really suited to the story!!

I would just recommend putting a tiny bit more description of feelings in? Other than that, i don't have anything!!

Really great job Ashwini! And I so so sorry that this is so late (and short!)!

-Curie :)

Author's Response: Curie! :D

How can I not forgive you? This review was so nice! :D It made up for being late. ;)

Yes, I'm trying to write fluff a little more to get comfortable with it and be versatile with writing. Or maybe I'm doing that because I chat with you? XD

OMG thank you so much Curie! You make me blush, you make me cry. I don't know what to say. I am speechless. Just... Thanks! :')

I'll surely think about adding more description of feelings. :)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Penelope Inkwell Flawless

31st March 2014:
Hey! Penny here for the review swap!

First off, good choice of song. Classic Taylor Swift. I approve ;)

Second, I’m fond of stories that explore Fleur’s character. She comes across as a little snobby here (as she often does in the books), but she realizes what’s most important in the end, which I like.

I also liked the idea of what you’re exploring here with Fleur. Of course, she makes such a bold declaration in the books when Mrs. Weasley questions her about her love for Bill. But Fleur was obviously a catch--part Veela, Triwizard champion. And she’s also quite proud. So it makes sense that, as much as she ends up loving Bill, at some point she would question if he was what she really wanted, and that’s an interesting premise for a one-shot.


"She believed that love is unconditional and it just happens.”
--You switch tenses here. It would be more correct to say, “She believed that love was unconditional. It just happened.”

"The night was still and so was the hospital wing. The air was chilly and the inky black sky peppered with stars. The moon was slightly covered by a wispy cloud, adding to the darkness. The white walls of the hospital wing stood out against the darkness, filling the room with a soothing calmness.”
--This is a nice description . I really like the words you’ve chosen. However, beginning each sentence with “the” kind of distracts from that. If you mix up your sentence structure a little here, it will really highlight the lovely picture you’ve painted.

"thoughts were whirling like a whirlwind”
--That’s a smidge repetitive, “whirling” and “whirlwind”. May I suggest “spinning” like a whirlwind?

"nor did she plan to get married when she hadn’t met him.”
--I didn’t actually understand what this meant.

"She craved for his company.”
--No “for” necessary. Just, “She craved his company.”

"It was like clear that she was in love, but she wouldn’t admit it for one silly reason.”
--This is a bit confusing, since in the first sentence she claims that she’s fallen in love with Bill. She’s already admitted it.

"who was used to dress herself”
--“dress” should be “dressing”.

Writing two challenge pieces in one is always tricky, and my hat is off to you for doing it, Ashwini, because I have never been so brave. Way to go in pulling all that together, and I wish you luck in the challenge!


Author's Response: Hi there! Sorry for the late response. RL was pretty busy this time. :(

Haha, thanks! Actually, I love her classics more and this quote is one of my favorites. I couldn't resist writing something on it. ;)

Well, she is a bit snobby! I mean that's sort of a part of her character, isn't it? I wanted her to be real so couldn't help adding it. XD

I agree with you! Fleur was very close to the word 'flawless' and she knows that. So it's pretty natural that the question I have explored hits her mind at some point. :)

Okay... Thanks for the CC! I appreciate that. :) Will correct the errors as soon as I can. :D

I know, it's pretty much tricky! But I'm glad you liked it! :)

Thanks for the wishes and the lovely review! That really made my day!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by TidalDragon Flawless

30th March 2014:
Howdy! Dropping by in response to your review request.

As an aside before I begin, it was wild that you sent me a review request for this piece because I saw your status and read it almost right before you posted in my thread. I would have reviewed immediately, but I decided to go in order in my thread and then re-read and review for you.

ANYWAY, I really like the idea here. I actually like Fleur as a character (what little we see) and I was always intrigued by why she, a witch who could probably have her choice of any wizard, chose Bill Weasley.

I think you chose the perfect moment to have her reflect on this as it would naturally make her very introspective and pensive and really force her to wrestle with her relationship with Bill. I thought in light of that you also ended up characterizing her very well in that she believably finds an answer to a deep question she is truly confronting for the first time and displays the same courageous love that she does in canon.

As a big fan of "symmetry" particularly where quotes are involved, I also liked that you brought Bill's reason for loving Fleur back around to being Fleur's reason for loving Bill. It was a nice touch that brought the piece full circle and was especially interesting in that you also managed to take her admiration one step further than the initial sentiment Bill expressed.

The one thing I did note was that I think the titular word "flawless" was perhaps a tad overused. I know it's always a delicate dance, especially if it's also part of a line you're using for a challenge, but I'd maybe find a way to use synonyms or at least synonymous lines of thought a couple of more times to replace the word. That's just me though.

All in all I thought it was a well-written tale that did Fleur justice and explained a question I have thought about myself before in a believable, canonical way. So good on you!

Author's Response: Haha, that was a great coincidence! But I'm really happy you wanted to read this before I even requested a review. :)

Fleur is one of my most favorite characters from the series and I was glad when she returned to the plot as Bill's love interest in HBP. Since then, Bill/Fleur has been one of my favorite ships too. I too wondered what might have made her fall in love with Bill and the lyrics from the awesome Taylor sort of fit perfectly for my plunny. :)

Yes, that moment is perfect for such kind of realization. I was just sort of worried that the answer she finds is a bit unsettling, so I'm just happy to know you don't think so! :D

Thank you! Quotes are extremely hard to write a one-shot with, so this is like the best compliment I have received for this one-shot. :)

I know the word has been overused at some places, but I just did that to emphasize how Bill insisted on 'flawless' even though there were similar words. That's all. If you still think it is too much, you can PM me. :)

Thanks for the lovely review! You really made my day! :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by missclaire17 Flawless

29th March 2014:
I love Fleur's examination of why she loved Bill. It's something that people are always afraid of doing, examinign why they love a person, because they think that it would mean they don't truly love that person. To me, though, the way that Fleur was able to accept her own flaws (despite Bill calling her flawless) meant her being able to see how Bill was flawless in his own way. Fleur saying that Bill is the kind of flawless that she wished she could be is really true.

One thing: the sentence "He wasn’t flawless, he was the kind of flawless she wished she could be." is a run-on sentence. You should correct it to be, "He wasn't flawless. He was the kind of flawless she wished she could be." or "He wasn't flawless; he was the kind of flawless she wished she could be." :)

Wonderful job.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for stopping by! :D

I totally agree with you. People are afraid of examining why they love a person and so was Fleur. The conclusion she found was sudden and it sort of came to her mind that particular night. :)

Of course, Fleur knew Bill was exaggerating about her being flawless. Actually, the same thing goes about him too. Fleur too must be the 'flawless he wished he could be'.

I'm glad the idea of Bill being the kind of flawless she wished she could be made sense!

Thanks for pointing that out! I'd look after it a bit. :)

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login