Reading Reviews for Off The Record
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by larissa_allstar Mood Swings

2nd July 2014:
Just read all of this in one sitting (: I completely adore this fic. It feels so organic, and the characterization is brilliant. All of the marauders act and feel like themselves. I also adore Eden, she's just such a entertaining OC to read about. I can't wait to see more of her and sirius, it know their relationship will kill me feels.

Please continue soon haha! I need more from this lovely story :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by oldnumberseven  Mood Swings

26th June 2014:
Omg how did I not see this was updated?? I'm so sorry!

As always, I love the way Eden is progressing as a character. The opening entry is great in that respect - and I really laughed out loud at the second part of it ;) Her relationship with Gil is also very entertaining and it's funny to see her play the matchmaker while sort of having things work out with Alaric. But I'm still patiently waiting for Sirius to return. I'm really curious to see how you write them together!

:)

 Report Review

Review #3, by RedHairGinny Mood Swings

16th June 2014:
I have to read more!
Come on!
You can't pause here...

Author's Response: Haha, oh I think there are worse places to pause...

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lisa Mood Swings

13th June 2014:
Nice chapter. Waiting to read what happens next. Post sooner this time:)

Author's Response: I shall try, my friend! If only I could spend my life writing, everything would be so much simpler.

Thanks for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by chocolateteacups Mood Swings

11th June 2014:
Honestly, I just found this story today and I've eaten what's here of it all up already.
I love your writing style, it's honest and consise - but you still manage to explain everything with enough detail for it to seem believable.

Eden is such a cutie. She's a very real, believable and sweet - without being, well, suffocatingly Hufflepuff-esque. She's fun to read about and her friednship dynamics with others are always an intersting read.

Also, since I'm basically reviewing the entire story here (sorry), and even though he wasn't in this chapter, I adore your characterisation of Sirius. He's older and invested in his friends, and he barely cares about Eden (yet!) but he still manages to be an exciting and interesting character. He's also funny and witty, and his loyalty to James was evident when he distracted Eden for the sake of his dignity. I love him already. Hopefully Eden will get there soon?

I think your inclusion of Eden's journal entries is very clever, it lets us she what she's feeling directly and helps to convey certain parts of the story with far more clarity. Great authorial decision there.

Anyways, can't wait for the next chapter, I'm already hooked :)

Author's Response: Woooaaah I am grinning like a loon right now. What else can I say but thank you thank you thank you!!

I'm thrilled that you like Eden. I feel like Hufflepuffs get an even worse rap than Slytherins in fanfictionland, so she's my attempt to change it up a bit (along with Gil and the others). Also it's great to know that my characterisation of Sirius is coming across as I intended. I can't wait to include more of him...soon. :)

This review was a treat. Thank you again, and hope you enjoy the rest!


 Report Review

Review #6, by bananasareamazing Mood Swings

10th June 2014:
I loved this chapter!! I really adore this book! I can't wait for the next update!!! I'm sure it's be just as amazing as the rest!! I can't tell who I want Eden to be with though! Gil, Sirius, or Alaric. Maybe not Gil though I think him and Natalie will make an adorable couple! I hope it doesn't turn out that Gil has a crush on Eden or something, I don't want their friendship ruined over something as petty as that!

Author's Response: You are so nice!! Thank you so much for your review. It means a lot that you're still interested. :) Working on the next chapter now.

 Report Review

Review #7, by :) How to Be a Matchmaker

2nd June 2014:
Next chapter please!!!

Author's Response: Next chapter is now in the queue! Sorry it took so long :(

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lisa How to Be a Matchmaker

15th May 2014:
Great story. Update soon!

Author's Response: Eeee, thank you! Next chapter is in the works.

 Report Review

Review #9, by oldnumberseven  How to Be a Matchmaker

13th May 2014:
Ahhh, how have I not had the time to read this new chapter? Anyways, it was brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.

I love the way you give minor characters depth - for instance, the scene with the Hufflepuff Quidditch practice was hilarious. I love that you pointed out how Hufflepuffs don't respond well to threats, as well as the silly rhyming bit. I actually snorted out loud when I read that part, which wasn't a good choice, given that I was in the middle of taking a sip of Diet Coke :P

I'm interested to see what happens with Gil's love life ... but more interested to see what happens to Eden. I like that you're not focusing directly on her relationship with Sirius, but it pop up every once and awhile and makes a lovely appearance. So things seem like they are progressing naturally rather than all of a sudden.

:)

Author's Response: Oops, sorry about your Diet Coke! Heh, it's not a Quidditch chant without a cheeky rhyme, I think. I'm really excited to focus more on the Hufflepuffs, as I reckon they're secretly pretty cool, despite the wimpy stereotype. Thank you so very much for another lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by :) How to Be a Matchmaker

12th May 2014:
Loved it! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you like it. Next chapter's coming soon!

 Report Review

Review #11, by BlueElephant How to Be a Matchmaker

9th May 2014:
I really love the direction this is heading! Lara is such an interesting character, can't wait to see her and Sirius interact more!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it! Currently working on the next instalment :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by RedHairGinny How to Be a Matchmaker

9th May 2014:
Nice :)
Waiting for the next chapter!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Next chapter coming soon.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Fiona How to Be a Matchmaker

9th May 2014:
love it! please update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Next chapter is in the works :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by ladyrae Meetings and Marauders

8th May 2014:
Loving this story so far, especially how obnoxious Sirius has been. Can't wait to see everything develop!!

Author's Response: Ah yes, I do like an obnoxious Sirius too. Thank you for reading and reviewing! More to come soon :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by oldnumberseven  Classes Begin

7th May 2014:
Ee, I'm really starting to love this fic and it's only the 3rd chapter!

Your writing and flow is amazing, it really is. I feel like all of the events are believable and connected - that is to say, nothing drastic has happened that would be out of the ordinary. I guess I say that because a lot of fics have the love interest bump into a Marauder and then have their whole life change. While it seems Eden's getting some flack for it, she's not head over heels. Well, not yet anyways :P

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for your compliments! What you said is very much on par with what I believe with fics too. It's so easy to have a main character who becomes defined by their love interest. And I'm not going to lie -- this is going to be very Sirius-heavy at times, but I'm going to try to keep Eden as true to her nature as much as possible too.

Thanks again for taking the time to read and review! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. And sorry if I tend to waffle a bit. Next chapter's in the queue. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by oldnumberseven  Meetings and Marauders

7th May 2014:
Told you I'd be back :P

Another fantastic chapter. It's really refreshing to read things in Eden's POV because unlike most fics, she doesn't spend her days thinking about the Marauders (hence why she doesn't know Peter's name - that bit had me snorting out loud!). They're just some troublemakers who are a year older than her. It also makes for interesting canon moments, if you know what I mean. It's fun to read Lily and James flirting from a different person's perspective!

Author's Response: Ah, fancy seeing you here. ;) Writing from Eden's POV has its advantages and disadvantages. The former being that I discover everything as she does, and the latter being that she can be pretty biased. But yes, I am trying to stress that distance from canon, mostly because I'd like to develop all the characterisations separately before they start being defined by their romantic relationships (with an exception to James and Lily of course -- they are too far gone by this point haha).

Glad you stuck with me. This was probably my favourite chapter so far. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by oldnumberseven  September 1st, 1977

7th May 2014:
So I decided to take a mini break from work and read some fanfiction ... and boy, I was not disappointed. I'm usually not a fan of diary entries, but I really like Eden's POV in the book and in real life as well. She's fresh and original and I love the little details you add to give her background some life - her french heritage, her socialite mother, her witty best friend and her easy going brother. The bit with James and Lily was great as well!

Well, I only have time to read the first chapter of this fic, but don't worry, I'll be back XD

Author's Response: My word, you are making me smile so big right now. Reviewing every chapter? You are a gem. And now I am going to reply to every review. ^_^

I agree with you about the diary-entry style. It's not something I usually consider with writing as it is overused and often pointless, but this was an exception because it actually tied in with Eden's character. We'll see how it goes, ha. I'm really enjoying writing Lily and the Marauders from an outsider's perspective, so it's great to know someone else appreciates it too!

Thank you thank you thank you for checking this out!


 Report Review

Review #18, by StoryWebber Meetings and Marauders

16th April 2014:
This is really good!
Keep writing, it's turning out well!

Author's Response: Yay, I'm pleased that you think so! Next chapter will be up soon! (:

 Report Review

Review #19, by naflower05 Meetings and Marauders

11th April 2014:
Great chapter!! I really like it! Can't wait to see what happens now with Snape, and the Marauders! =]

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. Next chapter will be up soon.

 Report Review

Review #20, by sweetypye0110 Meetings and Marauders

5th April 2014:
Really well done!! I already like your main character and Gil :) update soon please!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you like Eden and Gil. I'm pretty fond of them too. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by naflower05 September 1st, 1977

31st March 2014:
Interesting story so far! I like your character development so far. Can't wait to see where this goes, update again soon! =]

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! I hope you continue to enjoy it. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login