Reading Reviews for low tide
43 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MrsJaydeMalfoy a meditation

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Hey there lovely! So, I don't know if you remember that Review Hot Seat we had like... FOREVER ago, but, I still owe you reviews from that! *Hides in Shame* And, since we're meant to review Hufflepuffs, I figured I'd make your author's page one of the first I stop by. I'm so sorry for how long it has taken me to get to these, and I only hope that the reviews I leave can make up for my tardiness!

So, although the topic of this is very sad, I actually found it quite hard to be sad while reading this. Yes, there's definitely an undertone of loss here, but it's almost as though George is starting to come to Peace with what has happened, at least somewhat - there's no flat-out grief, mostly just silent contemplation, and I think it's very good for him to be out with Angelina and Lee.

Your description was incredible - I could almost hear and see and smell and feel the ocean as I was reading this, and it actually had quite a calming effect.

The memories of Ron getting stuck on the boulder, and the song, and stealing Percy's fish and chips were funny, but very bittersweet. Still though, they were a nice touch, as they allowed George to think of better times with Fred.

The inner thoughts of George, about life giving and taking away, were very accurate, and I think they show his acceptance of what's happened, to a certain extent.

This is a very beautifully written piece, dear, I really enjoyed it! Great job!

Author's Response: Jayde!!! Thank you so, so much for these reviews - it was such a wonderful surprise to log on and see them as I've missed so much of the house cup this year. And... this is just such a perfect review - the things you pointed out are pretty much every feeling and theme I wanted to convey, and it's just a great feeling to see that you really understood all the subtle things I was getting at without saying. So thanks for your thoughtful and insightful analysis of this!

I especialy appreciated your second paragraph and how you mentioned it was sad but you didn't feel sad - this is totally something I was hoping for. The sadness is still very real for George but this is the beginning of his acceptance of what's happened - and I think friends like Angelina and Lee, who were so close with Fred as well, would be so good for him as they don't push George to recover any faster than he can.

Thank you so much for your kind compliments about the description! I love description and felt that it would be especially important in a piece like this one... kind of like George is noticing things like the details of his surroundings again without his only sense being just blinding sadness.

I think most memories George would have of Fred would be good and probably funny memories, which doesn't make things easier, but you're right - at least he has that.

I wrote this story about a year after I had lost a family member and was just coming to terms with it and accepting it, and in a way I think this is the most honest story I've ever written. Technically, the story is George's thoughts, but it's also very much just my own reflections, and you really nailed it with that line you said about it ultimately being his acceptance.
Thank you so much for this amazing review - I really appreciate it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ron 4 Hermione a meditation

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015-Hufflepuf

Hey there, this is both really sad and really peaceful at the same time. This is such an interesting fic, it's just a normal day to day fic of George but of course it's twinged with sadness because he's the only twin left. I think this is a really realistic portrayal, he's not sat in tears all the time, but he hasn't forgotten Fred, even when he's out with his friends. This seems especially pertinent for Fred and George since they were always together, and so as you've shown, everything George does has memories of when he did it with Fred.

I love that you've chosen to set this at a beach, it gives it an almost peaceful feel which is rare in fics that look at the loss of Fred with George but I think you've made it work really well! This is a really great fic, and I think you've written it beautifully! Gonna add it to my favourites! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you, I am really glad you enjoyed this fic and that you found it simultaneously sad and peaceful - I was definitely aiming for that. I'm also glad to hear you found it realistic. I think that George would be kind of a mix of emotions as he is sad that Fred is gone, yet mostly all of his memories of Fred are happy ones so it's a kind of blend of the two. I'm glad you liked that, thanks!

The sea seemed like the perfect setting to write as it really just exemplifies the theme of cycles and change and time that I wanted to touch on - besides, I love the ocean and was living near one when I wrote this ;) It's great to hear you liked the element of peace in the story - George's thoughts in this are largely based on my own experiences of coming to terms with grief over time. And wow I'm so honoured that you added it to your favourites! Thank you! This was a wonderful review, thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LastMinuteLuna a meditation

1st June 2015:
Hello! Hello!

I'm LastMinuteLuna and I'm dropping by to leave you a review for the Pass It Along Challenge! I know. I know. It's awfully close to the deadline. I am cutting it quite close, but they don't call me LastMinuteLuna for nothing!

But enough about me. Let's talk about your fabulous story!

I love second person POV and I also love stories about George, so I figured this would be a good place for me to start. The way that you used second person in this was beautiful and haunting. It made everything feel so much more personal.

It's so sad that George is at the beach with both Lee and Angelina, but is unable to enjoy it fully because of the way everything ties bac to Fred. I imagine that most things in his life must link back to his twin in one way or another. I feel like that would be torturous.

On the same note, I'm happy to see that he does have moments of happiness in this. He laughs at the poor sandcastle as it gets demolished by the waves. He seems to be enjoying he greasy fish n chips and the company. It just seems to be lightly tinged with melancholy.

The technical aspect of your writing was beautiful. The words flowed nicely and the pace was just right. It was reminiscent of things past, but not in a way that got boring or drawn out. I thought the fact that you kept it at five hundred words kept it from getting overly emotional. All in all, this was really well done!

Uh oh! Times up. I have to run. I've got a few more reviews to leave and the deadline is approaching! Thanks for such a haunting story!


Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for this unexpected review, it was so kind of you! :)

This story was my first attempt at second person POV and I discovered that I really like that perspective! Thank you so much for your comment, I'm really glad you liked the way I used the POV here.

I like your analysis of the scene here - it's definitely what I was going for, in that it's very difficult and sad for him (and exactly - everything must bring back memories of Fred because they were always side by side!) but there's a bit of hope in that things will get better - time will pass as it always has and he has good friends by his side, and he'll always have these funny memories of Fred. I'm glad both sides of it stood out to you.

Wah, thank you for calling the writing beautiful! ♥ Although the 500-word limit was a bit challenging, it really helped with the simplicity of the scene which I was going for. I'm so glad you think it worked.

Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Summer Snake a meditation

24th May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

Aw, this was such a sad little piece. Here, something to cheer you up. *showers confetti and flowers*

You captured George's despair really well here and I really felt for him. It was amazing just how much he missed his twin brother and how he thought of him with each little thing.

The imagery was beautiful and I could visualise the scene clearly. It was like a bittersweet painting and I loved reading it. Now, I'm just a little reptilian creature slithering along the lawn in hopes of some good stories to spread summer cheer to and this one definitely needed the cheer as it gives me so many feels.

You did a great job overall and expressed a lot in such few words. The entire thing had a very captivating and moving feel to it and I really liked it. Definitely worth the read.

I'd love to stay but now I'll be off to explore more of this wonderful sun and get over these sad feels I'm getting! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

Author's Response: Hello, Summer Snake! Thanks for stopping by my story on your way out of hibernation!

I'm glad you were really able to connect with George's despair here. With Fred having been at his side for basically everything, it seemed natural to me that a lot of things would bring back memories of Fred.

Thanks so much for your comment about the imagery, that was definitely the #1 thing I focused on in this piece and it's so great to hear that it was effective. I love your comparing it to a painting! I am so glad you thought it was captivating and that it said a lot in a little number of words. 500 words was a challenge, but worth it as I thought it really complemented the simplicity.

Once again thank you sooo much for stopping by and leaving this wonderful review! Enjoy the sunshine!

 Report Review

Review #5, by I got a Puff Space, baby, and I'll write your name a meditation

16th April 2015:
Hi Kristin *waves*

I'm I got a Puff Space, baby, and I'll write your name, and I'm here because I've seen you around the forums and figured I should read and review something of yours. So here I am doing just that.

Wow. This just a heartbreaking but very well-written one-shot. Fred and George stories always break my heart, and especially when they are set after Fred's death.

My sister in RL was actually hit by a car a couple of years ago, and I still remember how scared I was she wouldn't make it. And I suppose that's why stories about these two hit me so hard, because that could've been my life. My sister was serious injured, but she did make it in the end. And I can't imagine not having her around, and losing twin, who's like the other half of you, must be even harder. So stories about these two after DH just breaks my heart.

But I loved how you wrote it. You created a good scene, because you're very good at description. I could practically see everything happening in front of me, imagine George sitting there in the sand thinking about his late twin brother. And it doesn't happen very often when I read on HPFF, but it happened here. So you're obviously a talented a writer.

I'm afraid I have to get back to the forums now, but I'll see you around there (people seem to misunderstand what I mean with this - I will see you, but that does not necissarily mean you'll see me nor that we're very close. It's just my way of saying that I'm a member over at the forums, and look for me if you like)

I got a Puff Space, baby, and I'll write your name

Author's Response: Lotte! I am still in awe of how many people you reviewed under various pseudonyms of songs and Game of Thrones characters. This was such a wonderful surprise review!

Gah, I love Fred and George so much and part of me is still in denial that Fred died. It's just so NOT FAIR. :'(

oh wow, what a scary thing to go though- I can't even imagine how terrifying that must have been. I'm so glad your sister was all right. ♥

Thank you so much though, for your compliments on the descriptions in here! The story is almost entirely built around the description so that is really great to hear that it was effective and that you could visualize the whole thing.

Thank you so much for your review!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Microwaved Marshmallow Peep a meditation

5th April 2015:
peep peep

It is I, a pink marshmallow Peep! I am sitting in a cold microwave, and right now I feel very sad because of this story.

Fred and George stories always hit me in the feels, right in the center of my squishy marshmallow heart. If Peeps could cry real tears, I would have rivulets of pink sugar running down my cheeks.

Some of the lines that you wrote read like poetry, and in general, the story has a beautiful melancholy feel. I am so sad that George is sad, but the metaphorical implications of the tide rolling in add to that sadness, and the impression that soon, he will begin to heal.

My heart melts for the guy, it really does. My heart is also melting because someone turned the darned microwave on...

My time is running out, but I want to commend you for your wonderful use of imagery and ability to describe a scene in such a small amount of words. It takes great talent to make brevity feel timeless, and that's what you did here.


My time is soon to be over. Thank you for writing this exploration of melancholy, and I hope that you know I'll be thinking about it when my time is up. You are a wonderful and expressive writer!

♥Microwaved Marshmallow Peep

*muffled explosions, softly rolling away like the tide*

Author's Response: Hello, Microwaved Marshmallow Peep! I am very sorry to hear about your melty demise at the hands of the microwave, but before that happened, you left me the most wonderful review that put the hugest smile on my face, and I can't thank you enough for that! ♥

I'm glad you liked the imagery and metaphors, and how it created the scene and suggested healing in the future. That was definitely the impression I was hoping to give, so I'm glad it came across clearly!

"Making brevity feel timeless" - wow, thank you, that's such an incredible compliment! ♥

this whole review was so kind, and I want to give your microwaved, exploded melty self the biggest hug ever. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by origami_lion a meditation

24th March 2015:
I really liked this fic. The opening was really strong and built a great sense of place. I think you captured how George would feel as a sole surviving twin, especially considering they did do everything together. I also really liked the way he's still laughing, even though he's clearly still grieving too.
This was really well written, a lot of the sentences came together really nicely and you really use the short length to your advantage. It was a perfect use of 500 words!
Thanks for sharing!


Author's Response: Hello Stuart! Thank you so much for your thoughtful review, and I'm thrilled that you liked this fic! I'm glad you felt it had a good balance of happy and sad - as you said, he's laughing even though he's still grieving - that was a lot of the feeling I was trying to convey. It means a lot to me that you liked the descriptions and sense of place as well, thank you! 500 words was a challenge - it's pretty limiting - so that's really wonderful to hear that it worked. Thanks so much for reading and for your review! ♡

 Report Review

Review #8, by Felpata Lupin a meditation

14th February 2015:
I don't usually read George-mourns-over-Fred's-death stories, but I had a promise to keep, so here I am.
Tears, more tears, and even more tears...
This was so beautiful. In such a short space you managed to put so many emotions...
You have a way to describe the sea that is just perfect!
And all the childhood memories you put in here... It was all so sad and so sweet...
Another lovely piece of art, Kristin. You are such a wonderful writer.
All my love, as always.

Author's Response: I still can't believe you're reading EVERYTHING on my page. Like... I want to give you an award or something, it really means so much to me that you like my writing that much. Gahh, you are just wonderful ♥ *hugs*

Thank you so much! I'm glad you were able to feel all the emotion in this piece despite it being so short, and that you liked the descriptions of the sea. Glad you liked the memories as well. I felt that happy, humourous memories were necessary in a story where George couldn't be making jokes in the present. Someday there will be more happy memories for him :)

I appreciate your reviews so much! Thank you for your kind words! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Fred Weasley's Ghost a meditation

21st January 2015:
Wow. My brother needs to cheer up doesn't he?!

Has all this namby pamby nonsense come about because I'm dead? If my foot wouldn't just go straight through his shin, I'd kick him! I mean, I know I'm handsome, clever, funny, witty and...what was I talking about again?

Oh yeah, George. He's obviously missing me, who wouldnt'? I hope he cheers his miserable face up soon. I'll let it slide that he's snogging Angelina now as long as it makes him happy again.

George's miserable face aside, there's some flippin' good description going on here. I could almost smell the sea air again...Thank for bringing back some fond memories for me. Wish I'd stole all of Percy's chips, I definitely would have if I'd known what a git he would end up being.

Author's Response: Why, hello Fred's Ghost! I did not expect for you to visit my story, and I'm so honoured that you did! This was such a wonderful review, and I'm glad to hear from you again, because last I saw you, I was sobbing over your death in DH.

George's face will get less miserable over time, I think ;) The fact that he has good friends beside him and the knowledge that he has a ghost brother who will attempt to kick him in the shins would definitely be helpful on the road to recovery.

Thanks about the descriptions, I appreciate it! Ah, the regrets we live with. (well... afterlife with?) I suppose if your only regret is that you didn't steal all of Percy's chips, you did well for yourself. I'll pass on the word to Percy that he's a git.

Thanks for this review! It totally made my week :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by tangledconstellations a meditation

6th January 2015:
This was honestly one of the most bittersweet, heartbreaking one-shots I think I have ever read! And that is saying something, because I normally tend to gravitate towards the angst spectrum. Wow! The twins :(

I think you've done such a good job for the Every Word Counts challenge here. This is my no means overstated or rambley - its concise and raw and really grounding as a brief tale of loss. I love that you've started this out kind of abstract, but gradually George focuses more and more on the real and Angelina and Lee around him. I can picture this scene so clearly - just three friends trying to support each other and trying to live on. This was really beautiful. You didn't need them to speak, you didn't need George to really mention how he is feeling. It was already there, in the beach and the sea. It felt as though it was washing over me really gently without being overbearing, like the tide, I guess.

The mention of the memories is what really got me. I don't know why, but it was the one about the two of them making up a song about Ron stranded on the rock. I think because its such an honest, silly thing - something the two of them would definitely do! In the wake of the war and Fred's death it seems like such a lovely and childlike memory. It really got to me!

This was a really great read, thank you. :)

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Laura! ♥ This review was such a wonderful surprise, thank you so much!

Only using 500 words is a huge limitation but it seemed to make a lot of sense for this story as that highlights the simplicity of the moment even more. This story, while it's technically George in a step towards recovering, was also me getting past grief in my real life - so I am really glad you pointed out the word 'raw' there, and that everything I was putting into the story translated well. I'm so flattered that you liked the way this was written and saw it as beautiful, and the transition from abstract to real in his head.

Thank you, I'm so glad the memories stood out to you. Despite how sad George was in the present, most of his memories have Fred in them, and are happy or humourous or just not sad, and I think with that memory especially it was really just to bring Fred's memory back to life for an instant, and at least George has that. I'm so touched that you said it got to you, and that you liked that aspect of the story.

I can't thank you enough for this review! You are so kind! ♥

 Report Review

Review #11, by Unicorn_Charm a meditation

20th December 2014:
Hi there!!

I thought I would take a look at one of your oneshots. :)

Anything involving a Fred-less George is horribly sad. You really did a fantastic job at capturing the loss George feels with out Fred. Just the little things of how he remembers the last time he had fish and chips was with him, the last sand castle he made was with him, the song they made at Ron's expense. Everything in his life, I'm sure, would just be a constant reminder of Fred, because Fred was always a constant presence in his life. In just over 500 words, you've portrayed that beautifully.

The description in this was astonishing. It was almost as if I could hear the sound of the waves crashing, smell the ocean and feel the sand. You did an excellent job of setting up the scene.

I loved the idea of George, Angelina and Lee all together. They would be three people, besides the rest of the family, who would have mourned Fred the most. It seems appropriate that they would have all been together.

I really liked this, a lot. As always, your writing is smooth and effortless. It's always such a joy to read. Well done! :)

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Meg!! ♥ What a lovely surprise review, this was so kind!

The idea of George without Fred makes me sad every time :( I'm really glad to hear that this story captured that sentiment though, in all the memories. Exactly as you said, everything is a constant reminder of Fred who was there for everything George remembers.

Thank you so much! I am really glad to hear that the description was effective and that you could feel it - that was absolutely what I was hoping for. :)

I think Lee and Angelina would have been hit so hard by Fred's death as well, and it only seemed appropriate to have all three of them recovering together - and although it's obviously the hardest for George, they're all working through it together. I'm so glad you appreciated that.

Ahh, thank you SO much, I can't express how much this means to me! Thank you for your review!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #12, by adluvshp a meditation

20th December 2014:

Aw this was such a bittersweet little fic. George one shots about losing Fred always make me tear up. This almost did too! I loved your descriptions, and how you expressed his pain and memories of Fred so beautifully, mingling it with the present. The analogy of the tides and all was awesome too. This made me smile and tear up at the same time really - I just want to hug George now.

Great writing!

Author's Response: Aditi! Ah, I know it's just the saddest thing to think of the twins being separated :( Thank you, I'm really glad you liked the descriptions and metaphors in this, as well as the mingling of present and past as George's memories surface - that means a lot to me! Thanks so much for your review!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by writeyourheartout a meditation

14th December 2014:

Okay, so, I have to admit, I've been actively avoiding reading this story for a long time now. It's just that I love your comedic writing so, so much, and I know you're going to be amazing at serious fics too because you're awesome like that, but this story clearly deals with Fred's death, and... yeah, it may sound hypocritical considering my novel, but outside of Lying Josephine, I'm still very much in denial over Fred's death! LOL But I'm finally going to bite the bullet and read this story, so here we go...

*some amount of time later*


That was really beautiful. I mean really, really beautiful. *is definitely not teary-eyed right now* *sniffs*

I love how - what's the word I'm even looking for? - easy it read. What I mean by that is it was obviously very sad and a difficult moment to portray, but none of it was forced, none of it felt tortured; it was written in a simple way that didn't tell the reader exactly how George was feeling about the loss of Fred, but still made us feel that loss just by his breathing in and out, by his decision not to join in on the castle building, by these small moments of thought and action that were a reflection of his feelings and built the emotion for us readers without telling us about it. I love that.

Your imagery and description in this story is to die for. I felt like I was there, sitting in the sand with him and Angelina and Lee, eating fish and chips, trying to find some semblance of normalcy and happiness amongst these simple pleasures.

This line hit me hard: Focus on the waves to numb the memory of that jarring impact on the castle wall, the tumbling stones, Fred laughing, Fred motionless. - It perfectly rekindles that moment in the books when Fred dies with "the ghost of his last laugh" still on his face, and makes it even more impactful when you gut-punch us with the words "Fred motionless." Ugh. So powerful that it makes me hate you a little cause THE FEELS. THE FEELS, KRISTIN. STAHP IT.

I love this line, too: And so the wheel turns. - because yeah, it does. I lost my dad in a very tragic way, and those moments are so crazy, so life-altering, and it feels like everything is done, is over, but it's not, cause life keeps going anyway, and you just try to find a new normal for yourself. It's a surreal moment, realizing that the wheel continues to turn. You captured it beautifully.

I don't know what else to say, to be honest. This was phenomenal. You are brilliant. Don't write any more stories like this or I might die. ;)

Tanya ^.^

Author's Response: Aw. Honestly, I completely understand about being in denial of Fred's death. How could JKR separate the twins?! Why?! I just... ugh.

Gah, thank you so much! *hands over tissue* I am really glad to hear it flowed in an easy and simple way - I was going for a sense of clarity through simple things as George begins to recover a little bit at a time, and how being in the presence of the power of nature reminds him of how everything moves on - like taking a step away for a moment. I'm glad to hear that the emotions were effective in being mostly implied, thanks!

ahh, thank you! that is so wonderful to hear about the descriptions, and gahh sorry for the punch in the feels line about Fred, but I am glad to hear it was so powerful, that means a lot to me.

Wow, thank you, I really appreciate that that line about the wheel resonated with you. I am so sorry to hear about your dad :( but yes exactly, it hurts, and it goes on. This story is the most honest piece I've ever written - really it's half about George moving forward from Fred's death, and half about my coming to terms with the death of my cousin.

Aaah, thank you soo much! You are too nice! ♥ Thanks for your incredible review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by TwilightPrincess a meditation

13th December 2014:
Hi! I'm here from the Puff Review Hot Seat!

I love this story so much. As the starter of the Every Word Counts Challenge, I'm so happy to be reading and reviewing this. I love the emotion that you were able to pack into five hundred words. You did a really great job with establishing the deep feeling in the reader. I like the metaphor of the sand being washed away by the water. It's so beautiful and simple. I appreciate that you didn't overdo it.

I like that you chose to tackle the subject of George reflecting on the loss of his brother, alone. Too often, I see fics where writers explore George's feelings THROUGH his relationship with others, but I am really glad you chose to write him alone, reflecting by himself. It is very moving this way. And I say alone because even though Angelina is there, she is not talking him through his feelings or helping him figure anything out. That's what I mean. You did a great job.

Also, I really like the second person! I think it works really well. It can be tricky to make second person seem natural, but you did an excellent job. I've been on a second person kick lately so this was a thrill to read. You did an excellent job with this story and I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: You started the Every Word Counts Challenge?! You're basically a HPFF legend. That was an awesome challenge! :D

I'm so glad you liked the metaphor of the sand and the water, and that you thought the story evoked deep feeling. Considering the nature of this story it was definitely intended to focus on emotion a lot, and I'm so glad that came through but not too heavily. :)

I think that there is an important part of the grieving process that is necessary to be done alone, which is the point George is at in the story - I'm so glad you appreciated that. And yes, the way I see it, Angelina and Lee are there for him if he needs to talk, but aren't pressuring him to - so he can still have the time he needs but isn't lonely. It is so wonderful to hear that this was moving, thank you!

This was my first try writing second person and I found that I love that POV! Wow thank you so much, this review is so kind and I'm so glad you liked the story! Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by wolfgirl17 a meditation

18th November 2014:
Hey love,

Me here for the review swap =)

You're hitting me in the feels with these stories of yours!

I just love all of your writing! It's so deep and emotional, especially this one. I like the way you had George not join in on building sandcastles because he wants to keep the memory of him and Fred doing it all the more precious.

I always find post-war George stories the hardest to read because they just make me so sad. I don't think there is a bigger injustice in all of the books than JK having the indecency to kill off only one twin. I mean, why not Percy for crying out loud?

How could she do this to us?

And now I'm rambling.

This piece is short, but it's so filled with emotion that I think were it to be longer it might lose some of the poignancy of loss and grief George feels without Fred.

Excellent work, as always. I'm so stalking your page for all your stories. I'll get to them all eventually when the plunnies in my head stop reproducing and distracting me. lol.


Author's Response: Hi!

Wow, thanks ♥ I really appreciate you saying that you love my writing *hugs*

I'm glad you liked that bit about George sitting out during the sandcastle making. Gah, I know. Every time I even think about that point in the book I get sad again, and a bit angry at JKR for separating the inseparable Gred and Forge.

Thanks, I'm really glad that this piece felt emotional and poignant. It was a bit of a challenge to only use 500 words - this was the first time I'd attempted it!

Aaah Thank you so much! It really means so much to me that you like my stories! Good luck managing those plunnies haha.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Loonylovegood67890 a meditation

16th November 2014:
Hello, here for the review swap!

Yay, a second person pov fic! I love second person and you did a great job of using it as it really drew me into the story at the start. I felt like I was right there with the characters.

I always feel sad reading George fics when Fred's died because he isn't the same without his twin. And this nearly had me breaking down - especially when you said 'Fred laughing, Fred motionless.' - it just brought back all the emotions I felt in the book when he died. That line was especially effective for me.

I love how you have everybody else getting on with their lives, but how George is so lost. It was so sad yet you made me laugh when you talked with the song they made up about Ron.

Amazing writing! Wonderful story, I love this. Thanks for the swap! :)

- Becca.

Author's Response: Hi Becca! I love second person too! I'm so glad you liked the way I used it here - it was my first time attempting that POV!

Guh, don't even get me started - I'm still not over Fred's death :'( I can't imagine how hard it would be to lose a twin. I'm glad to hear that line was effective though and brought back those emotions (although I'm sorry about that too, bringing you back to that sad point in the book!)

Everyone is trying to get on with their lives, as time is moving on and so are they, eventually - although Lee and Angelina are doing better than George is. I'm glad you liked the silly things like the song- I figured that memories of Fred would be good and happy, even if that is contrary to how George feels remembering them again.

Thanks so much for your awesome review and for the swap!

 Report Review

Review #17, by 1917farmgirl a meditation

21st October 2014:
That's it.

I quit.

How could anyone possibly hope to write George ever again after reading this?

And just when I thought my heart MIGHT have started to mend, you rip it right back open.

Seriously, I'm hanging up the Fred and George hat and bowing to your mastery.

AMAZING fic! Incredible imagery and use of words. You didn't tell this story, you let it wisp in to us on the tide, in the smell of the air, the feel of the sand.

It might be the fact that it wasn't a sobbing, distraught George that told this story, but a quietly sad one. George doesn't do quiet. That alone expressed the magnitude of his grief, even as he fought back and tried to be alive again.

Yep, you are the master and I sit here in awe.

Incredible. 100/10

Author's Response: NO DON'T QUIT! Because then who will bring Fred back to life?! I'm counting on you for that!

Gah, thanks so much for your comments about the imagery and the words! I'm really proud of how the descriptions turned out in this story and it just makes me so happy when people notice them! ♥

It was definitely a bit weird to write the wild and funny George as so subdued - I wasn't sure if it would seem like him. But I love what you pointed out there, how his silence speaks volumes. Also, the fact that you were impressed by this portrayal of George means so much to me because you are one of the best writers of Fred and George on the site! And so to hear that from you is just asdkjfjakl. Thank you for your amazing review!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #18, by daliha a meditation

5th September 2014:
It's a short one shot but it's very powerful. For a moment i could hear the ocean myself, the way you describe it all it's beautifully done. My favorite part was this:

Like living breath, the waves break and recede, life gives and takes. The tide persists, a cycle; the rotting seaweed returns to the sand. And so the wheel turns.

It reminds of the circle of life theme lion king has.

I'd give this a ten out of ten.

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for your kind review! It means a lot to hear that this was powerful and that the descriptions were that vivid, thank you!

I never thought about it in terms of the Lion King haha, but I do love that movie and you're right it is a very similar message.

Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Gladis Gudgeon a meditation

27th July 2014:
Review tag
Interesting use of second person. Sometimes it can sound really bad, but it didn't. Yoo captured the emotions well in just a few words. The poetic style is nice. Not the most original, but it was an enjoyable read. 9/10

Author's Response: Aw thanks that's lovely to hear about the strength of the emotions in few words. I'm glad you liked the second person POV too! Hm, well, I guess not everything can be original in fanfic about one series - I'm sure every idea has been done at least once :p. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by maskedmuggle a meditation

12th July 2014:

:( This was so amazingly written though. Stories about George alone reminiscing about Fred always make me feel sad but you wrote this in a way that had a sense of peace and serenity about it, which was really lovely. I really liked the plot of this, with George, Lee and Angelina going to a quiet beach to reflect on things. I thought you did a fantastic job characterising George - all the thoughts were so perfect, especially those memories he had with Fred.. ♥ I thought you did an excellent job of using second person POV in this fic to a really great effect. Your writing was really beautiful in this, I really felt such a calming atmosphere from the words you chose. Really amazing :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Wow, thank you for saying this was amazing, I'm flattered! ♥ I'm glad you took away a sense of serenity from this, as I was kind of going for an overarching theme of meditativeness and hope despite the bad memories of the war, and the funny memories with Fred. It means so much to me that you liked the characterisation of George as well, especially since here he's so different to how he was in the books with Fred around. Thank you so, so much for your compliments about my writing, that's so sweet of you! ♥ Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Beeezie a meditation

12th July 2014:
Oooh, your description. As I read, I felt like I could smell the salt air and hear the waves on the beach. It was a little jarring to read on and see that the beach, far from putting George in a blissful, relaxed mood, was reminding him of Fred. I can understand it, though, and I really like that you chose this setting to explore his feelings. Given how close they were and what their personalities were like, I can very easily see George having a hard time with activities that are normally fairly carefree and happy because he associates them with his brother. His decision not to join in with Angelina and Lee when they were making the sand castle made a lot of sense, and I was left wondering whether there would be other things that George will sit out because he wanted to keep those associations with his brother... and whether he'd be able to let them go as more time passed.

This was really thought-provoking. Thanks!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello again! Thanks, I'm so glad the descriptions were immersing enough to make you smell the air and hear the waves. I do love descriptions so this is such a wonderful thing to hear about them :) And it's lovely to hear that his actions and feelings made sense given the situation too. Maybe George will be able to let things go after more time. I left it ambiguous intentionally, to leave it up to the reader to decide. Personally, I think that eventually he is able to let go - it's not like he's ever truly letting go of the memory of Fred, after all.

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story, and thank you for your thoughtful review!!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Pretense Of Perfection a meditation

11th July 2014:
Wow, I'm totally not sure whether I should be laughing or crying right now, as this was a wonderful story. I think you set the scene really well in the beginning, and with the descriptions of the five senses and what each of them are experiencing at any given point. It really set the tone for the one-shot, although I still haven't decided exactly what that is yet. I think your choice of second person POV is impressive, it probably wouldn't have been mine, since I'm terrible at it, but you somehow managed to pull it off quite nicely. I felt as if I could've been sitting there on the beach with the, contemplating the meaning of life and missing my lost loved ones. I think my favorite part overall though, would have to be the descriptions of the beach and the ocean. You managed to capture the very essence of the shore, and I love the analogies you made between that and life and death, both the subtle and the simple. Overall it was very poignant, and an absolute delight to read.

--house cup 2014 review--

Author's Response: Hi! Aw, thank you so much for this sweet review! I really appreciate what you said about the five senses (as I was trying to incorporate the senses in a big way) and honestly I'm glad you said you weren't sure how you feel at the end, whether the tone was happy or sad or both. I think it was that way for George too.

I had never tried second person POV before this, so that is wonderful to hear that it worked! And I am so happy to hear that you liked the descriptions of the ocean and the symbolism of life and death.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! ♡

 Report Review

Review #23, by Karou_Marauder a meditation

10th July 2014:

The sea-theme throughout is so powerful. Water is a constant flow, an endless cycle, and that captures George's emotions so well.

That dead piece of seaweed at the start was great imagery, and you linked it well. One of the things I like here is how every tiny little thing associates with a memory to do with Fred or the Battle, and how George isn't crying he's just breathing and focusing on the constant, eternal waves and focusing on living. Fred would want that.

"Between you and the boulder are a few trails of small footprints in the sand; you wonder whether a new group of carefree children is discovering the tide, or if the impressions in the sand are faded images from the past, where you and Fred walked years ago." I particularly like this part here, and how George isn't sure whether the footprints are real or not. It shows us how he's still attached to Fred, still half-living in his memories - but he's laughing at Angelina, and we see he's not completely drowned in grief.

This is a very powerful one-shot. Every word really does count, and I think that's amazing.

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

Author's Response: Hello! It's wonderful to hear you say that the sea theme is powerful. There is a certain calm in the power and cycles of the ocean, and it was no coincidence that I chose to set the fic at the beach.

Thank you, I'm so glad you liked the memories and how everything linked together from the memories to the seaweed on the shore. You picked up on all the subtle things in this story and that is so lovely to see :) Your interpretations of the story are wonderful too! I really appreciate that you called this story powerful - that's an incredible compliment. Thank you so much for your kind review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #24, by nott theodore a meditation

10th July 2014:
Hi there!

I really enjoyed this piece, it was so powerful and had such an impact, which was fantastic when it was just 500 words and written for the every word counts challenge! And there was no dialogue at all either, but you still managed to convey a lot of emotion through this piece.

Actually, this story combined a lot of my favourite things. I love second person and Fred and/or George stories. You captured George's character so well in this and I just felt so sorry for him, the fact that he'd lost his twin and his best friend and then he's also grieving so much. Every little thing here reminds him of Fred, like something as simple as building a sandcastle, which is meant to be happy. I thought Lee and Angelina were well portrayed as well, and I'm glad that they were so understanding at the fact that George chose not to take part in the end.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Sian! I am still in awe of the fact that you managed to do nearly 400 reviews for the HC, I think you are secretly a witch and accomplished everything with the use of magic. I'm jealous. How was Hogwarts? :p

Anyway. Thank you so much! It means so much to get compliments like this from you because you're such an amazing writer yourself! I'm so glad to hear that this was powerful.

I'd never tried second person before this, and found that I really love writing in that POV! And wow, thanks, I'm flattered that you think this was a good portrayal of George. It was odd writing a very not-humourous George :( I think he'd be kind of stuck in his memories for a while, but luckily his friends don't push him to recover any faster than he can.

Thank you so much for your review!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing a meditation

9th July 2014:
Hey there!

Wow, this was so packed full of emotion, I just wanted to cry. You put so much sorrow and grief into this I'm just amazed, and with no dialogue and just 500 words that's pretty darn amazing! Your descriptions are so vivid in this, I pictured it all...
The tide flowing and the sand castle. I almost felt like I could smell the sea too! I love it with the imagery is as detailed as this so kudos to you!

I was so sad when George made the comments about he last time he did things were with Fred! It broke my heart... I felt so so sorry for him, I can't even imagine losing a sibling and a twin at that. I think you did a great job of dealing with that emotion though. I'm a little bit glad he didn't build the sandcastle, so he and Fred still share that. It was nice that lee and Angelina were so understanding too.

Great one shot!
Lauren :)
House cup review 2014

Author's Response: Lauren ♥ Thank you!! Ah, I am so glad to hear that the descriptions were so vivid, that is 100% what I was going for in writing this, was kind of getting in tune with the five senses and all that - so it's lovely to hear that I succeeded.

The sandcastle bit was because I think George is still in this kind of transition phase where he is recovering but isn't fully ready to live life without Fred yet - I'm so glad to hear that you connected with that. Lee and Angelina are great, I always felt that they were both close to the twins so they would be particularly understanding of George.

Thanks so much for your wonderful review!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>