Reading Reviews for Lion Hearted Girl
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lululuna Lion Hearted Girl

26th May 2014:
Hello! :)

Wow, I really loved this. Reading it actually made me sort of emotional because I just felt so proud of Ginny and filled with love for her. She's such a wonderful character and you truly brought that to life here.

I love how you structured the story, beginning with Ginny's doubt about herself and then the switch where the unseen voice tells her all of her accomplishments and shows her (and the reader) what a strong and amazing person she really is. The use of second person was really effective here because it was like Ginny's inner doubting voice turning around on her.

The repetition of the lyric was really cool and I love how it represented her Gryffindor side as well. The whole concept of the note was cool and so relatable in a way, especially the detail about how she kept the note in her bra as a reminder to be brave, and how it went from being a childhood goal to a reassurance. The bra thing was so typical and relatable for girls, I loved it, and how she got it as a tattoo was very neat as well. There were so many amazing details here, like how she feels like her brothers all decide to take care of her and how they hold onto innocence through her - which seems very realistic for their family and makes a lot of sense - and I loved the wedding and the mentions of Hermione and Luna, they were so in character and just perfect.

This was an amazing one-shot, and I really loved it! :)

Author's Response: Hiya! Thanks for reading!

I honestly love Ginny so much, and the fact that this piece makes you feel the same is awesome! I find Ginny is such an underrated character in the fandom, which I can never understand because she's just so phenomenal.

I'd never really delved into Ginny's story or her psyche until I wrote this piece, and the more I thought about what she's been through the more I realised that she struggles with a lot of things that often go unnoticed or ignored, and that self-doubt was going to be one of them. I think it's so important to show that she can be afraid and doubting herself but still be incredibly courageous, and she realises that for herself as an adult.

The boys holding onto their innocence through her is definitely one of the biggest things that struck me about her - she's the little sister, after all, and they all felt something of a burden to protect her. I'm glad you found the characterisations of Hermione and Luna realistic, despite how brief their appearances were.

Thank you so much for this review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Leonore Lion Hearted Girl

17th May 2014:
Hi! Here from RRT.

Beautiful story! A lot of people say that Ginny's a Mary-Sue, but they should read this - she's a real strong female character. The way she spends so long thinking only of all the things she failed at and ignoring that she was as strong or stronger than the people she admired.

"four and a half broken ones" - why do you do this to me? You are a cruel person, you know that?

That paragraph about the wedding I think is my favourite bit of the whole story - that she's not going to wait for him to propose because she does things her way. Then such a brief picture of the wedding itself, you've created a beautiful picture and so in character. Especially Luna :)

And she's not going to be pushed around by a dumb manager. I love how she makes a stand and wins, not by force, just by letting everyone know what he's trying to do.

Lion hearted girl she really is. An amazing story, so well written. Great job!

- Leonore

Author's Response: Thank you! I have many angry words to say to people who think Ginny's a Mary-Sue - she's a character I will defend to the death, and this story is basically my way of doing that (in a slightly less aggressive/violent fashion)

I am a cruel person. I freely admit it.

I do like slipping in little details like that - there's so much you can do with a single line, and I'm glad I was able to get what I had in mind onto the page (especially Luna. I love Luna. What a sweetheart)

Ginny is an incredibly strong, independent and courageous character, and I'm just glad to have done her character some degree of justice with this piece. Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by newgenerationlover Lion Hearted Girl

19th April 2014:
Hi,
So I just submitted my one shot in for the second person POV challenge thinking that it was alright, not great but passable. Then I decided to check out what others wrote and just... wow... your story absolutely blew me away. Please tell me you are a professional writer or something so my writing has a true reason for being so inadequate next to yours. You are truly an amazing writer and this story is so beautifully well written. I feel like we all have a little bit of your Ginny in all of us and it has really touched me. Thank you so much for this story :).
xoxo
Mary

Author's Response: I don't even know how to respond to this review, except to say I'm sorry you feel yours is inadequate! Thank you so much for such a lovely review, I'm honestly at a loss for words. Of course it's the goal of any writer to touch the reader in some way, and it means a lot that I've accomplished that. Once again thank you so much, and good luck for the challenge!

 Report Review

Review #4, by LightLeviosa5443 Lion Hearted Girl

27th March 2014:
Hi!

So I was going through reading the entries that are already submitted into the Second Person POV challenge, just to get an idea of the different styles of second person, and just wow.

This story was so great, I loved the way you used repetition to instill her feelings in us. I loved the voice that you wrote this in, and how it flowed from beginning to end. I think it really fit well, and was an impressive story.

I absolutely loved the way that you ended it, that last paragraph is just so powerful. I want to go listen to that song forever and ever now, just because I like the idea of a lion-hearted girl (and how well fitting with a gryffindor).

Brilliant job, hon! I loved reading this!

Good luck in the challenge, you're definitely tough competition!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Thank you so much! At the risk of tooting my own horn I am really happy with the way this turned out - I don't normally use second person and I was surprised how well it works. Thank you for reading and I hope your own entry goes well!

 Report Review

Review #5, by missclaire17 Lion Hearted Girl

26th March 2014:
I normally don't enjoy second person point of view simply because of my tastes but this is wonderful!

Ginny is one of my favorite characters in the entire book and she absolutely does not get enough credit. They push her aside as a pawn or a silly girl that still has a celebrity crush on Harry, but she's so much more than that.

I like the theme of how Ginny kept that note with her, and that in the end, she did come to accept that she had been that lion-hearted girl.

Ginny Weasley is one of my idols in life (I'm really not kidding), and this was a wonderfully written one-shot about her! Good job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Second person is new territory for me as well, but I was pleased with how it seems to fit the story and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I adore Ginny and this story really is my love letter to her - she's an incredibly strong, courageous and complex character and I needed to dispel those myths about her that you mentioned - that she's just a pawn, or just a silly little girl. I can't stand it when people are so dismissive of her - Ginny fans unite! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Starbuck Lion Hearted Girl

25th March 2014:
Great, great, great story. The song is such a perfect match and I just love love /love/ you writing.

Author's Response: THANK YOU SO MUCH

 Report Review

Review #7, by maraudertimes Lion Hearted Girl

25th March 2014:
Hi! So sorry for being so late!

Okay, so I have a little checklist for the challenge, so why don't I start with that?

First, this fit the theme amazingly. I loved what you did with the song lyric and I absolutely love Ginny Weasley and I think she is one of the more well developed characters in all the literature that I've read. Next: grammar/spelling/typos! You not only wrote this magnificently, the only typo I could find was:
"You are Quidditch Captain, of course, and you find *your* calling out on the pitch as you lead your team to victory after victory." I think you just missed a 'self' at the end of 'your,' but other than that, it was flawless in that area.

It started strong and pulled me in, especially with you describing Ginny's handwriting at 11 years old spidery. I thought that was genius, considering you ended with describing her handwriting polished. It's such a small thing that I don't think I would have considered it any part of character development had I not read through this with a figurative fine-toothed comb! But it is such a big thing, showing the transition from slightly skittish first-year to mature, polished adult, and that was just amazing!

Everything was clear, concise, and coherent as well, and nothing was ambiguous or confusing, so great job on that! Your flow was impeccable. Although the time line was stretched, Ginny's age jumping years, the way you wrote it was masterful and everything bled into each other like those watercolours of sunsets. It was very nice and really helped draw me in.

Next on my checklist: did it evoke emotions? Yes. Yes it did. I loved how you started with a small and scared Ginny, because I wanted to wrap her in my arms and love her, then you transitioned to the indirect facts of Fred's death (your description of four and half brother - the half being George I assume - was simply heartbreaking), then to Ginny's thoughts of not wanting to let the war define her, which really made me think (I love to think so kudos!) about all the Wizarding War veterans who were asked to be aurors and who turned it down, such as Hermione. After that, you showed Ginny with the Harpies, and I loved how you showed why Ginny decided to go into journalism after Quidditch! Most chalk it up to her becoming pregnant with James, so this reason was mind-blowing and spectacularly fresh! I loved it. After that, the proposal was so cute, and the fact that she had to propose to him because he was stuttering too much seems very Ginny and I aw'd so much! Her tattoo and Harry's response was so cute and I gushed happiness, although I was sad to see that even then Ginny didn't believe him. The new Harpies manager made me mad, although Ginny's rebuttal was flawless and so awesome and is basically the epitome of Ginny Weasley awesomeness - great job on that, by the way, since your characterization was stunning! Then the ending made me so happy and I adored it, especially because I knew myself that Ginny was a lion-hearted girl, and even you hinted at that with saying that she ignored her victories and focused on her defeats. That part really hit me because isn't it true for a lot of people that you aspire to be something you don't realize you already are?

All in all, this was a great one-shot and I'm so glad that it is entered in my challenge and that I got the chance to read this and am now reviewing this because it truly is amazing. I should probably stop soon because this is getting to be the longest review I've ever written, but the gist of this lengthy review is: Amazing job! I loved this and how you used the challenge rules/guidelines successfully while making this superb!

Absolutely stunning job!
Lo:)

Author's Response: AH THANK YOU SO MUCH AND I APOLOGISE IF THIS RESPONSE IS RIDICULOUSLY INCOHERENT

Firstly, that's not a typo - 'find your calling' in the idiomatic sense of finding what you're "called to do" - as in "you've missed your calling" etc - but I can see how that could be confusing :)

I honestly don't know how to respond to everything else, you've been so lovely! I do love that you've picked up on those little details -I was very proud of the way the handwriting tied everything together and it's incredibly gratifying to know that someone else appreciates it. When I first started writing this, I didn't intend for it to span as many years as it did, but it seemed to fit and I enjoyed putting in my own 'headcanons' too much to stick to when she was seventeen. I always found the idea of Ginny switching careers because of pregnancy/necessity at odds with her character, and exploring the other possibilities behind it - and the passion she found for that second career - was one of my top priorities when writing her as a young woman.

I think it's easy to overlook exactly how the war, and everything that happened to her (not just her family, though that has an importance impossible to overstate) affected her and would have affected her perception of herself and her abilities, particularly the possession and subsequent loss of agency. It's subtle, but it's woven into the way she thinks for many years afterwards. I think it's also important to show that she is and always has been an incredibly strong character despite those doubts, and the two aren't mutually exclusive - she's not defined by what has happened to her - which of course fits into the reasoning behind her turning down the Auror job. It's a difficult balance to strike, acknowledging a character's experiences as potentially traumatic and very influential/formative, but also showing how they rise above those experiences to the point you sometimes forget what they've been through. I think that's Ginny's story in a nutshell, and if I've in any way done that story justice with this piece, then my work here is done.

Thank you so much for such a detailed and fantastic review, and for the challenge which inspired this!



 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charm Lion Hearted Girl

22nd March 2014:
Hi there, here to review your entry!

I really liked the structure of this and how you made it span all of Ginnyís life as we really got a full picture of her then, from when she was the young, shy girl faintly dreaming of Harry and then up to when she was an adult and had won him and was this lion hearted girl (minor thing, but I loved how the title tied in with the story, it was really cool!).

I think the fact the story started and ended with this hopeful tone of her life being a good one, and then interspersed with the moments of sadness with Fred dying was really great and gave us a really wide variety of emotions. It also fitted Ginnyís character really well as she was always this fiery sort of girl so the fact her emotions sort of exploded across the story (ok, a bad description but I canít think of a good one right now :P) just portrayed her character really well.

The way you showed the importance of family ties and how much the Weasley family meant to Ginny was really great, especially this line Ďyour six Big Brothers became four and a half broken ones.í As it sort of showed how because they were broken, she had to be the strong one, the one who protected all of them. I never really thought about how Fredís death could change Ginny so it was really interesting to read it here because it isnít covered too much in stories.

I really liked the use of second person POV because throughout the story Ginny was changing from the shy girl to the brave one, so we never really knew who she was in a way so the use of narration complimented it really well, because I canít really imagine the story having the same sense of sadness and nostalgia in another POV.

Thanks for this great entry, it was fun to read!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! Ginny is a very strong, complex character and the prospect of doing her justice, even in the smallest way, is the whole reason behind this story. (Also I love the description of her emotions exploding across the story, and I'm absolutely flattered!) I think in canon we see some of the effect growing up with six brothers had on Ginny and they were all very important to her - the Weasleys are a very close family, of course, and the loss of Fred affected all of them in different ways.

I was surprised at how well the second person fitted this story - I've never written it before (as I imagine is the case with most entries for this challenge) so thank you for the prompt!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Odie Lion Hearted Girl

19th March 2014:
What a GREAT story! A very true word-picture of Ginny. Thank you for putting this into words.

Author's Response: You're very welcome and thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ericfmc Lion Hearted Girl

18th March 2014:
Interesting story, and I enjoyed reading it though I must admit Ginny never struck me as lacking belief in herself or doubting her own courage.

In some ways, this story would be better suited coming from Hermione or Ron.

Thanks for writing

Author's Response: I think everyone doubts themselves at some point, in some way, and there were certainly incidents in Ginny's life which left her powerless and unable to defend herself - I think she places a lot of value on courage and independence, and when that's taken away from her I think it would have a powerful affect on the way she views herself. Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by satellite Lion Hearted Girl

16th March 2014:
This was a fantastic story! You showed her as such a real character, strong and brave but not without conflicts and insecurities. What a wonderful tribute to her character and overall a job very well done! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I feel very strongly about Ginny and I feel like she's one of the more underappreciated characters in HP, particularly among the main characters, and I'm honoured that you think it's a good tribute to her! Thanks again for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ree Lion Hearted Girl

16th March 2014:
Great story, love Ginny, wish there were more stories like this

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I agree, there needs to be more Ginny appreciation in the world. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login