Reading Reviews for Snakes & Ladders
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore Nine - Eleven Weeks

16th September 2014:
Hi again, Jess!

Ah, Christmas! The beginning of this chapter made me all excited for it even though it's still like three months away, but we'll move on from my love of Christmas to this great chapter :P

I really liked the opening! Ruby was sweet to send Emilia something for Christmas like those chocolates (which are wonderful, and now I'm hungry...) and it's definitely a good present to wake up to on Christmas morning! And oh my goodness, those little baby shoes are absolutely adorable! They're really cute anyway but the fact that Albus has gone and got her a present for the baby is just really sweet and perfect!

Contrasting that against her parents' present for her is horrible, really. Obviously the fact that Albus and Emilia are going to have a baby together makes a pretty strong connection between them, but these people are her parents and they've got tons of money - they could actually put some thought into the present for her rather than giving her an envelope full of money which has no feeling in it whatsoever! It was sweet of Emilia to give some to a charity though, last year - maybe she'll need it for herself instead though, this time...

Aw, the build-up to the family Christmas dinner was really well-written. I liked the arrival of some of the extended family, and the almost-chaos that Kendra brought into the house, because it felt a lot more like Christmas should be with the Clearwaters there rather than the cold, perfect Christmas that Emilia's parents had probably planned. I am a little bit confused about how the Clearwaters are related exactly, though - is Elizabeth Emilia's father's sister? (Not that it makes much difference, I'm just curious :P)

It was really cute to read about Kendra and how excited she was about everything to do with Christmas - I thought you captured her as a young child really well, especially with the run on sentences and little details like that. And then during the dinner, when she had absolutely no idea what was going on with the rest of them and was just happy with her Christmas dinner. Elizabeth seems really nice though, and I was glad that Ellis was there for the day because I suspected that her news was going to come out...

Oh my goodness though, that was such a painful revelation! I really want to just be there right now to give Emilia a hug, because she's got such a difficult time to go through. Having to tell her parents that she's pregnant is going to be difficult enough without them being the sort of people who offer to pay for an abortion and then tell her she can have the child as long as she basically goes into hiding and gives the baby up for adoption. Where is the love? Where is the support? These people need some serious parenting lessons! Just because they throw money at their children does not make them good parents, and this is a time when Emilia really needs their help and support and they just throw everything back in her face.

And Emilia is adopted! I definitely wasn't expecting that bombshell, when they suggested it themselves for her baby... her mother is completely awful. Honestly. How can she say something like that to her daughter, just because she got pregnant as a teenager? It's so upsetting to read about and I really hope that Emilia's going to be okay. I'm just glad that there are people that she knows will support her in the long-run, and she's told Albus as well by now. I'm hoping that Oliver will pull through for her too, even if I'm not sure if they're both blood-related now...

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore Three - Nine Weeks

16th September 2014:
Hi again, Jess! I know I reviewed this a while ago but I saw that this chapter accidentally got deleted so I thought I'd come back and leave you a quick review before I move onto the most recent chapter!

I feel so sorry for Emilia at this point, although in a way I think that once she comes to terms with it, knowing is going to be better for her than the uncertainty that she had otherwise, and at least this way she can start to make plans for what she's going to do about everything! And I think you wrote her reaction to finding out the news really well, as it seemed realistic. More than anything, she wanted not to believe it because she didn't want it to be true. I felt sorry for her when she had to switch into normality and pretending that everything was alright so soon after finding out such drastic news!

I think Emilia's handling things quite well, so far. She's quite sensible and at least she's being fair in not instantly thinking that Albus is to blame.

I really liked Rose's appearance here! It was nice to see her introduced as someone that Emilia's friends with already and I liked the way that you portrayed her, too. Their girly sleepovers sound fun and I like the fact Emilia's already got that link with the family and I'm sure that Rose is going to come through for her when it matters. I feel like Emilia's going to need all the friends she can get now!

Yay, I'm glad to see that at least Albus is trying to talk to her and isn't just happy to forget about things or pretend like everything's normal or nothing happened between them. That's a good sign! She does need to tell him soon though and I hope that she manages to get the courage to do that!

Oliver seems really sweet! If he's a Healer as well then it seems like Emilia's going to have a good person in the family to help her out with things in the future, and hopefully he'll look after her and stick up for her if her parents make things difficult (which I suspect they will...)

Ugh, Marin. I really, really don't like her, but you probably know that already :P She's so selfish and self-centred and mean and I really think that Emilia could have a better friend than her, because of course people can have more important issues than what their supposed best friend is being moody about to deal with. But I'm worried that Marin is going to cause a lot of problems for Emilia in the future as well...

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by potterfan310 Nine - Eleven Weeks

8th September 2014:
Heyy,

OH MY GOD! THE PRESENT! SQUEEE :D ALBUS POTTER I WANT TO STEAL YOU BECAUSE YOU ARE ADORABLE. ASDFGHJKL, Can he get any cuter/sweeter and all around nice guy?!?!

Her parents?! Like what, it's Christmas where are the presents!? Presents do not count for one envelope even if it is money. Where are the socks, the perfume, chocolates? One I love though is that Emilia gives it away to help those less fortunate, bless her.

Ellis, I love him so much, He's certainly Emilia's rock no matter what. Plus his little sister is too cute!

If I was outraged at her parents present, then I am even more outraged now. Where is the love people! It's like Em doesn't even live in the same house as them. I mean anyone would disappointed but to blatantly say to her face that she practically should get an abortion which they'll pay is outrageous.

Good on Emilia, sticking to her guns and sticking up to her parents. Proud of her!

Throwing her out honestly, her parents are probably the most unloving people ever. It's Christmas and she's seventeen and pregnant for Merlin's sake! Her mother!?! There aren't actually words for my hate of her parents.

I KNEW IT, SHE'S ADOPTED! BUT WHAT A WAY TO TELL THE POOR CHILD, HER MOTHER HAS NO HEART I SWEAR!

THE NEXT CHAPTER, I NEED IT NOW! I CAN'T WAIT! OH MY GOD, POOR EMILIA *hugs* I'll do a deal, Chapter 10 of this for Chapter 10 of A Blossoming Romance :p

-Potterfan310
Soph :D

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry this response took me so long. I'm usually on-the-ball with these things. Oh well...

I need to stop making Albus do cute things because my heart can't take it. Seriously oh my gosh.

Ahhh her parents were so hard to write because I felt so mean and awful for putting Emilia through that!! I'd like to say everything works out for the best... but who knows!

YES THOUGH WE CAN DEFINITELY DO THIS DEAL! I NEED FOR ABR RIGHT RIGHT NOW. AH.

Hehehehe

Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always


 Report Review

Review #4, by Dirigible_Plums Nine - Eleven Weeks

4th September 2014:
What. I don't believe it. I just...

1) WHY ARE HER PARENTS LACKING IN COMPASSION. AND SOULS. Like yeah, I'd get if they were disappointed- by all means, be disappointed that your teenage daughter is pregnant- but offering to pay for an abortion and then telling her to get out when she refused to?

2) GO EMILIA. STICK TO YOUR GUNS. I am so proud of her rn for not backing down. I have never been pregnant before, but I can only imagine how offended and enraged I would be if I was told to get an abortion. So yeah, go!

3) She's adopted? She's adopted? SERIOUSLY?! Why drop that massive bombshell on her when she's pregnant and she doesn't need the stress. Her parents better get their act together!

4) The present

Author's Response: Hey!

Wow, I did NOT expect such a reaction as this! hahaha. I think (hope) you liked it then?

I was afraid of this chapter seeming OOC for her parents but since they've barely been introduced before this I knew it wasn't possible. They're prim and proper and sometimes you do just GET parents like that. And it's so saddening :(

Don't worry though! There is hope for Emilia yet...

:)

xo


 Report Review

Review #5, by kassandra466 Eight - Eleven Weeks

15th August 2014:
I honestly think that albums we be a supportive partner and help Emilia through this all even if they don't end up together he is incredibly mature for his age. Again another job well done. I loved the chapter. I can not wait for the next one.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the read and review :)
xo


 Report Review

Review #6, by kassandra466 Seven - Ten Weeks

15th August 2014:
Thank goodness rose got rid of Marin. I really am not her biggest fan. But I enjoyed the chapter. It was fabulous.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the read and review :)
xo


 Report Review

Review #7, by kassandra466 Six - Ten Weeks

15th August 2014:
I knew it was never of the potter boys. Ahh this is all spinning out of control. I feel like Marin has her own agenda and does no truly care for Emilia.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the read and review :)
xo


 Report Review

Review #8, by kassandra466 Five - Nine Weeks

15th August 2014:
There is part of me that feels like Marin and albus are seeing each other. I hope not. I don't believe Emilia will go through with the abortion and this incredibly selfish and unknd of Marin to expect her to.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the read and review :)
xo


 Report Review

Review #9, by kassandra466 Four - Nine Weeks

15th August 2014:
Finally. I was worried she would never spit it out. Another flawless chapter. I can't wait to hear the reactions.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the read and review :)
xo


 Report Review

Review #10, by kassandra466 Three - Nine Weeks

15th August 2014:
I am not a huge fan of Marin right now. But I wonder how things with Al are going to pan out.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the read and review :)
xo


 Report Review

Review #11, by kassandra466 Two - Nine Weeks

15th August 2014:
I like that he chapters are short and sweet. Poor albus he is only trying to help.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the read and review :)
xo


 Report Review

Review #12, by kassandra466 One - Preconception

15th August 2014:
I loved it . it flowed beautify, but I have a bad feeling about the events to come.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the read and review :)
xo


 Report Review

Review #13, by potterfan310 Eight - Eleven Weeks

13th August 2014:
Heyyy,

Yay, and update :D Also I saw you said you were at a loss but don't ever abandon it!! If you ever need to bounce ideas drop me a PM or something :p

Poor Emilia, bless her. Morning/every time of the day sickness cannot be fun at all.

Ahh I LOVE the whole idea of the Ministry Gala! Especially as it's Christmas, plus its an excuse to dress up and look pretty :) Not that Emilia probably feels like it right now. She had definitely got a good head on her, that's for sure. Thinking of how she couldn't wear heels any longer and things. I kind of feel like Emilia would have happily worn a dress she already had than have a new one when the money could have gone to a greater cause.

James, oh, James. I might not like him for dating Marin, but I love him for pointing Emilia out to Albus. I think we've got a little matchmaker in the making :D It makes me so happy Albus told him, but I just hope Marin doesn't try to stir stuff up by telling James something to tell Albus about Em, or vice versa even.

How perfectly romantic is the balcony scene! MY HEART CANNOT TAKE IT! I honestly want an Albus so, so much. WE need to find a machine that can make a few hundred :p because he is adorable. The fact he apologised to Em for being an idiot makes me so happy and I'm starting to think they may have some sort of future together as a couple!

As I just said on Chapter 3, I feel her parents don't really care too much about her and Oliver. Like they're just there for show and to uphold the family name. When Emilia tells to them I can imagine there is going to be hell to pay and somehow I feel either her mother would be the one to accuse Em of tarnishing the family name rather than her father. I think it's her mother who revels in the limelight and fame more than her father.

Al took her to bed, the cutie! This is why I need MORE ALBUS!!! PLUS HE'S GIVEN HER A CHRISTMAS PRESENT AND OH MY GOD HE LOVES HER I SWEAR! It's either a necklace or bracelet or at least some piece of jewellery and now I AM HYPED FOR THE NEXT CHAPTER. AH!

Can't wait for number nine! :D

-Potterfan310
Soph x

Author's Response: Hey!

Aw, thank you so much for the kind offer! I'm not sure what came over me but rest assured I've figured it all out now and have even gone to the extremities of writing a 10,000+ word plot outline for the next 21 chapters - oops.

Indeed, I really liked including the idea of a 'ball' of some form but I didn't want it to be as clichéd as usual so I went with this option instead :) alas, yes though, Emilia definitely would have worn an old dress but her mother is very image concious and can't be an outfit repeater ;)

James is a cutie I love him. I am sad though that he won't play a very great character in most of this story. Maybe he'll make up for it in the end, or maybe not. Just note that Marin is definitely not going to be good for him.

AHH, YES THOUGH WE /DO NEED AN ALBUS POTTER MAKER MACHINE OH MY GOD! That would make me so so happy. It'd be like all my christmases coming at once!! I'm not going to give too much away on the Albus/Emilia front but there relationship isn't going to be all ups or all downs. There's some interesting twists and turns to come.

Emilia's parents really hurt my emotions because they really DON'T care about her and that just breaks my heart. Maybe there's a little love there but it's overshadowed by their fame hungry nature.

A necklace or bracelet or something would be super cute but I'm going to say it now and say you're WRONG. It's neither of those, but something just as adorable (maybe even more so) I promise :p

Chapter nine coming soon! :D

Thanks for reading and review. As always, your reviews really make me smile :)

xo


 Report Review

Review #14, by potterfan310 Three - Nine Weeks

13th August 2014:
Hey,

So I thought I'd stop back to chapter three to give it some love.

Poor Emilia indeed, she finally has the result and I certainly don't think it was the one she wanted.

Her whole thought process is definitely a good insight of what she could be like as a mother in a way. She realises it takes two of them and doesn't straight away blame Albus.

Her parents are definitely going to be one of my favourite reactions to read. Especially as I kind of think they don't really care too much for their children as long as they hold up and represent the family name well.

I love Rose and I've said it before but she is most definitely going to be a rock for Emilia throughout the pregnancy.

Two words: Urgh Marin

Off to read chappie eight now since it's new :D

-Potterfan310
Soph x

Author's Response: Hey!

Ah, thank you so much for coming back and leaving a review again ;) it means a lot! I still don't understand how or why it got deleted but oh well!

Thanks again, ily!

xo


 Report Review

Review #15, by dracoismyboyfriendguys Eight - Eleven Weeks

5th August 2014:
This. Was. Perfection.
Uh I can't even explain to you how much I loved this chapter! Al is such a sweetie I want twenty :) Like right there at the end I was having crazy heart palpitations like this is what you do to me Jess! Anyway I can't wait to read more soon and please please keep going with this cause I just have overwhelming love for it :)
-Alice x

Author's Response: Aw, you are too sweet! It's reviews like these that make me never want to give this up. And good new, I won't! I'm not actually writing at the moment because I'm tirelessly writing out a detailed plot spine for this story, chapter by chapter. Currently planned up to chp 13/fourteen weeks so :D

But yes, I mean, where do they stock Albuses (or is it Albi?) because I seriously need at least eighteen of them. It's hard for me to write him so utterly amazing because it's just raised my expectations for real guys :( I'll never find my real life Albus! :o

Anyway, thanks sooo much for reading and reviewing :) ily!

xo


 Report Review

Review #16, by enchantedx Eight - Eleven Weeks

3rd August 2014:
Yay another chapter of a great story. I seriously love this fanfic and keep coming back to read. I seriously don't know what to write more in this review, more than this chapter was great great great and I'm so happy Albus is helping out, even if it's only a little, he seem to be trying a little in the fact that he is going to be a father.

Can't wait for more chapters to come, keep up the amazing work!:)
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time out to read and review :) It means a lot, ily!!

xo


 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodore Eight - Eleven Weeks

2nd August 2014:
Hey Jess! I saw this story in the recently added and thought I'd come and pounce on a new chapter!

This was a really great chapter, and I liked the way that things progressed here. You shouldn't apologise for it not including any Marin, because it's nice to get a break from someone who gets on my nerves so much - and for Emilia too, because she's really got enough to worry about at this point in time!

I really like the way that you're not afraid of reminding us of the less pleasant sides of pregnancy, with Emilia still suffering from morning sickness and things like that. So many teen pregnancy stories forget those elements and it's nice to see you haven't!

The gala evening is an interesting idea, although I'm with Emilia on the fact that I'm sure it would be better to give money to charity rather than spending loads of money on a dress for it! The description of the dress was really nice though and I enjoyed seeing some small interaction with her parents. They seem very distant, as though they think they're providing their children with enough love just by paying for everything for them, rather than actually taking an interest in their lives and things like that. I'm excited to see what their reaction to the news that Emilia is pregnant will be, especially if it happens on Christmas Day! My guess is that her mum will blame Emilia for trying to ruin the family image and claim that she's just seeking attention or something, which would be so wrong. I just hope that Oliver sticks by her, and I'm glad that she's got Ellis to help her too!

When James was the one who nudged Albus in the right direction and pointed out that Emilia was there at the gala I was actually really pleased - I'm glad that Albus told him because it shows that there's a close relationship between them as brothers, but also if James is going out with Marin, I can imagine that would be the sort of thing that Marin tells James to try and make him hate Emilia and get his brother into trouble or something. So hopefully that won't happen! (Here's hoping that if Marin starts being horrible to Emilia and James finds out about it, he'll dump her!)

Yay, Albus is back! He was so cute in this chapter and I'm glad that he apologised and admitted how wrong he'd been for ignoring her and things, and I can understand it in a way. He was so sweet with her though and I think he does like her a lot - perhaps this could come in the way, or it could push them together more. I'm really happy we got to see more of him though and the present that he's left sounds really cute!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hey,

Phew! I feel like although people seem to hate Marin it's still interesting to read about her, or to write her, in my case. I like including her for that reason but yes, Emilia definitely needs a break from her mayhem :p

I feel like I write about the sickness way too much. It should be easing up soon though, rest assured. It won't continue throughout the whole story...

Ah, you got her parents down to a tee pretty much. Through no fault of their own, their heads have been twisted and their love has become far less affectionate than it could've been. Fame can do crazy things to people.

Ahh, James and Albus bromance makes me squeal!! 100% more bro/bro action to come soon. But yes the two of them are super close , which is why Albus really told him about it. They care a lot for each other but, as you said, Marin is going to stir things up for them a bit later on... :p

Thanks so much for taking the time to read and leave such a lengthy review :) it means a lot to me and really made me smile!!

xo


 Report Review

Review #18, by Padfoot31937 Eight - Eleven Weeks

2nd August 2014:
yaaay! It's updated! I love this story so much and for a moment I was scared you were going to abandon it... Please don't ever do that. I need to know what happens next and couldn't bear it if it was left unfinished. This chapter was amazing but the way - I love seeing Albus come to terms with the fact that he has a child now and how he's planning to help Rose. Thanks for updating xx

Author's Response: Ahh thanks for this review. I do have to say though, I'm very apprehensive about whether or not I WILL finish this fic. Maybe I'm suffering major writers block with this only but it's been really difficult to churn out chapters, which I never ever wanted to happen. I think I feel like this mostly because I haven't properly planned it out properly. Who knows though, I'm still working things out and I definitely don't want to let this fic go either!!

Thanks again for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed

xo


 Report Review

Review #19, by MichalKaplan Seven - Ten Weeks

30th July 2014:
I can't wait until you update! Please update soon!

Author's Response: The next chapter is in the queue lovely :)

xo


 Report Review

Review #20, by nott theodore Seven - Ten Weeks

11th July 2014:
Hi again, Jess! Okay, so I think this review needs to be a bit shorter than some of the others (trying for quantity here too, after all) but I'm so happy to see there's another chapter of this and I loved what happened here!

I'd really like to see Albus again in this story - I think that's my only criticism of it so far, and that's only because I want to see more of him and Emilia together and find out more about his reaction to the news that she's pregnant. This chapter was great, though! I loved the fact that Emilia finally stood up for herself to Marin and didn't let her controlling friend make such a major decision about her life - I think the way that you built up to that with her thought process was great. It was interesting to see her determination returning as she thought that the baby inside her was 'her child' and more than what Marin made it out to be. It was great to see Rose and Hermione making an appearance too, to try and stop Emilia doing what she was meant to be! But I also loved the ending section, when Rose and Emilia both stood up to Marin and we really saw her true colours. I think there'll be problems with Marin in the future (I knew she was horrible!) and I'm guessing that Emilia will have to break the news to her family soon, too... I'm looking forward to the next chapter already!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello :3 Can I just say it was super lovely to come on to see you'd left 4 wonderful reviews for me?? Thank you so much ily!

Ahhh, everyone wants more Albus -- me included! HE IS COMING NEXT CHAPTER. I 100% PROMISE. AND NOT JUST FOR A FEW LINES, HE IS GOING TO BE A BIG FEATURE!! Chapter 8 will reveal so so much more in terms of how he has been taking the news and what he wants to happen from there. I'm so sorry he's not been in much but I still think it is necessary. Hopefully you see why when you hear his reasoning :p

There will definitely be more Marin problems in the not so distant future. After all, they are roommates and Marin knows her big secret and Marin is not the nicest of people so is likely to make her life a living hell.

I'm not sure whether Emilia breaking the news to her family is going to be chapter 8 or 9, but that is coming soon alongside a major, game-changing plot twist that will rock Emilia's world. :P

Sorry this is a sucky response. It's almost half past 1 in the morning where I am so you'll have to forgive my incomprehensibility and general tiredness.

Thanks again for reviewing! Not only because this is my fic but also because I want us gryffies to win this HC ;) you're doing us all proud Sian!!

xo


 Report Review

Review #21, by nott theodore Six - Ten Weeks

11th July 2014:
Okay, wow. I really don't know how to respond to this chapter. You said it was a bit of a filler but really I think there was still a lot in there to talk about and to surprise people with!

No, no, no, no, no! I didn't want Emilia to be thinking this at the start of the chapter, because I really feel like Marin has persuaded her into it and she's just convinced herself that she can't cope and needs to have an abortion because Marin doesn't think she can handle it otherwise. It's so unfair. Also, the single parent bit? I'm not sure she will be, but it would be good to know whether Albus has tried to contact her at all or what that state has been between them.

I really like Rose, and it was nice to see her supporting Emilia and being a good friend. Plus, she doesn't like Marin, so I agree with her there. The normality of the wrapping presents was really nice, and I liked the playfulness between Rose and Hugo, when he was trying to peek at his present!

Haha, didn't Emilia expect that she was going to have to encounter Albus at some point, if she is going to hang around with Rose and her family? I'd have liked the transition to be a little slower between that and the next section, I think - but the fact she threw up on his shoes is really hilarious!

Okay, so I guess that Marin's trying to be nice and supportive when she goes with Emilia to the clinic, but it's still all about her! The fact that she's the one being dramatic when Emilia's facing something horrible, and then drops the bombshell that it's James Potter (thank goodness it's not Albus - I was worried for a minute!) right at the end! I'm hoping in the next chapter something happens so that Emilia doesn't go through with the abortion and she and Al finally start talking again!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hm, maybe, but most of it really was filler-material :P I only planned out the last bit, I had to reach hard into the depths of my mind to find something to go before the last scene or so.

I promise promise promise Albus is coming back soon. It's killing me too, withholding him like this, but it is necessary to build on his reaction. You'll see (hopefully) when everything comes to light :P

After I left hints to someone via tumblr asks about what Marin's drama might be, I've had a few reviews off people thinking it might be Albus :P Alas, I am not that cruel. That would be pure torture for me to write, gosh!! I'm not THAT mean ;) Unfortunately the Marin/James relationship isn't going to be touched on for a little while but expect animosity when James introduces his new girlfriend to the family as Albus is introducing his baby mama hehe.

Thanks for reading and an even bigger thanks for reviewing! It's like.. 1:20am where I am so sorry if this response makes little to no sense, oops.

xo


 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodore Five - Nine Weeks

11th July 2014:
And back again! I couldn't not come straight back after that massive cliffhanger that you left me with!

So, Rose seems to have taken the news okay at the moment, although that could just have been the emergency of the situation and the fact that she had to go after Al and help him deal with it. Either way, I hope she'll support Emilia when it comes down to it.

Aw, I love Ellis! I'm so glad that she's got him to stick by her and look after her - he wasn't at all judgmental and he just seemed really supportive, so at least when it comes round to telling her family then Emilia will have at least one family member there who can help her out. And I'm with him as far as Marin goes - she's not worth their time if she reacts badly.

Also, it could be that I am totally oblivious, but I hadn't realised that Ellis was gay. I loved the way that you worked that fact in with the revelation that Emilia was pregnant and the fact that Christmas dinners in their house often lead to a bombshell of news... I'm assuming that it's going to be Emilia's pregnancy this year, then, but I'm not sure how well they'll take it.

I liked Oliver, and how protective he seemed to be - it fit well, especially with the Healer training and stuff. I'd have thought that she'd be staying with him, though, rather than left on her own until their parents return.

Ugh. Marin! I realise I've said that in at least two reviews now, but I can't stand her. First the fact that she's so annoyed at Emilia for not telling her straight away when Marin probably wouldn't have told Emilia about having been pregnant at all, if not for this, and then the way that she just assumes Emilia will want the same as she did and that she can make that choice for her. So annoying and unfair, and not a good way to support her friend! I hope Emilia sticks to her original choices and doesn't go!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello!

...Oops? I hope that's a good thing :P at least there was a chapter to come straight on to!

Rose is a darling, I love her to pieces. There'll definitely be some difficult choices for her to make in the future (around chapter 9/10, I think) but her good heart should shine through in her decision.

My love for Ellis is equal to my love for her. He's definitely been neglected a little in recent chapters but have no fear, he shall be making a come back soon! Though yes, Ellis will of course be by her side when she tells her family. He's a cutie! And gay, yes! I'd worked in a few metrosexual references before but I did want to develop him a little before throwing it out there.

The christmas news is certainly going to be a bombshell. Alas, teen pregnancy may not be the only think discussed over turkey and wine ;)

I guess I maybe should have explained it more in-story but Emilia doesn't stay with Oliver since he is very busy training to be a healer and she thinks she'd get in the way. She's not really fussed about staying home alone because her parents have to go away a lot :p

Not to worry, Sian! Almost every review I've ever gotten for this story has featured the phrase "ugh Marin!". I love that people feel as strongly about her as I do hehee. Definitely not a good friend in any shape or form though. Ughh.

Thanks again for reviewing :)

xo


 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore Four - Nine Weeks

11th July 2014:
Hi Jess! Sorry I've been away from this story for so long after our exchange - exams kept me busy for ages, but I finally managed to make it back!

Wow, this was an eventful chapter! I'm glad that what happened before was memorable enough for me to come back and read on, because I was really thrown into all the action here!

I was really glad at the beginning that Emilia had decided that she was going to tell Albus and was working up the courage to do it - it's not an easy thing to do, especially in their situation, but it's really important she does. And I was so proud of her for going out and being ready to do it, but then she chickened out and Albus was so disappointed, and I kind of wanted to shout at her. A lot. She has to tell him!

Ugh. Marin. I really don't like her, at all. She's such a self-centred character and not at all concerned about Emilia, from the appearance of things so far; she only seems to care about her at the moment because she's not paying proper attention to Marin, since she has her own problems. And that's so frustrating. Maybe I'm judging prematurely, but I guess I'll see as we go on...

Wow! That big reveal and cliffhanger at the end was not something that I was expecting when I realised that Emilia was going to chicken out of telling Albus about her pregnancy. I'm not sure which is better - at least it's out in the open now, and he knows about it, but that really wasn't a good way to find out. I'm glad I've got the next chapter to go on and read to find out everyone's reactions!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Ooh, hello! There was no pressure to return but it's nice to see you back ;) and knocking out these reviews like nobody's business. GO GRYFFINDOR!!

I must agree, I was practically yelling at Emilia when she didn't tell him the first time she tried too but it was important she waited to be around more than just him, bearing in mind his reaction.

Marin, Marin, Marin. I could scream about her all day. Is it wrong to detest your own characters so much? I don't even care - I hate her. And yet, at the same time, she is oddly satisfying to write. It's safe to say you are definitely not judging too soon ;)

I'm sorry you don't get to find out Al's proper reaction yet :P not for a good few chapters, unfortunately. Alas, he shall make a reappearance (in a big way) in chapter 8! I miss writing him :(

Anyway, thanks for reading + reviewing! Keep going strong and do us Gryffies proud!

xo


 Report Review

Review #24, by looneylizzie Seven - Ten Weeks

6th July 2014:
Oh please keep writing and updating this! It's an amazing story and so well written and I LOVE the conflict with Marin and Rose...just brilliant.

Can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Trying my hardest to get the next chapter written and uploaded asap! Thank you so much for the lovely review.

xo


 Report Review

Review #25, by Sunflower Seven - Ten Weeks

25th June 2014:
I've read all the chapters and I just wanted to say that you
have a real talent for writing. The dialogue, the descriptions
and the events flow smoothly and I'm intrigued as to what will
happen. Just a tiny bit of advice (or maybe it's just personal
opinion): I think Emilia is a well thought out character, but
maybe you should include situations that give her a little
spark? Maybe something in the Christmas Dinner as I can tell
her family won't react well. I could see her trying to tell her
parents calmly, maybe kind of off handedly and kind of be
serious but sarcastic? Or you could add a subplot, I feel Emilia
needs to definitely gain an individual unique voice? I don't
know. But I'm glad she's no longer friends with Marin because
hopefully we'll be able to see more independence (is that the
right word?) is their a friendship with Ruby ahead? When will
you update next? I'm really looking forward to seeing what
you'll think up next :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you!! As for your CC, the reasons Em seems a tad dull is mostly for character development purposes. Over the course of the story she's going to learn to stand up against others (Marin is just a start) and will also find her true self, which I assure you is a very snarky, sarcastic person. Also yes there is a subplot coming up which will be uncovered at the Christmas dinner! I'm not sure how many people are expecting it, but it's going to be interesting (I hope). Thanks for reading and reviewing, I will try to update as soon as possible :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>