Reading Reviews for Bedtime Stories
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Owlpost68 Bedtime Stories

12th August 2015:
I loved this, it was so Ron and the present tense was done so well. I did notice near the end that you missed a word from this line: "Sheís going to a special one,Ē Hermione says, pride filling her tone."
I think you meant 'she's going to BE a special one.'
The ending was great, I have seen Zorro and remember that part in the beginning when he was acting out his latest fight for his daughter and the mother caught him. It was so sad that his wife died. I'm glad that doesn't have to happen here. You ended it perfectly with Hermione reminding Ron not to mention Rose not liking Cinderella to her parents lol.
Great job!

 Report Review

Review #2, by TreacleTart Bedtime Stories

27th May 2015:
Hi Lauren!

I'm here for the Gryffindor review swap!

I'm actually so happy that you paired me with this story because not only do I love your writing, but I adore children's stories as well.

Your take on the classic children's story was quite amusing. Considering the magic world, I can understand why young Rose might find Cinderella boring. And I kind of agree with Ron that the old muggle fairytales aren't all that great...at least depending on which version you're reading. Too many of them focus on young girls being married off to some guy they barely know. I like Ron's idea of telling her a story about courage and honor instead.

The way you've characterized Ron in this is truly lovely. He seems like such a happy, exuberant father and that's pretty much how I've always pictured him as well. I could picture him telling a story and then getting lost in the details, acting it out as he went.

I had a good chuckle at Hermione's reaction. The two of them were so cute together at the end. The love they feel for each other was really very clear. After everything they've been through, it makes me happy to imagine them like this.

I really enjoyed this little story! Thanks for giving me a chance to read it!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #3, by StarFeather Bedtime Stories

10th April 2015:
*jailbreak post for Round 5

Hi, me again.

It was first time to read the story from Ron's point of view, but I enjoyed very much.

I felt a little excited,' cause I like Ron very much. You described about him very well, his complaining manner caused by bothering some task, he looked really boring at reading bed time stories of the book he knew too much.

I could imagine Rose was scooped how sweet you wrote about his baby, innocent move and look very well. I remembered my niece and smiled.

And I can't stop feeling awe that you think of the very interesting story "Treasure Hunt" implying Horcrux. Every move Ron did made us smile.

And you set beautiful Hermione effectively at the last , which was also super!

Kenny :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by awesomepotter - Round 5 Bedtime Stories

10th April 2015:
Hi!
I thought this was so sweet, and it was a really lovely one-shot to read. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not generally much of a Ron/Hermione shipper, but you might have convinced me otherwise. The interaction between the two at the end was really lovely, but you managed to keep both of them well within their character, with Hermione being a little annoyed yet quite bemused at Ron's storytelling, and Ron is quite extravagant when he tells the story to Rose, but seems to be incredibly devoted to his wife and daughter. I think your characterisation was great, and really accurate. I also thought it was funny how Rose had no interest in the Muggle fairy tales - it reminds me of Ron. Whilst he is no Muggle-hater, he often seems to prefer Wizarding versions of things as opposed to Muggle things, which he often doesn't understand or just doesn't think are as good as the magical versions of things. It was, to me, a lovely link between father and daughter.
I thought this was a lovely idea, and an original one too - I haven't read similar stories before. You did a lovely job of describing how Ron tells the story to Rose, how he uses her teddies as villains and pretends to duel imaginary Death Eaters. It's all so cute, and really amusing to read. I thought this was very entertaining and very heartwarming from start to finish - well done :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Lady Asphodel Bedtime Stories

10th April 2015:
Hey Lauren! I am here for the Gryffindor March 2015 - Review Exchange. :)



As of late, I'm really loving these fatherly Ron and baby Rose stories! It gives me a huge and refreshing intake of air!


Anyways, this really warms my heart. The way how you described Ron telling the story to Rose and... I could feel his emotions. I can feel his love towards his daughter. It even touched me when he first mentioned Lord Voldemort, and she got scared, but Ron quickly reassures her - my goodness! Cuteness overload! ♥


It's so adorable too how Rose was immersed in her father telling a story, even I have to admit, I was loving how Ron was acting it out. I was completely captured by his character - which you have down beautifully in this fic.


And the last part with what Hermione said about Rose being bored with her grandparent's fairy tale books. Like haha! A really nice touch!



I really enjoy your writing. And this story is another fave of mines. :)


Again amazing job with this! ♥ ♥ ♥




- Asphodel

 Report Review

Review #6, by Secret Santa Bedtime Stories

5th January 2015:
YAY MORE RON. I LOVE RON.

This was so perfectly Ron, and just so perfect all together. He was being fun and loving, but at the same time not making the greaaatest choices ever, but you can't even be annoyed with him because he's just so fantastic.

I mean, it was kinda uncool of him to specifically say that they can stop reading the book that the Grangers got her. He could've just said "how about instead, I make up a story?"

Maybe I'm just being overly-sensitive, though :P.

I'd love to hear Ron tell a bedtime story. He cares so much for Rose, and you can really see that here, with how you've written their relationship. Specifically with how guilty he felt after frightening her, you could see how much he loves her and how he wants to be a good Dad (ssh don't worry Ron, you're a great Dad).

I love Dad-Ron. I could read it all day. I could write it all day. I should write more of that.

Hehe I also fell in love with Ron and Hermione's interaction at the end. You only wrote them for a few lines, but they were fantastic lines! I was able to get a good sense of their relationship, and it was really sweet.

Once again, I'm completely impressed and blown away by your writing. You're really fantastic! Never stop writing.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Freda_and_Georgina Bedtime Stories

11th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014 Review
I like how Ron internally insists that the muggle fairy tales aren't as good as the wizarding ones, but he does have a good point.
Ooh, I'd love to hear the bedtime story version of the Deathly Hallows, that should be interesting.
Ron is indeed a very good actor! :) I liked his story better too; very interactive!
--Freda

 Report Review

Review #8, by kittiesnpotter Bedtime Stories

10th June 2014:
That was so adorable! So enjoyable to read :) keep up the good work!
=]

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a lovely comment :) it was so nice to find!

Lauren :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by prankingthemarauders Bedtime Stories

23rd April 2014:
My first review - and who better to leave a review for than the lovely Lauren herself! :)

I thought I'd surprise you by dropping by and reading a few of the stories you've written (so sorry in advance if I end up spamming up your reviews haha) :P

Firstly, I love the concept of this one-shot! I can imagine Ron being bored of reading muggle bedtime stories to his children (the inclusion of Babbitty Rabbitty and her Cackling Stump made me giggle) - it seemed very in character.

I loved the lines: Charlie keeps saying she will be a heartbreaker. I tell him I will break anyoneís face if they go near her. Thatís a fatherís job after all isnít it? I was "awing" after I read them!

It's nice to see Ron being so protective of Rose :) And trust him find his adventures with Harry and Hermione more entertaining than a story (well they are but that's besides the point) :P

I was laughing at Hermione's comment about Ron being tactless; it's nice to see Ron hasn't completely grown up :P

Thanks for the awesome read, it was an absolute pleasure! Sorry if I rambled on a bit :P

Tam :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ericfmc Bedtime Stories

15th March 2014:
Sweet. Nice read, thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a lovely comment :)

Lauren :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by MissesWeasley123 Bedtime Stories

14th March 2014:
HEY LAUREN ♥

I love love LOVE how you managed to write this so quickly, so thank you for doing that for us, lovely! ♥

And, aw, this was such a sweet little one shot. I loved it :) It makes me feel really warm inside, because I've always liked my dad much more than my mum, I've been one of those daddy's girls haha. I could really imagine this whole thing happening, especially because I think Ron is a sweetheart and I think he'd totally do this for Rose.

Ron's goofy and that's what I loved about him. You pulled his characterization off so well, and I thought everything was just really well written. Rose was adorable and really, their relationship just made me go "aw". Hermione was a fabulous addition to it as well, haha :P

This was a really cute story Lauren, and thank you for writing this for us! I'm so proud that you managed to write osmething so brilliant in such a short amount of time -- honestly, I love it, it's brilliant! ♥

- NADIAAA.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Akussa Bedtime Stories

14th March 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the blackout bingo!

That must have been the cutest little story I have ever read! Mainly because it is way too close to my reality these days... My daughter is just a tad younger and doesn't care for princess stories so my boyfriend tried the "epic knight story" and it worked; she was just so excited!!! We couldn't put her in bed after though, too much excitement...

You wrote that so well; We could just feel Ron's love for his daughter through the piece. His disbelief that this life is real and his, was just perfect and understandable as well! The descriptions were perfect, I could see Rosie's emotions flicker on her face and that was perfect. Most stories I read with little kids that age, people write them as being able to verbally express their emotions (becasue she's Hermione's kid, she MUST be way in advance!) but you wrote her to be a real child and I really liked that.

The story Ron told was perfect; the word choice and the excitement were spot on. I like how you made him skip some part and adapt some others to protect himself and not just Rose. He is still very much traumatized by this day and I like that you ackwneldge that.

I really liked this story, great job!!

 Report Review

Review #13, by ShadowRose Bedtime Stories

13th March 2014:
Hi Lauren! I actually read this right after you posted it, but decided to hold off on reviewing because I had a feeling we'd need to review it for the next round of Blackout... Looks like I was right! :)

This is so fluffy and cute - I'm in love! I absolutely adore the father-daughter dynamic you've created here - you can tell that Ron loves Rose with all his heart and is definitely going to be one of those really protective fathers who doesn't want anything to happen to his little girl, which is always the way I've pictured him as a father. Plus, when you brought Hermione in too, they just had this little perfect family moment that was absolutely adorable and made me grin like an idiot.

I think you've captured Ron's character perfectly ' he's got all of his characterization from the series, but you've put that into this new family setting. I love how into the retelling of that battle he gets - I think he's definitely enjoying his own memories! It's fun to see the battle from his point-of-view (although definitely toned down a bit and cleaned up so that it's bedtime story appropriate :P ) - I love the little details, like calling Neville barmy and talking about fighting all of the Death Eaters. Little Rose's reactions were perfect too, and you could definitely tell that Ron was enjoying playing off of her excitement.

I really love when Ron notices Hermione in the doorway. She's both annoyed by his behavior and entertained as well, which is something that showed up between the two of them quite a lot in the books, so I think that's a great little detail to include here. And they're just so adorable - I love the little detail about them fitting together like puzzle pieces, because although it's meant in the physical sense, it really reflects the fact that their contrasting personalities fit together perfectly as well. See, this is the kind of story that makes me think J.K. must have completely lost it when she said Ron and Hermione wouldn't have worked. I mean, they're so perfect for each other!

This was such a great story - you've included all the elements of Gryffindor bravery, but not in the way you'd expect, like in battle. Instead, it takes place in a bedroom, but still captures the lion's traits perfectly. It was all so cute and fluffy and left me smiling like mad!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

(Blackout Battle review on Round 2 one-shot)

 Report Review

Review #14, by monstrosity Bedtime Stories

13th March 2014:
Hi Lauren! Here for the Blackout Bingo, although I've been meaning to leave a review on this story for a while :) This the cutest plot ever! I really love the emphasis on the bond between a father and a daughter, it's not something touched upon too often here.

I can totally empathize with Ron on those fairytales. Barring a few, I really loath them all. The sticky sweet perfect endings are enough to make me sick. I can tell Rose felt the same way too!

Ron's characterization was absolutely stellar. You've portrayed him as a really doting father without loosing his character in the books. He's still that lovable dork with a ton of loyalty and all those lovely Gryffindor traits.

Although the retelling of the Battle of Hogwarts is primarily to keep Rose entertained, it does show the reader how much the Wizarding World has moved on after the war. If they can sit and joke and dramatize it now, then things must truly be better. It must be hard to pick up the pieces, but Ron seems to have done it and that again shows why he's such a true Gryffindor. He has no problems in saying 'Lord Voldemort' in front of his baby girl and that really shows how the past is slowly fading away. I really love the little editorials Ron adds into his retelling as well, like the barminess of Neville and his acting out of the fights. You've done an amazing job in mixing humor and memories together to make one awesome bedtime story!

I feel that Ron is a rather underrated character than people often tend to overlook not only because of his portrayal in the books but because of his personal under confidence. The first thing he sees in Rose is Hermione's intelligence. It takes him a while to realize that while Rose is a lot like Hermione, she's also similar to him. It's so sweet to see how much Rose admires her father, he's practically her knight in shining armor at the moment. No matter how much Ron thinks he isn't that great, his daughter will beg to differ. If only for a little while.

The ending was warm and fuzzy. It shows how Hermione thinks so highly of Ron, although she doesn't explicitly say it. The two of them have got to be the best parents ever. Rose is the luckiest girl in the world to have parents who are so proud of her and would do anything to make her happy. Every emotion that you've described, be it Ron's exasperation, Rose's fatigue, Hermione's mild amusement and the general love is expressed in such a subtle yet impactful manner. I don't read it, I feel it.

Once again, this is just a perfect story for Gryffindor, written so well. Sometimes the characteristics of the House are expressed in the unlikeliest of places, not a battlefield but a bedroom. The pride, the courage and bravery that one could ever possess could come from something as simple as raising a child. I really enjoyed reading this story and thank you for coming up with it in so little time!

 Report Review

Review #15, by HEG Bedtime Stories

13th March 2014:
HI I'm here for the Gryffindor vs Slytherin blackouts!
This is a really unique plot idea. At first I was a little confused as to who was who and who's POV it was written in but I soon got the jist if it. I quite like the post Hogwarts stories and I especially like this one. I like the bit at the start she you said that no story could beat Beedle the Bard's tales but Hermione insisted that you read them, that is entirely Hermiones personality. I think you've done a really really good job here and it was really interesting for me to read :)

HEG :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by anythingcouldhappen Bedtime Stories

13th March 2014:
Hi! I'm reviewing this for Blackout Bingo!

I really liked this :) It was a very creative way to show Gryffindor traits! I expected to read something about a battle, but certainly not a battle as a bedtime story. Ron's retelling was really cute/funny, and it makes me wonder how many other stories the next gen kids got re-told in a funny way from their parents.

The interactions between Ron and Rose are all very cute, and realistic I think. Sometimes in stories kids can come off too old or too young or just wrong, but I think you nailed it! Ron is such a sweet dad, and I loved the way he even took out his wand, and how proud he was of his acting! The end bit with Hermione was so sweet.

Just one grammar sort of note: You wrote "stood in the doorway" and its kind of awkward. I think it should be "Hermione stood" or "Standing".

Awesome job! This was really fun to read!

Sam

 Report Review

Review #17, by randomwriter Bedtime Stories

13th March 2014:
Hello Lauren! :) I'm here for the Blackout Bingo Battle! (Wow, it IS a mouthful!)

I'm so glad I got the chance to read this. Given the time constraint you had, I'm really impressed with what you came up with. I really enjoyed this little one-shot and it had me laughing and smiling because I found it really cute and amusing.

The thing that struck me the most was Ron's characterisation. I've always felt that he'd be really loving and protective towards Rose. You have done a great job portraying that. From his actions to dialogues, the whole thing reflect how much he loves his daughter. Also, the thoughts that were flowing through his mind throughout the story were very Ron-like.

I love the way you wrote this. It's a great balance between dialogue and description. It's perfect for the kind of story. I could literally picture the entire scene as if it was happening in front of my eyes. Especially the last bit, where he's firing off sparks and is forced to stop abruptly when he spots Hermione. I could see it happening :D

I think adding Hermione in the end was a nice touch. Her reactions were spot on and in line with how I believe she would have reacted. You've written her well too! I loved the end, where she puts in a mild remark about how tactless Ron can be. That, and the way she put it tells me you've written and understood her very well.

There were parts of this story that were actually really funny. And there were other parts which were really cute and heart-warming. The story had its fair share of both 'LOL' and 'awww' kinda moments. It really did put a smile on my face. I also really enjoyed how you wrote the whole Daddy's Little Princess relationship between Ron and Rose.

I know this is just a one-shot, but if you ever got the time, consider adding a couple of chapters about her childhood days? I'd love to read more :)
Great job, Lauren! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by nott theodore Bedtime Stories

13th March 2014:
Lauren! I'm here for the Blackout Bingo - it turns out I was right to hold out on reviewing this story :P

I'm so proud of you for writing this story, seriously. I know that you were worried about getting it done on time and everything but it's a really great story and so cute that it just made me grin from ear to ear when I read it. You captured the moment here perfectly and I think the Gryffindor theme of bravery comes out brilliantly too.

Young Rose was so adorable in this, and it really made me laugh how she got so bored with the Muggle fairy tales that we have - when you live in a world of magic and have magical versions that are actually real, they probably do seem quite boring! (The censored versions, anyway :P). The bond between Rose and Ron here was captured perfectly in the story; I think you managed to write the way that a father feels for his daughter brilliantly. He loves her so much and I can definitely imagine him deciding to tell her a much more interesting story than the one in the fairy tale - one that's kept millions of people enchanted for years!

Your characterisation of Ron was fantastic, too. He just felt like the older, (slightly) more mature version of the character that we see in the books. I can definitely imagine him getting very excited about telling the story and acting it all out for his daughter - knowing him, he'd probably cause an accident one day doing something like that!

I loved the way that you brought Hermione in as well and we got to see the three of them as a family. They were so cute together and from the dialogue I could really sense the way their relationship worked and how much they cared for each other.

This was really lovely and cute, and thanks for writing it for Gryffindor!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo review

 Report Review

Review #19, by Avanell 2 Bedtime Stories

8th March 2014:
Very cute story...but Rose, your mommy fought, too! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and leaving such a lovely comment :) Of course, you are right but I was kind of focusing on the father daughter relationship here.. I may edit it though :p

Lauren :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by TidalDragon Bedtime Stories

7th March 2014:
Howdy!

Really enjoyed it, especially the characterization of Ron. I feel like you did a good job capturing his character. His comical side really shone through not just in his actions and the story, but through the way you paired what was actually happening with his inner thoughts. I thought you also did really well to balance it with the added maturity and capacity for seriousness that sadly is so often ignored when writing him. Even though Ron was never my favorite character and I'm not a big Ron/Hermione fan, I always hate seeing one-dimensional or blatantly OOC Ron pop up in a story and it happens too often. Thank you!

Injecting Hermione was also a nice touch at the end, and I thought you described and handled what I imagine her reaction would be nicely.

This is of course made more impressive by the amount of time you did this in.

Thanks for sharing. And GO GRYFFINDOR!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login