Reading Reviews for One Summer
  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RupertsPheonix Chapter Eight: Testimony

27th July 2015:
Wow. I read all 8 posted chapters of this last night and am just now getting a chance to review.

This is crazy good. You do a great job of capturing the personas that we so adore in each of the characters! I love that Harry is so similar to JKR's but is dealing with this newfound freedom (which is ironically quite binding for him) that he never had to cope with in the books; it's a refreshing look at a beloved character, and it's spot on characterization. :)

Your Ron is also quite on point. His loyalty is unwavering but he's as awkwardly unsure of himself as ever.

I love Ginny, Hermione, Mrs. Weasley, and Percy, too. Looking forward to further development of each of them as well! And I can't wait to see the extension of Ginny's part of this story, as well as George and Ron's endeavors in the shop.

Great work! Looking forward to an udpate!

--Kate/rp

 Report Review

Review #2, by FriendofMolly Chapter Eight: Testimony

2nd May 2015:
silverfirelizard53,
You waited until the last for a very surprising exchange. The rest of the dialogue was good, but the chat between Harry and Draco, summed up why Harry did, does, and will do, because it's the right thing to do. Now if only he would wake up to what he needs to do for Ginny. He needs to talk with her, and tell her everything, or he will not have what he desperately needs, her love.
FoM
PS So please post the rest, I am thoroughly involved with this story. As other readers are.

 Report Review

Review #3, by FriendofMolly Chapter Seven: The Black Family House

1st May 2015:
silverfirelizard53,
One thing stunned me. Why didn't Kreacher show up at #12 when Harry did? Even though their first chat was edgy and Ginny walked away, I still think it was the way it needed to be.
FoM
PS I must go on.

 Report Review

Review #4, by FriendofMolly Chapter Six: Funerals, Part Two

30th April 2015:
silverfirelizard53,
This chapter has left me stunned and reflective. I could feel so much from Harry, Ginny, Ron, Hermione, and even Molly. You wrote this so perfectly. It's unfortunate that at some time in the future Harry will feel horrible for not being at Severus's funeral. Physically he is weak, injured, and exhausted. No wonder he has been acting the way he has.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMolly Chapter Five: Funerals, Part One

29th April 2015:
silverfirelizard53,
Well Done. The funeral chapter(s) are always difficult to write. I think you hit the important points, and did it smoothly and believably. The one part I'm uneasy about, is Harry's behavior at the funerals. But I am anxious to read the next.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMolly The Burrow

28th April 2015:
silverfirelizard53 ,
It always amazes me that after the Battle, Harry, Hermione, and Ron revert to being clueless teenagers. At least Harry's excuse is valid. He never had to "pursue" anyone, situations just happened. He never had anyone give him relationship advice, didn't have much time either. I truly enjoyed this chapter, I just wish someone will make a move,
FoM

 Report Review

Review #7, by FriendofMolly Chapter Three: In Memoriam

26th April 2015:
silverfirelizard53,
WOW! That was an unique Memoriam chapter. Thank you for the appearance of Fawkes. I hope he visits Harry again. Do you plan on having Harry mention to Kingsley the Ron and Hermione, too should receive the OoM-FC.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMolly Chapter Two: Aftermath

26th April 2015:
silverfirelizard53,
Chapter 2 was even better. I have read hundreds of AtB fics. You have done a fine job of adhering to canon. Though I am not sure that Lavender Brown died. If I remember correctly Hermione blasted Fenrir away, I just hope it was in time. All in all, I'm excited to read the next.
FoM

 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMolly Chapter One: The Boy Who Lived Again

26th April 2015:
silverfirelizard53,
I saved this awhile ago. Finally I can dive into it. Chapter 1 shows a lot of promise. I did laugh at the end. Ron complaining about his old jeans. Wouldn't the Engorgio spell help a bit, or have the jeans been engorged to their limit?
Must go on,
FoM

 Report Review

Review #10, by brttknee Chapter Eight: Testimony

5th May 2014:
Terrific chapter! Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I really appreciate the review! Next chapter will be soon!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Unicorn_Charm Chapter Eight: Testimony

3rd May 2014:
Wow. Just... Wow. This is, by far, the best after the war story I've read. I came across this today and just couldn't stop reading. It's positively brilliant!

You have captured the characters and the mood so well it's astounding. I love how you have portrayed Ginny so much. She's absolutely perfect. You have written Harry probably better than any other story I've read.

I am really loving this so much. I can't wait to read the following chapters! Really, really well done on this! 10/10 for everything so far. I do hope you update again soon!

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really appreciate you reading and reviewing my story! Your words made me feel good :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Teddy1993 Chapter Eight: Testimony

3rd May 2014:
Amazing chapter! I loved the conversations between Harry and Kingsley and between Ron and George, but especially the one at the end between Harry and Draco. Very well written, as usual. I have enjoyed every chapter from this story so far and I am sure I will enjoy the rest just as much. I'm already looking forward to your next update!

Author's Response: Somebody actually got mad at me for that conversation, funny enough! So thank you for saying that you liked it! It meant a lot to me! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Teddy1993 Chapter Seven: The Black Family House

15th April 2014:
That last scene was incredible. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you think so! I'm actually quite proud of myself for that one. It felt amazing writing it (even though it only took a couple of minutes). I saw it perfectly in my head, and I think it's one of my better descriptions.

 Report Review

Review #14, by harrysmyhero Chapter Six: Funerals, Part Two

9th April 2014:
You did a good job showing the pain they were in. I enjoyed your story.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! It was really hard to write that scene.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Treluna Chapter One: The Boy Who Lived Again

8th April 2014:
Thank you for writing a story that started immediately after the last battle. It's just what I was looking for! I love what you've set up so far. One small thing- i don't think Hermione would be with them in the dormitory. I think she'd go back to her own. I would think that Dean, Seamus and Neville would also need to sleep eventually.
I can't wait to see what comes next!

Author's Response: Well, that first chapter took place only a few hours after the end of the battle. So the trio roughly slept from about 6 or 7 in the morning to about 5. In the next chapter, we see where Dean, Seamus, and Neville are...so they didn't go to sleep in that time. Haha, and I don't think Hermione would have left them. Harry collapsed on the way up the tower, so she and Ron helped him into a bed.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Teddy1993 Chapter Six: Funerals, Part Two

8th April 2014:
This was definitely my favourite chapter so far. The moment with the four of them in Ron's bedroom was very touching and perfectly written. I really like how Harry and Ginny seem to be growing closer again without even really realizing it at this point. Great story so far! Keep up the good work.

Teddy

Author's Response: Ron's bedroom scene was actually one of the very first scenes I had written when I started this fanfic. I guess you can say that it's the low part of the story, but I think it summarizes how I felt about the entire thing. Thank you for reviewing! I really appreciate it! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Teddy1993 Chapter Five: Funerals, Part One

8th April 2014:
I was glad to see two new chapters up and the first one was already amazing. Again, you are doing a great job describing the feelings of various characters. For example, I really liked Ron's reminiscing during Lavender's funeral. The last part with Harry and Teddy, and then Harry and Andromeda was pure genius.

'They were alive (relatively), they were safe (relatively) and they were happy (relatively).' I thought that sentence said perfectly how they must all be feeling after the war. Although all the fighting is over, they still have to cope with what they have been through and what they have lost.

I really enjoyed this story up until now. You're doing great!

Teddy

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Ron's part came up out of nowhere. I realized after I wrote the other parts, that I had nothing from Ron, and it literally blossomed up out of that nothing. It was really interesting to write. Oh, and I loved that scene with Teddy. It felt like I was writing the end to a giant circle...one that started with orphan Harry. So exhilarating! Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by thestral517 Chapter Six: Funerals, Part Two

8th April 2014:
Both chapters were good. No one can judge how another deals with grief. Was handled well I thought.

Author's Response: Thank you! Such a difficult thing to write!

 Report Review

Review #19, by brttknee Chapter Six: Funerals, Part Two

7th April 2014:
Chapter 5 was great - I don't know why you were so worried about it! This chapter was fantastic... I cried my eyes out for a good 10 / 15 minutes. You're such a talented writer and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Aww, I'm sorry I made you cry! Thank you for reviewing! I'm super excited!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Teddy1993 The Burrow

3rd April 2014:
Another great chapter. The writing is amazing and you describe everyone's feelings after the war so well. Both when it comes to Fred and to the relationships between the characters. I especially loved the conversation between Harry and Hermione. I think Hermione might be the only person who can talk sense into Harry like that. I'll be looking forward to the next chapter. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review! You're completely right! Harry and Hermione have this level of understanding that they don't have with anyone else. I think they need each other, at least to ground each other in reality.

 Report Review

Review #21, by brttknee The Burrow

3rd April 2014:
Great writing, great dialogue, great continuation of the story! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! Next chapter is on its way!

 Report Review

Review #22, by emia23 The Burrow

3rd April 2014:
Loved this chapter. But I'm not good at cliffhangers!! :) I really love that you let us see all of the different persons and not just consentrat on one, I love them all. I so look forward to the rest of the story.

Good luck on your marriage!

Author's Response: Thank you! I've actually got another chapter on the way, so you won't have to wait too long! Pretty much the only reason I'm writing from so many different characters because I can't force myself to write from one! I want to work with them all!

 Report Review

Review #23, by thestral517 The Burrow

3rd April 2014:
Enjoying story. Well written.

Good luck with the wedding.

Author's Response: Thanks! I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by brttknee Chapter Two: Aftermath

2nd April 2014:
Really great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! The next one is on its way soon!

 Report Review

Review #25, by brttknee Chapter One: The Boy Who Lived Again

2nd April 2014:
Wow! I just started this story and am totally captivated! Thank you for writing it! I can't wait to continue reading!

Author's Response: Haha, no problem!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>