Reading Reviews for 'Favours'
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by darkkid 'Favours'

20th July 2015:
Slytherin House Cup 2015

This was so very cute!

Those boys are always up to no good! You wrote the Marauders very well. Cheeky, kind of annoying, and always, ALWAYS having fun.

I like how James is actually scared to ask Lily. I think what made him most nervous was that there was a great possibility that she'd say yes. And that possibility scared him and excited him. If she had said no he would have tried again, I bet. But she says yes and then what? Yes, I like to think that scared him the most.

This was a very lighthearted warming story and I loved it! It kept me smiling and I loved it!

Great read!


 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap 'Favours'

19th July 2015:
Here for the House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor!

Lets just say if you want the Cloak to work, you should really keep all your limbs underneath it.

Haha! I figured she would find out. You really have to watch all of your limbs, or your feet if you're very tall boys. This was so cute! I was hoping that it would be longer because I wanted James to be tormented a little bit more but this was so sweet that it ended just right.

Their idea of torture though, spilling his drink on his pants? I guess that is embarrassing. I mean, makes you look clumsy and like you had a little accident but how juvenile of them. I do think though they wouldn't mess with James too seriously so it fits the bill.

I adored how nervous he was. I mean, it's LILY. The girl he has always wanted. What if she said no?

But come on...the reality is...was there every any other answer besides yes?

Speaking of Lily, I thought it was great that you didn't make her into a shrill person that wouldn't have found the humor in what his friends were doing. She was very easy breezy about it and clearly loving. Plus, seems like she has a bit of a funny bone. That works for me.

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Harry James Potter 'Favours'

18th January 2015:
Kayla, I'm not sure who you are or how you knew my parents but I'm really glad you did and that you shared this story of them. So, yeah, thanks.

Lupin and Sirius once told me that mum and dad started going out in Seventh Year, they left out their involvement in things, though it makes perfect sense that they would have something to do with it.

From what I know of my mum and dad when they were at Hogwarts, all of your story fits with that. Especially dad playing with the snitch and ruffling his hair, I'm glad mum didn't find that annoying any more.

Anyway, I think I've something in my eye. *sniff* Yeah, so I'm gonna go... Thanks again for this. Even Professor Snape couldn't give this any less than an Outstanding.


Thank you so much, Harry! This is absolutely phenomenal. I'm so glad you liked this story about your parents. I'm a very big fan of your parents ;)

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Freda_and_Georgina 'Favours'

11th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014 Review
I like how much James has changed since dating Lily; the arrogant pighead is nervous! Lily would be proud I bet. Heehee I like the pa rt where he nudges them again.
I love the beginning of James and Lily's conversation. :) And it keeps getting better. I love how Lily knows what's going on.
I just love Lily's reaction! Haha! and how she points out their limbs. :) Awesome story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :)

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Karou_Marauder 'Favours'

7th July 2014:
Hiya! I'm reviewing for the 2014 House Cup, Educational Decree Number Two.

Characterisation: I love the way you portrayed the Marauders. You got the cheeky, easy way they interact very well and this is definitely something I can see them doing! As for James, I could see his anxiety about asking Lily out and his frustration and annoyance at the Marauders, which they deserved! Lily wasn't in much, though.

Plot: The idea of James wanting to make their relationship 'official' is a very good one. And the Marauders badgering him until he did it, very Marauder-ish.

Description: I felt there was a bit of a lack here...maybe you could describe the atmosphere in the pub, or the weather even? Just something to add - the lack doesn't take away from the story. And I suppose that James is a bit preoccupied to be thinking about how many people are in The Three Broomsticks. :P

-Karou :)

Author's Response: Hey!

Yeah, I really do suck at description, thanks for the pointer! I always need to work on it but ACK IT'S SO DIFFICULT :P haha, but seriously, I'll work on it for future stories! Thanks for the tip!

And thank you for the review!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by randomwriter 'Favours'

26th May 2014:
Hello Kayla :) I've seen you around the forums, but I haven't really had the chance to read any of your stories before, I think. So I'm here to rectify that!

I'm a huge James/Lily shipper! I think they are adorable together and their pairings always lends itself well to humour. Your story did it not disappoint. It was funny, cute and so, SO adorable. Ohmygosh I loved it!

The plot was so unique. I've never really come across a story where they'd already sort of gotten together, but only had to make it official. Most one-shots about them usually revolve around either him trying to get a date with her, or a detailed account of the date itself. I thought that this was a refreshing change because we already know she likes him here. I was curious to see how it would all pan out.

The idea of the marauders making a fool of him till he succumbed, let go of his fears and asked her was ingenious. I really had a good laugh at that. At the same time, I was struck by how well you wrote the marauders. The characterisation was spot on. The playfulness, the 'go-on-I-dare-you-to' sort of attitude was all very befitting. I am a huuge Sirius fan and I absolutely adore stories like these with him playing around like this! The only thing that surprised me a little was the fact that Wormtail came up with the idea. I've always firmly believed that wormtail was more of a follower or someone who just agreed to all their crazy ideas. So the idea of him coming up with something like this really surprised me :p It is an interesting take on things.

The date itself was hilarious and all the way I was thing, 'OHMYGOD SHE CAN TOTALLY READ HIM THEY ARE SO TOTALLY MEANT FOR EACH OTHER!' (well, you
can't think that I'd review a Marauder fic without some pointless squee-ing :p). That was a nice touch, showing us how intuitive Lily really is.

The things they did were hilarious! I can just picture poor James, blushing with embarrassment at the thought of making a fool of himself in front of Lily. He must have hoped for the ground to crack open and swallow him up at that point. :p

Everything you mentioned was so realistic. I'm sure James would be attached enough to the snitch to want keep an eye out for it even though he's on a date with Lily.

I laughed a little when Lily revealed that she knew it was going on. I don't like how she's written as being overly uptight in many fics. Here you showed that she is open to their little pranks and is completely in tune with them. She too likes a good laugh, but she knows where to draw the line. This seems like a much nicer way to write her :p Again you showed us how intuitive she is when she revealed that she knew what was going on all along. I liked that and found it funny as well :)

The ending was just too adorable for words. The way she accepted it and the ending. I just... AWH. I love how they just got lost in each other. Your narration throws light on how much he loves Lily and I really thought that was a nice touch :)

Lets just say if you want the Cloak to work, you should really keep all your limbs underneath it. HAHAHA! Lily is quite funny herself :D

Oh gosh, Kayla! I loved this. It was sweet and funny and I just thought you had a unique and well-written story. I'll make sure to check out 'Sabotage' as well. I'm sure I'll enjoy reading about this from Lily's POV. Real sly, eh? ;) It'll be interesting, knowing that she knows. I'd love to read through her though process. Great story! Thanks :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!!!

I'm a massive James/Lily shipper myself! I can never get enough of them hahaha!

Yeah, Maggie thought of the plot and everything! She was absolutely phenomenal. I wouldn't have this story if she hadn't had been my partner so it's all on her! I can't take any credit for this, really! :P

Oh, I love Sirius so much as well! I always try to portray him in the best light because I love him so much :P The way I see it, Peter was a part of their group for a reason and he was an important part of the Marauders. They were willing to die for him so that must have been important. And I feel like he would have had to be his own person to be so readily accepted into the Marauders. As we see from Snape's memories, the Marauders weren't that great people when they were young so Peter would have had to earn their respect. I hate Peter, I really do but I won't ever leave him out of Marauder stories. He's an important part, whether I like it or not :P

Whenever Lily is really uptight in fics I groan and want to scream at the authors. You can't have been uptight and been with James (and the rest of the Marauders). It just wouldn't happen :P

I'm so glad you liked it! Again, Maggie takes all the credit! Thank you so much for this lovely review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by maskedmuggle 'Favours'

17th April 2014:
Hey Kayla!

Aw, I really enjoyed reading this fic! I loved the plot -- about how the Marauders made a deal with James where he'd just keep looking stupid until he asked the question. I wasn't sure how the Marauders would manage to do that, but I loved all the creative ideas - the drink spilling over and James running after the snitch! I also particularly liked how Lily could tell something was wrong with James/sense his nervousness, and how she was also aware that the Marauders were there bothering James. It just felt like such a realistic portrayal/characterisation of Lily because I do feel like she's a very observant person!

I loved how sweet James/Lily was here, particularly when James finally asked the question. I also really liked how you characterised the Marauders at the beginning - I feel like it's always so important to make sure you portray the camaraderie that the boys have and I felt like you did that really well! All in all, I just really liked this fic - I thought you did a really great job in writing it!

- Charlotte
(for the Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza)

Author's Response: Hey, Charlotte!

I'm so glad you liked it! I think Maggie definitely did an excellent job in setting the scene and the dialogue, I have to owe all the praise I get to her - she's truly brilliant! ♥

Anyway, thank you for the lovely comments and review! :D

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by sweetypye0110 'Favours'

13th March 2014:
Very cute! And very believable of the marauders :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lululuna 'Favours'

8th March 2014:
Hello! :) I actually just read Maggie's story so it was really great to come here and see James' POV! :)

I liked seeing the planning behind the prank and how it shows how close the Marauders are. James even went along with his friends' scheme in a way which really made me laugh, I suppose he knew they were going to make his day difficult regardless of what he did.

Haha, poor James! I do feel a little sorry for him, and the part where the snitch was Summoned through the pub and annoyed some people made me laugh as well. Also, the plan about Peter turning into Wormtail is really brilliant (even though the boys forgot, of course!) That would be a very good way to get around the limits of the cloak. Oh also, earlier it was mentioned how Peter looked pleased when everybody liked his idea, that was a great little detail showing how he sought the approval of the others. But you did do a good job of integrating Peter in and making him an equally important Marauder which I liked.

The ending was just so adorable! I love Lily and James as a couple here, and how happy and adoring they are. This was a great read, and I enjoyed reading both sides of the story! Well done! :)

Gry/Sly Blackout - 3/7

Author's Response: Hey there! Maggie did an absolutely wonderful job on her story, I absolutely adored it!

If James had said not to stalk him, I feel like the Marauders would make it infinitely worse. He was doing the right thing accepting his fate, haha!

I'm a firm believer that Wormtail was once a great friend - the other Marauders were prepared to DIE for him - and I always try to make him an important part in my Marauder stories :p

I'm glad you enjoyed the story! I know I had a great time writing it!

Thank you so much for this lovely review, you're very kind! ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login