Reading Reviews for Life Goes On
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Franklin Home Sweet Home

20th July 2014:
The only Slytherin to fight on the good side was Slughorn. How is Draco there is a war criminal and a violent one at that.

Author's Response: You should be aware that this isn't a regular post-war story. This takes place in the same universe as my first two stories in which Draco is not a war criminal. Thanks for your comment.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hogwarts27 Home Sweet Home

2nd July 2014:
II loved it! I was so happy to be going to Hogwarts, and I liked that you didn't rush the story, but allowed enough time for every scene - the platform, train, Great Hall, etc. Hmm, Gabriel going to Hogwarts was a surprise, since in the books Fleur loved Beaubaton thought things were better than Hogwarts, but your story is different with her parents dead, so I could see your logic.

I enjoyed the scene where Malfoy is invited into the train compartment. His attitude was pleasantly submissive, and the others did the decent thing to invite him.

Minerva missing Dumbledore in the Great Hall was touching. And you did a sorting hat song! Boy, those are hard to write. I applaud your effort. I thought your song was marvelous! Minor imperfections are forgiveable on these. Some of the rhymes you came up with were brilliant. I enjoyed the dialogue that came after about hatstalls. Ha Ha - on Pottermore I myself was a hatstall between Gryffindor and Hufflepuff, so the hat let me choose, and I picked Hufflepuff (the underdog).

Cho as flying instructor? How fitting! And I'm interested to see what you have planned for Trelawney II.

And oh my gosh, I loved how this chapter ended! It sounds like we're going to have an interesting year. What a fantastic chapter! I loved every bit of it, and look forward to the next.

Spotted 2 typos:
People at school know or names (our)
He always want to be there for the first years. (wants, wanted?)

Author's Response: Thank you for another great review! I must admit that I was quite satisfied with this chapter myself :)

I'm so glad you liked the Sorting Hat song! I kind of liked how it turned out, but I wasn't sure if people who are better in English than me would like it too.

Although McGonagall is headmistress right now, I'm sure she would much rather still have Dumbledore there. She was so loyal to him in the books.

I'm really happy you liked the ending too. I was afraid a lot of people would hate that part because of all the misery Neville has already been through. But I have a lot in store for him and it's not all that bad :)

Thanks for reviewing! I hope you continue to enjoy the story.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Hogwarts27 The Last Words of Albus Dumbledore

22nd June 2014:
A very good chapter again. Oh, what a sad way for Neville to lose his grandmother, but he's grown into a very resilient and brave young man, so I know he'll do fine with the support of his friends.

I was really intrigued by what you were going to have Dumbledore left Harry in his will, and really liked what you chose. The wand missing opens up what could be a very interesting story line. And I didn't expect anything like the two memories, but they were quite fitting. The second memory allowed the chapter to end on a very touching note. A lovely read, and very well written. I look forward to the next.

Author's Response: Neville sure has lost a lot during both wars, but we know that he is a lot tougher than he seems.

I'm glad you liked the scene with Dumbledore. I was a little worried that it would come over too soppy, but I rather liked how it turned out myself so I left it the way it was.

I haven't had much time to write lately with work and the World Cup going on, but I'll update as soon as possibe. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Hogwarts27 Decisions

8th June 2014:
Wonderful chapter. I liked it a lot. Every scene was a good read. I especially liked the short scene with Harry worrying how Ron would take the news of Harry going back to school, and then the nice surprise that Ron felt he wasn't for the aurors yet either.

The certainty Tonks had about walking again really fit the way I imagine her to be. But even if she didn't walk again, I don't think it would be too difficult to find a way to get around with magic to help.

My other favorite scene was at the end when Harry and Ron ask McGonagall if they can come back to school. I'm looking forward to reading your version of their final year at Hogwarts, and it just feels like familiar ground for the reader to keep the main characters together for it.

I also wonder what's ahead for Neville if his grandmother really just died. That'll be a big adjustment for him. I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I thought about it when I was writing the parts with Tonks and I reckoned wizards would find a way to make it easy for anyone who couldn't walk anymore, but I don't think growing back limbs would be possible. I think not being able to use her own legs would mainly be hard mentally for Tonks. Especially because she is such an active person.

I'm glad you liked that they decided to return to Hogwarts. It just didn't feel right to split the group of friends up and to be honest, I wasn't done with Hogwarts either :)

You'll find out what happened to Neville's grandmother in the next chapter. I'm still finishing it off, but I'll update as soon as possible. It will surely be a big adjustment for him, but luckily he has his friends in the D.A. to help him.

Thank you so much for reviewing! It truly means a lot to hear your opinions and I'm really happy you are enjoying the story.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Claire xXX The Accident

24th May 2014:
Read all your stories in one day :P
Literally, I haven't moved in several hours I've just been reading your stories
Your very talented, I love how particularly in 'in the end' you did keep to the basic plot j.k did kinda but kept me in suspense all the time

Looking forward to the next chapter, that you for keeping Harry Potter alive :D

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reviewing! I'm really glad you enjoyed my stories.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Hogwarts27 The Accident

14th May 2014:
This was a great chapter. I really enjoyed it. The tension at the beginning had just the right feel. And then it got wonderfully sentimental with Harry in the garden, first by himself, and then with the twins and Ginny. Every bit of this held my interest. It was very well written, flowed well, and the transitions were smooth. I was sorry when it ended. I think this was one of the best chapters so far - absolutely terrific!

Author's Response: I'm very glad you enjoyed the chapter. It took a while until I was satisfied with it and still I had the feeling that a lot of people would hate it. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Hogwarts27 The True Story

25th April 2014:
Hi, thanks for another enjoyable chapter. The offer of early auror training came as a slight surprise after the tone of the earlier chapters, but the logic certainly makes sense, and it's what Rowling told us would happen at least for Harry. I think all the characters reacted appropriately to it, and it's natural that they wouldn't all want to join. But that doesn't mean they still can't work together later on if trouble strikes.

I wasn't expecting metamorphagus to be one of Harry's emerging abilities either, but I'm sure you'll put it to interesting use in the story. Yes, Hermione would have thought he was an imposter when his scar disappeared, and if anyone would have thought to give him a security question, it would be Hermione.

I can't imagine what news the auror has, whether about Tonks or something else, but I look forward to finding out. Very nice story so far.

Author's Response: I got the idea where Harry is a Metamorphmagus from the scene in the Philosopher's Stone where he grows his hair back out overnight.

I'm still working on the next chapter, but I'll try to update as soon as possible. Thanks for continuing with the story and for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Hogwarts27 A Wedding and a Prophecy

6th April 2014:
What you said in an earlier chapter about Harry being Remus' only remaining link to the marauders, just made it all the more touching for him to be Remus' best man for the wedding. You did a nice job describing the wedding jitters.

Hmm, so Trelawney had a daughter, who seems much more grounded than Sybil herself. You did very well with writing the prophecy from her daughter, which sounds pretty innocent so far, but makes me wonder if things will take an ominous turn. I'll look forward to more of the story to find out.

Author's Response: This Prophecy about Harry sure is more innocent than the first one. I'm glad you liked the idea. Thanks for another review. I hope you keep enjoying the story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hogwarts27 Dinner at the Burrow

6th April 2014:
Lovely chapter. Remus teaching is just what I was hoping for. It's nice to read a post-war story where not so many of my favorite characters are dead.

The dementors are the first hint of a possible conflict to come in the story. I don't know if you'll use them or not to make trouble, but just mentioning them makes the reader start to wonder what could go wrong in the post-war world. Will the Death Eaters who got locked up be secure in Azkaban if the dementors are removed? Or will there be another mass breakout?

I'm looking forward to seeing where this story goes. You're off to a nice start.

Author's Response: Remus was the only person I considered as DADA teacher. Now that Voldemort is dead, the curse on the job has been lifted (for as far as we know). That means there will finally be a teacher who can stay longer than one year and Remus seemed the only right choice.

I won't say anything yet about possible new troubles in the story, but as the war is over, the Death Eaters won't play a very big role. But there are exceptions of course...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Hogwarts27 Fame

6th April 2014:
The scene with the reverend was interesting. I never thought about who Lily would have picked for a bridesmaid other than Petunia. And this chapter had me wondering if Petunia would even have agreed to do it, even if Lily had asked her. I don't remember if Lily and James even had a formal wedding in canon, or if they just ran off on their own and eloped. But I thought your idea of Alice Longbottom was both fitting and ironic - a foreshadowing of the wierd tie that would happen between the Harry and Neville.

I hope Remus' appointment was a job interview at the school! It would be awesome to have him do another year as a teacher.

Aww, poor Seamus. This chapter made me feel so sorry for him.

Author's Response: Thanks for another amazing review! I didn't really consider the thought of James and Lily eloping, but it would have made perfect sense. I just imagined having them a small wedding with their closest friends. I'm glad you like this story too and I hope you keep enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Hogwarts27 Family

31st March 2014:
Hi again! I've been a little too busy to visit this site lately, but I finally had a free moment to at least do some reading - and I was thrilled to see that you already had a few chapters of this new story posted. And it's a post-war story! Terrific! I'm anxious to see what you'll do with it. After reading your first two stories, I know I'll enjoy this just as much. Just having a different cast of characters alive after the war already makes this interesting. Tonks, Remus, Harry, and Dobby together at Grimmauld Place feels like a happy and fitting start after the war.

You surprised me with Bathilda after such a different storyline with her in cannon. I also liked the way you ended this chapter with Remus thinking of Harry as his last link to the marauders. That was so very touching.

Good luck with the new job. I know exactly what you mean about needing a break after finishing a long story and wanting to update at a slower pace. I'm doing the same thing myself and haven't posted anything new yet. It's just better for my sanity not to pressure myself to go at a certain pace.

Well, I'll definitely be back for more of this story when I have a chance. I know you'll make it good - and slower is just fine, so you don't burn out!

Author's Response: It's great to hear from you again. Thanks for coming back after reading my first two stories. I knew I wanted to write a post-war story and as I was quite happy with how my previous stories turned out, so I decided to stay in the same universe.

Besides Tonks, Harry is the only thing Remus has left (for now...). And as you said, he's the last remaining link he has to Harry's parents and Sirius.

I indeed expect to update a bit slower than before, simply because I don't have as much free time now. I'm also editing the first two stories while I'm working on this one (fixing some spelling and grammar mistakes and some of the parts that I thought weren't that well written). Thanks for reviewing! I hope you'll also enjoy this one.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aurorofthelight A Wedding and a Prophecy

28th March 2014:
Love this continuing story! Gee, no cliffhanger there.not!!! :):):)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Meegles Dinner at the Burrow

20th March 2014:
I love all of your stories, I'm looking forward to seeing where you take this one...

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rumpelstiltskin Family

6th March 2014:
I'm here for Blackout Bingo (number 2/7 of square 3, to keep track).

I love AUs and What Ifs, and in this one, Remus is alive ♥ , hooray! It appears as though Harry is suffering through some post-traumatic stress syndrome/disorder. I find this very realistic for a post-war story, especially in Harry. The fact that he had to witness so many people dying, facing his own mortality, and attempting to defeat an evil to save the world is a lot for one person. Adding that specific element with his nightmares is a very realistic and excellent piece in this.

It seems that Remus and Tonks are taking a sort of parenting role with Harry at this point, which is absolutely fantastic! I love that bit, they seem like the people who could and would do that.

The reminiscing at the end was sweet, and Bathilda is right, there's more than just one dark wizard out there. I'm glad Harry decided to become an Auror in order to continue to fight the darkness, despite what he's been through. If I were him, I would have probably retired ;).

Fantastic job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: I knew from the start that I wouldn't kill off Remus and Tonks during the war. Their deaths in the book were devastating in my opinion, maybe even more than the death of Sirius or Dumbledore. Probably because of everything Remus had had to go through until he finally found a bit of happiness.

In my stories, less main characters have died, especially during the final battle, so I think Harry would have less difficulty dealing with the war. But of course it would be less than realistic if those images didn't haunt him from time to time.

Remus and Tonks taking a parenting role with Harry was exactly what I was going for and I hoped to illustrate that with the scene in Harry's bedroom. I think they would be the only people at this point in the story who would be able to do that.

Thank you for your kind review. I really appreciate it. I hope you will continue to enjoy the story.

Teddy


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login