Reading Reviews for The Interlude
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotter The Interlude

11th July 2015:
Hello!
This was so interesting! I loved it so much! I've never read anything like it, but I thought it was really cool how you left the story very open ended. I might have one idea of what happened, and someone else may think something completely different, but either way it doesn't feel like the story is missing anything. It still reads as a complete piece, even though the readers have room to fill in the blanks.
Personally, I think it's about Ron and Hermione dealing with Hugo's death. Since you talked a lot about memory and brittle bones, it makes me think they're older, and since Ron leads her out of the room at the end, he's not the one who's dead. Since it's a he who died, for some reason my mind immediately jumps to Hugo, and Hermione is in his bedroom, but his things are all packed away.
I have no idea if that's anything close to what you imagined while you were writing it. I'd love to know what you thought of, though, to see how it compares!
This was a really gorgeous piece of writing. Your descriptions were beautiful, and it was just a really intelligent story.
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by MrsJaydeMalfoy The Interlude

11th July 2015:
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015!

Wow. I am just completely blown away by this!

First off, I love how you've left the couple open to interpretation. Honestly, my mind was going back and forth between two: Harry/Ginny and Harry/Hermione. I could easily see Ron comforting his sister and pulling her away from Grimmauld Place (which I, from context clues, think is the location) - but there was a hint of something else in there also... it almost felt like it was Hermione, secretly being in love with Harry, grieving over him while Ron stands by and looks after her. Either way, I love the fact that it's ambiguous, and you've let our imaginations wander with this.

Secondly, your description is completely breathtaking and absolutely beautiful. Describing her as like a 'beggar looking for crumbs' particularly just made my jaw drop - SO incredible! You have an excellent command on the emotions here. I think it's safe to say that when the HC is over, I'm going to have to come and read some more of your work!!

Really beautiful, and really well done!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SunshineDaisies The Interlude

11th July 2015:
House Cup 2015 Hufflepuff

Gorgeous! That was absolutely beautiful to read. I love how you left the protagonist a mystery, though I certainly read Harmony into it, I think the mention of logic really brings that forth. Whoever it is, I felt their absolute devastation right along with her. Her grief is so raw and real. It's just so natural to feel as though there's something left of the person you love, a longing for them to walk through the door like they used to. And there's something so natural about feeling as though the people around you have already figured it out and 'gotten over it.' I was please to see Ron at least attempting to take care of her, even if it was just making sure that she didn't waste away in Harry's bedroom.

Goodness, the whole thing was just gorgeous and heartbreaking. The way you described Harry's death was haunting.

Thank you for this, I enjoyed it very much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Infinityx The Interlude

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review

This story brought tears to my eyes. You've written it in such a fantastic way, conveying an immense amount of emotion in such few words. Your writing itself has this poetic tone to it, making this piece even more mysterious and melancholic. I love your use of imagery here. It's just stunning. And the way Ron's name is revealed but the main character isn't identified, just makes this even more powerful. My guess would be that it's Ginny, thinking about Harry. There are undertones of a romance between the dead character and the protagonist so I don't think it's Hermione. (unless there's some kind of a different story there). And since Ron's there, I think it's Ginny.

Lovely piece of writing. I'm so glad I read it!

~Erin

 Report Review

Review #5, by zealousVisionary The Interlude

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Wow! This story was so short, but there was so much emotion and beauty packed into the 500 words that it really felt much longer (in a good way!).

The writing in this piece was just so poetic, even musical- by the end of the one shot I found myself savoring every word of it.

Another thing I really liked was how you aren't ever told whose perspective this is from- it adds a layer of mystery that I think is pretty awesome, to be honest. My best guess is Ginny, but it could also be Hermione or a whole lot of other people, really. I guess it's best left unknown, to be honest.

This one shot was seriously amazing, though. I loved your writing and will definitely be checking out more of your work as soon as I can!

 Report Review

Review #6, by UnluckyStar57 The Interlude

11th July 2014:
Arggh, this was so descriptive and beautifully written that I can't even begin to guess who the protagonist is without ruining the mystery and magic of the writing!

There was poetry in every line. I really liked the musicality of the form and the emotions that the character felt were so raw and real. It's really brilliant that you did that in 500 words.

Okay, I'll guess... Is it Ginny, thinking about Harry? I'm guessing that he died in DH after all? Well, I don't really know. I'm so confused, but in a good sort of way. :)

Again, this was just really fantastic. Thanks for writing such a wonderful thing!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #7, by Pretense Of Perfection The Interlude

10th July 2014:
Wow, you really did manage to pack a lot of power and raw emotion into such a short one-shot, I'm very impressed. The story was rather confusing and ambiguous, but since it is intended that way, you executed these components brilliant. I'm burning with curiousity as to who the MC is supposed to be. If I had to guess I'd say Harry died, and this is written from either Ginny or Cho's POV. The feelings behind it portray some form of love, and in more than a friendship way, which is why I chose those characters, but I could of course, be completely off the mark there. I think you set the tone and setting or the story very well in the scenes you wrote, the line about the blank walls and the damage all around her is so fitting with the story. The imagery is stunning, and I can literally see the scene in my head as I'm reading it, which is a true testament to your talent as a writer. I wasn't sure with how I liked the title based on the summary of the story, but I think you managed to incorporate it's message very well into the story, and it makes perfect sense.

--house cup 2014 review--
gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore The Interlude

9th July 2014:
Hello there! Nadia keeps recommending your work to me because you're a brilliant writer and I've only managed to read one or two of your pieces, but this was really fantastic.

I love stories like this - especially when they're one shots - which don't actually give us the characters in the story summary and they're so ambiguous that they leave us guessing even when the story's over. From what I've read here, I'd guess at the main character being either Hermione or Ginny but I'm really not sure - I could, of course, be completely off the mark with that. I don't know :P

As always, I loved your description and imagery here. It was so vivid and clear that it painted pictures in my mind that I could see extremely clearly, and I thought it was beautifully done. You're a really talented writer and it's a pleasure to read your work!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by patronus_charm The Interlude

8th July 2014:
Hi Emma!

Wow, this was amazing and I loved the creepy air you had going on throughout and the building up of the suspense as it was so much fun to read because of that. I feel as if I should know as you interlaced so many clues so well and so subtly too I feel a little stupid not knowing straight away but my guess is perhaps the protagonist is either Hermione or Ginny because of the connection and the person dead is Harry as that seems to fit the best in my head anyhow.

Your language and descriptions were really beautiful throughout though and each time I read something by you I’m stunned yet again by the quality and depth of them as they are just sdowehferf (aka indescribable). Just this for example ‘The notion that this room has kissed his tender toes with murmured grace and listened to his distant breathing as the bed's creaked in accordance to his shifts and shivers.’ Is amazing and left me in awe with your way with words.

I really hope there’s more up soon as this was great!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Interlude

4th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

Okay, so... I had to read it a couple of times, check specific words, try and make connection that actually made sense. I even went through the summary and all the pairings. And I'm still confused and I fully believe that I am wrong, but... I think, because of Ron being there, it is either Hermione or Ginny who is the protagonist. And Harry... is he dead? Or did he leave? Either scenario makes me sad.

How close or off the mark am I? :P

Either way, I loved this. The descriptions were amazing and the overall story was lovely, and sad, to read. And it made me think, which I like. I'm better with mysteries when I write them, but, whether it's an actual mystery or a story like this, I do love to read them.

I wonder if any of my guesses are right... :D

Sam.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login