Reading Reviews for The Lost Wolf
  
71 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan In Limbo

27th August 2014:
Hi! I'm here with your requested review! Since you didn't provide any areas of concern, I'll just list general things I noticed - what I liked and what I think could be improved - and hope that's helpful ;)

In the first chapter I remember thinking that Cassandra seemed almost a bit Mary-Sue ish as she was a child prodigy/ soldier/ doctor at 17, but this chapter added a lot of depth to her character that was very welcome. In particular how insecure she is about her scars - at the heart of it she is still a seventeen year old girl, and that section there was a great reminder that despite her amazing successes in life, she's still human! I like her as a character a lot more after this chapter - she's more complex now :) The juxtaposition of her kind of broken, lost feeling with her shoddy flat and broken furniture was really nice as well.

I'm curious about all the flashbacks and how she (might?) know Remus and Sirius and James (even if she can't remember the surname Potter haha) And why she was at Hogwarts, but never went there as a student? Who attacked her? Why doesn't she remember? There's a lot of mystery in her past and it's kind of neat the way you've set it up so that it's not just a surprise to the reader, but to Cassandra herself as well as she remembers these buried memories - it's like we're learning about her past together.

I did see a few word choice errors, the most noticeable to me was the following: The doctors who cured her supposed that her organism had been put under an excessive stress -- I don't think 'organism' is the right word here, as it is just a more scientific term to refer to a living individual (whether plant/animal/protist/anything) and feels out of place. Perhaps you could just say her body?

and another place you wrote 'lied' instead of 'lay'.

But on the whole, typos aside, this is shaping up to be a really intriguing story and I love the mystery in it! I'm eager to find out what her connection is with Remus and Sirius.

Great work! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by lexiatel Jigsaw Falling Into Place

27th August 2014:
I actually remember reading this chapter, so I don't know where exactly I stopped at (because there were no chapters available at the time).

This is such a sad/happy chapter. I was in tears. Every time I think of that betrayal, I get teary... what a sad moment in the book, really..

I will try to find out where I left off at. I am thinking chapter 10 really... heh.

This story is really really good, and I love it!

It would be pretty cool if C4ssi meets Harry Potter. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by crestwood Optimistic

25th August 2014:
You've found a way to weave so many different elements into one chapter. Your Sirius point of view was excellent. I loved his Dementor induced flashbacks and, as always, his Padfoot inner voice. McGonagall was written incredibly well too. She hasn't been super important up until this point, but in this chapter her characters gets a major upgrade in significance. I'm surprised to see Remus be so honest with Harry, but I'm glad he was. I wish this is how it would have happened in canon, he did deserve some kind of truth. It's interesting how Dumbledore is a villain of sorts in this story.

At first, I didn't understand what Kingsley had to do with the rest of the story and then I was totally shocked to see mention of Colonel Wilkins. It seems like he's done something terrible, as expected. I felt a really strong bond between Tonks and Cassie. It's so interesting that they'd have been friends when they were younger. I wonder who else you'll involve. It feels like everyone is somehow connected in this story. The layers are unraveling and every time a question is answered, another five questions give rise. How did you ever come up with this idea? I'm honestly so impressed by this story. I have no criticism to give. I have nothing but praise and wonder. I can't wait for the rest of this and I can't wait for your new story to be validated. You're such a talented writer. Thank you for your request!

 Report Review

Review #4, by crestwood Atoms For Peace

25th August 2014:
I know I've said previously that you could probably turn this into original fiction if you so wished and it'd probably be a bestseller and a critical success to boot, but honestly, the beginning of this chapter didn't feel like it took place in the Harry Potter universe; but rather some beautiful, new world that you created from scratch. It felt like an entirely new series. Something so fresh that I'd buy a full novel set in that Forest right now if you offered one. I can't even explain how that just captured my imagination. I was a little upset when I read "This however, isn't the time to tell these stories," but hopefully that means that one day it will be time to tell them!

Anyway, back to this wonderful story set in the present day. You're being simply artistic with words now. The reunion between Remus and Cassie is just elegantly worded and perfect. I daresay you've gotten to be an even better writer than before. This is exactly why I listed this as one of my five favorite stories. I just haven't read anything that is remotely like this. It isn't even my normal fare. I pretty much exclusively read Next-Gen romance and this is neither, but I find myself so compelled. I just hold on to every sentence and feel the emotion behind each. I can't believe this isn't more popular. It's every reason for fan-fiction being a viable creative outlet in one story.

The conversations you write between the wolves and their humans are kind of chilling. The wolves are such brash personalities. That is still one of the best representations of lycanthropy I've ever read. I almost can't think of anyone being a werewolf in any other way now. The split personality deal just seems to make too much sense. The way you tied in Remus with the beginning portion of the chapter, referring to him as the young son of Lycao, was brilliant. I love this chapter so much. It may be my favorite so far even!

Author's Response: Can you see me blush? You probably live on the opposite side of the planet, but I think you can.

I will never be able to thank you enough for your reviews. They make me feel as if I had actually accomplished all the goals I had set for me when I first started writing Fanfiction. And it doesn't matter to me if I don't have that huge multitude of reviewers (although that would be nice :P), because as long as I receive even a single review like this, I'll be forever happy.

I could go on and on and talk forever about how simply beautiful is what you've written to me, but I would probably bore you to no end, so I will simply tell you that you made me blush, you made me happy, and that a huge part of the Italian Eastern Coast knows about this review. I may have read it to everyone...

Thankyouthankyouthankyou!
Maryhead!


 Report Review

Review #5, by crestwood Separator part 2

25th August 2014:
Hello again!

The first section - the flashback, was really a great piece of writing. Now, on the sixteenth chapter, you'd think I'd stop being so impressed with some of the things you write, but I haven't. The description of Cassie's entrance was incredible and the way you wrote that slap almost resounded for a few seconds. The Colonel truly is a terrible, terrible man. I can't remember the last time I read a character as despicable as him. You really make him come to life.

For some reason, I laughed really hard at Harry listing Voldemort 5 times within the things that happened to him. He really does deserve a multitude of mentions. I'll be honest though, I didn't quite understand exactly what was happening throughout this chapter. As in, I'm not sure if Harry is dreaming or honestly going insane. Regardless of what plane of reality this chapter existed in, I was transfixed by a large portion of it. Harry's point of view was a lot different than I've seen him written usually, but probably more realistic actually.

Tonks' portion of the chapter was really unexpected. I never thought much about her and Sirius' relationship, but you've expounded on it quite a bit. I'm glad you've tied her into the story by having Sirius bring Cassie to Andromeda. I can't wait to see what their interactions will be like once she wakes up. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Oh, dear. You can't actually know how much I love your reviews. They could brighten up the most horrible days!

I'll tell you a secret: I didn't want to include a flashback in this chapter, not in its original version, at least! As you said, I supposed the visions would start to get boring for some readers, so I tried and avoid that specific technique... And failed miserably! You have to thank Radiohead for that. And a particularly rainy day.

Oh, I'm sorry this update was too confusing! Just to clarify a couple of points, this scene takes place approximately half an hour after Remus' discovery of Albus' secret. Harry is asleep and dreams about Cass' past, as usual, only to be thrown in his Sanctuary. Then Cassandra comes... and the rest is history!

Tonks will have a much more important role in this story compared to her books' self... I just realized I am unintentionally gathering all the not-so-major characters of the Harry Potter series and elevate them to the status of ... VIP ones. I could call myself a Robin Hood of sorts!

Ok. Ignore my ramble, by now you should have understood I tend to fall for that quite miserably. Thank you again for your review, it means a lot to me.

Maryhead!



 Report Review

Review #6, by apondinabluebox A Wolf at the Door

16th August 2014:
Hi Mary! :) I'm here for our review swap!

You've started off quite unusually for a story in that the first thing we see is a flashback of a very dark event, right in the middle of the action with zero buildup at all. I like it :) I did notice a few spacing issues, and I recommend using the simple editor. You'll have to type the HTML code for italics and bolds etc but it does make the chapter more pleasing to the eye.

Cassandra is an unique character! A child prodigy, university at twelve, soldier at fourteen, doctor at seventeen... One thing I would advise you to watch out for is making her too Mary Sue-ish. At the moment, I think you've given her a decent chunk of character development that helps to establish that her life has left her with emotional scars, that she's vulnerable and very confused with people and their reactions (which hints at her possibly not having enough friendly socialisation? She seems to be capable at communicating at work given her responsibilities, but in terms of forming friendships, not quite as much, since I don't see mention of a single friend in this chapter). As long as you keep up her character development and continue to expand upon it, I think there's potential for you to pull off Cassandra as a vivid, engaging character. :)

Another thing I spotted was your punctuation, particularly in dialogue. I understand that English isn't your first language, so you may want to consider having a beta-reader look this over. In particular, when you use punctuation at the end of a sentence -- this for example:

"Daughter. You have finally decided to honour me with your presence"

"I am happy to see you too, Colonel. How was the weather in London these days? I suppose it was quite sunny, considering you are as tanned as ever". Cassandra smirked when the Colonel's face assumed a dark shade of red and his eyes narrowed in an attempt to appear dangerous. Pathetic.

In the first sentence, there should be a full stop after presence and before the speech/quotation mark. In the second sentence, you have a full stop but it's after the speech mark, while it needs to be before. There are some really good topics in Writer's Resources on the forums about punctuation; they helped me and I'm sure they'll be helpful if you want to check them out.

I really enjoyed reading about the Colonel. He's certainly a very mean character, and Cassandra's rebellious thoughts and comments towards him remind us that she's still a teenager (although I wasn't a child prodigy, I presume that even a child prodigy would still have some days when they felt like being childish). I'm a little curious about the reasons behind his behaviour. Was he always such a nasty man? Why? Or was it an event that emotionally changed him for the worse? I'd love to see that expanded in the future chapters!

You've set up an alluring mystery about Cassandra and her father, and her still-unmentioned mother. Why does Cassandra not remember her father? Were her memories censored by magic or did her childhood self repress what clearly was major emotional trauma? Why does Cassandra latch onto her father and think of him, but not of her mother? You've made me ask a lot of questions, which definitely tempt readers to continue this story! ^.^

I hope that my concrit wasn't too harsh -- my intention was only to help you improve the story -- and if you have any questions, feel free to PM me on the forums! :)



Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the swap, I promise I'll write my review to your story as soon as I can.

The spacing is a bit off, I know... When I first started publishing on this chapter I didn't know there would be a difference in using a "paste" option or another, so I sort of... Followed my instinct, of course getting it all wrong. The last chapters are all fixed, though, and I will make a massive editing of the first ones as soon as possible!

I'm aware that Cassandra may seem Mary Sue in this first chapter, but I assure you she isn't. She is intelligent, that's true, but that doesn't prevent her from having doubts, moments of "childish behaviour", as you said, and not-so-brilliant ideas. I am trying to let her character be uncovered slowly, not pinpointing each flaws in the first chapters, otherwise it would be quite blunt and, in my opinion, a bit boring. In fact, if you have noticed, I did not mention anything about her physical appearance apart from tiny details. The next chapter will clear something regarding this aspect of her character. Regarding her exterior appearance: in the future, if you'll be interested in reading further, different characters will express different opinions regarding how Cassandra looks. One of them is NOT to be trusted, and I think you'll understand immediately who I am talking about.

Darn. I'm glad you pinpointed my mistakes regarding punctuation. I try to be as careful as possible when I write, and usually I don't have a problem with it because rules in Italian and English are not so different, but I write on my mobile phone most of the time. Although I re-read each chapter at least a dozen of times, it is easy to let something slip when writing on a mobile device. At night. With at least two hours of sleep before an entire day at Uni :). I'll correct what you pointed out when I'll do the famous massive editing!

Thank you for your comments and observations, and I hope I'll be able to read about your opinions regarding the next chapters too!


 Report Review

Review #7, by magnolia_magic A Wolf at the Door

14th August 2014:
Hi! Maggie here with your requested review! Thanks so much for requesting this story. I'm looking into writing something action-y myself, so it will be very educational for me to read your take on the genre. I really enjoyed getting the chance to read your opening chapter!

I like Cassandra so far. She's a little abrasive for my taste, but with the hints of backstory you've given it's understandable. I think it was a smart move to include a lot of information about her background early on, because it puts some vulnerability behind the tough-as-nails soldier persona she has. Great job with her so far!

The flashback at the very beginning was especially good--I think it's my favorite part of the chapter. Seeing Cassandra as a little girl (especially a scared, defenseless one) helps us to sympathize with her. And it's just really well-written, too. I was transported into Cassandra's world, feeling her guilt with her and seeing those horrifying images. I wonder if she repressed those memories, or if she was maybe Obliviated? Haha, I just have to speculate. So many unanswered questions! I love the mystery you're setting up with regard to Cassandra's origins and childhood.

On the surface, Cassandra is kind of difficult to like. She's aloof, and we don't see her interacting positively with anyone in this chapter (but that's probably due to her "father" being so utterly awful.) That's why I like the little moments where you hint at what's beneath the facade. The mention of her wanting to get rid of her Army uniform in favor of a long skirt was a great way of showing us that Cassandra is more than just a hardened soldier. That image of her as a normal girl opened a door for me to connect with her :)

She does seem to have a lot of special abilities for someone so young, and I'm curious about where they came from. You might need to be cautious about Mary Sue-isms with Cassandra. I can get on board with the genius/child prodigy thing, but a fully-fledged doctor and soldier at seventeen? It's a little difficult to swallow. But if you keep going with the interesting character development that you've already started with this chapter, I'm confident that Cassandra will continue to be a compelling main character.

Ugh. The Colonel is just awful. A straight up piece of work. Adopting Cassandra and using her abilities for his own personal gain? Dastardly indeed. I hope he's gone for good, that's all I can say. What kind of "behavior" is he yelling at Cassandra about? That's one thing I wished was more clear. Does being attacked by a wolf count as "behavior?" That's the only thing he really mentioned (that I picked up on, at least), and that definitely isn't Cassandra's fault.

Oh my goodness the ending. What a way to hook your readers! Now I HAVE to keep reading, just to see what the Lupin thing is about. Is Cassandra connected or related to Remus in some way? I have to know! I'm very excited to read on :)

I enjoyed this! I think you have a really interesting plot going (especially with the "Lupin" bombshell at the end), and it's definitely unlike anything else I've read. I'll be interested to see how Cassandra develops over time. Keep up the good work and feel free to re-request any time!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for your review!

It may sound strange to you, but I'm glad you told me how much Cassandra may seem "unpleasant" at first, because that is what I wanted to gain. Cassandra is a soldier, a doctor, a really intelligent girl, that's true, but she's also a teenager who has not been raised properly. As other readers pointed out, she is capable of dealing with "professional" social interaction, but has difficulty to deal with friendship, affection, and so on. She is rough, instinctive, has an inner discipline due to her military upbringing but at the same time does not hesitate to express her judgment on people, sometimes unfairly so. I am aware that in this first chapter she can appear as a Mary Sue, but I can assure you, the areas in which she excels are limited. I am trying to develop her character a chapter at a time, and I hope you'll be there to let me know what you think about her. In the meantime, think of her as a grown up, grumbling Hermione, minus Ron and Harry.

Regarding the Colonel's part, the awful git considered "behavior" the fact that, instead of preserving her physical appearance -the only thing which he considered valuable about his daughter-, Cassandra fought the wolf losing permanently that quality. He would have preferred to see her in a coffin rather than alive and useless to his purposes.

Again, thank you so much for the review! I'll certainly re-request!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Meleessuhh Atoms For Peace

12th August 2014:
Hello again! :)
So I remember a while ago I started reading this but couldn't finish because my computer froze. But now I found it again and I'm hooked :)

Your insights with your characters feel so personal, like a diary almost. It becomes much easier to connect with them this way because it feels more emotional rather than observant. I also love Cassie's character development; I feel like she's finally starting to feel better about herself and realizing how beautiful she is inside and out. And I'm glad she's reunited with Remus :)
But how is Dora going to help? I know this takes place on Prisoner of Azkaban where time traveling is going to take place, so will we see any of that?

Update soon! Great work and amazing storyline I can't wait for more :)
-Melissa

 Report Review

Review #9, by Meleessuhh I Might Be Wrong

12th August 2014:
Can I tell you how happy I am that you decided to include Tonks in this? I love Tonks! But I feel like she isn't written about much. I love the details you put in about how she was popular but didn't have any friends because she was almost like a sideshow--nice to look at but not someone anyone cared to
know about. It also makes sense that since she's Sirius' cousin she'd be seen as a sort of outsider. It's a nice touch and something I've never thought about before.

Also, your POVs inside the character's heads is soo good. I love how you portray Sirius; he's rugged and handsome and brave on the outside but on the inside he's a deeply insecure man who is struggling coming to terms with himself. He's usually portrayed as a vain and somewhat selfish character, so I like the change :)

Really good chapter! On to the next one :)

-Melissa

 Report Review

Review #10, by Meleessuhh Kid A

12th August 2014:
Hello again! :)
So I have to say you sure know how to keep readers entertained! I love how you format your flashbacks into your chapters, you do it so effortlessly without being overbearing or confusing. When Sirius said that those weren't normal scars, I thought of Snape and that Sectumsempra curse he used, thinking he may have hurt Cassandra because he's so prejudiced. But I really don't know! The way you portray her is done so well, she's such a relatable character because she is in tune with her insecurities but knows her strengths as well. Sorry this review is so jumbled my wifi is out so I'm on my phone :( haha but great chapter! I can't wait til I get to the end!

-Melissa

 Report Review

Review #11, by Meleessuhh In Limbo

10th August 2014:
Hi again! I have to say, this is so naturally and beautifully written. I feel so bad for Cassandra because it's obvious she doesn't want to be ashamed of her appearance but she's clearly a beautiful person. She seems so sad and lonely! I love how you're not shy at al by portraying her insecurities, it makes her very realistic and relatable.

At first I thought that perhaps Lupin attacked her and she was a werewolf, but then realized that doesn't make sense. Did Sirius attack her? I'm so so curious! I'm definitely going to keep reading, this is very captivating. Awesome chapter, I can't wait to finish the rest! :)

-Melissa

Author's Response: Hi again!

Aw, thank you! I wasn't too sure about this chapter, I wanted to attach it to the previous one, but then I would have ruined its ending.. Well, I'm glad it turned out alright!

Unfortunately I can't reveal you anything, of course ;), but I assure you, everything will be explained in the future!

Thank you again for reading my story!!
Maryhead


 Report Review

Review #12, by Meleessuhh A Wolf at the Door

10th August 2014:
Hello there! This is Melissa returning the favor :)

Wow! Your opening scene is so captivating. You clearly show how traumatized Cassandra is without giving away too much. You show the despair so well, how she feels like a lost outsider by the man she grew up believing was supposed to be a father figure. I absolutely loved this chapter, and I already love Cassandra. I really like how she's not the typical beautiful/perfect character, she's scarred and battle worn. I'm really curious to see how she progresses, can't wait to read the rest :)

-Melissa

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing my story!

I am so glad you liked the opening scene and you don't think Cassandra is stereotyped. I am working hard to make her as round as possible, so it's fantastic to read that you liked her!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Gabriella Hunter In Limbo

4th August 2014:
HELLO!

I'm back here with your review and you'll have to pardon me for being so late! I was busy writing and trying to catch up on some of my own stories and wishing I had candy. Hahah.

Anyhoo, poor Cassie! I feel so sorry for her, especially knowing that the Colonel just tossed her aside so nastily. I don't know if I want her to see him again, just to beat him down or what but I can't believe he actually just pushed her away and thought that giving her that poor excuse of a house would make up for anything!

I thought you did a really good job portraying how lost Cassie was thought, the description of her new home had my heart aching. I was able to picture every broken thing and I thought that it was a beautiful way of showing just how torn up she was on the inside. I also personally like that Cassie isn't some raging beauty and has both mental and physical scars and it really sets her apart from some of the other heroines that I've read in the past. I think its a bold thing to try for a main character but I'm happy that you decided to go in this direction, you don't shy away from how ugly the scars are or how they've damaged her self-esteem. The hysterical laugh towards the end made my blood chill though and I was so upset at the thought of how alone she was just then, it really stood out to me.

What also was brilliant were the flashbacks! What could they all mean? I have to know more and I want to know what Lupin and Sirius have to do with her life, I really hope you keep moving in that direction the hints are driving me crazy. Hahah.

That last line at the end was wonderful as well, it really made me feel for Caassie. I hope she gets rescued because I hate to think of her being lost right now, it really makes me want to hop right into this story and hug her. Hahah.

I think this was a great chapter but you missed a few capitalized words here and there. Other than that, it could be a bit smoother in some parts but was a great read regardless!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for the review!

I'm glad you liked my description of Cassandra! I am trying to depict her as different. Not beautiful, sexy or anything... She is, as you said, quite messed up, both physically and psychologically, and magic won't do anything on these aspects, I fear.

Oops! Typos are my damnation! I'm glad you pointed them out, this story will undertake a massive editing soon, and knowing what mistakes I should look for will be immensely helpful. Just one little thing... I don't actually know what do you mean by "smoother". It's not a citric to what you said, mind you... I really don't know what you are referring to, if you mean that my style should be smoother, aka less descriptive in wounds/violence, or if you intended that some of my sentences are too long or intricate. It it is the latter, thank you for telling me. Since in Italian we tend to use lots of commas and not many full stops, I may have written too long sentences, and I would be eternally grateful if you could tell me which one seemed too... Wrong in your opinion.

If you referred to the amount of details in my descriptions... You may not like some of the next chapters. Oops! ;)

Anyway, thank you again for your suggestions, and if you don't mind I would like to re request as soon as I can!

Maryhead


 Report Review

Review #14, by Chazzie Atoms For Peace

28th July 2014:
Ah you updated! :D
It was a brilliant chapter, I loved it. Meh, I love all your chapters. I mentioned that before, right? Well, the backstory about the wolves and the Magoi was brilliant. I loved the way the creatures responded to the Trojans, with the rising fear that started to accumulate as they destroyed the island. And the little girl was called Cassandra too! Is Cassie named for her ancestor, or is it just coincidence?
Yay, some Cassie and Neffie (that's an adorable nickname) action! I loved the way they interacted, neither fully trusting each other. I do hope they become very good friends, because Nymphadora is headstrong and impulsive and caring - just like Cassandra! Thank you so much for writing that!
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the review!

I'm glad you liked the backstory :). I was a bit doubtful about it, I feared the readers would have dropped the story, thinking "where the hell did this think come from?!", but you liked it, so yay!

Cassie and Neffie rule! They will certainly dominate the scene in the next updates, so don't worry! ( Not to mention the fact that this WILL be a Remus/Tonks universe, so yeah... ;))

Thank you again for the review! I hope to hear from you soon for the next chapter, which is already up!

Maryhead


 Report Review

Review #15, by Gabriella Hunter A Wolf at the Door

14th July 2014:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review, my dear! Nice to meet you and all that junk. So, this was really unique! I'd never read anything like this before and I think the way you opened this chapter was very bold and very dark. Most stories don't open on such a violent event but I applaud you for having the courage and its very well written. I was able to feel every bit of pain that Cassie was going through and my heart stopped towards the end of that flash back.

I want to know what happened to her family even more now and what was happening for her town to be attacked. I hope you go into more detail later on! :D

Cassie herself seems like a really interesting character. She's confident, capable but also vulnerable and I think that makes her a bit more relatable as a person. There's something sensitive about her that I found very realistic and I hope we get to see more of that in the future. You didn't give any descriptions on her appearance, however aside from the scars and while I found that VERY cool (Most people wouldn't have done this) I'd like to have some inkling of her hair color or something. Not sure if you'd intended for her not to be described but I'm just a sucker for detail.

Now, the Colonel is horrible. I've written some awful fathers in my day but there's just something about this man that really made me angry and a little creeped out. Even though Cassie was adopted, he treats her with the same sort of regard he would a dog and that was not a pun. On one hand, I'm glad that she's away from him but on the other...I can't believe that he just kicked her out! I can't BELIEVE that he was going to MAKE her marry someone she didn't love!

I'd like to meet this boy that she deliberately pushed away too. Hah. Cassie was very proud of herself for that one!

Now, that ending shocked me. Lupin?! As in...Remus?! I have to know more now so don't be afraid to re-request!

I didn't spot too many problems but there are a few words that are missing in paragraphs but everything else seems pretty good.

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for the review and sorry if it took so much to answer. RL sent me to a place where internet is almost non-existent.

I am glad the beginning made an impression on you... I wanted to make it "real", so that the reader would be able to see what was happening... And it looks like I did it! Yay!

As for Cassandra description, the lack of details regarding her physical appearance was made on purpose, because she'll be really carefully described in the other chapters. I understand your concern, I get so frustrated when an author doesn't describe characters or scenes accurately enough! In this case, however, it was inevitable and if you get on reading, and I really hope you do, you'll understand why.

Anyway, thank you again for your review, and I'll certainly re-request as soon as I can!


 Report Review

Review #16, by crestwood Separator part 1

12th July 2014:
I feel terrible for Remus.. he seems to be the only one in the dark here. I wish Dumbledore would stop playing with his emotions because I just want him and Cassandra to be reunited. If Remus, Cassandra, Sirius and Harry could all meet that would make everyone's lives better and ease a lot of the pain that they've all felt. None of them have had an easy go of it, have they? I'm shocked at how naturally you've slipped this OC into the Harry Potter universe as if she's always been a part of it. I'm still astounded that you've managed to write this without being a native English speaker, I really am. You're incredibly talented! Thank you so much for your request and make sure to re-request when new chapters have been uploaded!

Author's Response: AND I DID IT! I answered to all of your amazing, marvelous reviews! Thank you, thank you, thank you for your feedback. I really appreciated it. Oh, and thank you again for your compliments about my English. I simply adore this language, so your words mean a lot to me.

Dumbledore is Dumbledore. He cares for the safety of the majority of people, but tends to forget that the world is made of single individuals... He could be defined as a fan of "utilitarianism", in a certain sense. Why is Cassandra so important in the safety of the wizarding and muggle world? You'll see in the next chapters, which I have almost completed! Right now there are two chapters you could review, but I think I'll wait a bit before re-requesting... I just adore when I open HPFF and I see so many reviews at the same time, apart from you and a couple of other wonderful readers I don't get that much of a feedback!


 Report Review

Review #17, by crestwood I Might Be Wrong

11th July 2014:
I really like the Tonks point of view here in this chapter. I was not expecting that at all. I'm curious what Snape's true intentions are. He seems not so bad in this chapter, but still kind of mean nonetheless. You seem to be preparing to connect everything all together that you're introducing. I can't wait to see that happen!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for your review!

See? Snape isn't THAT bad... Well, right now he is, but... He DOES have a conscience... Deep, deep down.

Tonks was a surprise for me too! Originally she should have appeared much later, but I just couldn't wait to introduce her! I love her!


 Report Review

Review #18, by crestwood Sommersi e Salvati

11th July 2014:
What did Cassandra let Bill do to her?! Everyone keeps referring to it as letting him "kill" her, but I don't exactly understand what it is that he's doing. It's interesting that Harry met her, even if it was all in his mind. I think that has to do with the Pack's connection in some way. McGonagall's talk with Harry was enlightening and she seems to have doubts about Sirius' guiltiness. Can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! Well, Bill did what lots of pharmaceutical companies do every day... Just illegally.

Oh, yes, McGonagall has doubts... She has been having them for more than a decade. And she isn't the only one!


 Report Review

Review #19, by crestwood  Last Flowers

11th July 2014:
McGonagall and Dumbledore's conversation is interesting. Everyone seems very intent that Cassandra will not be happy in the Wizarding World, but she's still dead set on finding Remus. I'm supremely annoyed by Snape in this chapter, he says some terrible things about Cass. Like, soulless, really Snape? Ugh, he always bothers me even though I know he's working with Dumbledore all this time. He's still not a nice guy. I can't wait to read the first meeting between Cassandra and Remus regardless! You do a good job of bringing all sorts of emotions out of me haha

Author's Response: Eheh, thank you! Yeah, I'm certainly not fond of Snape... Maybe it's because I grew up reading the first four books, maybe it's because I've always adored Sirius and the Marauders... I just can't see him as "the good guy". This won't be a complete Snape-bashing story, though. I wanted to, but I reckoned this would have meant creating a completely stereotypical character. So, alas, he will do some good things in the future. FAR away in the future.

 Report Review

Review #20, by crestwood Feral

11th July 2014:
I love how feral Cassandra becomes when she transitions into the Wolf. I've never seen someone paint Padfoot as a separate personality so well. It makes sense that it would always be a part of Sirius and it's strange how you manage to write it as a completely different character to Sirius in the first place, but still essentially him. That's a fine line and you've definitely found a way to write your way around it all. Great chapter once again!

Author's Response: Oh, this chapter was the toughest to write so far, I swear. The idea for Padfoot's personality came into my mind out of the blue, and it is so intricate that I don't know if I've been able to explain it well enough. I may return on it in the future, to clarify some points I'm still not sure about. I am so glad you liked it, though!

 Report Review

Review #21, by crestwood Kid A

11th July 2014:
I can barely even begin to fathom that English isn't your native language. I wonder how you've created such realistic characters and gripping storylines in a language that isn't even your first. That revelation makes all of this even more impressive. I'm so relieved to get all of this new information about Cassandra's past, this is a beautifully well thought out plot. I can't wait for what happens next!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you! Another unbelievably great compliment I don't know if I deserve!

Whenever I write a chapter I am not sure about where the story will go... I don't have a plan, I have to confess, this is a WIP in every sense! I let my writing being influenced by what I learn, hear and see in my RL, I write on the bus, while I study...I think it's better this way, because if I had written a plan before beginning the story, I would have probably been stuck with the plot line after a couple of chapters. When I wrote this chapter I was beginning to study microbiology, a subject which I adore. All those viruses and experiments lead to this.


 Report Review

Review #22, by crestwood Give Up The Ghost part 2

11th July 2014:
From now on, I'm going to find it hard to imagine the Marauders' story without Cassandra being a part of it. She just fits in so well and makes so much sense. It gives a bit of a reason for everyone thinking Remus is the traitor and even more fuel to add to the fire of his tortured personality. It even helps me gain perspective of why he thinks of himself as so toxic to be around. He lost his daughter and when he found her, he thought she seemed happy to be rid of him. Absolutely amazing writing

Author's Response: Will I ever have to stop thanking you for your amazing reviews? I certainly hope not, they are incredible boost for my self-esteem!
I'm glad you like way the character of Cassandra interacts with the original story. Some may say that my Remus is darker than in the originals, and they are right, to a certain extent. In the books, we only get to catch a glimpse of Remus' life and personality. We see him as the nice guy, with a difficult life, confidence issues and a smile ready for everyone. I just thought that there could have been so much more to write about him, for the most part not fluffy or cheesy, and certainly a lost daughter is none of the two. It will get better for him here too, though. ;)


 Report Review

Review #23, by crestwood Give Up The Ghost

11th July 2014:
So it isn't Remus who attacked her and Remus seems to differentiate between himself and "Moony." I wonder who the werewolf is that attacked Cassandra when she was younger. I expect that to be addressed eventually. I do enjoy this method of an entire chapter length flashback a lot. Captivating chapter!

Author's Response: Well... originally this was only the first half of a 9600 words chapter, but the website has a maximum word limit, so I had to split it in two! Fortunately enough, the general effect wasn't ruined by the separation! Thank you for the review! And don't worry, the attack won't be just an accident in which Cassandra lost a leg...

 Report Review

Review #24, by crestwood 15 Steps

11th July 2014:
Cassandra's first time back to Diagn Alley was purely magical. (no pun intended) Her first real experience with the Wizarding World was great and I loved that she kept having to force herself to not look quite as excited as she was feeling. Sirius' feelings toward her are really great to read as well. Wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! Again, this was a difficult chapter to write, especially for Sirius' part... So yay, you liked it!! ;D

 Report Review

Review #25, by crestwood Jigsaw Falling Into Place

11th July 2014:
The flashbacks are incredible. You could comb through them for hours finding new information each time. I feel as though my reviews can't even begin to tackle all of the serious literary questions I wish I could find a way to word. The scene in which Cassandra finally meets Sirius in his human form is so powerful. These things could've really happened for all the emotion you ellicit. Everything is wonderful so far. And I love the Sirius/serious joke at the end haha

Author's Response: Hi again!

As usual, thank you so much for your review...I wrote and re-wrote the scene of Cass and Sirius meeting so many times, because I wanted to make it "powerful", as you said, but not too... fluffy. I actually wrote a version of this chapter which was all tears and hugs... But Cassandra isn't one for hugs, and it would have ended up quite in contrast with the general mood of the story... So yeah. I'm glad you liked it!
(I had also decided not to insert that pun, but well.. It happened :D)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>