10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Willowjay16 The Plan

16th March 2016:
Hi Grey,

Just wanted to know when the next chapter would come up, it's totally okay if it's gonna take some time : )


 Report Review

Review #2, by Willowjay16 The Plan

1st February 2016:
Dear Grey,
( No, I don't mind you calling me Willow at all)
Firstly, thank you so much for acknowledging me in the Author's Note, you simply have no idea how glad I was after reading. I agree that this chapter was a filler, yet what I also completely understand is it's significance to the plot, I mean you had to show Lily's feelings and her state of mind after the point at which you ended the previous chapter( Which I must add, was a total cliffhanger). Also I'm sorry I couldn't look for corrections as I was engrossed reading the story and I didn't spot any ( But please don't take my word for it, I totally suck at spellings). I believe the next chapter is going to be very dramatic considering that the full moon night is coming, I just wanted to ask that will there Lily/James scenes in the upcoming chapters, I would love to see their story getting along, and as we read in Harry Potter books that Petunia wasn't evil but she was also not the kind and loving person that she is now. I mean I always knew that deep inside she had love for Harry, but, you know, it was deep inside, so I am just waiting to see what causes her affection for her sister and her son to get buried so deep down ( Please don't tell me they will be fighting over James!).

Lots of well wishes and good luck.

A big fan of "Disadvantages" and your writing and dying to know more reader,


Author's Response: Dear Willow,

The next chapter will start answering some of your questions, though I honestly think that Lily and James need some space at present.

I can, however, promise you that the fighting will not be because of James... at least, not in my current plan (that means little, considering how many times the 'plan' has changed since I started Disadvantages). Keep an open mind, that's all I ask.

Thank you so much for the review!!! (I'm sorry that my answer is a bit vague)

The next chapter is in the works, so please stay tuned!

An insanely grateful author,

 Report Review

Review #3, by Willowjay16 Devastation

26th January 2016:
Dear Grey ( I hope you don't mind me calling you Grey.)

I would like to say this the same way you replied to my apology, It's not the length of the chapter, but the presence of it that matters to the reader. Who will stop using third person immediately as well! : )

This chapter though quite short, was definitely as impactful as the previous one. Joshua's passing away is a sad occurrence that is a turning point for the story. I could totally feel the grim atmosphere settling in, ( it's actually kind of interesting.) Voldemort is rising to power, people are being abducted and murdered, it feels we are slowly coming closer to the climax of the story. Hope to hear from you soon.

A true fan of "Disadvantages" and still dying to know more reader,


Author's Response: Dear Willow (I don't mind, so long as you don't mind me calling you Willow)

I'm definitely working on the grim atmosphere, so I'm glad that it comes across. I feel that the story has been very cheerful the previous few chapters, so I wanted to start "bringing in the war", if you will.

As always, your reviews spur me on and are always welcome - if you have any additional questions or anything, feel free to contact me on the forums.

Thank you so much for the review, and for sticking with Disadvantages!

All my love,
*FenrirGreyback (Grey)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Willowjay16 The Big Day

20th January 2016:
Just give me a moment to calm myself down!
It was a powerpacked chapter!
1) The two possibilities part was AMAZING.
2) It was great to see Hagrid in the chapter.
3) That flirting between Petunia and Sirius was superb, and that 'Mr extremely handsome' part was Awesome.
4) Good to see more of those Lily/James clashes, they make the story more interesting.
5) The section containing Sirius's little problem, and how cutely Lily backed him and how Remus pretended to be surprised. They were all undeniably brilliant.
You've got to write more and soon, although I completely understand that you must be busy. But still, I can't wait to see what will happen next.
Lastly, sorry for reviewing so late. I couldn't take out time to check the story with my exams. But I am still rooting for you FenrirGreyback!
Your( hopefully the biggest) fan and dying to know more reader,

Author's Response: Dear Willowjay

Once again you make my day.

True to form, I have yet to post a new chapter. Fret not - another is on its way, though it has only just entered the editing stage.

As my creativity is severely limited, allow me to utilise your format:

1) I'm happy that you think so - I was afraid of it turning out a bit tacky.
2) Hagrid took such an interest in Harry in the original story, that I felt it was time to at least let him appear in a chapter!
3) The flirting between their characters is almost easy to write. I'm trying to refrain from any clichés though.
4) Ah yes, Lily and James... *looks at story planning* watch that space, I see many more occurrences between the two.
5) I'm really glad that you enjoyed the twist, so thank you.

I'll try my best to post as regularly as possible, though I'm afraid most of it will happen bi-weekly.

It is not the timing of the review, but the presence of it that matters to the writer. Who will stop using third person immediately.

For what it's worth, I hope that the exams are treating you well. The fact that you took time to read Disadvantages means the world to me.

The very grateful (and honestly quite flattered) and dying to to post more author.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Willowjay16 The Dog is out of the Bag

17th December 2015:
You're BACK!! WHAT A RELIEF!! The story is on the move. I have been waiting for ages for this to move forward. Thanks a lot!!
Although you might not know it, but You just made my day. :)
( jumping like a maniac and shouting out loud)
Thanks again!


Author's Response: I'm BACK INDEED!!

I hope that this satisfies your need to read for a while - two weeks if all goes well! (Although I might have to post one before the break...)

You, my friend, have made mine and I can't thank you enough for sticking with Disadvantages.

All my love,

 Report Review

Review #6, by Willowjay16 Listening

17th November 2015:
I don't like to say this but I am a little upset with you. WHEN ARE You GOING TO START WITH THE NEXT CHAPTER?
Please do it soon.I am dying to know what will happen next!!

Author's Response: Hi there Willowjay

I've been out a bit out of practise with my writing lately, having just started with Uni this year!

I do, however, appreciate very much the fact that you did something that you did not like very much - kicking some life back into my writing!

Thank you so much for doing so, and I promise to have it up before the 20th of December - not counting the moderating, of course!

Thank you for reading Disadvantages and for taking the time to review!

All my love,

 Report Review

Review #7, by NH Stadler A not-so-casual run-in

14th October 2014:
Hello there!
I just watned to let you know that I think you have a great stroy line going so far! It's such a great idea to write about the relationship between Lilly and Petunia! I am definitely going to read the following chapters as well!

I really really like the banter between James and Sirius and I love that Petunia isn't necessarily an evil old hag but a pretty girl with a sense of humor. Also the line "Why would you try to take out your wand in front of her?" actually made me laugh out loud! I will be looking out for updates :)

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you!

This story is my newest project and I really liked writing these characters, so I'm really happy that you liked them!

Thank you so much for the review and for reading TDOHAWITF! (Which is quite a mouth-full, but I'm searching for an alternative...)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Chazzie Boggarts - among other things

26th September 2014:
Hi Grey!
Aww, that was so sweet. I loved the interaction between Lily and her friends, and I liked that you have shown the slight conflict with Mary. You've really shown me a different side to all the characters I thought I knew. Lily in the potions class was brilliant, and you caught Sev there too. You even hinted toward him annotating his potion book with Lily's comment about not trusting the book. It was very entertaining to read.
James and Sirius bickering over Petunia worked really well, I thought it was rather rash and characteristic that they wanted to 'wife' her before they even really knew all that much about her. Another great chapter!

Author's Response: HI Lottie!

I really like writing these characters, since there is so little available concerning their lives whilst at school... I love that you like it so far!

Thank you so much for the amazing review, I appreciate your inputs each chapter!

All my love,

 Report Review

Review #9, by Chazzie Room vs Broom

9th September 2014:
Hi there FenrirGreyback!
What a super story so far. I haven't read anything like it on the forums, and it's a really interesting, original idea. I love your characterisation of each person as it is realistic, and your dialogue is humorous enough to make the reader laugh, but not overbearing in content. I love the easy banter between Sirius and James. It was sweet how the sisters have reconciled, though I am perhaps being too optimistic in my hopes that they will remain friendly.
Do you have a nickname that you prefer to be known as, such as Grey or Fen? Or anything else? Just I hope to be reviewing as the story as it progresses, and nicknames are fun. If not I don't mind, but I thought I'd ask :)

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

You have no idea how much I appreciate the review - you've made my day!

I was nervous about writing these characters, to be perfectly honest, since so many people have done so in the past. I'm really happy that you like them so far!

Sirius and James are really fun to write, so I guess that that came across in their relationship... if that makes any sense.

I was originally set on making the story progress to Canon, but my first story was AU, and I'm thinking of making this one AU as well - we'll just have to wait and see, I guess!!

I completely understand, my penname is a mouthful, so Grey is fine by me!

Thank you so much for the review and for oficially making my day!

(Grey for short :P )

 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHeirOfSlytherin A not-so-casual run-in

7th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.


It's always interesting to see the dynamic between Lily and Petunia, the different ways people go with their story. Yours is off to an interesting start, and it's an AU story, so I'm learning not to take anything for granted. I have no idea what direction you might take this and it will be fun finding out.

The confrontation between them was sad, I felt kind of sorry for Petunia, to know how she feels about the situation. It's just one thing that's differen - Lily being a witch - but it's changed everything.

The situation between Petunia, James and Sirius was funny and kind of cute, but I couldn't help but wonder how Petunia will take it once - if - she finds out that they're wizards.

oh, poor Lily, hearing what she's honestly like around people. That must have been hard. And then James getting shot down like that. It'll be interesting to know where they go in this story.

I enjoyed this first chapter.


Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login