Reading Reviews for Year Five
  
329 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CambAngst Cleaner, More Brilliant

29th August 2015:
Hi, Roisin! At long last, here I am at the end. This is going to be a weird review, I'll tell you that right up front. Not sure what the mix of substance and gushing is going to be.

GryCReMo (Review #42)

You managed to get a Dr. Who reference into the story. Many HPFF'ers I know will strongly approve. ;)

Apparently, when non-magic people dressed themselves, it signified what sort of person they were, or, at least, the sort of person they wanted to be. -- Isn't that the truth. I love the idea of witches and wizards struggling with the significance of muggle clothing. When you're used to mostly wearing robes, the decisions are probably fewer and less important.

I'm so happy to see Isobel and Lauren both doing better. I'm not sure I buy the idea of "starving the beast" until it's dead. I'm not sure it ever dies. But you can definitely make it a tiny, marginalized part of your life.

Only ten weeks old, so Charlie’s taking care of it until it’s old enough to bring to Norway and introduce into a preserve. Refuses to tell me where he got it from, though, except that it was illegally hatched. -- Cough, cough. Sorry, something in my throat.

Ha! I love the exercise of explaining animation to the two sheltered witches. Come to think of it, hand-drawn animation was a huge undertaking.

All in all, the good times were better than they’d ever been, and the bad times were further between. -- That's what I want to hear!

Everything considered, it sounds like they all did pretty well on their O.W.L.s. What I really loved about this scene was that there were no lingering feelings of envy and no recriminations for how anyone should have worked harder. They all made it through the year, and that was saying quite a lot.

OK, a couple of small typos before I wrap up:

“By way of Muir of Ord,” the owlish old driver muttered, annoyed, before shifting into gear. Scottland was hardly on the wa. -- on the way

his parents were glad for him to be spending time with his maters -- with his mates

Now... Whew, deep breath...

You can go a long time on HPFF without reading a story that falls very far outside of some fairly well-bounded norms. Next Gen teen romance with mismatched main characters that might or might not involve an unplanned pregnancy. Marauders-era story pairing Sirius or Remus with a female lead who's doomed to end up very disappointed or, in a worst case, dead. Missing moments stories from the Hogwarts years. The exciting lives of professional Quidditch players. Canon and non-canon characters struggling to overcome the trauma of the war. You get the idea.

What really attracts me to HPFF -- 99% of the reason I keep coming back -- is that every so often I find a story like this one. A story that parallels the books and is affected by the events of the books, but is truly, uniquely its own story. Your characters might share names with canon characters, but they are yours. You breathed so much life into them and made them so genuine and human. You made every part of them real: their strengths and their weaknesses, the good and the bad. You didn't celebrate their flaws, but you also didn't minimize them. You let them be four perfectly normal teenagers struggling with the things that normal teenagers struggle with, plus the added temptation of having magic at their disposal.

In doing this, you managed to replicate that rarest of feats that made the Harry Potter books so special: You allowed your readers to experience genuine empathy for these characters. To relate to what they're feeling and to want to see them be alright. It's no mean feat and my hat is off to you. This was an amazing story and I'm looking forward to whatever comes next!

-Dan

 Report Review

Review #2, by CambAngst After

29th August 2015:
Hi, Roisin! I don't think I'm going to make it to 100. But 50 would be nice...

GryCReMo (Review #41)

Tristan hadn’t planned on there being an after. It was humiliating, and terrifying, and he felt like a stranger. -- Unfortunately, I know two people who've attempted suicide. Both of them grappled with this exact thing. Nobody thinks about the possibility that they might survive and have to deal with the aftermath.

I love Eddie's story. It will probably take Tristan a little while to process what it means, but I really hope it helps.

“Machiavellian,” McGonagall shot back. “That’s what you are. I hope you realize that.” -- I'm glad that somebody is saying that to his face. Because it's true, and would only become more true as the years passed.

“Yeah I bet if young Potter got a headache the school would assume it was the Dark Lord behind it,” Laurel scoffed. -- Slow clap. Brilliant.

I loved the scene in Cadogan's Corridor. It was familiar and comfortable, but not. For a brief moment, everything felt the same, but everything was different. And lots of walls finally fell, especially for Tristan. Poor Isobel, as though the whole thing with Quirrell needed to be any worse. At least Tristan's friends -- his support -- finally know the truth. As Aunt Esther used to say, "And the truth will set you free!" Wow. That show probably went off the air fifteen years before you were born. I have to stop dating myself like that...

Wow. Tristan got a birthday present from the Dark Lord. That really puts the awkward hover-hands hug that Draco Malfoy received in perspective, doesn't it?

There were many ways a fragile body might break, and each of them were playing out in Isobel's mind. -- It's a really insidious variation on survivor's guilt that you've hit upon there. If a friend succeeds in killing themselves, you ask yourself what you should have done differently, but the scope is contained. All of the opportunities have already come and gone. If they try to kill themselves and fail, the cycle of second-guessing repeats itself every time you let them out of your sight.

Ah, it seems that Isobel is having an awakening of sorts. All it took was Emily stepping up to shatter these walls of envy and self-doubt that she'd built around her self-image. Now she's questioning more things. Good on you, Isobel!

I'm glad that Tristan is feeling... something along with the memories of his birth parents. He's the sort of person who could easily construct emotional walls around all of it and feel nothing. It seems to me that he needs to feel more if he's ever going to survive his teenage years. It's also good to see Snape continuing to try to look after him. If there's anyone who understands how a person can be victimized by falling under the Dark Lord's influence, it's Snape.

"Believing that child-rearing was the sole dominion of women, after your mother's death, your primary care fell to your aunt," Snape added tensely. "A most unfortunate turn of events." -- Snape has quite the gift for understatement. Bellatrix would have resented every moment of being forced to look after a child instead of carrying out the Dark Lord's will.

Wow. Tristan has memories of the Longbottoms being tortured. Which the Dementors obviously bring right to the surface. You've brought so many amazing things to light in this chapter that clarify and reinforce this enigmatic character. Bravo!

Your physical descriptions of what it's like to be inside Azkaban are brilliant. The place is chilling, dead and terrible in every respect.

“That man isn’t my father,” Tristan answered the decade old question that had lurked silently, never being asked. Mr. Shacklebolt looked for a moment like he might say something, but didn’t. -- I'm so glad that's clear to him now. There's a good chance he'll be able to move forward. Better chance, anyway.

I really, really love this story. I never have to read for very long before I remember all of the reasons why. You do such an amazing job with these characters and their world!

 Report Review

Review #3, by moonbaby11 Torture

28th August 2015:
Hello! I've been reading this story (in case you couldn't already tell) on mobile, and now that I'm back on a legitamate computer I figured I'd leave you reviews on the last few chapters as I read through them. I've really been loving this story so you'll probably get quite a few reviews from me over the next few days.

I love seeing this tension between the group, especially knowing that Emily has no clue that any of this is going on. It seems to be adding a whole nother layer to the relationships and the characters themselves and I love it! I have to say I'm really worried for Isobel, though -- her food problem seems to be getting out of hand and I'm afraid no one is going to mention it (although I figure they would have learned their lesson from not speaking up about Laurel's hexing problems, but maybe not???). I think she just needs someone to sit down and talk with her and tell her that everything is, really, going to be okay and that she doesn't need to try so hard to meet the same appearance level as her sister.

Ooh, more secret Tristan stuff! I've had a theory for a while that Tristan is the kid of Bellatrix and Rodolphus (hence the "R." middle name and his reaction to Neville) and I think this chapter only helps to further prove my theory (or delusions - whichever way you choose to look at it). It's clear that he's bothered by the thought of the Cruciatus Curse and I'm just dyyying waiting to find out about Tristan's past! It's been so shrouded in mystery this whole story and I just want to know! I'm so impatient!

I think this relationship between Quirrell and Isobel is really interesting. He hasn't been present in the story very much so it's nice to see him standing on his own and actually being portrayed as a competent character, rather than someone who just stutters all the time and is constantly frightened. I think it's really refreshing to see him portrayed in this way!

I noticed when teeny tiny grammar mistake in this chapter: " I’d b-be interested to here m-more about some of the foreign m-magic" you've used the wrong version of 'hear' in this sentence. Something small, but definitely something that can be easily fixed!

I shall be moving onto the next chapter soon because I can't wait to see what happens! I'm getting close to the end and I'm pumped.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Unicorn_Charm Three Times Charmed

28th August 2015:
Hey Roisin! Back again!

I just get totally sucked in and completely immersed in this world each time I read one of your chapters. They're just so good!

I like Isobel. I know she's not the nicest person, but I like her. It's a little worrisome about the whole eating thing though. I wonder if that might become a problem later on. I can relate to the makeup thing. I don't like to leave the house unless I'm wearing some. Not they I'm vain, I just feel like I'd frighten small children, the elderly and animals if I didn't have any on. :p

Um yeah. Totally shocked about Emily! I definitely would not have thought her out of the girls. I would have actually assumed that Isobel was more, um... friendly with the gentleman than Emily. And Tristan dated Angelina?! These small details that you casually throw in are what really makes this feel like cannon. Like I truly believe these people existed in school with Harry and we just didn't see them. It's fantastic work!

Filch is such a pain in the butt. Of course he would nearly ruin the tapes checking to make sure they weren't dark magic. I think Tristan would have hit him if he did haha.

I love how you created their own spot away from the town. I think I'd be more willing to just hang out and listen to music outside than wander around Hogsmeade, to be honest. And I love The Cure! I love all of these music references that you're throwing in. It makes me want to make my own Year Five soundtrack! ;)

Yeah, Laurel definitely has a bit of a problem, doesn't she? She needs the charm, whereas the rest of them just seem to do it for something to do. I'm a little concerned for her.

I loved the part with the girls in Hogsmeade, getting thrown out of stores and doing a little bit of shoplifting it looked like. Bad girls haha. Oh dear and then Percy and Penelope. Yikes! Is imagine that she probably was a bit pompous if Percy was so infatuated with her. And probably a good decision not to go into the Hog's Head. I'm sure that wouldn't have ended well.

It's funny to see this group so focused on their studying. Although, they do find a way to kind of cheat. That's definitely something I would have done in school, not even going to lie.

In some ways, I was these kids. In other ways not at all. But they're pretty close to some of my friends in high school. The music and some other things. I don't know how good that is. :p I think that's another reason I'm enjoying this so much. It's making me a little nostalgic.

Tristan is a lot like my best friend growing up I'm noticing. Totally obsessed with music, enjoys his recreational activities and doesn't tend to agree with the social "norms" of those around him. He thinks differently.

I love this, Roisin! I love every last bit of it. You are truly a genius for creating such a great, relatable and real story. I can't wait to continue!! ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #5, by TidalDragon Cleaner, More Brilliant

24th August 2015:
AH FERNGULLY! I watched that movie SO MANY times as a kid!

I won't have anything crazily substantive to say about this chapter as it is an epilogue really. Toward the top I did honestly feel that it switched around a bit fast, but that's nothing major in the grand scheme of things.

One of the things I liked a lot about this post-script was that it DIDN'T tie everything up in a nice little bow. Much though I may have wanted it, though there's progress with Tristan and Emily, they aren't yet Tristan/Emily. Though there's progress with Isobel and Laurel, they don't (and rightly so) consider themselves cured. And though there's progress toward next year, and better days, there's still uncertainty lurking in each of their minds as to what exactly it holds.

The downside of an activity like GryCReMo is that I don't get the chance to be as detailed or analytical as I'd like to be. I have to be faster (especially when I'm, you know, about 70 reviews off pace), but what is really great about it is is finally getting to finish stories you keep wanting to, but keep putting off because you have to write this, or review that out of your thread, or whatever other excuses I've come up with not to get here faster.

You deserve every plaudit this story gets Roisin, because it's absolutely brilliant. The writing small-picture isn't pretentiously complex, but on the macro-level the characters and story are layered with such depth and so many nuances that it's incredible.

Truly this is professional grade!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TidalDragon After

23rd August 2015:
I did NOT figure it out ages ago, primarily because like all good bozos (especially those reading late into the night), I didn't even THINK of first names, just last names the R could be. Pitiful.

But it was a very interesting "ending" since you've said 22 is more in the form of an epilogue. It was strangely cathartic for me as a reader even to hear Tristan's story - the depth of what he had been exposed to - and to see him finally begin perhaps to accept himself.

Isobel's reveal on the other hand, came as little surprise. I suppose it would just be too much perhaps (though maybe I'm speaking too soon) if she were into Emily specifically, but I was gratified to be correct that it was Emily's snapping "Are you in love with me?" (or whatever the exact phrasing was) that was meant to be a focal point of that chapter.

What was most gratifying though was to see people finally rally around Tristan. Though he has a long road ahead (as discussed before that final journey to see Rabastan), at least we can see that he has support. He hopefully believes in his ability to deserve his parents' love now and has his support system back, so I'm hopeful for his future.

Now, I press on to the final lines of your magnificent tale - Chapter 22.

 Report Review

Review #7, by TidalDragon O.W.L.s

23rd August 2015:
It appears I was right in my fear for Tristan. There's only so much an individual can take, but I have to say that it's incredibly disappointing to me that even amidst all their problems, even amidst their division and his self-imposed post-suspension isolation, none of these friends did anything for him. I suppose in reality that's how suicide can be. People can see pain or frustration or self-criticism, they can see abuse and yearning, but in the end few ever suspect that someone will go so far as to take their own life, no matter how frequently it happens. Though I've long suspected we'd reach this point, in truth, I somehow knew it was coming when Tristan stood up to the other members of his house. A bold act preceding his departure - something to be remembered by (in his own mind) or something to give him the courage to carry it out later? He'd obviously planned it quite fully given that he timed it for exams, and the last one, the one he was always expected (at least in part) to skip/miss even by those closest to him. How long, I wonder had he been planning?

Now, I await what happens next. Hopefully help. Hopefully some measure of happiness. And because I can't resist a good ship, in ANY story, even when it's about SO MUCH MORE - hopefully with Emily.

 Report Review

Review #8, by TidalDragon The Presence of Love

23rd August 2015:
Very interesting installment. It's encouraging to see that there's some healing going on here amongst the quartet and that things seem to be brightening or at least really being brought to light and confronted. Isobel, though Emily's monologue suggested otherwise, I would hope will have benefited from her house arrest somehow.

Emily though - how awful. To be taken advantage of so completely and at such a young age. It certainly explains something about her that's gone unexplained for some time, but ugh. I just. Anyone who would do that disgusts me. And I know from my line of work that there are far too many, but still - they say people get jaded about it, but never. Just...words can't even describe what I'd like to do to this Andrew character.

I'm also glad that Laurel and her mother had it out after we learned more about that dynamic as well. One can only hope it will create a more supportive environment or at least engender some more trust between parent and child for her as well.

The one I remain worried for is Tristan though - the same fears - and he's the one who's still been most disconnected, despite Emily's letter. I fear with three chapters left, something's got to give with one of them before the end.

 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon The Question

23rd August 2015:
Hmm. Well, naturally I'm wondering if this "thing" Emily has dredged up is that Isobel IS attracted to her. Certainly it would explain her protectiveness and above-and-beyond anger at Tristan and Laurel on her behalf. I suppose I'll have to wait and see how that plays out.

Aside from that question though (and the Quirrell attack obviously - a little odd for me, to be frank), I thought this chapter added a lot more levity after a series of just soul-crushing stuff happenign to people and so it was a bit of a welcome relief in that way.

I also enjoyed that Hagrid made an appearance in this chapter. Though truthfully I'm not that huge a Hagrid fan, and I'm horribly afraid to try and write that speech pattern (kudos on your handling of it BTW), somehow the Hogwarts Era just doesn't feel "right" without him making some kind of appearance, and it enable you to feather in more of that canon with the card game and the dragon egg and all that jazz. If I didn't know from the chapters already, I'd know from this that we're getting close to the end of the line.

Can't wait to see how this all ties up...

 Report Review

Review #10, by TidalDragon The Disappearing Room

23rd August 2015:
Ahh the shrapnel truly has been set flying. I was glad to learn more of Tristan's background, even if it is incredibly awful. And it's quite intriguing to think that Draco almost had an adopted brother. I wonder how he might've turned out differently if that had really transpired. Now I need the origin of the mysterious "R" and the true identity of his parents. I need it Roisin. I NEED IT. Oh...his middle name isn't Roisin is it? :p I really wonder what will become of Tristan upon his return to Hogwarts as well. Will his former friends rally around him or will the disintegration continue? Surely, Laurel owes him, but the pressure from her parents may be too much. And Isobel's would obviously frown on him, though they'd have their own problems with her soon enough I'd imagine.

The thing I definitely wanted to heap praise on you for those is DUMBLEDORE. I have written him TWICE in Evolution and the most recent was a mangled, tangled MESS. But you have gotten his speech down brilliantly, and made his appearance as impactful as it should've been. Very interesting what he had to say about Laurel...I wonder what impact that and the freedom of fear from expulsion (for the moment) will have on her as well.

Onward onward, ever onward!

 Report Review

Review #11, by TidalDragon Interrupted

23rd August 2015:
Would you look at that! Great encouragement from Tonks! Wotcher indeed!

If you'll permit me a detour (I read and reviewed all of Diamonds Into Coal today, so I am all analytical on the star-crossed romances bit ATM - you should definitely read it BTW if you haven't), I can't help but feel for both Tristan and Emily in this scenario honestly. I can certainly understand where Emily is coming from and I think her reaction is altogether reasonable (though it's awful that now she too may be back-sliding) and at the same time...it's just another rough situation for Tristan, borne fully of his own mistakes granted, but I feel that he really does care for Emily and tried to own up in his own spineless and vague way with the note he wrote her. I wonder what will become of them now.

As you mention in your A/N however, I am very intrigued to see where this storm of the century you've been building winds up and where, as you so eloquently put it "the shrapnel flies." Will the group survive? Will it change its form? What will become of each of them as the year concludes?

 Report Review

Review #12, by TidalDragon Torture

23rd August 2015:
The richest part of this chapter is unquestionably the beginning. There is so much delicious irony in the way Isobel judges Tristan while completely ignoring her own disorder (at least in terms of considering it a problem). It's interesting the way the group dynamic is developing as different issues come to a head for each character and I'm left to wonder whether and how they'll survive the culmination of these crises. The possibility exists for me that barring her finding out about Laurel and Tristan, Emily would prove the "linchpin personality" but I don't know. Then I just rush off to debating who's going to go over the edge next - Tristan or Isobel. It shows what a good job you're doing that I can't even decide. Last chapter I obviously would've said Tristan. This chapter, from a different perspective and I'm thinking Isobel - who's gotten to the point now where it seems like her body is quitting on her as demonstrated by the issue she has with attention, constantly wanting sleep, and the mistake in runes. While Tristan could break at a moment's notice perhaps (though he may be bolstered and held up in that by Isobel's brief softening), Isobel clearly can't keep this up much longer can she?

I'll get started on finding out next chapter...

 Report Review

Review #13, by TidalDragon The Trouble With Laurel

23rd August 2015:
Well, I'm definitely interested to see what happens re: Laurel and her relapse. But this chapter was well and truly about Tristan and I think it's important to focus on that and the potential fracturing of the friend group.

I really felt for Tristan here. Though you essentially revealed it I think in the previous scene with Sprout, Tristan is, apparently, adopted, which could account for some issues. But more than that he's firmly in the throes of this depression. It's a very dark place and a very dark mindset he's in, despite he's pretending otherwise and it's certainly causing him to make bad choices - caving to Laurel, snogging Laurel. But I don't think he believes in himself or can muster up the emotion enough because of his depression to believe that anything could come of a relationship or deeper connection with Emily, who represents a real path forward as ultimately the most balanced (I think) of the quartet.

In this state, I think it's unsurprising he rebuffs Sprout and I don't know that she'll be able to help him going forward, but I do hope she continues to try or that someone breaks through. Though I don't know for sure, the end of the chapter seems to be strongly alluding to a suicide attempt on his part given what we know of: (1) the depth of his depression, (2) the fact it's worsening, (3) the exceptions Sprout mentioned, and (4) the self-harm he engages in at the end of the chapter.

You're tackling some HEAVY stuff here Roisin, but you do it so well and I'm on the edge of my seat waiting to see what comes next and the aftermath of it.

 Report Review

Review #14, by TidalDragon The Little Things (1992)

23rd August 2015:
Ahh...so we DO get some insight into exactly what Laurel went through in her worst hour as well. It's dark indeed, but I'm glad you laid it bare for us because it reinforces the truth you stuck to in the previous chapter where Laurel is still very much NOT okay. I thought you also did a great job handling the thoughts running through her head, the trying to be normal and fit back in, the doubting Sprout, the resentment for those who don't understand or try to avoid the issue (even her friends) and finally the self-loathing. All crucial, all real, and very well executed.

On a more detail level, I thought it was quite nice how you introduced this guidance counselor type role into Hogwarts. While we hear nothing of the sort in canon necessarily, I imagine it would be something that exists, whether it's the student's head of house that has to fill the role or a professor dedicated to it. And Sprout's handling of it was well done too and I think ultimately will be helpful to Laurel.
Hilarious too that Sprout has her own stash growing BTW!

The end though was ultimately my favorite part because it was SO high impact. #1 you bring Tristan and Laurel back together for real by putting them alone. #2 you have them acknowledge they're messed up, without FULLY acknowledging it (at least on Tristan's part) and it's paired off with that great line about it not being the big things, but the little ones that mess people up. It's so true - I think more than they know right now even. EXCELLENT.

 Report Review

Review #15, by TidalDragon Recreational Magic Abuse Recovery

23rd August 2015:
I think I'm just concluding that one of my favorite things about this story is how unpretentious it and the characters are. I suppose that's sort of made clear from their actions and the summary, but I'm going to force myself to stop repeating it. So take every review forward with the comment "they were so delightfully unpretentious" appended to it. :p

As for the meat, I thought the female-friendship portion at the top was excellent, including how you didn't over-dramatize the lost virginity aspect. I think society as a whole (at least in the U.S.) would do well to take a similar, less prudish mentality so people are more educated and less ashamed surrounding sex and their bodies. But now I'm going down a public policy road so...

On to St. Mungo's! The starkness with which you described Laurel's situation was powerful. A lot of people would fast-forward past this point, where the person is still a shell, still feeling terrible, and trying to get better, but also not altogether "buying it" all in terms of the efficacy or "point" of the treatment. Because while Laurel clearly hates her circumstances and has been sobered by them, she almost has this disaffected "NBD" attitude about it at the same time. So she's got a long road ahead. The incorporation of Luna was very interesting too - especially the bit with her father and the timeline for her mother dying. I liked it because it actually added something rather than just being a pandering inclusion of a popular character. So kudos on that!

And now I am forward to Chapter 13 - will it be unlucky for someone I wonder? I suppose Tristan is the best candidate for that, but we'll have to see ;)

 Report Review

Review #16, by TidalDragon Muggle Magic

23rd August 2015:
Back again!

I enjoyed the interaction between Isobel and Emily's family. I've always wondered, what must it be like at home for muggleborns with siblings or even half-bloods and this is the first fic I've read that even attempted an honest insight into it. It was also nice to get a laid-back chapter after tense-Tristan and the drama that ended the term.

I also enjoyed how you touched on the concept of "muggles being magical in their own way." Though Arthur is obviously fascinated by them in canon - and some people must take them pretty seriously to have made Muggle Studies part of the curriculum - we don't see a lot about how wizards other than diabolical Death Eaters view them. It's refreshing that Isobel is so unpretentious about magic in her interactions with the family members and indeed that she's interested in aspects of the muggle world in the same way they are interested in aspects of the magical one.

I'm quite interested to see if they have success getting these brownies to Laurel and what the repercussions will be either way.

Onward to Chapter 12!

 Report Review

Review #17, by TidalDragon War Children

23rd August 2015:
Howdy! It's been WAY too long, but I'm trying to leave 36 reviews today and I owe you 14 AND it's about time I finish this bad boy, so here I am.

In the beginning we see quite an interesting side of Snape. Obviously our perspective on him is always quite biased coming from Harry in canon - even post-SWM it's biased, just in a different way that I honestly despise - but that's neither here nor there. The point is that you show this Snape that is still capable of interrogations, but isn't nearly as cruel as he is to Harry & Co.

Then with the remainder, we really get an insight into Tristan's home life and habits. It's a bit of a scary insight, but nevertheless rings true for how a lot of people live (something I've discovered the more and more experienced I've become at my job and reading all the police reports, meetings with clients, etc.) so I thought it was very well-handled from all angles, the dealing with the parents about it, the "relationship" with the dealer, and the guilt over Laurel's situation.

Excellently rendered. See you in Chapter 11!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Unicorn_Charm Loose Lips

16th August 2015:
Roisin!!

Gah! More love for this wonderful, amazing, spectacular story you have created here!! I just want to run around like a madwoman and shout in the streets that everyone must read this story immediately, regardless if they're a Harry Potter fan or not.

The angst is strong in this one. I felt myself becoming more and more angsty and apathetic while reading this chapter. His emotions - or lack of, just seemed to float off my screen and into my being. I need to go light a candle and listen to some Radiohead while chain smoking or something lol. But honestly, I love it! As a product of the 90's and a member of the "whatever" generation, I so appreciate the tone of this and everything about it. Just such great work!

Wood was a jerk. Flat out jerk. Meathead, jock, popular, expletive, jerk. I really loved seeing him from a Slytherin's POV, because it all seems totally plausible. He was the captain of the team, and he was all about Quidditch and I could totally imagine him being a bully to people in Slytherin. I mean, the Slytherins bullied Harry, why wouldn't it be the other way around. Fred and George's reactions to what happened were just perfect though. I so laughed out loud while reading it, because it was so them. You have a great command of their characters.

I really like Tristen. A lot. Yeah, he's totally a typical "everything sucks" whiny teen, but he is himself and doesn't care what others think. I really respect that in a house full of blood status crazy purebloods, he flat out was like, "yeah, I'm a Mudblood, so what?" Not in those exact words, but you know. I'm here like, "Yeah! You go Tristen! Tell them what's up."

The little details again were just incredible! You can really tell that you've done your research for this story and what a massive Potter-head you are. The fact that this is so cannon compliant, yet so original at the same time... It's just mind blowing. I'm totally blown away. It's engaging, funny, interesting, has such great imagery and detail. I don't even know what else to say besides, you're a genius!

Can't wait to keep going!! LOVE it!!! (If you couldn't tell) ♥

Hugs and love,
Meg

Author's Response: MEG!!

*flaps arms around*

I'm SO glad you thought that the characters fit the era. I was only a wee one in 91-92, but I have some older friends that were teens in the 90s and I'm generally interested in, like, the history of culture and teenage movements over time and stuff, so I really wanted this to be a very 90s-y story. It's weird because I think the 90s were a decade very much dominated by the "20-somethings" of Gen X, and the teenage experience got relatively less attention compared to previous decades (like, if you look up "90s teen movies" online, they're almost all from 1999 and more part of the early 2000s Teen Movie boom. Most youth-culture movies in the 90s focused on people in their 20s). Which I also think sort of informed that experience, so a lot of teenagers sort of wanted to be older. BUT I'M RAMBLING.

I did really want to show another side of Wood, because I do think it was THERE in canon, just that Harry only ever interacted with him in certain contexts and there was an age-difference at play. Though to be fair, Tristan DID start it. And his lashing out was DEFINITELY an overreaction (I mean, HE KILLED HIS GERANIUM, that was SO un-called for). And yeah, then Wood and co. retalliated too hard, which I think had a lot to do with just general prejudice against Slytherin and misjudging Tristan.

And YEE I'm so glad you like the Twins! They are VERY intimidating characters to write, because they're SO fabulous and wonderful in canon. It's almost a bit presumptive to TRY and write them in the Hogwarts era. It's also weird because I'm trying to keep them the same as canon while also showing them from another POV (where the age differences are reversed). So WOO! Very relieved you dig all that!

SO GLAD THAT YOU LIKE TRISTAN EVEN THOUGH HE CAN BE ANNOYING. I WILL SPEAK MORE ON THIS IN LATER CHAPTERS. BUT YES, SUCH A REBEL. OCCASIONALLY CAUSELESS.

Oh man, whilst writing this I had like 10 tabs that just LIVED at the top of my browser. And even though I did a ton of research while planning the story, I did EVEN MORE for each chapter. Like, I even had a London Underground map from 1992 and almanac info about which lines were down when, and explored archival maps of Vauxhall, and researched legislation and BLAGH. (Heh, I also was gonna have Laurel wear a "scrunchie" but then found out that the word "scrunchie" hadn't come into common usage yet). It was all a bit absurd :P

THANK YOU MEG!
xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #19, by casual_chaos Three Times Charmed

15th August 2015:
Hello! A few centuries ago, you requested a review from me, and I am finally here to fill that request! (Also, I am very sorry for the delay, RL came in the way of HPFF for a while.)

Anyway, I have made a slight change to my reviewing style, and I'm now more focused on giving actual criticism, which, by what I've read on the forums about your extensive rewriting of YF, I think you won't mind.

Regarding the structure of this chapter, as a whole, I think you did a good job. Each segment told us something new about Isobel, through dialogue and descriptions and her reactions to other people. I especially liked the physical description in the beginning - it was very detailed, but with a purpose. It wasn't just meant to tell us what she looked like, it told us about her as a person, what she stood for, how she perceived herself and how she wanted others to perceive her.

There is one thing that I found a bit odd, though. The part where Isobel and Laurel go to Hogsmeade, while Tristan and Emily listen to their music. I expected something to happen in that scene, some development between Laurel and Isobel, a conversation that might push the plot forward, you know? They visited various places and did a bit of shoplifting and that's all good and fun (and it does say something about the depth of their relationship) but it all had the air of a filler-scene. It felt as if the real story was going on back there with Tristan and Emily, while these two walked about for an hour or two. This might be just me, though, because I'm not a fan of scenes which hold no real purpose for the story. But with that said, I need to point out that the writing was of great quality and I really liked your portrayal of Hogsmeade, and how authentic it seemed. And who knows, maybe it all had a higher purpose, I just missed it? :D

Other than this, there were some sentences that sounded a bit wonky.

1. In this sentence ''Laurel linked arms with Isobel, and the two saw the little houses grow bigger before them.'' - It sounds as if the houses simply grew on their own, you know? If you added something to tell the reader that the houses were seemingly growing because they were approaching them, now that would make more sense. (It's really minor, but I'm nitpicky.)

2. ''(the Weasley twins being a member of that group)'' - okay, this might be a usage that I'm unfamiliar with, in which case feel free to ignore this, but since the twins are plural, maybe use 'members' instead of 'a member'.

3. And finally, there is a bit too much names mentioned in these two sentences: ''...Tristan charmed Emily and Laurel, and Isobel rolled some tobacco.

Tristan and Emily let Laurel and Isobel have some influence over the music choices...''

You put these sentences as the end and the beginning of two separate paragraphs, respectively. But even with that natural pause between paragraphs, this still sounds clunky with so many names written one after the other, so I suggest doing something about that.

That's about it with CC, I hope it will be of some help to you! None of it is meant to offend your writing (which is very enjoyable to read, as I have said in all of my previous reviews).

I also need to take a moment to compliment you on all the canon details you use. Throughout this chapter, everything was bursting with details, and it really made me envision Hogwarts as we know it from the books. It's so brilliant!

Also, the music-listening scene was perfect! Just Like Heaven is a song I will never ever get tired of listening to, so many hearts for that!

Andy

P.S. I don't know if I'll be continuing my review thread, but if you want me to review the next chapter in a similar way, just say so in your response and I'll be back.

Author's Response: Andy! What a fantastic surprise, thank you!

Seriously, this review is SO helpful. I really, really appreciate it.

I've gone back and added a bit more description of Isobel in Ch2, so this might end up getting lightened. But I'm glad you think the description also seemed to /connect/ to something and say more than just what she looked like. That's definitely something I'll be preserving :)

Oof, yeah, this story depends on so much eXpOsItIoN, but you're right that their time in Hogsmeade could feel more purposeful. I'll have a real think about that and discuss it with my betas.

And then THANK YOU for all those specific picks. Noted and noted :D


Btw, I made a mix of Y5 songs (posted in one of my old blogs) that includes a neat cover of "Just Like Heaven."

If you feel up to doing more reviews like this I would ABSOLUTELY be down! Thank you SOSOSOSO much :)

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #20, by moonbaby11 Prologue (1991): Dozens of Little Televisions

13th August 2015:
Hey! I'm here from the Review Tag at the forums!

So I've been meaning to read this story for a while because I've heard nothing but good things about it and, I must say, I was not disappointed. I know this was only a prologue and, apart from the protagonist, doesn't introduce any of the main characters, but I still found it very intriguing! Sophie was a very interesting character for such a short chapter, and I thought it was interesting to see a muggle reaction to wizarding items. I don't see that very often around here, so I thought it was a good addition to your story. I really enjoyed hearing Sophie's thoughts as she tried to rationalize the moving pictures - Dozens of televisions in the wall? Really? It made me chuckle.

I feel like this really sets the reader up for the story. It introduces Tristan and his family and you really get a good feel for who he is as a person. I also liked the way that you used Sophie to describe Tristan's physical appearance instead of having him stand in front of a mirror and describe it himself. I think that was really clever and a good use of the characters in this chapter.

I know this is only the prologue, but from the Author's Note it seems like you'll be utilizing as many canon characters as possible, and I think that's great! Sometimes stories get so overridden with OCs that it feels like there's not very much actually canon about it anymore, but you seem ready to use any canon characters possible. I must admit that I don't remember Arnold Peasegood from the books so I didn't realize he was a canon character until after, but I still think it's a brilliant idea.

All in all, this chapter just makes me want to read more! As I said, you did not disappoint with this story. Hopefully I'll be back to read more soon, as now I really want to learn more about Tristan's friends and how they're all going to fit into the events of the first book. This seems like a great story and I'm sorry I took so long to finally start reading it.

Author's Response: Ah! Hello! GOSH!

*squee* *flail* *squee*

Thank you so much! Yee :D

I'm really glad you liked the Sophie intro. My idea was a kind of nod to HP:PS, because that book begins with Mr Dursley's muggle POV. And yeah, I just liked the idea of reintroducing the wizarding world sort of, but from another perspective (since this story is All About secondary perspectives).

It helps a LOT that this was 1991 :P I feel like if someone saw a bunch of moving photos today it would be more like, "huh, that's kinda neat. Ish." Heheh for pre flat-screen technology!

And YES the Sophie-device let me describe Tristan without a mirror! So much utility I got out of that ;)

My thinking was half laziness and half way over-thinking when it came to recycling canon characters. I mean, Rowling created approximately a bajillion briefly-named characters, so it saved me having to think up names and things :P (like, Need an obliviator? I bet she has one already!) And then also, if Hogwarts is "about a thousand students," then the wizarding world has TINY generations, even assuming the majority of families homeschool (which I don't buy). Therefore, the same characters were BOUND to pop up over and over again.

On major concern I have with this story is not really retaining readers since it's such a sLoW bUrN, and doesn't really do a HOOK or have cliffhangers or anything. So I'm just THRILLED that you felt engaged and intrigued and wanted to read on :D

So YEE! Thank you SO MUCH for this lovely review!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #21, by CambAngst O.W.L.s

13th August 2015:
Roisin! I've embarked on my GryCReMo campaign and I decided to start with stories from the other participants. So here's my little bit of scorekeeping to start off:

GryCReMo (Review #10)

How long has it been since I first read this? Months? Where the heck does time go? Anyway, I was able to lose myself in it like I'd never put it down. I really, really love these characters you've created. I've been over and over this point, but I don't know if I can repeat it often enough. They're so real. So balanced. So perfectly flawed and fallible and human. Someday I think I'd like to see you try to write something with characters that are one-dimensional and cliched, just to see whether you're capable of it. On second thought, don't do that. It would be a waste. ;)

Sigh. I don't like seeing the four of them apart like this. Especially Tristan. I don't think he realizes how much damage he's doing to his own psyche here.

The studying and exam scenes are some of my favorite parts of this chapter. I love the amount of detail and creativity you put into little things like plants and spells and runes. You never get lazy and take a mulligan on the details; you make every one count. To me, that's one of the hallmarks of your writing. Did you hear that? You have hallmarks!

"I can't help it," Emily moaned. "Where do the vanished objects go? What if they make me vanish an animal? It's cruel!" -- She is so adorable! Hufflepuffs are such special people.

"Ballpoint pen," he scribbled on his test paper to demonstrate. "Like a quill, but less annoying."

"Casette tape," he jammed it into the portable stereo and pressed play. "Would play music under different circumstances."
-- OK, maybe I like this a little bit better than the studying. ;)

I absolutely adored Tristan putting Malfoy and his thugs in their place. Moments like that, you realize there might be a little Gryffindor in him after all.

The general consensus was that he’d fallen in.

Emily knew better.
-- Yeah, I think we all do. The small array of personal comforts that Emily found at his spot at the wall sealed the deal. I love the way you wrote that. You didn't say too much. You just left it to the bare minimum needed to tell the story. There's no joy or life in a moment like that.

The ending of this chapter was a beautiful kick in the gut. Succinct and perfectly matched to the moment.

I saw one little typo as I read:

Their friendship with Emily rekindled, the three spent most of their evenings on the seventh floor near the portrait of the little night, reviewing thick stacks of notes, and chain-smoking. -- little knight

I'm so sorry that it's been so long. I always tell myself I'm going to come back and finish reviewing this story and... yeah, stuff. Anyway, I have motive and opportunity now, so I will be back before GryCReMo is through. Lovely job as always!

Author's Response: WAIT WHAaAaAaAT?!?!?!

YESsSsSsS!

Oh man! Dan! I LOVED getting your reviews on this and I'd COMPLETELY FORGOTTEN that there were more reviews coming! What a brilliant and fantastic surprise!

Now, sad face, because /this goddamn chapter/

I'm so, so sorry. Still. Just... My apologies. Back when I was first writing the first draft of this I had this like OH NO moment, where I just realized that Tristan was going to jump in the lake at some point around the History exam. I didn't plan it, I just realized he was GOING to do it as if it weren't up to me. It was totally unplanned, but the lake had become this weird loaded symbol, and kept coming up in these odd ominous ways. Like, it took on a life as a sort of character of its own.

And then Harry missed his History exam because of his Sirius vision, and I'd established early on about Tristan skiving off from that class, and the parallel and unintentional building just became a /thing./ So yeah, I didn't plan it. And at least I saved him (via squid).

But all that didn't make writing it any easier. It was a huge struggle to figure out what to say, how much to say, and how to say it. Restraint seemed to me the best option, because the tragedy sort of spoke for itself and didn't need explaining. I'm glad you liked that.

So now the fun stuff: oof, I positively /scoured/ the internet for every bit of fifth-year cirricula (and even threw in a bit of sixth year, since Umbridge's rules probably cut out a lot they would have learned), in order to get all the details right. And this chapter was the only one where I consulted canon. I reread the OWLs chapter of OotP and kind of diagrammed it, even doing plays on some of JKR's phrasing.

I think the "ballpoint pen" line might be my very favorite of the entire story :D Well actually, I'm revising right now and there's a new line in "Hex Head Express" I quite like too ("Isobel thought she best resembled a bowl of custard that had been left out overnight and developed a skin.") [I'm proud of that one because zomg I think Isobel's FC is the prettiest thing that ever prettied, and so I really struggled for an apt-yet-critical thing to say about her]

BUT NOW I'M RAMBLING.

Thankyouthankyouthankyou for this amazing surprise!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #22, by Unicorn_Charm R

13th August 2015:
Back again! :D

Aww Emily and Tristan are adorable!

So I loved reading the Sorting from an outsiders perspective. That Harry ended up in Gryffindor to nobody's surprise. I wonder why Tristan got so weird when Neville was sorted? Just because of what happened to his parents, or was there more behind that?

Oh my goodness. That whole little wave to Dumbledore and the reason behind it! *melts* That was so sweet! I mean, the reason behind it kind of sucks, with that jerk being so mean to her and everything. But Tonks being so nice to her and Dumbledore giving her that little wave. My heart. It's swelling.

I loved the letters between Emily and Tristan. And I see what you mean about the "hey look! It's the 90's!" thing you told me about haha. But seriously, who doesn't love Nirvana? As a 90's kid myself, I'm sure I'm going to appreciate all the little references. I suspect they might have distilled you as a person in order to make it. - cracked me up. XD

So wow, Laurel really likes her Cheering Charm, doesn't she? It seems like Isobel is the "good" one of the group? Or as good as you can be in this group. ;) I loved that Tristan didn't even hesitate and just used the charm on her hahaha.

Again with how real this is! Them all sneaking off before class to do that. They are real teens. It's so cool to see what a realistic teenage life might be like at Hogwarts. Harry and then had too much on their plates, so we didn't really get too much of an accurate portrayal of what teen life at Hogwarts might be like, so this is just so wonderful to read. You make it feel like cannon, too, which is amazing.

One thing I'm really enjoying is how each chapter focuses on a different character. That was one of the main things that reminded me of Skins. The different POV's with each chapter, like how each episode was centered around a different character. I love stories where you get to experience things through different sets of eyes. And the way you're able to command a unique voice for each character so far is amazing. You're so freaking awesome!

*Let the gushing intensify*

It's 5am and I so should be in bed, but I don't want to stop reading. I'm totally addicted! It's my Cheering Charm! :p There may be one more review coming tonight (this morning), if I don't pass out first. ;) If not, definitely tomorrow (later)!

Love it! Love it, love it, love it!! *hugs*

Much love,
Meg ♥

Author's Response: Oh YEAY the letterz! There I was trying to channel the way emails/messages will end up stringing on forever and expanding, or basically how IM works, since owls within Hogwarts itself are about as close to IM as you can get. Glad you liked it!

Heeheehee, I wanted to be as META as possible in this fic while keeping it grounded, so I loved the idea that Harry would have so much anxiety about his Sorting while everyone else would be like "uh-DUH." Just... there is SO much room for dramatic irony in fanfic!

I also really liked the idea that Dumbledore might have a personal relationship with EACH of his students. Like obv Harry has a lot of really important stuff going on, but I thought it was so fitting that Dumbledore might also notice and care about a scared little muggleborn feeling awkward and weird and think that making her feel better mattered too.

Oh yes, 90s-ness should NEVER be understated ;)

I sort of imagine it, like, if you CAN just *zap* make yourself in a good mood, why not do it? Like, they make it seem so easy in canon to just do a cheering charm, yet we never saw it used again. I was really curious about that.

Oh man, so /I/ never smoked before class (because am Hermione), but absolutely every single person I hung out with did, so that HAD to be included. And OH MAN am I stoked that you think this is a convincing/canon-ish portrayal of Teen Life at Hogwarts! Also, totally agreed that the Trio just had too much on their plates. But yeah, for these kids, the war is over and Voldy is dead, as far as they know.

Yeah the changing POVs! That was a few things. 1) YEAH SKINS FO SHO. 2) HP always stayed with Harry's mostly, so I liked doing a really limited 3rd person but switching it up, to keep the narrative style the same. 3) JKR did a lot of POV shifts in Cas Vac, which was also a HUGE influence on this. Also, I just liked the idea of having the reader know more than the characters. Like, readers already know 7 books of canon that the characters don't, and then they also get to see so many POVs, while the characters are limited to only their own. I think it gives the readers wisdom to see things that the characters might not. (Like, think about the Tristan charming Laurel bit--Emily sees Isobel's frustration, and the little bicker they have about it. Tristan just shows up and gets asked for a charm. He missed the whole convo that came before).

Oh my gosh that you want to binge on this means the WORLD to me! But probably go to sleep!

There are not enough X's and O's in the world, but here's my best try:
XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO (ooh, UPPER CASE)
Roisin



 Report Review

Review #23, by Unicorn_Charm The Hex Head Express

13th August 2015:
And I'm back!

I don't even know if I can review properly. I don't know what I can say that you probably haven't already heard before, because this is just so brilliant. The detail, the nods to cannon, the nods to widely accepted head-cannon. I mean, wow! And on top of that, it's so, so well written, clever and just funny. I'm so sad I haven't read this sooner, because I've clearly been missing out.

So I'm guessing that these are more of the main characters that we're meeting now. I love them! Normally I find at least one character who I don't really like, or seems pretty cliche, but not these girls. Again, they're so real. And the idea of using charms like that! You're a pure genius! How did you think of that??

Oh my god, that line about Arthur Weasley! I literally laughed out loud! I thought I was going to wake my boyfriend up haha. And the twins! That makes perfect sense that they would indulge in such activities. ;)

Aww and they were friends with Tonks?! Another awesome little detail!

All I want to do is gush and tell you how amazing you are and hug you for creating such an amazing piece of art. I'm assuming that most of my reviews are going to be quite similar, too. :p

I'm super thrilled that I finally got to this. I love it. Just adore it already! *hugs* I cannot wait to read on! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: MEGuh! How do I even respond to this review right now?!?!?! All I can do is jump around and flap my hands and go FKSGVBSGKJGWBMDHKAL.

*deep breath*

I'm SO glad you didn't think any of them were cliche. I thought a lot about these characters as I was writing them and made sure, whenever they started to go too far in one direction, that I kind of threw something in to complicate that. But it's also sort of like they all demanded to be written this way. Like, I remember the very first draft I did of all these characters and them just all running off into these directions I hadn't planned. Like, "oh, okay, you're that way? If you say so."

I'M SUPER GLAD YOU DIG THE WEASLEY/TWINS THING. I was so worried that people would all, like "NOPE" about that and throw their laptops across the room in disgust. But... It fits, doesn't it?! Like, they SO would though. Arthur is just such a tokin' dad to me.

I was SUH STOKED when I realized they would have overlapped with Tonks and squealed in delight. Just HAD to weave her in wherever possible.

I see your gushing, and I raise you A THOUSAND TIMES MORE GUSHING.

Thank yououououou Meg!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #24, by TreacleTart Muggle Magic

12th August 2015:
Hi Roisin!

Here for one final review for tonight's insane round of Gryffindor review battler! Go Team Red!

Finally, someone seems to be taking this whole drug thing seriously. Isobel's parents should be worried. Their daughter's best friend basically just overdosed on charms, so they have a legitimate reason to believe that she might be doing the same thing.

I'm really surprised that her family let her go visit Emily. I suppose it would be impossible for them to keep her inside forever.

Emily's family seems super low key. He brother has the pot connections and it would figure that he's growing in California. I'm surprised Emily's parents allowed them to bake special biscuits. It seems odd considering the kids are all 15 or 16. I know if I had asked my mom if I could make pot brownies at the age, she would flipped her lid.

Oh. The cabbage soup diet. That has come back into popularity several times in my lifetime and it is a dangerous fad that I wish would go away. It's so unhealthy.

Anyway, this was another good chapter and I'll be back for more as soon as I can. Thanks for the epic review battle. :D

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Gonna answer your last review first! This is complete anarchy! AnArChY!

OK, so about Emily's parents: you might have noticed that this story doesn't do a huge amount of grandstanding. A lot of pretty questionable stuff is submitted somewhat without comment from the author, and any opinions are restricted to the necessarily limited voice and understanding of the various characters. Like here, I only show Isobel's frustration with her parents' protectiveness, because you-the-reader are wise enough to see their point.

So yeah, I'm not arguing in favor of the Madley's style of parenting, but I did know a lot of parents like them as a teenager. The Madleys don't really distinguish a joint from a few glasses of wine, and even think the former is better for having some spiritual and medical value. And again, that's just THEIR perspective. I also knew parents who would ply their 15-16 year old kid+friends with booze. My mom never thought that was appropriate, and I rather agree with her, but I wanted to show a lot of different types of parents here. (My mom actually best resembles Mary, though I do not resemble Tristan).

And you make a good point about Isobel's parents. Unlike the Madleys, they have a full understanding of Laurel's situation and are of course concerned about what their daughter might be up to (and honestly, they aren't wrong. She WAS messing around with Rec Magic, so her feeling of grave injustice isn't totally warranted). But yeah, they have no evidence of wrong-doing and they can hardly just keep her inside forever. A kid is gonna do what a kid is gonna do.

My main interest here was to show a lot of different types of families, where all have their strengths and weaknesses. More about the Madley's laxness will be examined in the future. (But I think they also have a lot of positive qualities, and did do the best job of raising their kids to have good self-esteem).

CABBAGE SOUP DIET IS SO TERRIBLE. It seems that the primary ingredient is Unhealthiness.

Thank you so much for this SUPRA EPIC BATTLE! I'ma try to respond to all your reviews now :)

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #25, by TreacleTart War Children

12th August 2015:
Hi Roisin,

Here to continue this epic review battle that we seem to have going for the Gryffindor Red vs. Gold Battle. Go team red!

Tristan is headed home for the holiday's and I'm really curious to see what his dynamic at home is like. I wonder if he'll be happier or if muggle life will just remind him of everything he's missing and make him feel worse.

It was sweet of Emily to write to his mum and try to give her hints as to what to get Tristan for Christmas. Vinyl and a new radio seems like a great present for him.

I think it's kind of funny that Tristan's mother is trying to talk to him about Sophie. I would think that all this time later she'd have just let it go. I mean I can understand why Tristan might still think about it, but why should his mother?

Tristan's attitude really is getting out of control. I know that Tristan is a teenager and in the midst of feeling like the world is ending, bu he treats his parents pretty badly.

I feel like I'm starting to sound like a broken record, but your writing is as good as ever. It's easy to read and smooth, so good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Responding in reverse chronological order! Bahahahahahaha!

I think Mary still feels really guilty about what happened, because she recognizes how traumatic that experience was for Tristan. And honestly, no one's really talked to him about it, which I think he sorta needs. Then again, no one really wants to talk about that sort of thing with their mom.

Yeah Tristan is a TOTAL brat here. Then again, kids be brats. I've noticed that kids with the absolute NICEST parents feel the most comfortable acting out when they're young, because they know the parent would never hit them or stop loving them or whatever. This phenomenon has been outlined in a few parenting books, which also explain why kids in certain types of families might also act out exactly in the way Tristan has, but that's something that comes up later.

Also, if you notice, he's even a little bit resentful to Emily for writing to his parents (because he feels secure in her affection?) Just general brattiness all around.

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>