Reading Reviews for Year Five
  
250 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gabriella Hunter Interrupted

29th May 2015:
HellO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review and I'm SO sorry that it's taken me this long! I would have been here sooner but some real life stuff kept popping up. Whenever I was able to get online, I'd have to do boring grown up stuff. It's such a pain!

Anyway, it's good to be back! There was so much that happened in this chapter and I'm not sure if I'll be able to touch on every monumental thing but I'm going to try! I liked that we're back in Emily's head, I was wondering how things would play out now (Especially after the Tristan/Laurel thing) and it didn't disappoint. I liked that she was beginning to see just how sick Isobel is becoming and I wonder how the group will handle the issue. There was so much happening though that I don't think they'll be able to get to that particular problem anytime soon.

I enjoyed the moment that Emily had with Tristan, I can kind of see how they would be as a couple but at the same time, I still wonder if they'd be any good for each other. They've liked each other for so long but even still, that doesn't necessarily mean that they'll last. I'm not sure if that's what you were going for but while they were in their "bubble" I couldn't help but think that and one thing that I really loved was Emily's patience with him. Now, anyone else might have been too aggressive with trying to get answers out of Tristan but I appreciated the fact that Emily backed down somewhat once he began to get uncomfortable. They were speaking in a strange rhyme though that I don't think even they understood but there was something about that was surreal and touching. I had my fingers crossed for that kiss.

And then Laurel happened.

Now, I'm going to say that my jaw dropped a little with her entire section. I know that you haven't strayed from your POV in each chapter like this but I think they blended well. I was still able to follow everything without it feeling choppy so good job on that! Anyway, Laurel discovered something about Snape that she could use against him (Though I'm going to give him points here for not denying it) and Tristan's secret is finally revealed!

I had a feeling that it was Death Eater related but I was still shocked. What is Laurel going to do now with that knowledge? I'm worried that she's going to start self-spelling again too, where did she vanish to? Gah, I'm so anxious for the next chapter! I want to know if she's going to get expelled!

I'm really curious to find out how the gang will cope with all of these monumental changes. Emily is already starting to branch out more towards other people and I loved that you included this point: You can have as many friends as you want but that doesn't mean you have to let them rule your emotions.

I know that's not exactly what the lovely Tonks said in her letter but it's pretty much what I thought. Letting go is a huge step in growing up and I really love this aspect for the story, I hope that it won't be too late though. ;___;

Thanks so much for the read!


Much love,

Gabbie


P.S.: Here's something fun for you since you include music lyrics. You should go listen to The Weeknd's song "Earned it" while reading the first chapter of Audrey Tang. It will blow your mind with it's awesomeness!

Author's Response: You continue to astonish me with how amazing and insightful your reviews are! And whatever you say, I still think of them as DAMN timely!

I'm really glad your felt ambivalent about Tristan/Emily. That scene was an absolute monster to write, and I wrestled with it to no end. And your comment about it being 'surreal' is just SO flattering. I really struggled with the tone, and never wanted it to go too far in the "sweet" direction, while still keeping it, like, sweet at times (and then pull back and make it Complicated). And the 'strange rhyme' comment--yes! They are very much talking around things there, and it all gets very abstract and strange. This story is rather a shipper's nightmare, but in reality, teen relationships are rarely Grand Romances.

I'm really glad the rapid POV shifts worked! I wanted to kind of build suspense and all, and also, liked the idea that POVs stay less consistent now that their lives are getting so mixed up together.

Getting reader reaction on Laurel for her whole section is always really interesting. Some people are furious at her for her selfishness, while others admire her bravery in facing Snape and discretion for keeping Tristan's secret. For some, it's the moment they start to really like her, while others only hate her more for it. And I think there's a case to be made for both perspectives--Laurel is a lot of things. Chiefly, she is young. And you're right--it's heavily implied that she went and self-spelled in the bathroom after everything :(

I think that's a pretty solid interpretation of Tonks' letter :) Emily, out of all of them, is probably the best equipped to make new friends. The other ones have a complicated sort of cocktail of Shame and Superiority that makes it difficult for them to get on with others, but Emily doesn't struggle with all of that.

Oh man, listened to that song and YEAH you are right! It fits really well, and as it's a long song, so it carries through most of the chapter!

xoxo
Roisin

(PS, I posted the first four chapters of my novella and totally plugged "This is Audrey Tang" in the A/N of C2!)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Gabriella Hunter Torture

24th May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review, I've really missed you and junk. It's been ages since the last time I left a review for this story but here I am!

I think that it's strange that so much time has passed and I can remember nearly everything about our gang. I didn't have to skim any of the previous chapters to get a grasp of what had happened because it had lingered in the back of my mind all this time. How weird is that? Of course, this is one of my favorite stories on the archive so I may be biased and I did check up on it when I had the time. I couldn't leave any reviews though until now so this is just going to be an awesome day for both of us!

I'm getting really worried about Isobel. I think that she's beginning to spiral even more out of control with her eating disorder, a subject that I think you've handled splendidly well. This is an issue that I don't think a lot of people would be willing to write about but I like that you've made this a very real problem. I think that Isobel's POV is one of my favorites, though I feel like her resentment towards Tristan is somewhat justified (Even though Emily had been with quite a few boys, which was a point that I was glad she realized) I feel like it's stemming from how she feels about herself as well. I'm curious to know what happens later on though and when she'll get some help for her disorder, surely everyone has noticed by now.

Now, I am always fascinated by Tristan and I am really curious to know about his past. Isobel noticed his reaction to the Cruciatus curse and later even mocks him for it a little but I know that there's a deeper story behind that. You've already hinted at that more than once in the previous chapters and I'll keep my eyes wide open for the answer.

I'm wondering how the Tristan/Emily/Laurel triangle will conclude as well. I have a feeling it's going to get nasty...

Now, I like that you've included that Isobel is a good student. She's not just seeking information for the sake of it, she actually enjoys what she's doing. Looking for different angles and other solutions shows that she's far more dedicated to her schoolwork than people would readily believe.

The ending to this chapter was a little ominous and I'm really eager to hop onto the next chapter so I hope you re-request soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie! I have missed you so! Disclaimer: your review is making me flail with joy so I might get rambly and incoherent. I'LL TRY'N STAY COGENT.

It's like, amazingly flattering and SQUEE inducing that you were able to jump right back into this story! That has absolutely made my day :)

I seriously went back and forth SO much about whether or not to write about eating disorders--it hadn't been planned, and just sort of started HAPPENING in the first Isobel chapter (C2). But, it IS a woefully common struggle for teenagers, and I felt like it was something that had to be included. I've known a lot of people who've survived anorexia nervosa, so I worked really hard to portray it as sensitively and accurately as possible (and NEVER glamorize it). As far as the others' perspectives, I can recall that when I was a teenager, it often took people a REALLY long time to figure out that a friend was sick even when it really should have been obvious. It seems almost absurd looking back at how much people just let slip. So yeah, Isobel's friends' slowness to react and general ineptitude at dealing with it is something that is, unfortunately, kinda realistic :(

I'm so glad that Tristan is properly compelling, and also that Isobel's frustration seems justified. I wanted her perspective to seem legitimate, but still not necessarily /convince/ readers to turn on him. Like, I wanted people to feel like they saw both sides, or at least sympathize with where everyone is coming from. Because yeah, Tristan wasn't actually going out with Emily, and she dated loads of boys the previous year. But he's also being a butthead. Everyone's just really messed up and not making the best decisions--that's mostly what's going on.

Hah, I'm just such a huge nerd and had a ton of fun theorizing about magic and their schoolwork and SUPER enjoyed throwing all that stuff in :D

You are such a STAR reviewer Gabbie, thank you so so much for making my day with this wonderful review!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #3, by Charlie Darwin's Favorite Finch Self-Spelling

23rd May 2015:
sad chirp

I might be a vampire finch with a sharp beak and an appetite for blood, but I took no delight in the events of this chapter. Things just keep getting darker for these characters, and they can't fly on broken wings. :/ However, Windar is away, and so I have come to taste this story, which my fellow finches find so interesting. It will distract me from their fragrant lifeblood, at least.

If tragedy strikes, I am the first one on the scene. It comes with the name, really. But that doesn't mean that I enjoy it, and the graphic scene depicting Laurel's episode filled me with dread. What monsters does she carry within her? At the very least, I hope she can recover, although I can't say for certain if she will be able to kick the habit of mixing dangerous Charms.

Isobel, that poor little duckling, has suffered through so much in this chapter in particular. From the elevated body image issues--I find it all-too-appropriate that she would use a spell to cause herself to purge--to finding her friend in a state of dire emergency, she has experienced loss and trauma, and is probably in need of counseling. It is appropriately hypocritical that she should use a spell on herself in the very same chapter that Laurel's life is threatened because of self-spelling.

Is the purging spell categorized under Dangerous Self-Spelling like Laurel's Charms mixture was? If not, the irony still resonates in a big way.

Tristan and Laurel were both filled with this lagging, drowsing attitude in this chapter, and that makes me uncomfortable. If Tristan isn't self-spelling, he seems like he isn't too far behind Laurel. Especially by the way he reacted to his peers in Flitwick's class. Isobel, who doesn't self-spell (if we don't count the purging spell), did not lash out. Tristan, who has been under the influence of several Charms lately, did. This may be a product of his character, but I think that it is also due to the added stress on his body's systems from the Charms. At this point, it becomes harder to separate his actual character from the effects of the Charms, especially when viewing him from Isobel's eyes.

The reaction of the Charms class to Flitwick's lecture was appalling, and again, all-too-accurate. Teenagers, assuming that they are infallible, look down on their peers for being under the influence of substances without considering the circumstances or looking at the situation from a different perspective. It is a difficult thing to do at the best of times, but people can be very nasty when they think they have the moral high ground.

Oooh, and that Oliver Wood! If his neck were ever near my sharp, pointy beak, I would slurp up his blood in an instant. He's proving himself to be truly awful. :/

Windar is coming back now. I must fly.

xoxo,
Vampire Finch, or
Charlie Darwin's (Actual) Favorite Finch

Author's Response: Ah! Thank you so much for this amazing, fantastic review!

You are actually the first person to mention that Isobel ALSO did a spell on herself! And yeah, her purging was also dangerous in a few ways--self induced vomiting is already really unhealthy, but as hers was magically induced, she also wouldn't have been able to stop it if she couldn't do nonverbal magic and could have easily suffocated.

I imagined self-spelling with mind-altering charms to be problematic in a few ways. One, it is a warning sign of dependency on a substance (like drinking alone). Two, it is dangerous for someone to cast a mind-altering charm on themselves because, being altered, they might go to far and overdose ("Hex Out"). I also imagine it to be something of the wizarding equivalent to IV substance use (shooting up). So yeah, while Isobel's "self spelling" was fundamentally different for not being mind-altering, it is a parallel.

I really like your comment about Tristan's behavior being the possible product of his charm abuse. It's true that he already has some mood problems and has issues about lashing out, but it definitely doesn't help that he's messing around with charms that alter his already unstable moods.

One thing I really wanted to examine in this story is how issues of substance abuse get kind of complicated by weird ideas of morality. Drugs are bad for obvious reasons, but people tend to take it a step further and act like doing them is bad for some sort of moral reason, or that people are bad for doing them. You're right that it's absolutely more complicated than that. Tristan and Laurel's behavior has been a confluence of self-medication and self-destruction.

And oh yes, Wood can be a bit of a prat. He's not a bad person, I don't think, just a touch annoying at times. That was always an aspect of his character in canon, and I was interested to draw it out and see how he was around people his own age. I also cast Flitwick in a less than flattering light in this story, mostly because he was one of the more easily flustered professors in canon. Again, he's not a bad person, just a bit out of his element when it comes to dealing with these kids. He's really more of an academic than anything, and ill-equipped to handle the complex issues his students are navigating.

Thank you again for so many fantastic gifts and reviews! You are an incredible secret santa!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #4, by Charlie Darwin's Favorite Finch Troll in the Dungeons!

22nd May 2015:
Twitter tweet chirpchirp!

My sincerest apologies for my absence in these past few days. The Darwin turned his strange whirring machine off and I could not figure out how to fix it. However, it was I, the green warbler finch (and best of all the Darwin's finches), who created the playlist for you. I have the most musical ear of the bunch, although I am not as familiar with music from the 1990's as I am with music from the 1870's. Wagner, anyone?

Tristan continues to reveal himself as a character who is constantly at war with his own identity. Perhaps he is Slytherin-esque at heart, but his Sorting could have gone very differently if he had chosen to contest the Hat's decision. It is clear that he never wanted to be in Slytherin, but perhaps he allowed himself to be Sorted there because he felt that no other House would accept him without a fundamental change in his nature. And that sort of adaptation comes over centuries and millenia, like my delicate beak, perfect for snatching insects out of thin air.

...But that's beside the point, is it not?

Tristan and Laurel are worrying me greatly. Teenage rebellion is all well and good, but their increased tolerance of Cheering Charms and the dangerous mixing of several charms seems to be having a snowball effect. I can only hope that they can find some way to shake this dependency.

Tristan's birthday could only be on Halloween, of course! As always, the parallels between canon and this story are incredible. I find it very appropriate that Halloween was overshadowed by the greatness of the birthday party that preceded it--Tristan is certainly not the type to enjoy huge celebrations, especially when he cannot enjoy them with his friends.

Witnessing the gang behave under the influence of Charms was quite a treat. They do some loopy things, indeed. Emily was especially adorable, and I think that I may ship her and Tristan. This is strange to me, as I came to Inglesland on a ship named after a dog. I hope that something concerning their relationship--whether for worse or for better--happens soon.

The Darwin is returning. He is beating his head against the wall and muttering about people who don't accept his theories. I must go comfort him with a song.

Tweet at you later!

Green Warbler, or
The Darwin's Favorite Finch

Author's Response: You are very, very right about Tristan's Sorting! I wanted to make a very clear parallel with Harry there in order to show a fundamental difference between them (Tristan, you will discover, is the "anti-Potter"). And that's the thing, isn't it? Tristan isn't a Gryffindor, because he didn't have the guts to just ASK for another House. And I do think he's a Slytherin, but I also think he would have had a way better time in Ravenclaw. (This character genuinely annoys me sometimes, like, GUH WHY YOU GOTTA BE SO SELF-LOATHING ALL THE TIME, TRISTAN)

A lot of the fun of writing this story was kind of downplaying major events in canon. It's an odd sort of toggle, that, because it's sort of funny that these stoned teenagers are like "um, what?" when things happen to Harry, but at the same time there's a real darkness to it because, as you mentioned, their behavior is pretty troubling.

I'm really glad my vision of Emily in that scene came off! I had really specific ideas in my mind about how I wanted her to behave, and I'm really glad it worked!

Hahaha, it seems like every Finch is getting closer to getting the name of the ship right :D

xoxo
-Roisin


 Report Review

Review #5, by Charlie Darwin's Favorite Finch Behind the Mirror

19th May 2015:
Twitter tweet tweet!!

Despite what that stupid large tree finch might have you believe, I am truly Charlie's favorite finch. How could he not love my beautiful jet black feathers and my gorgeous beak, perfectly evolved to eat the tastiest of cacti? Also, I am the largest of his finches, so take that!

This chapter was especially appropriate for me to peck away at, seeing as I have often experienced a heightened state of euphoria due to overripe cacti. However, after sailing away on the Eagle (not a bagel, as my idiotic counterpart suggested), I haven't been able to find any cacti in the Land of Angles. This chapter will have to sustain me, but fortunately, it was so succulent and delicious that I am satisfied.

I think it's lovely that Emily would throw a party for Tristan, even if it got a little out of hand for her. It's quite good that she was able to keep the secret until party time, especially because she isn't very good at being sneaky. :^) The party was very nice. I like that Oliver Wood and Tristan seemed to forgive each other for their differences, although that might end up being a one-time thing, aided by alcohol and general festive spirit.

Emily's rapport with the house-elves is very fitting for her Hufflepuff status. I love that she keeps that secret from her peers, though they badger (haha) her and she's naturally bad at secret-keeping. Despite having beady eyes, I did spot the irony in her statement that she would divulge her secrets in case of emergency, and then the twins were the ones who benefited from her knowledge. The origin story of their knowledge of the kitchens was really appropriate for the narrative, and I like the connections that you make to canon. You're making excellent parallels and adding to the things that are known from the books in a very cool way.

The use of the Alacratus Charm to aid studious Ravenclaws did concern me a little. And the copious amounts of alcohol that young people consumed also worries me. I certainly hope that those little chicks don't fall out of their nests because of one too many beers or charms. I think that the Alacratus sounds very dangerous. However, you did an excellent job of portraying the substance abuse as something that was not a very good idea. I have a feeling that something even worse than a hangover is going to happen to one of them, and I don't think my small birdy heart will be able to handle it.

An excellent chapter! Charlie is waking up from his nap now... He's spilled ink all over his research journals, the silly man. I tried to tell him that a computer would be more conducive to writing a manuscript, but the man just doesn't listen.

Regards,
Large Cactus Finch
(Charlie Darwin's Real Favorite Finch)

Author's Response: Haha, you're definitely right that there was a lot of social lubrication that helped reduce the friction between Tristan and Oliver. They are just NOT cut from the same cloth--but even so, there's no reason they can't be civil and amicable :)

One of the critical things to me about House Elves is the idea of taking advantage. Like, if you think about how much Kreacher changed in DH, it's obvious that elves should be treated more like mothers than like servants. Like, they should have authority in their service. So yeah, not taking advantage of their cultural desire to nurture is the critical issue there, and I think Hufflepuffs are best equipped to treat Elves with dignity and respect (and then there's the proximity to the kitchens and my established headcanon that they're stoners). And yeah, making up some origin stories for the twins was SUPER fun for me!

Mind altering charms are definitely a DANGEROUS game. One thing I hoped to show in this chapter is how there's a lot of grey area among teenage experimental strategies. Like, it isn't just "straight edge" or "druggie"--some people are more or less responsible, and maybe go to a party and mess around with things every now and then. Some people go way too far and hurt themselves. Some people moralize substance use, and behave as though intention is more important than outcome ("if I'm doing it to get better grades then it isn't the same thing") Even among Tristan's friends, they aren't all the same. Emily and Laurel for example can hardly get painted with the same brush, even though they hang out all the time and get dubbed with the same "hex head" label.

OH THE TEENAGE TROUBLES



 Report Review

Review #6, by Charlie Darwin's Favorite Finch Three Times Charmed

18th May 2015:
Chirpy chirp!!

I used to live in the Galapagos, but I sailed on a bagel to Angleland...? The Darwin man says I am his favorite because I'm such a pretty birb, so I stole his computer. Haha, I, a large tree finch, am so smart.

With a beak as blunt as my attitude, I peck through the trees for some good eats. As such, I have pecked through your chapter to find the best and juiciest parts of it to enjoy.

You have a real gift for narrative. If I were hopping around on Hogsmeade's High Street, I would peck at the ground and listen on with interest as Isobel and Laurel giggled their way through their shenanigans. I like that their in a House of birbs. I guess I must be related to those birbs, but I don't know how...

Isobel's characterization in the beginning was quite clawsome. I like that she wears makeup and crushes it in the classroom at the same time--that'll show everyone that the prettiest plumage hides the sharpest beak!! It's very relatable that she has body image issues that remain present throughout the chapter. I too feel sad about my stumpy beak sometimes, but then I remember how awesome I am at eating bugs and I appreciate it. I hope that Isobel also appreciates herself.

Tristan continues to prove himself a worthy protagonist, as new things are revealed about his character. He is a champion of Muggles and is very conscious of the social issues surrounding the divide that magical folk place between themselves and nonmagical folk. It's almost like the water between my old island and the islands of these other weirdo finches. We developed different civilizations and we don't make much of an effort to understand each other's points of view. (I have no idea what some of them are saying, but it's okay because I'm the One True Finch.) Tristan is definitely a character to watch out for. I like that he's into music--would he like to hear my beautiful songs sometime?

I have very much enjoyed reading your story, although I am unfamiliar with the strange technology like cassette tapes. Perhaps I am a century too early to understand, but that did not detract from my enjoyment. I think the Darwin fellow is coming back, so I must bid you farewell.

&hearts,
The Large Tree Finch
(Charlie Darwin's Favorite Finch)

Author's Response: HELLO MY AMAZING FANTABULOUS SECRET SANTA!!! You rule so much! (And your puns make me snort-laugh)

I wanted this to be a pretty comprehensive Teen Dramady, which necessitates Body Image issues, and I'm really glad you think I played it well. I want to keep it realistic and relatable, but still give the reader enough room to be like "noOoOoOo!"

I'm sure Tristan would be delighted to hear your songs :)

xoxo
-Roisin



 Report Review

Review #7, by pointless_proclamations Troll in the Dungeons!

11th May 2015:
Roisin!

I am here again! You know, for an absolute crumbling of my feels.

"I’m going to be in Slytherin, aren’t I?" was the first thing Tristan had thought, over four years ago, inside the dark Sorting Hat.

"You must agree that the Slytherin bits are obvious," the Hat had responded.

"Go ahead then, get it over with."

^I love that. I really, really love that.

And my heart breaks for a guilty Tristan. The poor--I want to call him baby, but he isn't really one--Tristan!! [wails] You can be good, you are. . . sometimes. He's broken, his self-esteem is broken, waican'thebehappyyy. . . and that jealousy he feels because he doesn't get along with anyone from his house, Roisin. And that his house mates have put him in the Slytherin Hex Head and 'Mudblood' boxes even though that's not all there is to him, but that's all they see and all they care to see! But he doesn't fit into a stereotype!

"adding Tranquilus to Hilaris" . . . That means that one could get away unnoticed using Hilaris by adding Tranquilus? This makes me feel a bit uneasy.

Aww, and even Flitwick is a bit prejudiced against Slytherins for being Slytherins? That's ARGHH!!

"the constant level of Cheer and Tranquil she stayed on these days. . . " No Laurel, NO! The neurotransmitters, they're getting messed up and this is not good, so not good. Dependency increasing. Natural happiness decreasing. Feels obliterated.

'"I feel,” Laurel said in a mild voice. "What do I feel…"' This, you sneaking, thing you, I want to hug her.

"Tristan got told off by a bossy first year, and to her frustration, Tristan found her hilarious. Her friend, the youngest Weasley, had to drag the offended little witch away." HERMIONE!!! I am in awe of all these times you add these PS moments into Y5!

Roisin, you have this extremely volatile mix of dark issues regarding the decreasing mental healths of this group of friends as their reliance on spells increase and humour. They're having fun, yes, but it's also self-destructive. Having fun, I suppose, makes it harder for one to realise that it's detrimental. Though, they must know when they're not on a Hilaris. Then it becomes a cylce or a downward spiral as the lows get lower.

Much love,
Em

Author's Response: Em!

Ah yes, Tristan's Sorting is pretty META. It's supposed to be kind of a tragic irony, because READERS know that he could have been Sorted into any House if he'd just asked nicely. Not sure if I mentioned this already, but Tristan is supposed to be kind of the "Anti-Potter." Like, identical but inverted.

Also, I'm really glad you think Tristan doesn't fit neatly into a stereotype :D

I totally worked out how those spells work on neurotransmitters and stuff! Hilaris basically just forces dopamine to release (with a small side-order of serotonin, endocannibinoids, and norepinephrine), while Tranquilis basically affects the GABA. When combined, "Hilaris Tranquilus" ends up acting on the whole suite of endogenous opioids, with the norepinephrine getting balanced out by the hyper-efficient GABA (open chlorine channels). So yes--supremely dangerous behavior. That said, dosage is pretty critical. Someone like Emily is taking much smaller doses much more rarely, reducing her risk of chemical dependency and other nasty complications. (I get into how dosage/intensity works later in the story, but it's actually a canon reference to PoA).

As for your point about Fun, a lot of that has to do with my not wanting to paint a unilateral picture. See, my first intentions for this story were something of a light-hearted stoner romp, because OF COURSE some kids would figure out the recreational potential of mind-altering spells. But the more I thought about it, the more dangerous I realized that would be (see above). Then I also started remembering all the ANGST of this age--not to mention, I didn't want to glamourize substance use. So yeah, I ended up with something that toggles Silly Fun with Harrowing Angst. Glad you're enjoying it! IIRC, it's what being 15 felt like :p


 Report Review

Review #8, by pointless_proclamations Behind the Mirror

4th May 2015:
“Extend the hatchet!” cried George.

“Bury the olive branch!” agreed Fred.

ROISIN! I am laughing so much right now. The twins are a riot. I continue to love them. Your sense of humour is spectacular and that is the one of the many things I love about you. Oh my and the 'friendship' between the group and Sir Cadogan makes for quite hilarious dialogue.

Emily's use of the kitchens is brilliant. That was an excellent touch. :D

Aww! Emily and Tristan, maybe? That was so adorable. Was the awkwardness on Emily's part coming from the desire for a purely platonic relationship or from the part of her that may be more inclined for a bit of romance? [waggles eyebrows]

Ah the guest list. It interestingly reflects on what sort don't think too badly of Tristan. Or at least those who enjoy a seriously good party. Either way, there is a shed load of Hugglepuffs. (My phone did that. I think I'll keep it. :P )

'They didn’t think of it as Recreational Magic, though, since they weren't doing it for fun' :(

Oh and when Emily glanced over at Laurel when Stan mentioned self-spelling!! ROISIN WHY?

I remain unfazed by a smoking Cedric. It seems to fit.

Wow this is a mad party! Holy cow. There is so much going on here and so much that is wrong. I'm theorising the social impact of this. Is it for just this one night these partygoers are having fun or will the fun continue outside of the mirror?

ANOTHER FANTASTIC CHAPTER. HOW DO YOU DO IT? I am eager to continue reading on.

Love,
Em

Author's Response: Em!

Hahahah, while writing I was constantly surprised by all the ridiculous things the twins say. It felt more like they were saying them than I was writing them, and it was never planned!

I think most of Emily's friends are pretty aware that she has a crush on Tristan. Or perhaps 'crush' isn't the right word. She doesn't pine for him, but she definitely likes him in a comfortable sort of way.

'Shed load,' ha! And yeah, I figure Puffs would be the most open-minded of anyone :)

I'm glad smoking Cedric fits for you. I kind of wanted to show that not ALL youthful experimentation is the same. Some people can have fun at a party and be a bit naughty, but it's not a black-and-white thing, and not everyone is as self-destructive as Tristan and Co. (even WITHIN Tristan and Co. there are varying levels).

Thank you so much for the lovely review!
xoxo
Roisin



 Report Review

Review #9, by pointless_proclamations Three Times Charmed

19th April 2015:
Roisin!!

I'm backedy-back for another serious feels-bashing from you. And this time with ISOBEL!!

Roisin, I am constantly in awe of how really your characters are. They refuse to fit into any stereotype and I love you for that. Isobel's getting ready scene!! You turned a what could be called an everyday ritual into something so revealing.

Filch's rummaging through Tristan's stuff was a beautiful example of how terribly separated the magical community and the non-magical community are. I mean they're both in each other's back garden, essentially, but to hardly know much nor hardly care to know much about the Muggle world is getting more and more preposterous. From this ignorance stems unfounded prejudice and Roisin! You're a remarkable writer.

“I honestly can’t see a situation where you couldn’t just use Expelliarmus or Protego.” ROISIN! Bahaha! I adore this.

“You’ve got a kitchen in your common room, don’t you?” SO CLOSE!

Your end notes, Roisin, your end notes. They, themselves are always impressive. Which speaks even more about your story itself. The amount of thought you put in here, Roisin, it's mind-blowing.

Love, your fan
Em

Author's Response: Em!!!

Yee thank you so much for this review! I'm really glad that you think the characters defy stereotypes. I felt like there are so many teenage/highschool stereotypes that are very over-used and narrow, and many VERY REAL archetypes that are all but ignored. Like, "druggie weirdo rebel" still comes in a lot of varieties, and I wanted to examine that.

Hahaha, this story is very sort of self-aware that it is fanfiction, and I had a lot of fun doing Meta Jokes and the like :) I also wanted to kind of fill in various gaps in canon. Like, rather than say JKR's universe is flawed or doesn't make sense for various reasons, I wanted to argue "NO IT IS JUST LIKE THAT, and yeah, maybe that's a problem--let's talk about it."

And thank you for reviewing, which reminds me that I need to get back to IMoASK!

xoxo
-Roisin


 Report Review

Review #10, by wolfgirl17 Loose Lips

25th March 2015:
Hiya Roisin!

Ellie here with your requested review. Finally. Sorry it's taken me so long. have no excuse beyond the fact that I'm a lazy sod. Well, that and the fact that I've been updating my own fics like crazy while the queue has been so short.

Anyway, on to the story.

As always, I love your writing. You just have this way of making everything so realistic and enjoyable to read. I loved the bit about hitting Snape right in the ethics. It was great. You've got this way of writing too that really speaks to the reader, it's occasionally abrupt, but I kind of like that in a fic. I like it when the story I'm reading flows so smoothly and yet every now and then hits me with something unexpected, like an unexpected word for the context that still makes sense but expands the vocabulary.

I was kind of shocked by Wood's behavior in this. It just seems so unexpected from him when not related to Quidditch.

The way you've thrown in the already brimming blood purity really makes this fic more real and makes it hit home better. You give us all a really good look into the world of what was happening while Harry was too young to really know about it yet.

You've created a masterpiece and I enjoy every moment. As always, feel free to re-request with more. I love your work. It's always such a delight to read with all this fantastic imagery and descriptive language and perfect spelling/grammar.

It's a breath of fresh air that always makes me feel more hopeful regarding the continued existence of people who know how to spell and use grammar correctly and don't feel the need to butcher things with text talk.

You're awesome. Everyone knows it. ;)

xx-Ellie (Wolfgirl17)

Author's Response: Oh YOU MAKE ME FEEL SO NICE *flails*

Your comment about 'abrupt'ness is an interesting one. It's not something I've heard before, and it's always cool to see what other people make of stuff like style. Like, I still can't tell if I have one, since I'm the one doing it.

I hope the Wood thing didn't seem OOC for you--I knew I was extrapolating a bit, but I wanted to try something new with his character. The scene is very much from Tristan's perspective and a bit biased towards him, but Oliver isn't all bad. He continues to crop up.

I definitely labored over precision in the writing, and did tons of edits to keep the spelling and grammar and all on point, so I'm really glad you appreciate that!

Thank you so much for the kind word :D

xoxo
Roisin



 Report Review

Review #11, by UnluckyStar57 Loose Lips

18th February 2015:
OH MY GOSH, I am actual trash for leaving this story unread for two whole months. TWO WHOLE MONTHS.

Ugh, and it's such a pity that I'm such a trashcan, because I love this story so much, really I do. There are so many things...

First of all: LOVE the further characterization of Tristan's friends. Emily is definitely an interesting character and I can't wait to see more of her. So righteously angry, yet so nice that she can't really express it like someone else might. And in this chapter, I'm really seeing how everyone's parentage sort of defines what people expect of them at Hogwarts, even though their perceptions rarely match up with the reality (especially in the case of the Hex Heads).

Tristan becomes more complex with every chapter, and I love it. He's caught in such a struggle--between being a Slytherin, but having a Muggle parent and a Muggleborn mother, and having friends from other Houses, and identifying as a Muggleborn even though he could identify as halfblood if he chose... It's all building up, and if this is angsty for him, I would hate to see what SUPER angsty looks like. Poor guy. Here, you really show how he's the victim of his own circumstances--he doesn't like his Housemates, but he hates Oliver Wood and most Gryffindors. So people assume things about him that aren't true, and he just isn't going to have that. It really fits in with the 90s vibe that the rest of the story puts off. (I mean, I wasn't really part of 90s culture because I was a small child when 2000 rolled around, but I can assume...) Tristan is struggling to reconcile himself with his identity, and that is some hard stuff right there. But he also likes being the pariah, so that makes it extra cool when he tells Reece off.

The idea of the Weasley twins being Hex Heads is more appealing every time I see them in this story. The only way we see them interacting with Wood is through Harry's naive eyes (in the books), so I can totally believe it that they would have a bit of anger reserved for their pompous Quidditch captain--cuz at the heart of it all, they're little rebels and they need someone to rebel against. (Even if it's just Oliver and they like to get on his nerves a lot.)

Speaking of Oliver, THIS CHARACTERIZATION THOUGH. A++, and that's no lie. He's so glorified in fanfiction that it is extremely refreshing to see this portrayal--Oliver as a bully, as an egomaniac, as an obsessive zealot. Like, the boy is MARRIED to Quidditch. That isn't very good, especially since he knows he's good at it and that's earned him a lot of fans over the years. His confrontation with Tristan... just UGH. I mean, I'm always down for a cutesy little Oliver/OC fic, but after reading this incarnation of Oliver, I'm like, "Nah, son. Not today." Thank you for showing a side of this character that is maybe more honest than normal. (Of course, this story is heavily centered on Tristan, so it might be a bit biased, but I still dig it.)

Magic beyond all we do here... Darn it, Weasleys, you're too clever. Again, the drugs and addicting behaviors are there, but you aren't glorifying them. These kids are doing these illegal things because it's an escape from their less-than-awesome realities, and there is no glorification in that. It's a way to cope, and I think you showed that very well. Also, it's a way to let off steam, and they're 90s teenagers. They kind of need it...

One grammar thing, because I had to have something, y'know?

"They usually found him entertaining, but when high, the little knight tended to freak Tristan out."~Sorry, but this made it sound like Sir Cadogan was the one who was high. I know that you meant Tristan, but the wording was just a bit off.

...And that's all I have for criticism/correction/making it better. In general, I love the amount of thought you put into this. I love that you really gave a lot of thought to what Tristan's wand is like, and how the "less important" characters are getting highlighted and gaining backstories as the story progresses. It's really, really brilliant, and I hope I can be back sooner rather than later to review chapter five.

Thanks so much for requesting again, and I'm sorry that I'm such trash for waiting this long to review! ♥

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: No worries, it's taken me FOREVER to reply to this, so I'm guilty as well!

Ooh, I'm really glad you mentioned the stuff about parentage! I put a weird amount of thought into all their families and backstories, and there's a ton of stuff I worked out that never even gets mentioned in the story. But yes, there is much family stuff in this story :)

Haha, yeah Tristan has a pretty high base-level of angst, partially because of those reasons you mentioned. Throw in some specific incidents to deal with and the angst level goes through the roof! And I'm really glad you see some of the problems with his character. Like, I want people to identify and like the MCs, but they're still pretty complicated, and certainly have flaws. (In fact, there are times when they can be downright obnoxioius!)

I wouldn't call the Twins Hex Heads, since they don't use charms recreationally, but I figure you use that term because the actual one probs isn't TOS complaint for a review ;) But yes, I liked the idea that they would get up to more shenanigans than young Potter truly realized. And I remembered a few incidents of them taking the mickey out of Oliver, so that was fun to play with!

Bahahaha! I'm sosososo glad people have responded well to this characterization of Oliver! I mean, I DO like him, but I needed someone to kind of antagonize Tristan, and those elements to his personality are definitely THERE in canon. Mostly though, I just think he's kind of young and hotheaded.

I'm really glad you didn't think the substance stuff was glorified! I wanted to have that be in the story, because it IS realistic if you're writing about teenagers (certainly not ALL, but MANY). I wanted it to kind of just BE, and sort of reserve any judgements of my own, because I trust readers to make their own analysis. But it was tricky to show how THEY think it's cool, without actually making it seem cool. But it seems to be working out!

Ooh, thank you for pointing out that grammar thing, I will certainly adjust it. And no worries about taking a long time, this review was fantastic and totally worth whatever wait!

xoxo
-Roisin


 Report Review

Review #12, by Pixileanin Troll in the Dungeons!

29th January 2015:
Aww, the whole Cagogan scene from last chapter was subtle, yet sweet. Emily's discomfort is telling. I wouldn't say that the whole of chapter six was "fluff" because it still showed character progression on several levels. I found it interesting that the Head Boy was at the party, and I loved how it kept growing into a bigger and bigger event than Emily had intended. I suppose that's how parties are at times. The big thing for me was how Emily goes through all the trouble, and how Tristan thanks her for it - it's something he appreciates, and he wants her to know that he appreciates it. Sweeter than an owl note.

"So long as it doesn't turn into Self-Spelling..." Uh oh. What does that mean?? I wondered why the kinds didn't just spell themselves to begin with. I have a bad feeling that there will be more coming on this, and that the consequences will be bad.

Hufflepuff as a password was fabulous. and now we know Emily's secret way with food and drink. It makes total sense, since they're so near the kitchens and all.

So Tristan's a Halloween baby. Symbolism? I guess time will tell. He's not keen on it, whatever it means. And I may have forgotten, or this might be Tristan leaking information, but I have no idea who Mary is. We're being thrown back into Tristan's head again, and he's such a reluctant puppy, with his undeserving attitude. But the thing that makes him adorable is that he recognizes the kindness in others, and (at the moment) isn't exploiting it. I wish he didn't give thanks by sulking in his unspoken inadequacies.

Laurel. You've put all kinds of flags up around her. If her friends are noticing, there's got to be something to that.

That was a well-placed lesson about Gamp's Law and Augamenti. I always had this theory that the water comes from somewhere, which is why it would be an exception. Scientifically, it can be pulled out of the air on a molecular level - not so with something like, say, fried chicken or cupcakes. It doesn't rain chickens... off topic... anyway...

I think I would pay money to see a class of students let loose in the middle of a bunch of pure-bred Kneazles, the way you described them. *stuffs morbid thoughts back into dark closet*

Ahh, and Flitwick is noticing something. I feel things turning. Okay, and now Laurel with her Tranquilis/Hilaris, and the girls see the happy/calm, and for now, are okay with it. I can completely see that. It's a special genius, a special desperate genius move on Laurel's part to mask the symptoms.

I'm glad Isobel lifted the Charms so we can see what's going on with Tristan and Laurel, but I'm wondering why she did it at that moment. Was it because that's when she noticed that something was off and she wanted to prove it to herself? I liked how it coincided with the announcement of the troll. was it some kind of protective move, just in case things went badly, so they'd be in their right minds? Ahh, I might be overthinking. Please excuse me.

"People! We're people!"

*crumbles under teen drama/angst/self-discovery/hex-induced-pseudo-epiphany-moment*

On the surface, it was a silly line. But underneath, I felt that.

I must admit that I learned something from Isobel about curly hair care when she helped/berated the girl who could only be Hermione - and yes, the insensitivity of the comment that was meant to be helpful... did I just say that twice? Ack!

This is such a character-driven piece, and you are excelling at that. You make me FEEL them, almost until it hurts, and by not using many words either. As a fanfiction, it's pulling in canon all over the place and everything is glued to the HP world.

Wonderful writing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Pixileanin Three Times Charmed

29th January 2015:
Alright. It's clear that you're building something up with Isobel here.

"Isobel laboured over her skin."

That line caught me right up, and I was all, "Yeah, she's labouring over all of her. I wonder how far she takes it?" Perfect word. "Labour". I also love that Isobel contasts her habits to Laurel's. It shows Laurel's disassociation with her appearance, Isobel's attitude towards that, and her growing concern for her friend.

Oh, that Tristan/eyeliner comment - is it bad that I remember teen boys becoming obsessed with eyeliner, and then being all, "WHY?!?" And yeah, it has nothing to do with gender. My daughter tells me they still do that at that age... of course she may be surrounded by it because it's a performing arts magnet program where eyeliner is conspicuously available everywhere, but still... No one can escape the identity crisis thing. We all have to deal with it on some level.

Oh gosh, Emily. Her backstory took me by surprise, and now I don't even know why. You're certainly good at playing with contrasts, and I am enjoying that immensely.

"Potion supplies... from my brother". Yeah. That's what Emily's calling it. I remember a few chapters ago what she said about that.

"Just terrible at being sneaky." Agreed.

I laughed about the Filch and cassette tapes thing. Also at the dig at Penelope during Laurel and Isobel's outing. Ah, and the Hog's Head intimidates them, even in the state that they are in! As it should. Bahahaha! I'm so glad they're not altogether senseless.

Okay, just a few more quote pulls...

"So that was the Doxies?" Snerff.

And that thing about Goth being the fashion where Muggles dress like wizards. Perfect!

Okay, so for the purpose of this being constructive... aww, forget it. I'll think of something when I... err... think of something. :P

 Report Review

Review #14, by Pixileanin Loose Lips

29th January 2015:
So I was jotting down some notes while reading Chapters 3 and 4, so here they are, hopefully in chronological order.

Oh dear. What is up with Tristan and the name "Longbottom"?

The whole idea of notes between Houses by owl was a fantastic idea. And yeah, I am wondering how Tristan's magic owl manages to get into the Slytherin boys' dorm. But yeah. Magic. So... The notes themselves hold an undercurrent of affection that I love. It's so subtle, but it's there. I hope something comes of that.

Ahhh, "Super Baby Harry Potter" cracked me up. I wonder if they're going to dis him through the entire story. Hahaha!

This: "I suspect they might have distilled you as a person in order to make it." Emily's observations on Nirvana and Tristan. I remember this. Psychoanalysis through lyrics. Seemed so relevant and true at the time.

Also, Tristan and "R". Secrets. And it's offensive to him too. Mysterious.

Uh oh. Emily's detail-oriented skills give Slytherin points. I smiled at that. I'm not sure how Emily feels about this. Oh, wait. Here it comes.

She's mad. And rightly so.

You have really interesting commentary through Tristan's eyes on the Slytherin/Muggle thing and where he fits into the dynamic of Hogwarts - it's like he doesn't want to relate to them - how he straddles both worlds but wants none of what he's been sorted into. I'm sure you're going to use that later on. Can't wait to see where that leads! He's sort of like this anti-Harry in all aspects. Bravo for such a character!

"And a population who still insist on using inkwells and quills should really reevaluate their definition of quaint."

Indeed. I also want to mention how much I appreciated you bringing in Dumbledore's quote about music, and how you just ran with it in your story. It works on several levels. Cool!

You keep us connected to canon by this string that weaves throughout these words. The bits about Quirrel, the references to what Harry's up to, and all the background noise that was from the books. I love the distinct ways that it's still Hogwarts and how you've built up your world so this story could only happen here, all the while giving it a strong, subversive feel through the characters, particularly Tristan in this case.

Tristan's thoughts are clear when he wants them to be. He's avoiding this big "thing" in his mind that seems to plague him. His thoughts on Emily, not deserving her concern - so much self-loathing. Where is it coming from?? *bursts with curiosity*

Fred and George, I can't help but love how they brighten up the scene with their own flagrant subversive natures.

You know what? Tristan surprised me with his helpfulness towards Sprout in the after. It speaks to his character that he's not altogether uncaring, not completely unsalveagable... or maybe that trip to Hogsmeade is really THAT important to him that he can't blow his chance to duck out.

Ahh, the Slytherin lineage discussion ensues. I can see why Tristan wants to avoid this.

I'm sorry that this was an incoherent jumble of thoughts that I'm trying to pass off as a review, but honestly, what else can I say except I'm enjoying this, the references are spot on, the age-specific thoughts are incredibly relatable, and the writing is tight and engaging.

Oh wait. There's more!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Pixileanin The Hex Head Express

29th January 2015:
Oh, hey. I bet you were wondering where I ran off to. Ahem. Anyway.

Isobel. I love the way that there's this general atmosphere of "I don't care". It permeates the chapter. So. Much Attitude, and she hasn't even done anything yet.

Laurel seems to need charms. That, in itself is scary. I get the feeling that Emily accommodates a lot. She does things for Laurel. She does things for Tristan - isn't it great that there's no need to explain the mechanics of magic/technology? We're all on the same page. I love that about borrowed worlds and fanfiction.

Laurel's food comments put up a red flag for me right here. And Isobel with the charms... hmmm.

"He's a ratty looking bugger. His clothes look like charity shop rejects, hair's all askew. And I'm a Weasley!" Love the honest snark about Harry coming from the twins here.

Can I just say that the duality of the way Isobel thinks about Hufflepuff was lovely? Okay, there. I said it.

I see hints of things that bother me about the characters, hints of things that could go wrong, things that could get out of control, but within the veil of teen-dom, it doesn't come across as threatening or worrisome. Yet.

Off to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #16, by BellaLestrange87 Three Times Charmed

27th January 2015:
Hello Roisin! I'm back!

YES ISOBEL HAS THICK HAIR AND KNOWS THE STRUGGLE. And a struggle it is. My dad complains about carpets in the sink on the rare occasion that I brush my hair. Having thick, wavy hair tends to produce poofy hair when you brush it. AND IT SHEDS. ALL DAY EVERY DAY. Isobel is right to wonder. What I can wonder about, though, is how she can put makeup on every day. I'm not calling her vain, but a lot of my friends wear it and say it takes FOREVER to put on. Personally, I can't tell lipstick from eyeliner, so...

Isobel, to me, sounds like she's both jealous and a bit contemptuous of Emily. She mentions how pretty she is but also says "of course that's why she slept with so many guys." Tristan and Angelina Johnson??? I love how you add subtle details that could've happened. (This is why the 100% canon label is on the story summary.) And of course that wouldn't have gone well. (Although I think a Gryffindor/Slytherin matchup would've been noticed. That's probably why they were behind the greenhouses, wasn't it?) But Tristan/Emily! YES. I WANT IT. (And if I read the reviews for some of the later chapters I could see whether or not it happens but I don't want to spoil the surprise.)

Yep. Isobel definitely sounds like she thinks Emily is a *insert non 12+ word here*. But seriously... 3 captains and all seventh-year Ravenclaws? I can't even get one boy, let alone... what? 8? 9?

I think Isobel's right. Laurel's Cheering is starting to be a problem. You can't spend your whole time at school living for the idea of being artificially happy. (That sounds like something out of a self-help book.)

They just got more drugs, didn't they? I think they did; otherwise they wouldn't be so secretive about it.

Filch's not knowing what the cassette tapes were made me laugh. Wizard/squib responses to standard Muggle technology always do that. It's a bit funny that something we take for granted, such as a television, they would have no idea how to use. And "Slytherin Champion of Muggles" also made me giggle. That's not something you see every day. Although I can't imagine it would be that hard to obtain the title; all you would really have to do is not hex any muggleborns and leave people minding their own business alone.

Noo don't shoplift! They need to get off those Cheering Charms. But I love the jokes about the Hog's Head. That pub is so dirty I'm surprised the Department of Magical Labour (if it even exists) hasn't shut it down yet. And it's rather nice to see that Cedric had a girlfriend before Cho, even if it didn't last, for whatever reason. Percy and Penelope already dating! Frankly, I'm rather surprised that you've moved it to this book. I think Fred and George would've found out by earlier than the end of the second book if P&P had been dating for almost two years.

Well, at least they have enough common sense to stay out of seedy places.

I love how you're bringing back the rune Hermione mentioned in the fifth book!

I can see why this got nominated for a Dobby. *coughs* Sequel, please?

~Olivia

Author's Response: You are just the BEST REVIEWER EVER! Did you know that?!?!?!

Hahaha, I definitely know the hair troubles. Like, the amount that comes out in the shower best resembles a pygmy puff. As for the makeup thing, I think Isobel definitely is a bit vain. Or at least, very image conscious. But to be real, I wore makeup /every single day/ in High School. /Without Fail./ Most of that was just a self-esteem thing--wearing makeup can kind of feel like a mask or something, which can be weirdly comforting. Anyway, that's something I decided to give to Isobel, since she definitely has issues with her self-image.

Isobel definitely has a tricky relationship with Emily, and you're totally right to point it out. In a way, I think Isobel's sort of jealous of Emily's reputation. I think in her mind, she feels it's a sign of self-confidence. Like, Isobel wouldn't have the guts to sleep around or something. (It is of course more complicated than that, but Izzy's 15).

I think Angelina's super cool, so she was the most obvious choice for someone Tristan had a crush on. But yeah, their personalities probably wouldn't match up well enough for a proper relationship. I think some people probably did talk about their Gryffindor/Slytherin thing, but it had all already blown over by the time Harry started Hogwarts.

Isobel definitely does think Em's a [bad word,] but in a way, she doesn't think that's a bad thing? If that makes sense? Like, she does scoff a bit about it, but she was also kind of bummed that Em gave up on her ways. I think Isobel was kind of living vicariously through Emily.

Oh man, the whole idea of artificial happiness is pretty problematic, isn't it? Just, the more you think about it, the more you have to believe Cheering Charms are bad news!

Filch is SUCH a vehicle for comedy! I really liked writing that part, so I'm glad you found it funny! And you make a good point--the bar is pretty low for becoming "Slytherin Champion of Muggles."

Oh yes--I knew if I was writing about Troubled Teen Shenanigans, shoplifting had to be in their somewhere. And yeah, I have to assume Cedric had girlfriends before Cho!

You're super right about P&P, and I realized it was an issue (I resolve it a bit later, and make it clear that they aren't an Official Couple yet). This is sort of supposed to be the first time they hung out outside of school, then they get close throughout the year, which is why they write to eachother so much the following summer.

Oh gosh, the ridiculous thing is that I was able to remember those runes off the top of my head :/ WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME?

And YOU ARE SO KIND, THANK YOU!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #17, by BellaLestrange87 Loose Lips

26th January 2015:
Hi Roisin! I'm back!

I love how Emily doesn't take Snape's housist (is that a word? I don't think so. But you probably know what I mean.) attitude lying down. I know that the Hufflepuff stereotype (which we all try and look past, with varying degrees of success) makes me think of everyone in that house as loving and kind and caring without any malice whatsoever. I love how you turned that on its head.

I think you have a typo here - Many might describe Emily as 'mousy,' what with her pointed noise and gentle nature, but Tristan knew her to posess a great depth of feeling. It's 'possess'. (At least I think it is..)

It's nice to see that I'm not the only one who gets severely distracted when doing work. The last time I tried to do work with my friends we spent 45 minutes off topic, gave up after an hour and decided to do it individually.

I don't think this really is an issue but you might want to add 'year' to the end of this sentence here - They’d discovered this private corner of the castle late in their second. And yes! You're mentioning Sir Cadogan! He always made me laugh with his silly lines in PoA.

Tristan says here that he hates being confined. I think that says something about his character. I'm not sure exactly what, but I think there's something.

You missed a word here - So far, she had proved to be far more competent professor than "Squirrel." "She had proved to be a far more comptent professor" is probably what you meant. Although, considering I forget words a lot, and sometimes have to massively edit pre-queue-submission, I don't really think I can talk.

Love their nickname for Quirrell. "Squirrel." Bahahahaha. And the fact that he thinks the stammer comes from having to teach Tristan (although, since we've only seen him in Potions, he could be partially right)!

I love how Tristan is far more objective about the wizarding world than many canon characters are. He's right: the wizarding world is so far behind the muggles in terms of technology that the muggles could use the term quaint to describe THEM. And I love how Professor Burbage wants to try and reinvent the Muggle Studies course. If she succeeded (or not), than that could be part of the reason why Voldemort killed her in Deathly Hallows.

It's nice that somebody pointed out just how many jobs in the wizarding world are connected to the Ministry. It's rather unlike muggle life, where most people work for the private sector and it's only a small percent who are government-employed.

Again, I love that you're not keeping Fred and George hanging around with the younger kids. And "vee haff our vays" sounds like a pre-Krum-era Krum imitation. Are they following the Bulgarian seeker already?

You have an extra word here - He had nothing personal against Wood, aside from general a annoyance with the loudness and self-satisfaction Tristan observed in most Quidditch players—Gryffindor players especially. - aside from general annoyance

So that's how word of Harry's being Seeker got out! I remember Wood telling Harry that he was going to be the secret weapon for their match against Slytherin. I wonder if he realizes that you can't exactly have a secret weapon and go shouting your mouth off in front of the house you're supposed to use it against. Idiot.

I wonder if Sprout can tell that Tristan is despondent and wants to help. And I think it makes perfect sense that the Hufflepuff - again with the house stereotypes here - Head of House acts as the informal guidance counselor.

In the books, the Slytherins are almost always the ones who take a bullying role. It's a nice change of scene to see a Gryffindor, and one we know, step into those shoes instead. Of course, I had always hoped Wood was better than that, but.

Fred and George poke so much fun at Oliver in the books that of course they would say that! I think you might want to edit this, though - Be sure and teach me it some time,” George added. - and change it to "Be sure to teach me it some time".

I like how Tristan, even though he did hex Oliver, wants nothing to do with the rest of his house's shenanigans. He may do drugs - which, although I don't like the practice, may or may not be a bad thing - but he doesn't bully people for fun.

Looks like Draco, Troll A (Goyle) and Troll B (Crabbe) have already found an older Slytherin to learn some tricks from. “We were just discussing lineages,” - You might want to change that comma to a period.

I wonder how Reece will react to the news that Tristan's muggle-born (if that's what he'd be classified as). I did notice that he used the term "Mudblood" though, and I'm wondering if he's just trying to avoid Slytherins wanting him to participate, or if he genuinely does feel that way.

In your bolded Author's Note, you have a typo - it's "reevaluating", not "reevaulating".

Another great chapter!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you SO much for this amazing review, and I'm SO sorry I took so long to reply! Replying to this is really kind of a treat for me, so I used it as a reward for once I got a bunch of other stuff done. It took me so long to do that stuff!

Haha, the Emily thing was kind of inspired by a friend of mine, who's a totally sweet and kind person. On the rare occasion she gets angry, it's kind of the cutest and best thing ever! And YES, even Nice people get stroppy sometimes! Especially if they have their reasons.

Oh yes, the distracted homeworking involved MUCH of me channeling my High School experiences. I got way better at it in college, though!

Ooh, I'm glad you pointed out Tristan's thing with confinement. Yes yes, well spotted. I will say nothing more on that for now!

A lot of these examinations of the wizarding world came out of various comments I've read online. Like, jokey paradies and the such. Rather than treating it like a flaw of the story, I wanted to say YES that it their world, and YES, maybe some people have problems with it. The whole thing with Muggle Studies was me sort of treating it as an analogue for various courses I was taking at the time (largely to do with colonialism). To me, the best thing about Potter is how we can use these fictional fantastic things as a metaphor for real life sociopolitical issues.

I just LOVED writing Fred and George. It almost felt like they wrote themselves, like, just because I know them so well. I wanted them to hang out as much as is realistic (since they're younger), but yeah, they might have had a bit more going on than Harry ever realized ;)

Oh yes, the secret seeker thing! Basically, I got really excited about ANY unanswered question in canon (like, 'oh, some rumour got spread'), and used that as an opening for inserting my OCs into the mix.

Yeah, I figured there had to be some sort of Guidance Counselor, and Sprout seemed best suited for the job. I also liked that I could make her a bigger part of the story, because she's a cool character. But she usually gets kind of overshadowed by McGonnagall and Dumbledore. (Also, I definitely think she could tell Tristan was despondent).

Arguably, Tristan is kind of being a bully. Like, Wood knocked into his table by accident, and Tristan was the one who hexed him (AND THE GERANIUM). But, since we're seeing it from Tristan's perspective, we're sympathetic to him. (But the geranium thing was SO uncalled for). And I don't think Wood is really a bad guy--he's just young, and can get a little overzealous about things. From his perspective, Tristan attacked him for no reason.

I was writing Tristan as feeling super guilty about the Wood thing, and I wanted to lighten it a little, so I was REALLY glad when I realized I could use the Twins teasing Wood to ease that a bit.

And yeah, Tristan has some really troubling behaviors--but you're right that doing drugs isn't the same as being violent or hateful. That's more indicative of a person's emotional turmoil, and while it's troubling, it's not really /immoral/.

Hahahahaha--I totally want to describe them as Troll A and Troll B at some point! That's too good!

I think he said mudblood to kind of reclaim the word (like queer, or the n-word-without-the-r-at-the-end). He might arguably be seen as a mudblood, if his dad's a muggle and mum's a muggle-born (like how Harry's a half-blood because Lily was muggle-born). But it IS tenuous. Mostly, Tristan WANTS to identify as a 'mudblood.' As you've noticed, he's sort of obsessed with muggle culture.

And can I just say, you are the BEST for pointing out the typos! Thank you SOSOSOSOSO much!

xoxo
-Roisin






 Report Review

Review #18, by mymischiefmanaged After

26th January 2015:
YOU GOT A NEW BANNER! I love it. It's really really great and it matches the tone of this story perfectly. I just thought I'd come and let you know that I like it :)

Also, this chapter gave me a thought for something you might like to write. A one-shot about child Tristan living with the Lestranges? So maybe from the point of view of a child? I don't know. It just seems like the kind of thing you could write really well.

This is a wonderful chapter. I think it has some of the best moments of bonding between the characters in the whole story, which I suppose makes sense because by this point they've all developed and changed a lot and have grown together. I think my favourite moment was Isobel being honest with Emily about her jealousy. It shows something really special in their friendship. It's the kind of thing she could easily be embarrassed about or just not want to mention, but the fact she's open and honest helps them become closer.

Love love love this chapter, and the story as a whole.

Emma x

Author's Response: Yee! Thank you! I'm really stoked to finally have fulfilled my animated banner dreams :D

OH GOSH, that sounds like the darkest most depressingest story evar! PERHAPS!

I really wanted to get in that "you think I'M PRETTY??? But you're SO PRETTY" thing. Honestly, I wasn't happy with its placement in the story, so I'm glad you liked it!

Thank you so much for this delightful review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by BellaLestrange87 R

21st January 2015:
I guess I'm doing better at reading the next chapter right after. Let's ignore the fact that exams start tomorrow and I've barely studied. *whistles*

Cedric has acne! I love how you've described him that way. He came into the series as the world's cutest boy (apparently) and it's nice to see a description of him when he wasn't that cute.

Emily clearly doesn't know why Tristan isn't laughing at the name Longbottom. It seems to me that it's because he recognizes the name, from Frank and Alice. Of course, being Muggleborn, unless it was specifically mentioned she wouldn't know that.

I love Emily's tradition of waving at Dumbledore! And her description of how it started. I think I like Marcus Flint even less than I did in the books. That seems like a very Flinty thing to do (and something I could see Tonks doing).

YES MUGGLE BANDS. I keep forgetting that Philosopher's Stone is set in 1991-92. I think it must be the fact that the movies modernized the series? Either way, kudos to you for including it. (And it potentially means that I have can discover more music. Win-win!)

One thing here - "Tristan hadn't just seemed embarrassed by his middle name—the'd seemed offended by it." You don't need the T before "he'd seemed offended by it."

Man it seems Snape has justly earned his reputation for unfairness. Fred and George complained about him to Harry near the beginning of PS, and we all know how Harry's Potions classes went, but if you wanted to, you could argue that Gryffindor is the rival house, Fred and George (might've) goofed off in class and Harry is, well, Harry. I like how Emily and Tristan working together isn't well-appreciated by the rest of the class. I guess Hufflepuffs don't really have a good reputation with the Slytherins. And that's typical Snape, giving Slytherin points when clearly it was a Hufflepuff doing the work (or leadership role).

You have a grammar error in your Author's Note: Nirvana was significantly influenced by The Pixies (who Tristan misremember as The Doxies). It should be "who Tristan misremembers as The Doxies".

Another excellent chapter!

~Olivia

Author's Response: What did I ever do to deserve you?!?!?!

Teehee, 'ugly duckling' Cedric was just TOO fun an idea to pass up. Also, it tends to be HELLA true. The most handsomest boys are always super awkward-looking at 13-14.

With Dumbledore, I sort of wanted to suggest that he has a personal relationship with ALL of his students, and he cares about each of them, even if he doesn't invest quite so much time as he does with Harry--but only because Harry needs him more for prophesy reasons and chosen one-ness. Like, he's around for students in so much as they need him to be around, so Emily just needs a little encouraging wave from time to time :)

Hah, I had SO MUCH FUN with the 90s-ness! And I did try to keep the music from being gratuitous (like, not just a bunch of squeeing about bands I like, but stuff that actually works for the characters/story/era, so as not to isolate readers. Granted, I do like all these bands...)

GAH, thank you for pointing that typo out! Such an important line, too! Can't believe I missed it for so long!

Hah, Snape! Love writing Snape. Like, I do LOVE him, but I like him to be sort of maddening :p

Thank you sosososososososo much for this review :D

xoxo
Roisin



 Report Review

Review #20, by Pixileanin Prologue (1991): Dozens of Little Televisions

21st January 2015:
Ahh, hello there! We’re paired up for the Gryffindor Review this month. Sorry it took a while to get here, but well, here I am!

I haven’t read The Casual Vacancy, or seen Skins, so I have no context for your inspiration. I love the way you explore the wizarding house through Sophie’s eyes, how she tries to reason through things, and then with Tristan’s dad explaining it all away as her senses are dulled through the calming potion.

The way that Sophie chose to be where she was, the way that she chose Tristan gave me so many angsty feels. It was obvious that she wasn't as much interested as curious, and not so much attracted as driven to prove something to herself. It makes me wonder what she would have ultimately thought of Tristan if they had perpetuated the notion that his parents were well-off and somewhat wealthy. I know her character is a device to introduce the incongruous world of Tristan, but I still wonder if she’d reverted to some kind of clingy, calls-too-much girl, just because of the situation.

I learned a lot about Tristan, and I felt his absolute defeat about the entire situation. And the reaction of the parents - very believable here. I agree; he punished himself quite effectively without their intervention. Such a broody boy.

I must comment on the perfection of the chapter title. I just love the way it peaked my curiosity about this introduction, and that you pulled it from Sophie's point of view. Also, the words on Tristan's chapter image really solidified the purpose of the chapter. On the first read, I didn't understand it until I got to the end, and then I thought, "Oh yeah, this is all about Tristan."

There was so much goodness in this, the metaphors, the descriptions, the character angst, oh my god, the angst of teens! Solid introduction, original set-up and all the little things that mean more than they should.

See you next chapter!

Author's Response: OK, I made a rule that I'm not allowed to reply to reviews until I have given my reviews owed! But yay now I can respond to this!

Oh man, Sophie was such a crazy device! You're right that she was designed just to be an intro to the story, but I was like "I can't just leave her without dimension or examination!" Her whole sequence was originally much longer and more detailed, but it made no sense for such a tiny character so I cut it. As it stands, your questions are good ones! I kind of like the idea of keeping that open for the reader to project whatever they want. The main thing is what you picked up on: Tristan is an object of curiosity.

I really enjoyed writing his parents, and it was interesting to see how they would respond to the situation. I'm glad it seemed believable! The memory modification is already such a trauma, why go further?

Heehee--I was SUPER pleased with this title! It might be my favorite of lot, if only because it doesn't make sense until you get there! I just really liked the idea of having a fresh introduction to the wizarding world.

YEE, thank you so much for this review! You were such a great swap partner and I was such a terrible one! I'm so sorry!



 Report Review

Review #21, by BellaLestrange87 The Hex Head Express

20th January 2015:
I really need to get better at the whole 'reading Chapter 2 more than a month after reading Chapter 1 and falling in love with the story' thing.

I love how you describe Laurel's hair as "dishwater blonde". I think a lot of people (myself included, probably) tend to romanticize things and make them seem better, and here you've done exactly the opposite, which I like. After all, it's just hair.

I wonder why Tristan is usually so depressed on the first day of school. This year it seems apparent that he's missing Sophie and regrets having to have her Obliviated. At least he did try to prevent that ever needed to happen (which isn't much consolation, since he failed.)

I completely sympathize with Tristan here. If I wasn't able to listen to music for a year (or four/five months, depending on whether or not he goes home for Christmas) I would listen to it every chance I got before the time came to stop. Besides, I couldn't imagine having to go without my favourite songs for that long. Sure, there probably is some way of getting music at Hogwarts - I think someone in the books said that radios are magic, not muggle technology - but there's no guarantee they'll play what you want and commercials.

When I read the third book, I remember reading, in the chapter when Harry and the rest of them did Cheering Charms in Charms, that they could get addicting if you used them too often. It's kind of sad to see them needing them here - they're fifteen, I think, and already using the wizard equivalent of drugs. At least Tristan has enough humour to make a joke about how depressed he is, though. (And yes, I'm fully aware that if I didn't want to read a story with drugs this is probably the wrong story.)

I wonder if Tristan and Emily have a thing? She saved a spot for him on her side of the compartment, and he basically just flirted with her. Of course, there's always the next paragraph to consider.

I always wondered what the Cheering Charm incantation would be, and it makes perfect sense that it would revolve around something, well, funny, whether it be a word that means funny or whatever.

SO THAT'S WHERE THE TOAD WENT! I'm having hilarious mental images of 11-year-old Hermione walking in on them, all charmed-out, and being really weirded out and wondering if this is what wizards are like. You, Roisin, just made me laugh for about five minutes straight and I'm very happy I'm alone right now.

I love your portrayal of Fred and George here! They probably wouldn't want to hang around with their little brother and all his friends, and we never really see who they hang out with in the books, besides the rest of the Gryffindor Quidditch team. And, yes, Harry probably did look like a lost little thing on the platform that day. Everybody that only knows him because of what he did as a baby - Voldemort - probably still, as Laurel says, pictures him as a baby.

I love how Tristan's music player starts to fail as they get closer to Hogsmeade. I never really thought about how that would work - I haven't written about muggle-born characters yet, aside from Hermione and minor OCs that spent all their time in-fic at Hogwarts - but it makes sense that it would work until it got close to a major magical location, such as Hogsmeade and Hogwarts.

You might want to edit this - “So do you know what happened to Tristan over holidays?” asked Emily, - to "So do you know what happened to Tristan over the holidays?"

Bahahahaha Hermione seems so out of her element here. As I said earlier, I had a laugh attack when imagining when Hermione would walk in them but this is probably the worst time for her to do so. Poor Hermione.

I think that was either an electricity joke or Mr. Weasley is so into Muggle technology that he's trying Muggle drugs. Hmm. I wonder what Mrs. Weasley would say. Probably nothing very approving.

Tonks! I never really thought much about what she was like was she was at Hogwarts - aside from the fact in OotP that she said she could never behave herself in-school - and I love how you've taken that fact and twisted it for your own purposes.

You might want to edit your Author's Note and change this - 1. According the Rowling, there are “about a thousand” students at Hogwarts. - to "According to Rowling".

And this - The bit about the aventures of Trevor the Toad was really funny in my head, so I hope that came off! Adventures, not aventures.

This was a great chapter!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Gah this review is so amazing, thank you!

Yeah, I definitely didn't want all my characters to be SUPER GORGEOUS SUPERMODELS ZOMG--but realistic teenagers. And one could argue that all the faceclaims are of pretty good-looking people (because famous people tend to be attractive)--but I at least tried to find quirky/unique people!

Right?!?! Living without music would be the WORST! And wizarding stereos are a good fix if you like wizarding music, but yeah, you still can't CONTROL what you listen to, and if you like muggle music then you're pretty screwed.

I wouldn't say here that they all NEED Cheering Charms, but they are certainly ABUSING them. Like, I wouldn't call Emily or Isobel addicts, but they are experimenting in a potentially problematic way.

But yeah, thinking about it, Mind Altering Spells seem like a pretty dangerous idea.

Haha, for the incantation I seriously just used google translate into latin, and boom, "hilaris."

TREVOR! So glad you liked that bit! That was my very first stab at visual comedy, and I was so anxious about whether or not it came across!

That's so how it is, though! Like, a famous child actor is really surprising to see as an adult and stuff! And I'm really glad you liked the Twins! It was really fun writing them in a different context than we saw in canon.

Heehee--Hermione was so 'bossy and in charge' in the books, and I loved the idea of seeing her from an older person's perspective! She still was, underneath it all, just a little girl.

Ha! Molly would probably be VERY cross!

Thank you for pointing out all my typos! Will scurry to edit!

And thank you SO MUCH for this review! GAH! LOVE!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #22, by Maelody Loose Lips

13th January 2015:
Hey! There's a reference to your Doge/Albus one-shot in here! :D Isobel is the great niece, eh? That's super cool!

Though I am a bit confused as to why a purist would call him a mudblood? Normally he would be considered a blood traitor, or dirty/tainted blood, but not necessarily a mudblood. Just as Draco Malfoy never called Harry a mudblood, just Hermione. His parentage is exactly that of Harry's. :)

Poor Em! She's still so sour about how mean Snape was! Though I have to admit, it was sort of funny to see how he favored Tristan over her. Good to know it's not just a Malfoy thing, but a Slytherin thing by chance all around.

This is another side of Oliver Wood I never expected to see, but it actually make perfect sense! How much he talks about despising Slytherin in the books in Quidditch wouldn't go awry just because he's outside of a Quidditch scene! This is a great bit of detail and I love it. Makes me love Wood a little less simply because I am a Slytherin, but it works out really well here! Poor Tristan, though. Especially since he goes back to his dorm and everyone's heard of it already.

I like that little Draco has already started getting used to the idea of his House and manipulating his way around it. I feel like, in a way, he's even trying to reach out to Tristan at this point by going to Reece to explain what he think's Tristan's lineage is. Then, of course, when Tristan dispels their theories, Draco would drop the idea of keeping him around. Sort of what's going on in my head anyway. :)

This chapter is one of my favorites so far! There's so much going on outside of Harry's life in the time he's in Hogwarts. I love that you got your hands on it and are going through this set of of characters! It's got me completely hooked! Great job!

~Mae

Author's Response: My thinking was that wizarding Britain is SO tiny, that all of these "OCs" are related to characters named in canon. I wanted Isobel to be kind of a notable pureblood, but from a family totally unconnected from Death Eaters or the like. She's not super rich, but reasonably well off, from a distinguished family. I have a lot of weird love for Doge, so he seemed a good candidate for a great uncle!

Harry's dad was a pureblood, though, while Tristan's parents are a muggle-born and a muggle. But yeah, 'mudblood' is tenuous. But! If Harry is a 'halfblood' because his mom's muggleborn, than wouldn't Tristan be a mudblood, since he has no wizarding grandparents? But really, you are right. Tristan is trying to invoke these technicalities, even though it's inaccurate. He's just being subversive.

Bwahahaha--I really love writing Snape ;)

I definitely don't have any hate for Oliver, but I felt like he would totally ruffle Tristan. (And Tristan's hardly blameless for their little spat--I'm rather cross with him for cursing the innocent geranium). Wood's got a few zealous attributes in canon, so drawing those out was a lot of fun!

Yee! I'm so glad the Draco cameo gave you thoughts! That's what's fun about writing such MAJOR canon characters as little minor characters here. Everything they do can be read into a lot, because we're already so familiar with them!

YOUR REVIEWS INSPIRE WITHIN ME GREAT JOY AND HAPPINESS. THANK YOU.

xoxo
Roisin




 Report Review

Review #23, by Maelody R

13th January 2015:
I think what gives this story one of it's definite believability factors is that all of them are in different Houses, with the exception of the two that share a House. Oh, and the fact that Emily used to be friends with Tonks is so cool! It just makes you think how Harry just barely missed out on going to school with one of the most important people in his life.

Also, this is the first chapter that really gets it going to the parallel version of the books. With the exception of a little bit of Hermione in the last chapter. ;) Harry's sorting through another set of eyes. It's really cool to see how some people think of him, but even cooler to see a group of people who don't actually think he's 'all that'.

I sort of feel bad for Emily in her flashback of her own sorting though. But the owls must make up for it. Those were fun to see, and I'd like to know the answer to her question about how the owl gets down to Slytherin chambers!

OK, so I think I accidentally lied. I might have read the next couple chapters and just forgot to mark them as 'read'. So you've got a few more reviews coming before I actually get to pick reading back up! Lucky you! ;)

~Mae

Author's Response: Yes! Harry JUST missed Tonks! I hadn't totally realized that until I was researching for this story, and got SO EXCITED to find out these OCs would have overlapped! Yay Tonks!

And yeah, Gryffindor got so much play in canon that I really wanted to examine the other Houses. And I just especially loved the idea of a reluctant Slytherin!

Hahaha, the owls and Slytherin. I basically realized it was a hole in the story, so rather than closing that hole, I just drew hella attention to it! I tried to make it a joke that it never gets explained :p

LUCKY LUCKY ME! Thank you Mae!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #24, by Maelody The Hex Head Express

13th January 2015:
"Hex-Heads" I don't think I've ever heard this phrase before in our Potter-verse. I love it! Seriously, I see where this story is going, and it just works. The whole feel of the era has been grasped, and the story is strangely addicting already!

So charms do the work of some muggle drugs, eh? I think that's so cool. Maybe a little less dangerous than actual drug use in the muggle world, but I don't know. If it effect certain parts of speech and capability, I would guess it effects the brain somehow. So then again, maybe it's not all that safe.

I love the set-up of the characters. The fact that Tristan is the only boy of practically an all girl group sort of gives off another feel for him. Not that I'm saying he regrets it, but it gives off elements of his character. And to know that Sophie was his first makes it just a little more sad that she was obliviated into thinking otherwise of that night.

Emily is becoming one of my fast favorites. She seems sweet enough, and more aware of exactly how the others feel. Isobel I can tell thinks she has herself together, but if she truly did, I think she would have left a long time ago. Laurel is really cute though, in that rambunctious sort of way. She's definitely lost herself to a lot of that charm work, though, eh? I can see where to them it's more of a hassle than it is 'adorable'.

Anyway, I've read up to chapter three so I'm going to head over to the next chapter and review so I can actually get back to reading! This is great so far! Already one of those stories that naturally grabs you from the beginning!

~Mae

Author's Response: :D I spent FOREVER thinking up the term 'Hex Head' and I'll admit I'm quite proud of it! I know Crestwood has adopted it, and I'm hoping it'll become a THING around here!

Haha, I'm glad the story is 'addicting'! FORM FOLLOWING CONTENT!

In a way, mind altering spells seem almost MORE dangerous to me. Just because, like, you can do them WHENEVER as MUCH as you want with your WAND which is practically like a body part. The more you think about it, the more you have to second guess the wisdom of teaching 13-14 year olds MIND ALTERING SPELLS. The nature of teenagers is such that some WILL abuse them!

All of my dude friends tend to be the kind who mostly hang around with girls, so it was a bit easier for me to write (I have no idea what guys get up to on their own!) Also, I liked how it was sort of the opposite of Harry/Ron/Hermione.

I'm glad you can see Laurel's cute/rambunctiousness! She definitely takes longer to get to know, which was an intentional decision, but there's a lot I really like about her (her issues notwithstanding)! But yeah, Emily is imminently loveable.

You have no idea how happy these reviews have made me! Thank you!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #25, by Maelody Prologue (1991): Dozens of Little Televisions

13th January 2015:
Aww, poor Tristan! He gets a girl over to his house, and now she's not even permitted to remember it. Hope he thought he was awful, maybe that'll make him feel better. ;)

So I sort of stumbled across this story a couple weeks ago and read a couple chapters and fell in love with it. Then I thought to myself: 'Why didn't you review any of the chapters? That's not fair to the author!' So here I am, reviewing the first couple of chapters I've read since you deserve to know just how awesome you are! :)

So I actually really like how Tristan lead Sophie into the house. It was shifty as all 'come into my house' meetings go, but it was indeed creative!

I love how she automatically theorizes his parents might be junkies. Instead of going to some sort of mega awesome spies, or members of the government, they're junkies. Except he goes to a private school somewhere else. It made me laugh.

In the long run, I sort of feel bad for Tristan since Sophie is only doing this to get back at her ex. She apparently doesn't even find him all that attractive. I mean, he'd go to school and never be the wiser, but still. Maybe it was best in the long run that she ended up having to forget.

I loved the little televisions theory. If only she knew that here in the Muggle world of 2015 (and quite a few years before then, too) we would have those types of picture frames. I guess we can't explain a sims card to her, can we? After she dropped it though, and the whole commotion with Tristan's parents and the Obliviator came along, I fell in love instantly with this story. You have a great eye for characterization and detail. I actually like Tristan's family, even though I'm sure this might be the last we see of them. It's good to get an understanding of where he was brought up.

The Oblivation was really cool to witness. I think you got that idea spot on and I felt really bad for Tristan. Especially when she came back to thank him for being such a gentleman.

I'm sure you don't need me to tell you just how wonderful your story is. You've plenty of admirers, but I can definitely see why. I like this story a lot already and I'll be sticking around to find out what happens through the rest of it!

Cheers!

~Mae

Author's Response: EE! Thank you so much for these amazing surprise reviews! I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to reply!

Gah, the idea of someone being obliviated in this way seemed SO SAD to me! And at the same time, I realized this kind of thing MUST happen from time to time. Just: teenagers. Hormones are probably the single greatest threat to the Statute of Secrecy.

Bahahaha! The whole 'it's the 90s' thing was REALLY fun for me to play around with! Especially because, YES, we totally have that technology now! I was always really bummed by the way the films were set ambiguously now-ish, so this story works really hard to remind people of the era.

YOUR KIND WORDS MAKE ME SQUEE AND FLAIL! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>