Reading Reviews for My Last Leg
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unwritten Curse My Last Leg

29th April 2014:
Hello there! I've finally got around to reading and reviewing all the entries for my challenge, and since you were the first to submit an entry I thought I'd start with yours. :)

First, let me just say that I'm so glad you took on Dobby for this challenge. His perspective isn't explored nearly enough in fanfiction, and it certainly needs to be. He was such a valiant little thing.

I think my favorite part in this piece was when Luna called him brave and he blushed. He's so humble. It made my heart break a little, knowing what was right around the corner for him. I'm glad you added that small moment.

I am curious why you didn't use Dobby's voice for his narration--by that, I mean the broken House Elf speech. I think it would've been interesting to see that explored in his inner dialogue. I'm sure it would be challenging, but perhaps rewarding?

Anyway, thank you for writing for this challenge. I enjoyed reading your submission!

-- Gina

 Report Review

Review #2, by Karou_Marauder My Last Leg

25th April 2014:
I love the way you've portrayed Dobby here. He's so fierce and brave, and standing up to Bellatrix like that...

"Dirty little monkey" - haha! I love it. Although in that same sentence she says "defy you masters".

Feeling a bit silly here, but what's a "small cubby goblin"? I know small and goblin, but...

NO!!! He had a secret, and you didn't - you never - pretty please with a cherry on top may I know the secret?

This is so awesome. It's cute (Dobby is always cute!) and brave and determined and...gah. :)

-Karou

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heaven My Last Leg

19th April 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

MY. EMOTIONS. Dying characters are always sad. Dying characters that you like are even sadder. Dying Dobby is the saddest by far.

I liked how you didn't beat around the bush with this story. This had the potential to be very sentimental and sappy, but it wasn't. Because of the particular way you wrote it, it made Dobby's death even harder and "unexpected" because really, you never really know which day is going to be your last, and what exactly you'll be doing.

A lovely story, and good luck with the challenge!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Hogwarts27 My Last Leg

8th April 2014:
This was a lovely short piece from Dobby's point of view. Although the scene in Malfoy Manor portrayed the same scene from the book, it was well written, and Dobby's courage really came through and was very touching.

I think ending it with a mystery about a secret at the end is just fine for a one shot, but all the Dobby fans would probably love for you to add another chapter to explain it. Nice story either way though.

Author's Response: Thank you Hogwarts27 for the lovely review. I may add some more later,on :)
HEG


 Report Review

Review #5, by TidalDragon My Last Leg

5th April 2014:
Hello there! I wanted to get a head start on reading all the other entries for the challenge now that I've finished mine, so here I am.

Dobby's death in the book was so powerful and so sad that I feel like tackling it from his perspective was the only way to go. You did a good job of this I thought, capturing both his sometimes scattered thinking and speech but also his sense of duty even after becoming free (especially when it involves Harry).

You also used some nice descriptions and rhetorical devices like the Rule of 3 at the beginning which I thought got you off to a good start.

For me, I would've liked to see a bit more of his entire day, but oh well. You left us with an interesting question at the end - what was Dobby's secret? Maybe one day you'll share...

Good luck!

Author's Response: Hi! I might check out the others too I'll add them to my reading list now.

Dobby was my favourite character so thats why I chose to write about him. Thank you for saying a I did a good job, I was in doubt about weather or weather not to do it like a normal person speaks not like Dobby does. In first person I'm a fan of rhetoriacal :).

I only really did his death. Maybe I'll work o that :) mwhahaahhaha! I cannot tell but maybe one day I WILL share.

Thank you,

HEG


 Report Review

Review #6, by Sado My Last Leg

23rd March 2014:
Hello there!!!
As usual you wrote another brilliant story. But I still hate the fact that Dobby died (He was one of my fav characters and I cried when he died). I especially like his speech, you wrote it accurately. Good Job!!!

Author's Response: HI again!
I know it was so sad when Dobby died - he was my favourite character too! :) thank you for all these reviews I really enjoy getting them :) glad you liked the accuracy of Dobby's speech.
HEG


 Report Review

Review #7, by Shriya64 My Last Leg

22nd March 2014:
What was his secret???

Author's Response: It's a mystery! Also, in answer to your question, HEG are my initails. And thank for taking the time to review!
HEG


 Report Review

Review #8, by Maelody My Last Leg

7th March 2014:
Never told him his secret? Is this some cruel way to keep us as readers forever guessing, too? D: Oh no! Now I want to know! Or am I just too tired to have caught on? Maybe I'll have to read it again xD. :)

This is so sad! I loved Dobby! He's one of the only three deaths I actually cried for! (Sirius and Fred being the others). Though, this covered a lot of what we already knew, so I would have loved to have seen what he was doing in his day before then, to make it even more gut-wrenching. It makes a day like any other that ends all too suddenly even more sad!

With that being said, I felt it was maybe a little too in line with the book, but it was a wonderful way to see it! Going deeper into Dobby's pain and thought as the knife is stuck in him would have been painful, and I'm not sure if I would have rather you added that or not because that would have been extremely painful to read! haha :)

Otherwise, it was such a great little story, with an extraordinary eye for detail! Now I want to read the seventh book again! :(

Great job! :D

~Mae

Author's Response: Thanks for your wonderful review. :) I'm really glad you enjoyed it and thanks for all your amazing complements

HEG


 Report Review

Review #9, by Chazzie My Last Leg

3rd March 2014:
Hey there!
Dobby! He is simply adorable. Why did he have to die? Not that I'm blaming you, just a general wonder. I love the juxtaposition between 'arrow' and 'lazily', as it instantly draws the reader in. He is really sweet, and I think you've captured exactly how he speaks, but I like that his thoughts don't follow the same pattern.
Chazzie (Review 10/10 for the Slytherin/Gryffindor Blackout)

Author's Response: HI!
Thanks for your review. I've always liked Dobby and I didn't want him to die :(. It's quite sad the ending isn't it?
HEG


 Report Review

Review #10, by Iellwen My Last Leg

1st March 2014:
Hi there! It's bingo time!! :D

Oooh Dobby!!! I know how it ends but it's still so sad!!

Maybe that's just me, but I was a bit confused at first because the narration and the dialogs felt a bit like two different POVs. But there's a nice feeling to the thought of Dobby not thinking the same way he talks :)

Is the secret he didn't tell Harry Potter the fact that he's hurt? It wasn't quite clarified; maybe I missed a clue.
If it is, it's such an innocent thought, it's heartbreaking!

I love how you brought forth Dobby's last moments of glory. And Ron almost managed to ruin it all ^^
And Draco's eyes popping out like golf balls :D

I didn't get the chapter's title; that may be just me, though, because English isn't my native tongue? (sry^^) It's My Last Leg...?

That was a really nice read (even though it was sad). I've always loved Dobby (who doesn't?) ^^
Thanks for the read!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review :).

I know the ending of this is so sad. Dobby is my favourite character.

I didn't think anyone would think the way Dobby talks. I did try it out but it didn't sound very good.

Yes I always like the part where Dobby saves the day. When he knocks the chandelier down and no one knows who it is until they see Dobby in the doorway. ;)

In English there is a saying which is like I'm on my last leg.

Glad you enjoyed it,

HEG:)



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login