8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Freda_and_Georgina Part II--Viktor [Speed Dating Entry]

9th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014 Review
Hmm, I like how you pointed out the change in fashion trends resulted by the war, since Brittish wizards are less likely to have noticed the shift.
Wow George. If his (probably purposeful) insensitivity doesn't get himself hurt, I don't know what will. Well, I forgot about dragons, so I take that back. ;)
What a description on Lavendar! I like the reference to Angelina.
These Weasleys have been more or less full of relationship advice today, haven't they?
Whoops! so much for that "peace offering."
SWEET ending! (GET IT??) Please tell me I'm not the first one to point it out. :)
--Freda

Author's Response: Thanks--I enjoyed getting to slip in that little detail. Sometimes it's fun to think of what sort of effects all the events in HP must have had on society afterwards, fashion included.

Haha, George. He certainly comes close to ticking Viktor off there for a while, but he does mean well. And Viktor is being a little grumpy, to be fair : ) Of course, who can help being grumpy when he is feeling spurned in love? But it works out for him in the end.

I always thought the Weasleys would be, as Viktor says, "the meddling sort". They are a big, loving family, and all quite opinionated. I feel like, because they're so caring, they'd like to arrange things for others. George just seems the friendly, open sort who'd go up to someone and offer a bit of advice, and Fleur always struck me as a but of a managing sort of person.

Haha, I DO believe that you are the first to make that pun. Brava! I like it.

Thank you very much for your review, and good luck in the Cup!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #2, by True Author Part II--Viktor [Speed Dating Entry]

4th April 2014:
Hi! Here with my (extremely) late review... I'm so sorry for the delay. I wasn't home for a few days and had very limited internet access. :( Anyways, one the review...

I just couldn't resist reading this story when I saw Lavender and Viktor on your banner. I have suddenly begun to have a thing for unusual pairs and this seemed intriguing enough. I'm sorry if you wanted a review for any specific story!

This was so hilarious! I loved George advising Viktor and Fleur talking to Lavender. That was like- believable. ;)

I liked Viktor's characterization. I have written him for my WIP as the protagonist so I know how hard that guy is as a character. You did a really great job there! I just thought the accent wasn't really necessary. Harry noticed it in the book as he was British and could spot the accent. But I don't think Viktor would notice his own accent. /but that's just a suggestion! But I agree that Fleur's accent fits well. :)

Great job!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi! Here with my (extremely) late response, so it all evens out ;)

It's great that you reviewed the Lavender/Viktor story. I appreciate a good unusual pair, myself.

And I'm so glad that you enjoyed the George and Fleur advice scenes! I had so much fun writing them. It was really a blast.

Thank you for your kind words about Viktor. He *is* difficult to write, and I think you're so brave for doing an entire story centered on him, versus a one-shot. He's a great character, though, and I applaud you for giving him some much-deserved screen time. It's so sweet of you to say that you liked his characterization here! Thanks!

I doubt I'd have included the accent in a longer story, but I figured I could try it out since this was so short. I agree that Viktor wouldn't notice his own accent. I'm pretty sure I only included it when he was speaking with other British characters, for that reason. But it certainly might be unnecessary--it was more of an exercise, to see if I could do it. I have now officially checked 'try accents' off my writerly bucket list, and it is *hard*, if a fun challenge. I'm not sure if it added to the story, though. If I write Viktor again, maybe I'll try something different. We'll see.

Thanks so much for your review!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #3, by anythingcouldhappen Part II--Viktor [Speed Dating Entry]

7th March 2014:
Hi! Reviewing this for Blackout Bingo :)

There are so many things to love here!

George giving Viktor love advice? Priceless. It was so funny and actually quite good advice. I think you really nailed George's characertization :) Also, I am in awe of your ability to write both Krum's and Fleur's accents! They were spot on! Nice job!

I enjoyed Fleur giving Lavender advice as well. Ok, I guess I just enjoy advice scenes in general. Yours were great! Lavender's a bit crazy--but that's what we love about her right?

I think you did a great job with descriptions as well! You really built up the atmosphere which was nice. I think one thing you could add is a little more description of Lavender. Krum talks about her being beautiful, but he doesn't mention much specifically.

In terms of grammar and stuff, it was all fine except some places where you had two lines of separate dialogue in the same line. If you get the chance, you might want to fix that :)

Great job!

Sam

Author's Response: Hey there! Glad to see you over here for Blackout Bingo. I'm sort of jealous. My computer broke, AND I was on spring break, so I haven't been able to participate as much in the Black Out as I'd like. It looks so fun!

Thank you! George's advising Viktor in the ways of love was easily my favorite part to write! Have you ever had a magic moment in writing when it's like the character is just whispering what they'd say into your ear? That's what it felt like with George--easiest dialogue I've ever written, and so fun to do!

I enjoyed writing the scene with Fleur, too. I guess I like advice scenes, as well, since I included two in the same one-shot! ;)

Lavender IS a bit crazy, with a side order of muy loca, but that is, indeed, why she's sort of lovable. She's never boring, that's for sure.

Thanks. I'm glad you liked the description. I love writing those parts. Originally, there was more, but the story was for a contest with a fairly small word limit. However, now that the contest is over, maybe I can take your suggestion and add a bit more in the way of details! Specifically of Lavender, since you're right, she isn't depicted very specifically. Thanks for pointing that out--I might not have noticed, at this point.

Ooooh! I didn't notice that about the dialogue. I'll have to fix that ASAP. Thanks for telling me! And thanks for reading and reviewing! I really appreciate it.

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #4, by Akussa Part II--Viktor [Speed Dating Entry]

6th March 2014:
Hello I'm here for the review battle thing!

Wow, I laughed so much! Your Lavender is so intense! I wonder if she really feels for Viktor or if she just sees the "he's a champion" or "Hermione the nerd got to him first"... Oh and Fleur, nice touch; she's tougher than she looks, I like that!

It was sort of hard to read because of the accent but necessary and nice at the same time. I wouldn't want it any other way because it's representative of canon and I live by that rule! But that doesn't mean it's easy to read or write. You certaintly had a hard time remembering what letters to change and sonorities to adapt and I congratulate you on that.

All in all, that was a very enjoyable little story, it flowed nicely even though it felt rocky at times because of the necessay accent. Good Job!

Author's Response: Hello!

Lavender was really brought to life by my co-writer, Lostmyheart. She's very unique, isn't she? :) In Lostmyheart's Part I, Lavender's pretty hilarious, along with being intense. I just tried to carry some of that over. I thought the intensity would fit well with the Lavender we know from the books.

As for whether she's really into Viktor, that's totally for you to decide. For this story, I felt like she was thinking less about Hermione. Really, she was just feeling awkward at her ex's wedding, and ran into someone who felt the same. But you can read it differently and that's totally fine!

I imagine Lavender/Viktor as a sort of an oddly perfect pair. He hates when girls chase him around, and you can bet that, if he was with Lavender, she would take great pleasure in getting rid of the competition. No problem! He might need someone a little crazy to bring him out of his shell. Plus, Lavender could talk as much as she wanted, even if he doesn't really know what she's talking about (I imagine Hermione did a fair bit of that, when they were dating. I'd have a hard time keeping up with what she had to say, and English is my native language! But he always just went with it). So, it could work.

Thanks! I know it can be hard to read accents, but I did feel like I ought to include them. It was a bit tricky, though. I pity anyone who's ever tried to write Viktor that way for a longer fic, and I would also respect them hugely. It's hard!

Thanks for reading and reviewing. Good luck with the battle!

--Penny



 Report Review

Review #5, by Lululuna Part II--Viktor [Speed Dating Entry]

20th February 2014:
Hi again! :) I just read your partner's story and thought it was so original and the right mix of sad and hilarious. So I love how you've continued it from Krum's point of view and allowed us to see Lavender through his eyes.

Haha, I love the line about the whole family being the meddling sort. George was awesome here, how he doles out advice on girls and how annoyed Krum was by him. The comment about their other brother being a dragon tamer was great as well.

You did a really good job of characterizing Viktor here, how he's quite surly, has a quick temper but quickly sees the error of his ways, and his little thoughts and comments about other people. I really liked his accent as well, and how he couldn't pronounce Hermione's name. It was a great nod to canon. :D

I loved the lines about "doing the crazy thing" as well, both in Krum's speech and in the narration. :)

Aw, I love Fleur here! She does seem like just the type to meddle and organize and want everyone to be happy - she's a little pushy but she means well, and you got her just right. I also liked the mention of Ginny being an acquired taste, haha! I miss the days of Phlegm but am glad they're getting along now.

The ending between these two hotheads was so cute! I thought it was perfect, especially the last line. It's a great mentality to have, and all the icing and how prominent a part the cake played was just fantastic.

You guys did a wonderful job, and it's too bad you didn't get the entries in on time. Ah well, the most important thing was to get an amazing story out of it and to have fun, and I sense that you did just that. Well done, this was a lovely little read, and I would definitely consider myself converting to a Krum/LavLav shipper! :D

Author's Response: Yes! Lostmyheart's great, isn't she? She was so fun to work with. I'm really happy that you enjoyed seeing things from Viktor's perspective. Lavender was so fun, I'm just glad people don't resent leaving her POV! I laughed out loud every time I read an addition to Part I.

We settled on Viktor/Lavender after a rapid-fire brainstorm session. It just sort of got thrown out there, and we were like...wait? That one? That looks fun! The fact that they were both R/H's exes was the thing that brought them to mind as a potential pairing. But the more we thought about it, the more it made sense. Like, Krum hates being fawned over by flocks of fangirls, and if Lavender was his girlfriend she would enthusiastically run interference between him and every other girl. It wouldn't even be crazy, because it would be what he'd want! And she likes Quidditch players. They're both characters that get some ill-will for being with R/H, but ultimately they fight on the side of good. So really, they're kind of perfect.

Also, they both like cake. That's not officially canon, but I feel pretty confident about it ;)

Writing George was probably the most enjoyable part of writing my half of the story (well, the collaboration was most fun, but this was second). Everything just flowed in one of those rare, magical writing moments. I also was delighted that the George that came to mind was so happy. Of course he'll never get over losing Fred, but I like to think that time would allow him to be cheerful again, and that he'd be happy at something like Ron and Hermione's wedding.

Oh, my sweet, surly little lamb! Viktor was great fun as well.

Doing the accents was an interesting challenge. I had never intended on adding Fleur, but she seemed the right person, so I got a lot of practice with French/Northern European pronunciations. Ginny being an acquired taste was a line that almost got cut because of word count, but in the end I just couldn't bear to part with it. I'm delighted to hear that someone else liked it like I did :D

Haha, the ending. It was nice to write something so, well, sugary, after all the tension of my Draco/Astoria fic. Thank you so very much!

You're absolutely right. It was a bit disappointing not to get it in on time, but the experience was totally worth it, anyways. The whole speed dating thing was a a challenge, but in the best way. I feel like we, as a group, all got together and said, "We will do this crazy thing."

And we did the crazy thing. And it was so fun!

Thank you again! You give such wonderful reviews! My face is exhausted from all the smiling. Best workout ever!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #6, by Singularity Part II--Viktor [Speed Dating Entry]

19th February 2014:
As I told your partner, I love the idea behind this story. It makes for a really fun story. I think the two of you did a really good job tying your stories together. They flow well and really seem like two halves of the same story, so awesome job with that.

This chapter starts off great. The internal monologue of Viktor about his clothes does a really good job of setting up his character, I think, and really highlights his discomfort.

I LOVE that you included George. The whole interaction between the two of them was just fantastic...and George actually gave some really good advice!

There are so many hilarious quotes and one-liners in this, I can't even...I laughed several times while reading this. My favorite though, was probably the bit at the end, after he smashes Lavender with the cake.

"“You!” she snarled, and Viktor resisted the urge to step away. He had faced territorial dragons and mermaids, had been possessed by Dark wizards. Viktor Krum could handle a simple apology.

Probably."
Loved that!

The ending was just super cute. I'm so glad it turned out happily. Yay! Lovely job.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you so much. Avi and I had a lot of fun working together and connecting the different plot pieces!

George was probably my favorite to write. He practically wrote himself. Also, your right. Who knew he'd be so good at relationship advice? "George Weasley, Agony Aunt" (Agony Uncle?) has a nice ring to it. Maybe I'll do another one-shot with this version of him.

Thank you! One liners are so fun. It's been a while since I got to write a comedy, so I was pretty excited to get to make jokes!

And favorite quotes are so cool to see. I like seeing what catches other people's eye. I was fond of that line, too.

Thank you so much for reading, and for taking the time to write up such a lovely review!

--Penny



 Report Review

Review #7, by Lostmyheart Part II--Viktor [Speed Dating Entry]

19th February 2014:
Penny :D

Ah, I just love this! (of course) I had to review it and give it some official love!
I really like how you characterized George and Fleur , and Fleur's accent - I can really hear that french voice in my head.

You have so much talent, and creativity!
There couldn't be a better ending than this. It was nice Lavender finally got a happy ending after all we put her through :b

I loved working you, it was so much fun :)

Hugs
- Avi

PS. I'm gonna favorite this story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Avi! I'm going to head over and give you some official review love, too, ASAP! I have a test tomorrow, so I'm studying right now (well, I should be, but I wanted to answer your review and not leave you waiting!)

You are so sweet! Thanks. You have such a great sense of humor. I think we were a fabulous writerly match!

I'm happy for Lavender, too. I was so fond of her after reading your half that I couldn't imagine her not getting to, well, "have her cake and eat it, too," so to speak. She deserved it. As did poor Viktor. He really tried so hard, even though he messed up!

It was a blast! I'm so glad we were partners :D Thanks for writing with me! Yay!

--Penny



 Report Review

Review #8, by Avanell 2 Part II--Viktor [Speed Dating Entry]

19th February 2014:
Very sweet...glad I read the other first ;) Although the Part II should have been a clue, maybe it was ha-ha. Awesome story collaboration!

Author's Response: Thank you. I had a lot of fun working with Lostmyheart. And I'm glad you read the other part first, too ;) I imagine it would be a bit more confusing, otherwise.

Thanks for taking the time to review!

--Penny


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login