Reading Reviews for Summer at the Abbey
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gabriella Hunter Beginnings

1st August 2014:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and I'm really sorry that I'm late. I would have read this yesterday but I got caught up reading and everything, I just finished a great book and...well, you don't need to hear me blathering on about that.

On to this! Let me be honest and tell you that I know absolutely nothing about Downtown Abbey or Doctor Who. I have never watched either of them so this was a bit hard for me to follow, with all the characters and not getting much backstory but I was able to enjoy this chapter regardless. I think that the beginning of this, setting up your main characters and just a brief history of their relationship was nice. I was able to get a feel for each person and I'm eager to see how they are in the next few chapters, I like seeing quirky things that are done to Next Gen characters.

Having this as a super AU with so many new and fresh characters is such a bonus! I wonder how they all will interact with one another? I'm really curious to see how that's done. The only thing that I think you might need to change is just the pacing of this chapter, it felt a bit rushed so I wasn't able to really get a feel for it but I think that's my only issue. Otherwise, I think you have something really unique and special here! I noticed that you said this hadn't gotten much notice so I would suggest making a blog or doing review swaps to get your work out there. I know exactly how you feel! D':

So, thanks for the read! Feel free to re-request!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie,

Thanks for reviewing! I completely understand getting tied up in a book and ignoring everything else.

Yes, this really was a chapter devoted to just introducing the characters and main setting (the hustle and bustle of the Abbey). As time goes on, the characters become more fleshed out.

As far as backgrounds go:

The Doctor travels all of time time and space with companions. This story takes place at some point during the seventh series of the 2005 show. In that series, he has a companion who doesn't travel full time with the Doctor, but only occasionally.

This story takes place after the fourth series of Downton Abbey. Lady Mary, who is featured the most in this story, is the eldest daughter of Lord and Lady Grantham, the owners of the Abbey. She is a widow and has a young son. Thomas, the other character I use the most, is the underbutler. He is scheming and unlikes by most of the Abbey. He's gay, which could be a factor in how unpleasant he is. That's not gaycist, it's true. Imagine being gay in the 1920s - especially in a rathe religious and traditional household!

I guess it is an AU, though I've never though of it as one.

I'd agree it seemed rushed. But that's ok, as I'm not trying to work on plot very much here.

I like your idea about a blog post. That could be a great way to promote the story.

Thanks much!


 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heaven Beginnings

30th July 2014:
Heya! Here for the review swap!

Okay, so Doctor Who, Harry Potter, and Downton Abbey are in my top ten fandoms of all time, so understandably, I'm super excited about this story. I don't read crossovers too often, but I'm quite pumped about this one!

Nothing much seems to happen in this chapter, except for the Doctor just falling from the sky unexpectedly into Hogwarts, although this is basically how he introduces himself all the time, it is not out of the ordinary behaviour for him. I imagine that it would be quite the shock to our five Hogwartians however!

I'm most looking forward to how you tie Hogwarts and Downton Abbey together. Obviously, it will be via the TARDIS, since that appears the only machine in sight which can traverse time and space. And the Doctor is fond of a little mischief, which I'm sure the Granthams are quite used to by now down at Downton!

Lovely start. I hope we get to meet Lady Violet in the next chapter ;)

Author's Response: I'm finding that these three fandoms have a lot of overlap which is neat. I seem to have found the trifecta of crossovers!

You're right. Nothing happens in this chapter besides introducing some key players. Though, to be honest, the Downton Abbey characters I focus in on do not appear much here.

The Doctor and the Crawleys go way back as you will see!

Lady Violet is really not a major part of the story or even a minor part. I wasn't sure how to get past the Maggie Smith aspect, because these students would know for sure what McGonagall looks like.

Thanks much!


 Report Review

Review #3, by emmacweasley Beginnings

29th July 2014:
Hi! Here for the swap :) This is a lovely beginning, It's very interesting how you've set it all up. It did feel a bit rushed, but I imagine that it's just because this is such a structural piece to get the readers into the story. I'm very interested in reading what comes next! Thanks for putting this up for a swap!

emma

Author's Response: Glad you liked it!

Thanks for swapping with me!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Remus Thomas's Observations, a Talk With Lady Mary, and Fred's Flirting

27th June 2014:
Hola!! So sorry that I've taken forever to come and give you your review!! :( I seem to not have a life lately.

Anyway!!

I just kind of giggled at the idea of Fred/Thomas. I just find Thomas very evil compared to what Fred may be! Hahaha! I like your characterization of Thomas. He feels/reads just like the TV show; questioning people's motives, the wanting to know things that he really shouldn't. Great job on that regard!

I like the idea of Mary traveling with the Doctor after losing Matthew. Poor Mary :(

And the Doctor here just makes me laugh. Of COURSE he would be downstairs with the waiting staff, just chatting and Carson is basically like "Yeah...we'll just let him be..." Then again, I don't see Carson just wanting to kick the Doctor out...it would be rude of him. Hahaha.

Anyway! Thank you so much for doing the swap for me! :) I appreciate it and so sorry that I took forever.

Until next time
--Rosie

Author's Response: Wow... Pretty much a month until I finally got to this. The summer just makes me procrastinate. Sigh...

I'm glad I wrote Thomas well. I find it extremely gratifying when someone points that out. It's something I often worry about.

Carson would not throw the Doctor out. It would be inhospitable of him!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Remus The Abbey

18th June 2014:
Hey! I'm back! Sorry I've been away...Been slightly sick for a while. But I'm here now!!

Wow, Fred is going after the Doctor? Hahaha,poor child doesn't stand a chance. And I agree...he's too old for our poor Fred! But I like his justification...

"Bowtie? Tweed jacket? Suspenders? Please. Trust the gaydar!"

He does have a point! hahaha!! LOL!

"It's what Fred calls his owl."

I LOVED THAT!!

I'm Malfoy and I'm rich as _

LOL! HAHAHAHAHA!!!

I like how you kept it canon when it comes to the Malfoys because before the stature of secrecy was put in effect, they were very popular and influential even with the Muggles.

Why does the doctor keep getting slapped as a greeting!! HAHAHAHA!!

Anyway, is this after Matthew has died?

Good chapter!! Can't wait to see what happens next!!

Author's Response: Oh no! Glad you're feeling better.

I do love Fred. He really is the breakout character of this story, in my not so humble opinion.

Yeah, I picked up that little bit about the Malfoys from Pottermore. It's the first time I've incorporated something from the site!

As far as Matthew goes, keep reading and you'll find out!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Remus The TARDIS

14th June 2014:
Chapter 2 review!! :D

I just laughed with this line:
The Doctor threw him a look. “Who doesn't know your father's name?"

I can just imagine 11 scrunching up his face and giving the kids a strange look.

Your 11 sounds fantastic!!! T_T I can't believe how accurate he feels & reads. I mean! He even tells them that him meeting Harry is "Story for another time" that is just something he would say!!

"Mate, his name is Albus," said Scorpius. "Mine is Scorpius and my Dad's is Draco. We're used to weird names."
OMG!! HAHAHAHA!!! That has GOT to be the BEST line ever!!

This was a great chapter!!

And now, to bed! I shall review 2 more tomorrow after work!

--Rosie

Author's Response: Hello again!

Yay! This review made me so happy - I'm glad you enjoyed it and thought it was great!

I have so much fun writing the 11th Doctor. I have never been able to write any other Doctor. Only lucky number 11.

Can't wait to hear from you again, Rosie!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Remus Beginnings

14th June 2014:
Hello!! Perelandra here with your review swap!! :D I'm UBER excited to read this. I LOVE the Doctor (and hoping River might show up...dressed up in some '20s garments...) Downton and of course, Harry Potter. This is like the trinity for me! :D

I've only watched up to season 3 of Downton Abbey so if I don't know who some characters are, and start asking questions I'm sorry. XD

The first thing that jumped at me about this chapter is that Daisy, Mrs. Patmore and everyone from Downton felt very in character. I LOVE Daisy so it was great to see her here. I could picture her in my head rushing about in the kitchen.

Ah and then we have the Doctor! :D I have a question though...how did the screwdriver tell him that they knew Harry? I don't know if that's what it would've done...anyway! But it's your take on it! XD

Time for CC:

You're driving your story by dialogue. You started really strong with description at the beginning with the Next Gen kids and Daisy but as the chapter went on...there was a lot of dialogue. A lot of "he said" and "she said". It kinda gets a bit redundant and stale after a while. Adding description and more narrative will make your story flow a lot better.

Anyway! This is a good start!! I can't wait to see the kids reactions to the TARDIS and why exactly they're there! :D

--Rosie

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm so excited that you're excited! It makes me feel like I just got the idea for this story all over again!

Hmmm... You should be fine with this story. All you need to know is that Matthew has passed away.

Unfortuntaly, Daisy does not feature in this very much, besides here. I just wanted to show a snapshot of life at the Abbey.

As for that CC, I appreciate it. That's always something I've struggled with. I think I'm destined to be a playwright!

Thamks for the read and review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan Thomas's Observations, a Talk With Lady Mary, and Fred's Flirting

13th June 2014:
Hello! Ooh, this was a great chapter, and I loved reading all the interactions at this house party. Thomas is written really well, I love how you've focused on his desire to figure out the story behind everything, how he questions people's behaviour. Of course he would question the Doctor's presence there. I love how Carson is just like "yeah he's eccentric but just let him do what he will" haha.

I like how you explained Mary's travelling with the Doctor, too - it makes sense that she'd be willing to do something like that right after losing Matthew. :'(

Ooh, Fred flirting with Thomas ;) I am looking forward to seeing how that turns out! I hope it works out haha, just because I feel bad for them, especially Thomas in the 1920s when society wasn't as accepting - but then there's that whole problem of Fred being a wizard from the future, so I don't know how that would work out haha. Good chapter!

Author's Response: Thomas is quite the inquisitive character. He always has been from the get go!

Lady Mary would definitely be interested in traveling with the Doctor. Out of three sisters, she's always seemed like the most bold. Even more than Sybil at times, in my opinion.

I love Fred/Thomas. They're my OTP. Except not really... Probably Andromeda/Ted...

Thanks again for another AMAHZING review! You're a doll!


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan The Abbey

12th June 2014:
Ah, dress sense of the 1920s. They shouldn't have been complaining; it'd be loads of fun to dress up! I guess it must seem incredibly abnormal because not only are they Muggle clothes, but Muggle clothes fom decades past. Also wow, these five Hogwarts students better be good at keeping secrets because there's a lot that can't get out... they're wizards from the future.

Aw, Fred has a crush on the Doctor. I can certainly see why he was misled - the Doctor is very particular on his fashion isn't he.

Mary was a companion! Haha, brilliant. I would love to see how that went. I love that she greeted him by slapping him :p Leaving her in Scotland, indeed. I'd be angry too. You've got her style of speech down perfectly though! Nicely done with her characterisation. Oh and already the kids are pulling out their wands. Someone needs to remind them about this little thing called the Statute of Secrecy... :p Anyway, this was a fun chapter and I enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Hi again!

The students are in capable hands with the Doctor. He is able to keep an eye on them and make sure they're not using magic in front of the muggles (except Mary).

I love Fred so much. He really became the breakout character of this novella, in my opinion.

I'm glad I have Mary's characterization down pat. What I've been doing with her is, in my head, saying her lines in Michelle Dockery's voice to see what it sounds like.

The students forgot for a moment where they were and wanted to defend their new friend. Don't worry though, Mary's saw many things during her travels.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan The TARDIS

12th June 2014:
I'm back!

And... wizards are descended from Time Lords! Ah, brilliant. I can see this as a very plausible so nicely done.

I loved the bit about the weird names too, how they go to school learning about all these historical people with odd names like Barnabas the Barmy, and of course they themselves have odd names, so someone calling himself the Doctor they're just like 'ok, whatever.'

I must admit I'm curious why he has Harry's DNA though, haha.

And yes, the last two paragraphs are brilliant. The Doctor is kind of irresponsible. You write him really well and I could easily see him acting this way. So great. I'm excited for them all to get to England 1924 :D Great chapter!

Author's Response: Glad that it made sense. I thought it showed off Rose's intelligence too!

You get a weird name. You get a weird name. You all get weird names!

The Doctor is quite irresponsible :)

I hope you enjoy the next chapter. We finally get to see all three of the stories converging!

Thanks for the reviewing - you're the bomb!


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan Beginnings

11th June 2014:
Hello! I saw your status on the forums and then your review so I'm assuming it was meant to be a reply to my thing about a review swaps. And if not, here's a free review. Yay!

So first of all. Doctor Who, Downton Abbey, and HP crossover? As in, three of my favourite things ever? ARE WE THE SAME PERSON?? LIKE SERIOUSLY THIS IS BRILLIANT.

Ok, the first section. I don't have much to comment about for that, as it seems pretty standard next gen. I like that Fred has an ear piercing.

Second: I love the way you've written the general chaos of the Downton kitchens. You've gotten the character mannerisms really well too! Sometimes characters don't translate from the screen to the page but you have done a remarkable job of keeping their speech the same and pointing out details, like Ivy being exasperated when Daisy bumps into her. I don't like Ivy. :p The only thing that would be better is if Matthew and Sybil were in this too. But uh.. that's not your fault.

Third: the Doctor! Haha, you've characterised him to a T, yelling to himself as he spins around the TARDIS console. I love how the narrative voice of each of these sections is specific to the mood of that individual storyline (if I'm making sense) and it's especially obvious in this section with the Doctor. Pressing buttons wildly.. the TARDIS went wibbly, it's like the Doctor himself is narrating it in his own rather high-energy way.

So it sounds like he went specifically to find the students. I wonder why? How does the Doctor know of Harry Potter? Things I am excited to find out.

Well this is a fantastic intro, really cool idea, and yeah sorry this review is a little spazzy. :p I will totally be reading on in this story! Nice work. :)

Author's Response: Yes – I was aiming for the swap, but I should not be allowed near technology so I goofed. Glad it worked out in the end though!

MAYBE WE ARE THE SAME PERSON! I've always wanted to have a doppelgänger/clone.

I was really trying to go for a walk and talk feel that you would get in, say, "West Wing." The two shows have very similar walks that transition into other things. Hopefully that made sense.

And RIP Matthew and Sybil. Especially Sybil.

The Doctor is so much fun to write. He's such an interesting and eccentric character.

Complete coincidence that the Doctor met the children. However, the TARDIS always takes him to where he needs to be :)

And I loved this spazzy review! Helped entertain me on this rainy day where I have nothing to do!

Thanks much!


 Report Review

Review #12, by lindslo2012 The TARDIS

11th June 2014:
Hello there! Here for your requested review!!! :)
So you have a very, very unique story going here. I loved it from the beginning because it is something that I don't normally see in fics.
I love how you make the Doctor out to be, he seems so cool to be around and it's funny how he talks about their names. I think my personal favorite part about the name thing is when he said he needs to talk to the Weasleys about birth control. That made me literally laugh out loud.
I also like that you have included all of the children of the canon characters in here- I always like that in next generation fics when they mention all of them.
I thought it was funny when they questioned his sanity- I guess I would too because he is an odd man for sure but awesome at the same time!

I love what you have going with your story so far and I hope you stop back by to re-request!
Until next time,
-Lindsey

Author's Response: This is definitely a very unique story! That's what I was aiming at!

Who wouldn't want to hang out with the Doctor? He's amahzing!

Other children of canon characters will unfortunately not be present in this story, though as you mentioned there is a good number of them.

As fun as the Doctor is, he is slightly on the mad side.

Thanks for reviewing, I'll definitely be re requesting shortly!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Rumpelstiltskin Morphic Residue

2nd May 2014:
Plot/plot arch: A murder without physical harm to the body, and nothing to indicate poison. Except of course the morphic residue... everybody hates shapeshifters! To the future? How exciting!

Characterization: The Doctor's excitement about the dead body is wonderful. You continue to do a spectacular job with him; it's no wonder why people fall in love with him. I think I especially love his exclamation, "Plot twist!"

Notes/other: Give me a heads up when you update this, I'd like to continue reading it!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: And that's why you're supposed to keep an eye on Thomas! The Doctor would definitely want to help this young, troubled man and perhaps make him a better man.

Thanks for reviewing and putting up this challenge! It was a great idea and made me want to go watch "Castle" or "Psych."

Take care,
DoctorUnderwood


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rumpelstiltskin Interruptions at Dinner

2nd May 2014:
Plot/plot arch: Aha, we've come to a murder! You had a lot to do to bring the characters of three fandoms together in one realm, so I've been patiently waiting the moment! I have no idea who the murderer could possibly be yet, but that's okay...I'll learn soon enough!

Characterization: You've done a great job at handling the immense amount of characters, dealing with their canon, and making them individuals rather than faceless names in a crowd. For that, bravo! That was certainly a task.

Notes/other: I'm excited to see how this plays out!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Yes, the mystery begins! I'll give you a hint on who the murderer is: I hated her at first and now I love her so much!

I'm pleased that I've had good characterization. As I was writing, I realized what an endeavor I'd started and how hard it would be to give characters an actual personality.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Rumpelstiltskin Thomas's Observations, a Talk With Lady Mary, and Fred's Flirting

2nd May 2014:
Plot/plot arch: The subplot involving relationships is nice, in order to gain background and further connect with your characters. You really are doing a fantastic job at combining three different fandoms...I'm very impressed!

Characterization: Hooray for Thomas! ♥ I'm glad that you included him. Mary -- her warning about the Doctor should be well-heeded, in my opinion!!

Notes/other: Another great chapter!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Keep an eye on Thomas! He's a shifty fellow...

I see Mary as a Martha, or perhaps more of an Amy type companion. Had a little thing for the Doctor but realized that she didn't really love him.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Rumpelstiltskin The Abbey

1st May 2014:
Plot/plot arch: And so, all three fandoms come together, and merge together for that matter. Great job.

Characterization: I think it's particularly adorable that Fred has a crush on the Doctor. The Doctor's antics continue to amuse me. Mary's a spitfire, which is great.

Style: You have a particular skill at writing amusing dialogue...and I just love dialogue. Furthermore, you seem to be handling the three different dialects superbly!

Notes/other: You have a fantastic sense of humor. It seems that I don't go more than a few sentences without laughing :).

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Rumpelstiltskin The TARDIS

1st May 2014:
I'm sorry it's taking me so long to get through all of the reviews for the challenge! Nearly finished :).

Plot/plot arch: While this is focusing on character introduction, it was a bunch of fun to read. You did a great job at tying the DW realm into the HP realm, with the backgrounds on Time Lords and Magi.

Characterization: I love the Doctor! He's fabulous, you're doing a great job with him!

Notes/Other: On an adventure with the Doctor. Oh boy... :)

-Rumpel

Author's Response: No problem -- sorry it took me so long to respond to the review :)

Glad that I got the characterization down. To be honest though, I just write the 11th Doctor as if he is an extremely gifted and talented child.

Thanks for reviewng!


 Report Review

Review #18, by lovegoodlooney Beginnings

26th April 2014:
Oh my gosh this is amazing! I am a HUGE Harry Potter, Doctor Who and Downton Abbey fan so this is all amazing for me!I love how eccentric you portrayed the doctor, I can just picture Matt Smith running round the Tardis and especially saying 'Geronimo'!! Daisy, of course, running round the kitchens making various foods - I can just picture it all. All these worlds combined is simply perfection :)

Author's Response: Well I guess you're the target demographic aren't you?

The Doctor is definitely eccentric, I'd say...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Rumpelstiltskin Beginnings

13th April 2014:
I'm doing the first-chapter sweep of the challenge reviews (and I'll be back to review the rest of the story, ideally before the deadline, but definitely before winners are declared).

Plot/plot arch: What a lovely introduction! You've had a large task in combining three different fandoms, and introducing them thusly, but you managed spectacularly. While there is typically another section in my outlined designated for characterization, there is very little in this (as it is an introduction), so we'll exclude that for now. I do love the Doctor's line at the end though, “Hello people who have met Harry Potter before. How may I help you?” -- I thought that was perfect.

Detail: The detail, dialogue, and actions of the characters seem very appropriate for each of the three fandoms and different time eras. Furthermore, you've made it seem as if these three fandoms could belong together.

Style: I love the three different places at three different times set-up here. Obviously it's setting us up for the introductions of characters that will most likely be interacting with each other in the future.

Notes/other: This is a fantastic start! I'll be back to finish this another time! I can't wait to see what you've come up with for these characters! This seems like it has a ton of potential.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Very little characterization here -- esp. because I wasn't sure what direction I wanted to take it yet. I hadn't decided on which Downton Abbey characters to focus on so I just wanted to do a "walk and talk" type section.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Lululuna Interruptions at Dinner

21st March 2014:
Hi again! :)

Rose is great here! I liked how she chastised Fred from drinking, but had the solution to keep him from getting too drunk - that seemed like something Hermione might do as well.

I also really like how well you write the Doctor. I'm picture the 10th doctor right now as that the season I'm on but you bring him to life splendidly (how funny would it be if Albus suddenly realized... "hey, you look a lot like this Death Eater who impersonated Moody and tried to kill my dad!") :P. Are you picturing any specific Doctor or just his general essence? I can't remember if you mentioned it earlier or not. But I like how he sort of jumps into conversations and is very involved in everything. The mentions of the white paper he has and his excitement about getting started on the case felt very in character as well. And I liked the detail about why he can't return to Nazi Germany.

Poor Edith! I feel like that gets said quite often, but this is a very tough time in her life and you did a good job of hinting at that. Also how she's a little blunt and not as friendly as she could be to the others, that felt very in character.

The characters are wonderful - I do think the story could benefit from a little more description of the setting and the characters, though it does help that I've seen Downton so I can envision it that way. The story is moving along at a fast pace, but it doesn't feel rushed at all, which I quite like. I'm looking forward to the murder investigation as well - somehow I think there could be alien involvement but am curious to learn more.

Great chapter! :)

Author's Response: Yay! My #1 reviewer!

Rose is definitely her mother's daughter.

I'm trying to write the 11th Doctor here - I find him to be the easiest to write. You just pretend that you're writing a small child in a man's body who is capable of spectacular insight.

I needed a reason why the Doctor couldn't go rescue Michael Gregson. Because he would if he could. But Edith has to be mopey and depressed and mean cause let's face it, that's the best Edith! Keep an eye on her...

I agree that I need more details. Usually, I'm trying to get everything down before it leaves my head, I forget to detail what is going on.

As for alien involvement, I suggest you take a peek at the banner. There's a nice clue there!

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Lululuna Thomas's Observations, a Talk With Lady Mary, and Fred's Flirting

15th March 2014:
Hello! :)

Haha, I totally forgot about Thomas! :P Hmm, I wonder how he and Fred might get along in the future. That might be cute - Thomas is one of those characters whom I really love to hate, but he does have a lot of potential and is always interesting to watch or, in this case, read about. Fred's flirting made me laugh as well.

I liked the part about the Doctor coming down and telling the servants all these stories. That really captures his personality so well. And Shakespeare and the witches, I remember them! :P

It's interesting that Thomas is getting suspicious. Knowing him, he might try to use this information to get somebody else into trouble...

I liked the part with Mary as well, and how she's making an effort to bond with the girls. It was interesting to hear about how the Doctor was involved at Downton. I also liked how she felt incomplete after the Doctor left, like so many of his companions seem to. I'm very curious to find out more about why the Doctor is at Downton and what mischief everybody is going to get up to.

Great chapter! :)

Author's Response: Don't forget about Thomas! He'll play an important role in the story. He's actually one of my favorite Characters on Donwton Abbey. I sympathize with him so much.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by AshOwl25224 The Abbey

10th March 2014:
This story is basically the combination of my three favourite things! You have no idea how happy this make me! :)
Anyway, in case you haven't noticed yet,I really like your story. The idea is great, and I think you portray the characters really well!

Author's Response: Yay! Another review! I can't tell you how happy that makes me!

I'm glad I have the characters written well - something I struggle with.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Lululuna The Abbey

8th March 2014:
Hello again!

Oh, I like how Fred is gay and has a little crush on the doctor! That's a great little dynamic to introduce, since often the Doctor's companions do seem to fancy him. The beginning made me laugh as well with all the fuss about their clothes, and how the boys actually seemed fussier than the girls. Scorpius being held down to force on the shoes made me laugh. I can only imagine how reluctant he'd be if he had to wear heels!

So Mary was a companion as well? Very interesting, but I suppose that will help explain the Doctor and his friends to the rest of Downton. I liked how feisty she was with him, and how she was angry that he left and dropped her in the middle of Scotland. It was quite funny, and yes, I imagine very hard to explain!

Albus having a bit of a crush on Mary is funny as well, though if telephones already are in the Abbey then Mary is probably a little too old for him by now! I wonder if Matthew is going to be in this story?

This was another great chapter, I really enjoyed it! :)

Gry/Sly Blackout - Review 5/7

Author's Response: Yay! Another review!

Fred definitely has a crush on the Doctor, though I doubt he'll reciprocate. He's a little too old for him. However, I can tell you that Fred will have a nice romance ark in this novella.

Lady Mary was a companion of his and she explains the circumstances in the coming chapter (which is in the queue as I write). I needed something to connect the Doctor to the Abbey for the purposes of the story. I was originally going to make Sybil his companion because she seems the most Doctorish to me. However, I find it easiest to write when I have more free reign, ie after season 4. No Matthew!

Lady Mary is slightly too old for Albus, though he also will have a nice romance ark!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Lululuna The TARDIS

8th March 2014:
Hello! :) I just couldn't resist this when I saw it was a triple-crossover of three of my favourite things.

You captured the essence of the doctor really well in my opinion, how he's quite all over the place and very cheerful, and how quickly he gets to his companions. I liked how his speech about explaining what a Time Lord was fit into the magical world, and how he knew who all of the kids were. That fits quite well, as the Doctor does often know who prominent people are and it fits that Harry would be among them. I liked the mention of the sonic as well! And yes, the last two paragraphs were great! They made me smile, such a typical doctor move.

Rose was great here too when she talked about reading about Time Lords - she really is Hermione's daughter so that was a great detail. Also I really like the idea of wizards being descended from them, that was a good way of integrating the two fandoms. Fred being shocked about having distant alien blood was funny as well.

Another little detail I liked was how the Doctor was very sad and apologetic when Charlie said she was an orphan. Of course, having no family is something he could relate to.

I really enjoyed these first two chapters, and think this is such a creative idea. I'm curious to see where Downton Abby ties in. Well done!

Gry/Sly Blackout - Review 4/7

Author's Response: They are kind of a holy trinity aren't they? Downton Abbey, Doctor Who, and Harry Potter!

Phew! I'm glad I wrote the Doctor well - he's so hard to write. I don't know if I'll ever reveal how the Doctor has Harry's DNA... Probably not though!

I wanted to establish Rose to be the smart one and her knowing about Time Lords was definitely be the way to do it.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by lindslo2012 Beginnings

24th February 2014:
Hey there,
here for your requested review!
I think you have a very awesome start to what I am sure will be a very fun, fascinating story.
Congrats your's is the first crossover I have ever really read!
I liked the way you described all of the people in the scenes. I like how they are all walking on a beach and you described everything very well.
I think you are a very talented writer and I will be back to read more, so please re-request!
:D let me know if I missed some points in the review that you want me to improve on! Thanks! :D
Until next time,
-Linds

Author's Response: I'm glad the story checked out with you. Like Anne Bradstreet would say, this story is like my child!

Thank you for calling me a talented writer. It's always nice to feed my ego...

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>