Reading Reviews for About Saturday
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DracoFerret11 About Saturday

14th March 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the Valentine's Day Competition! :D Sorry it took so long...anyhow, let's go over things:

Spelling/Grammar: Only one error: "student cam striding in" where "cam" should be "came."

Plot: This was an interesting story! I liked the idea of Remus having a girlfriend and how his transformation would affect that. It must be very difficult to keep it a secret! You might want to work in ways he's had to get around her knowing. :) I liked the story overall, but I was a little confused about the ending. I'm going to read your partner's story next and that might clear things up, but it did confuse me a bit how this story seemed to cut off at the end.

Characterization: I think you did a great job characterizing all of the Marauders. I liked that Peter even got a line! I wonder, though, what it means by "James's 'phases.'" That was a bit too vague for me. And I'm not sure the emotional conversation between Sirius and Remus was believable, but I still think I liked it, if that makes sense.

Descriptions: I think it would have helped me get into the story better if I had had more details about how things looked, sounded, smelled, etc. so that I could experience this alongside the characters. :)

Overall, I think you did a good job. A few tweaks will help improve this even more! :) Good luck on the competition!

--Emily

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you for all this feedback SO, SO MUCH. This is amazingly helpful and constructive and just...thank you thank you thank you! I love this review!

-Karou

PS Thanks for the luck! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp About Saturday

7th March 2014:
Blackout Battle 7/15

So, I loved your characterisation of the marauders. I think you captured their personalities very well along with the relationships they shared with each other.
It was also sweet how Leanne and Remus cared for each other. They were pretty adorable and at the same time believable.
I also found that the way him being a werewolf weighed on Remus was very realistic. I felt for him.
I have barely seen Remus in a romantic context so I loved this. It made for a refreshing and nice read. Good job =)

AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Thank you for the awesome review!

-Karou


 Report Review

Review #3, by Rumpelstiltskin About Saturday

1st March 2014:
I'm here for Blackout Bingo!

It's awful that Remus has to lie about breaking his date, but it's completely understandable. He doesn't want Leanne to find out about his condition, because he's not sure that she can handle or accept that bit of information. However, his lying (if he gets caught) might lead her to suspect other things. Poor Remus.

Oh yeah, he's upset :(. Sirius seems to understand at least. He's also very right; there's nothing he can do about it, so there's no need to get worked up over it. Though, it's completely understandable that he DOES get worked up over it. It's kind of a big deal, after all. It would suck to have to miss out on so many things, keep coming up with so many lies.

Itching powder? Oh my gosh, I can't believe they did that to him!! Well, actually, they're the Marauders...I CAN believe that they did that to him!

Uh-oh, what happened the night before? Oh gosh, cliffhanger! I presume that the rest of this is on your partners end, isn't it? I'll have to read that soon!

Fantastic job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hi there!

Yes, Remus is in a bit of a tight spot. I feel sorry for him a lot, the poor boy.

He does get very upset about it. I mean, who wouldn't? I think I swapped Sirius's and Remus's positions here: Remus gets to have a bit of a strop and Sirius gets to be all serious.

(Couldn't resist :P)

[insert evil cackle here] I love cliffhangers! Well, I like writing them :P. You WILL have to read that!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

-Karou


 Report Review

Review #4, by ohmymerlin About Saturday

28th February 2014:
Hello!

ACK! I NEED TO READ ON BUT I MUST REVIEW FIRST!

This was so sweet! This is the first Remus story I've read from the Speed Dating Entries! Unless I've forgotten but I'm pretty sure you and manno's stories are the first Remus ones! Yay for Remus!

You wrote Remus so cutely! Is that even a word? Meh. I really loved how you wrote him and leaving the story on a cliffhanger was brilliant! That's also a first!

Anyway, I'm off to read manno's story! Great job on this! I really loved it! :)

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Yes I think we are the first Remus ones. It was manno's idea actually, I just agreed to it :).

I THINK cutely is a word. Well there's no dotty red line under it while I write this, so.

Thank you for the review!

-Karou


 Report Review

Review #5, by Maelody About Saturday

27th February 2014:
Oh, a cliffhanger! I'm so ready for this! Haha :D

To start off, can I just point out my favorite part of this whole story? The fact that you remembered to continually refer to his pain the closer the night came, and describe just what was happening. I loved that! Because I felt his distress and anguish! Great job!

Time-wise, I'm a tad confused. He is upset because he is changing on Valentines Day, but when he wakes up, it's Valentines Day. Has he not changed yet? Was that just the night before pain and hospital rest? Just a little confused :).

I don't know why, but it feels like Leanne is a popular name to hook Remus up with. Don't worry! It's not a bad thing! I really think it fits, and it's almost become somewhat very canon with me, so don't worry! :D

"You're not changing right now are you?" Haha, I can imagine Peter being worried about that. And it's interesting how growing a tail would be what hurts haha. I wonder why that is?

Uh-oh! Sirius compared himself to Remus? While I agree they both have their problems, I do think he inserted his foot in his mouth on that one lol.

So Leanne is mad, the Marauders did something and planned something mischievous for the night before, and Remus doesn't have a clue! What an awesome setup for the next story!

I thought this was written very well, and I LOVE Remus, so I was very happy to see this with him as the lead! And I really love how it plays off of the romantic theme, but we get to see how he feels effected by his problem to like someone. It's a unique approach, and you did a wonderful job writing it!

The story made me laugh and go "oh, he's gonna get it!" Once haha. It was very engaging, and I felt so bad for Remus right in the middle. The poor guy must think his friends deserve better than hanging out with him once a month.

This was very well done, and I loved reading it! Sorry if the review is short, but you left a sort of cliff hanger and I wanna find out what happened last night! Best of luck to the two of you!

~Mae

Author's Response: Hi! So I just wrote a response and then "an error occurred". This one may or may not be as good as the last one because I might forget which response I said what in. Sorry in advance.

You have a favourite part? You have no idea how happy that makes me. Thank you so much! I'm glad I wrote him well, I've never done the Marauders before.

I've gone back through the story and I can see how it reads like that, thanks for pointing it out. What happens is the moon is on the night of the 13th, and he needs to spend the 14th in bed resting, which is why he can't go out with Leanne. Sorry about that, I'll get it in an edit. :)

Really? I had no idea! We just randomly picked the name, it wasn't on purpose. Funny how that happens.

Maybe it's because we don't have tails already, so they need to be grown. Or maybe it's because it's useful to the author. I don't know :P

Sirius wasn't thinking at all there, was he? But then, when does he ever?

That's basically the gist of it! The next story will explain all (but you've probably read it by now ;)).

Aw, wow, thank you so much! I've been smiling the whole time I read this review. Thank you so, so much. And don't worry about length! Any review is a good review in my opinion, and this one was extra-good!

Thanks for the luck!

-Karou


 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore About Saturday

21st February 2014:
Hi!

This is the first of the entries that I've read so far that features Remus as the main character, and it made me smile that you've chosen to write about him because he definitely deserves a chance at some romance too!

Haha surely Remus should remember that a Fwooper needs to be Silenced once a month? It's not that far from his own condition :P

I really liked the way you wrote about Remus and Leanne, I could tell that they really cared for each other and her excitement about their date was really sweet. Do you picture them to be a couple or just starting a relationship? I felt really sorry for Remus as he was telling her that he couldn't make their date on Valentine's Day, because you showed how horrible it was for him to have to let Leanne down but also that he was scared of telling her the real reason. I think you developed his frustration with his condition well and that his self-loathing came across too.

The characterisation of the Marauders was great, the way that they all interact and understand each other. I think my favourite part has to be when Madam Pomfrey said about them putting itching powder in his sheets. That definitely sounds like something they'd do!

Oh no, what an ending! I worried when Remus said he wanted to be left alone that something might happen, so I wonder what Leanne will think and how she will react if she finds out what's really happened. I'm off to read your partner's entry now, good job!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Yeah, I feel like unless it's part of a Sirius/Remus story, Remus's love life is seriously overlooked, the poor boy.

Haha, you're not the first person to say that. I think he usually would remember all the answers, he's just a bit preoccupied at the moment.

We pictured them as just starting their relationship. That way it makes more sense to have what comes next... (No spoilers :P)

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!! This was such a nice review, you made me smile. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Akussa About Saturday

19th February 2014:
Hi!

First off, I really liked your characterisation of the Marauders. You really captured their personalities well and aside from Peter being a little too subdue in the group in my opinion, they were all great. I really liked their interactions and the relationships they had.

I also really liked the conversation between Leanne and Remus; they seem to care a lot for each other and Remus' secret seems very heavy for him to carry. I like that, it's easy to imagine how hard it must have been for him to lie all the time, especially to someone you want to be fully honest with in order to have a relationship with them.

All in all, a very enjoyable piece, congrats on making it in the speed dating!!!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you for reading and reviewing! It was quite hard to get it in on time, I almost didn't. You should go read Manno's part to see what happens next.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter About Saturday

18th February 2014:
Hey! I'm reviewing all of the speed dating entries and yours is next on my list :D

I just want to sat first off how much I adored the marauders in your story. You wrote them EXACTLY as I imagined they would have been at school. The friendship between them is so clear and there's just the right amount of rule-breaking and pranking without it being overdone. I especially loved this:
"Last month, you poured Itching Powder all over his sheets. He was writhing around in agony while you three were standing around laughing."-It's just so perfect it could be canon :D

I'm so happy that you chose Lupin to focus on for a marauders valentine's story, James/Lily would have been the first choice for most, or even Sirius and an OC, but Lupin deserves a little romance too! Well done to you and your partner for an original idea, I'm looking forward to reading the next part :D

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hey! People like you who go through entire lists and review every single story are absolutely amazing.

Aw, thanks.

Well, seeing as you can't write a werewolf story with James or Sirius, we went with Lupin. And now you've said this I'm wondering if there are any Peter romance stories around. Probably not, but maybe.

Thanks so much for the review! Manno's part is really good (even better than mine) so I don't think you'll be disappointed. :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by manno_malfoy About Saturday

17th February 2014:
HEY YOU! I thought I should come and give you a thorough breakdown of my thoughts since I read it yesterday while I was frustrated and stressed.

I love the Remus/Leanne scene in the common room, especially the whole 'once a month thing'. You should at least remember creatures that follow a schedule similar to yours, Moony!

James and his phases idea was really nice too and works out great here! I found it funny that all of Gryffindor knew of them too.

I loved the Hospital Wing scene too which was just perfect! Madame Pomfrey was just the right sort of reproachful and strict.

You made this quite funny and it's just awesome all over! Well done and here's another high five!

-Manno

Author's Response: HEY!!! I'm just glad it's all over now. That was pretty intense!

I was looking around the web for stuff that I could use as homework and I just came across that random fact on the Lexicon. Moony was just having a hard time, what with everything going on. It's no wonder he's forgetting things!

I figured that as a lot of their meetings would be in the CR, people would see them together and know about Prongs's obsession.

Thanks! That was the bit I was worried about - I wasn't sure if Madame P was still in character.

Thanks for the awesome review and high five!!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login