Reading Reviews for maybe, once.
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ravenclaw_princess maybe, once.

18th October 2014:
This was an interesting take on Barty/Reg but I liked it. It really showed Barty's vulnerability, hurt and anger. He knows the truth of where Reg's heart lies, and tries to get him to see if too, but is cast aside.
And Reg...he knows the truth too but is denying it for an 'easier' life where he will be accepted but is lying to himself about what he truly is. He comes across quite harsh, but it works like that, his anger at having to deny what he feels is being channeled onto Barty.
It was beautifully written and the emotion of the characters is really well done. I feel kind of sorry for Barty...which isn't something I ever thought I'd say. Well done.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ceres maybe, once.

28th July 2014:
Hello!
I really enjoyed reading your story. I had never thought of Barty/Regulus before, but you write the two of them together so wonderfully and naturally that I absolutely ship them now!

I could feel Barty's vulnerability throughout the whole chapter - and who has never felt this "ugly mix of hurt and jealous hatred" when spurned by a loved one? My favourite part was the change from Barty's wish not to see Regulus and his date to the scene watching them in the pub. Even though he tries convince himself that he doesn't care, he just can't help it. Regulus seems a bit more determined to pretend that he's not in love with him, but you can tell how much it must hurt him, too, by how softly he rejects Barty. Poor boys!
I loved that you included Barty's hatred for his father - it's a small detail, but it adds to the story a lot. And it's also nice how you come back to that feeling in the final sentence.
All in all, both Regulus and Barty feel very real and even though there's not much on them in the books, your characterisation completely fits my imagination of them. I like your writing a lot (I devoured House of Cards!) and I would love to read more on Barty and Regulus! :-)

The only (tiny tiny) thing that confused me was the first sentence: "his voice muffled by the pair of gloves he was holding in his mouth as his hands were full of thick, green wool" - why does he carry wool in his hands? Or did I just misunderstand (English is not my first language)? Sorry if I'm just too stupid!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for stopping by and I'm so glad you liked it! Slowly but surely, I am converting people to ship them :P

I'm so glad you liked Barty - he's definitely very hurt and very upset, but angry at the same time, and I wanted to try and make it real, you kno? So I'm glad it seemed to come across. Yeah, I liked writing the differences in what both of them thought and what they did; and it definitely hurts Regulus too! He knows he has to end it, but he doesn't want to hurt Barty. Kind of a catch-all type thing.

Barty's father... I felt I had to mention him somewhere, haha! He plays such a huge role in Barty's life, he had to come into it at some point, so I'm so glad you liked it! :)

Thank you so much! So you know, there's a House of Cards semi-sequel, which will feature more Barty/Regulus ;) If you wanna read it, that is!

Oh, sorry about that - it's not totally clear! It's coz this isn't very edited, so forgive me :P Barty's carrying a woollen scarf in his hands (or is supposed to be) but yeah, I'll go back and see if I can make it clearer! Thanks for pointing it out! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was such an honestly great surprise to get! :) Thank you!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Leonore maybe, once.

2nd June 2014:
Argh, how is it possible for anyone to write like this? Poor Barty. I thought at first that Regulus genuinely wasn't interested in Barty, and poor Barty was just struggling to accept that, but then when he's watching them in the Three Broomsticks it starts to become clear that for whatever reason they're together it's not love.

I suppose I'm not surprised at the Barty/Regulus ship because I read House of Cards (and loved it, yeah I know I have atrocious reviewing habits, plus I was choosing who to vote for for diadems so I couldn't really take the time to review... that's called making excuses...). It might seem an odd pairing but you write it so they just seem right together.

Urgh, stupid pure-blood expectations. They're so right together, but Regulus has to try and deny it because his parents would want him to have a suitable girlfriend. And Regulus, the good boy of the family, not necessarily because he wants to be but just because he feels he should.

This is why I don't review much - I just can't give objective reviews to amazing stories! How can all your detail be spot on, right the way through? And Barty, not cold and slightly crazy as he is in the books or really anything like you might expect a soon-to-be Death Eater to be, but a lively and innocent boy who's struggling to understand the need to fit into society and to live up to expectations - I suppose that does fit with him rebelling against his father later on. And the fact that he won't give up, despite all the signs that Regulus won't change his mind. He's convinced that kiss will change everything- but of course it doesn't. And hoping that Regulus will come back, when it's clear he won't.

Long review with with pretty much nothing in it... yep, that's about normal for me. So to sum it up in a sentence: I love everything in this story, and you are a ridiculously talented writer. Wow, it took me a lot of words to say that :p I blame maths for the current state of my brain.

10/10!

- Leonore

Author's Response: Hi Leonore! Thanks so much for dropping by! :)

Gah, thank you so much! Yeah, it would be a much nicer story, really, if Regulus simply wasn't interested! :(

Haha, yeah, they're definitely an odd little pairing, but I do love them, so... :P And thank you so much for reading House of Cards - no worries about reviewing, I'm an atrocious reviewer myself, so I can't really talk :P I'm so glad you like them, though - converting people to my little pairing is always nice :P

I loved the idea of expectations, simply because I think it's something most people have to live up to and it's surprisingly hard, particularly when you're being asked to deny a part of yourself, almost. So yeah, Regulus is giving in because he thinks he has to and he owes it to his family, but he doesn't want to and it's just incredibly sad.

Thank you so much! I'm so glad you like it - and Barty, because I know he's a much debated character, haha. And yeah, he's stronger in a way than Regulus, because he knows what he wants and he's happy to have it, whatever that means, but he wishes he didn't have to hide and things. It's equally sad, I think, just in a different way. And yes, he really wants Regulus to come back.

Technically, I should just say, this fits into the House of Cards world - though it would be after House of Cards, but before the semi-sequel... so... ;) Just saying. They could have got back together. Depends how much angst I want for Barty in the semi-sequel :P

Thank you so so much for this review - and especially for all the lovely compliments! I'm so glad you liked this and thank you again! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by LilyLou maybe, once.

12th March 2014:
Hi, here for the Ravenclaw Review Battle!

Wow. Wow oh wow oh wow. This was beautiful, marvelous, extraordinary... Words cannot describe this masterpiece! Oh wow!

First off, I'd like to say that this is a great interpretation of Barty Crouch Jr. I've never read one so amazing as this! Normally, I don't see one quite as in depth and full or love about Barty. I find him a cold character, normally, quite like how you wrote Reg. But the way you wrote Barty, with so much care and love and hurt! And in three days! Wow.

Reg was cold and dark in this story. I LOVE writing regulus, and I normally tend to write him more loving because of the idea that he was like Sirius. But the way you wrote him, afraid and denying Barty. Wow! I just love the way you wrote both of them!

The plot was amazing. You explained everything to us, just enough, to find this one shot filling and enjoyable. Honestly, I'm flabbergasted at the beauty!

Well done.

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hi there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

This was something really out of my comfort zone, since I'm not used to romance or really fond of it, so I'm so so glad you liked it! Thank you so so much for the wonderful compliments! :) :)

Thank you! I haven't seen him written very often, tbh, so for me it was kinda a fresh slate to work with, you know - and I used a lot of the way I wrote him in House of Cards, too, to base it, so that's sort of how he came about, really. But yeah, he's surprisingly emotive!

Gah, me too! :) Oddly enough, this is pretty much how I tend to write Regulus, haha - the antithesis of Sirius, in way. Strange, that! But I'm so happy you liked him - and yeah, he's scared and unsure and not strong or brave enough to really go after what he wants because it's 'abnormal' and all that... pretty sad.

Thank you so so much for this review - honestly, it just made my day when I got it and I still read it over because just... wow. I can't believe it! Thank you so much! :) :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by toomanycurls maybe, once.

7th March 2014:
RRT!!!

Reg/Barty!?! I feel like this could be a side story to House of Cards! (I totally ship them because of your story, btw)

I love Barty's eagerness at Regulus and think it's terribly sad that his feelings aren't requited. I mean, even if it's friends++ with some romance in the background, Reg just isn't there. AND HE HAS A DATE!?!?

Barty is just so dejected! I love your paragraph about them not being boyfriends. It's just so perfect and gives an exact setting for their relationship.

I'm kind of on the edge of my seat with Barty stalking Reg on his date. I could imagine Regulus just going through the motions so that he can make his parents happy. I'm worried about Barty as he's going through his jealous seething and thinking of how he'd kiss Regulus if given the chance (or if he could take the opportunity).

oh no! Reg kissed her!! I like that Regulus confronts Barty about following him. I love that Barty is laying it all out on the table and puts his heart on the line. THEN OH MY - HE KISSES HIM!!

That kiss was wow. I'd switch sig. others for that kiss. It's just so heart breaking that Regulus still refused to entertain a relationship with him. It's also so sad that Barty is content to be what Reg goes towards when he's bored. :(

Incredibly awesome!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hey Rose - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Haha, yeah, it really could be! (Technically, age-wise, it would be after House of Cards, but whatevs :P) Yay, I've converted you! :)

Yeah, it's really sad how he wants a proper date and Reg to be a proper boyfriend, but he refuses. It is, I think, a fairly romantic relationship, but Reg doesn't want it to be, if that makes sense?

Thank you! :) I wasn't totally sure about putting it in, but I wanted to emphasise the relationship aspect and how he wanted a date kinda fulfilled that, haha.

Haha, it's a little creepy, tbh! And yeah, Reg would definitely go through with the way things are supposed to go because it's expected, which I think is almost more upsetting, you know? He shouldn't have to... Barty's kinda on the edge, definitely - it's not the best state for him to be in!

Ooh, yeah, Reg kisses her... it's a very painful conversation for both of them, really. He kisses him! There's a surprisingly lot of kissing going on, haha... :P

Haha, I'm glad you liked it! I still find writing kissing scenes a little bit awkward, simply because I feel I have to get them right, you know? Strange, but true! ;) And yeah, it is really sad :(

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you liked it since romance isn't really my thing, but it was so much fun to write! Thank you! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by ohmymerlin maybe, once.

21st February 2014:
Hello!

This was absolutely amazing! I loved it so much!

I have never thought of Regulus and Barty being in love with each other but now that I've read this story, I can't picture it any other way!

You got their characterisations so well, it's hard to believe that this is a fanfiction!

I really loved this story! I loved Barty's voice and the way he was so jealous of the girl. You wrote this piece fantastically.

10/10 definitely!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks so much for stopping by! Good luck with the competition! :)

Yeah, it's a bit of a niche pairing :P It's something I really ship, though, haha, and I didn't really expect to end up writing it but my partner was so enthusiastic and had so many great ideas around it that it just... happened! :) Glad I've converted you to the pairing, though ;)

I'm so glad you like their characterisations! I didn't want it to be cliche or anything, but to build them up as real, complicated people in a very difficult situation, so thanks!

Haha, he's really jealous, lol. Really jealous. It's a wonder he didn't curse her, tbh...

Thank you so so much for this lovely review! I'm so glad you liked it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heaven maybe, once.

19th February 2014:
Hello! Here on my Speed Dating review spree :)

I don't usually read slash, but I was pleasantly surprised at this story. A well-written story is a well-written story no matter the pairing, and that was so true for this one.

Ah! Poor Barty! His heartache is so real! I felt so much sympathy for him :( All he wants is to be with the one person he loves. He doesn't mind that they'll have to hide their relationship and that their families would never approve - actually, I think the last point is probably a bonus in Barty's eyes.

Young love (or any kind, I think) is so painful. They've been dancing around each for a while now and Regulus is saying one thing, but doing something else, and that's bound to be so confusing. Good on Barty for holding onto his hope that this situation can be resolved in a positive way. I hope that's the case as well - onto the next chapter/story!

Author's Response: Hi there - good luck with your Speed Dating review spree! I'm so impressed by you guys, going round reviewing everything... I don't know how you do it! :)

I'm glad you liked it - I know slash isn't a common thing, and this is hardly even a common slash pairing, so it was always a sort of odd pairing to choose, and I only really have myself to blame for that one, haha.

Yeah, the fact that his father wouldn't approve is very much a plus point in terms of everything he does, lol! But yeah - hiding their relationship is something that he's willing to do and go through with, just to actually be able to have a relationship - which, really, is both very brave and very sad, you know? It's not really how it should be, but... it's difficult. :(

It is incredibly painful! Particularly when you know - because Barty, I think, really does know, he just doesn't want to think that because he's determined, but Regulus isn't willing to take the chance that somehow people find out - that it doesn't really work that way. They have been dancing around a lot, fear of confronting the eventuality and the harsh reality that they can't be open with it and all, and it is really tough. Eh, I wouldn't hold out that much hope for them, unfortunately! :(

Thank you so much for the wonderful review - it was such a great surprise to get! :) Good luck in the competition!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by Maelody maybe, once.

18th February 2014:
I love how you and your partner did a slash pairing! And an uncommon one at that! In fact, I'm very much so in love with Bartulus now! Never have I even heard of this ship and here you are making my heart break for Barty and pout for him at the idea of how Regulus can't shine his true colors.

I loved the bit where Barty says he didn't mean to follow them, but in all reality, he just sort of stalked Reggie haha. Though the couldn't wouldn't shouldn't theme was absolutely amazing! His inner thoughts on what was right and wrong to other people and his life as a gay man, his life with Regulus being a gay man. It's heartbreaking really.

I like that the story speaks for itself in a way that we know something happened between both boys, but we don't necessarily have to be shown or told to know about it. Your writing talent soared past that and we were able to focus on the present, and how Barty longed to be the girl Regulus had. Heck, we don't even need to know who the girl is, because, as Barty would say, she doesn't even matter.

I really love this, and I think that you and your partner not only came up with a beautiful, bittersweet idea, but a delightful daring one. We know some people read slash pairings, but not everyone does, but that's not what this challenge is about. It's about love, and Barty does just that. He loves Regulus.

This is absolutely wonderful, and I now ship a whole new couple! I'm going to check out your partner's entry now! The best of luck to both of you! :D

~Mae

Author's Response: Hey, thanks so much for stopping by! This was an amazing thing to get randomly - it genuinely made my day, made me smile so much so thank you for that! :)

I'm glad you like it - and that I've converted you! ;) I will convert you all! *ahem* But yeah, it is a really sad, upsetting pairing - part of why I love them so much, really!

Yeah, he did kinda stalk him, haha - but it wasn't intentional, which has to count for something, right? :P It is really heartbreaking and I liked being able to sort of explore a world where things aren't accepted and where he knows that and just sort of goes along with it, even though he wishes he didn't have to. It is really sad, mostly I think because it's such a real situation for so many people...

Gah, thank you so much! I tried not to tell their relationship in a way, but let it come through in the way Barty thinks about him - kinda again the forbidden aspect, you know? so I'm so glad you liked it and it seemed to work! Eh, the girl's name kinda isn't mentioned because Barty doesn't care... :P But I love your interpretation of it! :)

Ga, thank you so so much for this - it's just lovely and so deep and thoughtful and just amazing, really! I'm so glad you liked it and so happy to have converted you, haha, and thank you so much for the wonderful review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotter maybe, once.

17th February 2014:
Hello, I'm on a mission to review all of the speed dating entries and your story is next on my list :)

This is the first time I've read a Regulus/anyone fic and Barty jnr is the last person I'd put him with but after reading your story I can totally see it. I love how sensitively you handled the obvious predjudices from the high society wizard types and find it really believable that a relationship between Barty and Regulus would have been frowned upon.

I really liked how well you portrayed Regulus' heartbreak at the idea of Barty being with a girl, all the while telling the reader that Regulus knows they could never be together properly anyway.

Their kiss scene was completely perfect, there was a great sense of passion and forbidden love in it and fit their non-relationsip really well.

I also loved the repeated use of the wouldn't shouldn't couldn't throughout, again reinforcing the idea that their love was forbidden.

Looking forward to reading your partners story to go with this, good job!

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by! I'm amazed by you reviewing all the entries - congratulations and good luck! It's mindblowing...

Yeah, it's not a main or popular pairing, but honestly, I really like them together. I think they complement each other well, but that might just be me. Unfortunately, yeah, I can't see a relationship between them being celebrated, you know? It's incredibly sad...

Thanks! :) I'm glad you liked it - I wanted to play a lot on the 'hope' aspect of it, and more the potential, rather than anything else.

Thank you again! :) It was something of a focus point for the whole one-shot, haha, one of the first ideas we had.

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was such a great surprise to get, and really too complimentary! :) Thank you again and good luck with your reviewing!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by Lululuna maybe, once.

17th February 2014:
Hello! :)

Ah, I really loved this so much! I remember seeing Reg/Barty hints in House of Cards and I love how you've explored it further - I think I'm going to start shipping it from now on since this is so convincing. You wrote the forbidden romance so well and it was very heartbreaking, I wish they could have been together and been there for one another, and then maybe things could have turned out differently. The descriptions of Barty imagining how his date with Reg could have turned out were really lovely.

He felt dazed, winded almost, his mind strangely blank. I thought this was a really great description of the simplicity of his shock and anger. You wrote his emotions in such a real and relatable way.

I feel so sad for Barty being alone here, for not having anybody to support him and to understand. His emotions at seeing the kiss between Regulus and the girl and his ensuing rage... it's not fair he can't talk to anybody about it. I also think you did a good job of hinting at the future Barty, it reminds me of how he explodes with excitement and anger at the end of GoF. I liked his anger at his father too and how he clearly resents him and the impact his father has on his life. I definitely cannot see the strict Barty Sr. being accepting of a gay son, sadly. :(

He could feel Regulus' warm body pressing against his, taste the ginger tang of Butterbeer on his tongue, I thought this was such a great detail since it was mentioned earlier that Regulus didn't like Butterbeer. So it's as if in conforming by going on a date with the girl, Regulus drinks something he doesn't like just as he's dating a person he doesn't like. I might be reading too much into this but it was a really wonderful little subtle message. :) The kiss was written beautiful as well. I especially loved this line:

(because she'd never kiss him like that, could never kiss him like that, should never kiss him like that). It was just so beautiful and sad and ahghh. ♥

The ending was just so heartbreaking, but not surprising. :( I really loved reading this and the insight you put into the characters and their relationship and Barty's adoring fascination with Regulus. It was so sad and lovely. Well done, I'm off to read your partner's story now! :)

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by - this was such a great thing to get and so unexpectedly too! :)

Yeah, this is one of the small, relatively unknown pairings I just love so much and can't really explain it (though my undying hatred of OC stories might have something to do with it...) hence the hints in House of Cards, and then this. I'm just so grateful to my partner for letting me do this, haha! I'm so glad you liked it, and if I've converted you I definitely consider that a success! :D

Thanks! :) I wanted to go more for shocked, like a complete loss of emotion and reaction, rather than full-out anger, because he is such an emotive character, I thought it would be stranger for him to almost not-react, in a way, if that makes any sense at all.

I know! He has a really bad hand in this... it is pretty unfair! It's bad for both of them because they both can't talk to anyone about it, they just have to get on with it and act like nothing's wrong because no one knows and no one can know. It's such a sad thing, and so horrible to contemplate. Yeah, neither can I! I don't think Barty Sr would have been happy that Jr was even friends with Regulus, let alone more! :(

:D :D I think that's one of something like two minor details which are different between our two stories, haha. But yes, I did kinda want to show Regulus' conformity - so I'm so happy you picked up on it since it was definitely intentional (for once!)!

THank you so so much! I'm so glad you liked it - it's not the usual sort of thing I write, so I did find it a lot of a challenge - so it makes it so much better to hear that so thank you so much! :) :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by MidnightBlue_x maybe, once.

17th February 2014:
When I saw you were doing the speed dating as well, I was so excited because it meant I could read more of your stuff. I totally did not expect Barty/Reg, but I love this so much! This is like my head canon for House of Cards, at least where Barty and Reg are concerned.

But yes, I love this piece so so much. And I'm incredibly jealous of your ability to write Barty and Reg so well. Good luck with your entry!!

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thanks so much! I was so excited to do it, too - particularly since so many good writers signed up for it!

Haha, ah, I love Barty/Reg as well - they're not necessarily a mainstream couple, as such, but they're so sweet and I really do ship them ;) As for House of Cards, ah, well, I do ship them, though that's all I can say! :) (But, theoretically, if this were to be linked to HoC, this would be afterwards, timeline-wise. Just sayin'!)

I'm so glad you liked it - I know it's a bit of a weird pairing and perhaps not the most usual idea for a Valentine's one-shot, haha, so it's so lovely to hear!

And it was doubly great that this was so unexpected - thank you so so much for this! :D

Aph xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login