Reading Reviews for Sapere Aude-Speed Dating Entry
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by academica Prudentia

14th March 2014:
Hello, here from the B vs. B review battle :)

This was an interesting look at the organization of the Founders. Do I sense a spark of potential romance between Salazar and Rowena? I admit that I was a little surprised a simple look could change her hardened opinion about him, but hopefully he turned out to be a bit kinder to her than expected, at least before his betrayal.

I also liked the way you portrayed the relationship between Rowena and her maid. Although she seemed a bit proud and haughty to everyone else, it seemed like they knew each other for a long time and got along well, and it was nice to see Rowena take her maid's advice despite their differing stations in life.

Good job with this!

-Amanda

Author's Response: *a month and five days later* Hola!! :D

This was written for the Speed Dating Challenge over Valentine's Day weekend, and as it turns out, neither my partner, Rumpelstiltskin, nor I are very comfortable with writing overt and steamy romance scenes. Still, we felt that there should be a tad bit of romance, hence the "changing minds at first sight" bit. It's a little bit cheesy, I agree, and I think that it could be a bit less so if the romance was played out over a longer story arc. :)

Even smart girls have downfalls, and Rowena's pride definitely gets her goat sometimes. But her maid gives really good advice and provides a balance for her temper (a temper that I imagine her to have, anyways). They've been around each other for a while, and Rowena would only consider it logical to follow good advice, whether given by a subordinate or a superior.

Thank you so very much! :D

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #2, by DracoFerret11 Prudentia

13th March 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the Valentine's Day Competition! :D Sorry it took so long...anyhow, let's go over things:

Plot: This was a nice story! I liked that I could see how it tied in with your partner's story, as well. Good job! As I told Rumple, I loved that you both chose to write about the moment when the Founders met up to form Hogwarts. Interesting choice!

Characterization: Good job writing for each of the distinct characters. I thought it was interesting that Rowena was so close to her servants. That was unexpected. The ending seemed a little odd on this story, though. I thought Salazar actually WOULD look at her condescendingly since he actually DOES look down on her. Hmmm.

Descriptions: I loved the details you provided about how Rowena and her home looked! Great job! It was so nice to be able to get into the story and experience it.

Style: As with Rumple's story, you did a great job with the style of a Founders' story. You captured the language and mannerisms wonderfully and I really enjoyed reading this.

Overall, great job! Good luck in the competition.

--Emily

Author's Response: Hello! I'm sorry that it's taken... Over TWO months for me to respond to this lovely review!

Thank you so much! When we were talking it over, we thought it would be cool to write slightly differing perspectives of the first meeting of the Founders. It's kind of awesome because she's a Slytherin and I'm a Ravenclaw. :)

Rowena definitely acts different from how one would expect a medieval lady to act. Perhaps I wrote a bit anachronistically... Whoops, sorry not sorry. :) I see Rowena as forward-thinking, and if she hears logic coming from the mouth of someone below her station, she's going to listen to them. Again, perhaps a little TOO anachronistic, but that's just the way it turned out. :D Also, the "look" at the end... Yeah, that was a little quick. It's hard for me to do romance, especially in a one-shot! D:

Thank you so, so much for your review. I'm so glad you liked my story! :)

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #3, by HEG Prudentia

24th February 2014:
Amazing. Good plot, description and characters. This should be a good contender for the competition! :)
HEG

Author's Response: Thank you for your review!! I truly hope that you enjoyed my story! :)

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #4, by ohmymerlin Prudentia

22nd February 2014:
Hello!

This was so cute! I love how similar Rowena and Salazar are - I've just read Rumpel's version - and how they both judged a book by its cover, ahaha! Definitely meant to be! ;)

The last part about the green and blue eyes meeting was really sweet and I loved how similar it was to Rumpel's!

I really loved your piece, and I loved how well it matched up with Rumpel's! It was really quite spectacular :3

10/10

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for your review!!

Oh yes, Slytherin and Ravenclaw are not so dissimilar as they'd like to think! I believe that they'll learn that as they collaborate to start Hogwarts!!

Yeah, Rumpel and I threw that in to really connect the endings of our stories. I'm pretty pleased with the way it turned out in both hers and mine!

Thank you very much!!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #5, by Maelody Prudentia

19th February 2014:
How cute that they changed their minds about one another in the same moment. And to think, you described Salazar as having bright, kind eyes! That's not something you read everyday! Though, I was really hoping to see an actual progression past that point into a possible relationship haha. Though maybe you two can collab again someday and continue? ;)

Like I told Rumpel, you two make me insanely jealous that you can write this era. I can't, so I don't normally read it, but this was a great. To see a proud woman, upset about men in the world, against the proud man, who believes women have their place. It was an interesting case.

Her man servant haha. I can never take that term seriously! XD though her lady maid was cool. The way she talked to her showed a good relationship between Rowena and her servant and that she can get personal with them. Telling milady that she never went by rumors alone, and Rowena listening, shows a thoughtful side if her and gives us just a little more background.

One of my favorite parts though was when she listed where everyone was from. Them simply not being only from England was awesome! It gives a little more light on their backgrounds for the time period than what is all written down. I appreciate that!

A wonderful story and collaboration all around! I wish you both the best if luck!

~Mae

Author's Response: Hello!! Thank you so much for your review!! I'm sorry that I'm so late in responding.

Yes, I was quite surprised that I described Salazar with bright, kind eyes, too, but it felt right in the context of the story--we had to put some love in it, after all! :) Arrgghhh, the fact that the one-shot had to be under a certain amount of words was a bit frustrating, because I would LOVE to write more about their relationship!! If Rumpel's up for it, I would love to collab again one day, but alas! Life is so busy!

Awww, don't be jealous!! I feel the same way about Marauders era--mad respect for people who can do it! I don't always read or write Founders, but lately I've been thinking a lot about it. I would like to see more of it! I would like to think that Rowena was somewhat progressive for her time: she ruled in the midst of men who thought she was good for nothing but looking pretty and having children. So I wanted her to really break out of that mold. :)

Man-servant... Haha, yes, it is a pretty funny term. :D Rowena is wise, so it seemed fitting for her to listen to other people's wisdom! In my imagination, she is not rude to people who are below her station, because she realizes that all people are worthy of courtesy.

I am in love with the idea that the Founders came from all different places! It makes the idea of them coming together to create Hogwarts just that much more interesting.

Thank you so very much!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lululuna Prudentia

18th February 2014:
Hello! :) I've just come from Rumpel's story, and love how you guys have coordinated and linked the stories together. You're both very clear writers with that touch of humour and these stories blended just perfectly. (Also, did you know that your stories are 'Recommended' at the bottom of one another's in the 'Other Similar stories' section? So perfect!)

I like how you began this, talking about where Rowena lives and what the surrounding villagers think of her. It's pretty awesome how unconventional Rowena is and how she doesn't care that people disapprove. The explanation of how she has a daughter and is a widow, and therefore free to fancy Salazar without scandal, was a great little detail, and I liked the mention of the diadem.

so skilled was she that any man who offended her might awake the next morning to find himself inhabiting the body of a toad. Haha, this is so awesome. I loved the reference to it later on by her maid as well. And I don't blame her for not wanting to ride sidesaddle.

Are you not happy that a man is finally acknowledging that I really liked this as well, and how it shows that she does resent not having the respect and approval of the wizards. I like how you portrayed her as very confident and rather self-aware, showing how she does desire being appreciated. As she deserves to be!

I loved the ending, and how they both have that moment of realization! It's just adorable. You guys did a lovely job, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your stories. Well done! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Nearly a month later, here I am to answer your review!

Awww, our stories are Recommended on each other's stories?! That's awesome!! :D

I really had fun working with her on the plot and the linkages between the stories. I am so glad that you thought I had a "touch of humour!" I'm generally not a very humorous person... Or at least, I don't think I am. However, this story was a good chance to try out a style that was a bit lighter than my normal style. :)

I hail from Ravenclaw House, so I wanted to characterize Rowena in the best way that I possibly could. She seems like she would be a more independent-minded person than the situation of her time period would allow, but she doesn't allow that to stop her. And yes, there will be no cheating on husbands for Rowena!! I think that having a husband was more of a necessity for her than anything, and when he died, she could do as she wished.

Hahahaha, that line about the toad is an example of the randomness of my brain. Sometimes I'll start typing, and then something weird comes out. I do think that she would turn someone into a toad if she were provoked, though. :D

Yeah, Rowena knows that she's intelligent, and she doesn't want the world to tell her that she can't use her intelligence. It's okay that she has the estate to herself, but she WOULD like some appreciation and maybe some admiration, darn it! :)

Thank you so very much for your review!! It made my day when I received it, and it made my day to read it once again.

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter Prudentia

18th February 2014:
Hey! I just came from reading Rumpel's half of your entry and thoroughly enjoyed it, as I did with yours!

As with Rumpel's, I adored the use of the archaic language, it made the story feel so real. Your description is really lovely too, I particularly liked your opening chapter about the Muggles seeing flashes of spells from the castle.

Rowena's character is superb, I like that she is a bit rebellious and doesn't always behave like a lady should. The reference to her wearing the diadem was a nice touch too.

What I loved most about yours and Rumpel's entry was the continuation between the two, the language and writing style were so similar they could have been written by one person, the use of the similar lines to end with and the fact that both Salazar and Rowena both had misconceptions of each other from what they had heard.

Excellent one-shot, consider me a fan of RumpelStar57!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hello! I am so sorry that I haven't responded to your review until now!!

Thank you so very much for reading and enjoying my story!! :)

I particularly love archaic language, so writing a Founders era was a good excuse to use those old phrases and words. Awww, thank you so much! I'm glad that you liked my descriptions.

I wanted Ravenclaw to be a feministic character before feminists were cool (so, like a hipster, I guess!). She definitely doesn't want to be told what she can and can't do! And in the name of wisdom, the diadem is on her head most of the time.

I really loved working with Rumpel because it was so easy to match up our writing styles! She actually wrote her chapter first, so I tried to mimic the things that she was doing in it, while staying true to my own voice at the same time. And we sort of hybridized the ending, so that some of the things in my chapter ended up in hers and vice versa. The Speed Dating Challenge was an awesome thing to participate in!

Thank you so very much! I too am a fan of RumpelStar57. :)

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #8, by Rumpelstiltskin Prudentia

16th February 2014:
Hey partner!

So, I made a vow to review everything that I've ever read...so here I am!

I think that you did a fantastic job, complete with frolicking dogs!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hello!!!

Oh my goodness, I've been so terrible about responding to reviews lately... Please forgive me!! :)

But anyways, thanks for the review, and thanks for collaborating with me!! I really need to go and review your story now... It seems like we wrote them only yesterday, but it's actually nearing the one-month mark! Yikes!!

RumpelStar57, for the win!!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login