Reading Reviews for Just a Little
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Just a Little

20th June 2014:
Words cannot describe how much I absolutely love when James and Lily are locked in a cupboard, or when she's angry with him. I just know that I'm going to love this so much!!

I love that James has imagined being locked in a broom cupboard with Lily. :P

Haha yes! I knew that one of the Marauders had to be involved in this and of course it was Sirius. :D

Haha I love that her face is a fetching shade of I'm-going-to-kill-you-Potter. :D Haha that must be quite angry!

And he's just there thinking about how to get her to think his IQ is high! Brilliant!

Ahhh! He's thinking of marriage and naming their son Harry because of a Muggle magician! That's hilarious!!

Poor Sirius, being attacked by Lily, but he totally deserved it.

Awww Sirius didn't know that they snogged the night before, no wonder he looked like a jilted boyfriend.

I can honestly say that I wasn't expecting that ending. I thought that they were just on a prefect round. I'm so happy that they went on a date though. :D

Another brilliant one shot!

Author's Response: Ah! Another lover of cliches! I just adore writing James and Lily in all these over-used situations! There's a reason why they're so popular - broom cupboards bring people together!

James is so head-over-heels in love, I'm amazed he can't see his shoes as he's tumbling down!

And who else but Sirius would come up with such a ridiculous plan? ;P

Lily is so angry! And all he wants is for her to think he's intelligent!

James needs to control his daydreams, but it is rather cute, isn't it? :P

Sirius always deserves being attacked - he does very silly things, even though he only ever has the best of intentions!

And I loved writing Sirius and James' relationship like that! I feel as if their epic bromance would not allow anything less.

Yes! An actual date! Even I was happy! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! Your reviews have made my day :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16 Just a Little

13th April 2014:
Aww, this was very cute. I enjoyed reading a story where Lily had sort of already given in to James but still retains her fiery personality. And I like how she was ballsy enough to just come out and say it too after finding out that James' hadn't. And I hope that means good things for them. I think I may have to go check out your friend's story to find out.

Also, this story was very well written and I didn't notice any mistakes or mistypes while reading. So, great job on this!

xxEE16

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. I was in a ridiculously good mood writing this story. It was too much fun! I wanted to explore the dynamic of their relationship at that point. And it definitely means good things for them! You should definitely check out Withering! It's an amazing story by an amazing author.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by 1917farmgirl Just a Little

17th March 2014:
Oh my goodness, that was hilarious! Seriously, SO WELL WRITTEN!

I absolutely loved it! You has such a gift for writing dialogue, do you know that? The snappy comebacks, the way your words played off of one another. Yes, I'm feeling very, very jealous here!

I usually avoid "Locked in the Broom closet" fics like the plague, but this was so unexpected and...I just can't figure out how to tell you how much I loved it. I wish I could quote the whole fic back to you, and after each line say "And this was my favorite line." :)

One thing that really made this stand out was the inclusion of little, everyday details that grounded your off the wall conversation in reality. The window cleaner, and James wondering how it could be tall enough to dig him in the back. The extra sturdy door from the middle ages. Naming their first son have the magician! (BRILLANT!)

You write James with such a sarcastic, tongue in cheek attitude! I loved it. I can handle James like that. And Lily gave just as good.

Loved turning the tables on Sirius, and that for once James was innocent, and Sirius was wrong. hehehe.

Brilliant fic! I will be back to read more of your stories, that's for sure.

- Farmgirl

Blackout Battle round 3 review 10/20.

Author's Response: *blushes* I'm glad you liked it!

Aww! Thank you so much! I don't usually have trouble writing dialogue, but I did in this story, so I was worried about how natural it would sound. There's nothing more annoying than unnatural dialogue!

I love writing cliches. And I chose to write this one because it's been done so often before. I wanted to offer something that might not have been seen before, but was still familiar ground - which is what I like to read when I come across a cliche. It was an overt, and somewhat risky, choice and I'm glad you think it worked!

Ah! You liked my attempt at writing description! I'm so pleased! I suck at writing description, so this was about as close as I was ever going to get. And I couldn't help include my headcanon that Harry was named after Harry Houdini!

Poor Sirius always gets a lot of grief in my fics! Would you be surprised to know that he's my favourite character? I just love surprising him and throwing his world view all helter-skelter! He always bounces back though...

Thanks so much for this fantabulous review! Seriously squeeing right now!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Rumpelstiltskin Just a Little

14th March 2014:
Hey there :D.

I'm doing a little pre-read of your story so that I can review your partner's for the Blackout! You also get to check out my new and improved review system (to keep Rumpel's ramblings in order). I borrowed it from DarkRose :D.

Plot: This was adorable! Between the underlying date that occurred the previous night and their current situation of being locked in a broom cupboard, I was laughing. I almost feel bad for James, because he really does mean well, and he really does love her, despite her...scariness. I'm just very glad that, at the end, she reveals the date and it's, er, contents to Sirius. Finally is right.

Characterization: I think you did a great job. I can see Sirius locking Lily and James in a broom cupboard to speed up the "courtship" process. James is hopelessly in love with Lily, and I love his foolishness. Lily has a hot-temper, though it seems (in some parts) that she's more or less confused or reluctant to admit her feelings. I think that all three characters were done wonderfully.

Detail: While all of the details are small, they add up to create the entire picture. Between fiery tendrils, foot tapping, a window wiper, and ancient hunks of wood (and everything in between), I think you've nailed it.

Emotion: While the characters may not have been experiencing humor, I certainly was. The situation they were in (trapped in a broom cupboard, thanks to Sirius) was pretty funny, but I think I was laughing the most at James. Lily's anger and James...gosh, I don't even know what to call that other than lovestruck-ness... did shine through, but it was all hinted with humor.

Other/Notes (--the place where I can ramble): Canoodling is a fantastic word.

Great job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: WITHERING IS AMAZING AND I CRY EVERY TIME I THINK ABOUT IT BECAUSE UNWRITTEN CURSE IS JUST SO AMAZING.

... At least she knows I'm a crazy fan girl :P

Plot: It was nice not writing with a real plot for a change. I haven't done it in a while (how long has it been since I updated LaHoF? I'm too scared to check). This story is basically James obsessing over Lily and Lily surprising everyone with her feelings for James.

Characterisation: I must admit, I cheated a little. I borrowed Sirius from Like a House on Fire. He does crazy things in that story, too. And James is just an incredible dork and I love that about him. It's hard to resist people who are so genuinely and sincerely enthusiastic! And Lily... Well, I think I borrowed her from Like a House on Fire, too... Talk about character diversity - or lack thereof :P

Detail: I've figured out that including little things is basically the only way I'll ever write description well and naturally. I'm oddly comfortable with that. I'm glad you liked them!

Emotion: The situation lends itself well to humour. The cliche location helps. A lot. And James and Sirius are irresistible ;) Guess who has a possible writer crush on her characters?

Other/Notes: Indeed, canoodle is a fantastic word and should be used more often.

PS: This is a great reviewing style!


 Report Review

Review #5, by maraudertimes Just a Little

13th March 2014:
Hi!

Well goodness, I can't stop smiling. I utterly adored this and I think you absolutely nailed romantical Valentine's Day love joujou in this one-shot. And by that I mean it's so full of squishy lovey-dovey fluff that it seems like Valentine's Day ate Cupid and then threw him up on this one-shot. And I mean that in the best way possible. :)

I think your characterization of both James and Lily were spot on, not to mention Sirius, and I loved the little details, such as James knowing all of Lily's habits (yes, that's slightly creepy), Sirius doing something like locking them in a broom cupboard, Lily thinking James was at fault (there's not much to base a James-is-innocent theory off of). Everything was just perfect.

And then to find out they went on a date? Oh that was just the cherry on top of the whipped cream! And they snogged! And Lily admitted it! Side note: I absolutely loved the little thing where James mentally asks her if they can name their son after the muggle magician. Goodness, this was just so full of warm squishy moments and I can't stop smiling! :)

Great job, this absolutely made me happy and I think perfectly captured the essence of Valentine's Day! I have to go read Withering ASAP because I absolutely need this to continue, but great job! Kudos! All the little cinnamon hearts go to you (and some to Sirius because none of this would have happened without him!).

Great job!
Lo :)

Gryffindor vs Slytherin Blackout Battle Round 3 Review 1/20

Author's Response: Okay, so it's taken me a really long time to reply to these reviews, but I'm pretty sure that you have now read everything I've ever written on this site, and that's incredibly flattering and I just didn't know how to deal with all these warm and fuzzy feelings!

I haven't written pure fluff in a while and it was oddly liberating not having to worry about an actual plot for the first time in a long time! I'm glad that you enjoyed it and it left you with all these squishy feelings - I felt pretty squishy when I was writing this!

There wasn't really much time to develop characters, so I relied heavily on the fact that people who were going to read this story were going to be familiar with my characters and therefore could fill in any gaps in their characterisations. I'm so happy that you found them realistic.

It's always a little heartbreaking writing a Jily story, especially when you write moments where they think about the future, because you know what their future is and it really is so very sad. I reckon it adds to these moments and makes them all the more sweeter.

I'm glad it left you feeling happy - that was the aim! And yay! Cinnamon hearts for me - and Sirius, but somehow, I don't mind sharing with him!


 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFan Just a Little

10th March 2014:
I'd been planning on reading this one-shot eventually, It was on my very long reading list but luckily the Review Tag is allowing me to read it now rather than later.

I loved this one-shot so much! I usually do love Lily and James stories but this one I loved particularly because it was so funny and so sweet and it just made me really happy. I thought that I had missed something for a moment when you mentioned that James and Lily had gone on a date, it left me thinking that this was the companion piece but then you mentioned in your Author's Note that it wasn't. I'm still going to read Withering.

The James and Lily getting stuck in a broom cupboard thing is cliche because it's been done so many times. I fully expected James and Lily to start kissing at any moment in this so I was quite surprised when instead Sirius just let the two of them out. That was definitely not part of the cliche.

My favourite lines throughout this entire thing were definitely, "James knew wild dogs that were nicer than Lily Evans when she was angry.

Okay, he only really knew one wild dog, and that was Sirius, and he didnít really count because he was actually quite adorable as a dog.

And plus, he was toilet trained, so he wasnít exactly wild either."


And then after that there was, "Will you marry me?

Can we name our first son Harry, after that muggle magician?"


I especially loved the mention of Harry Houdini because now I can imagine a reason as to why James and Lily would give Harry the name that he has. I also loved how frank Lily was. She didn't try to beat around the bush and she didn't get embarrassed. She just stated what happened and then continued on like it was no big deal, like she confessed things like kissing James every day.

So basically, I just really loved this.

Author's Response: Heya! Nice to hear from you again!

I'm glad you found it funny and sweet. I haven't written fluff explicitly for a really long time, and I must say, I really missed writing something with no real plot! It was quite liberating. The only aim with this story was to make people happy reading it, as it would really juxtapose with my partner's story. And Withering is amazing.

I love cliches - and I really loved turning this one on its head a little. Everyone expects snogging in broom cupboards, but surprisingly, the two times I've ever written a scene in a broom cupboard, kissing has always felt like a really unnatural response. Therefore, no kissing!

I loved writing Sirius as like this really adorable dog. Dogs are adorable. Sirius is adorable. Sirius as a dog is like adorable squared. And yes! You're the first person to notice that I referenced Harry Houdini! I kinda really dig the idea that he's named after a really famous illusionist - a sort of nod to his Muggle and magic heritage.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Pixileanin Just a Little

8th March 2014:
Oh how cute!

I loved the twists that you gave this piece! First off, having Lily and James in a closet and NOT kissing is brilliant. Having Sirius set them up when they don't need the setting up is brilliant. And having Lily admit to James that she had a good time, well, again. Brilliant.

I loved how Lily just came out and told Sirius so matter-of-factly that his plans weren't needed or wanted, and that he was too late. The poor bloke!

And picturing Peter with romance novels made me seriously laugh out loud. You've peppered this fic with so many of your signature tidbits, standing cliches on their heads and giving the whole thing a light, airy humorous feel without going overboard. It was a delight to read!

Author's Response: I love cliches. They are the blood that runs in my veins. However, I know that if they aren't done right, there's a huge danger of the entire story crumbling into teeny tiny pieces of bad writing. I'm so happy that you thought it was done well.

Poor Sirius. I give him a lot of flack every time I write him. The guy really needs a break :P

Peter... I couldn't resist. He's totally the romance novel kind of guy. Thank you so much for this lovely review. I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissesWeasley123 Just a Little

7th March 2014:
Hey! This is a really good story!

While I'm not one for Jily -- I can't stand Lily Evans in fanfic for some reason :P but this was really entertaining to read! I demand a prequel haha! I think one of the greatest things was your characterizations. Sirius was a total babe! Like, really amazing dude! He is so dreamy and I can just talk about him forever and ever. He's funny and I WANT TO JUST MARRY HIM AND KEEP HIM FOREVER AND EVER ♥ Sirius is silly and HA even Lily can't resist him :P It was the funniest thing when Janes was all, "Why don't i have that effect on her?!"

I think for a short period of time, it wasn't evident that it was written so fast! The piece was great and edited so well, it seemed to have a lot of thought and time put into it. So good job on that! I definitely think you have a knack for writing Marauders, and Sirius doe. Perfect I say, perfect!

Really, you did a wonderful job and I think you should be proud of what you've written for an entry! Good luck for the competition!

Blackout 11/15

Author's Response: Heya!

I can understand where you're coming from with Lily's characterisation in fanfiction - I'm a lot more picky about stories than I used to be based on how she's characterised alone. I'm so happy that you enjoyed it despite it not being your thing. I have their entire date planned out so there's definitely a chance of a prequel ;) The Sirius in this story is characterised the same way as the Sirius in my other Marauders fic, so he's just as silly and adorable! I love writing Sirius this way - and I know what you mean - I fall for him a little every time I write him. And there's only one reason James doesn't have the same effect on Lily as Sirius - James Potter is not Sirius Black.

It didn't read as rushed? Wow! I wrote this in about two hours, so it felt really rushed to me - glad that doesn't come through!

Thanks so much for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by TidalDragon Just a Little

6th March 2014:
Howdy! I'm a sucker for James/Lily so this story was a natural choice.

I enjoyed the way you honed in on how much attention James has paid to Lily over the years by describing his understanding of the behaviors that accompany the "phases" of her temper. I thought it was also a really effective way of allowing Lily to develop into the scene even while we were caught up reading the thoughts James was having about her.

I also enjoyed the way you carried the tease about the previous night all the way through the story. Even though it was only a one-shot from the time you mentioned it and James's feelings about it, I was just kept wondering - what was the deal with last night?

This sort of thing definitely seemed like something Sirius would do, though for me, his dialogue and behavior stood out as a little less thought out than Lily and James.

Overall though I enjoyed it. I don't read many one-shots, but I'm glad I clicked on this one.

Author's Response: Heya! Nice to find a fellow Jily lover!

I'm glad you liked the way I showed Lily through James' perspective. She was probably the hardest to write since it's a challenge to make a character well-rounded when the other character is so besotted with them.

There's like zero plot in this story. Some mystery was definitely called for otherwise the entire broom cupboard scene would get very boring and tedious in about five hundred words. I'm glad it kept you guessing!

Yes - Sirius isn't as well developed a character as James or Lily here. I was running out of words so I rushed him :(

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by ShadowRose Just a Little

1st March 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Battle!

Okay, so I'm a total sucker for Jily fluff, so this story caught my eye immediately. I love that you've taken the clichŤ of being stuck in a broom closet and turned it into something totally different.

The characterizations you have here are great - all very true to canon, with James's gradual maturing, Lily's temper, and Sirius's general goofiness. Stuffing the two of them in a broom closet definitely seems like something Sirius would do.

I really like that they'd already had their date the night before, because then their interactions the next day are that much better. I also like that that's something you gradually clued the reader into, because it makes the story more interesting as the reader's trying to figure out what actually happened last night. I have to admit, I was a bit confused at first about the windshield wiper thing, but it all made sense as the story went on!

I love that you've captured both James's maturity and his immaturity. Even though his mind immediately jumps to groping when Liky attacks Sirius, he's also showing Lily how much he's matured in that he hasn't already told Sirius about what had happened the night before.

I like how you've captured their awkwardness and all the uncomfortable silences between the two of them - it's definitely very believable and totally seems like how they'd behave after their first date.

I love the little detail you added about wanting to name their kid Harry after the magician. That's adorable and I love little things that tie in canon information like that!

Overall, this piece was so cute and adorable! Great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Jily fluff is amazing - I'm glad you enjoyed yourself! And cliches are the best. I love wriing them so much.

Ah, post-first date awkward interactions! It's even worse for them because they're stuck in a broom closet. And I actually have their entire date planned out. Definitely heaps of material for a possible prequel :P And I have no idea why a magical school has a window wiper. Maybe it's magical too.

Seventeen is such an awkward age. In some respects you feel so mature, but in others you're completely out of your depth. I loved writing James that way.

Thanks so much for this wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodore Just a Little

1st March 2014:
Hi there! I was actually trying to review all the different Speed dating Entries but I got a bit behind, so I was happy to get the chance to read and review yours! I've heard so many great things about your writing and this was a lovely read!

I love James and Lily and the fact that you've chosen to explore how Sirius has an effect on their relationship is a clever way to approach it. I also like the fact that you've chosen to take the broom closet cliche and turn it on its head a bit, it makes the story more endearing and original.

I really liked your characterisation here, you seemed to have such a strong handle on the characters of both James and Lily, especially James with the way that his mind wandered and he was so taken by Lily and and actually not that happy at being trapped in the broom cupboard with the love of his life. The progression you showed in their relationship made it seem much more believable as well, the fact that they'd gradually got closer through seventh year.

The way that Lily kept referring to 'last night' made me really curious as well, because I had my suspicions but couldn't be entirely sure what had actually happened between them. The jokes that they made and their conversation was really sweet, especially the way that Lily was angry with James but could still admit that she'd enjoyed last night on their date. Finding out was great because our surprise was coupled with that of Sirius, and it made me laugh to see his reaction to the news.

This was a really cute story and I loved seeing the way that Sirius locked them in the broom cupboard, only to find out that they'd already been on a date! I really enjoyed it, good luck with the competition!

Sian :)

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Battle review 8/10

Author's Response: I know what you mean about falling a little behind with all those reviews. But we shall persevere! And you've heard lovely things about my writing? And you enjoyed the story? *blushes* I'm flattered!

I can imagine Sirius being as a sort of third wheel who isn't quite aware of it. He's a close friend to both of them, and I wanted to explore how that might have begun at the same time as James and Lily's blossoming relationship. I love a good cliche - I'm glad you found it to work! There's always a danger that it falls flat on its face.

Once again, totally flattered that you liked the characterisation. Lily was especially difficult to write since she's the object of James' thoughts. How do you show a well-rounded character when the character through whose eyes you see them is completely enamoured and a tiny bit obsessed?

Ah! The not-so-mysterious mystery! That was a late addition to the plot (and I use that term in the loosest sense :P). I'm sort of psyched that it had you guessing but you had your suspicions - all the most fun mysteries are the ones where the readers can begin to guess what's going to happen.

Poor Sirius. Does nothing go his way, ever? THanks so much for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by TheGirlOnFire Just a Little

1st March 2014:
Hello, This is for the blackout bingo:)

This is a great start to the story. It's a great addition to the Jilly fandom. What I lied about this was the way summarised James and Lily's relationship.

At the starts she didn't like him, he liked her. Then she hated him less, he still liked her. And finally she likes home and he likes her.

What I think would have improved this would to have seen a little bit of the night before: not much just a little bit more. It's still great though. :)

TheGirlOnFirexx

Author's Response: OMG. You think this is a "great addition to the Jily fandom"? *dies*

It is a summary of their relationship so far. I included it to hide the fact that there's no plot :P

I really wanted to include some "night before" stuff! But alas, I had a 2500 word limit :( Oh, well. There's room for a prequel now!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by keyty Just a Little

28th February 2014:
Hello, here from review tag!

This story made my heart happy.

I love the pace, there's a good back and forth between Lily, James, and Sirius. It's very upbeat and hilarious. I always love James's POVs because he always seems to have the cutest thoughts about Lily. That whole angel wing thing totally got to me. I also love how straightforward Lily was, it's different from what I usually see. Obviously, the writing was phenomenal, as always. You have a very good voice when you write, again, something I don't usually see.

Great job, on to Withering! :)

Author's Response: This story made my heart happy writing it, so I'm glad it did the same for you reading it :)

I have the same opinion on James' point of view stories as well. He's just so in love and it's so much fun writing him as this really confident person on the outside, but a total dork on the inside.

I really don't like writing Lily as "perfect". She doesn't come across to me that way in canon, so I'm glad that you enjoyed my portrayal of her.

Withering is amazing. That is all.

Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by ohmymerlin Just a Little

28th February 2014:
Hello!

AHHH, JILY JILY JILY! I love these two idiots so much and you wrote them so well!

And aw Sirius trapping them in a closet so they'd get together, how cute!!

I LOVED how James didn't tell his mates, because let's be honest - they would have totally stolen the Cloak and stalked them, ahaha!

This was such an adorable one-shot! I loved it so much! You did such an amazing job with this! :D

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: JILY IS THE BLOOD THAT FLOWS IN MY FANFIC VEINS. I'm glad you enjoyed them.

Sirius is a dork. Only he'd think that something like that would actually work.

I can actually imagine all three of the Marauders trying to hide under the cloak - and not fitting. Sirius and Peter craning their necks to try and sneak a peak at the couple, whilst Remus is crouching next to them and rolling his eyes.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by anythingcouldhappen Just a Little

25th February 2014:
Hi! I'm here from the review tag.

This was so lovely! Lily and James are two of my favorite people to read about, and this story was a fantastic way to fill my Lily/James craving!

What I really liked was how you wrote the characters. So often the Marauders and Lily are written as super immature and whiny and kind of annoying, but I think you did a great job. While they're not exactly the paragons of maturity here, they sounded right. Like teenagers should--adults but still a lot of kid in them

Also, James' feelings for Lily are adorable. I like how he talks about her little habits and muses over whether she's going to grow angel wings and stuff. Oh and the bit about naming their first kid Harry! That was perfect!

Basically I loved the way you wrote all these characters, and if you ever happened to write a Marauders story, you could count me down as a reader!

Sam

Author's Response: I know the feeling about having Jily cravings. They can be so depressing sometimes though, so I really wanted to write a really light and romantic little piece to balance out their tragic story.

Seventeen is an odd sort of age. You're legally an adult (in the wizarding world, at least) but you still feel really young and unprepared for the adult world, so I can understand why they would come off as sounding really immature at times. I'm glad you thought I got the balance right.

James is one adorable cookie - I loved writing him like this!

My first ever fanfic is actually a Marauders story - still a WIP after all this time. I love writing it because I can see how much I've improved as a writer over time by rereading the earlier chapters. Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Maelody Just a Little

25th February 2014:
I was so super duper excited to get to your's and your partner's entries! Then I got to it, read it yesterday, and forgot to review! XD I'm so sorry for the wait, dear!

I hope it isn't too much to say this, but you're definitely one of my favorite writers! You always capture comedy and romance so well, I just can't help but think you're meant for this exact pair! This was such a lovely concept, and so hilarious, I really laughed out loud through a lot of it! How Sirius managed to get the two of them in there at the same time is hilarious, and his expression at the end was priceless. Though it think this is one of those key moments in which Lily sees how grown up James is. He didn't run straight to his best mate to gloat, but waited until he could talk to him appropriately about it. I love little moments like that where the reader gets to clue in! :D

Haha, James sure is a jealous bloke! She's trying to get her wand back and all he sees is groping! Haha, if Lily could see what he was thinking then, I bet she'd have second thoughts again xD.

I think my ultimate favorite thing is the realism in conversation here. You have a real talent with that. In the awkward scene where she is saying yes/no, it made me smile. You feel the tension, the awkwardness, and you know it's real. You don't always mean what you say the first time, or hear something correctly on the get-go. Sometimes you have to ask for another shot. I like that, and kudos to you for putting a moment like this in writing!

I think you need to write another one-shot over James and Lily seeing a magician named Harry! Best tidbit ever!

"Will you marry me?" XD he's really excitable isn't he? His thoughts remind me of a dog who constantly wants to play, but they have to behave themselves haha.

Oooh! Lily is tapping her foot! That's how you know she's mad! XD That was a cute trait to add to her, and for James to notice it makes it all the better. Really, all the little added tidbits really made this story and I'm so glad I got to read it! I love this ship, and you did not disappoint! It was the right amount of comedy and romance that neither seemed overbearing not felt like it ran over the story. You did such a lovely job, and I can't wait to read your partner's piece! Really, the best of luck to you two!

~Mae

Author's Response: I guess I make up for it by this totally delayed response :P And since I still haven't finished reviewing entries from the challenge, you win doubly for getting through all of them at all.

OMG *blushes* That is such a sweet thing for you to say. I love writing comedy and since it was a speed Dating challenge, one cannot help but write some romance as well! And James and Lily lend themselves so well to the latter genre; they're a match made in heaven. I am so glad that you laughed out loud, as that was what I was aiming for. I'm too much of a sucker for a happy ending :P And I found myself falling a little for James at how he held off telling his mates. The awkward moment when you find your own characters perfect boyfriend material...

I loved writing James as just a little jealous. I can imagine him being a little insecure about Lily and Sirius' burgeoning relationship, especially near the beginning, although I don't think it would have ever become serious since they're basically bros 4 lyf.

The conversation was probably the hardest part to write. Since there's not much of a plot, there's nothing to keep the conversation going, so I'm super glad that you found it realistic.

Haha! I totally should, but the magician to whom I was referring was Harry Houdini, and since he's dead, I can imagine it would be a little difficult to manage!

Of course James is excitable. He's seventeen and in love - what else is he going to be? At least he's adorable about it ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! And I apologise once again for the belated reply!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aphoride Just a Little

21st February 2014:
Hey there - dropping by from review tag! :)

When I saw this on your page, I had to read it. I have something of a soft-spot for James/Lily, particularly with goofy, over-the-top Sirius in it as well. So this sounded pretty much perfect ;)

I love the whole premise of this! It's such a cliched thing in ff, you know, the whole 'locked in a broom closet together and snogging' thing, so I love how you've taken a different spin on it, with them being locked in but not kissing and not wanting to/intending to and not finding it funny. Well, James did, a bit, haha, but still!

I loved how you characterised James in this, as well. How he was sort of sweet and a bit silly and his mind was always turning away from the problem at hand and not really paying attention... it's such a great characterisation of him, and one I don't think I've seen all that often, so I liked it.

Lily was wonderful too! I liked how she was so angry about being locked in a broom cupboard without her wand and instructed to snog - I would be too in that situation! - but wasn't really mean to James, even if she didn't believe him that it wasn't anything to do with him. Which really is fair enough. I loved the way she blushed towards the end and sort of admitted it was nice and kinda almost that she liked him - it was a really cute and sweet scene!

I'm so amazed by the way you kept what was going on, really, from the readers until the end. The whole 'last night' thing had me guessing until Lily said it - I suspected, but wasn't sure. It was such a neat little twist - I really loved it! :)

So yeah, this was a really, really great one-shot! I really enjoyed reading it - and good luck in the competition! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Yay! Another James/Lily fan! And a goofy Sirius fan!

I purposefully chose the most cliched setting I could think of. I love a good cliche, but I really wanted it to be done well, so I tried to give it a bit of a twist. I'm so happy that you found it effective!

James is one lovestruck boy! I had a lot of fun writing his inner monologue. His rather stalkerish fixation on Lily is endearing in a way. I kind of see him as being a bit dorky, like Harry, so when people write him all confident and suave all the time, I have to imagine that he has these ridiculously dorky thoughts.

EVERYONE should be angry to be in Lily's situation, regardless of the fact that you like the other person or not. The entire situation is a little ludicrous, mainly because Sirius is a little ludicrous. I'm happy that you liked how she reveals how she really feels near the end. I wasn't sure how well-received that would be.

I'm glad that the suspense was maintained! I wanted people to have an inkling but still have this big reveal for poor Sirius.

Thank you so much! And good luck to you as well! I really enjoyed your Regulus/Barty story :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Kinnu Just a Little

19th February 2014:
Hey,

The summary hooked me...
'a rather fetching shade of Iím-going-to-kill-you-Potter red'? And I thought, I'm lovin' it already!

Lily and James' characterisation was so Canon. Perfect.
Love this sentence! 'Rare is the day that you donít have something to say, Potter' is exactly what Lily would probably say...
'wild dogs that were nicer than Lily Evans when she was angry','angel wings were about to break through the back of her sweater' Oh Merlin! Wouldn't do for Lily to read that...

James is so much in tune with Lily and her mannerisms that I could feel him thinking in this story. The way Lily told Sirius and James was classic. I don't think it was expected but it was in character. How did you manage that?

Looking forward to reading more of your stories,

Kinnu

Author's Response: :D I'm glad you liked the summary! Summaries are difficult to write for me.

Aw! I'm so pleased that you found James and Lily to be in canon. And I can just imagine Lily being irritated and frustrated almost all the time around James at the beginning of their relationship. And it wouldn't do for Lily to find out what James was thinking at all!

I like to believe that Sirius thinks that he's just the bees knees and then Lily comes along and bursts his smug little bubble. I can see that happening all the time.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! It was lovely to hear from you :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by love_is_magic_ Just a Little

19th February 2014:
AW!!! This was way too great. It was the perfect balance of cuteness and reality. I love Jily, but a lot of the stories just go overboard. This, on the other hand, was just perfect :D

I was thinking about starting a James/Lily fic, but I don't think anything could top this :D Absolutely brilliant, I loved it.

Christy

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! Jily is the pairing that brought me to the wonderful world of fanfiction, so it's weird that this is my first Jily fic!

Write one! There's no such thing as too much Jily!


 Report Review

Review #20, by lindslo2012 Just a Little

18th February 2014:
This. Was. Fantastic.
:)
I loved the fact Sirius locked them up in a broom cupboard together. My favorite part is when he mentioned Harry's name, that tugged at my heartstrings a bit;)
I can see Sirius being exactly like that as a kid, and I wish by reading this that we could have had more of a glimpse into Harry's parent's past before they died by JK. But she still wrote beautifully of course. And so do you! I want to go and read your other stories now. You did a very good job! :D
-Lindsey

Author's Response: :D < This is an accurate representation of my face right now.

I'm glad you liked the characters. Sirius is adorable for his zany ideas and James is adorable for his lovestruck soul. And the things that I would do for a Marauders prequel written by JK Rowling... it would probably end my career as a Marauders era writer, but still... totally worth it!

Thanks so much for this lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by HeyMrsPotter Just a Little

18th February 2014:
Hey :) I'm on a mission to review all of the entries for the speed dating challenge and yours is next on my list :)

I fell in love with this story in the first 5 lines. Such a brilliant opening that is just so perfectly James and Lily.

There are just so many lines in this that I adore:
Watching Lily's pale face become a rather fetching shade of I'm-going-to-kill-you-Potter red
James had begun to believe that Lily realised that his IQ was higher than that of the average blast-ended skrewt.
"I'm not opening this door until I here snogging noises!"
Sirius asked, folding his arms across his chest, doing a pretty good imitation of a jilted boyfriend.


I'm going to stop now before I quote your entire story back to you.

Basically, I loved this. I thought you had James, Lily and Sirius perfectly right. I thought the circumstances leading up to James and Lily going out were very realistic, them becoming closer as head boy and girl is far better than Lily just one day deciding she loves James back.

This really was just the perfect Jily fluff and I really can't wait to read your parter's story to go with this!

Dee :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the story! Fluff is sometimes difficult to write because how do you make a potentially boring scene interesting? And I chose a broom cupboard of all places, too! I was really worried that people were going to think that this was just too cliche.

I never understood how someone can just one day decide that they love someone else. Is this how it works in real life? I don't know. I wanted to have their relationship feel a little realistic, despite the broom cupboard.

Thanks for reading and reviewing! Unwritten Curse's story is fantastic.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Lululuna Just a Little

17th February 2014:
Hello! :)

Haha, I love the beginning! James is really adorable here, with how he keeps thinking that Lily is beautiful despite her anger. The short sentences at the beginning did a great job of setting the tone for the story as a little silly and a little romantic.

Maybe he should tell her that he was actually an Animagus. Just somehow slip that into casual conversation. That was bound to raise his IQ a little - to that of a garden gnome, at the very least. Haha, I just love your humour so much. This is actually a really good point as well - I bet Lily would be impressed, and I'd love to read her reaction when she did find out!

"That you're a victim of your best friend's antics as much as I am." James was amazed at her ability to sound exasperated even whilst spitting out the words. Her brilliance truly dazzled him. Ah, I love James and I can't blame Lily for getting frustrated with how he keeps getting distracted by his adoration of her. It's also quite funny how much he enjoys patrolling with her and how it's probably the highlight of his day. Oh, the poor lovestruck boy.

Ohh, what happened last night? :P Hehe also this made me laugh: Okay, he only really knew one wild dog, and that was Sirius, and he didn't really count because he was actually quite adorable as a dog. I'm just imagining Sirius as you write him in LAHOF and giggling to myself. It makes sense that being toilet trained is the line between being trained and wild. I like how James is a little jealous of Lily's attentions towards Sirius as well, and how he's trying to play Cupid in a rather stalkerish way.

Can we name our first son Harry, after that muggle magician? AHH! This made me both so happy and sad. Yes, James! Yes, you can and will name him Harry! :D

Haha, I love the big reveal that they've already snogged and been on a date. It just makes Sirius look all the more silly, though I know they might appreciate his interest deep down.

This was a great story, I really liked it and it made me laugh, as your stories always do. :) Off to read Unwritten Curse's story now! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you thought it was a little silly and romantic. It's what I do best, and it's nice to hear that other people enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it :)

I was impressed when I found out that they became Animagi at fifteen... I can't imagine what a character who actually lives in that fictional universe would think! However, I can imagine it leading to some awkward questions, mainly concerning WHY he became one...

James was actually the best to write here. I don't get to write him much in LaHoF, so it was just wonderful! He's so open about his feelings and it's a refreshing change from all my other main characters, who don't realise that they're feeling things even when it comes and hits them in the face. The poor, lovestruck boy is the only one who has his head in the game ;P

The Sirius in LaHoF and the Sirius in this story are basically the same. They both have incredibly bad ideas, they both believe that they'll work, and they both make adorable dogs. And I considered my dog a wild heathen until he was toilet trained - even though he was only six weeks old at the time. He was a very cute wild heathen!

That sort of mild jealousy from James felt really natural. Until the two of them became more comfortable in their relationship, I can imagine James feeling inexplicably jealous of his best friend!

That line about Harry is literally the only line that made me sad in this entire story. I felt like crying as I wrote it.

Sirius always looks silly in my opinion. I couldn't help but give Lily the chance to make him look sillier than usual :P

... I just realised that I'm sort of really mean to Sirius...

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! If my stories can put a smile on your face, I feel like I've done a good job :) And Unwritten Curse's story is FANTASTIC.


 Report Review

Review #23, by manno_malfoy Just a Little

17th February 2014:
Hello! I don't usually go for James and Lily because many of them are not my kind of thing, but this definitely is! This was really funny and I was smiling throughout the whole thing. I love your characterisation of all the characters. James was spot on and I loved that you've included what was going through his head and that you've made that rather interesting. I also liked how he knew how she reacted to things and that he knew it's creepy.

Lily was really great too, and how stubborn she is but also how that gradually subdues by the end. I was probably as surprised as Sirius when she told him about the date and the snogging.

The balance between descriptions and dialogue was perfect too. You didn't get carried away with describing things, which would've been weird to do in a dark closet. And the focus on James's internal flow of thought kept the pace comfortable.

I liked this a lot! Well done and good luck!

-Manno

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this, despite Jily not being your preferred pairing. I know I get like that about some pairings - they have to be written a certain way or it just doesn't work :P

This piece was supposed to be incredibly fluffy, and I'm glad you thought it was funny as well, because whilst I try and write funny, humour isn't something that always comes across well. It's supposed to be in contrast with Unwritten Curse's story, Withering, which is almost the opposite in tone to this. It was a nice dichotomy to play with!

Lily's always been a hard character for me to write. She's mostly the reason why I've never written a fic with Jily as the main pairing, even though this is the ship that brought me to the wonderful world of fanfiction. I'm so happy to hear that you liked her characterisation.

OMG! The description worked? *does happy dance* Description is the bane of my existence, so I'm REALLY happy to hear that you thought I balanced it and dialogue well :D

Thank you so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login