Reading Reviews for A Poem for Petunia
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ramona A Poem for Petunia

8th May 2014:
It is so great that someone took the time to write about Vernon and Petunia. And such a well written piece of writing, too! One can always come back to HPFF for something of quality.
We really have so little about these two and, even though they're not the most likable characters, in the end, the books show them from Harry's perspective and what Harry sees in them. And their relationship and how they ended up married was not very well explained by Jo herself. It even seems as if they only married out of convenience and for the sake of getting married. But we sometimes seem to forget, not only the brave, the beautiful and the smart fall in love.

 Report Review

Review #2, by DracoFerret11 A Poem for Petunia

10th March 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the Valentine's Day Competition! :D Sorry it took so long...anyhow, let's go over things:

Formatting: There are really large gaps between the sentences/paragraphs of this story which made it really tough to read. Maybe you could edit this and change that? :)

Plot: This was an interesting take on the prompt! I had never really considered how Vernon and Petunia would have been when they were younger. I liked seeing Petunia through Vernon's eyes, as well as how Petunia thought of herself in relation to Lily. The one question I had about the story was: what actually happened to Vernon's shirt? I thought he was puked on, but Petunia reflects that she saw someone spill a glass of wine on him. Which was it? Other than that, I liked it. :) I especially liked that Petunia went looking for Vernon. There was something simple, but sweet about that.

Characterization: I think you definitely pulled off these characters! I really loved them both! Amazing job. Petunia was spot-on with her reflections about Lily and comparing herself to her sister. And Vernon's pride in his accomplishments was so perfect. Really, amazing job.

Descriptions: I liked the details that you added about the party, how things looked and sounded and smelled. Wonderful. I also liked seeing each character through the other's eyes, especially the descriptions of Petunia.

Emotions: I really liked the moment when Petunia decided to do something brave and go after Vernon. That showed an agency that we rarely see in her character and I appreciated it a lot.

Interactions: The final moment of the story between Petunia and Vernon held just the right amount of awkwardness. I was wondering what you meant by "CROUCHED in his car on endless evenings." Why the word "crouched"? For some reason that didn't make sense to me.

I think you did quite a good job with this story. Well done and good luck in the competition!

--Emily

 Report Review

Review #3, by ohmymerlin A Poem for Petunia

21st February 2014:
Hello! I've just come from Debra20's story and this was so sweet!

I loved how the both of them felt out of place and uncomfortable - perfect match from the very start! ;)

I really enjoyed this one-shot, you wrote it really well! I don't tend to read Petunia/Vernon stories but I think you guys have swayed me slightly! ;)

Anyway, I loved this one-shot and it was really good to see how well it worked with Debra20's! :)

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for reading our entries and leaving a review! :) I am so happy right now that this maybe thawed you towards these old lovelies. Thank you for giving Vernon and Petunia a chance and thank you so much for your words of encouragement and kindness. I'm grinning into my screen right now because of your absolutely lovely review. THANK YOU! ^^


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lululuna A Poem for Petunia

20th February 2014:
Hello! :) I've just come from reading your partner's entry, it was just adorable! I said this on hers as well but I love how you both wrote about the Dursleys as they are quite neglected in fanfiction. This story really made me wish there were more stories about the Dursleys falling in love and young Petunia - you just wrote it so beautifully.

He watched her walk around the room, her back terrifyingly straight, her hair petrified into ordered curls. She was tall, too tall, like a gingerbread man stretched indefinitely by a petulant child. Ah, this description was just so perfect. I loved it, how original the similes are, how vividly Petunia stands out in the bar and on the screen in front of me. The gingerbread line especially was amazing.

But it wouldn't always be holes, he thought. I LOVE this since it's the perfect hint at how Vernon's mind work. You laid the groundwork for him to grow up to be the man we see in canon so perfectly - his ambition, his sense of not belonging, his pride yet his insecurity in his own accomplishments. How he doesn't want to yield to anyone, and how most of all he doesn't want to be out of control. His disgust when the girl threw up on him especially - I loved that. It's Vernon to a T, and made me think a little of why he wanted to squash down the magic in Harry as it might give Harry both a way to overpower Vernon and a way to bring disorder and unpredictable things into his house. It fits really well. I love how you've taken a canon character here and given him all these new dimensions which not only remind us of who he is, but hint at why he might be the way he is. That is truly fantastic.

No, petunias were not made to tickle a poet, she thought, but they were steady, solid things. I loved all the lines about petunias and her comparisons of herself to her sister. It was spot on in how I imagine she would both admire and resent Lily, but I love the way that she was inspired by Lily to follow Vernon into the bathroom.

There are so many lines I wish I could quote but that would be a little fruitless. Nevertheless this is the kind of story I can imagine myself coming back to in the future to marvel at and squee at a little bit.

You captured both the Dursleys here so eloquently and actually made me like them quite a bit more. This was such a unique story and it was written so beautifully - well done to both you and your partner, you guys did an amazing job with the challenge! :D

Author's Response: I think I should begin this by admitting that I let out the biggest squeal on the planet when I saw that you had left a review. I admire your work immensely, pretty much worship your ability to write a range of emotions and characters with depth so having such a review from you is like Christmas. I'm so glad you liked my take on early Vernon and Petunia and Debra has done an astounding job giving us a peek into their perspectives after years of marriage.

I hoped the story would be able to introduce characters with a certain sense of familiarity, so you instantly realize 'of course, very Petunia!' but also place them in situations we haven't really thought they could occupy.

To be honest, your review is so stunningly perceptive and there is really no better way for me to reply than to send out the biggest THANK YOU for reading and taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. It's such a fantastic and helpful thing to do and I'm simply inspired by your thoughtfulness.

Thank you. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Maelody A Poem for Petunia

19th February 2014:
You've done it, too! You and your partner have made me actually like this pair! It takes a lot to take out the nasty everyone has seen and bring in the other side. Everyone knew it must exist, but to see it is another thing!

Your entry was so cute! How they noticed on another, but didn't go up to the other. How he was already thinking about planning his future, and she was disgusted by anyone who was more flamboyant than her. It really delves into who they are and how at such a young age they are still the people we know, but without a Harry in the way.

My only confusion was the switch between Vernon and Petunia's perspective, and why she was always thinking of Lily, but each character was written amazingly well and I thought you did a wonderful job picking into their heads. And how she would follow him to the men's room just to make sure his shirt was cleaned properly! Genius!

This was such a cute story, and I'm still so impressed at how the two of you have managed to come up with such a unique yet canon way to explore these two characters. It most certainly must have brought more of a challenge to an already challenging challenge! (XD that was fun to say!)

An excellent story, an excellent collaboration, and I wish you and your partner the best of luck!

~Mae

Author's Response: I am so happy that you liked our entries! It was a great experience to work with Debra and all credit goes to her for suggesting Vernon/Petunia (first as a joke and then more seriously). We thought we'd write this hilarious set of stories where they sit together and basically just tear down other characters because really if that isn't true love what is? But the more we thought about it, we realized how sweet they are as a couple and that their stability and faith in each other needed to be written about.

Yes, I can see how the switching between perspectives is blotchy. I am not very good at writing under deadlines (see: lack of updates on all WIPs) and hardly any better otherwise (see: all stories). I'm in two minds about changing the text of the story since this was for a challenge which had a stipulated deadline. But after reading your immensely helpful review, I'm getting ideas about smoothing the transition from Vernon to Petunia out a bit. Perhaps when they take it off from the homepage, it'd be alright to make substantive changes like these. :)

I really wanted to keep the shadow of Lily in the story (so to speak). I think its important that we get a glimpse into young Petunia via Lily's experiences and having a prettier, smarter, magically gifted sister who is adored above you would make for a lot of space in someone's thoughts.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing and wishing us luck (which worked!). :D It's always amazingly heartening to read such encouraging words. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by yay A Poem for Petunia

18th February 2014:
wow. they fell in love while actually in character. I didn't think it was possible, but you did it! good job. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Those are such kind words and I'm grinning like an idiot right now, far too pumped on happiness to type a coherent response! :D Thank you. It is always a massive fear that I haven't done the characters justice . Doubly frightening when it is characters like Vernon and Petunia. They're so generally disliked or just brushed aside and I'm guilty of that as well so it's a huge relief to hear that this was convincing. ^^

 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyEPotter A Poem for Petunia

18th February 2014:
Hi!

Oh my goodness! What a way to meet each other! I could feel his mortification at the situation and am glad that Petunia chanced following him.

:)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked Petunia's risk-taking. Honestly, when this piece was being written, it all fell in place when I realized if she were to take a risk, I'd make it one that pays off. BIG TIME. And it does because we know she had a happy marriage with Vernon (save for the trouble with Harry). Thank you so much for reading and reviewing :)It is so good to log in here after so long and see your encouraging words on the screen ^^

 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter A Poem for Petunia

17th February 2014:
Hello! I just read Debra's part of your entry and was really excited to read yours. (FYI you didn't disappoint!)

I love all of the little references to the books, the remembering of Smeltings, and Aunt Marge, and then this line:
They could not make teacups dance but they could set the tray, they could scrub a kitchen clean and keep it sparkling-Just perfect.

Their relationship is adorable in this, you and Debra have both made me thaw a little when it comes to Petunia and Vernon. The fact that they fell in love over her cleaning his shirt is just so perfect it could be canon. I also love that their initial attraction to each other was that neither was joining in with the party and how perfectly normal and neat the other was.

This was just too cute, really good job from both of you!

Dee :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading our entries! :) I'm glad you enjoyed reading both of them and am very inspired by your quest to review all the entries. It's such a wonderful thing to do, I'm setting aside the coming weekend to follow your example!

I have to admit, when Debra suggested we look at Vernon and Petunia I jumped in my seat. It was such a brilliant suggestion and it was also so scary. To say that they are not liked would be an understatement. But after reading Debra's beautiful chapter on their marriage, I understood the depth of their feelings for each other. The solid, constant love they shared.

I'm glad you enjoyed the references. Constancy is one thing I think of when I see Vernon and Petunia. But there is also growth. I mean they came such a long way in their relations with Harry and Debra captured this beautifully. Thank you so much for this review and all your encouragement. If I could reach through my computer screen and give you a hug, I would do so in an instant! ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login