22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TidalDragon Cupiditas

16th August 2014:
Howdy! Dropping by for the swap!

I'll start by saying I don't read Founders fics as a general rule, but this one stuck out to me because of the exchange in the summary. Somehow I had a feeling Slytherin was the one calling Ravenclaw loathsome...

I think you did remarkably well with his characterization. I really liked how he wasn't necessarily this sinister individual, just a talented wizard who was difficult to get along with and accordingly preferred isolation, likely also embittered by the persecution going on in his era.

The mention of that persecution as it related to the founding of Hogwarts was a delightful injection for me for two reasons. First it put a different spin on why Slytherin would be so attached to maintaining blood purity. Perhaps he feared that those with Muggles in their heritage would be too close to them, exposing them to danger or even sympathizing with them over their magical counterparts. It's an interesting notion and a much more nuanced take on him. Second, you did it without being overbearing. One of the reasons I generally dodge Founders fics is because the few I've read (other than by recommendation), seem to be historically heavy and desperate to hit you over the head with the era they're set in. You didn't do that. It was just a brief tidbit and a nudge in the right direction. Well done.

In the beginning the wording seemed a little excessively verbose and there was this sentence: "As it often did, though on a subconscious level, it left the man in a foul mood, drowning himself in isolation and bitterness" that I think something went awry with, but overall I thought the story was very well written. Good balance of dialogue, description, and inner thought and good handling of the complex character of Salazar Slytherin!

 Report Review

Review #2, by AdinaPuff Cupiditas

23rd July 2014:
Hi!

So I browsed through your stories and the summary for this caught my attention. I thought it was strange to hear someone call Rowena loathesome. I'm sure she was quite the opposite, and he seemed to realize that as well. I loved this short little story, it was actually rather sweet, especially toward the end. I love how Salazar changed his mind about her after meeting her. And it made me laugh when you said Helga could prattle on about nonsense for centuries. I could see her doing that. Very believable.

I loved it! Well done! Now to go look at that novel of yours that also caught my attention...

-Leigh

Author's Response: Hey there,

I'm glad that you enjoyed it, my partner and I had a really great time writing this together!

Take caution if you're looking at Everto, it's my baby, but it's also my pure insanity, complete with a ton of plot lines, complex ideas on top of the already complex HP verse, and needs a typo-editing sweep ;).

Thanks for the swap!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Cupiditas

26th June 2014:
Hey! Here for the Slytherin Review Exhange!

I went through your AP before choosing this, had to in the end - I love Founders Era! Especially ones about Salazar Slytherin. :D

It was a very interesting take on how they began planning to create Hogwarts, bringing in the final of the four. Salazar's reaction to coexisting was brilliant - not elaborated on, but we know how he feels about it. And I love Godric, the disagreeing friend, but still a friend right now. I can imagine them once being close... or as close as they can be. :)

This was a reay cool one-shot. I very much enjoyed it.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey!

I do really love the Founder's era, and I was really excited that my partner had mentioned that she wanted to try her hand at it. One of my favorite aspects is the friendship between Salazar and Godric, so it was nice to write them while they still could be friends.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #4, by lumos_knox Cupiditas

13th May 2014:
Hi, I'm here for the review swap!
Wow. It's one of the only words I can say.

Your description is just beautiful. It is perfect and matches everything, and amazing images swim into my mind when I read this. I'm not very good at long reviews because it turns out there is never anything wrong with the stories I read, and this one is definitely not an exception.

Honestly, beautiful is the only word I have to describe it because that is what it is. They way you've woven the story into a strong web is spectacular, and I was caught up in it from the first sentence.

Brilliant stuff, please keep writing one shots!

Lauren

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm really glad that you like this. My descriptions kind of went awry at the end, there, but my partner and I had a very limited amount of time to write this.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lostmyheart Cupiditas

23rd April 2014:
Hi Rumpel!

I'm here for the April Review Exchange.

To be honest, this is the first Founders Era story I've ever read, so I don't have any experience with their characterizations (I think I spelled it right... did I?) but you wrote them quite well. In my opinion, that is :)

I seriously love your writing style, this story is just as brilliant as the one with Fenrir (that still gives me the chills!) and you give so many little details, and I love it.

I liked that you made Gryffindor his only true friend, it showed a friendlier side of him - that he was capable of having friendships. And of course he has that prejudice against Rowena, gah! I can't handle that! I would have smacked him in the head if I was Gryffindor, "grow up" :P Nah just kidding, I would never smack a full grown wizard in the head, he would hex me into a toad.

I loved reading it, and I bet the next part is just as good as yours. I should probably go check it out.

Big hug,
Avi

Author's Response: Hey there!

This is the first serious Founders story I wrote, and I had an awesome partner who was excited to try it out! (My other Founder's is a parody.)

(Nothing says 'Marry Christmas' like a horror story featuring Fenrir, right?)

I'm really glad that I had a chance to write Salazar; he was an interesting character for sure! I also loved writing a friendship between him and Gryffindor! Smacking Salazar would probably not make him happy ;).

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #6, by UnluckyStar57 Cupiditas

16th April 2014:
Hi, Rumpel!!

It's been HOW LONG since the Speed Dating Challenge?! TWO MONTHS?! And I haven't reviewed you yet?! Well, let's fix that.

So, as I said a month ago, I really enjoyed working with you on this challenge! Founders Era is a really cool era to write because it's so medieval-y and you can pretty much do as you wish with the storyline because there isn't much in canon that is set in stone about the Founders.

I love that you've kept Salazar true to his pureblood ideology by juxtaposing his motives for founding a school with Godric's motives. He definitely has a vendetta against the vengeful Muggles and he's not afraid to show it! Plus, the house on the crags of Scotland really matches him--somewhere along the line he became like the house OR the house became like him. Either way, it's a reflection of his personality... Or the PRECONCEIVED NOTIONS of his personality...!

Because then he's in grump mode at Godric's house, just waiting for the inevitable arrival of the inestimable Rowena (whom he believes to be totally inappropriate and boundary-crossing). He's like the kid at a birthday party who didn't get to take his nap, hahaha--grumpy Salazar!

But then Rowena comes, and of course, she's nothing like he ever dreamed! She's beautiful and slightly sarcastic, and you know what? At the end of this, Salazar is starting to decide that maybe he likes powerful women. :D

I love the language that you use throughout this whole piece. I tried to match my style with yours, but the way you wrap the scenery in words is positively brilliant.

And can we talk about that ending?! Mmm mmm mmm, I STILL love it even though it's been a long time! I'm so glad that you're of a similar mold as I am: Romance is so awkward to write! I think we pulled off the start of a really good romance here, but I'm pretty glad that we don't have to write all the mushy-gushy stuff! :D

Thanks again for being an awesome partner!

~UnluckyStar57

For the Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza.

Author's Response: Oh hello!!

Working with you was so much fun! Thanks for being super!

Salazar and Rowena are two very strong-minded characters, and I think we've managed to capture their essences in order to emphasize that fact. (Go us!)

I'm really thankful for your help with the ending, because combining dialogue to match another person's is fairly difficult. I agree, romance can be awkward! Romantic interest was a much better choice for the both of us!

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel



 Report Review

Review #7, by MaeAndRee14 Cupiditas

3rd April 2014:
Hey hey Rumpel!! How are you?? Been too long! I'm so sorry, but this is from our review swap like months ago!! So so sorry!! But onto the review?

I really loved this Rumpel! So perfect! Really! Mostly, I loved the tone! The words used were amazingly suited for the era and the type of story and the language in general was awesome! i think you've captured it extremely well!

i also LOVE LOVE LOVE Salazar! And the friendship him and godric have is perfect! So so sweet! Love it! And then how he meets Rowena! GAH! That scene was amazingly perfect!

I loved the setting description too! :D Amazing!

The only thing I have for CC is in the first conversation between Godric and Salazar, maybe add in who was speaking? It got a little unclear after a little while :)

This was really perfect! I really want to go and see the companion piece to see more romance (hopefully?)

Sorry again for the late review!

-Curie ;)

Author's Response: Hey there! No problem!!

This was fun to write -- I had a great partner who was extremely helpful!

Whoo! Salazar and Godric's friendship was one thing that I wanted to focus on besides the potential romantic interest towards Rowena.

Oops! I like to remove tags wherever I can, though I may have gone overboard this time! Sorry about that!

Thanks so much! No worries!

-Rumpel!


 Report Review

Review #8, by kenpo Cupiditas

28th March 2014:
How didn't I review this yet?!

Well, I am now.

I loved the description at the beginning, about his house. Also, the description of Slytherin himself was really well written and gave a great look at his character (in very few words!)

Really, the description and vocabulary is just fantastic. Especially since you wrote this in such a short time.
I like the idea of a friendship between the two guys, and then Salazar is all "eww girls". The dialogue between them had me laughing. You also contrast them very well and develop them each as characters.

I liked the ideas about making the school to fight back. That gave some insight as to why he wouldn't want muggle-borns, and it isn't something I'd ever thought of before.

The end was cute, in a sort of stubborn way. I suppose I'll have to read the companion piece to find out what happens, won't I?

Author's Response: Hello!

Er, I'm not sure ;).

This was fun to write; I was excited when my partner suggested that we write a Founders-era story for the Speed Dating Challenge! Aaaand she wanted to use Latin in the titles (go partner)!

We decided to go for romantic interest instead of real romance because, well, neither of us were confident about our ability to write real romance!

Therefore, we both ended our stories in the very same place... kind of a cliffhanger, isn't it?

Thanks so much!!

-RUmpel


 Report Review

Review #9, by Remus Cupiditas

26th March 2014:
Heya!! Perelandra here from the forums!! So sorry for the delay! Work got in the way but I am here now! :D

I'm very excited about this. I like Founder fics, they're always different one way or another.

Your first paragraph was fantastic. I can immediately tell that you're good at description. You were quick at painting this picture in my head without being too overbearing with details.

Aww, I like stores when Godric and Salazar are friends and not enemies.

"Which is why we need to take action. We've long spoken of creating a school, to train people like us to use their magic -"

"- to fight back," Salazar interjected, turning back around to face his friend.


I never thought about it but you definitely brought up a good point. Perhaps Salazar did intend to create the school as a way to fight back, and that's also another reason he didn't want muggle borns for they could side with the muggle and use magic against them.

Aww I feel like I left off with a cliffhanger. I guess I'm going to have to read the other one to find out what happens! Anyway, I liked how Slytherin has this medieval way of thinking. Quite literally. He is a man who is into traditions and for him, traditions are women are to keep quiet and muggleborns from learning magic. I half expected Slytherin to tell Rowena to sit quietly and let the men talk business. However, I have a feeling that if that had happened, Rowena would've torn him apart bit by bit. With Helga helping him as well.

I loved your detail however, the only thing that I noticed was that you left that detail when you had dialogue. Maybe adding a bit more it would make your already awesome story even greater.

Anyway, thank you so much for doing the swap with me! I appreciate it!

--Rosie/Perelandra

Author's Response: Hey there! (No worries about the delay, it happens to everyone!)

I do like Founder's fics, especially when I get to play around with old-timey language.

Actually, adding descriptions has been an area of improvement that I've needed. I've been working on that, so I'm glad that the first paragraph had some decent descriptors.

One of the things I had wanted to focus on (on Salazar's side of the story, anyhow) was the friendship despite conflicting personality, ideas and opinions. Salazar and Godric make terrific friends.

Unfortunately, neither my partner nor I were ready to try our hand at writing real romance, so we left both of our stories off ending with a potential romantic interest. That means, we began in different places (me with Salazar and her with Rowena) and ended in the same place. So, the stories both end with the same cliffhanger O.O.

I also don't think that Rowena would have taken kindly to Salazar telling her to be quiet! :D

The detail fled when we were running out of time for the challenge. The story needs a bit of revision -- I'll get there eventually!

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFan Cupiditas

24th March 2014:
I am so glad that I got to read this because of the Review Tag. I don't read many stories which involve the Founders but this looked promising from the summary and I thought I'd give it a try. I loved this so much.

Two of my favourite things about this one-shot was the vocabulary that you used and the contrast that you showed between Godric and Salazar. You could tell what type of people they were and what their personalities and beliefs were probably going to be by the way that they interacted with each other. Salazar had more of a pessimistic view on things while Godric had a more positive and less harsh opinion about everyone. They worked really well together as friends because they balanced each other out and it seemed like they understood each other. Especially Godric who just ignored anything negative that came out of Salazar's mouth and kept on talking.

I also found Salazar really amusing. My favourite bit with them was when he was thinking about the anecdotes that Helga kept telling and how he'd hang himself from the rafters if he had to hear one more.

I really enjoyed this and I think you did an awesome job on it!

Author's Response: Oh thanks! I'm glad that you enjoyed this; the Founders have been an area of interest for me lately.

I had been practicing with my vocabulary in my Founder's parody, so it was fairly natural at this point, and I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I'm also very pleased that you enjoyed Godric and Salazar, their contrast, and their interactions. It was very fun writing them as pals.

Thanks so very much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Harry Potter Fan Cupiditas

21st March 2014:
This is so good :) I really enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Yay! Thanks so much!!

 Report Review

Review #12, by maraudertimes Cupiditas

14th March 2014:
Hiya Rumpel!

My this was fun to read. I especially liked how you tied in what was happening with witches (such as being burned at the stake) to why Salazar was not very fond of Rowena. It added a little something extra to make everything a little bit more believable.

But starting at the start, I really liked how Salazar and Godric were already friends, and how Godric is more of the leader between the two, convincing Salazar to do things his way. It really speaks to their individual personalities and really emphasized qualities that become their respective house qualities.

I absolutely loved how Salazar was quite prejudiced towards Rowena at the start, but after meeting her and knowing her for a few seconds, his opinion completely changed. Do I sense a little bit of romance in the air? :P

Yes, so I really liked this one-shot. It was so cute and sweet and so much awesome (I'm kind of into Founders at the moment)!! You did a great job and I can't believe you wrote this in such a short amount of time. Great job!

Lo:)

Gryffindor vs Slytherin Blackout Battle Round 3 Review 11/20

Author's Response: I have been TERRIBLE at responding to reviews, but I'm doing it now (nearly a month later)!

I've discovered that Founder's is fun to write (beginning with my parody, which was naturally fun to write in itself). When my partner suggested that she'd like to try to write a Founder's fic, I was excited.

One of the things that I really wanted to emphasize on Salazar's side of the story was his friendship with Godric and his distaste for women, especially Rowena, so I'm glad that those stood out to you.

Neither my partner nor I were very confident in our ability to write a romance, so we went with romantic interest instead :D.

Thanks so much! I'm also kind of into Founders at the moment!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #13, by DracoFerret11 Cupiditas

13th March 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the Valentine's Day Competition! :D Sorry it took so long...anyhow, let's go over things:

Plot: Great job capturing an interesting moment in the Founders' lives. I really liked that you showed the day when they all met up to discuss the school. Hearing the justification behind forming Hogwarts was really interesting. I also really liked the interactions between all the characters. The casual, offhanded conversation between Godric and Salazar really showed their friendship and I liked that a lot. I also liked the other ways you showed their characterization, like Salazar being quick to judge, and Helga being talkative. Rowena's characterization was good too! The mention that she was "more like a man than even other men" was particularly striking. Good job!

Descriptions: I think I would have liked more details about how things looked, sounded, smelled, etc. I loved the initial description of Salazar's home, but after that, there was a lack of detail about the characters and other settings. Giving more information to readers can really help bring the story to life.

Emotions: I really loved how bitter Salazar was, how understanding Godric was, and how you characterized Helga and Rowena. Well done!

Style: Wonderful! You grasped the air of mannerisms and speech of this time period spectacularly. I loved reading this story and think the way you wrote it was a large part of it. I would even be interested in reading more in this style if you were ever to continue it. Well done!

Overall, great job and good luck in the competition!

--Emily

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm sorry it took me so long to respond, I've been in a no-responding slump, and this is nearly a month late!

One of the things that I wanted to emphasize on Salazar's side was his friendship with Godric, and his bias towards woman. You're right in saying that this needs more details, and I could have definitely worked that into the word-count limit, as the story is nearly have of the maximum.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #14, by MissesWeasley123 Cupiditas

7th March 2014:
Rumpel, hey!

I'd like to applaud you on your dialogue. When I was browsing your AP, I saw the summary for this piece, and I was already drawn into it. Salazar seemed like a total babe and now that I've read it, I can see that he is indeed a total babe!

I really like when people see byond the "oh Slytherins can't love" but they forget that not all SLytherins are Voldemort.. take Snape for example, or even Lucius -- certainly they loved. And everyone thinks Slytherin is the root of that, and so therefore he cannot love either. But you changed that, so this piece was so unique. Salazar was excellently characterized!

I really like the relationship between Godric and Salazar, because they seem like friends, and sorta remind me of the Marauders, in a way :P

And when he met Rowena, that part truly was beautiful. I think you did an excellent job with that, definitely. I wish you luck for the speed dating entry, because I thin you'vev eventered a really strong piece! Good luck!

Blackout 3/15

Author's Response: Hey there!

Whoo! I'm glad you like my dialogue, because dialogue is one of my favorite things EVER! O.O ...Okay, Salazar is a total babe.

I'm glad that you enjoyed Salazar -- he can love :D I'm just not very apt at writing romance, so all he gets is a romantic interest in this ;).

Thanks so much for the awesome review!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #15, by love_is_magic_ Cupiditas

2nd March 2014:
Hello there!
Wow, so this was the first Founders Era story I have read, and you did a really good job to initiating me to the genre.
I love your use of description in the beginning. It really sets the mood for the rest of the story and provides a little insight to Salazar's life.
I also thought you did a really good job with Slytherin and Gryffindor's conversation. You show what good friends they are, while still introducing the differences that might have caused them to grow apart over the years.
You oh so subtly snuck in a little feminism here :) The way that Salazar thinks of Ravenclaw is a great commentary on that, especially as we see how it changes over the course of the story.
Well done, I absolutely loved it :D
Christy

Author's Response: Hello!

Founders' has quickly become one of my favorite eras, before I began writing it. I still really enjoy it.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #16, by monstrosity Cupiditas

2nd March 2014:
Blackout!

I always wondered why the founders decided to set up Hogwarts. The books never provided an explanation and I'm glad you mentioned it. It makes sense as to why wizards would want to riot against the muggles with all the witch burnings and anti-hereticism. Perhaps it also provides a reason as to why purebloods hated muggleborns so much, seeing that their ancestors were responsible for a lot of wizards and witches dying. You really can't describe the whole blood purity issue as anything other than anxiousness of juggles reentering into the world wizards tried so hard to protect from them. I'm glad that Hogwarts was created in the hopes that wizards would be able to have a safe haven and a defense of sorts against the killing all around them.

It's nice to see some unity among the founders for a change. Despite the fact that Salazar makes some quick judgements on Rowena and Helga's characters, it isn't like he is deliberately nasty towards them. His argument with Godric about Rowena was actually pretty funny, even with Salazar's slightly chauvinistic approach to the situation.

Godric is a really intriguing character, whom I've come to admire. You've really shown the closeness between him and Salazar. Godric is the one who really implements his ideas, no matter how far fetched they sound. You can tell by all his efforts how passionate he is about setting up the school.

I like Rowena's character so much already. She's a feminist in the age of male dominance. You can see from all the rumors Salazar heard that the men aren't taking Rowena's bold character very well. When we do get to meet her, she's nothing like the rumors and I think Salazar realizes that as well. She seems like any ordinary lady of that time, albeit more beautiful than most. I was hoping to see some sort of reference to her intelligence that she's known for, but I suppose that if you decide to extend the story it'll be included. I can just imagine her fighting for better education for women. I'm also hoping that the relationship between Salazar and Rowena will be built up in the future.

Overall, it's a really well written piece that's simple to read and absolutely entertaining. I'm glad that I got the opportunity to read and review it!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad that you like the idea of Hogwarts being established as a refuge for young witches and wizards, it has been my head cannon for a while.

I'd imagine that the founders were good friends before Salazar's blood-purity ideals drove them apart, so I'm glad that you enjoyed that aspect. Godric's a fun character to write, especially when it's in contrast to Salazar's.

I'd imagine that, with all of her knowledge and wit, that Rowena wouldn't be very-well liked in a chauvinistic society. My partner and I both decided to end our stories rather with romantic interest rather than invest fully into romance. It was much easier to write, so the stories did finish at the eye-contact and plausibility of Salazar being wrong. Unfortunately, that did leave out many interactions between Rowena and Salazar.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #17, by nott theodore Cupiditas

1st March 2014:
Hi there! Yay for Founders stories! I wrote one too for the Speed Dating and I already love the idea of this one, and the romance that I sense budding between Salazar and Rowena!

I think you characterised Salazar so well, especially at the beginning of the story when you set the scene and everything seemed to tie in so well with his personality. He seemed very arrogant and superior, and then his views on women seemed to fit in well with the time as well, since he seemed so contemptuous of involving Helga and Rowena in the founding of the school. The speech seemed appropriate for the time period and I really enjoyed reading it because it helped me feel like I was in the time period.

The details that you included about the troubles that were really great, I haven't seen many people pay that much attention to detail in a one shot for this challenge. I've actually never really thought before about why the Founders might have set up Hogwarts other than to start teaching magic, but the idea that the persecution of witches and wizards had caused so much trouble they needed a refuge makes a lot of sense to me and adds another dimension to the beginning of the school.

I loved the sudden change that Salazar felt when he actually saw Rowena! It's like a love at first sight story and it's going to be really interesting to see the continuation of this possible romance in your partner's story, when I get the chance to read it. You did a lovely job with this piece and I really enjoyed reading it!

Sian :)

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Battle review 10/10

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm glad that you liked Salazar's characterization and the use of language. Details have been my downfall for a while, so I've been focusing on that aspect recently.

My partner and I both decided to leave out the romance in this, and rather focus on potential romantic interest. We were both uncertain about trying our hands at real romance in the allotted time!

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #18, by TheGirlOnFire Cupiditas

1st March 2014:
Hello, this is for the blackout bingo :)

Firstly, I like the premise of the story and I think it will be good. I like the relationship between Godric and Salazar, it shows what kind of people they are.

On the other hand I don't think there was enough there for their relationship yo be summarised just yet. If that was your intention then that's fine.

I think you described the setting well, I could almost imagine being there. The choice of language was very good and added to the effect.

All in all this is a good start to a promising story.

TheGirlOnFirexx

Author's Response: Hey there!

My partner and I decided to leave the romance out and merely add a romantic interest into the story (both of us were fearful of our abilities to write real romance)!

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #19, by ohmymerlin Cupiditas

22nd February 2014:
Hey, Rumpel!

First of all: LOVE LOVE LOVE the banner! It's absolutely beautiful!

Now, the story. The story was so good! I loved it so much! I loved the way you characterised Salazar, it was so interesting and how he was so dismissive of Rowena even though he never met her! Typical Slytherin, judging a book by its cover ;)

Anyway, this was a really lovely story! I especially enjoyed the ending, with the green eyes meeting the blue! It was really sweet! ♥

Definite 10/10

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Oh thanks! I'm getting a little better at banner-making ;).

Thanks so much! I'm glad that you liked Salazar and that you enjoyed the story!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #20, by Maelody Cupiditas

19th February 2014:
How do you guys write Founders Era? I'm so insanely jealous of those who can! If I could write them, then I think I'd read this genre a lot more, but maybe it's a good thing I don't because that gives me little to nothing (aside from your own founders era story haha) to compare it to! Because this was great!

Your detail for the house and the man who lives in it was spot on. He seems so stubborn and set to himself, it's a great Salazar moment!

"But they're women!" Or whatever it is exactly he says, cracked me up! One thing I've come to terms with on Founders Era, is to brace the sexism haha. Though it wasn't feet or funny back then, at least we know we've moved on (more than before anyway) and can worry about just looking back on it.

I love the description of all the founders actually. Maybe Helga the most, because I feel like she and her House are normally forgotten and/or overlooked most of the time, so to see that you've given one of the more minor characters even in this story a look and personality was really nice.

Haha, Rowena being beautiful but ruining it with her mouth? Oh the woes of being an opinionated, thinking woman! XD the fact that he says that, and then their eyes meet, and he thinks he is wrong is even better! She hasn't said anything yet and he's changing his mind? What a man.

I really appreciated the language usage and old style cheeky humor in this! It just goes to show that writing isn't all about just sitting and doing, but there's more behind it than that. Research, constant changes, and more than that of course haha. :)

All-in-all, this was a fantastic read! You capture this era so well, and always seem to catch the right amount of feminism in everything you do, especially for this time period. It was enjoyable, not slow, funny, not all historical, and well done. All the things I look for in when I think about reading Founders :).

I can't wait to see your partner's story! It makes me wonder if Rowena does ruin that first impression by talking again xD. That'd be funny. Oooh, and since there was talk of building the school, maybe I get to see Hogwarts thought out by the Founders themselves! Awesome! (If not seen, then still awesome! ;)) I wish you and your partner the best of luck!

~Mae

Author's Response: Mae! I am finally responding...and I think I owe you a review. No, I'm sure I do.

Steps to writing Founders' era: Focus on women's segregation in their societal and household roles, and play around with some archaic language. Reading and Shakespeare's works really helped :D. The Founders became one of my favorites a while ago, but it took me a while to actually write one. Keep reading them (Lululuna's got some great ones, I highly recommend Fall of the Town), and you'll get there!

I'm really glad that you liked this, this was a really awesome review!

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #21, by Lululuna Cupiditas

18th February 2014:
Hello! :)

Haha, I love how crochety good old Salazar is! He really fits quite well with his canon interpretation here, though I love the idea that he's been swayed by the beautiful and witty Ravenclaw.

I quite like how you opened the story with the description of his house and how depressing it was. This line, with the contrast to the pretty beach scene made me laugh: sat looming the lorn, darkened home of Salazar Slytherin. It kind of reminded me of a bunch of happy people and then one dark, sulking Snape-like figure casting a damper.

It's nice that he has one friend, however! And how appropriate that Godric would bring in the sun! I like the contrasts between the two friends here as well, how Salazar wants to fight and Godric to help. Salazar was making me a little angry as well with his anti-women sentiments, but I'm sure that wasn't exactly rare for the time! :P

It was no secret that Rowena was of great beauty, though it would be ruined when she opened her mouth, something she was certain to do. This made me laugh, but also roll my eyes at Salazar and his pigheaded-ness, but then laugh again. I'm so curious now to read your partner's story and find out what she might think of him, and if this romance has any chance when matched with Salazar's mean stubbornness.

Lovely job, this was an awesome read! :) On to your partner's story now! :D

Author's Response: Hello! I'm a month late in responding to this... but...

Ha-ha, it's the spooky house on top of the hill that nobody goes to visit because of all of the ghost stories ;).

Both times that I've written in this era, I always lean on the degregating opinions of women and their societal roles... *cough* Either women had absolutely no rights, or I'm over-emphasizing the fact!

I think my partner's take on Rowena was very suiting, not only for what my cannon image is, but also to compliment Salazar's character.

Thanks so much for stopping by!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #22, by HeyMrsPotter Cupiditas

18th February 2014:
Hello there Rumpel! I've been meaning to read some of your work for AGES and the speed dating has given me a perfect opportunity to!

I've been growing increasingly fond of Founders era stories, they were never ones I would actively seek to read (though I did try my hand at writing one once) but then I read ones like this and I just kick myself. It astounds me how perfectly archaic your writing is, it really made me feel like I was there, way back in the ninth century before Hogwarts began.

I love the characters that you've created for Salazar and Godric, and it breaks my heart a little that they were such good friends when I know how things end between them. Salazar's pre-judgement of Rowena was really enjoyable and fit with what we do know from canon about him, mostly that he was stubborn and small-minded. I'm really looking forward to seeing how their relationship develops in your partner's side of your entry.

Really brilliant job.

Dee :)

Author's Response: Hello! I'd been meaning to read some of yours as well!...though, this response is totally over a month late.

I recently discovered that I really like Founders' era, myself. Ha-ha, I had a lot of practice with Elizabethan verse in classes and had a good start with my parody, so it took a lot of practice to get it close to right.

Godric and Salazar's relationship is one of my favorite aspects of this era, specifically related to how they fall apart.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login