Reading Reviews for Survival Instinct
  
113 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AIP Alexander How to get a date

28th July 2014:
Your chapters always make my day! THEY cuddled haha it was soo cute, and Lily's comments were spot on. I really enjoyed this chapter! And James is awesome btw (I mean a LION, talk about being cool), i only hope he doesn't get jealous or mad at Fred or Marley (please not Marley), after she asked Fred to the dance

 Report Review

Review #2, by happyanon How to get a date

28th July 2014:
Oh that was ADORABLE. its such a fresh chapter!! Hahaha i would have wanted to see Marley's patronous tho. I love the whole waking up scene it was cute. And damn girl Marley sure knows how to pick them dates. Shes such a cool chick. I sure as hell cant ask someone out like that. Hungover and all she's smooth! Hahaha im excited for the next chapter pls keep up the updates. You've done very well so far! Im so looking forward to more Marley and James moments. :) good job! Xoxo

 Report Review

Review #3, by aditi How to sign your own death warrant (in style)

25th July 2014:
Oh Lordy!
I'm so legit excited I can't even be bothered to sign in right not! Seriously, where has this story been all my life? I feel like a complete idiot for not seeing it before. It's just ASFHAJKHFSJ.

Ahem. Alright, I'm calm now.
For one, I LOVE long first chapters. They're the best. I also like the skips; from the platform/trin to Hogwarts to party. Usually, authors tend to sort of tell the reader about the characters, rather than show. You've shown here, and so there aren't paragraphs upon paragraphs describing her friends back home (Henri and Bri(d?)gette.
You've also immediately gotten to the most interesting part of the summary (Marley not getting along with James- the dialogue is HILARIOUS btw) right in the first chapter. It's also a good place to leave the reader hanging. I was still giggling at their exchange when I finished the chapter and now I'm really excited about reading ahead.
All in all, I think it's structued well and even if it wasn't, I'm certain the humor in the dialogues could easily carry the story ahead all on it's own. I'm really looking forward to many gems in the dialogue.
My fav line in this chapter goes to Marley-- Oh, Im sorry, are you busy searching for a girl to club over the head and drag away to your cave? We can have this conversation about how youre a pr*ck later if you like.
THIS WAS GREAT (yet I know I'm being repetitive)

 Report Review

Review #4, by howdoyounotlikeit How to be a jerk

23rd July 2014:
That my friend is a jerk move.
That is all.

Author's Response: Haha! You're telling me! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by howdoyounotlikeit How to: nicknames

23rd July 2014:
I KNOW THAT REFERENCE. I SCREAMED WHEN I SAW IT.
Wow excessive caps lock much.
(that was to me)
Fitz would be the type of person who would like Doctor Who.
You know, eccentricnism is contagious and all.
AND I WOULD LIKE A BROWNIE. SPECIFICALLY A JAMMIE DODGER.
Great Story btw.

PS: whos your fav doctor?
I like 10 and 11 but I havent seen the original series so I cant talk.

Author's Response: YES LET'S HAVE A DISCUSSION ABOUT DOCTOR WHO
(Evidently caps lock is contagious too)

I can't pick one. It's so unfair. Does the War Doctor count? I'm not sure. From new who... I'm going to say 10. He'll always have a special place in my heart :')

And what're you talking about? Fitz totally DOES love Doctor Who. It's in my character description and everything!

Anyway, I think I'm going to go on tumblr and fangirl now :P
Thanks for the review (your jammie dodger is in the mail). Bye! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by amortentiaandroses How to be a drunk

22nd July 2014:
I screamed when you updated this. I'm loving Marley's changed attitude towards James and don't even get me started on Fred. DRUNK FRED IS ADORABLE. AND OHMYGOD LETS TALK ABOUT FITZ. I JUST WANNA SQUEEZE HIM HE IS THE BEST. Oh, and on a completely unrelated note, did you delete Crossfire (I think you wrote it but correct me if I'm wrong). YOUR STORY IS AMAZING KEEP WRITING AND BEING AWESOME.
PEACE OUT

Author's Response: Fitz and Fred. I feel like they should be a detective team or something xD
And yes, I did remove Crossfire and another one-shot from here. I was recently reading through them and I wasn't entirely happy with them. But don't worry! I'm in the (very long) process of re-writing them and they'll be back up (eventually).
Apart from that; thanks so, so much for the review. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by happyanon How to be a drunk

22nd July 2014:
I had a spasm when you updated. I love this chapter. I lobe the realness of the emotions and the vulnerability Marley shows. I love how she was when she's drunk acting like an innocent girl. I like how gentle and kind Jamez actually is and i like how he's mature when the situation demands it. I like how Fitz sticks with Marley no matter what,i hope they remain besties forever. I hope james and marley stop their fights and arguments when sober cos they make a good team and i hate wheeler to hell and back. Pls update again soon. I love this story so much!!

Author's Response: Aww, this makes me all fuzzy and happy inside :) I'm so, so happy you like it. It's great that the characters are coming off as I intended for them to (otherwise it'll make me feel kind of like a loser :P)
Thanks so much for the feedback. It really does helo a lot! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Courtney How to be a drunk

21st July 2014:
Lovvveee this! Please keep going!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks :) and I will. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by HogwartsExpress How to be a drunk

21st July 2014:
Love the character development so far. Excellent plot line too. Can't wait to see where you take us.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review :) So glad you like the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ... How to prioritise

20th July 2014:
Great story really hoping you follow it to the end, I know I will...

Author's Response: Thanks! And yup, that's what I'm planning to do! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Hedwig_Pie How to be a drunk

18th July 2014:
OMG THAT WAS ADORABLE. it was like a kitten and a hamster made an adorable love child and this chapter was the love child of adorableness
BUT ALSO PLOT PROGRESS. i wonder what is happening with all these old slytherin family attacks - and their drunken escapades were HILARIOUS. LOVED IT. LOVE FITZ AS PER USUAL. GREAT CHAPTER!

Author's Response: Honestly, it was SO fun to write :D and yay, you like it. This makes me happy :) Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by The blunt pnix How to be a drunk

18th July 2014:
I really really enjoy this story. I've been searching for a good story and I found it so so please update soon!

Author's Response: I;m so glad you're liking it, hun :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Sal How to be a drunk

17th July 2014:
This story. Omg. I love. Live for your updates, seriously :D

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! :) I'll try to udpdate faster then!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Loop How to be a drunk

17th July 2014:
I honestly have no words that would perfectly express HOW MUCH I LOVE THIS STORY!

I read this story like five days ago and have just reread it YET
AGAIN! FITZ IS HONESTLY THE BEST BEST FRIEND. PERIOD. LIKE HONESTLY I HAVE FALLEN IN LOVE WITH FITZ THE MOST.
YOU HAVE ALSO DONE SUCH AN INCREDIBLE JOB WITH MARLEY. HER INDEPENDENCE AND SASS KEEPS MEE WANTING MORE (PLUS HER KICKASSNESS)

oh and FREDDYBEAR! WE CAN NOT FORGET THE FREDDYBEAR!!


THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SUCH AN ENTERTAINING AND BEAUTIFUL STORY THAT I REALLY NEED MORE OF! HAHAHA!
PLEASE KEEP WRITING AND UPDATE SOON (OH AND GOOD JOB ON THE SPEED IN GETTING THIS CHAPTER UP! TIS MUCH APPRECIATED!)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm smiling like a complete idiot right noe. I'm so, so happy you like it! :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by XOdannieXO How to be a drunk

16th July 2014:
I have been following your story for a while now and I have to admit you don't stop from surprising me with every chapter you post; especially this one right here :D

I like it; a lot ;d keep it up...

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much! I'm so glad you're enjoying it :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Elenia How to prioritise

12th July 2014:
AH, I love this chapter!! Almost as much as the previous one!!!

Poor Marley! I feel so bad for her! Henri is a real git, that's all I can say about him! He had the best girlfriend in the world and he didn't think it was working? Pfft, his loss. Because now Marley is free to date James be all awesome and single and show him that he sucks!

But no! Don't you dare mix Andrea into this any more than she already is! No, no, no! She needs to be a happy friend, and I don't know, develop a crush on Albus or something! (Even though I always frown upon pairing everyone up with someone)

Hmm, I see so many interesting scenes in the future that will come up with this whole Rally Girl thing! I love it that she got conned to that role! She should've seen that one coming d: and I bet there are many things she hasn't even realised that will come with that!

I really hope she actually bakes him something, just as a joke, and makes it all horrible or something d: He'd deserve that for putting her in that position in the first place.

Jillian should stay far away though!

WHAT WAS IT WITH THAT ENDING? A DARK MARK? This whole story took such an interesting turn! I didn't even think it was possible to get more hyped about everything but apparently it is!

But I can't believe this was the last one and now I have to wait for an update!!! NO!!! THAT CAN'T BE HAPPENING!!! I NEED AN UPDATE!!! NOW!!!

Krhm...

Anyways...

Update soon, yeah? (: I'll promise to review now that I've actually caught up with the story ^^

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Haha! Thanks so much!
I've really enjoyed your reviews. They're so much fun to read xD
The next one's in validation so I can promise that it'll be up soon. Again, thanks so much for leaving reviews. It's really helped and now I'm hyped to write more :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Elenia How to be a jerk

12th July 2014:
OH!! THIS IS SERIOUSLY MY FAVOURITE CHAPTER!!

Everything was perfect! SO amazing! I don't have words that are strong enough to describe my feeling at the moment!!!

Okaya, okay, calming down a bit...

Let's start with Dom. Gah, I hate to see that. I've had friends like that who are so blind and will flip if you say even one bad word about their boyfriend. I seriously hope she will understand it sooner than later, so she won't get too hurt! Poor girl.

Love Freddie so much! It's nice to see him acting so friendly. I don't think I've ever seen his character written like this, but your Freddie is definitely becoming one of my favourite Freddies ever!

Oh James. I love how passionate their relationship is! Seriously get together now!!! I know you like her, James! You wouldn't have been so keen on finding out if Wheeler hurt Marley, if you didn't have a crush on her!!!

I did feel a little bad for him when he realised what Marley had really been thinking about the whole mess with Andrea.

I'd actually forgotten Marley still had a boyfriend d: he hasn't been mentioned that often and we haven't heard anything from him since the letter that was turned into a Howler. So maybe you want to add at least a little reminder somewhere in between? Like have Marley thinking about him and wondering why he hasn't sent anything lately?

But man, does he suck! Who breaks up with someone via a freaking owl post? I'll answer that myself: The same guys who break up with a text message... Urgh, grow some, guys!! Although I do have to admit that in the wizarding world, the options are rather low when you're still in school, but still... Maybe ask her first if there was anyway they could meet. Urgh.

Superb chapter, dear!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I got all excited because of the letter in caps at the beginning of your review xD
And yeah.. I actually thought about whether I should put more of Henri in the previous chapters, but I realised that with everything going on with Charles and the whole school taking James's side, it wouldn't be like Marley to keep thinking about her boyfriend.
However, now that you've pointed it out, I'll read through the chapters again and consider a revision.
Thanks a lot for the review! Criticism/suggerstions really do help!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Elenia How to make friends

12th July 2014:
Aww, I really like this chapter!

I'm glad Marley is finally getting a female friend too! She definitely deserves more friends!

Ahaha, I hope she wears that outfit! That would be awesome! Take that all you girls who want to dress as sexy bunnies or cats or Healers or whatever! That's exactly how a Halloween costume is supposed to be!

Poor Andrea! That whole situation wasn't even her fault, but still the whole school is treating her like she's rotten to the core. She seems like such a sweetheart, why can't they all just get over themselves and find something else to talk about?

I loved how James signalled Marley to go after her ♥ I've feeling very loving lately, have you noticed? I'm always loving everything about your chapters d:

But it's because they're all so lovable! Great work!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hogwarts is just one big magicked version of high school isnt it? People suck, I agree :/
Thanks! So glad you like it :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Elenia How to: drama

12th July 2014:
Oh wow, such a great chapter once again! I'm fangirling like crazy here!

Because go Marley!!She just showed that jerk what she's made of! I'm so proud of her all girl power right now ^^

Poor Dom, she's so blinded by her love for her boyfriend, so she can't see what he's really like. That's never nice when it happens! But I do hope that she'll realise it soon and then notice that there is a lot better option out there (DITZ 4eva!)

Gosh, I loved that scene with Marley and James in the end! Get together already! Well no, because I want some more dramatic event first because they've all been so amazing!

But the talk was really great, and it's nice to see them warming up to each other a little already!

Keep writing!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Girl power all the way!
And well, it wouldn't be believable to have Dom trust Marley. She's known Roger longer and is in love with him too!
And James and Marely.. I think they're both too complicated to just jump into something.
Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Elenia How to: nicknames

12th July 2014:
Bad liquorice wands, Marley? Really? (x I'm glad thought that she's actually feeling something for James, because those two would really fit together if they managed to work their differences!

Freddie-bear! I love that! He's becoming one of my favourites too in this story!

The chapter was awesome once again. I can't wait to find out what's really happening with Marley's dad, because it all sounds very suspicious!

I wonder when James's detective skills will kick in and he'll figure out what's happening!

Fitz will always be my favourite! Gah, he's just perfect! If there was a Dobby award for the best supporting character, I would nominate him in an instant (x

Hmph, I want Pygmy Puff pyjamas too! Marley is the coolest (x

Excellent work once again!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Aww, Fitz would blush because you like him so much..
Or he'd be a spaz and tell you everything there is to know about iguanas or something. Oh, Fitz :')


 Report Review

Review #21, by Elenia How to be a paranoid freak

12th July 2014:
Hello ^^

Ooh, so much James in this chapter! Me likes!

I really liked the beginning with the apology! Even though James wasn't being sincere about it, I really liked the fact that Marley accepted it. That must have shocked him, and Albus too (x

I seriously like all your characters, even the ones I don't like, if that made any sense (x For instance this Aaron. He's a jerk and I hate the type of people he represents, but I still find him amusing too d:

That been said, my dislike for Jillian is growing with every chapter! You don't say things like that about your friends behind their back, especially when their mum is in the hospital! Poor Tracey.

And poor Marley too, I hope her paranoia is misplaced!

That ending was great and I loved the dirty look Freddie gave James. Oh, and please tell me Fitz hadn't dressed yet, but was only wearing a towel when Marley dragged him out (x

Great work, dear!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Poor Fitz! I think it's in his character to have a breakdown if he were to be dragged into the Common Room half naked!
I'm so glad you're liking it so far. It's really great to get consistent reviews; helps with future chapters. So, thanks! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Elenia How to troll

12th July 2014:
Me again (:

Great chapter! So many interesting things that I want to point out, but I'll probably forget half of them d:

Fitz continues to be my favourite. Did he seriously just speak Dothraki to Dom ♥ ♥ Hands up who just checked what that means *raises her hand*

Intrigued to meet this Roger, but first - is Freddy having a little crush on Marley, or why was he so friendly and willing to help d:

Urgh, I'm really disliking Jillian and her friends!

And what is Charles doing... Hmmm...

On a side note, I'm missing Teddy, I need to see him soon d:

I really like your writing a lot! All the description and details work really well, but the dialogue is just superb! It feels very real and not forced at all!

Great work!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Haha, thanks! I personally love books with relly witty/funny dialogue. I think that's why I like to write dialogue so much.
Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Elenia How to dig yourself into a hole

12th July 2014:
Oh wow. This is such an intense chapter!

The beginning was hilarious! I was laughing so much when James stormed in, his hair bright pink. Seriously, sometimes I wish there was someone illustrating these stories, because that would've been a priceless moment!

And Marley with her fake tears. Haha, nice one girl!

It's funny though, how every one in the school thinks Fitz is a weirdo, but sometimes I think he's the only sensible one there (x Marley really should listen to him more d:

That ending made me really sad. Was it mentioned at some point if Marley's mum is just missing, or if she's dead or something? I know it's insinuated at least, but I might have missed it.

But wow, Marley is scary when she gets mad! I loved all the action in that last scene! And boy, does she also know to jab where it hurts! I kind of felt bad for James there.

"His _ was grasping his sweater so tightly that his knuckles were turning white." I think you're missing a word there (:

Great chapter! See you soon in the next one (:

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Nope, nothing about Marely's Mum... yet ;) (yes, I'm dropping hints, but that is all I'm going to say at this point)
And the 'His' was meant to be 'He'. I'm just so lazy about rereading before posting! I def need to go through all the chapters and fix the typos!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Elenia How to plan revenge

12th July 2014:
Oooh, such a great chapter once again!

She truly is a Gryffie, isn't she? (x Seriously though, why are all the pranksters always in Gryffindor d:

But poor Teddy, does he have any control over anyone? That scene in the classroom was so funny!

Dom is so adorable, as is Fitz's crush on her. I do hope that they get together eventually!

Haha, I love it how Rose gave Marley the thumbs up!

Uu, what did Marley do? d; I loved that whole passage, and my absolute favourite thing about it was Fitz's sleeping position! Seriously, who sleeps like that? That boy gets weirder and weirder with every chapter and I love it!

Off to read the next one! Tata!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yup; a true Gryffie! I love spunky characters, they're just so fun to write!
And ikr, Ted is such an adorable fail xD


 Report Review

Review #25, by Elenia How to react to public humiliation

12th July 2014:
Haha, I absolutely love this chapter!

Gosh, I really love Marley. She's such a fierce personality and so funny! I love it how she always has something to say!

And James, sneaky boy, isn't he? I can't believe he stole Marley's letter! Poor girl, that was pretty humiliating! Henri's clearly a romantic (x

Fitz is still my favourite though - "-should be giving me an Order of Merlin-" he gets the best lines (x I need more of him! You should definitely write that though, a Fitz-com (x maybe once this is finished. It could be a spin-off of his life after Hogwarts d: I'd definitely read it! I love him already so much ♥

I forgot to say this in my last review, but I really liked how Teddy's metamorphmagus abilities acted out when he got all flustered! And bad Professor, you do not tell students how to get to places that are restricted to them (x

Great work!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Fitz is my spirit animal. I love him to pieces too! A spin off is def something to consider.
Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>