Reading Reviews for Shadowplay
  
23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AnnaG1303 Ten: Into the Darkness

17th April 2014:
I am actually scared to go to sleep after reading this chapter. In other words, I absolutely love it! I'm practically addicted to it! Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you're enjoying the story! I'm about halfway through the next chapter, so it should be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #2, by oldnumberseven  The Chariot

15th April 2014:
Hello again XD

Hmm, so where do I begin? I suppose I'll start with the scene in Barnabus' house - it's intriguing to see Aislin realize that she should have chucked her friend with benefits ages ago, but even more exciting (or at least to me) that she's thinking about Remus while she's in another man's bed. And not sexual thoughts persay, but when he would do/how he would react. And SPEAKING of Remus, what does Moody want him to do? Something dangerous and werewolf related?

I also have to say that the ending scene with Sirius was really cute. Even though you haven't mentioned too much about their relationship, I can still see them running around Hogwarts, playfully fighting and bickering. But I'm still rooting for a Remus romance XD

Great chapter!

Author's Response: I wanted this chapter to be a little more reflective / focus more on Aislin's personal life, as the last few have pretty much revolved around the case. Glad you liked the chapter, keep rooting for Remus! And as always thanks for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by oldnumberseven  Ten: Into the Darkness

6th April 2014:
Ahhh, more awesomeness!

I love love love the part where Aislin and Remus go into North's home (and I freaking died when she said she would get him a house plant to try and be nice - laughed as well when Moody reminded them they can use magic and North can't). As I've said before, you lay out the whole serial killer mystery so well and the scene where they go into the basement is just the icing on the cake. I was honestly expecting something more gruesome (like actual human bodies), but I'm sure things are going to develop/become more scary as the chapters go on :D

The last dinner scene was interesting too - I'm excited to see what happens at Lily and James' wedding! I can just picture Aislin seeing Sirius and then getting really drunk to get over things, and ... well, you're the author, I'll stop here. Can't wait to see what you come up with!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you liked the chapter! James and Lily's wedding isn't for a few more chapters, but I'm so excited to write it!! xD Next chapter is in the works, should be up sometime this week!

 Report Review

Review #4, by wonweasley Ten: Into the Darkness

5th April 2014:
It's decided: Moody is my favourite character in this story -- possibly in the whole Harry Potter universe. "But you have the strategic advantage of using magic." Gold, just gold. I don't know how you manage to characterise him so well - not only canonically, but with your own flavour that effortlessly fits with the genre you're working in. Seriously, it's a tricky job and you are nailing it.

The scene in North's place had me on edge. I think the contrast between the perfectly decorated house and the horrifying basement was described in enough detail to get a real sense of how messed up people are, and how easily they can hide it. The dude (whether he's North or not) really creeps me out, but I'm so keen to know more about him. And to find out all this Priestess business. Exciting!

And finally I just adore the relationship that's forming between Aislin and Remus, the fact that he's starting to feel more comfortable around her. It just makes me happy because I feel like if there's anything I want in life, it's for Remus Lupin to be happy. (It's unhealthy. I know.)

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm having lots of fun writing Moody, and I'm glad he reads well!
I tried to make the basement scene just gross enough to be unsettling, without being so awful that it comes off as if I'm trying to be shocking just for the fun of it. That's definitely the point I want to make with North though, that as normal as somebody might look, you never know what's on the inside.
The friendship between Aislin/Remus is definitely going to develop more over the course of the story. I really like writing about them because their personalities are so different, but play so well off each other!

Thanks for reviewing, next chapter is in the works!


 Report Review

Review #5, by oldnumberseven  Nine: Justice

28th March 2014:
Ha! Oh Aislin, you're always sneaking around and doing things you're not supposed to!

I love the press conference in the beginning, it was great. And it's funny to see Barnabus pop up every once and awhile. Their relationship is intriguing because they sleep together and are fine being apart, but then they help each other out. But then Sirius comes in! As I've stated before, I'm a Remus fangirl in this story, but I don't mind Sirius being the romantic love interest. I love how he was in the middle of apologizing when Aislin has a breakthrough with the case. Which is starting to get really thrilling by the way!

Yay, all caught up! But can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review! :) I have half the next chapter done but I have classes starting tomorrow so it might take until this weekend to finish.

 Report Review

Review #6, by oldnumberseven  Eight: The Hermit

27th March 2014:
Oooo, this story is getting so so good! I can tell you've done your research on serial killers - or, well, at least you've planned out this person's kills very dramatically! This fic reminds me of Seven or Angels and Demons in that respect.

Btw, your drunk Remus is hilarious. I know he's a little more reserved during the HP books, but according to Pottermore, he did run away and drink himself silly when Tonks was preggo ... so it would make sense that he would get drunk in his youth. But of course, he's Remus, so it's always a bit funny to see him hungover :D

Aislin's relationship with Barnabus is also starting to get a bit interesting. It's a love/hate relationship, but it's not really a relationship at all ... ugh, I'm rambling. Just I know that I love it!

:D

Author's Response: Haha, I tried not to get too carried away with drunk Remus, but I liked playing around with the idea that his good habits are rubbing off on Aislin / her bad ones are rubbing off on Remus. Thanks for yet another lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by oldnumberseven  Seven: The Wheel of Fortune

27th March 2014:
OMG, I love Aislin and Remus living together. I can totally picture the whole thing in my head and it's hilarious. The scene with James was also pretty funny and I'm curious to know more about their relationship at Hogwarts. It sounds like the Marauders pranked her a bit, but she also dated Sirius ... I'm sure I'll figure it all out soon.

And speaking of Sirius - hello dear, nice to see you in the story! Love the sexual tension, but I'm secretly pulling for Aislin to end up with Remus ;)

Ok, so I know this sounds a bit odd, but I also really like that Aislin had a drinking problem. It makes for some funny, witty humor, but it's also pretty sad and depressing ... so it's interesting to read the flip flop between the two.

Great work as always! :D

Author's Response: I honestly love writing Remus, and I thought their personalities would play off each other well. I want Aislin's bad habits to be realistic and I'm trying not to gloss over / make light of them too much, but I think at this stage her character doesn't really take any of it seriously, so hopefully it comes across okay. Thanks so much for stopping by again, your reviews really mean a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #8, by oldnumberseven  Six: A Darkness Within

27th March 2014:
Back! XD

Omg, Aislin is so freaking funny - "Just don't go leaving fur all over the carpets", "This is what I get for trusting the French", "Boring" - but I loved this chapter because you get to see another side of her when she figures out Remus is a werewolf. She has such a realistic and natural response (because really, if werewolves were so ostracized, most people would be a little freaked out if someone told them they were one), but then she gets over it and cracks a funny joke. Love it! Your physical descriptions of her reaction were splendid as well.

This chapter also brought out my inner Remus fangirl. Is this story going to eventually turn into a Remus/Oc romance? Omg, that would be so funny to read. But if not, no biggie, I just like their dynamic together :D

Oh - and! - the murder is getting more interesting. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Glad you're appreciating the humor, I always feel a little awkward writing jokes into a murder story! I don't want to give anything away about the plot, but Aislin and Remus are definitely going to be seeing more of each other. Thanks for reading/reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by oldnumberseven  Five: Strength

26th March 2014:
Ok, so I only have time to read and review one chapter tonight because work and my own story have exhausted me, but I told you I'd be back with more love :D

These murders are starting to get interesting, as is the appearance of dear Remus! I love him, so it's cool to see your take on him, since he's out of school and all. The flat idea is interesting - I can just see him shaking his head every time Aislin does something silly XD And Sirius! I'm excited to finally meet him (so to speak, haha), because he seems pretty interesting already!

Author's Response: Yay, thanks for stopping by again! Remus is going to be in the story lots, and Sirius will make an appearance too once in a while although he's not going to be as central to the plot. Thanks again for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by oldnumberseven  Four: Truth Shall Out

24th March 2014:
Ok, this is my last review of the night, but there will be more, I promise. This story deserves more love :D

God, Aislin is so REAL. I love it! I have friends like her, but I've never seen someone like Aislin in the HP world before! She's funny and sarcastic, but she also has a lot of faults, some of which she's willing to admit, some she won't. But even though she has all of these high walls around her heart, she still freaks out when she sees Regulus ... and in order to get over all of that, she drinks and has meaningless sex. Brilliant stuff, truly.

Like I said, I'll be back. I really enjoy reading this story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your insightful reviews, they've made my day and given me a lot to think about as I continue writing the story! :) :')

 Report Review

Review #11, by oldnumberseven  Three: The Hanged Man

24th March 2014:
Ooo, more plot and intrigue! I love the tarot card murder theory!

So I just noticed that you have another story with an OC named Aislin during her Hogwarts year, so I assume it's connected to this one? The other one is abandoned tho, so I'm just going to continue with this one. It's too much fun of a read for me to stop ... well I've got to head off to bed soon to rest up before work tomorrow, but I'm going to read a bit more :D

Author's Response: The other Aislin story is from a couple of years ago, and it's pretty immature/cliche, but it was the inspiration for certain elements of this story. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by oldnumberseven  Two: Bad Press

24th March 2014:
I absolutely love Aislin. She's spunky, sexual, independent, smart, crazy, and at the same time has a little part of her that feels regret. Her POV is hilarious as well - I actually laughed out loud when reading this chapter!

I had a feeling she was a Ravenclaw long before you mentioned it, because I was getting the Sherlock Holmes vibe from her, but the more I read about Aislin, the more unique I find her. She likes solving puzzles, but she also likes having meaningless sex - not a combination you see a lot in fanfiction! So props for making someone so different :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! In a way this story is experimental because I wanted to play around with Aislin as a character. I'm so glad you like her POV!

 Report Review

Review #13, by oldnumberseven  One: Prelude

24th March 2014:
This. Is. Brilliant. I. Am. Hooked.

I'd leave a sophisticated and lengthy review, but I'm ready to race to the next chapter. I'm in love with Aislin and her POV!

Author's Response: :D Thanks so much, glad you like the story!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rose Nine: Justice

21st March 2014:
Wow, I am so glad I found this. Your writing is a gift. It flows easily, it's funny, it's clever, and the way you've brought out Aislin's character is so distinct, I feel like she could be real.
Amazing job. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :) Glad you're enjoying the story.

 Report Review

Review #15, by miluv Nine: Justice

20th March 2014:
YES WOOHOOO GO AISLIN SUCH A WINNER OMG. update sooon:)))

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by miluv Seven: The Wheel of Fortune

15th March 2014:
OMMG ARE WE GETTING CLOSER TO FIGURING OUT THE MYSTERY??? AND OMG SIRIUS AND AISLIN MOMENT FOR THE FIRST TIME! Do they have a couple name bc that should happen,, something like Aislirius or Sirslin or something idk. But wonderful as usuualll love you and update soon(:

Author's Response: Thanks so much for leaving another awesome review - next chapter is already in the queue! :) I definitely like Aislirius for the couple name haha

 Report Review

Review #17, by rich_blonde marauder23 Seven: The Wheel of Fortune

13th March 2014:
Wow I really think this story is great! I was so surprised by the low number of reviews that I finally decided I should comment.

Well first of all, the canon characters are spot on. In this chapter we especially got to see Sirius' new darker side, and what his relationship with his brother is really like. I think Aislin is really intriguing and yet she seems in a really dark place in her life right now... even if you don't say she's depressed outright. I really like how original you made her though... very rare these days!

I also think the way you write is very simple and flowy. Very natural and realistic. That's what I like about the narrative.

Also, I think this story is really mysterious and fresh, like I'm still not sure where it is going or how she will be with Sirius in the near future.

Good job!! I'm really curious to know more about Aislin's past.

Sofia xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I think Marauders stories are generally very happy-go-lucky, and I wanted to capture more of the darkness of the first wizarding war. Thanks again for reading, next chapter will be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #18, by MistyWitch Seven: The Wheel of Fortune

13th March 2014:
I just startedreading this story and i have read lots of sirius/oc fics. and this was really interesting and fresh from all the other stories... Aislin's character is one of the few which i really like and close to what i thought would be a perfect girl for sirius. So i really really love the character which is the foremost thing i like in any story... looking forward for an update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! The next chapter is in the queue :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by B Six: A Darkness Within

9th March 2014:
Interesting story. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review - chapter seven in currently in the queue!

 Report Review

Review #20, by miluv Six: A Darkness Within

1st March 2014:
you don't even understand how much i love this story its not even funny like update now pleasee im dying this was an amazing chapter as usual i cant wait for the next one!
xox miluv

Author's Response: Haha thank you so much! This review totally made my day! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ahondo Six: A Darkness Within

23rd February 2014:
Haha I love Aislin's character so much! She's so sassy and a bit unhinged but so interesting! I'm curious to see how the story develops, I can't wait to read more! Keep up the good work

Author's Response: Glad you like the story, thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by maraudertimes One: Prelude

11th February 2014:
Hi!

Ooh, I really like this! I kind of love Aislin, even if her lifestyle seems a little bit extreme (at least to me :P). She seems quite sarcastic and witty and very prone to death threats, and basically my kind of girl. I also like Marlene, even though she likes to mark her territory on the couch by drooling.

Aislin's relationship with Johnny is a little sad, considering he seems like a great guy, but I guess Aislin would like a guy who isn't afraid to argue with her. I guess her disdain makes sense, and the comment about her and a certain Sirius Black does as well - they seem quite headstrong, the both of them.

The reporter (was it Rita Skeeter? because if so, you've done a great job of introducing a canon character that everyone knows of and making her seamlessly still canon in character) was quite intrusive, but I loved Aislin's responses to all of the questions - she seems very put together and poised when it comes to reporters and their questions.

This is a great start, a great premise, and I'm excited to read more! Amazing job!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you're enjoying the story so far. Aislin is a bit extreme, but hopefully she'll become more humanized and sympathetic as the story progresses. The reporter was mean to be Rita, glad you noticed that!

Thanks again for taking the time to review, it means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Anon Two: Bad Press

3rd February 2014:
I love this story! I love that you used an edgy heroine rather than some cookie cutter type. And I love the film noir vibe. I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: :D Thanks so much for my first review on this story! I'm very excited about the story, so updates will be pretty frequent!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login