Reading Reviews for Shadowplay
  
42 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Grace Sixteen: The Emperor

23rd June 2014:
Been meaning to review since I caught up a few days ago. Realy love this fic, it's so original and well written, and Aislin is a peach and her struggles are so fascinating to read. The mystery is SO COOL too. I'm gushing. Anyway, great work! Would love to read more.

 Report Review

Review #2, by santosh Sixteen: The Emperor

17th June 2014:
when will the next chapter come out i love the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #3, by greenbirds Sixteen: The Emperor

20th May 2014:
this is brilliant! i wish i had read it before- im in love. you write thrillers amazingly, what a talent. aislin is perfect, especially her narrative, and i love the plot. i had goosebumps all over. im a massive fan of the characters, aislin, sirius, the cards, the mystique of it all- amazing! please update soon, how many more chapters until the end?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! I'm completely undecided as to how long the story will continue, but it'll probably be somewhere between 5-10 more chapters.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Tanith Sixteen: The Emperor

19th May 2014:
Hi,


Ive been reading your story since chapter one and decided that its finally time to write a review ;)

I really like that your main character is a smart woman with flaws which make her human if that makes sense...hope it does ;)
Plus I always like a good murder mystery and your plot is unique and reallly, really good!

Im already looking forward for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you're enjoying the story! Next chapter should be up in the next two weeks!

 Report Review

Review #5, by freakyflowers Sixteen: The Emperor

19th May 2014:
This is by far my favorite story on here! Your quick updates are amazing and the story line is so interesting. Can't wait for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I haven't started the next chapter yet but I'll tackle it sometime soon!

 Report Review

Review #6, by miluv Sixteen: The Emperor

16th May 2014:
can I be honest with you? SO it's Friday, and I open my account to see if any of the fics I follow have been updates, and bc its Friday of course a ton of them have. I'll have six or seven wonderfully amazing stories to read, but I always check for this one first. Does that accurately describe my love for this story? Haha great chappie as usual can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: :') Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm glad you're enjoying the story, next chapter should be up sometime in the next week or two!

 Report Review

Review #7, by xxxtrueheroxxx Sixteen: The Emperor

15th May 2014:
I love this story so much! It always keeps me on the edge of my seat. I can't wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it, thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by oldnumberseven  Fifteen: A Sudden Brightness

9th May 2014:
So, I'm torn.

On the one hand, I love the moment with Sirius during the wedding. You've teased us with glimpses of Aislin and Sirius' past, but we've only seen snippets of their current predicament. And they seem so natural together - the part with Moody was beyond hilarious because they seemed to play off each other without much effort.

But you know me, I love her connection with Remus because it's not effortless, it's difficult and confusing. So this whole thing about the "second chance" is a little disheartening, but only because I'm selfish and want them to get together ;)

Otherwise, fantastic chapter. You're amazing and I can't wait for the next chapter whenever you're done with it!

Author's Response: Haha sorry about that whole thing. But I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter! I'm in the middle of writing a bunch of term papers, so things are a bit crazy, but I'll try to get the next one in the queue sometime this weekend. As always, thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by guest Fifteen: A Sudden Brightness

9th May 2014:
wow...it was beautiful.
they all really deserved a break from their mad world...and loving the aislin/sirius moments..
can't wait for the next update

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! In the middle of a bunch of final papers right now but I'll try to get the next chapter into the queue sometime this weekend!

 Report Review

Review #10, by wonweasley Fifteen: A Sudden Brightness

8th May 2014:
Okay, wow. I had to take a few moments to bask in the pure happiness of that chapter! Of course James and Lily's wedding was a success! It's James and Lily. And seeing all the old school chums together just made my heart swell. How you portrayed Peter was so important, I can't even explain... It's like, we know what's coming so as readers we expect to see hints of his betrayal before it happens, but why? All the others are clever witches and wizards, and any giveaways - no matter how small - would have been noticed. So I like that you still included Peter as one of the gang and not this outsider presence, just because of what happens later on. So yeah, bonus points for that characterisation.

Drunk Remus is adorable. Stop it, I might die. Drunk times all together is just magical.

There were so many things about this chapter that I loved, but hands down my favourite part was Sirius and Aislin vying for Moody's affection (so to speak). The fact that he hates it, or perhaps just doesn't know how to deal with it, makes it even better. The man is a work of art.

All in all, amazing job on another amazing chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! It always strikes me as unrealistic when Peter acts all sketchy or is completely left out of the action, so I wanted to avoid that. I had lots of fun with the dialogue this chapter :) Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by jinxz0715 One: Prelude

7th May 2014:
I've just read all chapters you have posted (14, as of now) and I'm absolutely floored that this story doesn't have more reviews. This is one of the best fanfics I have ever read, and I've read seven years worth. I really hope you keep on with it. I love the characters, love the plot, and your writing is wonderful. I really hope your reviews pickup because the story definitely deserves them.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! It's hard for me to promote the story because I don't have an account on the forums (used to but became addicted), so your feedback really means a lot!

 Report Review

Review #12, by wonweasley Fourteen: The Hierophant

7th May 2014:
I'm super mad at myself for not keeping up and reviewing every chapter, but time is just not on my side right now. Basically you're amazing, alright? I envy your ability to write distinctive, 3D characters - even the minor ones. I love that we can get a good sense of them and their role in the larger plot, despite the bias of Aislin's perspective. Moody is definitely still doing it for me. Well done there.

Also HELLO SIRIUS. I enjoy the story's pacing, and the fact that Sirius appears only in short bursts makes me treasure those moments even more. Needless to say I am excited to see more of him. I want to hate Cuffe for getting in the way, but I mostly pity him. Poor, obnoxious man.

The Aislin/Remus friendship is coming along nicely. I'm interested to see whether Remus' awkwardness (about where to put his hands when Aislin hugged him, for example) is a product of his own possible feelings for her, or whether he's aware of Sirius' feelings and senses a conflict there. He's adorable, either way.

And finally, to the main plot! Just incredible. And terrifying. The fact that North is performing sacrifices to get magic?! It must've been pretty strong to be able to get him out of a Ministry holding cell. Or maybe he has an accomplice on the inside? My god, the anticipation is killing me!

Just altogether well done. I will try to keep up as much as possible. But know that you have a very dedicated fan right here. 10/10 flawless story.

Author's Response: :'D Thank you so much, this is lovely. Sirius will get some screen-time in the next chapter (the wedding!) but he's definitely going to continue to be more of a secondary character. I've had so much fun with the development of Aislin/Remus' friendship, and also with the murders (maybe that's morbid)! Thanks so much for reviewing, glad you're enjoying the story! Next chapter is in the queue :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by oldnumberseven  Fourteen: The Hierophant

6th May 2014:
Omg omg omg, the suspense! Fantastic! :D

First off, I love the scene where Remus comes home. The little details were perfect - Remus not knowing where to put his hands and blushing, Aislin realizing that she missed having him around and doesn't want him to move out. You know me, I ship them hardcore, so that was nice to read ;) Can't wait for the wedding!

As for North ... more suspense! I can't wait to see where you take this plot. Seriously, I'm so excited XD

Author's Response: So I just spilled a protein shake all over my computer and planner and textbook and things were looking grim, and then I saw this nice lovely review which made it all better :D. I'm really having fun with the development of A/R's relationship, and of course the mystery. Next chapter is in the queue!

 Report Review

Review #14, by oldnumberseven  Thirteen: The Lovers

4th May 2014:
I am so sorry I haven't reviewed until now - I read this chapter as soon as it came out but I've been so busy ... anyways, here's my usual batch of ramblings XD

I love the murders, they are getting to fascinating to read about. And not in a morbid way, but in a story telling way. Like, I'm excited to see what happens next and every time I read something, I think how it could be useful to the overall plot. It's great!

So you warned me that there wouldn't be a lot of Remus in this chapter, but I have to say, I wasn't disappointed. It's interesting to see her relationship with Sirius evolve ... because they used to have a thing, but now they aren't sure what they are exactly. And Barnabus is there as always and it's nice to see Aislin acknowledge the fact that she knows he's no good for her.

Can't wait for the next chapter!!

Carly

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! :) I'm glad the murders are compelling, hopefully the next one will be even more gripping! Also glad you didn't mind Remus not being around, although he will (spoiler alert) be coming home soon! Next chapter just got validated, enjoy! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by S_BERDOG_B Thirteen: The Lovers

2nd May 2014:
I love this story. Please update soon
Bear x

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :) The next chapter is already in the queue, should be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #16, by miluv Thirteen: The Lovers

1st May 2014:
scoreee go aislin what a killer ;)

Author's Response: :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Anonymous Twelve: Making Connections

27th April 2014:
Slightly in love with this fic, just read it all in one sitting it's that fab. Aisling's is bloody amazing, she's so blunt and sassy and refreshing to see a protagonist who has slight alcoholic tendencies, anyways, update soon please :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! :) The next chapter is in the queue, should be up in 2 days or so!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Horsepatronus Twelve: Making Connections

25th April 2014:
Such a good story, I love it :)
Update soon
Jess :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Next chapter coming soon!

 Report Review

Review #19, by oldnumberseven  Twelve: Making Connections

22nd April 2014:
Make way for Aislin's #1 fan! :D

Another great chapter. I'm still fangirling the hardest when Aislin and Remus are trying their best to be a crime fighting (or in this case, serial killer stopping) duo. It's so funny because Remus is calm, cool, and collected and Aislin is all over the place. It makes for some good comedy, even if you don't intend it to be.

But the mystery unfolds! I was wondering what North's evil plan might be, so I'm excited to see if he performs any magic. And hello Sirius, nice to see you again! But you know me, I'm still pulling for Remus to end up with Aislin ;)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! I had so much fun with the interview scene, I really like playing their Aislin and Remus' personalities off of each other. Remus will be off on his mission for most of the next chapter, unfortunately, but there should be lots of excitement to make up for that.

Thanks for reviewing! Your comments always make my day!


 Report Review

Review #20, by AnnaG1303 Ten: Into the Darkness

17th April 2014:
I am actually scared to go to sleep after reading this chapter. In other words, I absolutely love it! I'm practically addicted to it! Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you're enjoying the story! I'm about halfway through the next chapter, so it should be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #21, by oldnumberseven  Eleven: The Chariot

15th April 2014:
Hello again XD

Hmm, so where do I begin? I suppose I'll start with the scene in Barnabus' house - it's intriguing to see Aislin realize that she should have chucked her friend with benefits ages ago, but even more exciting (or at least to me) that she's thinking about Remus while she's in another man's bed. And not sexual thoughts persay, but when he would do/how he would react. And SPEAKING of Remus, what does Moody want him to do? Something dangerous and werewolf related?

I also have to say that the ending scene with Sirius was really cute. Even though you haven't mentioned too much about their relationship, I can still see them running around Hogwarts, playfully fighting and bickering. But I'm still rooting for a Remus romance XD

Great chapter!

Author's Response: I wanted this chapter to be a little more reflective / focus more on Aislin's personal life, as the last few have pretty much revolved around the case. Glad you liked the chapter, keep rooting for Remus! And as always thanks for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by oldnumberseven  Ten: Into the Darkness

6th April 2014:
Ahhh, more awesomeness!

I love love love the part where Aislin and Remus go into North's home (and I freaking died when she said she would get him a house plant to try and be nice - laughed as well when Moody reminded them they can use magic and North can't). As I've said before, you lay out the whole serial killer mystery so well and the scene where they go into the basement is just the icing on the cake. I was honestly expecting something more gruesome (like actual human bodies), but I'm sure things are going to develop/become more scary as the chapters go on :D

The last dinner scene was interesting too - I'm excited to see what happens at Lily and James' wedding! I can just picture Aislin seeing Sirius and then getting really drunk to get over things, and ... well, you're the author, I'll stop here. Can't wait to see what you come up with!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you liked the chapter! James and Lily's wedding isn't for a few more chapters, but I'm so excited to write it!! xD Next chapter is in the works, should be up sometime this week!

 Report Review

Review #23, by wonweasley Ten: Into the Darkness

5th April 2014:
It's decided: Moody is my favourite character in this story -- possibly in the whole Harry Potter universe. "But you have the strategic advantage of using magic." Gold, just gold. I don't know how you manage to characterise him so well - not only canonically, but with your own flavour that effortlessly fits with the genre you're working in. Seriously, it's a tricky job and you are nailing it.

The scene in North's place had me on edge. I think the contrast between the perfectly decorated house and the horrifying basement was described in enough detail to get a real sense of how messed up people are, and how easily they can hide it. The dude (whether he's North or not) really creeps me out, but I'm so keen to know more about him. And to find out all this Priestess business. Exciting!

And finally I just adore the relationship that's forming between Aislin and Remus, the fact that he's starting to feel more comfortable around her. It just makes me happy because I feel like if there's anything I want in life, it's for Remus Lupin to be happy. (It's unhealthy. I know.)

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm having lots of fun writing Moody, and I'm glad he reads well!
I tried to make the basement scene just gross enough to be unsettling, without being so awful that it comes off as if I'm trying to be shocking just for the fun of it. That's definitely the point I want to make with North though, that as normal as somebody might look, you never know what's on the inside.
The friendship between Aislin/Remus is definitely going to develop more over the course of the story. I really like writing about them because their personalities are so different, but play so well off each other!

Thanks for reviewing, next chapter is in the works!


 Report Review

Review #24, by oldnumberseven  Nine: Justice

28th March 2014:
Ha! Oh Aislin, you're always sneaking around and doing things you're not supposed to!

I love the press conference in the beginning, it was great. And it's funny to see Barnabus pop up every once and awhile. Their relationship is intriguing because they sleep together and are fine being apart, but then they help each other out. But then Sirius comes in! As I've stated before, I'm a Remus fangirl in this story, but I don't mind Sirius being the romantic love interest. I love how he was in the middle of apologizing when Aislin has a breakthrough with the case. Which is starting to get really thrilling by the way!

Yay, all caught up! But can't wait for the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review! :) I have half the next chapter done but I have classes starting tomorrow so it might take until this weekend to finish.

 Report Review

Review #25, by oldnumberseven  Eight: The Hermit

27th March 2014:
Oooo, this story is getting so so good! I can tell you've done your research on serial killers - or, well, at least you've planned out this person's kills very dramatically! This fic reminds me of Seven or Angels and Demons in that respect.

Btw, your drunk Remus is hilarious. I know he's a little more reserved during the HP books, but according to Pottermore, he did run away and drink himself silly when Tonks was preggo ... so it would make sense that he would get drunk in his youth. But of course, he's Remus, so it's always a bit funny to see him hungover :D

Aislin's relationship with Barnabus is also starting to get a bit interesting. It's a love/hate relationship, but it's not really a relationship at all ... ugh, I'm rambling. Just I know that I love it!

:D

Author's Response: Haha, I tried not to get too carried away with drunk Remus, but I liked playing around with the idea that his good habits are rubbing off on Aislin / her bad ones are rubbing off on Remus. Thanks for yet another lovely review! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>