Reading Reviews for Shadowplay
  
64 Reviews Found

Review #1, by James Twenty-Five: The End

2nd July 2015:
I liked your story, but the ending kind of killed it for me.

 Report Review

Review #2, by John Montague Twenty-Five: The End

4th March 2015:
One of the best harry potter fan fics I have EVER read! Excellent job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #3, by gigi Eighteen: The Empress

31st January 2015:
I was in the process of reading another similar fanfic all the time thinking how much better yours was, devoid of fluff and cliché, nice cool protagonist and great original plot, so I came back to comment again. It also had me remembering Barny's fire substory wasn't tied up. Did you intend to tie it into the main plot or was it going to be someone else? Thanks.

Author's Response: Hi again, and OOPS. I had so many ideas for this story in my head that I forgot to tie that up in the last couple of chapters. I think I hinted a little bit about who the culprit was in the chapter when Aislin goes to Barny's party, but I never stated it outright. I'll go back and make some edits to tie things up more neatly! Thanks for pointing that out, and for your review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Eunia  Twenty-Three: The High Priestess

13th January 2015:
omg. oMG. OH MY GOD.
WHAT

Author's Response: Hahaha, thanks for reviewing! Glad the twist took you by surprise!

 Report Review

Review #5, by onetrueking Twenty-Three: The High Priestess

12th January 2015:
Whoah! Did not see that coming.
Johnny boy is the Tarot killer! Well they say that the most unlikely are the real culprit.
I just hope Remus and Moody gets there in time.
Can't wait for next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I've already started writing the next chapter, so it'll be up soon!

 Report Review

Review #6, by wonweasley Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

9th January 2015:
This is getting so heavy. I'm honestly starting to feel quite anxious about this story ending. What's going to happen? And what am I going to do once it's all over? :'(

Okay, enough moping. I think it's sweet that Remus is encouraging Aislin to expand her social circle a bit. That wouldn't have happened if she'd been left to her own devices.

Maybe I was wrong about my comment on North in the previous review? I suppose he seems alright. I just can't get that basement scene out of my head. Although now I realise that he was under the Imperius Curse at that point, wasn't he? Gah I'm so confused! I need to know who's behind it all.

This is just wonderful. Well done on everything. Can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: The end is coming soon, and I'm pretty sad about it, too. :/ I can't give anything away now of course, but the killer will be revealed in 23! Thanks again for your fantastic reviews, which always make my day!

 Report Review

Review #7, by wonweasley Twenty-One: A Bright Glow

9th January 2015:
Yeesh, spider eggs in a pillow, that's a good one. I think I would die. Drunk Remus is such a darling. I want to know so badly about what's going through his head. Like what he thinks of Aislin and why he's so wound up about the case.

Barnabus is scum. He's just that typical lowlife male who thinks that it's totally okay to manipulate women into doing whatever he wants. Ugh. Karma needs to get on that stat.

Keen to find out more about North. I'm not yet tempted to believe he's entirely innocent. Like yeah, sure, he was Imperiused and all, but he's a shady bloke anyway.

Magnificent as always! On to chapter 22. :)

Author's Response: I love writing drunk Remus, though unfortunately there aren't many opportunities for it. Thanks so much for your lovely reviews!

 Report Review

Review #8, by wonweasley Twenty: A Low Flicker

9th January 2015:
Finally got around to reading this...and you've added three whole chapters! Lord we are so blessed.

Okay so yeah. Huge curve-ball with Remus/Aislin! It really didn't occur to me that there could be anything more than friendship between them, but this development has come up in the sneakiest of ways and I must admit I love it! So torn between him and Sirius though. But hey, why not both?

Such a treat to have Moody make a reappearance. "If you had died, I’d be furious. But you’re alive and well, so that’s neither here nor there, eh?" Textbook Al. Still my favourite character.

I could probably say more but I'm dying to get to chapter 21! Cracking on...

Author's Response: Haha, finals period proved to be a very productive time for this story. Glad you weren't thrown off by the Remus/Aislin!

 Report Review

Review #9, by naflower05 Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

6th January 2015:
Good couple of chapters!! I wonder who was behind the Imperious curse... Update again soon please, I can't wait to see what happens next! And when is Sirius going to come back?? 10/10! =]

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! Lots of good stuff will be revealed in ch23, which should be posted by next weekendish!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Anon Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

5th January 2015:
I love this story. Please update!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I'll try to get another chapter up by next weekend!

 Report Review

Review #11, by mrsdeanthomas421 Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

4th January 2015:
I love this story. Aislin as a protagonist is a breath of fresh air and your depiction of Remus is exactly how I have always imagined him. Thank you for writing an original, cliche-free fanfiction. I can honestly say it is one of the first ones I have read in a while and I cannot wait for more. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I'll try to pull out all the stops for the remaining chapters (23 should be up by next Sunday)!

 Report Review

Review #12, by wonweasley Nineteen: The High Priestess

13th December 2014:
"You had had enough of him, so he moved on to Marlene, and now you're having cheerful dinner parties to cover up how weird it all is." Yes!

I laughed out loud at how this was such an exact observation, and how Sirius ingeniously managed to use to it really get under Aislin's skin. In fact, this entire scene was gold, and even though it was working up to that (incredibly hot) kiss, I still didn't see it coming. Ugh. Perfection. Particular kudos to Sirius' growl of "Yes". He should acknowledge and be proud of his snarky handiwork. It was well-earned.

Sexy scenes aside, I AM TERRIFIED. For poor Remus, stressing out about the case, and now Aislin's in danger and North's possessed or something equally as horrifying and I can't deal with it at all! What the hell is that magic?

Overall, perfect execution of using the Aislin/Sirius banter as a sort of comic relief before we're hit with the terror of the main plot. Now I wait in suspense for what happens next... so exciting!

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad you liked it. I stopped writing for a few months and it was sort of hard to come back to at first, I guess because my brain hasn't been in sarcastic-dialogue mode for a while.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I should be able to get the next chapter in the queue sometime today/tomorrow.


 Report Review

Review #13, by whitelillies Nineteen: The High Priestess

9th December 2014:
Ah I think I see! I believe Kevin North is actually posessed by Nagini! Just as the snake "became" Bathilda Bagshot in The Deathly Hallows, so did it take over Kevin North's body. All the allusions to his snake-like movements and how he was limping made me think of that. But I might be wrong, because that doesn't explain the weird magic he is using. Either way it is creepy as hell girl!

Update soon! BTW I love your shoutouts, don't stop doing them hehe

xoxo
Sofia

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving a review! I can't tell you if your suspicions are correct, but some questions re North's weird behavior will be answered in the next couple of chapters! Thanks again, and I'm glad you're appreciating the shout-outs!

 Report Review

Review #14, by wonweasley Eighteen: The Empress

23rd November 2014:
Ah this story has got to be one of my all-time favourites! I did drop off the planet for a little bit so it's taken me a while to update myself, but of course your writing is flawless as always.

So. Sirius and Aislin. I love that their snarkiness towards one another hasn't changed at all, despite the progression of their relationship. Their cheeky, witty banter lights up my life, and I especially enjoyed the scene when she walks in on the Order getting all worked up over Sirius' wounds, only to have it punctuated by Aislin's snark. Yet at the same time my heart aches for her, as it's this defence mechanism that stops her from expressing herself properly, and it can only really be understood by Sirius and Remus.

And speaking of that scene, wow, her reaction when she goes into the kitchen. How you captured that emotion so poignantly -- I wanted to cry with her. That feeling of isolation, of being the outsider, is hard to express and often not pulled off in the right way, but you somehow managed to capture it perfectly. Pretending you're strong and that you don't care is sometimes the hardest thing in the world, and I feel like this is one of the rawest moments we've seen from Aislin so far. So very powerful. Well done.

The case is freaking me out. Honestly I thought they were getting so close at one point, and I was excited and anxious and I was also scared the story was going to end before I was ready! Haha. And I'm also interested in finding out what's going on with Cuffe's arsonist, and whether it's connected at all with the main killer.

Riveting stuff! Keep up the amazing work and looking forward to your next update. :)

Author's Response: Hi! I sort of dropped off the planet as well, but I'm back and the next chapter is in the queue. Hooray!

Some answers re the murder case are going to start revealing themselves in the next few chapters, which should be cool! Sirius is going to be out of the flat pretty soon which means less snarky interactions, which is a shame really because that's my faavorite part to write, but I want to keep the romance/plot ratio at a balance!

Thanks so much for your feedback, and I hope you enjoy ch 19!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Anonymous Eighteen: The Empress

2nd October 2014:
Okay, now that I've checked to see if this story has been updated for the millionth time, I thought I would leave a little review for you.

First, I have to say that I'm so impressed with the fact that this is not just your average, bland, couple-centred, love story. Aislin has her own life and her own troubles, and her relationship with Sirius takes a back seat to her career story (with just enough "romance" to keep it interesting). I love it. I've spent more time thinking about solving the case than on when Aislin and Sirius are going to get together...and to me, that is what makes this story so compelling.

I also wanted to compliment your command of all of the characters playing a part in this story. You weave canon and non-canon characters together seamlessly, and effortlessly breathe life into characters mentioned in passing in the novels. J.K. Rowling would be proud, I am sure. Bravo!

I hope you update soon because I am simply dying to know what happens next, and to see if my hunches about the case are correct.

Cheers!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this amazing review!! I'll try to get the next chapter into the queue sometime this week!

 Report Review

Review #16, by naflower05 Eighteen: The Empress

22nd September 2014:
Great chapter! I like that she seems to be growing up and evolving. I can't wait for more info on the case! Update again soon please!! =] 10/10!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it! :) I'll try to post another chapter sometime in the next two weeks!

 Report Review

Review #17, by whitelillies Eighteen: The Empress

21st September 2014:
This chapter was awesome! I can't wait for more profound interaction between Aislin and Sirius, and for Aislin to find out more info about the Order.

Haha I loved your shoutout, so random yet still on point.

Sofia xxx

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by naflower05 Seventeen: Things Brought to Light

15th September 2014:
Oh my god. This story is amazing. I love it! She's such a realistic character, someone who has flaws but also has good qualities that make up for them, and there's room for character development. Can't wait to see what happens now, the suspense of the Tarot killer is, pardon the pun, killing me! Please update again soon!! =] 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Really busy with work/school right now but I'll try to get ch18 into the queue by Sunday!!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Caro Seventeen: Things Brought to Light

12th September 2014:
what a great chapter! seriously, i love it a lot, especially your writing style reads very nicely and doesn't distract from the story. Very excited to see how this all works out. :)

Author's Response: Thanks again for reviewing! :) I'll try to post the next chapter soon!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Caro Seven: The Wheel of Fortune

12th September 2014:
the story is just great! i love aislin, your writing is superb and the suspense is killing me!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!!! :) Glad you're enjoying the story so far!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Caro Three: The Hanged Man

12th September 2014:
I love it! Finally a Sirius/OC story that isn't riddled with grammar mistakes and has a really poor plot. So excited to read the next chapters :)

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad you're enjoying it! Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by whitelillies Seventeen: Things Brought to Light

12th September 2014:
I haven't read the chapter yet but I will! It has been too long and I am very glad you updated. Don't abandon this story! It's very good, and I especially like the classic murder mystery feel of it.

Sofia xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much for stopping by! I missed the story a lot over the summer and will try to keep up with quick updates!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Grace Sixteen: The Emperor

23rd June 2014:
Been meaning to review since I caught up a few days ago. Realy love this fic, it's so original and well written, and Aislin is a peach and her struggles are so fascinating to read. The mystery is SO COOL too. I'm gushing. Anyway, great work! Would love to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm back from hiatus, so new chapters should be coming out soon!

 Report Review

Review #24, by santosh Sixteen: The Emperor

17th June 2014:
when will the next chapter come out i love the story so far!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm back from hiatus, so you can expect some new chapters to be coming out soon!

 Report Review

Review #25, by greenbirds Sixteen: The Emperor

20th May 2014:
this is brilliant! i wish i had read it before- im in love. you write thrillers amazingly, what a talent. aislin is perfect, especially her narrative, and i love the plot. i had goosebumps all over. im a massive fan of the characters, aislin, sirius, the cards, the mystique of it all- amazing! please update soon, how many more chapters until the end?

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! I'm completely undecided as to how long the story will continue, but it'll probably be somewhere between 5-10 more chapters.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>