Reading Reviews for The Keeper's Daughter
  
161 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hellli Excruciating

22nd August 2015:
OH NOES
Gee is still sick (well as a med student, maybe I should have seen it coming...), Al got hurt and everything was bad bad bad. And then they KISSED! And Al whas concious and everything is flowers, rainbows and puppies.
But Gee's dedication is astonishing. I really hope she finds something besides quidditch to cheer her up, if the whole head injury thing won't get better. Maybe something like... Albus freaking Potter. Maybe he can cheer her up :D
Also, I'm so happy that you didn't go the Keep Away route and they KISSED NOW. Al and Gee shall have a fabulous future filed with epic snogging sessions and everything that's good in the world. Or whatever you'll write - you're the boss.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hellli Distraction

22nd August 2015:
So, maybe I should have written a review like a few weeks ago. Maybe I forgot to write it because I was so giddily damn happy about this dedication! Maybe... Who's counting
This was such an OMG moment - I follow (stalk? :D) you on twitter and read religiously your works, but this was a first for me in this whole author/reader communication. Well, the first thing was when you sent a first-first-first draft to some people on twitter, but really. I am so fckn happy, you can't even believe it.
This story and the whole Al/Gee dynamics are so refreshing. I feel like a broken record, but really, the way they start trusting eachother... Golden.

(Skipping over to the next chapter to write a better review there).

Kisses!

 Report Review

Review #3, by WriteThisLife Excruciating

15th August 2015:
So I realized that, after I speed-read this story a couple of weeks ago, I didn't review!! Ack!!

I LOVE AL SO MUCH. AND AL WITH GEE JUST MAKES MY HEART SING. Lol I probably sound insane but there it is. ;) Seriously, everything about this was perfect. I wasn't expecting Al to get injured at all, but I really like how you wrote everything. And the fact that we got to see Gee's parents too was awesome!

(I'm @andurpointeis on twitter btw. Crazy on twitter, and I'm crazy here as well XD ) I can't wait to see what happens. YAY for Al and Gee :)

I'll try to get to reviewing the other chapters as well! xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by ABookishBeing Excruciating

15th August 2015:
Ah, you have such a talent with words. Go get published, baby, because I want to be the first to read the marvelous thoughts roaming in your brain.
Beautiful, beautiful chapter. Oliver/Gee's father/daughter relationship makes me tear and hearing from Jane makes my heart swell and F U C K ING YES A F U C K ING SNOG YESS YESSS YES thank you thank you thank you thank you update as soon as you can because please.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ravenclawcandy Excruciating

10th August 2015:
YAS! WO! This chapter was awesome-sauce!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell Excruciating

7th August 2015:
So, I have had the longest day, and I am physically and emotionally drained to the point of being a sad little cooked piece of macaroni without any cheese--which is, possibly, the worst metaphor in the history of metaphors, but that's the point we're at now, really.

And, despite all that, I had to come back over here to give this chapter a much-deserved review. And, even though sometimes reviewing can feel like a tremendous burden, I'm really happy to do it here. This chapter made me so happy that just remembering how much I liked it brightens the last dimming vestiges of my soul (there, that was better than the macaroni. See? Just thinking about this chapter is improving me). :D

I love, love, LOVE that we get to see Gee captaining. She would make such a great coach! I love that even if she chooses to explore other routes, she still gets to know that she's good at Quidditch, and that she remains good at Quidditch, even out on injury. I'm glad that she can still have a chance at being a part of the game she loves. And she is excellent!

Poor Healer Zed. He probably doesn't get paid enough. Still, she had to snap sometime. And even if he did not exactly deserve a glass of water to the face, I hate doctors who ignore pain. Like, if it's a painful procedure and you're basically telling your patient "this is how it goes. It hurts? Too bad. Them's the breaks." Like, that is NOT good bedside manner and I'd have been irritated, too. He seems to mean well, but nonetheless, I can't blame her too terribly much. Gee's been through a lot, and this mess is really not helping her emotional state.

Man, Jane and Oliver sure are optimistic. Aurelia tricked Gee, resulting in getting her injury, which could have potentially devastating results on her Quidditch career and overall health. She has, in a much more literal way than siblings usually can bear claim to, kinda ruined her sister's life. And she never really apologized, but was just a general brat. And then she gets all cuddly with Gee's boyfriend and proceeds to have sex with him immediately after they break up? She's lucky if Gee talks to her ever. I hope they will resolve these issues, but I wish Aurelia would learn to hold herself accountable for her actions. She's been...kind of the worst.

The way that Gee describes her parents' sexual tension--bahahaha! I'm so glad that Jane and Olver've still got it ;)

ALBUS IS SO SWEET AND ADORABLE AND THAT POOR WONDERFUL BOY HE THINKS IT'S HIS FAULT AND I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND GEE NOT WANTING TO TELL HIM YET BECAUSE IT'S A TOUGH AND SCARY SITUATION BUT AW!!!

I love him.

And Albus! He got smacked in the head! He fell! He's injured! Are they going to have matching head injuries? Is that going to be their first "couple" thing (not that they're a couple officially yet, but still)? ;)

And the SNOGGING like it was all just there in those last minute after all the drama of the game and I was just like WHOAH THERE O_O

And then YES!!!

I am so glad you didn't pull a Keep Away! I could only survive that kind of drawn out tension once, you know. But this! Finally this! GeeAlbus, er, Galbus,,,Albiana? 4 Ever! Did I here you say someone came up with an official ship name? Because I definitely need to know what I should be running with, here. You know, so that I can have my pompoms ready for the next chapter and paint said shipname across my face in glitter.

So, yeah. That about sums up my reaction, I think? *Cue glitter throw*! I loved this chapter, and you've created some really interesting characters with complicated dynamics and I really look forward to seeing how it all works out!

Thanks for the story!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #7, by merlins beard Excruciating

6th August 2015:
Hey,

Great chapter!
I feel really sorry for Gee that she's still not allowed to play, but it's kind of good too. She would have never realized how great a coach she is.

I love the way you wrote about the game, and that Gee steps up and leads the team to victory even WITHOUT playing. And she finally really admits that she likes Albus.

The kiss in the hospital wing is soo sweet! And THANK GOD Albus kisses her back!

I really understand why Gee still isn't talking to her sister. I wouldn't be either.

I can't wait for the next chapter

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #8, by Rosevina Excruciating

5th August 2015:
LOVE this chap so much, it's great seeing Gee get back kn ber feet. Also LOVE there's some major development in Gee and Al relationship. Can't wait for next chap for more GeexJames moment!

 Report Review

Review #9, by pinkpanther16 Excruciating

5th August 2015:
I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS MOMENT FOR TEN YEARS! I mean, not exactly, but it feels like long time. Wow, a lot happened in this chapter. Sassy Gee (my favorite Gee) and cheeky Leo at the hospital, Gee slaying the scene and captaining the game, Gee KISSING ALBUS AT THE END!!! How dare she muster up the courage to kiss him, and how dare he wake up in the middle of that. Who gave them the right to be cute and fluffy and I just can't get over them!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Penelope Inkwell Distraction

4th August 2015:
"I thought about Alicia’s letter. Be myself.

What did that entail? I was myself for the last seventeen years and I wasn’t any closer to what I wanted.

--Finally someone said it! I am sure that there are times when this is good, valuable advice. That doesn't change the fact that it is some of The Most Baffling/Annoying advice that can be given.

Why didn’t I hex Pippa into next week?
Because then I’d have to deal with her again next week.

--I just really liked this little joke. It's both funny and shows a strong practical streak that I appreciate.

"Potter was fit and cocky and charming and funny"
--this is exactly what I mean. He is all that, but also just cute and he seems to be reluctant to open up to people, even though he isn't exactly anti-social. Shy but also active. He's just a very well-rounded character. He isn't all one thing.

UGH Pippa.

Well now I'm really excited about this next chapter! Must read on!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell Red Wine

4th August 2015:
I just want to say that this is such a cute chapter. And hooray--some palpable frissons of tension between Albus and Gee! I really am liking how different Albus is from, say, Oliver. I mean, I loved Oliver, but sometimes sequels end up being the same people in another generation's clothing. Not that I would have expected that to be the case in your writing anyway, but I just appreciate how Albus is something totally different. A little shy, but in a balanced sort of way. He's adorable, and their interactions here are adorable.

But I have an IMPORTANT QUESTION: what is the Wood family's red wine of choice? Are they Malbec people? Cabernet Sauvignon? Does it not matter so long as it's red and alcoholic and grape-flavored? Have any of them ever been/will any of them ever go on a romantic wine tasting excursion, because that sounds like just the thing for them! ;)

Enjoying this story!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #12, by Gryffindork Excruciating

3rd August 2015:
AlGee! And quidditch ! Thank you

 Report Review

Review #13, by genathieves Excruciating

2nd August 2015:
I love this story and am SO GLAD you didn't decide to wait for the end of the story for a song ;) Juts wondering... am I the only one who hardcore ships Sophia and Leo? Is this a thing?

 Report Review

Review #14, by Gaia Excruciating

2nd August 2015:
YAS YAS YAS YAS YAS YAS YAS YAS YAS!

LOVED THIS SO MUCH! AH! I can't think or write because I just enjoyed everything that happened soo soo sooo soo so much! AAH! YAS!

This entire chapter is my everything! The quidditch game! WOw those emotions! I felt so proud when Gee stepped up and made it work! A KISS! ALREADY! YAS! I'm so looking forward to rereading this chapter many times and the rest of the story to be updated immediately because I hate waiting.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Sunshine&Daisies Excruciating

2nd August 2015:
Thrilled that you updated---this is my favorite story and I was checking on a daily basis!

Finally!! I was hoping Albus and Gee would get somewhere and I'm curious to see what the aftermath is. Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #16, by dobbyismyhero22 Excruciating

2nd August 2015:
AHH!! You should see the smile on my face right now... I look absolutely crazy but I can't help it. I love Albus and Gee so much. I didn't know I could love characters as much as I love them. This whole story is just amazing and it's quickly becoming my favorite on the site. Thank you so much for remaining so active on HPFF because I always look forward to your stories xx

 Report Review

Review #17, by Sunshine&Daisies Distraction

22nd July 2015:
Eagerly awaiting the next chapter! Hope to get to read it soon :).

 Report Review

Review #18, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Distraction

20th July 2015:
Did I want to snog Potter?

Yes Gee, the answer is yes. The answer will always be yes.

“I want you to get hit with a Bludger. And then the second Bludger. And then the Hogwarts Express.”

This is the perfect response. This is something I would have said to a guy when I was her age. Ah, to be young again. Not that I’m old but man she’s sixteen? Seventeen? That feels like a number of years ago.

I said I was sorry. I miss you. I miss us.”

Excuse me while I vomit my breakfast.

I was physically attracted to Albus Potter. Captain.

Duh. Give the girl a round of applause for finally figuring it out.

“Her name was Lilah and she was spicy.”

I’m not entirely sure how I should interpret spicy.

HAHA.

This was great to ease back into. I’ve been gone for awhile because of work—adulting, why?—so this was fun to read. I’m really liking where this is heading and I’m glad she gave it to Matteo but I do wish she would stick up for herself more. I understand the be yourself, I don’t think she was being herself when she was dating him.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Penelope Inkwell Comforts of Home

17th July 2015:
I love Jane and Oliver's relationship. They are such phenomenal parents, and their dynamic has only gotten better with age.

I also like Gee's response to this whole thing. It's real and kind of refreshing--she doesn't feel the need to be heartbroken. She isn't. She's a bit banged up, sure, but more by her sister's betrayal than some guy she really wasn't that into. She even feels some compassion for her sister, even though it doesn't eradicate her anger. And she has an honest, open relationship with her parents, who listen and give good advice. The whole thing just feels very real--nuanced and non-stereotypical, and I'm glad that Gee has had such a healthy response.

And everyone didn't turn against her, but against the guy who deserved it, because sometimes people can actually be sensible.

Little of this went the direction one might expect, but I like that. I think Gee comes across as a realistic character here. Good job!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #20, by rising-dawn Distraction

14th July 2015:
You are such a great writer and I can't believe it took me so long to find you! Great chapter -- Georgialbus (Geebus? Albiana? Wow those all sound terrible) makes me feel so warm and fuzzy inside :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #21, by merlins beard Distraction

5th July 2015:
Ah I LOVE THIS SO MUCH!!!
FINALLY SHE REALIZES!!
but she's not very smart about it. I like Leo's suggestion. Gee should have totally gone with what he said instead of going on a random date with a bloke who walks out on her like that. No girl deserves that, especially not Gee!!

Oh I really hope Pippa gets what she deserves... I can see Albus having something to do with payback for Gee... that could be fun.

I love that he is so obviously in love with her but she doesn't realize... he came to check on her after her horrible date and then spent the night, hugging her and comforting her and not doing anything he wasn't supposed to do... he's the most perfect guy ever...

I'm guessing Albus will have to tell her about his feelings for her sooner or later, Gee is just too stubborn to tell him first... Oh, they'll be so happy together... I can't wait!

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #22, by Anon Distraction

5th July 2015:
Holy crap. This story is so good. And it just keeps getting better! The buildup of Albus and Gee is so slow but SO worth it. It seems realistic, which is more than you can say for a lot of fanfiction stories. I love the scene with Matteo, showing what an absolute d*** he is and the one with Broderick and Pippa that broke my heart completely for Gee. Hope you update soon, any time frame possibly?

 Report Review

Review #23, by Haley Distraction

4th July 2015:
Lovely lovely chapter as always :)
Poor Gee. It's so tough when you plan on having this one hobby and future career and suddenly she has to change everything and figure something else out. I really feel for her.

Also Leo is my favorite. I love how he notices the tension btwn Gee and Albus and wants her to just snog him. I couldn't agree with him more.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Sunshine&Daisies Distraction

4th July 2015:
Yay! I'm so excited you updated. I love this story and just adored this chapter. Full of laughs :). I look forward to seeing Al and Gee's relationship progress. Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Diana Hanson Distraction

4th July 2015:
I really love this story. I think Gee is adorable and Albus is precious. I really wish she would follow Leo's advice and snog Albus! It is amazing how much her relationship with Albus resembles her mother's relationship with Oliver.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>