89 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sarah Sometimes Rules Are Meant To Be Broken

6th August 2014:
PLEASE I NEED MORE! I HAVE CHECKED EVERY WEEK IN HOPES OF SEEING ANOTHER CHAPTER!!! Have you stopped writing this story? Please say no. I need to know what happens next!!

Author's Response: Hi there Sarah!

No, I haven't stopped writing, promise! I had HORRIBLE writer's block for a while with this story. But, I do have quite a bit written at this point. Right now I'm on vacation with my family, no laptop or computer with me, so no writing right now. As soon as I get home in a few days, I plan on finishing and posting the following chapter. I'm so sorry for the wait! :(

Thank you so much for reading and continuing to check in! I really will try to get the next chapter within a week, two weeks tops. I'm really happy you're enjoying it so far! :) Thank you again!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #2, by Mirgob Sometimes Rules Are Meant To Be Broken

29th July 2014:
Oh man! I sure hope everything works out...I love this story! I really enjoy reading Sirius/Hermione ships ^-^
Good one!
-Mirgob

Author's Response: Wow I am completely blown away and incredibly flattered that you read all of this in one day! That is such an enormous compliment. Thank you! ♥

I love Hermione/Sirius ships too. I think they have a very interesting dynamic. It's probably my favorite ship to read, honestly.

I *should* be posting the next chapter within the few days. I'm just kind of tweaking and re-writing a little.

Thank you so much for reading, reviewing and favoriting! I truly appreciate it! :) Be on the lookout for chapter 20, it should be coming soon.

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #3, by Mirgob Awakening

28th July 2014:
Woho! Action is going to start! Man, I really hope there isn't some kind of horrible twist at the end of this story. >.> haha
-Mirgob

Author's Response: Yeah, it does become a little more intense after this chapter. But there are still some lighthearted and "fluffy" moments. :)

I haven't finished yet, but I'm close. After the last chapter that is posted, I have about 4 more in mind. I can't really give away the ending (what fun would that be!) But I promise, not *too* many surprises. ;)

Thank you so much for reading!! I'm glad you're liking it!! This is the story I've worked the hardest on and am the most attached to. I'm always thrilled when someone seems to really enjoy it. XD

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #4, by Mirgob These Foolish Games

28th July 2014:
Dumbledore! That sly dog! XD
I sure hope she takes his advice and gets together with Sirius... :)
-Mirgob

Author's Response: Hahaha yes, Dumbledore truly does know *everything* that goes on in that castle. It wasn't bad advice. She really shouldn't put her life on hold, just because she's not where she expected she would be at this point in her life.

I'm glad you seem to be enjoying everything so far, and am flattered that you're reading through so quickly!

Thank you, again, for stopping by and taking the time to review!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #5, by Mirgob This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

28th July 2014:
Hehe..I love it so far! Man, if I was put into a position like this I don't know how I'd handle it! Or if I'd even be asked to do this!! It's seriously so crazy how brave Hermione is...so admirable. You are writing everyone's character traits so well. :)
Mirgob

Author's Response: Hi there!!

Aww I'm so happy you're enjoying it so far!! I know, I don't know how I'd handle it either. It would be quite overwhelming, I'm sure. I think I would do it though.

Hermione is truly living up to her Gryffindor-ness by agreeing to do this. It's incredibly brave. You're absolutely right, it is very admirable. :)

I'm really pleased you feel I'm getting everyone's characters right. That is always so nice to hear. XD

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a kind review!! Hopefully you continue to enjoy it and I hope to see you again!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lululuna This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

5th July 2014:
Hello! :) I'm here from review swap on the forums!

This is really interesting! I've never read a Hermione-Marauders time travel story before but I quite like how you've set it up. Time travel can be quite tricky, and I'm curious to see if there will be more discussion of that in future chapters: whether Hermione keeping James and Lily alive will affect Harry's future life and friendships and whether the world Hermione someday returns to will be the same as it was when she left - if her and future Harry will even be friends. The consequences of time travel itself are just so interesting, and I can't help but worry if perhaps Dumbledore's risk might end up doing more harm than good.

You did a really good job of writing Hermione's fear and doubt, even showing how she's sensitive about even lying about her parents' death. That felt very relatable, and she seemed to be kept in character with how sensitive and thoughtful she was while also delicately and intelligently handling each situation, such as the first conversation with the Marauders.

I really liked how LIly and James have a bit of a playful bond rather than her hating him like in some stories, especially if they're going to get together within the year. The other Marauders were great as well, and I like how Lupin was quite kind and Sirius a bit playfully arrogant, it fit their characters well. Sirius' comment about her bed being in his arms made me laugh.

I feel like this storyline is more interesting than the storyline of a female OC coming to Hogwarts in the Marauders' seventh year which is also quite popular because it adds that new level of purpose and plot for Hermione and more complications to her relationships with the people there since she knows about their future lives and deaths. Good job, I really enjoyed reading this and will try and come back soon! :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

Oh wow, thank you! I love the whole Hermione-Marauders time travel storyline, so I'm glad that I seem to be introducing others to it as well. :) Yeah, time travel can be tricky. Even the tiniest, most insignificant thing can result in major changes in the future. One thing I can say is, Hermione will definitely not be returning to the future she knew of.

I'm really happy you feel that way! I really wanted to keep Hermione true to character. She is probably my favorite female character, so I wanted to do her justice. I"m so glad to hear you felt I did her well.

I've read too many stories where Lily absolutely loathes James, and then BAM! she falls for him. I think it would be more realistic to have it be a more playful, bickering sort of relationship, at this point. I love Lupin and I love writing Lupin. He's such a sweet, gentle and old soul. He's just wonderful. Sirius is my number one fictional crush. Mine and probably loads of other women's as well. ;) He's too much fun to write. Haha I'm glad you liked that line! After 19 1/2 chapters written, it's still one of my favorites.

Having Hermione go back into the past, I feel, adds a certain suspense that wouldn't be there with any other female character. You keep waiting for her to slip up, be found out, or come clean about who she is. It's my favorite storyline to read. Which would be the reason I chose that storyline for my first novel. You're absolutely right, it does make things more complicated with her knowing the destinies of the people she befriends.

I'm really happy you liked it so far! And if you find your way back, I hope you enjoy the rest of the story as well!

Sorry it took me so long respond! And also sorry it's taking me so long for my review. Holiday weekend. It's been crazy. I'm heading over to your page now to read and review! Thanks for doing the swap!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #7, by HermionesSecretClone Sometimes Rules Are Meant To Be Broken

27th June 2014:
Enjoyed!! Keep it up!-HSC 10/10

Author's Response: Aww yay!! Thank you!! :) I've found my muse again, and I'm about a quarter of the way through with the next chapter. (I know, finally right?) I'll try to get it finished and up as soon as possible!

Thank you for still reading and for reviewing!!

*hugs*
Meg


 Report Review

Review #8, by HermioneJeanGranger10 Sometimes Rules Are Meant To Be Broken

24th June 2014:
I really love this story. my second favorite, but really (howler coming, sorry)
WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN?!! I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOREVER FOR THE NEXT CHAPTER AND I REALLY WANT IT ! PLZ, WRITE THE NEXT CHAPTER, OR DID YOU ABANDON THIS. I WANT A CHAPTER! (sorry :P)
still luv it though

Author's Response: Hahaha I'm sorry! The "howler coming" actually made me laugh out loud. :)

I'm so, so, so, so sorry. :( I have been suffering from writer's block like something terrible with this next chapter. I've tried writing it dozens of times, but end up staring at my computer screen. I am definitely not abandoning this story. At all. This story is my baby. I know exactly how it's going to end, but it's just this next chapter that has been giving me trouble.

Yesterday I was offered some suggestions on how to proceed, and I think I've got it now. I was actually just sitting down to start chapter 20 over when I came on here and saw your review. :) I'll be writing after work and on my days off, so I should (finally) have it up soon!

I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying it so far! I'm more than flattered that it's one of your favorites! Please don't give up on it, I promise I haven't.

Thank you for reading and sending me the howler! ;) It honestly made my day!

Much Love,
Meg


 Report Review

Review #9, by HogwartsAlum This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

23rd June 2014:
Hey again Meg, I saw in one of the other reviews that. there were only like four. chapters left. So I was thinking. of ways to get over the writer's. block. Maybe for the next chapter make it a filler chapter leading up to Hermione's departure. The marauders could possibly throw her a early. birthday party since she has to be gone before. she is born. then you can show in the last few chapters her return. to the present and the results of her adventure. I don't know I am just throwing random stuff out there to try to help a bit. Have a good.day :)

Author's Response: Hey there! That's actually not a bad idea. It is taking place in June. I can do a bday party for Sirius and then their graduation from Hogwarts. Just kind of a fluffy, transitional chapter. Kind of like the calm before the storm of sorts. I know exactly when and how she's returning. That's not for a little while yet. But I think I have a more clear idea of what this chapter will be! Thank you!! Honestly, this helped quite a bit! :D I'm deleting what I have so far and starting the chapter over, from scratch. Shouldn't be much longer now!!

Thank you again!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #10, by HogwartsAlum Sometimes Rules Are Meant To Be Broken

22nd June 2014:
Hey Meg, I keep looking at my current. reading list and the last few weeks I would see updates for your story and I'd get. my hopes up just. to find. out they. were edits, haha. But its all good, i can understand. how. frustrating writers block can be, hope to see more soon. Sorry. about. all the periods my comp broke so I am using my phone. to read and review haha .

Author's Response: Hiya!
I know. I'm so sorry. :( I wish that there was some way of it saying it was an edit and not an update. I just added, quite a bit actually, to chapter one. Changed the opening a little and added more at the end of the chapter. I'm trying to re-read the story, hoping that gives me some inspiration towards this chapter I'm struggling with. So, of course, I'm finding things I want to add or change. I keep trying to continue on with chapter 20, but I find myself just staring at the screen for like half an hour. I'm beyond frustrated with myself. I have tomorrow off. Hopefully I can get the rest of it written.

No worries about the periods haha. I'm sorry about your computer. :( That's a bummer. Hopefully it gets fixed for you soon!

Thank you so much for reading and your patience with my writer's block! I'm trying everything I can to get over this. I'm really hoping it clears up soon. I never thought it would happen with this story. I pretty much had it all mapped out.

Thank you again!!

*hugs*
Meg xoxo


 Report Review

Review #11, by Felpata Lupin Sometimes Rules Are Meant To Be Broken

17th June 2014:
Hi Meg!
Finally I caught up with you... Now I'm dying for your next chapter so, please... Update soon!!!
Great, great job so far!
I'm so happy about Sev! I really wasn't expecting the Unbreakable Vow... I wonder if a friendship with the Marauders is going to start... Is it a bit too much to hope? James and Sirius didn't exactly look enthusiastic...
I wasn't expecting the Imperius Curse either. I've been wondering what she was planning for them, and that came as a great surprise! I really liked that part, and it was cute how they all worried about her breaking the law...
Now I'm just curious to know what will happen next!
Please, please, please... Update soon!!!
Lots of love,
Chiara.

Author's Response: Hey Chiara!!

I swear, I'm really, really trying with this next chapter. This is the first, this entire story, that I've had any sort of writer's block. I know exactly how the last chapter is going to play out. I might just write that first, and hope that helps with the preceding chapters. I estimate there are only around four chapters left. I know what is going to happen, I truly do. I'm just really struggling with getting it out the way I want. It's incredibly frustrating. :(

On a lighter note. :) I'm so happy you've enjoyed everything so far! It seems I took a few people off guard with the Unbreakable Vow. :D I'm so happy I was able to surprise you all with that! As far as a friendship between Severus and the Marauders... That might just be wishful thinking haha. I don't think they could ever possibly be friends. We'll see if they can even be civil towards one another. And no, James and Sirius - especially Sirius - were not happy with that. At all.

Yay! Another unexpected moment! It seemed a few people didn't see the Imperius Curse coming either. I'm so happy I was able to pull that off without anyone seeing it coming. I'm glad you enjoyed that part! I really loved writing Hermione becoming angrier and angrier by the moment.

I honestly might chain myself to a chair soon and not let myself become unchained until I finish the next chapter. I'm trying, I swear!

I just went back and re-wrote bits of chapter 1. So if you see an update within the next few days, it's only the edit. :( I'm sorry.

Hopefully it won't be too, too much longer. I know I've been telling people that for a few weeks now, but I'm remaining hopeful.

Thank you again, so, so, so much for reading and leaving such lovely reviews! I appreciate them more than I can say! :)

*big hug*

Meg xoxo


 Report Review

Review #12, by tanya Sometimes Rules Are Meant To Be Broken

12th June 2014:
I love this story..what'll happen when Hermione has to return to her own time?Please write soon!!

Author's Response: Hi Tanya!

Thank you!! :) I'm glad that you're enjoying the story! I know exactly what will happen to Hermione when (if) she goes back to the future. It's just the getting to that point that I'm at a total block with right now. :( I have some ideas floating around my head and am planning on finishing chapter 20 this weekend. *Hopefully*

Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review! I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #13, by Felpata Lupin Please, Please be alright...

12th June 2014:
Oh, no! Pete!!! ;-(
But he's going to be ok... Must be!!! (Again, I just have to keep reading and find out...)
And so, now Snape is feeling guilty? He invented the curse, should've known what would happen! Or was he just testing it out?
Anyway, another great chapter! You're really talented, Meg. I love your writing style.
I'm really happy to read that James is coming around again. I must say, I was a bit disappointed in him... Didn't expect him to hold a grudge like that. He should be the one who puts friendship above anything! But I suppose knowing about the future ahead of him was quite a lot to take in...
I really liked the way you wrote James and Sirius. I could imagine things go exactly that way!
And I really loved the chat with Lily about Harry! It was so sweet!!!
And amazing job on the final duel! You said you aren't too comfortable with writing action scenes, but instead I think that you are just great at it (a lot better than me, that is) ;-)
Hugs,
Chiara.

Author's Response: Hey Chiara!! It's so lovely to see you back again!! I'm thrilled that you're reading on and enjoying it. :)

Haha you're right. You will have to continue reading to see what happens to Peter. ;)

Yeah, Snape did seem to have a slight moment of remorse, didn't he? That was pretty much how I thought of it, that he was just kind of testing it out. He'll explain a little more about that later on.

Oh wow, thank you! I really appreciate that! I definitely had help from Mischief_managed18. She, very, very kindly, read over and edited for me.

I really liked writing angry James. I just pictured him feeling hurt, betrayed (especially by Sirius), scared and confused. I'm sure finding all of that out, and then knowing someone who is basically your brother knew, would make anyone angry. And I agree. I also feel like he values friendship over anything, which is why I feel he'd feel so betrayed and upset. But he and Sirius settled it in the end. I'm glad you like how that played out. Probably was my favorite scene in this chapter.

I had that idea of Lily seeing pictures of Harry, and asking questions about him, since the beginning. So I'm really, really happy you liked it! :D

Oh yay! The action scenes make me so nervous, so I'm thrilled you feel that way! Well, not that you feel I did it better. I'm quite sure that's not the case :)

Thank you again, so, so, so, so much!! You're unbelievably awesome and your reviews make me smile! Hope you continue enjoying it and I hope to see you back again! Happy reading!!

Much Love,
Meg

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #14, by GingeredTea This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

10th June 2014:
This is not typically something I read (although I do like time travel fics), but it was interesting. It is really cliche so far, but that's alright. People like what they like, and I can't tell you how many cliche fics I've read and really enjoyed. :)

You really got into the flow as you went along. I think your introduction could use a bit of work.

Sirius and James' seem so immature, but then they aren't Harry, and they aren't part of the war yet.

I'm interested in seeing where this goes. :) I'll come back.

Author's Response: Hiya! I'm glad you decided to read this one, it's my favorite that I've written, so far. :) I really enjoy time travel fics, myself. Although, mostly all that I've read had someone ending up in the 70's by mistake. Either a potion backfiring, a spell gone wrong or something along those lines. I'm relatively new to the whole fanfic experience - reading and writing it - so I honestly don't know many of the cliches yet. I kind of just had the whole story pop into my head one day.

Introductions, I'm finding out, are not one of my strong points. Hopefully with writing more they'll become better.

I always pictured James and Sirius kind of goofy. Sort of Fred and George like before the war really started. They didn't have the problems and hardships that Harry grew up with. Well, Sirius did in a way, but not to the extent of Harry.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story!! :)

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #15, by Anabelle Cromwell This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

9th June 2014:
Loved! put more
The story is amazing, I love the love story between Hermione and Sirius, I always thought they would be a perfect couple

Author's Response: Aww thank you!! :)

I will definitely be adding more to this story, promise! I have about 4 more chapters to go and then, sadly, I will be finished with it.

I'm so glad you're enjoying the relationship between Hermione and Sirius. I really enjoy reading that pairing, myself. I'm also having a ton of fun writing them together.

Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to review! There's absolutely more to come. :)

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #16, by Felpata Lupin The New Year's Party

8th June 2014:
Hi Meg!
Slowly, but I'm proceeding... :-)
Absolutely brilliant chapter, congratulations!!!
Sirius' reaction to the discovery that Peter is going to betray them is exactly what I would've expected from him. And I find simply amazing how Hermione's able to talk sense in him like anyone else seems able to... Their moments together are always so lovely!!!
And Peter... Can't believe I'm saying that but I ADORE the poor guy! Way too sweet that he decided to confide Hermione his troubles. I loved their talk, and the fact that they obviously care so much about each other.
Damned Lucius, Barty and Severus. Can't decide who's most horrible. It was really funny that, for once, it was Sirius getting Hermione to calm down and being rational and not the other way around!
The final confrontation was great. Really well written. I loved the way Sirius, Hermione and Peter look out for each other here. Finally Peter reveals his true Gryffindor nature!
What did Lucius did to her?!? I hope she'll be ok... Well, I just have to go on reading and find out, right?
Great, great chapter! Loved it!
To the next review!
Hugs!
Chiara.

Author's Response: Hi Chiara!! :)

Haha that's totally fine! Thank you so much!!

I'm thrilled you liked his reaction when he figured out it must have been Peter. Hermione does seem to be the only person, probably besides James, who can control that hot head of his haha. I love that you're enjoying Sirius and Hermione's interactions! XD

I can't believe the positive response I've been receiving towards Peter. I really expected to be chewed out for making him likable, to be completely honest. Maybe that was all he needed, though. Someone to treat him as a valued and equal member of their group.

Personally, I feel Crouch was the most unnerving. Really and truly very creepy. Haha yes, it's not often Hermione loses her cool. Sirius did do an excellent job of calming her down.

Aww thank you for that! Battle scenes are kind of hard to write for me. There is just so much that I'm seeing in my head, I feel it's hard to get that all out in writing. And yay for Peter showing some of that Lion courage! :)

You'll definitely see what he did to Hermione in the following chapter. She'll be alright, though. Promise. If she wasn't, I wouldn't have any more story to write. ;)

Thank you so, so much for reading and reviewing!! You're awesome!

Much love,

Meg xoxo


 Report Review

Review #17, by Felpata Lupin No more fooling around.

5th June 2014:
Hi, Meg!
Here I am again!
I've started to read this story and I think you're really doing a great work!
I particularly loved this chapter, and the fact that Hermione is growing close to Peter... He is such a complex character... I've always thought that he could've turned out good if James and Sirius had made him feel a little bit more important (not that I'm justifying what he did...)
Anyway. I'm thrilled by the Sirius and Hermione's relationship! I'm really happy that she's followed Dumbledore's advice and let herself love him back, even if I can see why she's so scared!
If you don't mind me making just a very small criticism, I don't think the locket would be hidden in the cave yet (Voldemort can't have already asked Regulus to borrow his house-elf, can he?)... But I suppose I'm being too much of a perfectionist here! After all, this isn't fanfiction for nothing. You're authorized to change canon a bit.
I'll try to catch up with the following chapters soon (don't have a lot of free time to read...). Anyway, I'm really loving the story so far! ;-)
Lots of love,
Chiara.

Author's Response: Hi again, Chiara!! It's so awesome to see you on another story! :)

Thank you so much!! I absolutely love this story, so I'm glad you've decided to read it and are enjoying it! This is my absolute favorite chapter of the story, I'm thrilled you liked it! I'm totally with you on Peter. To me, that little snippet in Order of the Phoenix was massively important. It showed exactly how Peter must have oftenly been treated and it didn't seem too nice. Maybe if he was treated differently, he wouldn't have sold out James and Lily. But then we would have not had a story so...

Aww I'm glad you are liking Hermione and Sirius! They're horribly fun to write, so I'm so happy people are enjoying them. :D And yes, she has every reason to be fearful of making herself vulnerable, but you can't let yourself miss out on things due to "what if's".

I tried to make this story as canon complaint as possible, but some things had to be changed slightly. Hence Dumbledore still being alive and the locket. Just to fit with the story, that had to be altered. But you're right, odds are it wouldn't be there at that time.

Thank you so, so much for reading and taking the time to leave such a lovely review!! You're incredibly kind and I truly appreciate it!! Hope to see you back again!

*hugs*

-Meg


 Report Review

Review #18, by TessiePotterForever Sometimes Rules Are Meant To Be Broken

3rd June 2014:
I love this so much! Your writing is absolutely amazing. Your characters are believable and relatable and your story is suspenseful. You proportion everything perfectly: class, "fluffy" moments," serious moments, friendships, relationships, ect.It is simply amazing and I really want to be able to read more. Please come back and finish the story because it is absolutely lovely and I can't bear to not be able to finish it. I love it so much and I can't wait for an update (if I haven't mentioned that enough). It is one of my favorite Hermione Travel Fics. Please keep updating!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you!! That's so incredibly sweet!! :) I was really, really hoping to write the characters well, so I'm unbelievably thrilled you feel I did!

I tried to balance out the story as much as I could. I didn't want it to be a completely "fluffy" story. I really wanted to show the relationships that she develops with everyone, not just Sirius. Classes were pretty fun to write, too! I'm so, so happy that I managed to accomplish that.

This story is not over or being abandoned, I promise! I love this story and could never just let it go. I've had the last 3 chapters of this story in my head since day one. I have about 4 more chapters left. It's this transitional chapter that's giving me trouble. It's the last chapter at Hogwarts coming up.

I actually had a breakthrough today, and think I know exactly what needs to happen in this chapter. So hopefully it won't be much longer now until the next update.

Thank you so, so very much for reading and taking the time to leave such an amazing review!! I truly appreciate it immensely!! XD

xoxo - Meg


 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderfan This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

3rd June 2014:
Hello! I'm here with your review from the forums! I was not aware that Hermione time-travel fics were common, as I've never seen one before actually! But I love time travel stories as there's just so much to explore in terms of repercussions when things go wrong, and yeah. I'm excited.

I love the little things you've pointed out about time travel, how you highlighted the 70s fashion, and included all the details Hermione has to remember to forget about - like when she feigns confusion about Gryffindor, and even intentionally falls into the trick step. Brilliant, Hermione! That's a lot to remember but she's doing a remarkable job so far of not giving anything away, and hiding the fact that she knows this castle and people she's not supposed to have seen before. I do admit it seems a bit un-Hermioneish to be smitten with Sirius upon first sight... but then again she did have a thing for Lockhart once, so I suppose she's not entirely immune to being distracted by someone's looks, lol.

You write Dumbledore quite well, which is impressive because he's a notoriously difficult character to write. But you've got his slightly old fashioned manner of speaking, he's enigmatic, patient, and willing to send teenagers off on dangerous missions. That's our Dumbledore! :p So great job writing him. The only question I had was why he is alive at all, because if I read this correctly, the beginning of the chapter takes place post-DH, right? Which means he would have died a year ago.

The flow and pacing are good. If I were to change anything, I might separate it into two chapters, the first being in 1998 and the second beginning when she arrives in 1977, but that's really just for stylistic reasons/personal preferences. Honestly it's fine as is, too - how you have it now also highlights just what a long day that must have been for Hermione!

There was one spot I wanted to point out in terms of word choice: and alas, it seems that time would be now" he said rather happily. -- I don't know if 'alas' is the word you're looking for here, as it means 'regretfully' or sort of 'oh no!', so I'd remove that word if I were you.

Anyway, you've got a good start here for what promises to be an interesting story! Nice work!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for doing this!! I've read, and have seen, a lot of Hermione Time Travel stories, so I figured they were pretty common. That's exciting to hear this was your first!

Being a tween/young teen in the late 90's, I definitely remember the 70's-ish clothing. I owned quite a few peasant tops and wide flared jeans, myself. So that was more from personal experience. As for her "not knowing" things. I really wanted to show, even with the smallest details, of what this task will entail. I'm very thrilled to hear you enjoyed that! In regards to her being distracted by Sirius this soon. I agree with you completely. That is kind of our of character for her. I did that for a few reasons. I wanted to show that there really was some sort of connection right from the go. Not love at first sight, but definitely a strong attraction and intrigue. That and Sirius did have that certain charm with the ladies haha. Hermione is only human. ;) And you're right, she did swoon over Lockhart at one point.

Thank you so much for that! One of the things I was most nervous about was writing Dumbledore. When he's written out of character, it really stands out. I'm thrilled to hear you feel I did a good job with him. I wrote this story just slightly AU. That's the only reason Dumbledore is still alive. Later on in the story, Hermione mentions how he was ill in her time, regarding his hand. I just needed him alive for the story.

That's funny that you made that suggestion. I've actually been tossing around the idea of making her speaking with Dumbledore, up until she went back to her dorm that evening, into a prologue. I'm still kind of torn on the idea.

I didn't even realize that, to be honest. Thank you for pointing that out! I'll have to go back and change that to something more appropriate.

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this!! This was such a lovely review and I truly appreciate the time and detail that went into it! I'm glad you liked it and thank you again!! XD

xoxo - Meg


 Report Review

Review #20, by Remus This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

29th May 2014:
Heya!! Perelandra here from the forums with your review swap! I've never read a story that has Hermione going into the past let alone a story in which she goes into the past and falls for Sirius. So I'm actually very interested int this story.

I like how Dumbledore is still well...Dumbledore. He keeps everything a secret and makes everyone else do his dirty jobs. I also like how Hermione doesn't say "good bye" to Ron or Harry; doesn't explain anything to them. Her loyalties are always to those two and knows that if she had seen them she would've said something of Dumbledore's plans.

Remus, however, made me a bit sad. He is supposed to be scared in the face; that's what makes him warewolfie in my eyes. Hahaha to each their own though.

Ah! Beautiful touch! I liked how Hermione had to pretend that she didn't know what the houses were and asked what Gryffindor was!

Towards the end it got too conversationally and very little scenery description. Basically, no "meat" towards the end. I would've liked to see Hermione going into her dormitory with the other seventh year girls and talk to Lily.

Anyway, this is a great story and I can't wait to see what happens! I have so many questions! How is Hermione going to deal with her feelings for Sirius? Will she leave him behind? Will they get back together when Hermione comes back to the present? Hahaha so many questions and I guess I should continue to read in order to find out!

Thank you for the swap and see ya in the next chapter!

--Rosie

Author's Response: Hiya!! That is so exciting that this is your first Hermione Time Travel story!! I just love that plotline! I think it's so much fun to see her interact with Lily and the Marauders. I really feel that if she and Lily were the same age, they would have gotten along wonderfully. And I just love reading - and now writing - Hermione and Sirius together!

Dumbledore is such a difficult character to get right. Truly no one will ever come close to JKR when it comes to writing him. But I was hoping to do him justice. It's so awesome to hear that I managed to write him well! Like others have commented below, it just really stands out when he's written too differently. I didn't want her to say goodbye to Harry and Ron. I wanted to make this feel like a solo journey for her. One she is enduring completely alone. That, and knowing Harry and Ron, they would have tried to stop her. Or go with her.

I'm sorry your were disappointed with Lupin. :( My reasoning behind having him not too scarred yet, was I was hoping to convey how whole and carefree they all still were at this point in time. But I do completely see where you're coming from there.

Haha I'm glad you like her feigned ignorance. Hermione, ever the perfectionist, I can see really laying it on thick like that. I mean, she *is* a transfer student. ;)

Description is probably my achilles heel. It's definitely something I struggle with and something I know I need to work on. Conversation and dialogue just flow very effortlessly for me. But I know, I have to add in a bit more description.

I'm thrilled that you're enjoying it so far!! I truly hope the rest of the story does not disappoint. I'm absolutely loving writing this and the warm reception it's been getting so far is blowing my mind! Thank you so much for the swap and for the lovely review!!

xoxo - Meg


 Report Review

Review #21, by Mischief_managed18 Awakening

27th May 2014:
Aww poor Sirius is jealous of her and Peter. ;p How cute! hahaha I could totally see him doing that too. Getting all snippy and insistent that something must be going on. Though I do understand where he's coming from. Especially with what little time they had.

And I absolutely loved their moment in the Room of Requirement. I think it's adorable that instead of sleeping with each other as intended they end up just talking about her life so he can truly understand her and know who she is. AND HE GOT TO SEE HARRY! UGH

Fantastic chapter, as is the usual. :p

~Mischief_managed18 xx

Author's Response: Haha yeah, Sirius was not a happy camper. That darn hot head of his. :) But like you've said, they do only have limited time together. So it's understandable that he'd begin to feel that way.

I'm so happy you liked the part in the Room of Requirement! From the beginning, I pictured a moment where Hermione would show him pictures of her friends. I just loved writing his reaction to seeing Harry. It was kind of an emotional moment for me during this writing process. That and to have him get to know her. Actually know her, not just the version of herself - which is still pretty much her - that she has been while in the past.

Thank you once again so, so much!! You are entirely too kind! :D I'll send over the next chapter now!

Much Love,

Meg


 Report Review

Review #22, by Minairem95 Sometimes Rules Are Meant To Be Broken

26th May 2014:
I absolutely love this story and it keeps saying it's been updated. Has it been and I can't see the new chapter or is it something else? I'm sorry I'm just really confused haha(:

Author's Response: Oh no! I'm so sorry! I put at little disclaimer on the story summary hoping people would notice it. I, with the help of another author on the site, have been editing each chapter. Just going back and slightly changing a few things and fixing some typos. But, I have started on Chapter 20. Hoping that will be up soon!

I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying everything so far! I hope you continue to enjoy it and I'm sorry for the non-update updates. :( I wish that when we edited it wouldn't show up like a new chapter.

Thank you for reading and taking the time to leave a review!! :)

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #23, by Cannons This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

26th May 2014:
Hey, I'm here for our review swap!

I really, really enjoyed it and am so pleased that there are 19 chapters for me to read! I have never read a Hermione time travel fic so I have no expectations and the plot will be like nothing I have read before.

I thought you wrote Hermione really well and I liked how you didn't make her say 'goodbye' to Harry and Ron and that she avoided them before going in to the past because I feel like that would be an easy thing to do. It made her feel more like Hermione to me that she didn't say anything.

Dumbledore was written brilliantly aswell. I think that he is one of the hardest characters to write and it really stands out if he isn't written well so you did a great job there.

I found myself hating Peter without giving him a chance and I can't wait to see how you make him interact with everyone that he eventually betrays.

Your writing has a great flow to it and it's super easy to read and you can't help but get drawn in. I'm going to be honest and say that I probably wouldn't have given this story a chance if I had stumbled across it but your writing is so good and your plot is so awesome that you have changed my mind!

I will defiantly be reading on, you're a great writer.

Cannons!

Author's Response: Hiya! Thank you for doing the review swap with me! That is really cool of you! :) So I'm really happy to hear that you're enjoying it!! After I read my first Hermione time travel fic, I was hooked. It's my favorite storyline, to be honest, so I hope you like it!

Hermione is definitely my most favorite out of everyone. So I am incredibly thrilled to hear you think I wrote her well! I really did feel like it would be more her to just avoid Harry and Ron and not make a big spectacle out of what was going on. Basically, what I felt her mindset would be, is that she would only appear to be gone seconds, so why worry them.

Dumbledore is tough. So thank you for that! I've read so many stories where he was just.. off. I really didn't want to do that with him. So, again, thank you. I was very much hoping to do him justice.

What I can say regarding Peter is, don't judge him too harshly yet. He may surprise you... :)

You are far too kind! Thank you so very much!! I'm so happy that you answered my review swap and found my story. I hope you continue to enjoy it the rest of the way through! :)

*hugs*
Meg


 Report Review

Review #24, by Mischief_managed18 The New Year's Party

24th May 2014:
I love that Hermione actually stepped up to the plate and talked to Peter. And I'm so glad that he managed to come clean about everything going on in his life with her, he needed to get it out to at least one of them.

And the whole New Year's party. Freaking Barty Crouch Jr. That little turd. I cannot believe how creepy that was. And stupid Lucius and Snape and again, poor Peter.

BUT OH MY GOSH WHAT HAPPENED TO HERMIONE?! THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME AND I'M GOING TO START ON THE NEXT CHAPTER.

I love Marauder's stories, I need to do more writing for mine. xD

~Mischief_managed18

Author's Response: Aww I'm glad you liked that with Hermione and Peter! I really and truly am loving the relationship that forms between the two of them. Maybe if he had something like that originally... Well, then we wouldn't have had 7 books and 8 movies to inspire all of the wonderful fanfiction we read and write. ;)

Oh good! I'm so glad that I was able to really capture the creepiness of the moment there! I was really, really hoping I conveyed that well. Don't feel too badly for Peter, though. You'll see in the following chapters. He'll prove to be tougher than you think. :)

As far as what happened to Hermione... well. You're going to just have to continue on reading. :p

I feel like such a horrible person. I haven't been doing any writing, or reading recently. I have to make my way over to your page and get to reading. I'm actually quite wanting to read your story about Hermione's POV for their first year. That is truly an awesome concept. I just adore Hermione, if you couldn't tell.

Thank you for everything!! You're awesome!! :D

*hugs*
Meg


 Report Review

Review #25, by Mischief_managed18 I would if I could, but I can't.

24th May 2014:
Yay! Lily is back! :D And oh my gosh. Her and James. Ughhh I love them together so much!

I love all the exchanged between the characters. Like, the moments they have a perfect, the perfect amount of awkwardness or anger or any of that for the given situations.

And poor Peter. I feel like so often he just got stuck on the wrong side of things and he got dealt a horrible card, though I suppose all of the Marauders did in their own way. Gosh, I always forget how tragic their lives are.

Anyways, keep up the good work! :D Loving it.

~Mischief_managed18

Author's Response: Haha yep! The group is back together again. :) How lame is it, that I actually laughed while writing that part about Lily riding James out of the room? I love writing James and Lily together, so I'm glad you enjoy their interactions!

Awkwardness is my specialty, because I'm pretty darn awkward myself haha. I'm so pleased to hear you feel I'm getting the emotions of their moments right. :D

I know, I agree. Poor Peter. :( I really feel like he did get the you-know-what end of the stick. Their lives really did all end up being pretty tragic. I think that's why we all enjoy reading/writing Marauder Fanfics so much. It's nice to see when their lives were fun and care-free.

Thank you again so, so much for the wonderfully kind review!! And, as always, for editing as well!

I'm so happy that you're enjoying it and I hope that you continue to for the rest of the story!

xoxo - Meg


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>