Reading Reviews for The Enchanted Ground
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan Three

13th November 2014:
Ok, well I did literally no writing for NaNo this evening but I have no regrets because this story was worth it. This was one of the most fresh, original stories I've read on this site. It's unconventional and at the same time so classic, as love is classic - and like everything else by you, it was written so incredibly.

The characters. I loved the choice of people in this fic. Roxanne and Lucy are the next-gen kids that are written about the least, I think, so it was really nice to see them feature strongly here. I loved Roxanne's humour, and the way Lucy was such an individual. And James - I haven't seen any other fic where James is gay, so I thought that was a nice touch. Poor guy being outed by gossipers, but he seemed all right in the end as he was so happy with Jameson (lol, the names!) In the previous chapter I really loved how Thackeray took a moment to speak with James, and at the time I assumed it was something really profound and caring - and then to find out it was about playing pranks on roommates with itching powder LOL. I love how genuine Thackeray is, and says what needs to be said. Nothing about Thackeray is fake, and that's such a wonderful trait.

And what a wonderful message the whole story has - it's so beautiful. You did so well at weaving together a mix of how things are and how they should be. And I love that they all had such a happy ending, how Roxanne ended up doing professional illustrating, and it's perfect that Thackeray worked at an NMO, and that they are still happy and in love :) Thank you for writing such an amazing story!

 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan Two

13th November 2014:
♥ ♥ so many feels. and possibly a few tears. That scene at the top of the hill was magical.

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan One

13th November 2014:
JENNA. I do not know how it took me so long to discover this story but I am SO glad that I have. Eee!

Roxanne is awesome - I love her energy and creativity and open-mindedness. But who I really want to talk about is Thackeray. What a brilliant character. First, I found myself instantly relating to Thackeray because of all the activism, as I was the same in high school and college, always involved in these environmental and social activist causes and I just felt this great connection to Thackeray - even though the causes supported in this story are a bit whimsical (like the entire magical world) - unicorn poo, haha.

ALSO. I love that you have written this whole thing without using any gender pronouns. This is the first time I've seen a gender-neutral character in fanfic (or any fiction?) and I love the way you approached the topic. It's not the focal point of the story, just as gender identity isn't the focal point of a person - it's just a facet of the whole. Roxanne and Thackeray are friends and they're awesome and Roxanne sees Thackeray for the person inside - but you haven't shied away from the discrimination that happens, as alluded to by all the nicknames and odd stares that Roxanne gets when she's with Thackeray. Omg this whole thing is just brilliantly done and I love the characters and cannot wait to read more.

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm Three

7th June 2014:
Hi again!

Oooh, wow this campaign really is kicking up a storm! I loved learning more about wizarding traditions and its history when Thackeray was talking to the reporter because it was just really cool and interesting. I honestly thought the reporter was going to be Skeeter version 2.0 because when I heard her mention Quick Quotes Quill I was just sitting in tenterhooks throughout waiting for a horrible article ripping both Roxanne and Thackeray to shreds.

I still canít believe the article was a nice one though and Iím sitting here waiting for the horrible one to come out soon because I just find it hard to believe a reporter could be nice :P I can see why they left Thackerayís gender issues out of the article as it was already pretty radical, but I feel bad for Roxanne as she seemed quite hurt that they didnít mention her as he/sheís girlfriend.

Ahaha, I see how the Enchanted Garden plays into it! It does sound really lovely and mystical and I really want to see it again. I really liked how you went back to Thackerayís brother here and wrote more about him as I could understand he/she more as a character and it just made the garden seem even more magical. Ooh sort of related, but what Roxanne said to Thackeray about loving her no matter if she was a boy or girl but just as a person and it was so cute and sweet and I was gushing throughout!

I really loved how you tied it up and how we got to find out about them later on. There I was expecting an unhappy ending and we got a really happy and cute one so yay for that! Itís just so amazing that they both managed to stay together despite how society doesnít really accept relationships like that and I really loved how you showed love can really make anything possible.

This was such a great story, Jenna, and thanks for the great read :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hola!

Ah I'm so glad you liked all the history and background, I really enjoyed coming up with it! Imagining how wizards might fit into facts about Muggle history is really interesting and fun. Luckily the article was pretty nice, she could have made them out to be completely mad but I imagined in the next gen era people would feel a little positively about radicals and such. And yeah, I wanted to show how the reporter herself was a little uncertain about which gender to call Thackeray and to show that Thackeray is a little gender neutral or ambiguously presented in the world of the story, not just in the writing and lack of pronouns.

Aw, I'm glad you liked the enchanted ground and the mentions of the brother as well. Hehe, this chapter did have quite a bit of fluff in it and it was so fun to write. :)

Thank you! I'm really glad to hear that, I didn't want it to feel too rushed in jumping to the future but this was just a short story and it certainly could have dragged on forever if I allowed it to. I wanted them to have a happy ending - or a happy continuation in some ways. I'm not sure if they would be together forever, but definitely show a positive and modern relationship.

Thanks so much for all your wonderful reviews, Kiana, it's been a real joy receiving them and I love hearing all your thoughts and reactions! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm Two

6th June 2014:
Hi again!

I liked learning more about Thackeray and Roxanneís families as it was interesting to see how much they contrasted. I love the sound of Thackerayís parents though as they just sound so cool with the way they thought having a magical child was the best thing ever. Iím not too sure about the whole idea of giving Dumbledoreís body back to nature, I mean, knowing him he would probably prefer it as he was a bit of a hippie but it seems as if youíre touching a God like thing. Also, again, I have to congratulate on making the Weasley family different as Iíve seen you write them several times, but again, this was another different version of them.

Aw, the bit with James as so touching! I never saw him being gay coming but I really liked how you included it and an not so pleasant reaction to it as we rarely see that in FF. (also, random side note but I love how James is going out with someone called Jameson!). It just made me sad how horribly people can react to things like that, but luckily he had Thackeray who put him straight and Iím really starting to like he/she (pronoun use is still confusing me!). I guess we can be grateful that one good thing came out of the whole incident with James and Thackeray being nice to each other.

Ah the Thackeray and Roxanne fluffy moment was so cute and sweet and the way Roxanne started being honest with Thackeray about what she thought of he/she at the beginning as it just showed how far they had come and when they kissed it was just ♥

Wah the ending bit was just so lovely and magical as it really seems as if Thackeray and Roxanne are meant to be. It was really nice to see Thackeray open up a lot more because I know he/she can be very open with her general views on things, but when it comes to personal things he/she tends to be more closed off so it was a really special moment to see her tell Roxanne about her brother though it made the story have even more feels!

Great chapter, Jenna :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana! :)

I'm glad you liked the families - I didn't really plan to write about them, but Thackeray's family especially formed a real head canon in my mind. Haha, the whole Dumbledore thing is supposed to be a bit ridiculous and the sort of issue only Thackeray would think of, but that's what makes it fun, and yeah I agree about going near his body. it's all a little morbid. :P And thank you! You know, before I started writing next gen I never thought I would be able to write the Weasley family, but it's fun to imagine the different dynamics even in a short story like this.

Yes! James was always going to be gay in my head canon of this story (and in a few other stories for some reason) but it ended up becoming a more crucial plot point than I originally thought. And yes, Thackeray is the no-nonsense sort when it comes to other people. :P I'm glad you liked all of that and how it showed a more difficult side to coming out, I really enjoyed writing his relationship. :)

Yay! I love first kiss scenes, they're so cute to write. I'm glad you liked it!

Yes, that's Thackeray exactly! Despite being quite outspoken and open Thackeray doesn't talk very easily about personal things and memories. The story with Swift is so difficult as well for Thackeray to talk about so it's a mark of the trust and respect between them.

Thanks so much, Kiana! :) I'm loving replying to your thoughts on this! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm One

5th June 2014:
Whoo, Iím finally back and start leaving you reviews and once again you left me thinking!

Letís start with Roxanne and can I say how much I love her? She has this wonderful energy about her which is so chatty and lively but not annoying at the same time. Her narration is so captivating it left me hooked throughout as she just makes such refreshing observations and has wit about her too that I could just read her thoughts for ages. I also really liked how you weaved in Lucy and James too as that allowed me to see her in a different context and just get a glimpse of family dynamics.

Thackeray is possible one of the most original characters Iíve seen! I loved the idea of HEPS it sounds like so much fun and it does make sense that in the next gen world they would start to tackle social issues, and all of the different schemes had me laughing. Now, here comes to the confusing bit as I donít know whether to call Thackeray he or she, but either way I really liked that you explored this side as it was so interesting and different. You really have done a good way of showing how Thackeray could be male and female and that really must have taken some skill!

I love Thackeray and Roxanneís relationship as itís just so unique! I can sense some tension lurking away there with how Thackeray doesnít approve of Roxanneís boyfriend and how he/she (ah, Iíll use both so not to offend!) banned him from the meetings. I guess there could be two possibilities with Roxanne being one of Thackerayís few friends so she/he wants to keep him close, or perhaps some romantic feeling is lying away there. Iím leaning more to the latter which would be really interesting given all the gender issues.

Anyhow, a very captivating first chapter, Jenna!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana! :)

Ah, I'm so glad you like Roxy! She was such a surprise to me as I didn't plan her out at all but I ended up really liking her. She's quite friendly but more shy and uncertain than other main characters I've written which is very fun to explore. The cousin dynamics were quite fun to write as well and I thought they were all such cute cousin-friends.

I'm so excited to hear you like Thackeray, who is just a crazy character and who I loved so much that I just had to write more about! :P It's good to know you found HEPS believable, and it was fun imagining all the things they would protest at Hogwarts: my sister and I had a laugh making this long list one night. Ah, the pronoun confusion tends to get people when reviewing this story, I've noticed. :P Strangely, it felt more natural and by the end I was just leaving Thackeray's gender ambiguous without any thought. I think because though I have an idea of Thackeray's birth gender and gender identity, I change my mind on it sometimes, so there's no right or wrong answer really. Thackeray could be either male or female or fall somewhere on the spectrum and it wouldn't really affect the character or the story.

Definitely some tension haha, but Roxy doesn't really like her boyfriend much anyway. :P Thackeray does have some possessive tendencies to be fair, which would bother Roxy eventually because of how she's quite independent.

Thanks so much for all the lovely reviews, Kiana! :D I hope to get the other replies posted very soon!


 Report Review

Review #7, by vettinag Three

12th May 2014:
This was such a beautiful story, I really loved it! The message is something that I truly believed in. I love your portrayal of Roxanne and James, and Thackeray is a wonderful character.
The way you ended it was superb. It has been a long time since I've read such a simple, yet beautiful story that also passed a message and is ringing with truth.
It was truly wonderful.

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Wow, thank you so much. This review was such a lovely surprise to receive and I'm very honoured you liked the story and its message. It's really amazing to hear you liked the characters as well, as I really loved working on this story and talking about this message.

I'm really pleased you liked the ending and the way the message resonates. If you're interested I recently put up a companion one-shot which focuses on Thackeray's childhood and issues of gender, depression and family - just in case you were curious to read more! :)

Thank you so much for this amazing review, it really means so much to me to know you liked this! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Miss MarlaG One

15th April 2014:
so this is me, sharkbait from the forums, unbelievably late with your review. (on my case I went out of the country for a week and just got back!) Out of your many stories I decided to go with this one, and I'm absolutely glad I did!

Grammar and spelling was mighty fine, it makes me envious, in fact, that you don't seem to have any errors, ahahaha. But I think one of the reasons I enjoyed this besides it being a well-written story is the different narrative is gives us. I am a complete sucker for Next Gen stories - and here we have Roxanne as a protagonist, which I've never really seen before or read, in a quiet, observant way but still very present. The reader is as taken with Thackeray as she is, I can assure you - which I'm sure is the reaction you were looking for, and there's just a subtly shy undertone to the way its written that leads you to understand Roxanne far more than her interactions with her cousins do. Even so, I think I love reading her and Thackeray together more than anything.

I also enjoyed a lot his character, how bleeding strange he happens to be, not entirely a Percy Weasley and therefore not really a caricature of the teacher's pet, or the stereotype Ravenclaw. Instead, he cares about his projects and puts heart and soul into them intelligently, and the fact that Roxanne recognises this and gives him the needed respect for it I think is a major plus for the story. I also quite liked how her relationship was treated - outside of the story, mentioned lightly, and how Thackeray's jealousy isn't immediately burst at by shippers because he didn't mean it that way, at least not right now. I do like stories that build up the ship instead of shoving it in my face that these two were meant to be together from day one.

On that note, I really, really liked this, and will look forward to continuing this story to see what on earth Thackeray plans to do now - and drag Roxanne along to. Its been a while since I've read such a smart story.

It was lovely review swapping with you!

Author's Response: Hello! :) Ah, no worries, it was a lovely surprise to receive your review! And I'm really glad you picked this one, it's a little different from my usual style but I really appreciate getting feedback on it.

Excellent! Hehe, it's always a victory when the grammar and spelling is a success. And I'm so pleased you liked this, and found it original. I really enjoyed writing Roxy, and how she is sort of shy, but also very observant. She takes in little details, and she's a very strong person in her own right. I'm glad you found Thackeray intriguing and that their interactions helped you to understand Rox. I love their dynamic, how they're both sensitive, but have different ways of showing it, and how Roxy calms Thackeray down and Thackeray shows Roxy how to get excited and fired up about things.

Thackeray is very strange! :P I actually loved the character so much that I wrote a one-shot featuring Thackeray's childhood, hehe. I also see Thackeray as being very insecure, for multiple reasons, and being very defensive and sometimes aggressively throwing effort into projects to hide that. And I'm glad you liked the slow building of their relationship, and how they established themselves as friends first: I think they could have happily been friends since they get along so well, but happened to fit together as a couple as well. I like them because they're not an obvious couple - they're both a little weird, and not popular, and not necessarily attractive in a mainstream sense of the term, but they get along splendidly, and that's the most important part.

I'm so excited you liked this - thanks so much for the brilliant review! :) I really enjoyed getting your feedback! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by MargaretLane One

29th March 2014:
OK, I've decided to take a look at this to find out a little about Thackeray.

*grins at his criticism of John Locke*

I like your introduction of the new class. It makes sense after everything that has happened.

LOVE the way Roxanne is good at the practical aspects of Transfiguration but not so much at the theory behind it. I like it when writers give that bit of depth to what students are good or bad at, rather than just choosing subjects which they are good or bad at.

*laughs at Dominique breaking two wands* Sounds like she's pretty careless.

*also laughs at his society only having about three members*

I also like the part about her reading slowly. I wonder is she dyslexic or something or just not traditionally academic. Difficulty reading at her age usually indicates some kind of difficulty though, so I'm guessing there's something up.

*laughs at Filch feeding the posters to his cat* That sounds like him.

"Nobody loses against Dumbledore"? Considering she's talking about it not being worth taking the fight on, I would have thought it would make more sense if she said "nobody wins against Dumbledore."

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you were curious about Thackeray, and it's quite interesting to see your reactions to this story after having read Go Softly first.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the criticism of Locke - this is partly me trying to get the word out. We talked about Locke in one of my classes this year.

I'm pleased you thought it made sense! I imagined that the wizarding world would keep up a bit with the Muggle world in terms of social justice and human rights, or that students like Thackeray would begin to be more interested.

In my mind, Roxy is dyslexic and much more comfortable with visual and oral learning than reading and writing. I'm glad you liked that aspect of her character, and how it gives a reason for her to do less well in some classes.

The society really isn't very popular! I'm glad you liked the mention of Filch as well - he's a favourite mini-nemesis of the students of mine.

Good point about the sentence about losing against Dumbledore - I'll go and fix that now. :)

Thank you for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodore Three

13th March 2014:
Hello again, lovely!

This was such a brilliant chapter to end the story! I felt like this resolved everything properly, because even though this was only a short story there were so many themes and issues introduced and you showed your skill yet again in managing them all and writing about them beautifully. I'm just a little jealous about how well you manage to write everything :P

It was great that they got interviewed for the Daily Prophet, even if I'm not sure the interviewer originally wanted much more than a sensationalist article. Leticia's slip with 'Lad...' was quite funny, but even more confusing because it didn't really give us any clues, just showed how confused she was about it. I'm glad that the article went well though, and that they got the attention that they wanted for it, even if they didn't succeed in their project (which I didn't really expect them to).

I thought that Thackeray's talk about gender assignment and all of the issues that surround it was really interesting. Thackeray has obviously had a lot more time to think about it than Roxanne has, and so that makes the issue clearer. Roxanne was so sweet about it all though, and she's clearly worked her own way through it without looking at what other people think or what she's been taught to believe by society and come to her own conclusion. I'd have to disagree with her about the goblin thing, though :P

It was so cute to see James happy with Jameson and everyone making an effort. Ending it on Valentine's Day, considering you wrote this for the Modern Romance Challenge, made perfect sense.

I loved the ending as well, and the fact that we got to find out what they were all doing afterwards. Their jobs seem to suit them so much, and I love the fact that James was working for LGBTQ rights in the wizarding community, as I think that would be an important issue and one not much touched on.

Hmm, Dumbledore's preserved body... possibly symbolises the preserved gender roles in society? My tired brain isn't working very well so that's all I can come up with at the moment!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo review 4/20

Author's Response: Hi again! :)

I'm glad you felt this resolved everything! That was one of the challenges of writing a three-shot and I hoped to tie up all the loose ends. I'm really honoured to hear you thought it was well done! :)

Yes! Hehe, I'm pleased you picked up on the little slip, haha, and how it just showed that she was confused. I was wondering what readers might think of that moment. Yeah, I found it quite unlikely that their project would be seen as anything more than a few crazy kids fighting for something, so I'm glad you found that realistic. :)

Ah, I'm so pleased you liked the conversation about gender roles. I wasn't sure whether to include it or not, and if it would be too much like my feminist views coming through, but I'm glad you liked how the characters interacted about it. And yes, Roxy, despite her faults, is a very open-minded person and though she doesn't realize it all the time, she knows her own mind. I felt that was a very important part of her character and her learning process. And yes, the goblin thing was probably not true. :P

Yay for Valentines Day love! :) I thought it felt like the right way for the story to come full circle, and to mention the other characters and their romantic interests as well.

The ending was one of my favourite parts of the whole story, I have to say. It was fun imagining how the jobs might integrate into the wizarding world, and I felt James' job suited him especially well. He had his own little story arc too of going from being embarrassed and ashamed to being a voice for good.

Haha, interesting metaphor analysis! :P I actually didn't think of it in that way, so it's cool to hear your thoughts. I felt like had Dumbledore being alive, he would be very supportive of Roxy and Thackeray, so he definitely symbolizes... something. (that is my lazy response :P).

Thank you so much for the amazing reviews and for following this story to the end, I really appreciate it! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodore Two

13th March 2014:
Hi Jenna! I couldn't resist coming back and reviewing some more of your work for the Blackout Bingo, so don't be too surprised if you feel like I'm review bombing you a bit!

Ah, this was such a great chapter! I always get so absorbed in your writing that I forget that I'm trying to review quickly, and your work is always so rich in detail that I feel bad if I don't at least try to make my reviews reflect that!

It was great to find out more about Thackeray's family - I didn't think at the beginning that we'd have met them by the end of this chapter, but it was great to see the set up that Thackeray had come from and what made him who he was. It was nice to see that Roxanne was thinking that, too - like the part about where he got his tenacity from!

I felt a bit sorry for Roxanne as she thought about her own family, but you definitely made it feel realistic to me. It would be frustrating to have people interested in you for who you're related to and it was also nice to see that only a few of them seemed to be mildly famous compared to the whole family being the best known in the wizarding world. I'm glad that she gets on with Lucy too, and has at least one person she's close to in her family.

The part when they told each other that they were pretty was so cute! I love the way that this is progressing, that both Roxanne and Thackeray have acknowledged the fact that they like each other and they're slowly moving towards a relationship, without there being any real obstacles (except Artie, which was resolved later).

You know, in all the next generation stories I've read, I don't think I've ever read about James being gay. Albus yes, but never James. I think it's great that you include so many of these themes and issues in your stories and that in the end, James and Jameson were happy and trying to be together in spite of all the trouble they'd received for it.

The descriptions of Ireland were so beautiful, and rich in detail. I love how much you use your experiences travelling in your stories! And then even little facts like what came later, about the drink-driving problems - it's something I've heard about a lot from my family there, and it's really accurate. The incorporation of the legends was amazing!

Ah, and I love Thackeray's family! They're so liberal and laid-back, but not in a strange way (if that makes sense :P). They're probably doing the best they can to let teenagers make their own mistakes. And I knew that Thackeray's name came from the author! All the time I've been reading this, the only Thackeray I could think of was him, so I'm proud of myself for getting the reference now :P

The moment they shared over the Thestrals was really sweet and touching. It's sad that they can both see them, especially with Thackeray's experience, but it felt natural for them to share that.

I know that Thackeray doesn't have a gender (as far as you've described!) but it's extremely infuriating if you're as indecisive as me. All last chapter I was convinced Thackeray was a guy, and this chapter made me think that they were a girl instead. I'm not as creative as you with not using gender pronouns!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo review 3/20

Author's Response: Hi Sian! :)

I love you for review bombing me! :) It was such a lovely surprise, and I really appreciate you coming back to read the rest of this story. I value your opinion a lot on my work. ♥

I'm pleased you liked this! :D And thank you for taking the time to leave such a long and thoughtful review, I know it's tricky with the battle and everything. :P

I'm pleased you liked learning about Thackeray's family! I felt they were a very important part of Thackeray, and I really enjoyed the backstory. Thackeray has really been shaped by life experiences and influences, and I wanted to hint at that a little.

Haha yes, I felt like there was no way every single Weasley would be famous! :P It's something I've been pondering over quite a bit when reading Next Gen stories, in fact. I'm pleased you like her friendship with Lucy, and the sometimes difficult dynamics in the family.

Aw, I'm pleased you liked that moment! :) I wasn't sure how to make that transfer from friends to lovers, but I felt that with these two it would have to be a little nervous and a little shy. Haha, poor Artie. :P

I have no idea why I wanted James to be gay, but it's starting to become my head canon! :) I had fun with his character here and was thinking of doing a spin-off story with James and Jameson, if only because their names are so funny together!

Aw, I'm really glad you liked the descriptions of Ireland. The place they went - which Thackeray calls the enchanted ground - was just one of those really special moments for me while traveling and I wanted to do it justice. And yes, I'm glad you found the drinking and driving stories accurate - it was mostly inspired by my Canadian/American friends and their stories of living in small towns, but fit well with rural UK/Ireland as well. And the legends! :D I was basically fairy-hunting for most of my time in Ireland so it felt only right to include them.

Yes! They're such typical liberal professors in my opinion. :P Hehe, I'm glad you liked the name origin as well - I have no clue why that felt like a good first name for a character, but once the idea occurred to me I couldn't get it out of my head.

Aw, I know! :( I felt that this would be something they would connect over, and feel closer through.

Hahaha, I'm sorry! :P Thackeray's birth gender will forever remain a secret, but I'm pleased you're conflicted *evil author moment*.

Thanks for the amazing review, darling! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodore One

1st March 2014:
Hi Jenna!

I have to confess that I actually read this chapter a while ago and never got a chance to review, so I thought this was the perfect opportunity to do so! The whole concept of this story is so interesting and really unique, and I think you should be proud of yourself just for that. Also, you've written about Roxanne and that's so exciting!

I think the fact that Thackeray here doesn't seem to have a gender identity is one of the most original ideas I've come across in any story, let alone fanfiction. I was reading it and looking out for any slips in pronouns or anything and I was amazed when I couldn't find any. You got around that so well, and I wouldn't have noticed it if I hadn't known in advance, but the writing flowed so well and seamlessly that it didn't seem like that was an effort for you at all.

Even without that unusual aspect, this story is already really interesting because it's a next generation set in Hogwarts and it talks about one of the things that really matters, it is such a refreshing change to read about the environment and that being as much of a concern for the magical community as it is for us today. Thackeray reminds me quite a bit of Luna, only a more extreme version - their views are more defined and more strongly expressed, because there is a lot more of an 'activist' air about Thackeray. Then again, maybe Luna would have been the same if it hadn't been for the war!

Your characterisation was brilliant! Even though Thackeray doesn't have a gender identity here you did give them a real personality, especially with the antagonistic way that he interrupted Roxanne at the beginning of the chapter. The reactions of the others were great as well and I am really excited to see where this story is going, hopefully I can get back to this story soon!

Sian :)

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Battle review 2/10

Author's Response: Hi Sian! :)

Ah, no worries, it's great to see you here! :) I'm glad you like the idea of the story, and I had so much fun writing it. And yes, Roxy! She just felt like the perfect person through whom to tell this story, and I already miss writing her.

Thank you! :D I really enjoyed writing Thackeray and playing with the confines of gender in the story. Hehe, I think the pronouns thing was easier for me because I decided not to settle on a specific birth-gender for Thackeray, so both "he" and "she" would have been incorrect. It was quite fun to work on in the story and I'm glad you liked that aspect, and found it flowed well!

The environmental theme was inspired a little by some of my friends who are very involved in environmental activism around campus, and since this is such a common part of Muggle student culture. It was quite entertaining to pick the topics they would be working on! That's interesting, Thackeray is a little Luna-ish! However, more aggressive and combative, and more active when it comes to carrying through things as you said. I agree, maybe Luna became a magical creatures activist when she graduated- that seems like something she'd do well. :)

I'm glad you liked the characters as well. I had so much fun coming up with Thackeray, who is definitely one of my favourite OCs to write so far. I'm so happy you enjoyed it! :)

Thank you for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by Maelody Three

4th February 2014:
Awww! I totally wasn't expecting this to end so quickly! However, it makes sense and it was a job well done. And actually, it was quite enjoying being able to read something quick and enjoyable. :)

So, if I'm correct, it actually is mentioned that Thack is a girl. By the slip of the tongue "ladies" yeah? And the unconventional relationship. I loved the topic on gender, and how it doesn't really matter. You covered it quite nicely.

The whole HEPS thing getting picked up, and how it was mentioned that it was dropped later makes it all better. Heck, the "later" part was enough to warm my heart alone. I like that she is a cartoonist, and Thack is doing something non-ministry organized. It really adds to the whole deal, and it sounds like a cozy life. That picture at the end, the one with Swift, almost made me tear up ;).

It was a truly great story, and I'm glad I got to read it! You did a great job, and I loved every bit of it! Keep doing what you do! :)

~Mae

Author's Response: Hi again! :) Ah, I wish it could have been longer, I just had too many WIPs. Maybe someday. :P

I'm glad you liked it! :D This style was quite new for me so it's great to get such lovely feedback.

Ah, so you took that as saying Thackeray was a girl? ("Thack, hahhaha :P). In my opinion Thackeray's gender is contested, so the poor journalist thought to say "ladies" but then wasn't quite sure if that was right. :P But it's really up to the reader to decide - or decide to not decide. :)

I'm really happy you liked the "later" part and how the story ended for both of them. I liked imagining them living their dreams but also being quite happy and ordinary. Aw, I'm so happy to hear you liked the picture, it felt like the sort of thing Thackeray would really appreciate from Roxy.

Thank you so much for the brilliant review! I really do appreciate it so much and it made my day to get your reviews. You're awesome! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Maelody Two

4th February 2014:
I hadn't even noticed the updates since chapter one! Sorry it's taken a bit, but I'm here now! :)

This, in all reality, is a powerful chapter. It's like a montage, and though montages are normally short , you don't even realize the length of each section because it has you captured in the whole time. And I just love how you successfully passed the time and we were still updated on all of the important goods. :) Such as the kiss, meeting the Doyle family, and the beautiful scene on the hill.

That hill scene! It was breathtaking and beautiful and calming all at the same time! It was amazing! Great job on your detail and writing right there for sure! I loved it! From the sadness if the thestrals, to the beauty of going and being there. I simply just loved it.

I like that Thack (I'm sticking with that since I butchered it last time haha) isn't gender specific. Though, some part of me wants to see the revelation at the end or something, and another part screams that it would make the story mean so much more if you didn't lol. Oh the workings of an indecisive mind.

Great job! I'll move forth to the next chapter!

~Mae

Author's Response: Hi Mae! :)

Thanks so much for coming back - it was really lovely to get your feedback on the other chapters. :D

I'm really pleased to hear you liked the format of the story and felt it was powerful. I have a tendency to write a LOT so I tried to confine the narrative to smaller sections so this wouldn't turn into a novel. :P

Yay, I'm really happy you liked the hill scene! Hearing it was well written is really lovely, I've actually been on the exact hill I was writing about at sunset so it was mostly based on that, hehe. :) I'm thrilled to hear your comments on it.

Haha, that name is just impossible to spell! I'm glad you liked the gender neutrality, I'm really glad I experimented with that here even though it was challenging. I like how you're conflicted about Thackeray's true gender as well, and whether you want to know or not!

Thanks so much for an amazing review, I'm off to reply to the other one now! :D I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Red_headed_juliet Three

28th January 2014:
I think you've done a wonderful job, making a story in which the characters sexual orientation isn't defined and doesn't need to be, as gender is irrelevant in what makes them attracted to one another. I was wondering if there was going to be a big reveal, but was kinda happy when there wasn't. I have an ex that doesn't like to be associated with either gender, and has even tried to raise the awareness of gender neutral pronouns. I think Aiden would quite like this story, though I'm quite certain xe hasn't read any Harry Potter books, unfortunately.

The story was brilliantly told. Your characterization, plot, conflict, exposition, grammar, and description is all wonderful. I think you have done a magnificent job all around.

Good luck in the challenge!

RHJ

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm so glad you liked it! Writing Thackeray was quite challenging, but in a really positive way, and I liked writing the kind of unconventional love story in which gender doesn't matter.

I'm glad you were happy that Thackeray's gender wasn't revealed - in the end, it felt right that the character remain neutral and that the gender was only a very small part of the story. That's really interesting about your ex - I think it's a fascinating subject in gender studies which is becoming more important and so felt very lucky to be able to integrate these questions into the story.

I'm so thrilled you liked it - I loved writing this story, and really appreciate all your thoughts in these reviews.

Thank you so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Red_headed_juliet Two

25th January 2014:
Woah! Your authors note just blew my mind. Yes, of course the hints are there, now that I think about it... "unisex jumper" and what not, but I just assumed... ha. Now I feel like I should go back and read it, thinking about Thackery as a girl. I actually thought maybe Thackery had been born a girl, and was trying to be thought of as a boy, but it never occured to me you hadn't specified Thackery as a he or she. What a good idea!

Anyways, still a lovely story! This chapter is just as good as the last. It was nice to meet the parents, and hear of Ireland. (I'm in the USA, and love the descriptions of England and Ireland in general. +] ) Like I said before, characterization is perfect. The flow is wonderful, great readability, especially for it being in first person. Sometimes first person can be jarring, but you've done very well. Not lacking in description at all. You make everything very clear to the reader

There was a typo, but I can't remember where, and I can only remember one, so a far lot of good that is as far as CC. lol. Everyone has typos.

On to the next chapter! Eventually! As my little one just woke up. But really, I can't wait for the opportunity.

Author's Response: Hi again! :D

Ah, yay! :) I was wondering if people would be surprised or not. It's really cool that you were actually wondering about whether Thackeray was identifying with another gender. It's been so interesting seeing if people assumed boy or girl.

I'm glad you liked it! I'm Canadian and therefore rather in love with England and Ireland as well, so this was quite fun to write. :) It's great to know you liked the characters and the first person - I really liked writing Rox and sort of miss her a little already. I'm so pleased you liked the description as well.

Ah, I'm going to go typo-hunting soon! :P

Thanks so much for the brilliant review! :) I really appreciate you coming back to leave your thoughts on the chapter! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Red_headed_juliet One

24th January 2014:
I'm going to like this story. You've done a brilliant job. The first paragraph, even the story summary, left me wanting to know more. I can tell that you've really fleshed out these characters as much as you possibly can. It's just the right amount of silly and amusing mixed in with foreshadowing. I'm looking forward to see how it progresses, though I don't have time to read more now.

I didn't find anything to comment on as far as CC, so good job! Normally I'll find something, but you've done an absolutely perfect job.

I liked the bit about unicorn poop drawing and how it was quickly shut down. lol. And then dropping stones to try and get a mermaid to complain. Very nice. I'm not sure Thackery knows what he's getting into. There's no way they're going to bury Dumbledore. No way... not unless he has some serious powers of persuasion.

All in all, this is a very, very interesting story, and I'm glad that I took the time to read it. Again, great characterization. They feel completely real, not flat at all.

I'm glad we did this swap! Until next time!

Author's Response: Hi! First of all, thanks so much for leaving me reviews on the whole story. I really appreciate it and loved hearing your thoughts! :D

It's amazing to hear you were intrigued right off the bat. Depth mixed with silly was just what I wanted - it's definitely one of the sillier stories I've written.

Haha, I imagine the professors would be quite annoyed with the unicorn poo thing. :P Thackeray has no idea what they're doing, really, other than causing a bit of a stir by coming up with ridiculous schemes.

I'm so glad you liked the story and the characters! I loved writing it and felt like it was quite challenging, so getting this amazing feedback really means a lot. Thanks so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by toomanycurls Three

24th January 2014:
Hello!!

love love love love, this chapter and how you ended the story!

At first I was a bit unsure of Leticia - I thought she might be trying to hit on Thackeray with her good looks and nice questions. I did like that they got interviewed for their cause. I got a good grin at their list of objectives for the project.

Aw! I do like that Harry supported them, at least in his quote. I could have seen him not wanting Dumbledore's remains to be disturbed but I like that he was okay with it.

I thought you segwayed into gender in a clever way. Of course Thackeray has rather developed thoughts and insight on the topic. I'm glad that the concept was rather new to Roxanne though. It felt like she genuinely tossed the idea around until she understood it in her own way rather than just taking the text book definitions.

I really like how Thackeray helped James and Jameson. I think it's heartening that McGonagall was so supportive of them and making the school emotionally safe for all students.

When Roxanne gets out her thoughts on Thackeray's gender not mattering because she loved her as a person not as a specific gender it was just amazing. As I mentioned above, I like that Rox came to understand this issue/idea in her own way. It made her thoughts and realization so much more powerful.

I loved reading the fast forward to current day. I might steal NMO as a term - I don't know if I would have been cool enough to say anything other than NGO. You did such a wonderful job with this story and told a beautiful love story which really captured the meaning behind having a modern romance.

-Rose

Author's Response: Hola! :)

Yay! I'm so glad you liked this story - I felt it was quite different from what I've written in the past so getting a positive reaction is really incredible.

I think Leticia was flirting with Thackeray a little - at least in Roxanne's suspicious girlfriend head. Hehe, I'm glad you liked it! I thought the whole thing was a bit of a half-serious, half-ridiculous idea so it felt right to have some humour.

Yes, I imagined Harry being supportive of Rox! Even if he might have just said anything to get the press off his back - he'd be quite sick of being in the paper by this point I'd imagine!

I'm so glad to hear you liked how gender was portrayed! Haha, of course Thackeray would know, as not only is it relevant but Thackeray likes to know everything. :P You hit Roxy right on the head there: she likes to understand and approach things in her own way.

I'm pleased you liked how Thackeray was there for James, and how supportive McGonagall was. I feel she would do everything she could to help students feel safe.

I'm so happy you liked that! I actually felt a little emotional writing it, haha. :) It's amazing to hear you found it interesting and powerful.

You can definitely steal it! :P I can't imagine Thackeray doing anything other than getting involved in social issues.

Thanks so much for the beautiful review! :D This story is so special to me so getting all your amazing feedback really made my day! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by LittleLionGirl Two

20th January 2014:
Wow! This was a great close on an amazing story! I really didn't notice it wasn't gender specific until the very end! The characterization was great and I love the James and Jamison bit- the names just work so well together.

XOXOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm glad you liked this as well! It was interesting to see what gender people might interpret. I'm glad you liked the characters, and I thought James/Jameson would be a great couple name haha.

Thanks for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by LittleLionGirl One

20th January 2014:
Wow! I really enjoy this. No one has ever talked about the actual environment at Hogwarts before. Wacky Thacky is a character though- I'll give him that much. I mean could he possibly be. jealous?! I really enjoyed the formatting and length of the chapter. The flow and characterization was also lovely. Keep it up!
XOXOXOXO,
LLG

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you! :) I thought it was a fun thing to write about - I know a lot of crazy environmental student activists in real life so it was fun to translate that into HP. Thackeray was definitely jealous. :P

It's great to know you liked the story and how it was written. Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by toomanycurls Two

17th January 2014:
Review Swap!! (part 1)

(yes we're both a bit swap obsessed)

I'm really excited to read more about Thackeray!! I laughed so loud at "take back the soil" - great play on Take Back the Night! I like that Thackeray is so complimentary towards Roxanne's drawing.

It's interesting to learn about Thackeray's family. Her parents seem rather cool and perfect for raising someone to care as much as Thackeray does. I'm glad that Thackeray seems to appreciate her parents. ^_^

Oh poor Roxanne. It is a bit understandable how Roxanne feels with her family being famous and not really looking like the famous side of her family. I grew up not looking like my family and it was only weird when people pointed it out. It suits Thackeray to not be interested in her family for the fame but Roxanne's connection.

!!! Their "you're pretty too" exchange was to die for! I thought it was so sweet and genuine.

Kids and their malicious rumors. Some kids did a similar thing when I was in middle school - it wasn't nice.

I got a laugh out of James looking as upset as if he'd been told there wasn't any more cherry pie. I got such a vivid image of the teenage boy. Ooh, nice that he actually *did* like Jameson. I mean, nice that it wasn't just a malicous rumor but not nice that people are picking on him for it. Oh Thackeray - despite her a bit off-putting demeanor, I just want to hug her when she comforts James and seems to be so supportive of him!!

!!! Kissing!!! (I loved the scene but I can't articulate more than that)

I like that Roxanne telling her parents she had a girlfriend was a non-issue in the plot. I'm excited to see how her visit goes. They're completely lovely! Dr. Wright's comment about them getting into some sort of trouble seems a bit forboding!

SHE CALLED THACKERAY LOVE!

I'm so sad that they can both see thesterals but bonus for making it a kissing moment. It was very sweet and tender how they shared who it was they lost.

Um, I wouldn't expect anything else from Thackeray's family but to be complete nerds. :D

Ending with Roxanne thinking how inspired she felt around Thackeray and her happiness just filled me with a bubble of squee.

-Rose

Author's Response: Hola! :)

Haha yes! I didn't even think of that when I wrote that - it was probably one of those accidental inspirations. :P

I'm glad you liked Thackeray's parents! I imagined them being quite liberal and cool Muggles, and figured that the family would be quite close- of course there's more about that later in the chapter.

I imagined that while Harry and potentially Hermione for her work in the Ministry would be quite famous, the rest probably wouldn't be. So most of the world would know about the famous ones and not care about Rox so much. Yes, Thackeray cares rather more about Rox than about the family. :P

I'm glad you thought it was cute! :) They're still both a little shy around each other at that point, and it was fun to write.

Kids are awful, and I imagine even Hogwarts wouldn't be immune.

Haha I'm glad you liked James! Yes, James and Jameson were a fun little sub-plot for me to put in there- I'd never seen a gay James so it seemed like a nice change. I'm glad you liked the nicer side of Thackeray too! I imagined Thackeray would be quite understanding about things such as this.

Yay kissing!! :)

I loved writing the parents, they're so understanding and silly with all the literature references. And yes, complete and utter nerds. :P I'm glad you liked the Thestral and sharing grief scene too: it seemed like a strong point over which to unite.

I'm glad this was squee-inducing! :D Thanks so much for the wonderful review, I loved it! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Maelody One

13th January 2014:
Hey there! Popping in right before going to work!

Wow! So much pleasant detail! I like that Roxanne is the character because I've always wondered how she would be raised by George Weasley. It seems like she strives to be a little less crazy and more studios (though it takes some effort, yes?).

Thackery is very unlikably likable. He's a know-it-all, but it reminds me of a Sherlock know-it-al sort of way. He's very real about his thoughts, and like Roxanne thought at one point, he doesn't mean to offend any one person directly. He just means what he says.

By the way, my favorite part of this whole story is the fact that you came up with Wacky Thacky! Seriously! I feel for the poor kid! Especially after he heard it and the way he reacted to it. It sort of broke my heart a little bit.

Unicorn dung? Really? Haha, that was adorably gross. He's a little like Hermione in the whole "save the small world" type thing. I like that Roxanne draws exactly what he's getting at, too. I wish I could see it visually, too. Though you did an awesome job describing the picture.

It's sweet how he's somewhat jealous of her hanging out with Artie. I didn't really get the sense that he was jealous OF him, just jealous that she was spending time with someone other than him. It's sort of cute, but sad in a lonely kind of way.

This is a bit of a side spot, but I really liked how you described Lucy and her boyfriend in the common room. All of the side events that a person would notice on the side of what is actually going on were really drawn out well. This chapter was very easy to visualise.

The only thing I noticed was in the third paragraph after she reads his flyer, he says, "Do you thing?" instead of "think?". That's all I saw. Other than that, I just sort of wonder with how smart he is, why he didn't think to copy the flyers instead of hand writing them himself? I mean, "Does he think?" haha :).

A very enjoyable first chapter and I'm really excited to see more of it! You did a great job!

~Mae

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I was always intrigued by Roxanne too and loved writing her here, though I'm not sure if I would write her quite like this a second time. She is not as crazy, but she has her dad's creativity, and you're right, studying is a little more difficult for her.

Haha, unlikable likeable is just perfect! Thackeray is quite the know it all and a lot of fun to write because of it, but there's definitely a softer and more vulnerable side. :)

Ahh, Wacky Thacky is pretty awful! :P In my head canon Peeves was the first one to make that particular rhyme, and the students were cruel enough to adopt it.

Yes, there is some Hermione in Thackeray's behaviour! I think the difference between them might be that while both want to make a change, in some cases Thackeray also wants to make a fuss and be all worked up about something. And yes, Thackeray is perhaps a little jealous. Potentially more than a little jealous. But then again, Roxanne wasn't too specific about how she feels either. :P

I'm glad you found it easy to visualize, I quite liked writing that image as well! Lucy was a great character to tie in here, I liked exploring the differences in the relationships that Lucy and Rox have with their significant others.

Thanks, I'll fix that when I edit! :) That's a good point, hehe. I think Thackeray is very mechanical in thinking in some ways, sees things in a rather straightforward way, whereas Rox is more creative and sees outside the box, if that makes sense? It was a litting "unthinking" of Thackeray. :P

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by milominderbinder One

13th January 2014:
Jenna! Here from the Modern Romance challenge to review your entry :D

Gosh. Just - how do I say how much I loved this without sounding like such an idiot? This is one of those stories that just sucks you in straight away. Gorgeous writing that doesn't get in the way of the plot, unique and relatable but still quirky characters who immediately seem fully developed, such original concepts and plotline that it's really stimulating to read because it's all so fresh. And somehow, it wasn't quite any of those things that made me love this, but something else entirely, something I really can't put into words (I know, kinda useless for reviewing, sigh) that kept my eyes glued to the page until the very last word.

Roxanne was perfectly characterised and really a great choice for the main character here, but I'm not gonna say too much about her here because I want to talk about her in reviews of later chapters :D I do just have to say a few more words about Thackeray Doyle. I mean. Just. What a character. What a truly amazing, quirky, insane, realistic literary phenomenon. I totally relish the idea of the next gen being filled with these slightly malcontent social activists, and she perfectly embodies that. Every line she spoke seemed perfect - I loved her stubbornness and the pleasure she took in correcting people, but also by the end the clear affection she showed for Roxanne. She's such a perfectly balanced multifaceted character.

I know the romance hasn't truly started yet so I can't really review this in terms of how well it fits the challenge. But the connection between Roxanne and Thackeray is already obvious here - they seem, in a way, two perfect halves of a whole. From their wider personalities to the finest details like Roxanne's dyslexia(? I'm assuming, I don't think you actually mentioned the word?) and artistic preferences slotting into Thackeray's wordiness and love of facts. And I really do love how you're setting up their relationship. Because this isn't purely a love story - there's a plot, a plot that sounds gosh darn interesting so far, and that means that they don't just have this mindless connection, they're thrown together for a reason which makes the whole thing more significant, and also adds a whole other layer to why this is interesting to read.

I did start compiling a list of my favourite lines but it was getting longer than the review by the time I'd finished the third paragraph, so since it's impossible to pick (since I loved so much in here), here's three random lines from my top faves:

We were the inheritors of a bored age in which the greatest entertainment came from finding something to be appropriately angry about, whether it was the History of Magic curriculum not including enough historic feminist witches or bans on loud singing in the corridors.

I didn't bother to explain to her the excitement of having a purpose, of being necessary and seen as intelligent and a valuable contributing member instead of as Roxanne Weasley, the girl who read a little slower and had to study her words a little more carefully than others.

I took this for a fact: Thackeray never spoke unless absolutely sure of the words' truth.

Okay, that's me done! I'm adding this to my faves so I can keep up with updates :D Can't wait to see what the next chapter holds, and thank you so much for entering my challenge!

~Maia

Author's Response: Hi! :D *dies at the amazingness of this review*

I'm so thrilled you liked this! It's a little different from my usual style and approach to writing and I felt like I took some risks with it, so getting this lovely feedback really means the world. I've been savouring this review and coming back to re-read it for the last day or so since it's so lovely, thank you for all these compliments! ♥

It's really amazing to hear how the story pulled you in and that the characters felt very developed. That's just how I imagined them, jumping into the story fully-formed, and knowing that came across to you as a reader is really incredible to hear.

Ahh, I love Roxanne and Thackeray and I'm really pleased you do too. I'm happy to see how you appreciated Thackeray as I did- I put a lot of thought and humour and fun into imagining that character and knowing you found the slightly obnoxious comments realistic and interesting is so wonderful. That's exactly what I wanted-balanced, multifaceted, and easy to love and hate at the same time.

I promise the romance will begin and overflow in the next chapter! :P I just got a little carried away with the introductions and didn't want a 10k word chapter, hehe. :P

Yes, they are opposites but in a really good way! I didn't explicitly say, but in my head Roxanne does have dyslexia. And then Thackeray is very fact-based and goes by getting worked up and passionate while Roxanne is more laid back and quietly expresses herself through her art. I'm so happy you like the plot! I love writing it and coming up with Thackeray's crazy schemes, and it's really lovely to hear you like how the causes unite them and drives the story and their relationship forward. :)

These are some of my favourite lines as well so I love how you picked them out. :) I felt like the first one and second lines here represent something quite universal which Roxanne feels quite prominently in her life, and then the third is Thackeray being particular and opinionated. :P

I'm really so excited you like the first chapter! :D I'm working on editing the second one and hopefully will be putting it up in the next day or so! :) Thanks for the amazing challenge and lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by ReeBee One

13th January 2014:
Here for our review swap!! This was so interesting!!!

Firstly, characterisation. I LOVE how you've chosen Roxanne, almost no one writes about her and this was super interesting! And Thackery was a very unique and clearly expressed personality! :D I loved your characterisation of the characters! VERY amazing!

Description: well handled! I think the flow of this story is quite fast, but controlled very well! It may be moving quickly, but it was written in a way that didn't seemed rushed or forced, that of course is due to the description :) Just sort of a natural relationship :D I do think adding a bit of setting description would help the reader imagine the scene more clearly :)

Plot/Flow: Well, I sort of mentioned this in the last part... But, anyway, I think it's fine and the flow's quite good, but I also think u need to keep an eye on the next chapters :) It might become too rapidly paced, so far, it's fine, but slowing the pace down in the next chapters would be good :) I love the idea about the weird petitions! :D

There were no major grammar or syntax errors :)

All in all, I loved this! Great job! The concept is so fresh and interesting! Yay! :D Thanks for a super fun review swap!

-ReeBee

Author's Response: Hello! :) Haha, I'm glad you found it interesting! That's what I was hoping for.

I agree, Roxy barely ever gets much attention! I really liked coming up with an idea and character for her, I'm quite attached to her now. Ah, Thackeray is unique! :D They're both a lot of fun to write, so I'm pleased you enjoyed them.

It is a lot faster paced than my other stories, now that I think of it. That's a great point about setting description, I'll definitely work on that in the next chapter. Thank you! :)

Sounds good, I'll definitely keep an eye out for that. The next chapter is already written so I'll have a second look and make sure it seems well paced and flows nicely. :) I'm glad you like the idea, it was fun to come up with things they might be up in a fuss about!

Thanks so much for the lovely review, I'm very pleased you like it so far! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by toomanycurls One

13th January 2014:
Hello!! By end of the work day, I mean lunch time. :D I might be a slight slacker. OH! And this is my 450th review!

Ugh - I hate it when people call out the inconvinient counter-fact or stuff that just pokes holes in a presentation. grr. I'd like to give Thackeray a good thwack.

I can understand though. If he's a stickler for facts and is really on the side of social justice.

Unicorn feces are essential to the forrest ecosystem? Is Hagrid over-harvesting it? I'm sorry, sarcasm is coming out.

I've just noticed you haven't described Thackeray as a boy or girl yet. In fact, I think you've been purposefully avoiding it. I like it as I think you're trying to make a point about attraction.

I don't get the warm fuzzies from Thackeray but I do sense the potential for warm fuzzies between Thackeray and Roxanne. The offer to draw for the Unicorn poo flyer might give them time to test out fuzzies.

haha, I like their point of contention about the comment Thackery made in class. And I guess that counts as an apology...

The comfortable silence you mention seems like a great indicator of compatability. It's a bit sad that they're getting odd stares just for working on a project together. People can be a bit single-minded and stupid to assume there's something more between them *just* because they're sitting together.

It's good that HEPS gave Roxanne a sense of purpose and helped her confidence a bit. ^_^ I haven't read anything yet that really explains why other people would whisper about her hanging out with Thackeray - sure, two chicks doing stuff together but they seem rather friends-y at this point and not relationship-y.

Oh dear, her relationship with Artie is putting a strain on her friendship (likeship, is that a thing) with Thackeray. :-/

Um, wow, Thackeray wants to release Dumbledore's remains into the wild? That's quite the scheme. Their conversation, where Roxanne thinks Thackeray wants to steal the Elder wand is kind of hilarious. I'm she was quite beside herself with shock at that idea.

You're doing a great job building their friendship! I'm excited to see how they'll come together, slowly as friends, then friends +, then something more relationship-y.

-Rose

Author's Response: Hello! :) Wow, congrats on leaving 450 reviews. That's awesome!

Oh god, me too. Haha, thwack. That is Thackeray's personality, unfortunately, but things do get better! :P

Haha yes, the unicorn dung as poached fertilizer is a little bit of a ridiculous cause to argue about! But funny. Well, I think so.

You're so perceptive! Yes, Thackeray's gender is never specified on purpose. It made the story quite difficult to write but in a good, challenging way. I'm glad you like it!

The next chapter is far more full of warm fuzzies, I'm afraid. Haha, I mean drawing unicorn poo draws everyone together, who could resist? Well, Roxy probably won't be able to.

I agree, odd stares are quite unfair and rude. In the story, Thackeray has a bit of a reputation as being a little odd and pompous. Whereas Roxanne is well-liked, if she's noticed at all. So they do make a bit of an odd friendship, and it is disappointing that people care.

I feel that likeship is a good example for this circumstance!

Haha yes! The Dumbledore thing is pretty much the most absurd and morbid scheme I could think of, hehe. And I just giggled at how you described it as releasing Dumbledore into the wild, hahaha. :P

Thank you, I'm glad you like it so far! :) Thanks for the great review!




 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login