Reading Reviews for Weasley Awkward
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by newgenerationlover When I Grow Up

8th May 2014:
Really love this story!! You have done a great job setting up all your characters and making them become believable characters. I especially like Auden. Somewhat quiet and shy but a nice and funny hard-working girl. She is a character to easily identify with. I really like her relationship with her brother. He takes care of the family despite the fact that he was only a kid when he started doing it and still acts a little bit like a child today. Maybe his casing skirts is his 'stress reliever.' Loving and shipping Auden and Charlie. I love that she is sort of a part of the Weasley family. It just shows that they are good people and don't do it just for Harry, but anyone in need. I can't wait to keep reading :)

Author's Response: Oooh thank you! Yeah, I hate to toot my own horn, but I quite like Auden, too. At first I thought I was going to have to rewrite her because she seemed a little bland, but reading back through it she's decent. And yes, I imagined that the Weasleys would be hospitable for anyone and not just the boy who lived. :p

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Addy When I Grow Up

26th April 2014:
love this story, cant wait for more. Charlie is my favorite weasley ever!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Addy! I quite like Charlie too. I should have it updated within the next week or so. :-)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rose When I Grow Up

20th April 2014:
not sure who i felt worse for.Great story so far, cant wait to read more

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm editing the next chapter currently. It should be up by next week at the latest.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Addy Chocolate Frogs

16th April 2014:
Charlie is my favorite weasley! cant wait to see if anything happens between him and auden

Author's Response: I rather like Charlie, too. :-) And I'm excited that you can't wait. The next chapter should be up within the next few days.

Thank you so so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Rose Chocolate Frogs

16th April 2014:
your story has made me tear up a few times, awesome job, cant wait to read more

Author's Response: Eeek! Thank you! I'm sorry that it's made you tear up a few times, though a part of me is grinning ear to ear... is that awful of me? haha.

Thank you for the review and I'm editing the next chapter right now, so it should be up shortly. Hopefully it holds up to standard! :-)


 Report Review

Review #6, by ladymarauder85 Vacation, All I Never Wanted

14th January 2014:
I love this! Your writing style is great - snappy and quick which makes your characters seem completely realistic. My paragraphs are always ridiculously long and unnecessary - I'm taking note! :)
Auden is fantastic! I love her already and can't wait to read what happens to her. xxx

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by BookDinosaur Homebound

14th January 2014:
Hello! I'm here with the review you requested from me on the forums. :)

I really liked Auden, she seemed like an incredibly realistic character to me. I love how her estrangement from the Weasleys wasn't a huge or dramatic affair, it was just a small incident that she blew way out of proportion, I love how she was to blame for that situation as well, it's not just Charlie's fault, it was really realistc and I really liked that. :)

Auden's narrative voice was really nice as well, not too ramble-y but amusing and fun to read, I had no problem with reading her narration. She's funny as well, but it doesn't seem like you're digging for a laugh, which is good.

The flow of this story was pretty good, I read through it all without many problems at all, so kudos to you for that!

Wow, I'm really not liking Monica at the moment. She seems like an awful person already. I mean, okay, maybe the thing with Charlie wasn't her fault, he liked her and I suppose she didn't know that Auden liked him, but getting with your best friend's boyfriend is just low. I'm looking forward to seeing more of her though, and maybe seeing her character a bit more as well so I know
why she and Auden are friends.

Aw, I loved how you wrote the relationship between Auden and Hollis, they seemed to really care for each other as siblings and that was so sweet, I hope they keep this up throughout the story!

Hehe, Charlie and Auden's reuniting was a suitably awkward and sweet affair, I'm already liking them as a couple and they've barely spoken for the last couple of months/years!

The CC I would give you would definitely to be to flesh out this chapter a bit more. Most of it was completely made up of dialogue, and ideally you should have a good balance between dialogue and description. Right now, I can see the flat scene and the dialogue very well, but there's pretty much zero description here. :)

Overall, though, this was a really nice chapter, I enjoyed reading it and I'm glad I had the chance to! :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad that the characters aren't one-dimensional, as I was worried about that.
And I will definitely read back through this chapter and flesh it out.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Unwritten Curse Homebound

13th January 2014:
Hi there! I'm here with the review you requested. :)

First, Audrey's voice is great. She's funny, but not over the top. I particularly liked the whole paragraph that started with: "Well, I suppose it was more of an implied break-up." It's so funny because she doesn't make a fuss about it.

I really like the backstory between her and Charlie. It's so simple--he ditched her in favor of her best friend, so she stopped talking to him rather than confront him. It's not a huge dramatic fallout, just a small event that Audrey blows out of proportion, which is so realistic. And I felt her nervous excitement when they were reunited. Ah, I already love them as a couple, and they're not even a couple...

One bit of CC: I got a bit confused during the grocery scene. I was confused as to where everyone was--as in, the people who were whispering about her. The locators you gave were a bit vague, so I felt lost. Also, I was confused about the stories going around about Audrey. Do they know why she's home, or are they just making up rumors? I'm guessing the latter, but it was a bit confusing. I think the scene needs more grounding in details of both the physical and social worlds.

Overall, I really enjoyed this first chapter. I'm surprised you don't have more reviews, actually. Please feel free to revisit my review thread--I'd be happy to come back and read more.

-- Gina

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! And the criticism. You have no idea how helpful that is for me. I'll be sure to go back through and reread/edit that bit in the grocery store.
But to answer your questions, yes, they were making up rumors about why she's home. It just so happens that one of the nosy birds got it spot on.
Again, thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Leeu Weasley Family Dinner

12th January 2014:
Really like the story, I have always liked Charlie the best of the Weasley boys.

Auden is a very interesting character and I really hope you continue with this story.

Leeu

Author's Response: Thank you so much Leeu! Charlie is my favorite, as well.

 Report Review

Review #10, by SkyEcho Homebound

11th January 2014:
Hi AudenPenelope!

This is such a wonderfully unique story. I already like your OC and her story really grabbed my attention straight from the beginning. Even though she's introduced alongside the news of her breakup, you've showed the reader why she's way better off without Hank. I enjoyed how you gave pieces of background information (both in terms of the breakup as well as throughout the chapter) - without giving away too much. It doesn't drag down the flow of the chapter, yet it gives your characters depth at the same time.

I love Hollis and think you really captured the banter between siblings. I especially liked the grocery shopping scene. It was done realistically and I could definitely picture the small town gossips dishing the dirt on Auden's return. No wonder she was so reluctant to leave the house! I'd feel exactly the same way lol.

Your characterization of Mrs. Weasley was done really well. It's clear how much she cares for Auden and Hollis, as she had been a significant part of their lives growing up. Your line, "I missed the Weasleys more than I missed my own mother," was great. It's interesting how the idea of family can have many layers - and I think your story touches not only on the everyday dynamics of family, but also of the family that we choose for ourselves.

The moment between Auden and Charlie at the end was perfect! It made me smile and I can't wait to find out what happens next :)

-SkyEcho *Hufflepuff, 2014*

Author's Response: Ahh! Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I can't wait to hear what you think about the next chapters!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login