Reading Reviews for The Persistence of Memory
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Courtney Dark History

12th March 2014:
Tag!

Oooh, what a creative, original idea for a story. I have certainly never read anything else like this, and I'm excited to see where it goes!

There was something so beautifully...simple about this first chapter. The descriptions were all lovely, and just so real - and the little details you added in about the garlic and onions and courgettes being chopped...I'm not sure why that stuck out to me, but I've always seen Frank and Alice as being these people with this marvelous cross between homeliness and Auror-ness, if that makes any sense. And this chapter captured this!

Okay, now I'm beginning to ramble on about nothing.

I wonder what Neville's reaction was when he found out about his parents recovery? I'm looking forward to him being introduced into the story, because he's always been a favourite of mine!

Courtney:)

Author's Response: Hi Courtney! Ah yay, that's wonderful to hear that this fic is original! It's quite experimental for me so I'm really glad it seems creative and original.

I'm so glad you liked the descriptions, too. That's exactly what I was going for, really simple and idyllic in that first part and it means a lot to me to hear that it feels real. Haha, I've always seen Frank and Alice that way too - the type that would have a great home cooked meal in their homely cottage, then go off to battle Death Eaters lol. I'm so glad that came across!

Neville is one of my favourite characters too! I'm glad you're looking forward to that :)

Thanks for an awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by m_vicky History

10th March 2014:
I love this idea so much! It's not like anything I've ever read before, I'm excited to see what will happen.

Frank and Alice don't really get enough attention and if there's a story about them it's always from the marauders era. It's very interesting to explore how their lives would be if they overcame their illness, especially their relationship with Neville. I'm looking forward to that.

I like how they seem to have fallen back into a routine and have a pretty normal life, though, honestly I'm scared you would make all of this a dream or a hallucination, and they would still be patients at St.Mungo's. so sad :(

Anyway, I'm looking forward to see where this is going, I enjoyed reading it!
-Vicky

Author's Response: Hi there! Yay,I'm glad you have enjoyed this so far! I agree, I haven't seen much other fic about Frank and Alice, and really wanted to explore their unique situation.

Obviously I can't say anything about what's coming, but I like that you are making predictions! ;) Thanks so much for reading, and for your review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Maelody History

5th February 2014:
This is the one that jumped out! :)

I love this concept and idea! It's really original as far as I'm concerned. :)

In a way, I sort of feel bad for him and Alice. They joined the department to fight. There's not really any of that going on now, and their son is safe. Who knows what they would have rather done when they were younger if Voldemort hadn't been around.

I wonder what the meeting with Neville will be like? I know they've been out for a little while now, so he's probably seen them a few times, but I can't help but feel like the whole thing would be a little awkward. Sort of like the show once Upon a Time Emma finds out who her parents are awkward haha. Though I'm sure he's happy :).

I'm so afraid this will be one of those dreadfully sad stories where in the end, Frank is still actually a patient with his wife at St. Mungo's and it's all his daydreams. That'd be so sad! :(

Otherwise, this is a great start! I hope Franknhas his void filled, and you fill mine with updating soon! :) it's off to a great start!

~Mae

Author's Response: Thank you, it' s so wonderful to hear that it' s original!

I'm glad you pointed that out, yeah. I think the Auror department wouldn't be so full of action when there's not a war on!

Heheh. The meeting with Neville is actually a couple of chapters away, but I am glad you're looking forward to it.

Obviously I can't say anything about the ending yet. But that would be sad aww :(

I really hope to update soon but probably won't be able to for a little while as I'm travelling. But... as soon as I can! Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by kenpo History

19th January 2014:
Hey, here for the swap!
This was so nice. I love that you've given them a second chance.

I can't help but think that something bad will happen. There's a part of me that thinks that they're still back in the hospital bed and this is just a hallucination... I hope I'm wrong.

I love how this is written really simply, but in a good way. THe writing just gives this picture of a simple, normal, life.

But you've also hinted that something wicked this way comes (HAHAHA SEE WHAT I DID THERE?)

I couldn't decide what to review, but I'm really glad I picked this one! I honestly sometimes forget that Alice and Frank exist, so I'm looking forward to continuing to explore their characters. Keep writing and let me know when you update! This was great, I hope I'm wrong about any misfortune that they might find in the next chapter(s).

Author's Response: Hi there!

I'm glad you like the simplicity of the writing - this chapter was meant to seem just very normal, so I'm glad that worked :)

Bahah I do see that ;) Yes... a storm is on the horizon. Maybe a metaphor... maybe not. I like your theories, but obviously I can't comment on them as the story is a mystery, so I'll just say vague things about metaphors. Anyway, I like that it is making you think about it!

Thanks so much for the swap, this was lovely! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by MC_HK History

17th January 2014:
Hello :)

This is probably one of the most interesting stories I've read on here! I have yet to come across something like this, so I wonder what you're going to do with it :) I'm excited to read more!

I do think there could be a couple little details added in that would flesh out the story a bit more. They had been in St. Mungo's for a very long time, right? Thought to be completely mental. Maybe you could go more into how hard it was for Frank to get a job back at the Ministry. I don't think that after something like that they would just hire him back right on the spot, so maybe you could go more into their spontaneous recovery. Maybe he had to go through numerous psychological tests, he had to be observed before leaving the hospital, they questioned him day in and day about about what he remembered, things like that. Otherwise, I find this to be a very good story that is well written! Eager to see what comes next :)

--Monica

Author's Response: Ooo yay, thank you, I'm glad to hear it's interesting and that you want to read on :D

I'm also glad it's raised these questions for you - that was really my intention with this chapter. As it's meant to be somewhat mysterious, the answers to those questions are intentionally not included yet, but they will be in subsequent chapters. (If I answered all questions at the beginning no one would bother to read on, right? :P ) I hope that doesn't take away from this chapter too much.

Thanks for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm History

16th January 2014:
Woohoo, Kirstin itís this story and I finally made it here :D

Ah, this story is just gahasas so beautiful and so wdfewd itís just brilliant and I canít use words. Iíve always had a soft spot for Alice and Frank because their story is so tragic and you showed that so beautifully here and I just want to say how everything was so lovely and Iím so glad that I finally came over here because I want moar! Ok, let me try and write something sort of coherent now :P

But first, yay for Salvador Dali, I can really see the concept his art work would have on the story given that it delves into the idea of dreams and memories a lot and explores the more obscure aspects of life so this fits perfectly.

Wah, your descriptions were just fab ♥. They had this really simplistic and bleak atmosphere if that makes sense, but they were so lovely too. I donít know they were just great and I canít even quote any as I love them all.

Then there are so many questions and hows! Theyíre normal, and itís so lovely because even though it was just a normal day for them with them carrying out things such as making breakfast and talking about Neville visiting them it was so wonderful that they could now do this because a decade before they just werenít there. Iím so happy that they can live their dream of being aurors again, and hopefully we get to see them in action given how good they were. Also, I always felt so sorry for Harry and Neville both losing their parents, but at least Neville can have his back again.

Ah, this was such a brilliant start to the story and I hope thereís more soon because I need answers!



Author's Response: Kiana ♥

aksbdfa;owlejf thank you!! (heh, I can't use words either apparently) I'm so glad you liked this chapter!

Yeah, I had already planned much of the story before I picked out the title, but once I did figure out a title it turned into an even more surreal-inspired story. Hah, I love that you can see the influence of the art on the story :p

I do know what you mean about the descriptions - that's a wonderful way to describe it. Aah! Thank you!

Yes... so many questions. I'm glad it seemed really normal, they certainly need some of that after everything they've been through! You will be able to see Frank and Alice as Aurors - yay, something I can safely answer without giving too much away! ;)

So glad to hear that you liked this! haha, I have the last three chapters written... need to work on the beginning ones :P

Thanks so much for your review!!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by Lululuna History

12th January 2014:
Hi Kristin! :) I'm here for your first of two prize reviews! Yay! :D

This is such a cool idea for a story! Gah, I love how you've given the Longbottoms a second chance at having a life. But I can't help but feel that there might be something sinister going on, that perhaps not all is as it seems. The miracle seems a little too good to be true, and I can't help but imagine there will be some sort of repercussions. The beginning section reminds me a little of a Stepford-wives or utopic sort of place where everything is idyllic until the underlying cracks and issues are revealed.

The contrast between the beginning and the ending was really interesting! I like how at first, their lives seem almost too perfect and picturesque: from the birds singing, to the lovely and peaceful imagery of the curtains swaying in the breeze. The line about the storm coming in was an especially powerful transition, and set an ominous and warning sign that something worse is coming. It seems like in this new world there is no conflict, since the woman running has only left her oven on! :P

I love the title of the story and what it might signify- are the memories from the past going to come back and haunt the Longbottoms? What does memory have to persist against? Ah, it's so exciting. I can't imagine what it must be like to wake up after decades and find the world changed, and Frank's confusion and uncertainty about whether Voldemort is still around or not seems like the tip of the iceberg. To find the world completely changed would be enough to drive some people back into madness, I think.

I'm also looking forward to seeing the contrasts between the Longbottoms' present and past. Here, they seem quite passive and good-natured, and I'm curious to find out if these are their natural personalities and what the war in the past might bring out in them.

Ooh, who was the man who died? Are there more dark powers stirring? I hope for Frank's sake that there aren't, but for my sake that there are, because I love conflict and excitement. :P Frank and Alice would be such unlikely heroes after all they've suffered and since they're no longer as young as they were, so I love how they're the heroes of this story and how they will overcome adversity.

You have some really lovely description here, and I really like the details of little things, like Alice having a purple folder, or the clock chiming six times, or that they drink Earl Grey. It's really powerfully done how the scene really comes to life and I almost felt like I was there as well.

I have absolutely no idea where you're taking this, but that's a really fantastic thing. Looking forward to the next chapter and what you have in store for Alice and Frank! :D

Author's Response: Hi Jenna! Thank you, what a lovely review!!

I really enjoyed your theories about the calm before the storm, so to speak. I can't confirm or deny any of your questions just to keep the mystery but I love that the chapter has made you think that much! I'm glad you liked the imagery and the transitions.

You're right, they are kind of unlikely heroes. By this point they are middle aged, and at least in the world of HP that seems to be an unlikely age for a hero haha. (How crazy is it that Harry was such a hero, defeating Voldemort and saving the world, at 17? Seriously, what was I doing with my life at 17? :p Anyway...)

Thank you, I really appreciate your comments about my description! I myself love description - in other stories and my own - and so I appreciate it when people notice mine, haha!

I wish I could answer your questions rather than just giving you the most vague response ever, but I can't :P Anyway, this was such a wonderful review and I'm so glad you enjoyed the first chapter! ♥♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heaven History

12th January 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

THIS. SOUNDS. SO. GOOD. I cannot wait to see where this story will go. This idea is just so fantastic. Right now, I'm a little worried that it'll go the same way as Shutter Island, which would be terrifying yet totally awesome. Even if it doesn't go that way, I'm sure it'll still be totally awesome.

I actually don't have much to say (less than usual, I mean :P) except that there's only one chapter and it has me itching to write some fanfiction about it. It would be like fanfiction-ception!

Anyway, I cannot wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hahaha, thank you! :D That is wonderful to hear - I'm so glad it sounds exciting and fantastic rather than just dull because nothing actually happened! :P Ahaha, this might be my favourite review ever - fanfictionception?! :D I am so glad you liked it that much, I'm so flattered! Hopefully I will have chapter 2 up soon!

Thank you so much for your review! ♥

(haha, just realised I ended all of my sentences with an exclamation point. This review was just really exciting :P )


 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarik History

12th January 2014:
Kristin!!! ♥

Aaah, new story! OK, I am honestly so intrigued by this. This is the kind of story I love: something with a hint of mystery and drama to it. We all know what happened to the Longbottoms, their awful fate, and the first chapter of your first story here has left me trying to puzzle things out, to wonder whether this wonderfully normal life Frank is living is indeed real, is he really cured from his condition? And Alice as well? It really didn't help that you'd set your story Era to 'Other' rather than Marauders or Hogwarts or whatever; I'm wondering if this is set somewhere between the Marauder Era and Hogwarts Era? But it doesn't tie in with the content of this chapter; Voldemort is already dead and Frank and Alice have recovered, and in canon they are still quite insane during the Trio Era...SO MANY QUESTIONS. Gah, I always have a weakness for a fic with mystery in it, not necessarily full-blown murder mystery whodunnit stories (though those are really thrilling as well), but there's always that slight unsettling edge of suspense to these sorts of fics, and despite the wonderful sense of tranquility about this chapter, I'm also feeling a little uneasy. And that is a good thing.

OK, as for your writing, this was just gorgeous. I love the sense of calm in this chapter, of Frank's day slowly unfolding, the routine of his life, the quiet breakfast with Alice ♥

A gust of warm breeze entered the room, and Frank walked over to the large kitchen window. Outside, the air was thick and sweet; it smelled like a storm was coming in. He looked across the grassy fields, past the lights twinkling in the dusk descending upon the sleepy seaside town, and could see thick grey clouds gathering miles away, over the ocean.

Your descriptive parts are so clean and clear; they are vivid without being overdone, and not a word is out of place. Gah! At some point I'm probably going to try out writing your style...if you don't mind. :P

Anyway, this was a brilliantly executed first chapter! Fascinating! There are quite a number of (angst-filled) fics about the Longbottoms, but most of them are focused on the horror of their situation, the sense of loss, and most of them are oneshots. So I'm pretty excited in seeing how you'll explore these two in detail! Favourited this and am waiting for your next chapter.

tehehehe

Author's Response: Teehhh ♥

I'm glad the beginning is so intriguing and that it's making you wonder so much! That's the idea, as there's not a whole lot that actually happens here. A slight unsettling edge of suspense.. hm, I like that. I have never tried to write mystery before so this is kind of an experiment for me! And it looks like so far that's working, so thanks, good to hear :D

Eee, thank you so much about my writing, and your attention to my description! That means so much to me because I really admire your writing style, as you probably know by my stalking of all your stories! Haha, of course I don't mind - I didn't know my "style" was that distinctive!

Thank you so much for such a beautiful review, and for the favourite! *hugs*squishes*


 Report Review

Review #10, by ReeBee History

10th January 2014:
Ooh! It was good! I'm interested! But, will the flashbacks be sad? I hope not :( Frank seems lovely! I can't bear the thought of something bad happening to them, even though it did!

So, the characterisation was really good! In just one chapter, it was really gave a good idea of the characters and their personalities :) Great job with that! :D

The description was good too! It was well written and in the exact places where it would help smoothen the flow! I like the addition of the lady rushing off to switch off her oven! It kind of showed us that Frank, like everyone else, was affected a lot by the first war.

The flow was a bit slow, but, it was only the first chapter, so don't worry about that!

Great job with this chapter! Thanks for the amazing review swap! :D

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you! Heh, you'll have to find out? Some of the flashbacks aren't sad. :p

I'm so glad you liked the characterisation - that's great to hear that you were able to get such a good idea of their personalities in such a short chapter!

Thank you so much, I really work on my description so I'm glad you pointed it out :) Hehe, I'm glad you liked her running to switch the oven off - that's exactly what I was going for. There are some things - like the constant fear during a war, I'd imagine - that once you get them into your head, they don't go away.

It does start out a little slow - I'm glad you didn't mind that though ;)

Thanks so much for the swap, it was fun! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by GingeredTea History

9th January 2014:
Here with a very belated review swap (sorry!)

I really enjoyed this story. I loved that you didn't choice to focus on the why of their recovery but instead just carried on with the story as if it really were Frank. I hope that makes sense. :)

The narrative and pace of the story were really well done. The ending left me wanting a bit more closure - was his nap supposed to symbolize something, the thunder and dead man mean something is coming? Then again, this really is a good thing if you intend to go somewhere with this story. LOL

I will be interesting to see if Frank recalls any of his earlier life and if there IS something coming.

Wonderfully done.

Thank you for the read! I'll come back for more if we meet on a swap again.

Author's Response: Hi there! Huh, I don't even remember the review swap haha - well, thank you! :)

Thanks, I'm glad you liked that! The 'why' of the recovery isn't so important at this point in the story, though later it might be.

That's great to hear about the narrative and the pace. I know it starts out rather slow so I'm glad to hear that it works! :) Ah yes the ending. Hahaha, I'm glad it leaves you wanting to read more - as you say, that's the idea.

Thanks so much for reading and for your wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by toomanycurls History

9th January 2014:
Just the idea of this story and Christmas miracle is making me tear up. Siriusly.

How fabulous would it be for the Longbottoms to be cured from their longterm insanity? I love that they jumped back into their old careers.

I like how normal their life is now that they're back. I quite like the idea of Neville going to visit his parents (and them being cognizant of the visit).

Oh dear, what is going on at the end?!?! Is his brain confused about when it is? I have a feeling this story will poke me hard in the feels.

-Rose

Author's Response: Eee, my first review on this story! Thank you :D It's kind of an experimental story so it's really nice to get feedback on it.

Yep, old careers- it's all they know, I guess. The world has changed since they went to St Mungo's so they went with what was familiar.

It always made me so sad reading that part of OotP where they didn't recognise him! D':

mmm, these are good questions. But this story is me trying my hand at mystery so I won't say a word :p I have a tendency to talk too much sans filter so I'm really trying not to here *zips the lip*

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, Rose!!! ♥ ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login