Reading Reviews for Dragon Fire
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm A living fire to light the darkness.

12th July 2014:
Hi!

No, no, no what did you do to my poor heart just then? I have so many feels and nowhere to put them so I feel all mixed up and confused right now and I think it was this line ‘“Well, you look very nice,” he mumbled. He wiped at his eyes. “Nymphadora.”’ Which broke me and is still leaving me sobbing away.

I just loved this so much as it really revealed a new side to both Charlie and Tonks and their almost pairing has always been a head canon of mine so I really loved seeing it here. Charlie was always such a babe though and never tried to win her over no matter what, even when Remus had left he didn’t do anything and carried on loving her in his own silent and solemn way and it was so adorable! ♥

Everything about this was just so beautiful! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hello Kiana!

I'm so sorry! I have so many Charlie/Tonks feelings, and all that is based off is the fact they were in the same year! No one knows if they were actually friends but I like to think they were :) Charlie is so cute with his dragons and everything!

I don't know whether they are romantic or not - I tried not to put that element in it, because I like writing platonic friendships, and I like the various headcanons floating around that Charlie is aromantic/asexual. Buuut obv I like to see what readers read into stuff like this!

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by lumos_knox A living fire to light the darkness.

5th July 2014:
Hello again! I decided I'd read two of your one shots.

This is a very interesting pair that I've never really thought about, but nonetheless it seems right.

I feel so sorry for Tonks. Usually she's a strong character, an individual, but what Lupin did to her was pretty bad, and I think you captured the emotion perfectly. As well as that, having a child, being left alone... Having Tonks break down in here is a good idea.

Her fear of dragons was interesting, as I always thought she was fearless. Even the most brave of people have to have fears.

The description of Charlie's love for the dragons was perfect. I can just imagine a massive dragon, blazing fire...

And of course, you got Lupin in one. His guilt, his appearance... The death of Tonks and Lupin was heart breaking in your words. What Charlie said to Tonks was lovely- "Well, you look very nice." His feelings for her are evident, a slight bit subtle though. There's clues that let us know.

Thanks for sharing this awesome story. Have I complimented your magnificent banners enough?

Lauren.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Panda Weasley  A living fire to light the darkness.

5th July 2014:
I loved this one-shot a lot and I think it's really good! I never thought about Tonks and Charlie being friends, but these moments show there friendship really well. I loved all of the memories and they flowed really well together.
I don't think I have anything to critique, it was all so good! Excellent work!
~Panda Weasley
B vs. B

Author's Response: Thank you so much! You're too kind. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by kenpo A living fire to light the darkness.

30th April 2014:
I thought this was really sweet and very very sad.

I love the idea of a Charlie and Tonks friendship, and I was happy when I stumbled across it here!

What really got me was the end. I think that Charlie would've gotten there as fast as he could, but that wasn't fast enough. I really hope he doesn't carry too much guilt with him for too long...

I loved your choice in memories. I think my favorite was the tournament.

Great job! I'm really happy I came across this!

-Georgia

Author's Response: Thank you so much! All your comments are very kind and I am very glad that you enjoyed this story! I think Charlie would have tried to get through it, carried on with his life as he realised that was what Tonks would have wanted.

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by TheSortingHat A living fire to light the darkness.

6th January 2014:
This review is for Day 10 of the 12 Days of Reviewing.

I really liked the way that you strung different moments together, they really worked together to create an impression of the relationship Charlie and Tonks had. I particularly liked how Charlie saw her as herself after she died; it was a touching scene and an interesting one--I'd never thought about what she might look like naturally before!

There is definitely some ambiguity there, about exactly what Charlie still felt for Tonks, but that seemed intentional and I thought it worked.

Overall, well-structured and well thought-out. Keep writing!

--TheSortingHat

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for reviewing!

I've always been interested in Charlie Weasley, just because he's the only Weasley that has never had any focus, the one in the background... but I think that working with dragons in Romania is super cool and wanted to explore his backstory and character etc.

And I'm interested in the magic behind metamorphmagi - what did they look like when they were born? Can female metamorphmagi turn into males? Hmmm.

Thank you again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by SereneChaos A living fire to light the darkness.

6th January 2014:
That was beautiful. I loved your choice of moments between them and just, gah. It was so sweet! Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by BookDinosaur A living fire to light the darkness.

5th January 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Tenth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing. :)

This was amazing! It's definitely the first Charlie/Tonks I've read, and normally I steer clear of non-canon pairings, but I don't really mind this one.

I think, even though your story is a string of moments, it flowed really naturally and I had no problem whatsoever reading this, and I'm so jealous! I can never spilt stories up to much like this without seeming really stilted and clunky, so kudos to you for managing to do that!

I haven't even realised that Charlie and Tonks were the same age, although now that you mention it, I suppose they were. I really loved the string of meetings between them and how they were all connected to each other.

I really liked Charlie in this. The way he narrated, he just seemed like such a nice, caring person and I couldn't help but want to squish him.

Throughout the story, I only spotted one typo, which was: She turned, and suddenly he could not her face as she hurried onwards. I think there's meant to be a 'see' between 'not and 'face' in that, but I might be wrong. ;)

All in all, this was a really nice oneshot and I'm glad I had the chance to read it.

Author's Response: Hello there! And thanks for stopping by.

And I wouldn't say it was completely non-canon - they definitely shared a school year, apparently, so it's completely plausible that they met and, potentially, friends. I'm not really a fan of straying to far from the canon, and this is probably as far as I would go... missing moments and such.

Thank you - I can't really sit down and write one scene without it only being a drabble of only 100/200 words or so, so this structure is how I deal with that issue. Originally it was just going to be the two of them in Romania but I failed at dialogue so expanded.

Charlie! Squish! Definitely. And I'll check that typo now, thanks! And thanks again for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissesWeasley123 A living fire to light the darkness.

5th January 2014:
You know what's perfect? This is perfect. Also here for day 10 for 12 Days of Reviewing!

I loved how in just a bit over one thousand words you wrote amazingly. You showed friendship, love, heartbreak and death all in one. That is amazing, honestly.

I loved the relationship Tonks had with Charlie. I honestly thought from the summary that maybe it was Remus you were talking about but it was Charlie. So yeah, this is definitely the first Tonks/Charlie that I've read.

I have to compliment your story telling skills. Everything was formed so excellently and flowed so well. It was honestly beautiful.

What I loved was Charlie. His brillliant personality. And the fact that he is adorable, and to be very frank an absolute sweetheart. Where can I get one?

Thanks for a great read. I truly enjoyed it.

Author's Response: You really are too kind! Perfect? Pah. Thank you so much!

I really wanted to write about Charlie - he's the Weasley we know the least about. We know he's a Weasley, so he's gonna be kind and honest and brave and badass, because of the dragons. I tried to feature those in too. Squish. He's pretty cute, I reckon.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by UnluckyStar57 A living fire to light the darkness.

5th January 2014:
For the Tenth Day of the Twelve Days of Reviewing, I am reviewing new stories. Your story just popped up, so here I am: your first reviewer of this story. :D

I LOVED this. It was so sad and full of Charlie's-unrequited-love goodness. I've heard that Charlie and Tonks were friends at Hogwarts, but it never occurred to me that he might've been at Tonks' wedding to Remus. The string of meetings between Charlie and Tonks were all very interesting and I liked how they were connected to each other in some way.

Ugh, the ending was so sad. I loved it, but it always ends badly for Tonks, doesn't it? She always dies, in the end. Poor, poor Charlie. I've read stories in which he is attracted to men, but I could definitely see him being in unrequited love with Tonks. Or maybe he isn't in love with her at all, and I'm just seeing what I want to see.

Whatever the case may be, I loved Charlie and Tonks in this. You did such a beautiful job!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hello! And thanks for reading my story!

Thank youuu! I wasn't trying to go for the unrequited love side of it, more the friendship side (I feel it isn't really focused on a lot in fanfic, so...). Plus there isn't a lot of info about Charlie, despite being a Weasley, and I'm a sucker for minor characters.

Aaand I can't write proper scenes so 'strings of moments' is where it's at. I'm so glad you liked how they were connected. And yeaaah, death is pretty sad, and I always liked Tonks.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! Made my day.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login