Reading Reviews for City of Angels
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by toomanycurls Prologue

21st February 2014:

Looking at your stories, I'm guessing this is the one you want to swap on!

Your dedication on this story is sweet. :)

I haven't read a lot on Pansy (before or after the war) so I'm quite interested to read about her life in NV. I wonder if US wizards use different birds as owls aren't as common. Perhaps a hawk or eagle.

It's fascinating that Pansy doesn't ask about people's magical abilities (which makes sense later when you explain her wand is snapped). I love the fantasy life she's created for writing to her parents. What if they visit one day and see it's not true?

I really love how you explained Pansy actions in the battle of hogwarts. that she just wanted the fighting to stop. It's a much nicer explanation than most people give her. When I first read through this, I missed your excellent reference to her life as an escort - I loved the line about commiting acts she hadn't even thought about before her disgrace. It's beautiful and tells so much.

My jaw dropped when you revealed her job! (and her name of choice) It's such a perfect way for her to complete her fall from wizarding society.

Excellent prologue and am excited to read on!


Author's Response: Hi!

Aww, thank you! Nicole's been a massive inspiration to me and a fabulous friend, so I felt it appropriate to write a story just for her to show my appreciation :)

Oooh, that's a good point. I'll definitely research that -- but it wouldn't matter for Pansy in particular, since she wouldn't be able to purchase an owl from the wizarding community in Nevada anyway. I'll be sure to keep that in mind for any future chapters featuring members of the wizarding population, though!

Heh, yeah. I think deep down she knows they're 99% Muggles, but as long as she doesn't know it for sure, she can pretend. The poor girl's in denial :P And haha, Pansy is determined not to let them.

Ooh, thank you! I felt that Harry's POV was a touch biased against Pansy, and of course he didn't see her during DH or post-war, which I think redefined her. And thank you ^.^ She's certainly fallen from her pedestal!

Hehehehe. I wish I could see Fleur's face for real when/if she finds out about Pansy using her name for escort work :P

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Prologue

17th February 2014:
Hey! Here for your requested review from the forums!


Okay on to a more coherent review xP

First off, I have to say I love Pansy Parkinson as a character as she's a very minor character, seems very complex, and it's great what you've done with her here! I enjoyed all the "backstory" that you provided us of her wand being snapped and her writing those fake letters to her parents etc. It was believable and a tad sad too.

Ooh Pansy is an escort? Now, I did not see that coming. And a plan? What plan? Now, I am even more intrigued. I assume the man she is "meeting" is someone of importance to her plan then - and judging by the summary - I think it's got to do something with revenge but revenge on whom? and for what?

Ah so many questions! I love the opening to stories that make you question and think so much, so I've to say this was an absolutely brilliant prologue. As I said, I think you've characterised Pansy perfectly. I could totally imagine her being this way so great job there.

Your descriptions were great too and the way you've introduced the setting and the events is awesome. I truly was captivated while reading and I'm burning with curiosity to know more, and to see what happens next. I also saw a mention of "Creevey" in your author's note so I am super excited to see the role Dennis Creevey will play in your fic (seeing that Colin is dead - though a dead Colin might also come into play - omg so many questions again)!

All in all, I think this was a fabulous start to your story. Your prologue has surely served the purpose of prologues and has me curious about everything. It has also set the scene for the main plot and characters, so great work!

I don't have any CC for you as I think this was a very good piece of writing and I didn't find anything off. I am adding the story to my favourites as I'd like to follow it and read the rest of the chapters whenever I get the time, so please do feel free to re-request!

Great job! I am loving the intensity and mystery that hangs around the narrative =)


Author's Response: Hello, Aditi! ♥

Nonsense - don't feel bad about using caps lock! It's actually quite flattering to know that my writing's made someone squee :D

Hehe, thank you! I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the backstory, as there's more of it to come in future chapters! I'm happy that you felt it was believable, because that's something I really want to strive for in this story because of the really unusual ship that is Dennis/Pansy :P

Yes she is! And her plan will be revealed bit by bit through COA, and is indeed about revenge. As for who their target is, and why they want revenge... you'll have to wait and see ;)

Again, I'm so excited that you're enjoying this prologue. I was a little concerned that it was too short and subsequently vague, but you've certainly quelled those doubts. And I really appreciate your lovely comments about her characterization!

Hehehehe. Dennis Creevey will definitely feature quite heavily in this fic, since it was written for Nicole/teh and she adores him. As for whether dead!Colin will be involved... I couldn't possibly comment ;)

And woah, thank you very much! I'm honoured that you favourited this and you want to continue reading, which is lovely to hear! I hope the future chapters continue to be so pleasing ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by BumblebeeDoe One

9th February 2014:
Oh, I'm loving this story, so far! It reads sooo smooth, definitely something readers enjoy. I also love stories that keep me wondering whats next. Also your choice of characters are fantastic! I'm not ashamed to admit that Pansy is one of my favorite characters of the Harry Potter Series, I just think shes such a complex character and so underestimated (my personal opinion obviously haha). Having Dennis in the story and soon Astoria , captures my attention too because, they werent mentioned in series often, much isnt known about them, so I like seeing peoples takes on them, you can do so much with those characters. Oh, and your original characters are very interesting, looking forward to seeing how they shape the plot! Everything looks good to me, don't think you need to change a thing :) Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you so much! I'm really pleased to hear that it flows well for you, and that it's mysterious because that's what I wanted to achieve. Pansy is a rather difficult HPFF character to write, personally, because she's canon and I don't want to stray from the books but at the same time, what Harry saw isn't necessarily her true persona. I agree that she's complex, and that Dennis adds chaos to the mixture :P Astoria isn't actually in this story, I'm afraid; Misty is /impersonating/ Astoria, and the real one is busy planning her wedding. I'm glad that you love my OCs and that you're enjoying the plot! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Violet Gryfindor Prologue

31st January 2014:
Wow! Where to start! This story has so much going on and so much going for it - of all the possible situations I've ever imagined for Pansy, this is definitely not one of them, and you address that wonderfully because Pansy feels the same way. I loved that part at the beginning where she describes her upbringing and how her parents did everything to keep her life perfect. That suits the canon Pansy... well... perfectly. It explains quite a lot about her snobbishness and the way that she makes fun of Hermione - who would certainly be, in Pansy's eyes, the ultimate imperfect. It doesn't make her actions forgivable, but it does put them into perspective. You emphasize how Pansy was raised to a particular way of life and, more importantly, a particular ideology that she's been cruelly wrenched away from. You've positioned her so that she's forced to live an entirely different existence, yet she doesn't give up and doesn't show any signs of weakness. Here, in all places, she's able to do what she refused to do at the Battle of Hogwarts: fight.

The one thing that I'm not sure about in this story is the breaking of Pansy's wand. That's a pretty drastic thing to have done, and I'd like to hear more about it at some point in this story. How many others are in Pansy's situation? What kind of measures did the Ministry think were necessary against anyone associated with the Death Eaters? Is Pansy sent to Nevada, or does she choose it as a place safely far enough away from home? I want to know more! But I suppose that's the whole point of a prologue - to make your poor readers thirsty for more.

This is excellently-written, which is of course no surprise. I really like your take on Pansy and her future after the war - it's fresh and original, and it'll be fantastic to see where you take this story. I'm very glad to have had the opportunity to read it!

Author's Response: Hello, Susan! Wow, thank you! Coming from such a talented author as yourself, I'm really pleased that you're enjoying this story, and my interpretation of Pansy! I certainly do feel like she would be brought up to aim for a standard, and that standard is perfection. In fact, this is why I love making her current situation so imperfect, because it shows the resilience that I don't think she realizes she has. She won't fight for Voldemort, or Harry, but here, she'll fight for herself, and I love her selfishness because it's very black-and-white.

That definitely will be explored in a future chapter; I was concerned about being repetitive and interrupting the flow of this prologue. I agree that it was a drastic thing, but after Draco and Lucius walked free with Harry's assistance, I think the Ministry wanted vengeance and Pansy became the scapegoat. Again, this will be explored in the future - chapter three, if all goes to plan.

Thank you so much for your lovely comments on this story, and it's great to hear that you're finding it original! I hope the future chapters are as enjoyable for you as this prologue is! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarik One

26th January 2014:'re probably expecting a lot of berserk capslocking...I shall not disappoint...






*deep breath*

I /SERIOUSLY/ do not know where to begin.

First, DENNIS CREEVEY IN EGYPT. OMG you've seriously accessed my brain and did all the Dennis Creevey headcanon research in there! I don't even remember telling you about my headcanon in that much detail. FLAILS. YES. Dennis Creevey pretending to be a local in Egypt and striking random meaningless relationships with tourists and so on: EXACTLY how I see him. *cries tears of joy* And bahah, I'm imagining Dennis dropping out of Hogwarts and doing his GCSEs (??) and then running off. AND he has been accused of murder?!?!?! I love this, seriously. Uggh PLEASE update this now.

And whoa, that section with Pansy was creepy. She recognises the Nevada Minister for Magic! And the Minister thinks she's just some Muggle prostitute, wow, I'm trying to guess what her twisted plan is, but it's quite at night and I simply have no idea. The section with the dead woman was incredibly creeepy. There's no violent horror moment, but it's still eerie, the way she stands there in the hallway, doing nothing, merely staring at both the MInister and Pansy. Do these 'living dead' people have anything to do with Misty Waters (great name, btw) and her shadowy Boss? WHAT does that Boss fellow want with Dennis and Pansy of all people? Two such obscure, obscure characters in canon? I must continue to reiterate how much I love what you've done with these two peripheral characters, how you've thrust them into the centre of such an exciting and gripping story. Honestly, this has got to my favourite fic of yours now.


Thank you for writing me this fab fic, Isobel! ♥ I love this so much, and I really do look forward to all the updates and previews you allow me to have and alskdjcickl ♥

(sorry for this terrible and embarrassing review...I just...waah...)


Author's Response: OH NO, THAT WAS JUST A COINCIDENCE ;) (That was sarcasm, btw. It was definitely deliberate!)


I actually went and read All The Tombs Of Egypt Are Empty to get a better feel for your Dennis headcanon *blushes* But the tourist thing was something I had in my head about him from the start :P (Speaking of accessing brains, you accessed mine with Gladly Beyond because the ScoRose and Lily-Lou is perfect!) IT SHALL BE UPDATED SOON ♥

Pansy knows the Nevada Minister for Magic indeed ;) The plan does involve the Minister though, which can't really mean any good. AND I'M SO GLAD YOU THOUGHT SHE WAS CREEPY. I was really scared that I didn't get the creepiness appropriately across, so I'm pleased that you're spooked! You'll have to wait to find out if Misty and her Boss are connected to the living dead ;) And the Boss wants Dennis because of his murder accusation and Pansy because she's embroiled with him. (I'm glad you like Misty's name! I was scared of it being Mary Sue-ish, but there /is/ a reason for her name being so unusual... hehe)

I think every time I start a new WIP, it's your new favourite :P Not that I'm complaining, of course!


And nonsense; this review isn't terrible or embarrassing! I'm just happy that you love this fic so much ♥

 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne One

24th January 2014:
Oooo this story is getting more exciting, especially that Dennis is now in it. :D

I was quite scared when he was crossing the road, it sounds really dangerous. :S I'm glad that he got across okay though.

Oooo a holiday romance, aye? Go on Dennis! Although it's only been four days and he is already tired of her.

Awww Dennis, I'm feeling sad for him that he felt like he needed to flee from England and get away from everyone and everything. Oh, he keeps seeing Colin? I wonder if that's just his mind or if Colin is actually around and isn't dead. *gets her hopes up that it's the latter*

:O The fortune teller is shocked, oh no, now I'm worried. Maybe Colin will be there?! Ahhh!!!

Pansy is wanting them to get revenge! I want Dennis to go and get it! I want him to go back to England! Wait! He's going to Las Vegas?

Ooo who is this mystery man who is spying on Pansy?

I can't wait for more! This is a really great story! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! Dennis is actually a central character in this story, since Nicole loves him and this story's for her :D

Yep; I think Dennis subconsciously knows he can't keep having holiday flings but he's unwilling to admit it to himself so he's blaming poor Kaitlyn.

Colin is dead. I'm sorry, but he's dead :( Whether it's all in Dennis' mind or not will be revealed soon... ;) *hugs Dennis*

Pansy and Dennis working together... I can't wait to write them as a couple ^.^ They're just so different; but that'll help when it comes to their plot. SIN CITY INDEED.

And you'll have to wait and see ;)

Thanks again for the review, Tammi ♥

 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Prologue

24th January 2014:
I must say that I really loved how you had Pansy
hating anything that was imperfect and the little
detail on how her parents brought her up.

I wonder why Pansy has disappeared to another

:O Oh no! She's not allowed to use magic? She must
have done something very big to warrant that!

It's really refreshing to see Pansy written in the
way that you have brilliantly written her. How she
didn't want the war, she's not turning out to be
like the Pansy that I've always imagined.

This was a really good first chapter! I can't wait
to read more, I think I'm going to enjoy this. I
can't wait to find out if she'll get her wand back
and who she was sending a letter too.

Author's Response: Oooh, thank you! I wanted to make Pansy realistic and perfection seemed something canon that she'd aspire to, especially as she was determined to be Draco's girlfriend/future wife in the books and the Malfoys were "perfect" before the war.

She's disappeared to Vegas because she's running away :P

Yeah, I would say trying to hand over Harry to Voldemort is a big thing, and I feel like punishments were quite harsh post-war because of all the suffering inflicted on the Muggle-borns, even though there were pure-bloods like Pansy who weren't involved in that. I'm really pleased that you find my portrayal of her refreshing!

Thank you for the review, Tammi! ^.^ The identity of the letter's recipient is revealed in the next chapter, and as for the wand - you'll have to wait and see ;)

 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarik Prologue

8th January 2014:
♥ ♥ ♥

First, thank you SO MUCH for this. You really didn't have to, and I'm so flattered and incredibly over-the-moon that you've written a story specially for ME ♥ THANK YOU. AND ILY.

And wow! What a beginning! I am EXCITED ABOUT THIS STORY. Everything about it. The premise is so, so original: a Vegas fic with a rather downbeat Pansy who can't do magic and is forced to make do in the Muggle world. Also, she's working with an escort agency in Sin City! Using the alias Fleur Delacour! :P I'm so intrigued to find out what this plan of hers is and whatever she's trying to do...I demand you write and upload the next chapter immediately aksjhjcnisax

As if this story couldn't get any more interesting...then you have the promise of dead people coming back to life (but not zombies :P ) and the most important story element of all...DENNIS CREEVEY ♥ ♥ I'm seriously hopping about on one foot waiting for you to post the next part up.

OK, now to make some faintly intelligent comments on this fabulous opening chapter. I think you did a fantastic job portraying a post-Hogwarts, postwar Pansy. She's someone who has been brought up with pureblood ideals, but while she did support Voldemort's regime, I have this feeling that she wasn't strongly involved in Death Eater activity, and that she was uneasy with the whole wizarding war. I love how you explored the position of other Slytherins in the war - those who aren't Death Eaters and despite their pureblood elitism, are deeply affected by the war and all the violence. And I saw your status update on the forums that this is going to be a Dennis/Pansy? .!!??!!??.muggle-born Dennis? SRSLY CANNOT WAIT (sorry for repeating myself but arrgh)

Also, you really showed how ignorant some purebloods are (at least Pansy' parents) about all things Muggle. Pen and paper is the American way indeed!

FABULOUS START, ISOBEL! ♥ I can't wait to read more about the razzle and dazzle of Sin City! Thank you so much again for this. BEST CHRISTMAS PRESENT EVARR.


Author's Response: EHH. BUT I WANTED TO. You've been such a fabulous friend to me this past year and I wanted to show my appreciation in a novella! Yes, I know it was supposed to be a short story but as all my short stories seem to, it got longer :P Since this is for you, I'll let you say those dreaded four words ;)

EEE THANK YOU!! I quite like the thought of Pansy settling into the Muggle world... perhaps I should write a prequel one-shot detailing the embarrassing moments when she first pretended to be a Muggle :P YES. Let's just hope that Fleur and Bill don't decide to visit Vegas any time soon, shall we? ;) PLANSY'S PANS ARE INGENIOUS... or are they? She /is/ enlisting Dennis, after all :P

Hehehehe. Pansy's always seemed like the pretentious stuck-up type to me. Like in PoA (I wrote that as CoA first bahahaha) when Draco gets injured, Pansy doesn't try to hex Buckbeak or Hagrid or kick up a fuss, she just goes to comfort Draco. She was brought up to be a nurturer (!!) not a fighter, imo. AND YES DENNIS/PANSY ALL THE WAY!!

I doubt that it's the best Christmas present ever (really?! :O) but I'm so pleased that you like it! ILY 5EVA ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login