12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rumpelstiltskin Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

16th March 2014:
Hey there, I'm here for the Blackout (number 11/20).

Plot/plot arch: One of the reasons that I love reading Quiddich matches is because it involves a bunch of action, and I love action. You did a great job at making the short scene exciting and interesting...especially since there was an incident involving a Bludger. While the scene was more focused on Dean watching Ginny, you still managed to maintain a degree of action and I appreciated that. His distracted infatuation with Ginny is quite sweet throughout, and I love the little Weasley v. Weasley confrontation at the end.

Characterization: Dean -- Obviously this only shows one piece of Dean, which is his distraction and love interest in Ginny, but that's what the story is focused on, so that's great. I did particularly enjoy the end, where Dean admits that he doesn't want anybody else to be angry with him. Ginny -- most of Ginny's characteristics are given from Dean's perspective in this, so, naturally, they are a bit glorified. This is key because it also reiterates Dean's love interest, while giving readers hints towards Ginny. Ron -- Just a quick note on Ron, here: I love the angry older brother role on him, that's fantastic.

Detail: Most of the detail that is given is about Ginny, which is, again, great because this is from Dean's perspective, who is too distracted to notice anything else throughout the story...save perhaps a Bludger ;).

Emotion: This made me smile, because it was very sweet. A boy pining for a girl ♥ , it's absolutely adorable.

Other/notes: This was great, you did a fantastic job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Hello there, Rumpel :D

I did struggle with trying to maintain a balance between fun Quidditch action and Dean's internal struggle, so I'm happy to hear it was received well!

I think you're totally right about Dean and Ginny's characters here, especially with Ginny, whose character would naturally be glorified by the mind of the smitten Dean Thomas.

Thanks so much for your lovely analysis and amazingly kind comments :D This truly made me smile and I'm honoured that you chose to read one of my stories!

Thanks again :D
Christy


 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle 11/20

I quite liked this. It was interesting to see an event that has already occurred in the series from the perspective of someone who's not Harry. I think you captured Dean's personality quite well and it matched with what we've seen of him in canon.

I also enjoyed his thoughts on Ginny - it was clear that he was smitten by her. The kissing scene was also written nicely and Dean's awkwardness and nervousness expressed well. I also liked how he noticed that Harry was also quite angry with them even though he didn't say anything.

Over all, the descriptions were smooth and the dialogue flowed well. I didn't spot any grammar errors either. This made for a nice read.

Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hello!!!

Thank you so so much for all your nice comments :D I'm really glad you enjoyed it and I'm so happy to hear that everything seemed to flow well/contain proper grammar! Thanks a million for stopping by :D Yay for Gry/Sly Battles :D

Christy


 Report Review

Review #3, by MyMyMiss Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

7th March 2014:
hey there!!

I really enjoyed reading this story, I thought the characterization of dean was perfect - I love how you explained a little of is background history at the start of the story too, about his mother an how his father had run off when he was little, which was a real nice touch!

I also liked the part where you added about the teachers wanting to distract from the outside world and Harry's expression - hehe that was really good to throw those little parts in there. (:

brilliant writing!! Keep up the good work!!

~MMM

-blackout battle round 2 .

Author's Response: Hello!!!

Thank you so so much for the R&R!

I'm so glad you liked Dean's character. I really wanted him to be as canon and real-feeling as possible, so it's good to hear that I seemed to do okay with that D:

I really am so so glad you liked it! And thanks again for stopping by my humble old AP for the epic battle :P *hugs*

Christy


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lululuna Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

7th March 2014:
Hello! :)

Ahh, this was such a cute story and original take on a pairing that doesn't get much attention! This whole story just made me so happy although I did feel a little sorry for Dean. :P

That ambitious ray of sunshine was dancing in Ginny's fiery hair and Dean was suddenly overcome with a new goal. One that had nothing to do with a Quaffle. Haha, I loved this! It was so descriptive and well-written, and I really like the way Dean has this epiphany in mid-air. And then the Bludger! That doesn't bode well as an omen for the relationship, but it did make me giggle at poor Dean's expense.

You wrote Dean's building tension and his admiration for Ginny so well! I like how you took us through the walk through the castle as he gets more and more attracted to her and culminating in the lovely kiss.

And poor Dean! Of course the perfect kiss has to be ruined, although it was a little funny. I quite like Dean, especially how you've written him here, and it seems a little unfair that he can't catch a break. I liked how instead of concentrating on Ron (I laughed about how red Ron's face was! :P), Dean was more frightened of Harry's unreadable expression, as if he senses the fiery monster in Harry's stomach. :P

I really liked the line "jinxed into a jelly" as well! It felt very British. :)

Aw, poor Dean, I never thought much about how excluded he would feel in the dorm, between Seamus and the boys. You did a lovely job of bringing him to life here, and wrote him very well in canon. This was a wonderful read! :)

Gry/Sly Battle Round 2 - Review 13 of 15

Author's Response: Hi!!

Thanks so much for your amazingly nice comments and for taking the time to R&R!

Descriptive and well-written?! Just make my day, why don't you! *hugs*

Yeah, I think 'Poor Dean' just about sums up this entire one-shot :P But seriously, poor guy. He had no idea what he was getting himself into, dating the future wife of the Chosen One... of all the girls...

Thank you so so much again! I could go through all of your nice comments and tell you about how each of them made me so happy, but that would get repetitive. So I'll just say... thanks!

Christy


 Report Review

Review #5, by Maelody Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

2nd March 2014:
Ooooh! Another POV story/missing moment! I love these kinds of stories!

I don't know how you did it, by the way, but I now have some sort of new love for Dean. Reading this made me want to read MORE Dean stories. I want to see more things from his point of view! Do you think you could write more? I'd love to see them! :D ;)

Haha, so his inner thoughts are hilarious. Very teenage boy-ish, I might say. And how Ginny seemed to honestly like him made me happy. A lot of people say she just sort of used Dean, which always made me sad. I don't see her being a user, and I liked Dean at least a little before reading this :).

Your summary was absolutely hilarious! At first I thought it would be some sad story (Dean didn't want to die...) but then I read on and was already laughing, so I had to go with this story! Need I say, you definitely did not disappoint! It was a great read, and it was over so quickly I was left wanting more, sad that this is a one-shot! Great job though! And I really hope to see more on your author's page in the future! :D

~Mae

7/10 reviews on Gryffindor stories for Slytherin vs. Gryffindor bingo blackout

Author's Response: Hi Mae!

I love these kinds of stories, too! Hence, my writing of this one and my challenge on the forums :D

I completely agree with you! I always liked Dean, but always in a very distant, really indifferent way, but since writing this, I have really gotten to explore his character and have come to love him! I'm glad this story did the same for you :D That makes me happy for Dean, even though that's totally weird :P I would never rule out writing more of Dean :) You never know, and if I got inspiration for another, my experiences with this one would definitely make me more inclined to give it a go :D

I'm so glad you liked his inner thoughts! Those were my favourite part to write and were where I really found Dean's character. I agree, I don't think Ginny really used Dean and I hope this fic helped portray another side of their relationship :D

Thank you so so much for your sweet review! It really did make me smile :D

Christy


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

1st March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Oh, Dean. So happy, so... lovestruck. And then Ron comes and ruins it. His luck ran out a little. I feel kinda bad for him. And then Harry came and Dean just doesn't yet understand that they like the same girl... and that Harry will get said girl before the year is out.

...Now I feel a little sad for Dean. Because I quite like Dean/Ginny as a pairing.

But seeing a glimpse of their relationship in this was so sweet, I loved it.

I really enjoyed reading this.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hey Sam!

I feel you, I absolutely adore Dean in this. I didn't really have too much of an opinion of him before writing this, but I have since come to love and feel so sorry for him. His life circumstances at this moment are just sucky, and he doesn't even know it!

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this! Thanks so much for leaving a review :) your feedback was so sweet!

Christy


 Report Review

Review #7, by Cannons Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

15th February 2014:
I enjoyed this :) I love it when I read something from another persons perspective!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts!!!

I'm glad you enjoyed it, I love these types of stories as well :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by greenbirds Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

7th February 2014:
i love love LOVE dean- he's just one of those little characters who i feel aren't appreciatedd as much, and personally i feel that rowling discarded him in the sixth book when she wrote ginny to leave dean for harry. you wrote this so well, you really captured the essence of adolescent love without over- or under- doing it. my only critique is that personally, i'd like to see a little bit more dialogue, but i'm really weird with my obsession for dialogue so that's pretty much irrelevant advice anyway! thanks for the review swap, bea xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the appreciation! I do love picking up characters that weren't really explored very much :D I'm so glad you liked it and thanks for the tip on the dialogue! I will keep my eye out for that in the future!
Thanks!
Christy


 Report Review

Review #9, by BookDinosaur Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

7th February 2014:
Review swap! :)

I really enjoy reading Missing Moments from the series, I think that Dean is a fascinating character who's quite underdeveloped, and I haven't read much of the Dean/Ginny ship, so my choice to read and review this story off your page was quite easy. :P

I really enjoyed reading this piece! Dean's POV is lovely to read, and the way he was so stuck Ginny was so sweet! I think a lot of people skip over their relationship, but they were together for a year or so. There must have been some good times, and I think your portrayed that really well. The way Deam kept getting distracted by her at Quidditch was a lovely touch.

I really enjoyed reading that disastrous Quidditch prictice of Harry's from someone else's point of view, which confirmed that, yes, this practice was awful and Harry was not exaggerating.

It was really interesting to hear about the corridor scene from someone other than Harry's point of view as well - there was so much description about the monster in his stomach or whatever that it was quite funny to read that Dean only saw an unreadable expression on his face, lovely touch.

This was a really great entry into the Winter's Writer's Duel - I love the way that you twisted the prompt around slightly and instead of making this a happy story about rainbows, like a lot of the other stories I read for this prompt, you turned it around into a sort of nervous piece.

I think Dean's point of view here was really well done - there was this underlying nervousness and scaredness throughout the story that was really well done, and all the way through the piece Dean had me sympathising with him without ever seeming whiny, so great job there was well.

All in all, I think you did a really good job with this story, and I'm glad I had the chance to read it!

Author's Response: I am so glad you liked it! I too enjoy Missing Moments, when this idea popped into my head, I just HAD to write it :)

I love Dean, too. I feel like there are so many minor characters that just aren't explored enough. It was great to do a little bit of searching with Dean and I have grown to love him so much more just from writing this one-shot.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the new point of view! In all honestly, that was my favorite part of the chapter, just exploring familiar scenes that we know from Harry's point of view, and creating them from an outsiders perspective :D

I actually didn't write this for the Winter Writer's Duel :( I wish I had, though! But either way, I do agree that it was a twist on the typical Mistletoe themed story :)

I know I keep saying this, but I am so so so glad you liked it :D

Thanks so much for the sweet review!
Christy


 Report Review

Review #10, by Iellwen Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

4th February 2014:
Review swap!!!


That was such a nice read!! I love pieces that 'fill in' JKR's work and accurately place it!


I love how you introduce the Bludger! :D I was so enthralled by Ginny's description, it completely threw me off balance ^^

Their kiss is so cute (their breath synchronize!!!), I always loved the Dean/Ginny 'ship!!!


I love that you brought up Dean & Seamus's fight and, in every way, Dean's slight awkwardness and how uncomfortable he feels a little!
D.Thomas deserved a POV and I really enjoyed reading this!
I also loved how you wrote out his thoughts then switched to narration for global events, without writing along inner monologue about his fight with Seamus!


This is immediately going in my favorites!! :D

Author's Response: Awww thanks for such a nice review!

I love new POV stories, as well, so it was really nice to write this one :D

I am so glad that you picked up on all the little things I tried to put in there! Reading your take on them and knowing you liked them really made my day! I also love Dean and thought it was about time he got some attention :D

AHHH thanks so much for the favorite :D I'm so glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #11, by nott theodore Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

10th January 2014:
Hello! You left me a really sweet review the other day and I wanted to return the favour!

This was a really cute one-shot - it works well for the writer's duel prompts as well. Dean seems underwritten in fanfiction, so it was nice to see him feature as the main character in this one-shot. I actually really enjoyed reading about Ginny from his perspective. Normally stories like this seem to be written from the perspective of a girl who's convinced that the boy will never like her, or can't believe her luck that he actually does, so I found it really refreshing to read about Dean. His thoughts about Ginny were really sweet, and I liked the fact that he'd clearly liked her for a while, and she was more of a distraction to him in practice than anything else!

I actually felt really sorry for Dean when I was reading this - poor boy! He definitely seems to be getting the worst end of the draw, being hit by a Bludger and then facing the anger of Ron and Harry when he's caught kissing her! The detail that you included here about him having fallen out with Seamus over the chaser spot as well as Ron and Harry being mad at him was great, because it just added to the (almost comic) tragedy of the whole story. He really doesn't have much luck, does he? He should have known better than to fall for Ginny when she'd been in love with Harry for so long - then again, I guess it's partly Harry's fault for not doing something about Ginny sooner!

"When Harry and Ron eventually returned, Dean had a feeling he wouldn't want to be awake." - This was just perfect as a last line! I've read a few other stories that were written for this prompt in the writer's duel so it was a nice twist to see something that should be happy turning out badly for poor Dean. I love missing moments, too, and this worked perfectly as Dean's version of events.

Great job!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to read my story, let alone leave a review :D

I am really glad you liked it! I, as well, thought that writing about Dean would make for a welcome change. Therefore I am glad that, even if it wasn't focused on one of the golden trio, the story turned out well and was enjoyable.

I'm also glad that Dean's predicament came across both sad and comical. I do feel badly for Dean, especially after writing this. He really was unlucky to have chosen Ginny :(

Again, I am so so glad you liked it! Coming from a writer like you, it means so much to have your stamp of approval!

Christy


 Report Review

Review #12, by SereneChaos Bludgers and D-e-s-e-r-t-e-d Corridors

8th January 2014:
Haha, poor Dean! It's too bad he and Ginny didn't work out in the long run, but I guess it's good in a sense--now Dean can pay attention to all the bludgers coming his way! :P

Author's Response: Seriously, I feel like the theme of this story is just "poor Dean" :( Too bad he was after the same girl as the Boy Who Lived!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login