Reading Reviews for I Specialise in Murders
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Chazzie Weddings and Grandmothers

17th September 2014:
Something very exciting happened at the wedding, yay! I loved how Narcissa and Lucy got on without actually really admitting that they got along. AND THE CARPETS WERE NARCISSA'S?! :') Oh me.
I seem to be finding all the stories currently where a witch has killed her husband. They are really fun to read. (Hmm. Not sure what that says about my mental state, but let's bypass that for now.) I have to say though, your descriptions in this chapter were excellent. A pleasure to read!
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much. :) I must admit the carpets having originally belonged to Narcissa was a spur of the moment thing. You know when stories kind of run away and become their own entity? This one did that. :P Lol, its always a great story when the witch kills her husband. I wouldn't worry too much about your mental state. Think of all the people who actually sit down and write about people murdering other people. :P So glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Henria Weddings and Grandmothers

16th September 2014:
Oh my gosh! This is AMAZING! I am a HUGE murder/mystery type of gal. I watch all those old shows and stuff, and this makes me excited. Every chapter, keeping me wanting more. Especially more Scorpious/Lucy. ;) I mean, it sucks that those people have to die for my entertainment, but I am okay with that. I cannot wait for an update. Keep up the excellent writing.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so glad you found my murder mystery then! Its the first time I've attempted one and its been one of the most fun pieces I've ever written, so I must admit I'm sold to writing mysteries now. :) So glad you enjoyed it! Should hopefully not be too long before I have the next chapter up...

 Report Review

Review #3, by Anonymous Weddings and Grandmothers

2nd September 2014:
Omg, so I've just read this entire fic in one sitting and I'm in love, seriously cannot understand how it doesn't have more reviews. Your narrative is literally perfect and the premise of the story is so interesting and refreshing, I love how you've portrayed Scorpius and Narcissa and every paragraph is just perfectly crafted, can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much, what a lovely review! :D So glad you're enjoying it! I'm glad you felt it was refreshing, I think its partly what I love most about it is that its a tad different from most other fanfics. Last couple of chapters should hopefully be up towards the end of September, I am currently battling with the last stages of my thesis at university! :P

 Report Review

Review #4, by :) Weddings and Grandmothers

30th August 2014:
So in love with this story!! I adore your scorpius and Lucy together. Update soon!

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much. :) Originally I must admit I've never been much into the Rose/Scorpius pairing so I really wanted to have a go at a completely different pairing and to go for one of the lesser-loved next generation Weasley's. I'm so glad about all the positive feedback about them! :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by Crescent Moon  Weddings and Grandmothers

29th August 2014:
I loved this chapter!
Lucy and Narcissa are brilliant together! Very funny.
But on to the more important issue. Medora Rosier! I can really see it now! What's going to happen now they know. Does she attempt to kill Warrington? And if so how do they stop her?
I really can't wait to read what's going to happen next, great story!

Author's Response: Lol, I'm glad you love Lucy & Narcissa together. I feel like I've been building up to them with Scorpius' comparison of them and I hope this lives up to it. I'm also glad that you can see it now with Medora. Hopefully there will still be a few surprises! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Chazzie Files and an Overdose of Tea.

2nd August 2014:
Have I told you recently how brilliant this is? Well it's fantastic. The suspense is really making it difficult to not keep reading the story so far over and over. You had to leave it as a cliffhanger though, didn't you? Sigh. I suppose the next chapter will be up soon enough. I love how you have those sweet little moments like Lucy finding the file and Scorpius' comment about kissing her, or Narcissa and Scorpius having tea, or even Lucy and Molly being so sisterly in the previous chapter, that really sets this story apart. Not all the focus is on the murders and the mystery, although those bits are exciting too.
Lottie

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much I am so glad you enjoy it. :) I should have the next chapter up by this weekend, I'm on holiday in Finland at the moment. Thank you also for mentioning specific scenes you like. I try to make my characters as human as possible and I think scenes like that are important in doing so. I would like to think it is first a story about scorpius and Lucy and second a murder mystery. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by mykk47 The Story of Percy Ignatius Weasley.

28th July 2014:
I'm always so excited when I see that you've updated this story! I hope you get more up soon, it's brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoy it, it keeps me going in writing frequent updates :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Chazzie Timely Reminders and Clean Teacups.

27th July 2014:
Eek, only two days till the wedding! Maybe I'm jumping to conclusions here, but I get the feeling that something is going to happen whilst they're there. Hmm, hopefully something will give Scorpius a hint about who is targeting the death eaters in Percy's file. Scorpius is really sweet, and it was nice to see the background to his friendship with Milly. It's funny how everyone seems to have learnt the hard way about Rose's matchmaking skills... Or lack thereof! I kinda feel sorry for those she has tried to find partners for. Can't wait to read the next chapter!
Lottie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. :) The background for Scorpius & Milly was actually kind of spontaneous, but I really like it. Rose' matchmaking skills developed while I was writing a fic about Eliza & Albus (which will be posted in the future). Hope you enjoy the next chapter, I enjoyed writing it. :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Crescent Moon  Timely Reminders and Clean Teacups.

25th July 2014:
I've just found your story and I'm loving it!
You had me at a murder mystery to be honest (I'm such a sucker when it comes to them. And basing the killings on Cluedo, brilliant! I love that game.) but I love your characters as well. They're really well written and in depth as well as the plot.
I've got no idea who it could be, but that adds the the excitement and anticipation I guess. Though it is killing me not knowing, I was really hoping when I started reading that I'd get to find out who it was by chapter 15. But now I'm here I'm rather glad that I haven't as it means I stay with the story longer, though I am dying here!
If you haven't already managed to tell, I really, really can't wait to see what's going to happen next!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so so much, your review means so much to me :D I'm glad you love the characters, I have come to adore them while I've been writing the story, especially Scorpius, he's my little baby. :) It should become clear in the next couple of chapters who the murderer is, though I'm trying to write it so it's not too obvious. Lucky for you the next chapter is already in for validation! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by mykk47 Tired Hearts.

15th July 2014:
Currently my favorite story! I can't wait until you update! I love your writing so much.

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! Will hopefully be updating soon with more Scorpius/Lucy goodness. :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by Chazzie Tired Hearts.

7th July 2014:
Personally I would love to see Lucy in orange, for the sole reason of seeing Scorpius' expression. I know we are talking about fictionally characters, but they seem very realistic. Yes, I definitely feel bad for Gwen now. "It's a cause and event thing. Like war. Soldiers aren't necessarily the killing sort." was just perfect. I am in awe of your writing skills, for provoking so many feelings in a single chapter. The humour is brilliant - and Scorpius is funny. I am admiring more and more is Milly, on account of her ability to go from work-mode to friend-mode so instantaneously. I love it when I see you have updated, it's a brilliant story.
Lottie (Chazzie)

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much, this review totally made my day! It's reviews like this that keep me focused on writing. :) I'm so glad they feel real to you! I'm also glad you like Gwyn, originally she wasn't actually going to appear again, but I really loved her and Lucy's original exchange, so I chose to weave her back in. I love Milly as well.:)

 Report Review

Review #12, by ohnobeans Tired Hearts.

1st July 2014:
not a suicide after all, you sneak! I'm eager to see what your reasons were for keeping her alive!

Author's Response: lol, it didn't feel quite right for her to actually die... yet. Se still has too much to say, even if she is rather close-lipped about it all right now.

 Report Review

Review #13, by ohnobeans The Things one Finds in Knockturn Alley.

1st July 2014:
oooh a suicide! she must've been involved in some pretty shady stuff to make suicide seem like a good way out.

Author's Response: When it comes to Gwyn things are always shady ;)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Chazzie The Things one Finds in Knockturn Alley.

23rd June 2014:
Wow. Thats quite a turn of events. I do love how Scorpius is such a natural detective and knows lots of things about lots of people. Gwen seemed pretty evil, but I feel slightly sorry for her now.
Albus and Eliza would be really cute together. And I cant wait for Lucy and Scorpius to realise that they both like each other. A brilliant chapter, cant wait to read more!
Chazzie

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Once I'm done with this story and 'Don't give me Roses' I will be writing a story for Albus and Eliza. I secretly love them the most. :) Will hopefully get the next chapter up early next week.

 Report Review

Review #15, by ohnobeans Turning me Legal.

14th June 2014:
I'm loving this! Scorpius as the legal do-gooder and Lucy flirting with the grey area. definitely one of the favorite stories I'm reading now

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I must admit, I have no clue where the idea came from, I suppose apart from that I wanted to go against some stereotypes with this story. Its definitely been one of my favourite stories to write, so I'm glad you enjoy it. :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by lola Turning me Legal.

13th June 2014:
wow, I just discovered this ff today and I must say I absolutely LOVE the story! the characters are extremely well written, especially considering you practically made them up (at least their traits etc). Normally, I don't even like reading ff about the next generation, but I'm really enjoying this. I can't wait to read the next chapter!
PS: you keep writing "Knockton Alley", but if I'm not mistaken, it's actually "Knockturn Alley". :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm so glad you feel the characters are well written. I must admit I'm so happy with how they've developed throughout the story, especially Scorpius. He's funny to write because I feel that in many ways he would be very affected by his fathers experiences from the war and still trying to break away from the image of his family.
Thank you also for pointing out the Knockturn Alley mistake, I'll make sure to go back and correct it!
Thank you for your lovely review.


 Report Review

Review #17, by AussieLottie Turning me Legal.

13th June 2014:
That was an excellent chapter. :)

I'm looking forward to finding out what will happen to the next victim!

10/10
~AussieLottie

Author's Response: thank you so much, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Water_Fay In which Harry Potter Frowns.

10th June 2014:
Words cannot describe how much I love this story! It is my favorite fa fiction I have ever read! Truly amazing!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! That makes me so happy. :D The next chapter is actually already in for validation so you shouldn't have to wait too long!

 Report Review

Review #19, by ohnobeans In which Harry Potter Frowns.

6th June 2014:
I'm obsessed! I'm loving the drug addiction, the history of the objects, and the nontraditional pairing of Lucy and Scorpius!

Author's Response: Lol, thank you so much. :) I must admit I'm a bit of a sucker for non-traditional pairings when it comes to the next generation. I also have to confess to allowing my studies to spill over into the story with the history of the objects, but I think its a nice personality trait in Lucy that she is obsessed with the stories and histories of objects. I'm so glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by lilyandjamesfan In which Harry Potter Frowns.

30th May 2014:
I'm still really liking this and can't wait to read more. I really want to find out is committing the murders and why. I also like the parallels between Ronan Theming and Warrington. It's nice to see s well written and intriguing plot.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. This is my first ever crime-themed piece of writing ever and I'm really enjoyed writing the intrigue and adding depth to it, so I'm glad you like it. :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by Chazzie In which Harry Potter Frowns.

28th May 2014:
Dun dun dun :D I love it! All the sweet moments that make you smile, and those that clash against the darker, more mysterious events just make this a pleasure to read. You also have a line of humour running through the narrative that subtly works. The suspense has been really well built up, and the characters seem really natural. Can't wait to read some more!
Chazzie

Author's Response: Thank you so much, it takes a bit of effort to mix humour with the seriousness of people actually dying in dramatic ways, so I'm glad that you feel it works and that it makes you smile. I guess that is the main point, I don't actually want people to dwell on the dismal dramaticness of the murders, they are more a method of really exploring Scorpius, Lucy and those around them and creating some drama and excitement. Glad you're enjoying it, it means a lot to get reviews like yours!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Rumpelstiltskin I Was Alone.

30th April 2014:
Plot/plot arch: Back in the fuzzy purple blanket! At least she's accepting the blanket now. A murder mystery with a romantic subplot, that is absolutely fantastic. Aside from the murder, and some subplot, the chapter has some lovely filler. I adore the banter, as always.

Characterization: To be fair, Lucy wasn't alone, but I understand where Scorpius is coming from, especially since he doesn't know that she wasn't alone. Oh dear, Albus can't keep his mouth shut, can he? :D After everything that has happened to her, I'm not surprised that she doesn't like being alone up there...I wouldn't like it either.

Overall: This was great! I love the idea, it's a perfect murder mystery. Obviously, I'm still missing the ending, but I've certainly read enough to fill out your rubric effectively.

Notes/other: So it seems I've arrived at the last posted chapter, but certainly not the end of the story! Let me know when you update so I can continue reading this!

Great job, and thanks for entering the challenge! I have to finish a few more stories, but the challenge winners should be announced soon.

-Rumpel

Author's Response: As this is the last review I just wanted to say thank you so much for your absolutely amazing reviews! They made my day and have been fantastic and wonderfully detailed! I've got the next chapter written so will hopefully be updating soon (I currently have a chapter for another story in for validation) and I hope you get to read all the rest of the story. I've had so much fun writing it, its been a great experience. I'm so happy you felt it was a good murder mystery. I hope the other entries for the challenge have been great!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Rumpelstiltskin Clues, tea and wolfsbane.

30th April 2014:
Plot/plot arch: I agree that this "Clue" may just have something to do with the muders! Furthermore, what a fantastic clue that all of the tea that was used to kill the victims was, in fact, the same KIND of tea! That will certainly help a bit! Continuing along the lines of the subplot, I was happy to see Lucy accept Scorpius' invitation to the wedding. Also, the subplot even thickens with the introduction of an ex-boyfriend (Jules). This also explains her compassion for werewolves! Furthermore, back onto the main plot, there's yet ANOTHER murder! And TA-DA the revolver! Perfect!

Characterization: So much fun characterization in this chapter! Scorpius' attempt to win Lucy over by buying her a license to sell wolfsbane was clever... he almost had her. Of course, Lucy did hold a certain degree of skepticism that was well-deserved. Albus' quip about being a chaperone was really just perfect for the personality that you've established for him. Lily's brief additions to the dialogue and narrative also assisted already interesting interactions. I laughed at Lucy's attempt to have Lily go in her stead, for the mere fact that 'Lily has dresses', and then more when she accused Scorpius of attempting to get her to confess about the flying carpets.

Details: Nice inclusion of the werewolf prejudices that still have yet to be banished!

Notes/other: And so, we have another murder! That only brings us to two "murder weapons"! I'm very excited to see how this turns out, as I'm completely clueless (haha, see what I did there?) as to who the murderer could be!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Just two murder weapons left! I've kind of left them accidentally till last without meaning to because they're the hardest. I mean, why would Lucy be selling spanners or lead pipes, magical or not? The lead pipe is not so back, but I have no ideas for the spanner. :)
Loved your 'clueless' pun.
Your characterization comments were amazing. It really helps to know that I can stay in character with my characters, even my minor characters like Lily. Hopefully the dialogue between them was good.
Jules surprised me, he just suddenly showed up in my story. :P I hadn't originally planned for Lucy to have a gay, werewolf ex-boyfriend. It just sort of happened and worked. I love it when that happens! :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by Rumpelstiltskin Lilac Cluedo Peices.

30th April 2014:
Plot/plot arch: I find it fantastic that they're playing cluedo as research...despite what Scorpius thinks! While the main plot is slow in this chapter, the filler is wonderful. You're tying up some loose ends in this chapter, as well as establishing grounds for a possible love interest! I love good subplots that tie into the main plot, which you're doing wonderfully.

Characterization: While Molly seems to have some similarities to Lucy, the two sisters contrast each other wonderfully. As such, some fantastic dialogue was created about how Scorpius looks at Lucy. Astoria definitely married into the right family, because I can absolutely see some Malfoy in her ;). I do love her talk with Scorpius about his sexual preference not being an issue, so long as he brings a date to the wedding!

Style: A transitional/filler chapter is a perfect way to slow down the main plot! Nice choice.

Notes/other: Let's see...if the knife, the candlestick, and the rope are already used...that means the next 'weapons' could be the revolver, the lead pipe, or the spanner, right? (I haven't played the game in a while!) Let's just hope that they can figure out some more clues before they run out of 'murder weapons'! :)

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Thank you so much for saying you liked the filler chapter. I always worry about filler chapters, but at the same time I always at some point feel like I need them just to develop characters, keep the right pace and get some plot points in. The scene between Molly and Lucy was one of the first things I wrote for this story, and I loved it so much and I was really struggling to find a spot where it fit in without seeming sudden or unnatural. So thank you so much for your comments! You make me feel so good as a writer! :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by Rumpelstiltskin Hanged Men and Cluedo Cards.

30th April 2014:
Plot/plot arch: Poor Lucy! All of the murders are connected with her! First the knife, then the candlestick, and now the dead guy (not to mention the pressure to sell quenwood and the attack). I think she needs a vacation, you know, one that she gets besides being bound in an enchanted purple blanket. McNair...another death eater! Somebody is definitely seeking revenge! I absolutely love the cluedo cards!! ...at least they have something to go on now!

Characterization: Lucy's disregard for the law and the rules is quite ironic, considering she is Percy's daughter. I like that about her, it gives her that more edge. Her softer side is shown here, as she reveals that she sells wolfsbane potion without a license at her shop, enabling her to sell it at a more affordable price. Her more adventurous side is also revealed, with her fascination with artifacts that have stories behind them.

Detail: Your continuous character development melds fluidly in with the rest of the text, providing some nice filler without disrupting the main plot.

Notes/other: Great job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Funny enough when I started writing the story everything wasn't quite so connected to Lucy, and she was more involved as a kind of Auror department consultant, but I wanted her to be somehow more separate and independent. Hopefully it worked. :P I'm glad you like the cluedo cards. It took me forever to figure out where to best slot them into the story!
I love playing around with Lucy's character and personality. I think she and Molly are fascinating as Percy's children. I also have a draft for a story about Molly, and I love playing with the idea that their both kind of aloof, organised and in many ways like their father, and simultaneously rebelling against their father.
Thank you so much for your comments on my character development, they mean a lot to me as the character development is one of the most important parts of a story in my opinion.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>