Reading Reviews for Kill Your Darlings
  
241 Reviews Found

Review #1, by navyfail Irresistible

27th January 2015:
OMG, THEY ARE MARRIED. I AM CRYING SO HARD ON THE INSIDE RIGHT NOW, NO JOKE.

And she asked him and everything. That's so sweet! And I love love love the ending.

Talking to her at the beginning of seventh year not being the result of a bet just made me smile harder. And how she has her doubts in the end and how he tells her they'll be fine is perfect for them I think.

I still can't believe it is the end of this story though. I remember coming across it when it was only three chapters and I still love it as much as I did then.

You are an amazing writer and I'm going to go pop by your author's page to read your other story.

100/10
~Sama

 Report Review

Review #2, by DancingMooncalf Irresistible

25th January 2015:
Hi there,
Can I just say what a terrific story this is! I was absolutely hooked on it from the very first chapter. I couldn't stop reading, I really really couldn't. As you can see that was a bit of a problem, since there are like 37 chapters! I missed a bit of sleep in the process i'm afraid. But it was sooo worth it!
I can't express just how much I loved you characters. They were every bit so real! So honest and pure in all their flawed and wonderful ways. You have written an incredibly character development in this story, especially Andromeda.
The Ted/Andromeda ship is by far one of my favorites and you prove why. There is so much development to explore with those two! Because how does one change a pureblood princess into a muggleborn's wife? That takes some serious effort, as you very convincingly showed us.
You surprised me with Lilith, though. I thought at the beginning that she was just one of those shallow types. the comic relief character that didn't really mean anything. How wrong was I!! She was incredible! Just think, if it hadn't been for her the story would have ended so much differently.
That is some quality writing, I'm telling you!
As for professor McGonagall, she just saved the day again. She's such a great professor. I love her, even though she was only there for a talk this time.

I know it's cliché to wish for more (and maybe I should be glad that is stopped here or I wouldn't have had much of a night), but I've grown so fond of these two, of the story, and I'm invested in their lives now. That make me wish there would be more about them. I guess we all have that though, since we couldn't just let Harry Potter go, we had to keep reading and writing about his universe. It's a given with the fanficfans that they don't like endings!
That being said I think you wrote the end beautifully. A wedding, a new start, a live to be shared. And they deserve it, both of them.

Now seeing as I rambled a lot, let me just praise you one last time, because you have an incredible talent and I can honestly say you deserve a whole lot of praise!
I'm definitely checking out more of your stories, so you can expect to hear from me again!

Thank you so so much for this beautiful piece of writing and please keep on writing because you're incredibly good at it!

that's it now!
x Maya

 Report Review

Review #3, by MoonAndStars Slug Club

20th January 2015:
It's nice to see a different side of Lucius in this story (i still hate him though). There was lots of flirting and I can feel Andie starting to change. She actually (sort of) apologized to Ted which is a huge step for her!

Author's Response: Haha, that about sums up my opinion of Lucius. Like writing a different side, still harbor unbridled dislike.

Flirty flirtykins going on, what. It's about time. And yes! Andie is definitely taking some steps in the right direction. Semi-apologies are always a nice way to start.

Thanks once more for all of these lovely reviews! It's such a treat to hear from new followers of KYD!


 Report Review

Review #4, by MoonAndStars Indiscretion

20th January 2015:
Oh my god, I love Ted so much. He was so sweet to Andie in this chapter. I loved how he took care of her. Lilith was such a great change from Andie and Narcissa. She's so chilled back and its nice that she got Andie to relax, even if she did get her completely drunk. Great chapter!

Author's Response: YAY, LOVE FOR TED. An auspicious beginning. And to think, he did all that for Andie despite the damage she'd done to his fish & chips. :)

Lilith has been one of my favorite characters to write, so I'm glad to hear you like her so far! Thanks for the read & review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by MoonAndStars Impressions

20th January 2015:
Hi again,
I love how Ted handled Andie in the tutoring session. It's strange how she seems offended that Ted called her a bigot when she just insulted him. Strangely, I don't really hate Andromeda. I love how you showed the little flashback with Narcissa. It really reveals a lot about being in the Black family and it shows the close bond between the two sisters.

Author's Response: Poor Ted. He caught Andromeda in fine form, but I like to think he held his own. Andromeda is not used to being called out, so I think this is even more of a rude awakening for her than Ted. And I'm so glad to hear you don't hate her! Haha. I had a tough time trying to walk the line between human and--well, hateable. Glad you like the flashbacks, too. I loved writing those.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by MoonAndStars Dark Arts & Doubts

20th January 2015:
Hi!
I really love where you're going with this story. I had never thought about Andromeda's back story though it's sure to be interesting since she was a Black who married a muggle born. I think you've written Andromeda's character so well. I love how you've made her really bigoted. It would be so easy to make her perfect from the start but this way there's so much room for her to grow and change. I'm really curious to see how she ends up with Tonks.

Author's Response: Hello! I'm always so tickled pink to hear from new readers. Thanks for taking the time to review!

Yes, it was rather important to me to make Andromeda as bigoted as she is, because I'd read so many versions of her story where she was independently kind and compassionate and open-minded. And I didn't see that coming from such a brainwashed upbringing as the Blacks must've given their children. Not to mention all that potential for character growth. :)

So glad you enjoyed this first chapter. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by MarieBlack Irresistible

17th January 2015:
I am so unbelievably glad that almost a year ago I stumbled upon this story and found a brilliant writer who began to unfold a wonderful tale about and unlikely pair.

It has been a pleasure and an honor to spend my weeks looking for a new chapter from you and indulging fully when there was one.

I love how you wrote this ending, little snippets of how things progressed and ultimately how they settled.

The part about Andie and Ted meeting on the train as first years, well it just ties it all in rather nicely doesn't it? It's wonderful, and beautiful. I love the parts about the people around them as well, like the constant sadness over Cissa, rightly so because of a deeply sisterly bond. Also, about George and Lillith, as their personalities fit so well into this ending.

Andie is happier then I ever could have imagined.

Thank you for a lovely story, adventure, and path at finding just how wonderful real genuine love can be.

Author's Response: Hey you.

THANK YOU. SO MUCH.

You've been such a cheerleader from Day One, and I am so glad you stumbled upon this story a year ago, too. Thank you for all the encouragement and for sticking it out for 37 whole chapters. You are FABULOUS. :)

I'm so glad the ending met with your approval! It's always tough wrapping up a story like this, but then again I cheated a bit by making room for a little sequel. :)

Thank you again for all the reviews. They really have kept me motivated and grinning as I've written Tedromeda's story. Hugs from me to you!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lympha Irresistible

16th January 2015:
It truly was a wonderful read. Thank you for posting it. You're an amazing writer!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed the read. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by GJ Irresistible

15th January 2015:
Honestly the best story I've ever read on this site!!! You're truly an exceptional writer! Always kept us readers hooked from the start of this story (about a year ago, wow time has flown by)! I loved exactly how you portrayed Andromeda and Ted's beautiful and absolutely magical love story. *sigh* Can't believe it's done, really looking forward to the sequel/updates about them! This was the BEST!!! :)

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, thank you so much! I seriously can't believe it's been a year, either. It seems like I was just penning the first chapter. So glad you've enjoyed the story from start to finish, and I hope to have the first installment of the sequel (!) up soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Irishseeker Irresistible

14th January 2015:
I'm sad to see it end but it was really an ideal, perfect and suitable ending for them.
I love your take on Tedromeda and I really enjoyed this story.
Thank you! :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm so glad the ending was satisfying, and I really appreciate you taking the time to read! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by AussieLottie Irresistible

14th January 2015:
This was such a perfect end to an absolutely perfect story.
I have loved reading this story since the very start and just want to thank you for having written it.

You're amazing! (10/10)
~AussieLottie

Author's Response: Oh, hurray! It makes me so happy to hear that you've been reading & enjoying KYD from the start. It's been such a pleasure to write, and though I'm a bit sad it's over, I'm excited about moving on to the vignette collection. Thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by TumTum Damage Control

14th January 2015:
I forgot to ask in my final review! What about Sirius? I can see why he didn't turn up to the wedding but will he turn up in the future when he leaves his family? That happens quite early on doesn't it? Before he leaves school I think...

Author's Response: Sirius! We can't forget Sirius! Yes, at this point he's a younger teen with little control over his ability to attend Dromeda's wedding. :( But when he leaves his family at sixteen, things will definitely change. I'm planning on bringing him in to the KYD sequel, so stay tuuuned. Thanks again for the lovely reviews!

 Report Review

Review #13, by TumTum Irresistible

14th January 2015:
Ah what a lovely ending, I'm so happy :D it's so cathartic to get this after all their trouble. What tattoo did Dromeda get? Would it be the kind that Teddy would admire?

Thanks for writing this great story!

Author's Response: YAY. I'm so happy YOU'RE so happy. And I really appreciate all the lovely reviews! As for Dromeda's tatoo...maybe, just maybe, it will be revealed in the sequel. :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Endless_Forms Irresistible

14th January 2015:
Oh my god, I love you and I love this fic. Thank you a million times over for writing it. It's been a wonderful journey and I look forward to reading your other works. You're amazing. Your characters are amazing. You have a gift with the written word. Thank you.

Author's Response: Omg, you just made my day. Thank you so much for the insanely kind words! So sweet! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, and hank YOU for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan Irresistible

13th January 2015:
Aah! When I started reading this chapter I wasn't aware it was the LAST ONE! ajdfjasjd I have so many feels about this chapter and this story and I hope I can say them in a coherent way without resorting to keyboard-smash, but apologies in advance because that'll probably happen anyway/already happened oops.

I love the Tedromeda fluff, and the way they're able to tease each other without overreacting due to misunderstandings, and there's no secrets anymore. (Apart from that one he finally told her about at the wedding... ahahaha that's adorable.)

Ok, I LOVE IT that Andromeda asked Ted to marry her. I love it because it was a case of the girl asking the guy, and anything that challenges stereotypical gender roles is points in my book. And I love it because he wanted to get married but cares about her so much that he didn't want to upset her by asking as she had already said no a while ago. And I love how unconventional all of it was. Thinking about Andromeda in the beginning of the story, when she practically lived for conventional things, it's just such a change.

Speaking of change, both characters have grown up so much over the course of the novel and I loved reading that. They were such dynamic and real characters. And it ends so perfectly. They're happy together, and life is hard and they're getting used to it, and all things considered, are doing pretty well. This is one of my favourite stories on the archives and I'm so, so glad I stumbled upon it one day as I found such a masterpiece. I love your writing. You truly have a gift.

I AM SO HAPPY THERE'S A SEQUEL. I'm not ready to say goodbye to Ted and Andromeda just yet. AND I can't forget to mention Lilith and George, who are so perfect together and I love them. :D

Thanks for writing this wonderful story.

Kristin x

Author's Response: Ummm, thank you for making my night with the sweetest review I have ever read. Seriously, these words made me so very happy.

Haha, sorry to sneak in an ending like that! I honestly thought KYD had a few more chapters let in it, but as I was writing it became quickly apparent that this was IT. Which was both terrifying and cathartic.

I love Tedromeda fluff, too. Teehee. It's been such a guilty pleasure to write after ALL THE DRAMA and tension and general unpleasantness that came before. Poor kiddos needed a little bit of reprieve.

YAY. I'm SO glad you like the fact that Andromeda proposed, especially for the reason that I, too, love any kind of stomp-smash of traditional gender roles. Unconventionality, GO FIGHT WIN! But yes, it's a crazy huge change for Andromeda. I took some time to read all the previous chapters while penning this finale, and I was so excited to see how much Andromeda had grown. -hugs Andromeda close- I'm so proud of her.

AND YES SEQUEL YES. I think I'd be embarrassingly teary-eyed if I had to give up writing Ted and Dromeda just yet. There are still some stories that I'm dying to tell, and I'm really excited about penning these vignettes. And, you know, mayhaps there will be a little bit of Lilith and George in those, too. Heh heh heh. :)

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for sticking with this story so long and being such an encouraging and helpful reviewer. You're the sweetest! Hope to see you around on upcoming stories! Till then, sending you a virtual hug and plate of cookies.



 Report Review

Review #16, by navyfail Dissonance & Resolve

9th January 2015:
About a week ago I sat down and stayed up late to catch up on the last 20 or so chapters of this story... it was definitely worth it!

Gah, I love this story and you've made me a hardcore Ted/Andromeda shipper. They both have their flaws but they are perfect for each other. You can feel how much they love and care for each other in your words. Their story just sticks to you and makes you think of it over and over. Like I kept thinking 'they made it. they finally made it.'

And I love how the dreams make so much more sense now with the blond bond and everything and when Ted tells her about his inappropriate dreams I just kept smiling at how embarrassed he was.

I got scared at the end because it seemed like it was the end of the story but then you said there are a few more chapters so yay!

I have to say that your writing is very impressive and you are very talented! It's so easy to get hooked with this story. And your Ted Tonks is definitely my man crush and I will forever and ever picture his as Sam Claflin and Andromeda as Crystal Reed because of this story.

Spectacular job so far! And I'll definitely keep an eye out if you post any other stories!

~Sama

Author's Response: I am grinning from ear to ear. Thank you for SUCH a sweet review. It always makes me happy to hear that KYD has inspired a binge read. Teehee.

YAY. Another hardcore Tedromeda shipper on board! Whoo-whoo! Haha, and I do hope the dreams make sense now. Sometimes I found myself panicking, wondering how I was going to make all the sprawling edges of this story meet. But I HOPE I made the most important ones meet at least. :)

Oops, I kind of lied? There is another chapter, but only one left! I thought it would take me longer to wrap up, but I realized the story I needed to tell here was nearly done and the best place to write up some remaining vignettes would be in a new sequel-esque conclusion. Here's hoping it pans out a-okay!

Thanks for the kind words about the writing! And bahaha, I think I will always picture the two as Sam and Crystal, too. Once it gets lodged in your brain, it just doesn't leave. :)

Thanks so much for the review--and for sticking with this story for so long! You rock.


 Report Review

Review #17, by libretta.b Dissonance & Resolve

4th January 2015:
Oh thank Merlin that there are more chapters coming. I dont want this to end. EVER!
This is by far one of my favourite fanfictions in the entire world and i cannot wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: Aw, you just made my night! I'm so happy to hear that you're enjoying KYD. It's been such fun to write, and though I'm sad the story is coming to a close, I'm very pleased to be bringing on the long-awaited Tedromeda. :) Hope to have a new installment up very soon!

 Report Review

Review #18, by grednforge217 Indiscretion

28th December 2014:
Lilith. Okay, I absolutely love Lilith. She an incredibly interesting foil to both Andie and Narcissa, and I suppose her adventurousness would be the only thing that would throw her into the path of Ted Tonks again, because there isn't a snowball's chance that either of them would frequent the Hog's Head, and Ted is someone I can see going there a lot. I felt particularly awful for his fish and chips.

You almost can see him start to fall in love with her the second he holds her hair back, although maybe I'm just romanticizing that part (I must be some kind of romantic, if that's what I'm romanticizing.) Anyway, I did love this chapter because we not only got some interaction between the pair of them, but it literally took Andie out of herself (by being drunk) and sort of placed her a little closer to Ted than she would be. Anyway, this review was a little jumbled but I love this chapter!

Author's Response: I'm SO pleased to hear you love Lilith. I've gotten some mixed responses from readers--it seems like a either a love or a hate thing. Haha, and yes, Lilith is the only one (probably the only Slytherin princess, period) who would drag her friends to the Hog's Head. Traumatizing for Naricssa, mayhaps, but perfect for some Tedromeda. :)

Yes, poor Ted and his fish & chips. Whoopsies. I bet he won't be eating that dish again anytime soon. And maybe he IS falling in love with her at that exact moment. -drums fingers- -waggles eyebrows- I'll never tell!

Thanks again for the lovely reviews! Hope you continue to enjoy the read.


 Report Review

Review #19, by grednforge217 Impressions

28th December 2014:
Okay, their back and forth is so dang delightful here. In the rather few other fics I've read about this ship, Andie has mostly been somebody who is pretty much totally unprejudiced against Muggle borns, so I like that you're not portraying her that way, because honestly, I don't think that she would be, even though she is a good person. Because how can you not grow up with that kind of indoctrination and not be affected by it? The way you write her, though, is so clever, because you manage to keep her likable even while she is saying some really terrible things to Ted. I also do love the insight into the childhoods of the House Of Black, mostly because I've always found them all so fascinating. Anyways, well done, and Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Hello there! Thanks so much for popping in with more reviews. What a treat. It's been almost a full year since I wrote these early chapters, so it's fun to be reminded of early plot and read brand new reactions!

Yes! I had the same experience reading Tedromeda fanfic (of which there is a sad scarcity!). Andromeda is almost always portrayed as good/open-minded from the start. But my interpretation is that it would be impossible for her to be raised in such a toxic environment without developing prejudice.

It's so reassuring to hear that she's coming across as likable, in spite of all the nonsense she's spouting off at Ted! And I'm glad you liked the flashbacks. I've always been so intrigued by the House of Black, so this was the perfect excuse for me to do some speculative writing on the subject.

Thanks for such a sweet review, and Happy Holidays to you, too! Hope it's been a wonderful new year so far.


 Report Review

Review #20, by MarieBlack Dissonance & Resolve

27th December 2014:
OH MAN.

So, a little update on me, my laptop went crazy for about two weeks over my break before I decided, 'maybe I should have someone look at this,' thus I did and got it fixed and I get to catch back up on this! YAY.

This chapter. I mean, I feel like as readers we're agreeing with Andie's sentiment, this, at long last. It's so lovely. I feel like this is one of those rare stories where you know how everything falls into place with the main couple, and yet you are so enthralled to see how they get there. You enjoy the ups and downs, and hate them for being dumb, and triumph in their personal victories because you know what it all leads to.

Ted and Andie are finally together, and not because Ted kept pushing it but because Andie realized how important Ted is to her, how attached she has become. How much she needs Ted, and I think if some thing like what happened with Cissa hadn't happened it may have been much longer until she realized that.

They have a lot of hard tasks and situations to face, but they have each other now. That is so wonderful.

Also, on a another note, the scene between Lillith and Andie is so touching. I believe we are slowly seeing Andie's true admiration for her friend. She admires Lillith's ability to not care about blood nearly as much as everyone else, someone who is a fan of true love and happiness even when it's not with a fellow pureblood. She is the right friends for Andie in these times.

Lovely, lovely, lovely chapter. I hope to read more soon!

Author's Response: OH HI THERE.

You're the absolute sweetest for sticking with this story from Day One, and I'm SO tickled pink that you finally are reading GOOD NEWS for Tedromeda. It's taken them long enough, hasn't it?

Yes! It was very important to me that Andromeda be the one to realize things on her own. She had to be the one who came back to Ted, who made the decision to stay, because up until now, all she's done is leave. And it's sad to think that, yes, if Cissa hadn't broken ties with her, she might not have gone back to him so soon. If at all. D:

I'm so glad you liked the Lilith & Andie scene, too. It's been an experience, developing their friendship. Throughout the course of writing the story, Lilith continues to surprise me! But yes, she's just the kind of friend Andie needs at a time like this.

Thanks so much for such lovely words! I should have the next chapter up soon!


 Report Review

Review #21, by grednforge217 Dark Arts & Doubts

10th December 2014:
DUDE. YES. I am so pumped about the tutoring thing. Ugh. Maybe Andie will tutor him and she'll show up at one of his matches and sort of cheer for him almost against her will and everyone will see and then they'll be all loved up and I'm getting ahead of myself but YAY. Excitement.

Author's Response: Bahaha, look at you, you have everything planned out already! >:] Glad to hear you're still enjoying the story. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by grednforge217 Ambition

10th December 2014:
Great goodness, one chapter in and I'm already addicted! I was gasping and acting like a total lunatic in public over Ted and Andromeda. I can tell that I'm already going to love them both! Your writing is wonderful, so descriptive and beautiful. I can really get a sense of the familial ties already, and I do appreciate some Narcissa/Lucius love up in there. (sorry to say up in there, don't know where that came from.) Anyways, the point is that I'm crazy excited about this wonderful story and I can already tell that I'm going to be squealing and shipping the entire time, much to the dismay of all who encounter me in the next few days. (And I'm terribly happy to see how wonderfully long this is! So excited to read all of it!)

Author's Response: Oh, hurray, hurray! It's always so exciting to hear from a new reader. I'm very pleased to hear that you're already addicted, and I hope you continue to enjoy the story! Haha, and I get the Narcissa/Lucius love. I think their story is crazy fascinating. :) Thanks so much for the sweet review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by sanae342453  Dissonance & Resolve

10th December 2014:
I am so glad she went back to Ted! And I thought that the blood transfer might have helped. I was thinking about it and since Andromeda's aunt cursed her to not be able to touch Ted if it had actually worked wouldn't she have been in bad pain or killed, since his blood was already inside of her? Things are happy finally!

I wonder if you will do a sequel about their marriage life? Pregnant Andromeda would be something to see- since we know she had Tonks even though she didn't want to be a mother.

(And I am the same Sanae that been commenting before, I made an account to make it easy to track stories I read).

Author's Response: Yes, hurray! And your sleuthing skills paid off. The blood transfer did, indeed, help. Andromeda spent so much time worried about how her blood would affect Ted, she didn't give much thought to how it might affect HER.

And yes! I'm actually planning on writing a collection of short stories after this that document Ted and Dromeda's married life. The pregnancy and Nymphadora is definitely something I want to write about. I don't think I could stay away from Tedromeda if I tried. I'm just not yet ready to give up their story yet!

Thanks so much for the read & review! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Irishseeker Dissonance & Resolve

10th December 2014:
Ted and Andromeda are just so perfect together and the way you write them is just so amazing. Seriously. Absolutely amazing!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm so glad you're enjoying their story.

 Report Review

Review #25, by TumTum Dissonance & Resolve

10th December 2014:
I am grinning so much this chapter was perfect, it's such a relief to read. I loved that line "You had me at 'F#$k off Tonks'" that was hilarious.

I am aware though that the Voldermort and his followers are on the rise still and that things are going to get worse and worse in the magical world. People like Nelson could be in danger. I'm not sure how much Andromeda or Ted are aware of that though.

As for Andromeda's NEWTs I don't know what she's worried about? Well no I do understand but she has plenty of solutions - she hasn't even tried anything yet. And what was wrong with McGonagall's offer? It seemed pretty perfect. Also she could ask Ted for advice - she's not alone! Tsh I'm trying to give life advice to a fictional character I'm hopeless. I hope it shows how much I love this story though!

Author's Response: YAY. Grinning! Grinning's my favorite. So glad you enjoyed the chapter.

Yes, that's one thing that always weighs heavily on my mind when writing for this time period. SO much dark stuff was going on during this time, and so much dark stuff is still ahead. I think Andie and Ted are only aware of the very smallest portion of what awaits them. :(

And yes! I think Andromeda's nervous just because she's spent so much of her life working up to her NEWTs only to abandon them. But she's got plenty of options before her. I'm biased, of course, but I think she'll make a good choice. ;)

Thanks so much for the read & review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>