Reading Reviews for Kill Your Darlings
  
289 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Mistake

28th August 2015:
My reviews have now caught up with my reading place! THIS CHAPTER WAS SO GOOD. ALL OF IT. AMAZING. EVERYTHING I'VE EVER WANTED AND SO MUCH MORE. Until the end. Are you kidding? I know their love will prevail and all that, but come on man! I want this to happen now! I want it to be a thing! Gr! I think I have an idea of where this is going now, and my prediction isn't in favour of these two being a couple. My heart hurts.

 Report Review

Review #2, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Answers

28th August 2015:
It was good to finally find out what the dealio was with Ted, but so tragic about his mother and father and so heartbreaking to find out how much he had taken Andromeda's words to heart! I want to hug Ted.
George is so funny, he's great.

 Report Review

Review #3, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Christmas Party

28th August 2015:
This chapter is quite the turning point for Andromeda, because even though there is still a lot of evidence of the character we have come to know, she has some revelations about the world and people around her, which is good to see. I am the world's biggest sucker for character development, I honestly sit and think deeply about it, sometimes I even write essays about it for fun. I daresay it's my number one passion. There are real emotions felt for it.
I love the mistletoe scene and I looovvveee when they almost kiss, it had my heart rate up!! So mad they didn't get to it, and even though I am a couple chapters ahead of this point, I remember wondering what on EARTH was going on with Ted Tonks at the end of this chapter!

 Report Review

Review #4, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Wensleydale Cheese

28th August 2015:
I quite like the exchange between Andromeda and Ted, although sometimes I wonder just exactly what it is that he sees in her to have such a high opinion of her. I suppose a lot goes on off page that we don't see, but I wish we could see more of the good towards Ted in Andromeda. We see it through her thoughts and mildly in some of their dialogue, but I'm kind of left wishing we could see it more in their interactions and exchanges. Nonetheless, still a great chapter, I still like it quite a lot.

 Report Review

Review #5, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Refuge

28th August 2015:
This is really a great chapter. You can hear her headspace and mental state in this chapter, and the part with the phone is a great bit of humour that's essential to the intensity of the past couple of chapters. I love the atmosphere of Ted's place and his brother. It's a new setting and will shape into a new interesting point in the story. I have a particular fondness for this chapter also. So glad to see Ted back, I've got the biggest soft spot for your version of him.

 Report Review

Review #6, by LiveBreatheNeedHP No Place Like Home

28th August 2015:
This chapter was INTENSE. My heart really goes out for Andromeda, because she's a good person at her roots, which does show on the outside through her actions and thoughts quite a lot too, she's just so trapped in this prejudiced home with an abusive family. She's in such a crappy situation and you really make the audience feel for her, particularly in this chapter especially. This chapter was really well written, good job.

 Report Review

Review #7, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Confrontation & Contraband

28th August 2015:
Interesting characterisation of Bellatrix. I've read quite a few chapters past this, but I remember being so intrigued by what her mother and Walburga were going to do ...

 Report Review

Review #8, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Discovery

28th August 2015:
Wow, that scene is hella awkward. The way it's written is great, but I get secondhand embarrassment on Andromeda's part ...
CALLED IT. I. CALLED. IT. About Rabastan. What a butt.

 Report Review

Review #9, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Cavorting

28th August 2015:
This chapter is good for an even deeper look into all the characters. It's good to see them constantly developing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Rebellion, Within Reason

28th August 2015:
"Cavort". What a classic. I love it!
I LOOOVVE the Princess Bride! The book is pure mad genius and the movie has been a love of mine ever since I was real real little, but it's been so long since I've read or watched it and I've scoured the chapter, but I can't pick up on what the reference is! Please help me? It's starting to bothering me that I don't know what it is lol

 Report Review

Review #11, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Secrets & Stipulations

28th August 2015:
Even though I have gotten far enough into the story to know what's going on with Ted, I remember being very intrigued by why he was in the Hospital Wing and where on earth he went the night before when I first read this! As always, Ted charms and captivates me.
Oo, the exchange between Andromeda and Rabastan makes my blood boil! I want to punch him in the face through my screen! It will do me well to remember all of this is fictional ... *inhale* *exhale* *inhale* *exhale* ... Nope, still mad.

 Report Review

Review #12, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Slug Club

28th August 2015:
Love this chapter for its cheek. Andromeda's thoughts about Ted, the flirting, more of Andromeda's thinking about Ted ... Even though she's still very hung up on his blood status and her reputation. I would't expect any less though. In fact, I'd be disappointed if she wasn't.

 Report Review

Review #13, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Damage Control

28th August 2015:
You're probably sick of hearing from me at this point. It's just that I'm attempting to fulfill a pledge to review every chapter I read and since I've read all these chapters, it's under the conditions of my pledge that I review them.
Even though I'm further along in the story than this, I still don't know what these nightmares are totally about and I'm very intrigued by them. The mysteriousness of the nightmares gives the audience something else to be intrigued by, as well as by how plainly brilliant this story is.
I like the introduction of Sirius in this chapter, such a cutie! And Lilith kills me!

 Report Review

Review #14, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Indiscretion

28th August 2015:
I like how you've really represented the Hufflepuff in Ted. Anyone else would never do what he did after the way she's treated him. Good one.

 Report Review

Review #15, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Impressions

28th August 2015:
This chapter had such a charming and sweet sense of humour to it, I loved it - your opening line especially! This chapter is so interesting to me, because Ted is such an amazing character and you seem to write him with such an easiness and he really is a charming character to read. His dialogue is great and the humour in it feels very natural. I love what he brings out in Andromeda, it makes for great dynamics. Great job, I think this chapter will remain one of my favourites thus far, I don't think I could rave about it more! I might start sounding obsessive and repetitive ...

 Report Review

Review #16, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Dark Arts & Doubts

28th August 2015:
You've got some really interesting characterisation happening here, with each girl having her own distinct personality and quirks, which is great because it makes them all seem more real and dynamic and there's something in all of them that we take a liking to, despite the fact that they believe in prejudices we as a fandom can't seem to fathom.

 Report Review

Review #17, by LiveBreatheNeedHP Ambition

28th August 2015:
I've been reading this story for quite some time and am a fair way into it, but I thought I'd come back through it and leave some reviews because I love this story so much and I think you deserve them! Such a good opening chapter, I fell in love with Ted the moment I read him. Even though we only see a little of him, it's written in such a delightful way that it's enough to get you hooked. Really good job. A word of warning: you're about to get a spam of reviews from me ... Hope you like yourself some reviews! lol

 Report Review

Review #18, by Shinicha Christmas Party

25th August 2015:
ohmygod, I had ALMOST forgotten about Ted's thing, whatever it may be, but now I'm doubly curious! At first I'd thought he was a metamorphagus like his future daughter ... but how could he transform his clothes? Then I thought he was some kind of Animagus - but why would he have this pain and this weird silver streak in his hair??

It really was a great chapter, again I love Andromeda for how she battles her self-pity and how she handled the whole situation. How lucky am I not having to wait for the next chapter! PHEW

 Report Review

Review #19, by Shinicha Wensleydale Cheese

25th August 2015:
Another lovely chapter, and the final sentence "...So if the act of Muggleborn Ted Tonks enfolding her in a safe, warm embrace was an act of contamination, then it was the sweetest contamination that Andromeda Black had ever known." ... you melt my heart! haha

besides, I LOVE Nelson, he's awesome, though I do wonder what they usually eat when they apparently never use cutlery. Toast and pizza?!

Everything about this chapter was wonderful! Sorry about these far-too-short and not-very-helpful reviews!

I noticed one small mistake (I THINK):
"More than given it to her, he’d called incredible" -- I believe there should be one more "her" ;)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Shinicha Refuge

25th August 2015:
Oh, this chapter warmed my heart, it was really nice. And yes, Andromeda IS behaving quite unusual, but I can't believe how her family could treat her like that!!! I would've been a heap of self-pity, but she is very self-reflective. I thought she was really strong, the way she handled herself in this situation!

Your quotes from the book very btw super-creepy! It really sounds like these race-theories from the late 19th early 20th century..uff!

Great chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Shinicha Discovery

25th August 2015:
Oh, wow, okay, first let me catch my breath after this fantastic (and exiting) marathon through your chapters! I am sorry that I didn't stop after each of the catching and addictive chapters to leave a review, however I'm leaving for holidays tomorrow and wanted to get through some Dobby-Recommendations before leaving!

I really like your idea to chose to write about Andromeda and Ted; and I completely share your love for both of them! You've made two minor characters come to live in a really wonderful way :D

I think you did a very good job at working all the Canon characters into the story. Your Cissy and Lucius, and especially your Sirius, love them! Your managed to really flesh out their personalities, the way they talk and react to things is very consistent and provokes nice dialogues. Also your Rabastan is outright frightning! O_O His domineering ways and this "glint", whatever it may be, that she saw in his eyes made me seriously worried about Andromeda.

Especially Andromeda is great; the way she slowly, slowly changes over the chapters; how she is extremely naive but thoughtful at the same time; how she slowly makes herself question things she has learned to be true, just because that's what she expects of herself; to be consistent and smart.

I, too, enjoyed how you make language a decisive point in characterizing different personalities. I actually watched several youtube videos of yorkshire accident to understand its sexappeal!!! :D But also the usage of words (it's really cute when Andromeda gets thrown off by "uncoth" vocabulary haha)

In between the themes of overcoming prejudice and handling social pressure, the mystery of her nightmares, the blinks into a future with Death Eaters and Voldemorts, are peppering the story up and leave just the right amount of thrill. Ted's tattoo and the fact that it's a bird made me wonder if she might possess some divination skills??

I any case, I'm really happy to have found this story and can't wait to read on~~~ This year's Dobbys are going to be soo hard to choose again, with all these great stories like yours!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Hannah Irresistible

13th August 2015:
This is spectacular!! It's so close to perfection. Although we know very little about Ted or Andromeda from canon, everything seems to fit seamlessly with those little tidbits that can be garnered from the text. I love Andromeda's aloofness in the beginning, and the character development so potently illustrated by the end. Narcissa's characterisation is so perfect I want to cry- she's everything I would have imagined from her as a young girl, and her relationship with her sister, and with Lucius, and the bitter sweet inevitability of her and Andy's party is beautifully executed. I'm afraid I might have cried a little. Sirius did make me laugh, and his dynamic with Andromeda offered such a different insight into a character that was so wonderful in the books, and yet you managed to do so without once making me feel as if he was out of place in the story or as if he was acting out of character. And Ted pulled on every heart string imaginable. Your Ted is by far the best one I've ever read. You explained so much about their lives, and gave such wonderful glimpses into the future. I'm going to pretend Ted didn't come to the end he did in Deathly Hallows, because to do so after reading this story would be unimaginably painful. You've managed to make a character so essentially good, and yet so intricately flawed, and it's amazing to read. Nelson and George and Lilith and all the rest, too, I just completely fell in love with. And both Bellatrix and Aunt Walburga are chilling. The little bits of foreshadowing sprinkled throughout the text are just subtle enough that I feel positively gleeful whenever I recognise them. It's wonderfully done, and the writing style is beautiful. And I can't praise the ending enough. It's just an unhappy enough ending for Andromeda to make it believable and consistent with the world in which she lives, and yet it still retains such a fairytale. There's echoes of the beginning of their relationship throughout the last two chapters- like the whole mudblood/bloodtraitor thing- that just made me want to weep. There's a possibility for lines like that to be cringy, but you just made them beautiful. And I laughed out loud at the bit about the dare. The entire story is so wonderful. Everyone needs a Ted in their life.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Penelope Inkwell Irresistible

14th July 2015:
So, technically I finished this the other day, but I've had this page sitting on my computer because I needed some emotional space to write with any type of coherency.

Usually I write fairly detailed, analytical reviews, and I usually have little trouble finding the right words--I am a writer, after all ; ) But every chapter of this fic left me a mess, scrabbling for composure so that I could write something in the review box besides "OHMYGOSH AMAZING THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER I WANT TO READ A MILLION STORIES BY YOU I WANT TO GET TO READ SOMETHING LIKE THIS ALL THE TIME!"

Ahem. Yeah, so I'm trying to do better than that ; )

Your writing style is gorgeous. It's sort of spare and elegant. Your paragraphs stay short, in a way that makes for easier reading on a computer screen. And in spite of that spareness, you have so much detail. I can always imagine the settings perfectly. You balance between description and action and dialogue is practically flawless. I don't think I've read anyone else on this site who does it so well.

The plot was wonderfully imagined and beautifully executed. Andromeda and Ted were such compelling characters, fantastic and flawed, and I couldn't help but root for them. I loved how rich they were, as characters. You did not sacrifice any of Andromeda's complexity to make her more "likable". She wasn't always likable--she was rude and bigoted and superior, and I loved her anyways. Her development was gradual, natural, and it was done with such care I just have to applaud!

Ted wasn't simplified like so many Hufflepuff characters end up being. He's one of the best heroes I've read recently, published or not. In fact, he made me think of how utterly overrated those alpha-male arrogant type male leads are (though they can be fun to read). He is honorable and dependable and good-humored, but he also has trust issues and has had a difficult life. I absolutely loved him, as well.

It's been a day since I finished this, but I still have such a book hangover from it, and I think I will for a while longer.

From a writer's perspective, this story is an inspiration. It's one of those stories that feeds you, that challenges you and makes you want to be better, to try new things.

I could go on for days, I suspect, about what a treasure this story was, but in the end all I really need to say is thank you for writing it and sharing it. It was a joy to read, and I do believe it is my new favorite fanfic, bar none. 10/10, would let your writing shatter my heart again.

Thanks so much!

--Penny

(Oh, P.S., and on a MUCH lighter and slightly random note, I meant to say ages ago--Remus having a crush on Tonks' mom when they were in school together does give a whole lot more insight on why he was so completely insistent that he was too old for her. Of course, they belonged together anyway, but it does put it in a whole nother light. Poor Remus!)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Penelope Inkwell Breakdown

14th July 2015:
Oh thank heaven! She's finally realized it! Ted loves her more than the rest of them ever have.

I really love that you had McGonagall give her that talk and tell her about her backstory. My favorite thing about McGonagall is how, beneath all her prickliness and stiff upper lip, she sometimes does truly extraordinary things that show how much she cares about her students.

She saw that Andromeda was in need. And she recognized that Andromeda was as brave as any Gryffindor--braver than most--to have done all the things she did. And she gave her the personal attention that Andromeda really needed. I just love her, and I love that you wrote that in.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #25, by Penelope Inkwell Oil & Water

14th July 2015:
Uuuungh! I am distraught.

It just hurts so bad. She promised not to leave again, and then this? That's the thing that's a little weird to me. Like, I get that she wanted to make things right with Narcissa, so she couldn't marry him right away, but why was she unwilling to see if the curse was broken by their blood bond? Is it because she doesn't want him to see the scar that I'm assuming is on her arm? If so, that seems a terrible reason. I mean, she's going through a lot of emotional drama now, and all, but still.

And Ted. Has he missed the last match? Because he's cured now, so why not give Quidditch a try? Surely someone would at least take him on as a reserve player, and he could work his way up. And why not come back and finish out the school year. It seems odd that his employers would mind. After all, if he's going to write articles, he could do that from Hogwarts.

I'm still hoping he'll show up. Don't give up, Ted!


CC:
Adelaide found that she was crying
--Adelaide = Andromeda

And if Andromeda were to add to that grave injury the blow of marrying a blood traitor?
--this is maybe a minor thing, but technically she wouldn't be marrying a blood traitor. Marrying a Muggleborn, certainly. Becoming a blood traitor, yes. But Ted's not a blood traitor. He can't be--he has no pure blood to betray.

Or was he made about something else entirely?
-- "made" = "mad"

Highlight reel: “You’re a * exceptional bloke, and that’s me talking—your brother, who has a clear bias against you.”

--Penny

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>