Reading Reviews for Kill Your Darlings
  
206 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MarieBlack Oil & Water

27th October 2014:
SO MUCH IN ONE CHAPTER. OKAY, DEEP BREATHS. I NEED TO TAKE DEEP BREATHS.

Okay.

WHAT THE FREAKING HECK ANDIE. WHY CAN YOU NOT SEE THAT TED WANTS TO MARRY YOU AND LOVES YOU AND THAT IS MORE AND BETTER THAN ANYTHING ELSE IN THIS WORLD. AND TED JUST NEEDS TO TELL HER HE WOULD LOVE TO MARRY THE HECK OUT OF HER.

For two very smart individuals, they are so dumb. Okay. Rant about that over.

I just know that a love like theirs is worth fighting for, worth marrying over, and worth any future they could have apart. I'm on edge to see how it all fall together. But I think it has something to do with Cissa...

Speaking of her, I think this is where Andie really realizes that the sisterly bond she has with Cissa could only really be hindered by one thing: Cissa really is a Black, and that trumps their relationship. I do believe in the future Cissa would make the choice to reach out to her sister again. But right now I think she'll always choose the path that leads to Lucius and an ideal life. It breaks my heart. Sisterly bonds are supposed to outlive anything and any choice. But Cissa doesn't seem to share that regard.

I'm eager for whatever comes next! But I know it will be a hard one, keep up the writing when you can! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by New Tedromeda Shipper Oil & Water

27th October 2014:
I literally spent the entire weekend reading this story. It's fantastic and I love it and I can't wait to read more. You've made Tedromeda one of my favorite Harry Potter Ships! I just adore them both so much. I have so many feels right now.

 Report Review

Review #3, by whitelillies Oil & Water

23rd October 2014:
So many things to say!

First of all, I stayed up all night reading this story. Like, literally, I went to bed at 11 am. And then I proceeded to miss school due to my exhaustion. Yes, I am pathetic. And obsessive. Oh well!

Second of all, this is the first review I've written for this story, as I wanted to be able to review when I was up to date on everything, so I haven't been able to tell you how much I ship Lilith and George! Ah, so cute. So, so cute. I ship them x1019923585755. I knew they would get together right from the start of their Hogsmeade plan: she's a bad***, doesn't want to be treated like a princess, and he's pretty bad*** himself. So they are obviously going to love each others's bad***ness until the end of time. Well, I hope. (BTW, what is their pairing name? Georlith? Hahaha that sounds horrible.)

Third of all, I totes ship Andromeda and Ted. Tedromeda forever! But right now I am annoyed at the both of them. I get that they are confused, only 17, blaa blaa blaa, but they are so predictable! Most of their interactions end up turning into fights, which usually result in Ted being all self-deprecating and asking 'Why do you love a Mudblood like me?' and Andromeda being all 'Argh, I'm leaving'. Maybe it's because I've read all the chapters in rapid succession so all their other fights are fresh in my mind, but even so. It is getting out of hand. I am not insulting this story or you- I just wish their problems would be more diverse, I guess, and not always about Ted feeling sorry for himself and Andromeda running away. Tedromeda need to get their act together, and fast -.-.

Ah Cissy. I don't know how to feel about her. I think I am annoyed at how absolutely naive she is, and how she seems to treat Andromeda as if she was a child who was younger than herself and didn't know anything about the world. Oh well, I know it won't finish well between her and Dromeda, but I still have a bit of hope for their relationship. A little. I just wonder how they will live in the same dormitory is Narcissa is dead set on not seeing Andromeda again.

So yeah! That's pretty much it. Update son! I've never read a Tedromeda fanfiction before, so I wouldn't know how yours mesures up to the other stories, but right now yours is doing pretty good in my books. It is realistic, very canon and yet surprisingly fresh. I feel like you also never forget to add in details showing the time period in which this story takes place (early 1970s if I am not mistaken). Ted's 'condition' is a very clever thing to have invented- it's a really nice addition to the story and it adds a lot to the plot. I am impressed at how creative this fanfiction is! It isn't unrealistic, and yet it still has a magic feel to it.

Have a good day lovely,
xoxo

Sofia

P.S If you don't make Tedromeda do the dirty sometime soon I will rip my hair out. It isn't fair that she did it with Rabastan, of all people, and not with Ted. It took them long enough to say that they loved each other.

 Report Review

Review #4, by TumTum Oil & Water

23rd October 2014:
Oh my gosh this chapter was traumatic. Whether it was Andromeda pushing Ted away or Ted imagining it had something to do with his job rather than Andromeda just being so cowed. Or the ending on top of everything else. I'm gearing up to hate Narcissa.

I really want Andromeda to be able to rise above all this like a queen and own her decisions and the bad names they called her because they're wrong and she knows it and also just * them. But I can see that she's a long way from that being possible and she might always stay in this halfway point between seeing that pureblooded, Black family nonsense for what it is and it being deeply entrenched. I hated that she didn't go to the ministry when she was cursed in order to protect her family - that's the kind of thinking that makes them so sure of themselves, so invulnerable.

I want to know what Sirius makes of all this - for Andromeda's sake because I reckon he could help and also for what it means for the decisions he takes in the future. I kind if want them to stay in each other's good regard.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Endless_Forms Oil & Water

23rd October 2014:
Wow, I love this so much. What's both the best and the worst part with fics about canon couples is that you know that eventually they'll get together but it really does tug the heartstrings to see all the struggles that they go to to reach that point. Anyway, this is one of my favorite fics and thank you very much for continuing with your magnificent updates.

 Report Review

Review #6, by TumTum Curse

9th October 2014:
Hi! This is just superb I love it. It's all so well thought through and well written. The character development is especially great - I love Ted and Andromeda, I think you nailed them and what it is that they find appealing in each other and gosh the chemistry between them is great. I would very much like them to get together please.

I also love Nelson, Sirius, George and Lillith. Narcissa is very well done although I can't make myself like her too much because I suspect she won't be a good sister to Andromeda.

Reading this has twists me up though just thinking about how many of these characters (characters that Andromeda cares for) are going to die in the books. Just ugh, it's got me wondering how she copes through that time and what her relationship with Teddy is like? Or how you imagine her relationship with Remus and especially Tonks played out? Don't suppose you would ever do a sequel in the next gen years? I'm being greedy sorry.

I had it in my head when I was reading this that it was finished and was horrified when I got to the last chapter because I thought that you decided to leave it on a grim note of foreboding. I'm definitely looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Why, hello! I'm tickled pink to hear that you've enjoyed the story so far.

I'm rather partial to all of these characters, too. Heh. But yes, I'm afraid tough times are coming up for Narcissa and Andromeda. That's something I've been simultaneously looking forward to (because the writing will be strangely therapeutic) but dreading (because the writing will be so, so painful). WAH. D:

Ugh. I try not to think about how many people in this story are going to die. It puts me in a terrible funk. But yes! Once I've finished KYD, I really would like to write a collection of short stories on Ted & Andromeda's life together--especially the birth and growth of sweet ickle Tonks. :)

Oh gosh, no! No, as much as I love my cliffhangers, I would never leave the story on such a bleak note. Haha. Never fear, I intend to write a much happier ending than that. And I HOPE I'll have a brand new chapter in the queue today.

Thank you so much for such a sweet review! Hope you continue to enjoy the read. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by UnluckyStar57 Hogsmeade

5th October 2014:
SURPRISE!! I thought that I would go ahead and write another review for you, especially since I get the particular honor of being NUMBER 200!! Oh yes. :)

Ugh, so that was the biggest cliffhanger EVER, and I'm so glad that now there are more chapters so that I know what happens after Andie sees her poor Ted on the platform.

But first: The rest of the chapter.

Ugh, I can believe that Andie wanted Rabastan, to a degree, but it makes me so MAD. He's horrible, and she KNOWS that. But the body wants what it wants, and she was in such a vulnerable position. I wish that it didn't have to happen, but that's just the way it goes, I suppose. :/

Lilith is surprisingly forward-thinking for a pureblood. She totally ships Tedromeda, if only for the Romeo-and-Juliet-esque implications. And her opinion about Dark Magic is one that I can somewhat agree with--things are not evil until human beings impose moral codes upon them, and who's to say that the spells are actually "evil?" Not that I advocate the killing and torturing of people/animals/trees, but still. She's got a point.

Oh, George. Always one to go after the hot girls. I sort of ship Lilith/George, just a little bit. :) I like that, although he's friends with Ted, he doesn't really have a clue about what's really going on in Ted's mind. It's realistic, I think, and it's so hard to write a balanced dynamic of a guy friendship sometimes. Kudos to you for making that so real!

Ugh, Rabastan continues to gross me out. Hate.

AND HE IS TORTURING TED THAT IS SO WRONG AND UNDERHANDED AND UGH UGH UGH!!! He cheated on ANDIE, so she has every right to go after whomever she chooses. BUT HE HAS TO ASSERT DOMINANCE IN SOME TWISTED CAVEMAN SORT OF WAY. He. Is. Gross. End of story.

I'm procrastinating on my homework right now, and I should probably go stop procrastinating, but I WILL be back to review more later. And please update soon. :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: CONGRATULATIONS, LUCKY NUMBER 200.

I can't believe this story has gotten to 33 chapters and 200 reviews. Never did I ever imagine. WHEE. -pops bottle of champagne-

Merp. I kept making promises about not writing cliffhangers and then I realized that these were all empty promises. Tedromeda's story was made for cliffhangers, darn it.

The Rabastan Situation makes me mad, too. :( Andromeda was trying to force a way of living/thinking onto herself, and it didn't pan out the way she was hoping. Namely because Ted is the only boy for her other, but also because RABASTAN IS A BLEEPY BLEEP.

Haha, yes, Lilith is a bit of an adrenaline junkie. She likes living vicariously through Andromeda, and luckily she's not in a position where she has to face serious consequences for her lax ideas about Muggleborns. Unlike Andromeda... But yes! It is fascinating to think of the concept of Unforgivable Curses and "dark" arts in general, and how they earned their status over the years. I always found it interesting how black and white the faculty at Hogwarts seem to paint the matter, when really it's far more gray than that. (Not that I advocate killing or torturing, either!)

And yay! I'm glad you find the George/Ted dynamic to ring true. I really love that friendship, so I hope I'm doing it justice.

Thank you for another MAH-VUH-LOUS and so-so-kind review. I hope I'll have more updates for you soon!



 Report Review

Review #8, by UnluckyStar57 Touch

5th October 2014:
I am back!! (From beyond the gravveee...)

Nah, just kidding. There have been a whole lot of distractions in RL keeping me from reviewing this story, but I promise you that I've read every single chapter as it has come out. Some of them (like this one) I've read several times over, just because I like it so much.

And this chapter is as super-charged with emotion and feelings as some of the others have been. God, I love Tedromeda, and I love the way you write them. They are so fiery, so passionate in the way that only teenagers can be, but there is so much more at stake. This is Romeo and Juliet, but not really, because this is better.

Ugh, Madame Finley is so... clinical. And how dare she give Andromeda the bill when Ted is watching! That's just mean. I would like to think that she's a Ravenclaw, but not a nice one--one of the ones who has completely shut out emotion in favor of research and knowledge. Boo. :/

I liked Ted's predictions about himself--so spot-on. But when he said that he wouldn't wish his future self on anyone, I was like, "Oh no, Ted. Stop that. You're too freaking adorable." Ugh, what are you doing to me?! I ship Tedromeda, but I kind of have this major crush on Ted... Whoops. Anyways, he is so realistic, but he still has that annoying habit of assuming that Andromeda doesn't want him, when she SO CLEARLY DOES. Argghh.

And that kissing scene!! ♥ ♥ ♥ THAT is how you write a kissing scene! I don't ever write kissing scenes because I am so afraid of getting it wrong, of putting in too much maudlin description, but you have written so many great kissing scenes in this novel so far that I'm inspired to try and write my own. I love the image of Andromeda grabbing Ted by the collar, the fatal moment when they succumb to their obvious desire to participate in the kiss... And then the fallout. There is ALWAYS going to be a fallout with these two, at least until they get married, and even then, there might still be fallout. They're dynamic. They're electric. And I love them so much, oh my gosh.

Ugh, no! Icky Rabastan and his grabby hands and Andie and the way she gives in to all of that. She's desperate, and that's a terrible way to be. And even in the midst of all this, it's Ted's name on her lips. Rabastan isn't good enough. He never ever was.

Brilliant chapter, and I will try to finish reviewing all the other ones that you've written in the past few months! Please update soon so that I have an excuse to keep coming back and rereading. :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: WHY HELLO THERE.

It made me so happy to see not one but TWO of your marvelous reviews here! No worries whatsoever; RL has been slaying me, and I've had precious little time to write, let alone review!

Haha, personally I don't think it's too hard to beat Romeo & Juliet for a love story, because they were two really stupid teenagers who ended up getting a lot of people around them killed. See what a romantic I am? Hahaha. Ted and Andromeda may be stupid sometimes, but at least no one's died because of it.

Madame Finley is a mean, mean lady. I never thought of her Hogwarts House, but I think you're totally right. She WOULD be a Ravenclaw. Not that Ravenclaws are inherently mean--just, like you say, I think she has too much of a propensity for cold, hard logic and zero emotion.

Ahaha, well if I do end up going completely non-canon, you can totally have Ted! Jk, I'm staying canon. Except that in my head I pretend Ted doesn't die... D: He has this major problem with self-deprecation, especially around Andromeda. Silly boy. Silly, silly boy.

Aw, you make me blush! -BLUSH- I'm glad you thought the kissing scene was well handled. Like you, I'm always a little nervous about making them too melodramatic, but at the same time I want the reader to get some pay off for sticking with the couple in question for so long. It's a fiiine balance, and I feel like I don't always strike it. But yup, there is always going to be fallout between Ted and Andromeda. It's just the way they work.

Urgh. It made me angry to have to write the closing scene, but yes, Andromeda is quite desperate and would like very much to convince herself that she's happy with a pureblood life and not with Ted. Which obviously is a FAIL. :(

Thanks so much for the lovely, lovely review! I'm nearing completion of Chapter 34, and I really hope to put it in the queue today!


 Report Review

Review #9, by MarieBlack Curse

15th September 2014:
JUST WHEN I THINK OH MERRY ME THEY GET TO BE TOGETHER.

I do rather like this plot twist though, it makes absolute sense with their thinking and all that jazz. I can't imagine they just let them leave the family unscathed honestly, because they are so terribly violent and ruthless people at heart. It makes me unbearably sad for Ted and Dromeda though.

I read this some time ago admittedly but I just found some time to write a proper review.

Walburga is awful but she is clearly represented as who Bellatrix takes after in their family. Like most obviously with her sadistic attitude of punishment. I like to think Cissa takes after their mother, much more reserved and not nearly as out right cruel. She let's Walburga handle that. So in a way it's like their personalities are lived out in those two. But Dromeda, she is like them in ways but also Ted has had this amazing impact on her. It's the coolest thing to see!

And I feel so bad for them and you need to write more and okay. Happy writing!

Author's Response: You didn't think I'd make it THAT easy, did you?! Haha.

And yes, it's extremely tough to put Ted and Dromeda through, but I have a master plan! We'll just see if it pans out like it should... :]

Yes! I see the Walburga/Bellatrix and Druella/Narcissa parallel in much the same way. As psycho as Bellatrix ends up becoming, I knew there had to be several events in her past that influenced her sadistic know-how. And sweet Auntie Walburga is certainly one of them.

Thanks so much for the reviewww! Things are super hectic IRL, but I hope to have a new chapter posted soon!


 Report Review

Review #10, by lookatthatfanfiction Curse

7th September 2014:
Stayed up all night reading this, I couldn't stop!! I've never given much thought to Ted and Andromeda's relationship before but this story is now one of my all time favourites! Please update the next chapter soon,you can't leave it on such a cliffhanger, I need to know more!!!

Author's Response: A binge read! YAY! Binge reads are my favorite. :] I am SO glad that you not only charged through the whole story, but also that you're rooting for Tedromeda. They're my top ship in all of Harry Potter, and it's been such fun to write something that's canon but has a ton of loose ends and leeway.

I'm bad at cliffhangers. -guilty face- But I'm hard at work on the next chapter, and I hope to post it soon!

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan Curse

4th September 2014:
Ugh, Walburga is terrible, and that whole scene was incredibly chiling. I just.. ugh. Can't anything ever be easy for this couple?! They've been through so much already, and deserve some happiness!
I hope they find a way around that curse. I mean, I know they get married eventually, but I didn't imagine it was because they HAD to. Man, that is the worst. I can't blame Andromeda for being freaked out by marriage, but... well, at least they're being honest with each other now, so maybe things will get easier. I hope. Please? :p Great chapter though!

Author's Response: Walburga is an awful human being. :( I'm glad that the scene was chilling, though! Not in a sadistic way, of course, but just that it accomplished what I set out to accomplish.

Tedromeda haven't had an easy road, and it's certainly not getting easier, is it? But of course they will prevail in the end, however long it takes to get to that end! And YES. Honesty is key, and they've got that going for them at least. There's hope for them yet.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Celestialbattlefield Curse

2nd September 2014:
"in an instant andromeda went cold..it felt as.though her blood had turned into anicy sludge"
:0 (no.) ooh amazing simile.gothic awesomeness

" see if he wants you now mudblood *" :'( >:'(
die walburga die! what kind of name do you possess anyway..DIE
"i dont want to marry you!"
DO U WANT A SLAP!! stop playing hard to get and take your man and run away to jamaica OK!!
marry him lift the curse and b happy

"pain welled in andromedas chest..sharp and acidic"
...lemons.damn it :(
" dromeda we were made to be close" ahh :)

ok this isnt evn a review just random jumbles of quotes nd thoughts.

when does all the drama end?
i dont thnk dromeda eill ever marry ted willingly BRUTE FORCE REQUIRED.

Author's Response: Hahaha, what kind of name DOES Walburga possess? Seriously, everyone who has ever named a kid in the Black household deserves to be held accountable--especially Andromeda. Much as I love her, what kind of name is Nymphadora?

I liked your random jumble of quotes and thoughts. Thanks for taking the time to share them! Haha. And just wait. Andromeda might be taking her sweet time, but she may see reason yet. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan Confession

15th August 2014:
Aw, the bit where she thinks Narcissa might understand. So naive of her to think so, and she knows it. But she has a little hope about it, so that part made me so sad because of the way things actually turned out.

And wow what an intense lady! So very like her sisters in the way she carries herself in this scene, but for her, she's not acting this way because she wants to be that person, but because she's using the training of her upbringing for good instead. She can sure act when she needs to, and has quite the presence. Skills she will need for this confrontation with her parents.

Ted is there amjindojhf and they talked and he apologised and knjsdjkbf SHE TOLD HIM THAT SHE LOVES HIM!! YESS it was about time! Eeee snwknfjzne,djnc so many feels. But omg I agree with Ted, I'm super worried about what will happen to her when she goes to see her parents! Ackk the cliff hanger! I can't stand the suspense!

Awesome chapter. :)

Author's Response: It's very sad. :( The rift between Andromeda and Narcissa is one of the most tragic plotlines in my book. Aside from, you know, all the dozens of deaths JKR threw upon us. Haha.

Yesiree, struttin' her stuff, yo. Andromeda knows how to turn it on, but yes, she's learned to do so for what she believes is a good cause. I like to think that this side of Andromeda always stayed with her. It's a pretty valuable resource to have on hand.

BUAHAHAHA YESSS. I've been waiting a long time to write this chapter, and I achieved major catharsis by doing so. AW YEAH. And I'm sorry for the cliffhanger, not to mention the fact that I'm taking forever to update. But I promise that a new chapter is in the works and on its way!

Thanks so, so much for the fabulous review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Sarah Confession

1st August 2014:
Love this story so much

Author's Response: Aw, yay! I'm so glad to hear that. Thanks for the review, and I hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Sanae (咲名枝) Confession

31st July 2014:
Oh no, with Walburga and Bellatrix there this isn't going to go very well. I wonder if Ted will have to do the saving this time? And George may figure out that something is wrong if he realizes that Andromeda's money showed up at his house, but no Andromeda. I hope at least someone is paying attention...

Author's Response: No, it most certainly won't go very well at all! Andromeda has rather an unpleasant ordeal before her. :( Thanks so much for the ongoing reviews! I hope to be updating the next chapter much sooner than the last.

 Report Review

Review #16, by DoctorUnderwood Confession

30th July 2014:
Well this'll be interesting, methinks.

Author's Response: It will indeed. Should have a follow-up in the queue soon!

 Report Review

Review #17, by MarieBlack Confession

30th July 2014:
OF COURSE YOU WOULD CUT IT OFF THERE, THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING ME.

Anywho. Let's dive in, yes?

Andromeda Black, the woman of power and poise herself. I like that in these moments of her being who she was raised to be you see the identifiable qualities in her that are so portrayed through Narcissa and Bellatrix in the books. You can see the family linkage so clearly that it makes her undeniably their sister.

I feel like parting ways with Cissa will be the hardest thing she has to do. I feel like it may send me straight to tears out of empathy, I can't imagine having to leave behind my own sister. It is utterly heartbreaking to know she will have to.

And then Ted, lovely Ted showing up in her room. And here to apologize, he is such a fine man. He is so Hufflepuff too, and even though he carries a sturbborness there is hardly an ounce of pride within him and that makes him absolutely lovely. AND SAYING I LOVE YOU, I'm so proud of Andie. I think it was right in her saying it first, it shows that she is sure of how she feels and I bet it quiets a lot of doubt from Ted. They're hitting this precious stage of coupledom that I have been eagerly awaiting.

Back to Onyx House, I am with Ted on this as I am so very very nervous. Especially when she arrives and Aunt Horrible is there. I hate that woman. You've got me on my toes to see how this all goes next!

Happy writing, I really sincerely enjoyed this chapter all the way through! xx

Author's Response: BUAHAHA. I'm sorry, I know, I knowww, that's bad of me. But at this point, I've just had to face the facts: I will probably be writing cliffhangers from here on out. You've been forewarned! And I'm apologizing in advance. :)

I'm so happy to hear that you see Andromeda's resemblance to her sisters. I wanted to give her a chance to show that, if she wanted, she could totally own that Ice Queen Lady of the House of Black persona. She was raised for that, and it's still very much in her blood. But now she's just using it for a better purpose.

Sigh. Like I've mentioned before, I am NOT looking forward to writing Cissa and Andromeda's final exchange. I may have it planned out, but that's not going to make it any easier emotionally.

Ted can be an exemplar of Hufflepuffness when he wants to be. Andromeda finally said it! And yes, it was very important to me to have her say it first, too. I mean, Ted has told her he loves her before, but in a very high stress situation. This was Andromeda's chance to relieve his doubts, and that's exactly what Ted needed at this point.

As for Onyx House... Suffice to say, it won't be pretty. :(

Thanks so much for the review! Hope to post the next chapter soon.



 Report Review

Review #18, by Ziska Confession

30th July 2014:
Such a cliff hanger to leave it on, it's horrible. Poor Andromeda!! But brilliant chapter :)

I was so excited when I saw that you wrote a new chapter. I loved seeing Andromeda so brave when she went into Gringotts and it was such a nice surprise to see Ted. I love that he seems to be getting better and that they actually talked to each other. So many happy feelings. :):)

I do agree with Ted though, she shouldn't go back to see her parents. Really worried for her. Very glad to know that she survives this. I understand her reasoning that she needs to see them, but I also hate the idea of her going back to them alone. They are 4 adult wizards who aren't afraid to use even unforgivable curses. I am really quite nervous to read about what happens next.

What a roller coaster of a chapter. As usual it was amazing and I loved reading it, especially the middle bits with Ted and Andromeda together. Ted says the sweetest things :)

Author's Response: I seem to have a penchant for cliffhangers. Which I guess would bode well for me if I were a TV screenwriter, but in this case is probably just obnoxious. :)

I was so excited to *post* a new chapter! I've been super busy in RL, and I hadn't even realized that more than a month had gone by since my last update. Which is a shame, because I've missed writing Tedromeda!

Yes. They finally TALKED. Though Andromeda didn't necessarily listen to all the advice she should have... Like you say, Ted has good reason to be worried about her visit to Onyx House. But then again, where he sees cruel monsters, Andromeda sees family. She's going to have to learn the hard way how to shift her paradigm. :(

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ziska Refuge

29th July 2014:
So I finished the story as far as you have gotten a few days ago (to chapter 31) but I can't seem to get the characters out of my head, so much so that I have been going back and rereading some of my favourite chapters. This is def one of them.

After spending a bit of time with the Black family it is so wonderful to see George and Nelson and of course Ted. I think that what makes this story so interesting and memorable is the characters.

I love Nelson. He is one of my favourite characters in your story. His comments are brilliant and in a story filled with so much sadness and difficulty the humour is great. Its perfect that he is the first muggle that Andromeda really talks to. I love that Nelson is Ted's family and how close the brothers seem to be.

The contrast between Andromeda's house and Ted's home is also great. Andromeda's house seemed so cold and unwelcoming and scary that I was so happy when she left, while the Tonk's house seems like such a welcoming and friendly place. It does seem like a perfect refuge. :)

I just really love this story and may have to keep rereading chapters until there are new ones.

Author's Response: Two more reviews! What a treat. :) It really means a lot to me that you came back to review some of your favorite passages.

I'm glad to hear that "Refuge" is one of your favorite chapters, because it was definitely one of my favorites to write! I'd been eager to both show Andromeda in an entirely new environment and introduce Ted's home life.

Oh, Nelson. Haha. I wrote both him and George to serve as comic relief during some particularly bleaks parts of the story, but I wanted to flesh them both out into more dimensional characters, too, and I hope I've been successful. I'm glad to hear that Nelson is ringing true for you!

Yes! The Tonks residence was certainly meant to be a refuge on many levels. It's really the first time that Andromeda has ever been face-to-face with a) lack of money, b) a non-pureblood household, and c) a family that loves each other. And that's a lot to take in at once.

Thanks for the REread and review! I'm hoping to have Chap 33 up soon.


 Report Review

Review #20, by ChampagneSupernova Fumbling

27th July 2014:
Ah, so I just read this whole story in one night and stayed up till 2 am and it was totally worth it. I'm obsessed. This is for sure the best Ted and Andromeda story I've read. I think your plot is very original and I've never read a story quite like it. I also really appreciate your secondary characters and I think you have given George, Lilith and Nelson and excellent voice. Sorry if this is at all confusing, as previously mentioned it's 2 am. Anyways thanks for writing it and I'm throughly looking forward to reading any and all upcoming chapters!

Author's Response: Buahaha, YAY. I'm sorry if reading the story cost you any sleep, but I am totally NOT sorry about the binge read. :] Tedromeda & Co. have come to mean so much to me during the writing process, so it makes my day to read that they're ringing true. Aaaand there's a new chapter in the queue as I type, which means you shouldn't be waiting too long for an update! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ziska Fumbling

25th July 2014:
I have read this entire story in one day. I have loved it so so much. I can't believe I now have to wait for chapter updates, I just want to know what happens next. This is probably one of the best harry potter fan fictions that I have ever read. I love the characters and everything about it. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it.

Author's Response: Thank YOU so much for taking the time to review! AND to read thirty-one chapters in one day. Aw yeahhh. It makes my day to know that KYD was binge-worthy. :) Hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #22, by MarieBlack Fumbling

17th July 2014:
Ah, my summer has returned to me which means more time to gobble up this story! Where to begin!

I think the first thing that grabbed me was Andie returning the ring, oh man will that be a stir. She really is leaving it all behind for him, and for herself I believe as well. As much as leaving her family was for Ted at the end of the day I think it would have been something she would have considered down the road, Ted just happened to be the catalyst for it. There is something in Andie that just ticks differently than the rest of the Blacks.

AND OH MY GREAT GOLLY GOSH. That bedroom scene! Can we say swoon? Like major super swoonage. Like so much. Like when Ted says "You're my recovery," I don't know how Andie held it all together. But it was so freakin' fantastic until in comes Nelson. And it is so wonderfully amusing how he reacts as a brother, albeit it does lead to a fight between Ted and Andie.

Ted and Andie's fight was coming though, I think it was needed to open Ted's eyes. He doubts the change in her, he thinks that she can just flip back to who she was the moment she counts the cost of what she has done. He doesn't have the faith in Andie that he should. He's got a little growing up to do, it's not just Andie who needs to grow any longer. Nelson is such a dear brother too, even to Andie.

Andie's family business makes me exceedingly nervous. I just want her to be strong through it all. If there was ever a time where I wish I could show a character their future of Nymphadora and her happy family to come I would love to show her that, to make her brave I guess. I love Andie!

Keep 'em coming, and happy writing! I intend to see this to the end!

Author's Response: Aw, hurray! It was so fantastic to read this review.

Yes, this was a pretty pivotal chapter for Dromeda. Even though she already set the wheels in motion back when she saved Ted, I think that giving back that ring is the first time that the weight of Andromeda's decision has really struck her. It's going be rough for her from here on out. :(

Dawrh, I thought it was high time that Ted and Dromeda get a *little* bit of romance, however completely ill-timed and misguided it is. And count on Nelson to always step in and make things awk.

The fight was definitely coming. Both Ted and Andromeda have some lessons to learn--but especially Ted. A lot of his doubt comes from his personal insecurity, and that's something he needs to work with.

Andie's family business is making ME nervous, too. Haha. It's going to be pretty excruciating for her, but as we of course know on this side of the story, she has the courage and the character to make it through!

Thanks so much, as always, for the lovely review! Hope to be posting more SOON.


 Report Review

Review #23, by What's in a name Fumbling

15th July 2014:
I love it I love it I love it so much ugh
Please don't disappear and then never update again or a least for months at a time I like this too much

Author's Response: Never fear! I could never abandon my beloved Tedromeda. Updates are coming out more slowly this summer, just because it's a bit of a madhouse in RL, but rest assured I'm still writing away! I hope to have a new update out within the next two weeks.

I'm so glad you're enjoying the story so far. Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfan Fumbling

9th July 2014:
Warning: This review will consist of a lot of me shouting at your characters because OH MY GOD THEY NEED TO TALK. GAAAHHH

Okay, I love the way Andromeda gave back Rabastan's ring. Like it's not even worth the two seconds to speak with him in person to give it back, she cares that little. Also, I doubt it would be good for either of them if she saw him in person at this point anyway, heh.

Andromeda was almost on the point of telling Ted she loved him! She even thought about it... and then DIDN'T. WHY, ANDIE?! SAY IT! But no, hormones get the better of her common sense. BUT SERIOUSLY SHE NEEDS TO TELL HIM SHE LOVES HIM. She's told so many others, including McGonagall and George (!) SO SAY ITTT AAAGH

Now that I'm done yelling at Andromeda, I think Ted needs to be yelled at as well, because he doesn't seem to realize how much Andromeda has changed, and keeps holding over her head all the things she said before when she had those prejudices. And I guess this would change if Andie actually said she loved him... but gah! It's frustrating to read Ted being so stubborn and seeing only who Andie was and not who she has become. But I guess that's what makes a story ;) I can only hope that now that Andromeda has specifically told Ted she's changed, that Ted thinks about that AND THAT THEY TALK. WITH WORDS. Asdjfoajsl

Sorry about the extreme spasticness of this review and all the shouting. It's only a testament to your fabulous writing, I promise. More please! ♥

House Cup Review 2014

Author's Response: Oooh, I like posts with lots of caps--and especially when they're deserved, because YES Ted and Andromeda most definitely need to talk, the silly hormonal goons.

At least Andromeda takes the right route by not talking to Rabastan, though, eh? Eh?

There would be quite a clearing of confusion and drama if Ted and Andie were both totally upfront about things. And YES, Ted is still stuck in a mindset that has a lot to do with his own insecurity. They both have their issues that they need to work out. But as you know, this story has a (temporarily) happy ending, so I suppose it's no secret that they WILL work those issues out. Over time...

I solemnly thank you for you extreme spasticness. Those are my favorite types of reviews! :D Thanks for both of these great reviews, and I hope to have a new update out soon!


 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan Aftermath

9th July 2014:
I'm sorry I've been neglecting this story - I've been in the middle of nowhere without internet for a month. But it did mean that I had TWO chapters to read when I got back which was really exciting :D

I loved the scene with Andromeda and Nelson at Ted's bedside. Hugs! Another confession that Andie loves Ted! And Nelson being super nice. Andromeda has finally realised that she's got a choice, AND SHE CHOOSES TED. I just want to hug this scene.

The scene where she's interviewed was so uncomfortable. (I don't mean that your writing is uncomfortable, just that scene - I cant imagine how awkward and strange it must have been for Andromeda to confess her love for Ted in front of professors and George - and I loved McGonagall's assessment of that, haha. Gah, I hate that Rabastan got off without any punishment, but Ted was right, mutually assured destruction if Andromeda has mentioned anything about Rabastan's dark magic.

SHE CHOSE TED AT THE END ♥ Aw, George and Lilith!! Love that line at the end there. ♥ Gah, I love this story.

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Oh, YAY! I was so excited to see that you'd left two reviews here. In the middle of nowhere without internet? That actually sounds pretty awesome right about now. Hope you had a fantastic time!

Um, I officially give you and the Andromeda/Nelson scene permission to hug. The scene greatly appreciates this affection. :)

I'm glad that the scene with the professors came across as uncomforatable, because that's what I intended! Not that I'm trying to be sadistic (I hope), but Andromeda really needed to be rammed quite soundly against the confession that she loves Ted. And I was very excited to fit McGonagall in there because a) she is wonderful, and I love her and b) because of her own backstory.

SHE CHOSE TED, INDEED. Glad you appreciated the George & Lilith bit at the end. Tee hee.

Thanks so much for such a lovely review. Now on to the next one!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>