Reading Reviews for Kill Your Darlings
316 Reviews Found

Review #1, by swtmix Irresistible

11th October 2015:
Thank you so much for this. I absolutely adored this story (my first Tedromeda!) and wasn't able to put it down. Really well written and I loved every bit of it. Can't wait for the sequel!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by tedlover Irresistible

28th September 2015:
This was so good. I love ted and andromeda and you just made me so happy. :)

Author's Response: Hurray! It's always a pleasure to hear from another member of Team Tedromeda. :) So glad you enjoyed the story. Thank you for reading & reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Aash Irresistible

27th September 2015:
It was amazing reading this story pls do write more

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you enjoyed the read. I'm hoping to resume work on Your Hand in Mind soon!

 Report Review

Review #4, by TreacleTart Dark Arts & Doubts

22nd September 2015:
Hi there!

Back for chapter two!

Yikes! Rabastan bought a ring. That is scary indeed. I can understand how Andromeda is feeling. I can't imagine anyone would want to marry him. I mean his family is completely psychotic. Plus, he's got that old Pureblood thing going on, so he'll probably expect her to get married and start pumping out children. Although there's nothing wrong with that if that's what she wants, I feel pretty confident that she isn't working her butt off in school for no reason.

I kind of feel a bit frustrated with Narcissa and her desire for this all to be some cute little hobby that Andromeda has going on. It's fine that Narcissa is content with the direction of her life, but I wish she could understand a bit better that Andromeda isn't her.

Oh! Tutoring! I had wondered how you were going to get Andromeda to start falling for Ted. Considering her current viewpoints, I figured it was going to be pretty hard to do, but this scenario makes sense. I can't imagine her voluntarily hanging out with Ted, but in this case, since a teacher asked her to do it, she has an excuse.

I do hope that Andromeda keeps fighting the expectations of her. I have a feeling that Ted will really start to stir some rebellious feelings in her, which at this point I think is a really good thing.

As with the last chapter, this chapter was smooth and polished. Everything makes sense and is easy to follow. The dynamic between your characters works well and you've done a good job of maintaining interest so far.

I'll be back soon for another chapter!


Author's Response: Hello again!

Yes, Andromeda's in a bit of a pickle here. She's still trying to balance her own desires and everyone else's expectations of her, and I think externally she's pretending it can work, but internally she's beginning to FREAK. OUT, because working toward excellent grades and job prospects is nowhere aligned with marrying Rabastan and producing dozens of little Lestrange heirs. I do not envy her position one jot. :(

Narcissa is rather short on understanding and empathy when it comes to Andromeda's academics. But then, to be fair, Dromeda isn't exactly a fan of Narcissa's academic choices either. It's a tension that I think has always existed between the two of them and is sadly about to get even stronger.

Haha, yes tutoring. That handy little nudge from the Outside World. We'll see where that leads. . . -evil cackle-

Thank you so much for the kind words! I so appreciate you taking the time to read and review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by TreacleTart Ambition

21st September 2015:
Hi there!

I'm making an effort to stop by and review every story nominated for a Dobby, so that's how I ended up here. Congratulations on your nomination!

I haven't read any full length stories centered around Andromeda before, so I'm really excited to see where you're going to take this. I was a little taken aback by the way you characterized her. I always thought of her as being the kind sister who thought the Pureblood lifestyle was ridiculous, so it was a bit of a shock to see her be so blatantly rude to Ted. That being said, I think it's a great way to start this because assuming that this falls in line with cannon, we'll get a chance to see how she evolves.

I enjoyed the way you've written Lucius and Narcissa's relationship in this as well. It's nice to see some of the redeeming qualities in Lucius. Everyone always makes him out to be so awful, but I always got the impression that he loved his wife (and eventually his child). I think that in the presence of other Purebloods he would've been decent to them.

The fact that Andromeda is dating Rabastan gives me the heebie jeebies. He turns out to be such an awful person that it's hard to imagine her with him. The scene where he puts his arms around her and starts kissing her neck really made my skin crawl. He's just so gross.

My favorite part of this chapter was the memory of Cygnus and how he encouraged Andromeda to use her intellect. Even if he doesn't say it blatantly, you can tell that he supports her dreams of an education and that it makes him very proud to have a daughter who's more than a brood mare.

As far as the technical aspects of this chapter, everything looks good so far. I'm enjoying the plot development and pacing. Your characters are interesting and I'm curious to know more about them. I didn't really notice any awkward sentences or major errors.

I did pick up on two typos, but they were very small.

His union with Narcissa would be smart match, - be a smart match

Iíve got a deluge wizarding exams Ė deluge of wizarding exams

All in all, I think you've got a great story here so far! I'm headed off to read the next chapter right now.


Author's Response: Hello, hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and to leave such a thoughtful review. This made my day!

Yes, all of the Tedromeda I'd read before writing Kill Your Darlings painted Andromeda as inherently different from her sisters--which I think is its own worthy interpretation, but I wanted a chance to make Andromeda really evolve. And I'm always a sucker for hate --> love romances. :)

I'm glad you like Lucius' characterization so far! I agree, I think he's someone capable of being very awful to anyone he doesn't consider worthy of his attention, but the books always made it seem like he really did harbor a genuine love for Narcissa. I had a fun time exploring that dynamic.

Rabastan is horrid, indeed. I felt a bit nauseated every time I had to write a scene with him.

And yay! Glad you enjoyed the scene with Cygnus. Writing flashbacks like that was one of my favorite parts of the process. I love imagining what life must've been like for kids brought up in the House of Black.

And thank you for pointing out those typos!

Very Best,

 Report Review

Review #6, by reverie Irresistible

20th September 2015:
Just read this book in one day. Absolutely loved it! I think my OTP just switched to Andromeda and Ted Tonks. You don't see stories about them much - this was so original and nicely written and basically everything was amazing.

Author's Response: Hurray! I'm tickled pink to hear this. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by notreallyblonde44 Adjustment

18th September 2015:
21 chapters in, and I'm finally reviewing! I've been reading your fic like a love-sick addict. I love this story, I love your portrayals of the Black sisters, and love the pacing of one of the best pairings in the hp-universe!!

I don't think I'll capture everything I've wanted to say as I've been reading, but I was on my iPad and thoroughly too engrossed in the story to stop and try to type on that thing :P So I'll try to leave more in the future as I continue...Oh and I think I've cried an upwards of five-ten times during the first 21 chapters. And that's such a good thing! The beautiful and ugly feeels~~

OK, so you take the full time needed to explore the depth of these two characters that come from such different backgrounds. You explore the darker aspects of being a pureblood, what that means, where there biases come from etc (is that Scourgify book canon or something you made up? either way, it's brilliant).

I mean you realy tackle the details well, which is so important to the believably of this pairing in the end. Like they don't just get over all their experiences and the hate lobbed at one side or anything because of ~love and chemistry~ (which they have too! and that one scene was hot hot hothotohtohtt) but they go through the process of talking to each other and gosh, you are so good at showing the reader what's happening and giving each scene it's due focus as opposed to glossing anything over. Like we need the chapters of growth, without Ted, of seeing Andie fail and be with her family (which are so awful to her! but Sirius. the Sirius scenes warm my heart every time!) and try and go through these inner conflicts on her own. Her growth is so integral to the plot, it's so much more than "just a love story" it's beautiful.

You've really thought this fic out, very well plotted, and goes through an entire school year without you ever needing to directly be like "this is what month it is" (which I do and hate when I do it because I feel like it takes the reader of the emotions, etc,etc /end soap box rant). I'm sitting here like, this may almost be over yes and no?? Torn. I want her and Ted to happen so badly, Ted's the sweetest on earth yet he's not going against his values too and like really puts Andie into her place and vice versa when need be.

Your writing is excellent, the dialogue even better! It's not just banter for banter's sake. It's real characters speaking to each other with real feelings and histories and yeah, gush gush// I'll try to say more next review, but I love this fic a lot and wanted to let you know ;)


Author's Response: Oh goodness, thank you for such a thoughtful and sweet review! This was one pleasant surprise to find waiting for me upon logging in.

Ha! Not that I'm happy you cried, but I'm happy the story MADE you cry. Is there a difference? In my mind there is.

Scourgify is book cannon, but I wish it were just LIFE cannon. It would really come in handy.

It means a lot to me that you found their personal and relational evolution to be natural. That was one of my biggest concerns when writing--that something about their progress wouldn't ring true. Baha, and I'm glad you liked little Sirius. Not gonna lie, writing him in was maybeee important but mostly just a guilty pleasure on my part. :)

Anyway, I'm so, so happy to hear you enjoyed the read. Reviews like this make me all the more eager to keep writing! Thank you for taking the time to invest in the story AND to check in and let me know your thoughts. Hope you continue to enjoy!

 Report Review

Review #8, by zegrindylows Irresistible

18th September 2015:
That was an absolutely wonderful story. My first Tedromeda, and I'm totally in love. Entirely deserves the Dobby nomination, and I hope you win it. Thanks for writing :)

Author's Response: Thank YOU for reading! :) I'm so glad you enjoyed the story.

 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotter Damage Control

13th September 2015:
Okay, favourite part of this chapter - ďI thought it was customary for Blacks to fall in love with their cousins. Thatís how youíve stayed so ancient and noble for so long, isnít it?Ē LOL! Lilith just summed up the whole of pureblood wizard society in one line.

I love how fondly Andromeda refers to Sirius, and how they still made the effort with each other even though they were in rival houses. I also have a new found adoration for Andromeda after she didn't warn the boys about the mushrooms, the slight rebellious nature of hers fits with Ted having the tattoo ;)


 Report Review

Review #10, by HeyMrsPotter Indiscretion

13th September 2015:
Oh no no no no no!! Narcissa!! I am so mad right now!

As hilarious as drunk Andromeda was (I laughed so hard at the vomiting on his fish and chips, and her calling him Tonksh), I'm so cross that it led to Ted crossing paths with Narcissa and her speaking to him like that. I hope he pays no attention to her :(

Must read on!


 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotter Impressions

13th September 2015:
Omg I am so in love with the first half of this chapter. That first proper interaction between Andromeda and Ted was just brilliant. I love the way that she thinks so highly of him even if it's against everything she's ever been raised to believe. And the fact that he seemingly just gets her right away. Love love love♥

I really loved the flashback you chose to write too, and the way that you linked it back to the way Ted had spoken about the Black family. This was my favourite chapter so far :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by HeyMrsPotter Dark Arts & Doubts

13th September 2015:
Me again!

This was another really great chapter. I love that it feels very authentically time-appropriate. I've always thought that the magical community was a little old fashioned anyway, but even in Harry's era the witches weren't all about getting husbands and being housewives, so the fact that they are back in Andromeda's time at Hogwarts feels about right. Their girl talk was a really enjoyable part of this chapter, it's definitely a conversation I can imagine happening.

I adore the idea of Andromeda tutoring Ted. He's obviously under her skin already so this can only be a good thing :p


Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm glad the time period is ringing right to you. Based on what I've read, the "ancient" pureblood families have always been unhealthily fixated on an equally archaic idea of "making a good match," and it seems like this was (unfortunately) an even more prominent mindset during the Marauder Era. And haha, hurray! Pleased to hear the girl talk was enjoyable; it was definitely a fun bit of conversation to write.

Yes, Dromeda and Ted clearly need a little external nudge. So here we go! Let's see where the nudge takes them. :) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by HeyMrsPotter Ambition

13th September 2015:
Hey! I'm here to read up on your story for the Dobby voting :) Congratulations on the nomination!

The first thing that strikes me about this story is how amazing your descriptions are. I was really thrown into the story with the beautiful details.

I really like that you immediately set Andromeda apart from the rest of her family, which fits in with the little that we already know about her from the books. I like that she was set in her need to take the NEWTs and not follow tradition of the women in her family. The way you described Narcissa was perfect too. Rabastan is such a creeper, he really gave me the chills the way he spoke to Andromeda!

Great opening chapter :)


Author's Response: Hello, hello! Thanks for the congrats AND for taking the time to read and review. I'm moving at a snail's pace on replying to reviews, but each one means a bunch to me, so THANK YOU. I hope to get to each one of your subsequent reviews soon!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rumpelstiltskin Damage Control

10th September 2015:
The episode at the bar was quite spectacular. I'm glad I was able to see a quite different side of Andromeda, albeit she was intoxicated. Not wanting Ted to leave her when she was in such a state, and probably feeling a little dazed and confused, seemed natural. I'm really digging his kindness, you've made him a terrific person.

Narcissa, of course, is acting like the protective sister, as I'd expect. Though I don't agree with her treatment of Ted, I couldn't expect anything less, because as I've said before, that's how they were raised.

I feel SO bad for Ted at the beginning of this chapter! Andromeda has such a distorted view on values (that upbringing thing, again), when the poor guy was only trying to help her. Ah well... drama keeps things interesting ;).

Sirius warning Andromeda was cute, and she at least is kind-hearted towards him (for the most part) unlike her sister. Oh, and Lilith's comment about if Sirius was only a few years older was kind of priceless.

I now NEED to know if Narcissa will finish school or not! That's a very dramatic decision, but as she said, she won't really need to finish school to be Lucius' wife; there's really no point, other than the self-satisfaction, self-worth, and heck, the skill. She doesn't seem to think she'll need any of those, and this is where I feel so bad for her because she's just SO. IN. LOVE. and he'll put her and her family through so much...

*cough* Anyway.

I kind of love that she left Lucius and Rabastan to fall victim to the Marauder's prank ;)!

Well, I've loved this so far. It's well-written, and a lot of fun. I'll have to come back after a short while though, as I have a TON of Dobby reading to do!

Thanks for the great read!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Rumpelstiltskin Impressions

10th September 2015:
Okay, evidently I'm terrible at attempting to review in clumps instead of chapter-by-chapter, but I get carried away with things to say!

I love the initial hate that Andromeda inflicts on Ted. While I find it extremely humorous that Ted's advances had been the result of a dare, I completely understand her reaction, because I would have had a negative one too.

It's brilliant that she thinks so highly of herself, but why wouldn't she? It was the way she was raised. Of course he *had* to be gay if he didn't find her attractive ;), that made me laugh. I love the conflicting personalities between Ted and Andromeda, while both have proven to have the ability to be quite harsh (insults, insults everywhere), Ted seems so carefree and generally laid back while Andromeda is so controlled and up tight.

Andromeda's single statement of not wanting kids, and her curiosity with Ted further emphasizes that she doesn't have actual feelings for Rabastan, but instead is inclined to feel something for him because she is *supposed to*.

Surprising herself by actually enjoying having a conversation with Ted, who conflicted what she'd been led to believe all of her life about Muggle-borns, is a great opening into a change in belief and feelings that I'm anticipating seeing throughout this story.

I thouroughly enjoyed the peek into the past for Andromeda and Narcissa, as it does help explain why they behave the way they do (through their upbringing).

As a reader, I can see the heaviness of the "duties" that are expected of her as a pureblood witch are beginning to weigh on her. That in combination with being forced to interact with Ted creates a great beginning to a personal change.

I can't wait to read more!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Rumpelstiltskin Dark Arts & Doubts

10th September 2015:
Hey there!

I'm taking a quick pause here to review the last two chapters (I would review one by one, but I'm a devastatingly slow reviewer, and I'll never have the Dobby noms read in time if I do). I've decided to review as I fill napkins with notes :).

I've loved these first two chapters. The imagery and detail at the beginning of the last chapter was lovely, and lines like "ice drops hung from their ends like frozen tears" gave my inner reader some great joy. Also, Andromeda's detailed feelings throughout are making it easy to connect with her and, therefore, care about her -- which is great.

I completely understand why she would be put-off by Narcissa telling everything to Lucius, but I love the sisterly bond between Andromeda and Narcissa in these chapters.

I also love the bit of girl talk that occurs between Andromeda, Narcissa, and Lilith (whose characterization I love, by the way). For some reason, it feels like when female characters interact with other female characters -- who they are friendly with -- there tends to be a revelation of traits that haven't previously been brought out. That's why I love such interactions, and I believe that you've done a great job with it!

For example, at the end of the first chapter, the reader is beginning to get the idea that something is off about Andromeda and Rabastian's relationship -- it just feels uncomfortable, like Andromeda isn't in love with him. Of course, in this interaction, it is revealed forthwith.

Of course, I also loved that the interaction with Ted Tonks has already begun. I think that this was one of my favortie lines so far, "How on earth did a Hufflepuff make it to seventh year DADA, anyway?" That made me laugh, and it reveals a bit about her characterization right now, that she's a product of her upbringing.

That, of course is further emphasized by her internal reactions to the professor asking her to tutor Ted ;). Ah, this is going to be fun. I haven't read a story yet that focuses on Andromeda and Ted before they were together, and I think you're doing a fantastic job with it!

Awesome so far, I can't wait to read more *prepares another napkin* (I'm out of scrap paper...).


Author's Response: Oh goodness, thank you for such a lovely review! Apologies for taking so long to get to it. Slowly but surely, I'm catching up.

So happy to hear you're enjoying the prose and Andromeda's characterization. That means a lot to me! I had such a fun (and later, angsty) time writing Andromeda and Narcissa's relationship. I've long been fascinated by this idea of purists treating everyone outside their sphere like dirt but being capable of great love and loyalty toward each other. It's so absolutely flawed and human.

And hurray! Writing scenes with just the girls was one of my favorite aspects of these early chapters. I agree--sometimes when it's just the girls, within the comfort of their dormitory, you see a whole new side of them.

Hahaha, yes, poor Andromeda is having the toughest time accepting that a Hufflepuff could be academically up to making it into seventh year ANYTHING. Sigh. But that mindset will change. . . Maybe. :)

Thank you again for taking the time to read & review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Pixileanin Dissonance & Resolve

7th September 2015:

This story was basically my weekend. I can't express myself very well right now, but this story was absolutely fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed all of the twists and turns. I'll come back and leave a proper review one day, but I wanted you to know that this fic will stick in my mind for a long time.


Author's Response: Thank you so much! This review just made my day. I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and I so appreciate you taking the time to let me know!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Dirigible_Plums Irresistible

6th September 2015:
I have just devoured this fic and loved every single word of it.

Author's Response: Hurray! "Devour" is a word I love love love to hear in a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the read. Thank you for taking the time to commit to all 159,954 words! Haha.

 Report Review

Review #19, by StarFeather Cavorting

1st September 2015:
Hi! I almost praise myself. Now chapter 9 finally!

Itís interesting to see Quidditch tactics from Terryís POV. Iíve never encountered such detailed description about Slytherin players. I like it!

I always like the description of eyes, especially between a man and a woman. The idea of the tool stone is brilliant, too. I wonder how you could thought of it.

After his banter around ghost story, we hold our breath and wait for the moment and he hesitated to kiss her. How do you make us wait? Is the scene in another chapter?
Theyíre such a cute couple. Alas, there still exists barrier of blood status.
Conflict between blood status and true love, she canít feel right facing Rabastan.
I enjoyed again. Iíll be back again.


 Report Review

Review #20, by StarFeather Rebellion, Within Reason

1st September 2015:
Hi, letís see how long I can keep writing review!

Wait, Tonks needs to recover after animagi? I know Remus needed the period to recover or something but why Tonks? I wondered why he had to stay to recover after transformation. It must be another secret. And her nightmare. Something bad will happen.

Okay, back to the story. In the fourth paragraph, you finally showed one of his secrets, the tattoo. I like the description, Ďcause so artistic and mysterious ( and sexy for Andromeda ). We can imagine how she was mesmerized by the sight of him.

I enjoyed her roundabout speaking way, too. You visualized how Slytherin witch tended to behave and how Hufflepuff was generous and knew common sense.

Oh, I felt so happy when Sirius and James Potter entered at the end. Thank you so much! I enjoyed their conversation, too.


 Report Review

Review #21, by StarFeather Secrets & Stipulations

1st September 2015:
Hi, I keep writing review, so here we go!

To worry about him is to love him. I remember Beatleís song, I forgot the title, John Lennon sang, ďTo know her is to love herÖĒ They are in this situation. Getting know each other, they started loving each other. He left his wand on his way to transform himself. How mysterious! And why he landed on the bed? I wondered if he broke his bone or somewhere. His saying ďDromedaĒ might sound so softly for her.

You described Rabastan in a picturesque way. You characterized him very well. Andromeda slightly felt his cruelty through his eyes. And at the end he showed his true nature. She couldnít take him in and went to Tonks. How dramatic!


 Report Review

Review #22, by StarFeather Slug Club

1st September 2015:
Hi, I came here to catch up again. Iíve read your story during this summer, and I couldnít stop reading, thatís why I didnít leave review. I just focused on reading.

So you showed us that Andromeda was beautiful from her sisterís and her friendís POV. We expect Tonks will aware of her beauty at Slughornís party. You had Snape enter, itís very natural. I enjoyed it, too.

The conversation between Lucius and Andromeda was interesting. She hid her true feeling towards Tonks, talking with Malfoy. Each words and the description of their movement are awesome.

The balcony scene reminded me of the movie where Hermione hid from Cormac McLaggen, but your situation is marvelous. They canít stop being aware of each other but misunderstanding still remains. Her struggle to be judged properly by him and his desire to be respected normally by her. They almost confess their true feeling.

I like this chapter the most, because I was sure and predicted he could transform into a bird, honestly! Your Tonks is so cool! I love animagus story!


 Report Review

Review #23, by StarFeather Damage Control

1st September 2015:
Hi, I enjoyed this chapter very much. The consequence was guessed easily from the previous chapter but I simply enjoyed their conversation. The verbal battle between a haughty witch from Pure-Blood and an ordinary Muggle-born. She slapped him with her pride but Tonks admonished her how to behave in a decent way. So he won the battle. She was completely knocked out. It was thrilling when I read this part.

One more, I was very happy that you let Sirius enter. You didnít betray my expectation towards him. You described his younger days from Lilith's POV and touched how Andromeda and Narcissa felt towards him naturally. So many kudos on this!

You characterized Lucius very well. He surely has both the coldness towards Blood status and the warmness towards his fiancť.

At the end you scattered the hint to the next chapters. She started to struggle thinking over the true love.

Iíll be back soon.


 Report Review

Review #24, by StarFeather Indiscretion

1st September 2015:
Hi, me again.

You wove Andromedaís complicated feeling towards her sister, Narcissa. She was happy to hear her engagement with Malfoy but she felt lonely, missed the time when they spent together. Itís very understandable she felt jealousy since her sister was younger and would marry with a man she loved earlier than her.

The idea her friend Lilith took the two pure-blood sisters to a Hogís Head Inn is well planned, too. The scene when she threw up on the plate of Tonks is shocking but very fun to read. How did you think of the plot? The event let her closer to him, and he couldnít ignore her in such a horrible state. He couldnít stop behaving like a gentleman.
The verbal exchange between Tonks and Narcissa was thrilling, too.

 Report Review

Review #25, by StarFeather Impressions

1st September 2015:
Hi, I came back here again.

The thrilling mind game has just begun. It can be said itís a game between a man and a woman, Pure-Blood and Muggle-born. Andromeda tried to ignore his appealing existence for his blood status but she canít take eyes off him. You manipulate readersí mind, too. We are getting absorbed in their games wondering which will lose first. Tonks is still a mysterious man for her, which urges her to know more about him. We all want to know about him more like her, we canít stop reading the next chapter.

The episode of the three daughters of Black in their younger days was interesting, too. You takes in each character very well: sinister was seen among Bellatrixís beauty. Not so sharp and angel-like Narcissa. Andromeda thinks herself not so remarkable but she has an ambition to do a big thing with her talent.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>