Reading Reviews for Kill Your Darlings
  
267 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Penelope Inkwell Irresistible

14th July 2015:
So, technically I finished this the other day, but I've had this page sitting on my computer because I needed some emotional space to write with any type of coherency.

Usually I write fairly detailed, analytical reviews, and I usually have little trouble finding the right words--I am a writer, after all ; ) But every chapter of this fic left me a mess, scrabbling for composure so that I could write something in the review box besides "OHMYGOSH AMAZING THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER I WANT TO READ A MILLION STORIES BY YOU I WANT TO GET TO READ SOMETHING LIKE THIS ALL THE TIME!"

Ahem. Yeah, so I'm trying to do better than that ; )

Your writing style is gorgeous. It's sort of spare and elegant. Your paragraphs stay short, in a way that makes for easier reading on a computer screen. And in spite of that spareness, you have so much detail. I can always imagine the settings perfectly. You balance between description and action and dialogue is practically flawless. I don't think I've read anyone else on this site who does it so well.

The plot was wonderfully imagined and beautifully executed. Andromeda and Ted were such compelling characters, fantastic and flawed, and I couldn't help but root for them. I loved how rich they were, as characters. You did not sacrifice any of Andromeda's complexity to make her more "likable". She wasn't always likable--she was rude and bigoted and superior, and I loved her anyways. Her development was gradual, natural, and it was done with such care I just have to applaud!

Ted wasn't simplified like so many Hufflepuff characters end up being. He's one of the best heroes I've read recently, published or not. In fact, he made me think of how utterly overrated those alpha-male arrogant type male leads are (though they can be fun to read). He is honorable and dependable and good-humored, but he also has trust issues and has had a difficult life. I absolutely loved him, as well.

It's been a day since I finished this, but I still have such a book hangover from it, and I think I will for a while longer.

From a writer's perspective, this story is an inspiration. It's one of those stories that feeds you, that challenges you and makes you want to be better, to try new things.

I could go on for days, I suspect, about what a treasure this story was, but in the end all I really need to say is thank you for writing it and sharing it. It was a joy to read, and I do believe it is my new favorite fanfic, bar none. 10/10, would let your writing shatter my heart again.

Thanks so much!

--Penny

(Oh, P.S., and on a MUCH lighter and slightly random note, I meant to say ages ago--Remus having a crush on Tonks' mom when they were in school together does give a whole lot more insight on why he was so completely insistent that he was too old for her. Of course, they belonged together anyway, but it does put it in a whole nother light. Poor Remus!)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Penelope Inkwell Breakdown

14th July 2015:
Oh thank heaven! She's finally realized it! Ted loves her more than the rest of them ever have.

I really love that you had McGonagall give her that talk and tell her about her backstory. My favorite thing about McGonagall is how, beneath all her prickliness and stiff upper lip, she sometimes does truly extraordinary things that show how much she cares about her students.

She saw that Andromeda was in need. And she recognized that Andromeda was as brave as any Gryffindor--braver than most--to have done all the things she did. And she gave her the personal attention that Andromeda really needed. I just love her, and I love that you wrote that in.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #3, by Penelope Inkwell Oil & Water

14th July 2015:
Uuuungh! I am distraught.

It just hurts so bad. She promised not to leave again, and then this? That's the thing that's a little weird to me. Like, I get that she wanted to make things right with Narcissa, so she couldn't marry him right away, but why was she unwilling to see if the curse was broken by their blood bond? Is it because she doesn't want him to see the scar that I'm assuming is on her arm? If so, that seems a terrible reason. I mean, she's going through a lot of emotional drama now, and all, but still.

And Ted. Has he missed the last match? Because he's cured now, so why not give Quidditch a try? Surely someone would at least take him on as a reserve player, and he could work his way up. And why not come back and finish out the school year. It seems odd that his employers would mind. After all, if he's going to write articles, he could do that from Hogwarts.

I'm still hoping he'll show up. Don't give up, Ted!


CC:
Adelaide found that she was crying
--Adelaide = Andromeda

And if Andromeda were to add to that grave injury the blow of marrying a blood traitor?
--this is maybe a minor thing, but technically she wouldn't be marrying a blood traitor. Marrying a Muggleborn, certainly. Becoming a blood traitor, yes. But Ted's not a blood traitor. He can't be--he has no pure blood to betray.

Or was he made about something else entirely?
-- "made" = "mad"

Highlight reel: “You’re a * exceptional bloke, and that’s me talking—your brother, who has a clear bias against you.”

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell Confession

13th July 2015:
Well.

Firstly, I'm glad to see that Andromeda is still Andromeda--taking action. And she breezed into Gringotts and got money, so now at least she'll have something. Clever girl.

Aannnddd FINALLY they've made up and talked it out. At sweet long last. I am so, so glad that Ted apologized, and that he admitted that he, too, had treated Andromeda poorly. I mean, Ted is wonderful, but it has bothered me, how he refused to accept that Andromeda was changing, how he always threw everything back in her face. And I can understand why he was afraid to trust, and I sympathize, but he was right--it made her feel so much worse about herself than she should have done.

And I'm glad that they could at least *talk* about his fears that she'd regret everything. I don't think he'll get over that fear--not so soon. But I think it was good that they addressed it.

And, of course, she finally told him she loved him. At last!

Okay, I am absolutely terrified of this next chapter though. You've written the Blacks excellently. They scare me to no end. I'm probably going to be in need of some of Lucius' anti-nightmare potion. Gracious.

CC:
If she let her mind dwell there any long, she felt sure that tears would stop her in her tracks
--I believe "any long" was meant to be "any longer"

"distain"
--just a spelling thing, as it should be "disdain"

"a nose that seemed to be broken in several place."
-- "place" = "places"

kneee
--knee

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #5, by Penelope Inkwell Aftermath

13th July 2015:
Oh man, I have never considered before, but Hogwarts teachers' experiences are so dramatic. They watch the most insane, convoluted relationships play out, because they teach you from age 11 to 18. The drama!

And you know this must be one of the craziest cases ever, because McGonagall--who is always composed--clearly thinks the world has gone completely topsy-turvy. I mean, I guess it has. Andromeda and Ted were, well, maybe not completely unprecedented, but probably pretty close!

I'm relieved that the stories match up. As much as I hate to see Rabastan get away with it, Ted was right--it was the only way.

Oh, and I've totally been shipping Georgith since I first knew they were going to come into contact with one another. It's great!

Highlight reel: "You know it’s bad when George Vanderpool has to be called upon to sober you up.”

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell Hurt

13th July 2015:
Ohmygosh finally. Finally.

And he called her Dromeda. My heart!

That was just so overwhelming. I can't even find the words right now, but it was an extraordinary chapter. So gripping. Excellently written. Just excellent.

(and for the record, I do try to be generally positive in my reviews, but I'm not always this much of a blubbering mess who can just type "excellent" and "wonderful". It's that you really do deserve the accolades. I haven't read a fic this good in ages. Maybe ever. It'll definitely always be one of my favorites.)

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell Hogsmeade

13th July 2015:
Cliffhangers are going to be the death of me.

First off, I would like to say that, in one fell swoop, you made me adore Lilith. I love how supportive she is of Andromeda, no matter who she loves. I love how protective Lilith is of her friends, and how she loathes Rabastan so much for hurting Andromeda (speaking of which, when I said I couldn't quite despise Rabastan? I think I spoke rashly. I an quickly coming to believe that I can).

I also like how Lilith is so confident. And how she doesn't immediately turn out to be a perfect person--she still doesn't have a problem with the Dark Arts, and she's more concerned with payback than with the idea of others suffering. I mean, they aren't good traits, but it makes her a more realistic character. She has good traits and bad. Besides, from how she sounded after witnessing the torture, I think she might change her perspective a bit.


CC:

Any and all Hufflepuffs headed to the Great Hall for a pre-Hogsmeade breakfast would have pass that way.

I think there's meant to be a "to" before the word "pass".

Andrmeda spotted George

Andromeda is missing a letter there.



I have to find out what's going to happen. I have to read forward, immediately.


Highlight reel:
“I am not a princess,” said Lilith. “I’m a badass, and if a man can’t treat me like that, he isn’t worth my time.”

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #8, by Penelope Inkwell Touch

13th July 2015:
Okay, well, now you've not just broken my heart; you've shattered it.

Oh, Ted. He's so honorable. He knows more about honor than all the members of the House of Black combined, for all that they drone on about it.

Oh my gosh, that moment when Ted said he'd fight for her was so painful and beautiful, and when she told him not to I just--agh

And I get why she did what she did. I get why she chose her family, and why she did what she did with Rabastan. Both to try to find out what was going on with the Death Eaters, and because she wanted to try, to see if she could be happy, or just to distract herself. I get it, but it still hurts so much because she's still so in love with Ted.

The thing is, Rabastan is a jerk, or he has been. But he's not one dimensional. He can be kind, in a way, and I think he's sincere in his regard for Andromeda. He does value her, just not the way she deserves to be valued. He's terrible, but Andromeda used to be pretty terrible, too. I can't like him, or even forgive him, because really there's been no reason to. But I don't totally despise him, either.

Also I really kind of despise Madame Finley. What doctor treats a donor/patient so callously? I wonder if she has a thing against Purebloods.

And we all know they're gonna try to hurt Ted. We ALL know they're going to pick Ted. I can't watch. I can't not watch.

My heart is just in absolute pieces. I am so emotionally invested now. What have you done to me you monster?!!

Just kidding, of course. This is such good writing and that's what good writing does. As Ron would tell us readers, we're going to suffer, but we'll be happy about it.


--Penny

 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell Persuasion

13th July 2015:
Whew! She did it! And man, dramatic grand gestures, much, Andromeda? But it was great!

I totally thought she was going to have to blackmail him with the example of the two who died within a day of each other--that if he died so might she. But I'm glad it didn't come to that. It would have just been another excuse for him to believe that her interest in them was self-centered. This way their relationship moves forward.

CC: At what point, Ted says,
“The perfect opportunity for what, exactly?

That phrase implies that Andromeda had previously mentioned that something was a perfect opportunity, but she never does.

Whew! These chapters take a lot out of me emotionally. This is like a binge-watch on Netflix! I just can't stop.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #10, by Penelope Inkwell Blood Bond

13th July 2015:
I think the whole metamorpha...er...magicking, thing, was a brilliant idea for a medical condition.

And Ted and Andromeda are connected now are they? Narcissa would not like that at all.

For that matter, sounds like Ted isn't too fond of the prospect, either.

I really enjoy George and Andromeda's relationship, such as it is. They always kind of crack me up, but I think they could get along really well, long term. Future family friends!

Well, that won't be possible if the two of them don't get to talking about their feelings and such! It's like as not to drive me mad, I tell you. But in a good way, of course.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell Meetings

13th July 2015:
Oh. Dear. I didn't even think about that. Andromeda and Narcissa talking about the Knights of Walpurgis? That sounds like a row in the making to me. I can't imagine Narcissa wouldn't take Lucius' side. I also can't imagine that Andromeda will just be able to brush it to the side. Could it be? Have we finally come to the straw that will break the back of this camel--said camel being the most depressing engagement ever

Well, maybe not ever. But it's on the list.

I am dying to see her talk to Ted. Oh, the suspense!

(Just for the record, I am still absolutely in love with this story. My love grows stronger every chapter).

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #12, by Penelope Inkwell Proposal

13th July 2015:
Okay, I know I'm not supposed to be happy about the ice queen routine, and I'm not. Not at all. And I am infuriated that she's having to accept Rabastan's engagement.

But I am thrilled with the way she handled him. That whole exchange I was just cheering, "Atta girl!"

It's a relief to me, because I suspected it would come to this, but I'm so glad that even though you wrote her as acquiescing to the engagement, you didn't have her lose her strength and independence.

Now we just need that strength and independence to go a bit farther.

I really do feel for Narcissa. Especially because all this puts their eventual parting into a whole other light. Because now she knows what the family was putting Andromeda through. So even when they don't speak and are estranged once Andromeda chooses Ted, even if she can't understand why Andromeda would choose Ted, at some point she'll have to sort of, a little, understand. And that must make all those years of being parted from her sister so much worse. I mean, maybe that's not the way it ends, but that's how I'm imagining it and, oddly, it's even sadder that way.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #13, by Penelope Inkwell Sisterly Care

13th July 2015:
Acck! Tell her!

It's driving me nuts that she isn't just telling Narcissa that Walburga Imperiused her! I mean, I can understand it a bit, I think, but at present Narcissa has no idea how serious the situation is!

And poor Ted. I do hope he's okay, physically at least. Emotionally--well, I doubt there's any hope of that.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #14, by Penelope Inkwell Mistake

13th July 2015:
AHEM! My HEART! In the words of Jane Austen by way of Mrs. Bennet, "Have you no consideration for my poor nerves?!"

UGH!

You are making me feel emotions and I do not like them!

Hmph. Your dialogue is very good. It flows wonderfully, and always sounds natural. I wasn't so fond of it at the end, of course, but the quality of the dialogue remained excellent. It was the TERRIBLE THINGS THAT WERE SAID that I object to. Good story telling, of course, because of course it can't be that easy, can it? But terrible for the state of my heart. *sobs*

George's mother was hilarious, by the way.


CC: I saw one typo, as friend ought to be plural here.

George cut in. “She’s one of Ted’s friend, Mum.”

Oh, and I really loved this quote:

“He’s—blitzed, isn’t he?” she whispered.

It just made me laugh, because she learned that word from Ted, of course, and she sounds so tentative about using it. It was precious.

Okay, off to read more chapters, so you can put what's left of my heart through the proverbial meat-grinder, no doubt ; )

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #15, by Penelope Inkwell Christmas Party

13th July 2015:
So, this chapter near about killed me.

It was so nice to see Andromeda have a legitimately lovely time with the Tonks' Muggle friends.

And then that mistletoe, and how Ted thought she thought of him as some sort of abomination and it was so sad and then they were SO CLOSE and BAM! Mystery malady. What is that? Has it got something to do with being a Metamorphomagus, maybe, since Tonks (as in his daughter, I mean) was one? Deeply curious. Deeply concerning.

You’ve always been the girl with a plan, Andromeda. What’s your plan?
--I do really like that about Andromeda. She does tend to take action. Perhaps it isn't always well thought out action, but she doesn't usually just stand by.


Highlight reel: “He’s the cutest old man,” sighed Roisin. “If I had a grandfather, I’d want him to look just like that.”

“Roisin,” said Brennan, “we do have a grandfather.”

Roisin made a face. “Yes, but he’s bald and smells like vodka and tuna.”


--Penny

 Report Review

Review #16, by Penelope Inkwell Wensleydale Cheese

13th July 2015:
Nelson keeps cracking me up. He's so perfectly written. It's like he's perfectly designed to utterly bewilder Andromeda. Which, I suppose, he is.

I love getting to see her changing so naturally. Realizing how poorly she's treated Ted, realizing that the things she's been told about Muggleborns can't be true, because she has evidence to the contrary. However, you haven't just had her drop all her prejudices. It's not that easy. It's a tricky balance to strike, that kind of character development, and I just think you're doing it so well!

Andromeda at a Muggle Christmas party. Oh, this I have to see.

CC: This line confused me a bit:
Even if her mother had allowed her to listen to wizarding music, she wouldn’t have allowed Andromeda to tack posters on her wall.
--Is Astoria not loud to listen to any sort of music? Why? Or is it supposed to be "non-wizarding music".

And then this one is missing some punctuation:
he'd never had to trouble herself with cooking her own meals that’s what the house elves were for.

Your writing is absolutely beautiful. I just thought I'd point out the very few things I noticed, because I know that I almost always write without a beta, and as much as I hate making errors, I prefer to have them pointed out so that they can be fixed, since it's impossible to catch them all myself.


Oh, and I really liked this quote:

"She had just never taken the time to imagine what poor really looked like. Poor was a single hardboiled egg for breakfast. Poor was a bedroom the size of a king-sized bed. It was drafty windows and chilly mornings. It was awful.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #17, by Penelope Inkwell No Place Like Home

13th July 2015:
OH MY GRACIOUS!!!

I didn't think they'd take her side. I even thought they'd try to make her apologize to Rabastan, but I never even thought they'd try to use the Imperius Curse on her!

It was very well done, though--nice and dramatic, with all the "You can't make me," and the quickly dawning horror that, in fact, they could. Ughhh. Chills.

I'm so proud of Andromeda that she's getting out! I'd hoped she would, but was a bit worried she'd remain there and have to go along with all this. Thank Heavens. We always knew Walburga was not exactly a treat, but seeing her like this gives me a whole new wave of sympathy for poor Sirius.

That part where Andromeda was begging her mother and Druella was clearly wanting to give in, but couldn't, was absolutely heartbreaking.

CC: I noticed this one small thing. Walburga says

“Copy the d*** owl, Andromeda."

Should it be "Copy the d*** letter,"?

Overall, that was wonderfully dramatic and well-written as always. You really are an outstanding writer. I'm so hooked!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #18, by Penelope Inkwell Discovery

13th July 2015:
OH CRAP!

Not that I'm surprised, since it was hinted at it before. But still, poor Andromeda. Well, hopefully that'll give her the chutzpah she needs to break things off with him. I wonder if her family will be sympathetic, or if they'll just think she should overlook Rabastan's "indiscretions".

And WHAT is she going to get Ted for Christmas?

Highlight Reel: "Are you, like, having some kind of fit? Is there a remedial potion that I need to administer? Do I need to find a trusted adult?!”

“I’m sure that, whatever it is, whenever I get it, I’ll really like it. And I’m sure it’ll probably be worth more money than I’ll make in my entire lifetime, so I’ll promptly sell it on the black market for hard cash.”


Ted is so funny! I love it :)

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #19, by Penelope Inkwell Rebellion, Within Reason

13th July 2015:
This chapter may be short, but it is a gem!

Bahaha! When Ted points out the connotations of "cavort". Good ol' Ted. I really like the way you've written their personalities. He's perfect for her. He's laid back and can take a joke and isn't above poking a bit of fun at her, which is the perfect foil to Andromeda's frostiness. But it's clear that he has plenty of self respect. He demands to be treated as an equal. He does things on his own terms--i.e. 7:30. And I like how it's quite clear that he *is* a Hufflepuff, for instance, his unwillingness to cheat, and he's also really, *really* attractive, because some people try to act like Hufflepuffs aren't hot and I'm like "what?!" Even as a Slytherin I must respectfully disagree. Overall it's just a very well thought out set up.

Aw! Marauder's bit! Sirius and Andromeda's friendship is just SO CUTE!

CC:

“But if you can’t be disciplined enough to do the required eading," Just a little typo, as "eading" should be "reading".

Another excellent chapter!

Highlight reel:

“You keep using that word,” he said. “I don’t think it means what you think it means.”

“Shut up!” Andromeda growled, stamping her foot. “Are you going to cavort with me, or not?”


 Report Review

Review #20, by Penelope Inkwell Secrets & Stipulations

13th July 2015:
Haha! Oh, that was great! The way steamrolls Ted's friend and goes straight to him. No Andromeda. You're not interested at all. Of course you're not.

Ugh. Rabastan. You've written him well. It's clear that as far as he's concerned, there's no way he's the villain. He feels some remorse for not doing everything the way he ought to have, but he clearly believes that he has the right to command Andromeda, and that she has wronged him twice. It's clear that, according to the (obviously flawed and outdated) rules of Pureblood society, he's in the right. Which makes it even more clear that independent Andromeda does not belong in Pureblood society.

Odd. Clever as she is, Andromeda doesn't seem to have realized that Rabastan could break things off with her if she upsets him. Arguably that might be even more disgraceful. Or perhaps deep down she does know, but that's what she wants, because then at least she won't have to do it.

And what an ending! That should be interesting!

--Penny

“Then I see no reason why you are here, wasting my time with your stupid face and your stupider words.”

 Report Review

Review #21, by Penelope Inkwell Damage Control

13th July 2015:
Oh, she really is awful here!

But at least she seems to notice it. It fits, though--her pride is hurt, and that's obviously no small thing to a Black.

Sirius! Awww, her favorite little cousin! I love that bit. It's just a super adorable addition.

I like how Andromeda both wants more for her sister than missing out on her last year of school to be a wife and mother, AND recognizes that her sister's desires and her desires are different. She doesn't get it, and she doesn't totally like it, but she recognizes that it's a bit unfair to expect Narcissa to want the same things. AND it works into her slow realization that Rabastan is not the right guy for her--at least, I'm hoping she's realizing that!

Very nice chapter, as always. I particularly liked the bit about Andromeda not being surprised if Walburga dropped Sirius on the head, because she "wasn't the motherly type." It's those little quips and details that make stories sparkle!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #22, by Penelope Inkwell Impressions

13th July 2015:
Yep. It's for sure now. I'm in love with this story! My love is deep and true.

I ADORE the way you've written this interaction between Ted and Andromeda. It's so realistic. He's a good-humored guy, which gets us through the conversation, but he's honestly astounded by her snobbery. And yet, even though she's a bit awful here, you manage not to make me hate her. You write her so perfectly. Because of course Andromeda would think these things--she's been told them all her life, by everyone around her. She's never really talked to a Muggleborn. The truth is, it would be almost impossible for her to know any better. But talking to Ted confuses her, and that is expressed so well here. She's very much her own woman, so she's trying to think it through, but it's still impossible, in one go, to get past all the prejudice. And Ted is a champ. He totally calls her out on her crap, in the same way we would all want to.

The flashback scene is another excellent touch. It really makes the relationship between the sisters clear, and it gives us a view of how Andromeda sees herself fitting into her family. I just love Andromeda and Narcissa's relationship so much :'(

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #23, by Penelope Inkwell Ambition

13th July 2015:
Ohmygosh I think I'm in love. I think I am in love with this story.

This first chapter is just beautifully--beautifully--written. It's honestly probably one of the best things I've ever seen on this site.

I like how you set up Narcissa and Andromeda's relationship. It was always clear that family meant a lot to Narcissa, but at the same time it makes sense that she'd have been closer to Andromeda than Bellatrix, who was bound to make her uncomfortable.

Even greater than that, I think, is my love for how you've written Narcissa and Lucius' relationship. Lucius still seems vaguely unpleasant and clearly snobbish, but you keep true to the fact that he loved Narcissa very much. That's a fact a lot of fics miss, which is fine, because it is fanfiction and people have reasons for writing what they do. But I'm pleased to see the loving side of their relationship expressed like that, since it's kind of rare.

CC:
Hard to find anything to critique here, though I try to always give something. The one thing I noticed and wasn't sure about was this sentence:

"Her heart panged slightly at Narcissa’s comment."

You can feel a pang in your heart, but I"m not sure it can be a verb. That said, I think it works as is. I just thought I'd point it out, as you are obviously a very meticulous writer. I'm pretty sure this is the height of nitpickiness I've ever had to resort to as a reviewer, so congratulations! ; )

This is a really excellent chapter. This story is going straight on my favorites list and I cannot wait to read more!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #24, by Alex Wensleydale Cheese

1st July 2015:
You're an amazing writer ! I'm so surprised this story doesn't have more reviews!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by madness Irresistible

1st March 2015:
This was utterly beautiful.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>