Reading Reviews for Rabbit Heart
269 Reviews Found

Review #1, by gingerbutnotaweasley 31. Closer to the Heart

7th October 2015:
I think you've givien me a fear of rabbits.

Author's Response:
Uh oh. I hope you enjoyed the story anyway. :)

Thanks for reading the whole thing!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Liana 3. Cold Toes, Warm Heart

1st October 2015:
Wren seems like another Luna right now, although maybe a little more frantic and prone to worry. I'm wondering if she has some sort of special power. Interesting that Scorpius is part of this group of friends. Love this story so far.

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying the story! I hadn't thought of Wren being similar to Luna before, but you're right that at this point she isn't thinking as clearly as her friends.

Thanks for keeping on!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Liana 2. Trusting Hearts

30th September 2015:
Now there are two mysteries. What happened to the first bunny and who is the strange little boy with the basket of rabbits. I'm not sure if I'd be happier in the country or in Diagon Alley. You'd think a teenager would like living on Diagon Alley. It's hard to see Augusta Longbottom in such a poor state. She was so strong.

Author's Response:

Yes, I'd think I'd be happy living in Dragon Alley too, but Wren misses her home so much and August a makes things even harder on her. She's got a lot to deal with right now.

I hated putting Augusta in such a state too.

Wow, thanks for the reviews! You made my night!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Liana 1. Have a Heart

30th September 2015:
I think a story about the Longbottoms will be very interesting. The fate of the bunny was very mysterious. Whatever took the bunny could've at least waited until Wren had started walking toward the house so she could believe the bunny was getting along ok. I'm impressed that this is a recent story. I'm looking for a new author to follow.

Author's Response: Hi!

I thought a story with the Longbottoms would be interesting too, even though this ended up being mostly about their daughter. I know, that bunny has awful timing and didn't make Wren feel any safer about his fate.

Thanks so much for trying out my story! I hope you're interested enough to come back and read more.


 Report Review

Review #5, by 800 words of heaven 1. Have a Heart

25th September 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! Here for our review swap!

First off, congratulations on your Dobby nomination(s)! I was surprised to see that I hadn't actually read much of your work (which was strange) but you're such a fantastic writer, so the noms are well-deserved!

I've been meaning to read this story since FOREVER. There are several reasons for this, which I shall enumerate below:
1) It is written by you. It's gonna be good.
2) The Florence + The Machine song plays in my head every time I read the title and then I'm just awkwardly bobbing my head, regardless of the fact that I may be in public at the time
3) Allison Scagliotti is a face claim who should be used more often than she is (I've only seen her being used in your story). Every time I see the banner for this story I'm like "It's Claudia from Warehouse 13!" This of course means that I hear Wren's voice as this sarcastic young adult who rolls her eyes a lot and is a total butt-kicking lady with a heart of gold.

Wren is not like that yet, of course, since she isn't Claudia. But she's still wonderful. I'm really looking forward to getting to know her better over the coming chapters. Moving house has never been a traumatic experience for me since I've done it on a semi-regular basis during my lifetime, but I still very much empathise with her, which is just a credit to your fantastic writing, really. Funerals are emotionally draining, and then above all that she's having to leave her childhood home. It's even worse because she's seeing her great-grandmother act in a way that's so completely different from what she is to Wren. Realising that parents and grandparents and all those people to whom you look up are human and as fallible as you can be quite the slap in the face sometimes. The timing really couldn't be worse.

Also, just hats off for getting Albus spot on. He's clearly very concerned for his friend and loves her dearly, but he's also a little awkward with feelings and expressing comfort (and hungry because it's time for lunch). That, more than anything else, really brought it home to me that they're just sixteen - little young things, really (goodness, I sound so old).


Author's Response:


You flatter me. No really. Thanks for the kind words!

Yay for another Allison Scagliotti fan! I didn't want Wren to have "just another pretty face". I wanted something with character, and Allison's Warehouse 13 character jumped readily into my mind. You're right. She's not as kick-butt as Claudia, but she has potential. Everyone's gotta start somewhere, right?

Wren's got some "stuff" hitting her from all sides here. It's not earth-shattering, but things keep piling on, so she's overwhelmed at all the change.

Albus. Thanks, I'm glad you like him. Yes, he's young, they all are. And I too feel so old saying that. :P I know some sixteen year olds are better at playing "older" than others, but they're still sixteen, and there's all that insecurity bottled up inside. Also, these characters haven't had any tragedy to mark them up, so they'd certainly still feel it.

RABBIT ALIENS!! Ack, how did you guess my plot so quickly??? I'm losing my touch... no really. Just kidding. Please read on. I hope you like it. And really, I'd love it if you had the time to just read a few chapters and leave me an occasional note. With a story this long, I'm just hoping that people like it enough to get to the end.

Thanks for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Gabriella Hunter 6. Big as Hearts

24th September 2015:

This is Gabbie again stopping by for the second part of our little swap. I really hope that I'll be able to read a good chunk of this before I move and get really busy with grown up stuff. :D

I am really considering banishing The Bunny to the abyss. That thing is really starting to freak me out but what I like about this first half is that we get to know Scorpius a bit more and I really adore his characterization. I feel like you have him balanced out well, he's not this brooding monster that can't smile to save his life and instead, he feels absolutely no guilt Stunning a menacing demon-bunny (That apparently has friggin' armor for fur, don't think I didn't notice that). I was laughing through that whole thing because I was mostly siding with Scorpius, that bunny was weird as heck and why was it so darn angry and intent on eating his ankles? That's what's making me wonder about them, I don't think that they're normal. THe fact that he had to actually knock it out (I'll admit that I laughed) was just a little weird for me BUT his attempt to give it to Albus was rebuffed! I was so happy but then he decided to give it to Rose! NO! Agh, I know that that is going to turn out not so swell later on but let's talk about the fact that Wren is completely obsessed with HER bunny. That thing has some kind of creepy hold on her and I just want to shoo it back to Mordor where it belongs. I hope Rose nad hte other girls pay closer attention to her moods, I'm sure that they're going to go downhill, she already had a brief attack when she realized the Bunny was gone. Hm...I wonder if it's sucking the soul of out someone?

Now, this second part! Ah, it's so sad to see Augusta like this you know but I think that you write that whole scene so wonderfully. It feels very authentic and I can tell that you're writing this from the heart (No pun intended) so I especially love the interactions between Hannah and Augusta. Now, I am kind of leery of this mystery man that showed up just at the right time. He's giving me the creeps and I'd love to know more about him, I'm sure that you're going to go into more detail about that later on though.

Thanks for the read!

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella Hunter 5. Distant Hearts

24th September 2015:

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with that swap we talked about the other day. This is not a test! Hahaha. I haven't had the time to get absorbed into this story because of some big girl stuff but here I am now! :D

There are so many little things that I wanted to touch on in this chapter but I'm not sure if I'll be able to get to all of them. I am happy though that Wren showed some happiness after receiving her presents, though I wonder if she'll even remember the rolls of film so long as The Bunny is around. I could go on for days about how much that thing freaks me out but I did enjoy the fact that you left some interesting hints about what it's doing to Wren's mind. I honestly don't think that it's really a Bunny and I'm wondering if it has some kind of magic of its own because Wren suddenly being consumed by the thought of taking care of it and nearly losing herself just smells like some dangerous vapor to me. In fact, I want to exorcise that bunny but I'm not sure if I'm qualified to do that.

What I found curious though was that she not only lingered on Albus's lovely bum--er, trousers--their dynamic continues to change. I'm not sure if he's going to still pursue her or not but I sense that things aren't going to be easy for them. But James bought Albus a demon fur ball! Nope. Nope. Nope. I just have a bad feeling about this!

I'm not sure what to make of Dillon by this point either. Is he really a normal little boy? He can sense The Bunny in Wren's mind and that's just smelling like nope to me. So much nope. Hahaha. Anyway, I think that there's so much more going on here and I'm really eager to swagger onto the next chapter.

See you soon!

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #8, by Frankie05 5. Distant Hearts

20th September 2015:
Hey pix,

Although not a very long chapter, a very freaky chapter. Whoosh.

Wren's friends are so nice to her and so kind and so fun and I love them. I love the connection she feels with Albus and I feel like something is about to go terribly wrong for them because of that blasted bunny.

It's like a weird magical demon bunny and I don't like it :/ why does it give her headaches. Why can't she just love her friend without the bunny interrupting what could be a beautiful relationship?! (I too have looked upon a beautiful man from behind the camera). And James bought one too from I think the same shady kid Dillon. And speaking of shady kid Dillon, KID IS SHADY AND I FEAR FOR WREN- GOD I HOPE THIS DOESNT RUIN HER LIFE SHE WAS JUST TRYING TO BE NICE.

but he said he could feel the bunny in wrens mind. Whoosh. Where do you come up with this stuff. You are brilliant and I need to know more. And I need to see mor eAlbus/Wren interactions. Eep!


Author's Response:

Hi Frankie!

Yes, this wasn't very long, but it had a lot of stuff in it. I tend to cram a bunch of things together and then let it explode later.

What is this thing called pacing??


I have a crazy imagination. What more can I say? You're welcome to read the rest of the story and just give me your thoughts at the end. I just finished this puppy, and I want people to read the whole thing. :P

Thanks for the review. You're wonderful for taking time with my story!


 Report Review

Review #9, by StarFeather 13. Hungry for Hearts

18th September 2015:
Hi, Pix. I came from the forums for review battle. Team Gold!

From the start, the story is very intriguing. Two men are trying to do something. Whatís their purpose? I enjoyed the bakery scene. Thinking over scones were invented by Scottish (right?), imagining the traditional scones and bread in the showcase, I remembered a trip abroad.

Ha ha ha, iPad! Muggle modern technology. I got very curious to know how Burns and Smeed track the person ( a vampire?) using Muggle device. And they talk about ďthe CouncilĒ and ďthe TreatyĒ. What are they? I got interest.

Oh, finally you revealed the clue. I understood why the vampire boy couldnít enter Hogwarts. So Burns and Smeed are searching the boy without help from the Ministry of Magic. I wonder if youíll have Harry enter later.

Poor James. He was falsely accused by Albus.

Oh, no, Wren was finally bitten by Bunny! Will she be able to go back to the normal life?


Author's Response: Hi Kenny!

I love Burns and Smeed. They almost took over the story, but I reined them in at the last minute. Maybe Smeed gets his own story one day. He really wants one.

I loved the iPad scene. It was really fun to write. Glad you enjoyed it!

Ah, James is not entirely innocent of all things. He's not treating his brother very well.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella Hunter 4. Hearts and Minds

13th September 2015:

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review! I'm stopping by a little late but real life has been pretty difficult and I haven't had the time to really dedicate to reviewing.

It totally sucks.

On to this! I'm glad that Albus was able to notice Wren's odd behavior. I'm really curious to know what's going on with her and what is going to happen with her friendships. There are so many little clues here but I'm not sure if I'm piecing them all together correctly, I do think that getting red of The Bunny would solve most of her issues. I think it's evil or at least a part of something bigger but anyway, I was glad to get into Albus's head about the situation. I think that getting Albus's thoughts on Wren, help to understand her character more, you get a good sense of how she was versus how she is now. The others picked up on her odd behavior but didn't really dwell on it but I think that Albus may be too keen not to figure it out for himself. Oh, just as a quick thing: I really love the friendships and contrasting personalities that you've built up for the group. They're actually all very likeable kids and I was really grateful that you didn't exactly beat me over the head with the fact that their parents were famous or anything like that. I guess I'm trying to say that they felt like real, ordinary kids and I am really grateful for that. It weirdly enough, helps me to see just how much Wren is standing out at the moment.

I felt kind of bad for Albus though, he seems like such a sweet guy. I like that he is so unsure of himself when it comes to Wren and doesn't realize how he appears to her, that scene in Madame Malkin's made me want to wave fairy dust over them. "LOVE EACH OTHER!" I screamed, but there was so much weirdness and misunderstanding in that moment. Wren seems attracted to Albus but also wary of the feeling and I wonder if it's something that is coming from her heart or something that's come from being around that bunny for so long. Perhaps I'm looking into things a bit too much? I tend to do that.

Anyway, Albus seems like a nice guy but there's a cautiousness about him that I thought was a bit odd until I learned about James pranking the poor thing all summer. I'm not sure if that whole thing was meant to be just a light hearted joke or if James is actually just being a prat. It's kind of sad that Albus has to walk around with repelling charms but maybe that's just something that bugged me. Prank him back, Albus! >:(

So, the end of this chapter didn't really end well with Albus. He didn't get to tell Wren how he felt and he's kind of left hanging on what to do next. I wonder if anything will be resolved in the next chapter? Hm.

Thanks for the read!

Much love,


Author's Response:

Hi Gabbie. Welcome back!

I'm so glad you felt like you got to know Wren through Albus' point of view. That was what I was trying to do with the scene, show who she was versus who she is now with Bunny. That was a big challenge of this story. I struggled to show this, and I wasn't sure if people would get it or not.

Yeah, there is a bunch of weirdness going on, which makes it hard for Albus to say what he wants to say. His brother's not helping either. But hey, it's early in the story, so give him some time. :)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by ScorpiusRose17 31. Closer to the Heart

12th September 2015:
Hi Pix!!

I am finally here with your review and I want to apologize that it took so long!

Anyways, I thought this was great! I loved how the entire story really wraps up well and that all my questions about what happened get answered. I will say that I am very sad to see the story end, but I want to thank you also for allowing me the chance to read and review for you. Also, for helping my son and I bond over this story!

I am so happy for Wren and Albus. I am glad that they aren't letting their relationship ruin what they have already built as friends. I laughed when Serena fell out of the tree... it is so like her to sneak up there to capture something that is supposed to be private, but I am glad that she did.

Rose was hilarious. I really enjoyed how her relationship with Scorpius developed over time. The two of them together were a delight to read and really worked to break in some humor into the more serious parts of the story. As well as Callie, James and Trudy.

Your descriptions were superb and I really enjoyed learning about the Vampires and enthrallments. I really hope to see more of Smeed in the future!!

Keep up the amazing writing!! I really look forward to the chance of reading more of your incredible work!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by HPTragic 3. Cold Toes, Warm Heart

12th September 2015:
Just so you know,chapters 3 and for have switched places

Author's Response: Thanks. I'll fix that right away.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Penelope Inkwell 5. Distant Hearts

11th September 2015:
There's something so disturbing about things-that-should-be-innocent-and-aren't. It's like how a movie trailer gets 10x creepier when they add in some little kid's voice chanting a nursery rhyme in the background. But bunnies EEP. I'm realy not sure I'll ever be able to look at a bunny the same way again. What is going ON?!

The headaches and the voices aren't even what freaks me out the most (although it's great that I have so many creepy options that I can select a favorite--or least favorite--of sorts). The freakiest thing is how she's losing time. We see her lose two weeks and she's just rolling along, "Bunny needs me." Eek. I do not like that bunny, Pix. I DO NOT! It is a testament to your writing skill just how much you have made me distrust rabbitkind.

And awww! Albus' gift is so thoughtful! Maybe the camera can help her catch on to the evil bunny's nefarious plot! Maybe it can...I like mirrors and vampires? Maybe it won't show up on film? That'd be great. Something needs to happen. She needs to find out that this bunny is no friend!

This is very concerning.


Author's Response:

Would it be bad if I told you that in choosing rabbits, I was going for the "creepy innocent thing" vibe?

Awesome that it's the time that freaks you out the most. Please do not blame all of rabbit-kind. I promise that I didn't infect the entire species.

Albus is a great guy. It's going to take Wren a little while to own up to her feelings about that, because, you know... thirty-one chapters.

Thanks so much for all the reviews! I love that you took the time to read my story about crazy rabbits and paper pants and photo lenses!


 Report Review

Review #14, by StarFeather 12. Heartburn

11th September 2015:
Hi, Pix! I came back here for Dobbys.

Oh, my, did the rodent turn into a vampire? If so, itís so scary! Summers fainted in front of his students and was trapped in Dillonís plot. It reminded me of Lockheart and Quirrell. Itís very cliffhanging. What are you planning at the next chapters? Oh, wait! I know! The rodent became a vampire that means Dillon is a vampire.

I think the previous chapters were introduction. And then from this chapter, adequate development starts. Our real Wren came back with reliable and smart Albus. I guess they will be able to find the solution to the mystery. The most entertaining scene is their getting together again. I guess readers prefer lots of scenes like this more. Itíll be quite a sight to see how Wren will conquer Dillonís trap and how Albus will help her. Iím also very interested in the bartender who gave the healing tea to her as well. Iíll be back! Congrats, nomination!


Author's Response:

Hi again!

I'm responding to these out of order, so excuse the haphazard responses.

I think you've got the main idea here. I won't spoil what happens next. :)

That's probably a fair assessment, that this is the beginning of where things develop faster. There was a lot of setup to get things the way I needed them to be in order for the plot to work the way I wanted. I may have spent too much time setting up, but at the time, I didn't know how to make the story tighter. Hopefully, one day I will figure that out.

Thanks for another lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Penelope Inkwell 3. Cold Toes, Warm Heart

11th September 2015:

The use of dramatic irony here is killing me. I mean, in a good way, but I can't bear it. And something about the way she keeps calling that unnatural creature "Bunny" is freaking me out. It causes the brain fog, Wren! It's like a bad relationship! It's separating you from your loved ones! Get out! Dump the bunny!


Author's Response:


Yay for dramatic irony!! Hee hee. That's partly why I chose "rabbits".


 Report Review

Review #16, by Penelope Inkwell 4. Hearts and Minds

11th September 2015:
So, I'm already loving Wren/Albus. They just have such a sweet vibe. I'm rooting for it.

And Albus, rocking paper pants. Now that is a rare skill, indeed. I really enjoyed that image.

You know, I'm glad that Albus didn't give up right away, but I'm also glad he knew Wren well enough to realize it wasn't a good time. Retreat and regroup. Good on you, Albus.

I really enjoyed Albus' voice and his POV. I could just really see the two of them meshing well. Their different voices just strike me as particularly...harmonic? But we shall see.

You know, James seems like more than a bit of a jerk. Of course it's not his fault that Albus gets compared to him, but constantly hexing someone that can't use a wand? That's like attacking someone who doesn't have a weapon. It's really poor form.

At least Albus seems to be developing some talent for anti-charms. That's a really cool idea!


nannering endlessly so that no one around her could think straight.
--So, it might be a word and I might just not be familiar with it, but I've never heard of 'nannering' and I was wondering if it was meant to be 'nattering'?

Scorpius wavered between picking lint off his leather jacket and stealing glances at Albus' cousin.
--this is a *really* minor thing but I thought I'd mention it, because I did wonder. It doesn't seem like lint would stick to leather? It doesn't seem like it would. Unless it's one of those bomber-jackets with the stretchy fabric at the cuffs and waist, I guess. I mean, this literally may be the nitpickiest thing I've ever pointed out. But it's late at night and my brain is weird and the thought struck me, and you do seem like a bit of a perfectionist, judging by how insanely clean all your writing is and how you have practically no grammatical mistakes. So I figured, okay, I'll just go ahead. So yeah. Lint.

Enjoying this so far! Like I said, your writing is super clean, and it's got this very unique tone to it that intrigues me. Congrats on your nominations!


Author's Response:


I love Albus/Wren too. There's something about sweet people that makes me not want bad things to happen to them, but then where would the story go without "things"??

Haha! Albus could rock just about any pants if you ask Wren. :P

James is a jerk in this chapter. Sorry, but that's how it is. But don't worry. Albus is clever and resourceful. He can hold his own.

"nannering" - it's a thing. So is "nattering". I think it's colloquial, and perhaps not British, so.. oops.

Haha, that's funny about the lint thing. Leave it to me to not know a thing about leather jackets. Let's pretend that the bomber jacket thing is what I meant and we'll roll with it. lol!

Thanks again for another lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by moonbaby11 6. Big as Hearts

7th September 2015:
Hi! I'm here with a (rather delayed and I apologize) requested review!

You continue to keep things mysterious while not being too vague and I like it -- you strike a really nice balance and I think that's important for the reader. I feel like my mind is just filling with more and more questions and none of them have been answered yet but I almost don't mind. The whole mysterious air of Dillon, the rabbits, and now Smeed continue to draw me into this story and keep me involved. I think you're doing really well with keeping the plot interesting but also a secret. Like I said before, it's a good balance.

I like the way that, although your story is about teenagers and features some romance, the whole plot isn't based around Wren/Albus. I like how you've told us that they're both interested in each other because I feel like that takes even more of the focus off of potential romance and places it on the plot (and the rabbits!) instead. I, myself, am guilty of basing plots only around romance so I adore what you're doing here.

These rabbits are seriously freaky -- they can evade stunning spells and they seem to tether themselves onto their owner's emotions (and Dillon seems to be tethered to them as well?). I really feel for Wren and her worries that she's losing her mind. I like that you've tied that into the backstory of her grandparents because I think that makes her worries that much more powerful, you know?

I was really pleased to see some of Augusta come out in this chapter again. I think her situation is truly heartbreaking, even moreso now that we know she understands exactly what's happening to her. This chapter had a lot of heartbreaking moments and I think you executed them wonderfully.

I'm excited that everyone's back at Hogwarts now because that means new locations to explore and new characters and relationships to discover! I'm sure you won't disappoint.

I sincerely hope this review was, in some way, helpful. I don't even know if this was constructive at all or if it was just me squeeing over this story? Anyways, always feel free to drop by again for more reviews!

Author's Response:


I'm glad you feel that way about the mystery. I do have a problem with clarity at times. Sometimes I write TOO vague, so it's nice to hear that things seem balanced so far.

I wasn't sure how this would play out if I let the romance just "be" in the story. But now that it's done, I think it turned out okay. I wanted the focus on the plot directly, so it's nice that you think that plays well. Thanks!

Wren's worries had to be tied into things that we can believe, or else it would just look like she's having a neurotic breakdown over nothing, which isn't what I was going for. I needed to make it real and personal and also plausible for her to possibly have a real issue that masks what the rabbits are doing. Yeah, they are kind of freaky, aren't they? :P

Augusta is a very strong woman. She'd be aware of things until it just isn't possible any longer. I wanted to show that she still had her inner strength, even though her circumstances were against her.

Thanks so much for giving me your thoughts. Your comments let me know that the things I wanted to come through got noticed. I really appreciate your review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by BellaLestrange87 2. Trusting Hearts

6th September 2015:
Review tag!

The opening bit made me sad. Throughout the series we've heard bits of pieces about Augusta and her personality, which led me to think that she's a strong character. Seeing her like this, hallucinating and believing that Wren, her great-grand-daughter, was her son Frank was a bit depressing, I must admit. I really want her to get better. From what I've heard about this story, it would be nice for Wren to not have to worry about her grandmother (so she can focus all her attention on rabbits!)

I wonder what Neville's doing that's keeping him out until 10, 11 o'clock at night? Would preparing for a new school year keep him out that late?

I can sympathize with Wren about meeting up with friends. This whole summer was day after day of that. I wonder what's in that basket the boy's carrying?

That's really weird that the boy would disappear when Wren tried to lead him to the policemen. Even if he was a wizard, surely the policeman would be able to give him directions? I'm suspicious.

I'm wondering if Dillon's a squib. He said that his mother had magic, but didn't mention any magical abilities of his own, and then said that she sent him away until he finds his own magic. This sounds like something a pure-blood family like the Blacks would do.

Dillon definitely sounds like a squib. He's so enthusiastic about the prospect of Hogwarts (which probably won't be happening for him) and then his disappointment at finding out he needs a letter to get on the Hogwarts Express was sad.

So that's how Wren's rabbit problem starts. I think it's a bad sign that the rabbit bit her almost immediately.

I really enjoyed this chapter, and I'll be back for more at some point!


Author's Response:


Wren's focus isn't what it should be, you're right. But that's part of the story. She worries a lot.

Yes, Neville has a lot to work on these days. Preparing for a school year often is harder than it seems to be.

People often wonder about the squib-ness of Dillon at this point in the story. He's his own special little boy. But don't let that stop you from reading on. He really is a sad, little thing, isn't he?

Don't worry. There's a lot more rabbit action to come. I can't think of a chapter where there isn't a rabbit. Maybe I took a rabbit break in one or two of these chapters, but I can't clearly recall at this moment. I hope you like little furry surprises. :)

Thanks so much for the review! I hope you get a chance to read more.


 Report Review

Review #19, by MuggleMaybe 31. Closer to the Heart

6th September 2015:
The end! Well done! I am so impressed by how you balanced all these different conflicts and plot lines and brought them to a strong end.

Wren and Albus are just SO CUTE together, I can hardly stand it. That's a lie. I'd love to read more about them!

Wren's ability to sense vampires could pave the way for an excellent sequel... you know, if you wanted to make me the happiest ever ;)

I'm really tired because I stayed up half the night reading this, so I will leave you with the words, YOU ARE FANTASTIC, and call it a day.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading all the way through. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! And by gosh, go SLEEP!


 Report Review

Review #20, by MuggleMaybe 12. Heartburn

5th September 2015:
Hi Pix!

I'm a little ashamed that I got through 12 chapters before stopping to leave a review, but here I am, at last!

This story is so original! I've never read anything quite like it before, in fanfiction or elsewhere. Wren is a brilliant OC, a well. It's actually kind of frustrating (in a good way) because I want to get to know her really well, given that she is so likable and interesting, but a lot of the time her brain is being invaded by a fuzzy little devil with rabbit ears. All the same, I think you've done an excellent job with her character. :nods:

And ALBUS! Wren had better hurry up and lay claim, or I'm going to steal him! ;)

One of the most impressive things about your writing is that you have revealed Dillon's story at just the right pace. I'm not confused, because you've given me enough to start putting things together, but I'm still dying for more info because you haven't given too much away.

This story is excellent in every way and much deserving of the many Dobby nominations! (Congratulations, by the way!)

Time for the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Hi Renee!

No worries on the lack of reviews. I'd much rather have you read to the end and then tell me all about it. So when you get there... :)

The crazy idea I had about Wren's mind being all fuzzy... that gave me fits because it was hard to introduce a character and show what she's like when she's so not like herself. It was a constant struggle, but in the end, I think it all worked out.

Albus. He's a good guy. ;)

I'm so glad you feel that way about Dillon's character. This was the first time that I wrote something where I gave away so much at the beginning of the story, yet I really wanted to maintain a mystery. The reveals were difficult to navigate, but it looks like you're feeling them the way they were laid out. Thanks for letting me know!

Thanks so much for reading! I can't wait to see what you think of the whole thing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by TreacleTart 12. Heartburn

1st September 2015:
Hey Pix!

I'm here for our review swap! And back to check in on how these creepy little bunnies are doing.

Uh oh! Albus' bunny smashed through his cage. Why do I have a bad feeling about this? Wren's bunny seems nice enough, but Albus' bunny is pretty psychotic. I can't imagine what's going to happen with that thing running loose around the castle.

I'm happy to see that Wren and Albus are finally getting a chance to talk to each other (even if Wren is dressed in a ridiculous costume) Things seem to be going quite smoothly until that sudden wave of wooziness hits her and she passes out. I just can't figure out what's going on with her. Why is bunny making her so sick?

That whole scene with Nigel was really disconcerting. I really truly felt how confused he was. I was a bit lost myself at first, but as it progressed it became more and more clear what was happening.


As always, your writing is really good. Everything is smooth and your characters are so convincing. If this story doesn't deserve a Dobby, I don't know what else does.

Good work!


Author's Response:

Hey Kaitlin!

I've let this sit around unanswered for long enough, I think. Thanks for the review swap!

I think a bad feeling is appropriate, given that Albus' rabbit is on the loose now. Just a heads up, though. Since there are two rabbits running around the castle now...

These talking moments are pretty rare, since Wren has all this stuff going on in her head. I'm sure both of them want there to be more moments like this, but, you know, plot and all. It makes it difficult to find the time to hash things out properly. And well, yeah, the getting sick bit doesn't help.

Nigel. Rabbit. By your reaction, I see that you get the gist of things. We'll leave it there. And sorry for adding to your list of nightmares... I think.

Thanks SO MUCH for your enthusiasm! I love when people come by and read my stuff!


 Report Review

Review #22, by CambAngst 31. Closer to the Heart

1st September 2015:
Hi, Pix! I've come to the end of another one of your stories and I'm feeling that little pang of emptiness that comes with each one. That feeling of knowing that there won't be another chapter to read. That Wren and Albus's story -- at least this arc of it -- ends here. It's wonderful to see everything come to its conclusion, but it's also a little sad.

And this story has come a long, long way. I have some very old drafts of things in my email that would probably make you cringe. I'm thinking maybe 2 batches of cookies and we could make those disappear forever, eh? ;)

Joking. Let's actually talk about this chapter. Nice job capturing the confusion and swirling imagery of Wren's semi-conscious healing process. Relentlessly gnawing at her unrest with tiny teeth. I think tiny teeth are going to haunt Wren for a very long time.

Oh, wow, she's still at Hogwarts. Somehow I was expecting either St. Mungo's or some secret Vampire Council recovery facility. At a minimum the Hospital Wing, although I suppose with Madam Pomfrey also being enthralled there might not have been anyone to look after the place.

Aww, Wren still feels bad about having to leave Trudy behind. She's such a good egg.

Ten days! Wow. Albus must be near his wits' end. Good old Berkshire. He's a good egg, too.

"Ha!" Trudy shot at her, relief evident on her face too. "It's about time!" -- Yep, even the Quidditch-head knew what was up before Wren and Albus.

It's nice to see Rose and Scorpius achieving some sort of functional relationship. At least not wanting to kill one another. He even managed to get her to come and watch the try-outs. Sounds like the start of a promising teenage wizarding relationship.

Yay! They're finally coming around. And she kissed him -- at least a little -- and he kissed her back. And neither one of them screwed it up. And Berkshire didn't come bumbling around the corner and wreck the whole moment! Pix, I think you're losing your touch. Before this final chapter, you would have done anything -- hippogryff stampede, lightning strike, somebody fainting -- anything to wreck this moment. You're getting soft! :p

Everything clicked together, almost audibly, just above the breeze - leaves rustled above them -- I see what you did there...

Wren rethought that last bit. An hour. In the dark. With Albus. -- She's starting to get the hang of this.

Wow. Serena is such a weirdo. An artsy, hipster, voyeuristic weirdo. I guess that probably makes her a good photographer, in that Andy Warhol sort of way.

Wren thought she heard a cackle escape from Serenaís lips, and fought the urge to slap her. -- I'm relating to this so hard.

Still, it seems that Serena has a sense of decency about her. I love the rapid shift in Wren's emotions, from shattered to ecstatic.

The rest of the chapter read in kind of a soft focus. Very dreamy, with all of the sharp edges filed down. It was really sweet of Wren to want to spend a little time with Madam Pince. Poor old thing didn't deserve to go out quite like this. In fact, couldn't you have switched fates between her and Sloan? At least that would have shut him up.

Ooh! So Wren did take more away from the vampire rabbit experience than a new boyfriend and a lot of terrible memories. I like Smeed's implied warning, as well. I'm sure this "vampire invasion" of Hogwarts caused a lot of fear, anger and resentment among the wizarding population. I can imagine the vampires feeling uncomfortable about the possibilities.

I thought it was a really nice touch that Gran wants to see Wren for a bit and then wants her to go off and live her own life. She's a smart lady.

Gah, so here we are at the end. This story has frustrated the daylights out of me at times. And that's perfect, because teenagers are frustrating. Not just to adults, but it's just generally a frustrating time in life. You've stayed so true to your premise and explored so many aspects of this awkward, confusing, uncertain time of life. I can't imagine the temptation to have these kids snap out of it and behave like quasi-sane mini-adults, but you didn't do that. I'm in awe of how tough it must have been -- chapter after chapter -- to think things through from Wren and Albus's point of view and make sure that they were acting their age. You did a really amazing job with this. Congratulations on finishing another classic story!


 Report Review

Review #23, by oldershouldknowbetter 31. Closer to the Heart

1st September 2015:
A lot of my spare moments have been spent this past month reading this tale and re-reading this tale. So I am wondering just what you have done with the ending after you and your team of betas were done with it.

Well everything is over, they saved the day and all the rabbits and Dillon have been put to rest. There is just one thing left to be resolved, just one little thing and from that wondrous things may evolve - Wren and Albus have to start talking and being honest with each other.

Wren wakes up in the Hospital wing and the way you have presented her muzziness over what could have been hours or days or even weeks is well done.

I like the loquacious Trudy, it takes a while for Wren to realise how talkative the usually taciturn girl has been. We can forgive her, she was initially consumed by the guilt of having to leave her behind, but Trudy soon reassures her (and the readers too) that there is no recrimination on her part. This is a good thing, we now get a general feeling for how the rest of the students will regard Wren - not as someone who brought down the vampires upon them, but as one of the saviours.

It's only been ten days, Wren's magic is back, Albus has almost been camped out beside her - everything is good. Oh, and it's Quidditch try-outs, and that selfless Wren is back - she made a promise and she is going to keep it. Even though she has been bed ridden for days she snatches up her camera and marches off to the pitch.

But not without a promise that she must talk to Albus. Ha, right you are Trudy, it's about time.

When she gets there everyone is happy to see her. But not Albus who is cluelessly caught up in the Quidditch, Wren has to go and physically tug his arm to get his attention. And then ...

but it's still too crowded, so she drags him away. And then ...

but it's still too hard to say: feelings and memories intrude and make the words, the vital comunication that they both need almost impossible. She wants to whisper it, that may make it easier, she pulls him down to whisper it in his ear and then ...

she kisses him.

And we all sigh in relief as he kisses her back.

There is a lovely perfect little moment, which is to be continued in the solitary confines of the developing lab. And that's were we will leave them, the author and the readers will leave them to their burgeoning love.

But none of us count on Serena. She wrecks the moment slightly (more than slightly as far as Wren is concerned), but she does the honourable thing in the end by giving Wren the roll of film, and for once allowing Wren to be chronicled as she has so rarely. A couple of things about this bit, some might say it is irrelevant to the story, but it encapsulates two important things you've done in this story.

Firstly the character of Serena. She was set up to be a villain of this story, more correctly she has been a threshold guardian archetype. You could have made her two dimensional and a figure of just plain hatred. Wren doesn't like her, that's for sure, but we don't hate her. You made her such a balanced character, with flaws certainly, but redeeming points too. Having her hand the canister of film over to Wren is beautifully done and is the final cap upon her character.

One of the central themes of this work has been miscommunication. Central to that has been Wren's dislocation from life, from living her own life. As Albus comments in a chapter gone by, she has always been kind and selfless to the point of almost loosing herself (brought into stark relief by it almost literally happening due to the evil of Dillon). One of the things that has reinforced that disconnect, is the nature of her being the photographer. She is always the one behind the lens, never in front of it. She has recorded the major events in the lives of those around her in photos and has been conspicuous by her absence. Having Serena finally capture her, in what must be one of the most important moments of her life to date, is fantastic. It delineates the moment where she re-enters her own life.

The rest is just denoument and loveliness. Wren and Albus are still going strong. The romance between Rose and Scorpius is well judged - it was never going to run as smooth as the one between Wren and Albus. What she does for Madame Pince is simply perfect characterisation of the caring nature of Wren. We even come around to Augusta, after her being so heartless to Wren when she came out of her funk.

The only thing is, when we find out that she can detect vampires and that Smeed has said that may make her useful, but hopefully not to the wrong people - well all of that to me screams sequel. One set years into the future, full of action and adventure and vampires and daring do and, of course, a continuation of Albus and Wren.

For all real intents and purposes the end of the story occurred in the previous chapter, this one is just for closure. But it's closure that everyone needed, Albus and Wren and especially, but also for your poor readers, who sometimes wondered if the calamitous events of the tale would ever let them be together.

A great story and well worthy of a Dobby, I wish you luck.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Frankie05 4. Hearts and Minds

1st September 2015:
Hey pix,

I'm sorry I haven't been around in a while. I really should be better. I like that this chapter is from Albus's point of view. It is refreshing but heart breaking at the same time. What is going on with Wren? Does she really think that she is going a bit crazy?

And I knew Albus liked her. I think that's so precious but I can understand his hesitancy since Wren is acting all weird.

Wren is nice to go with Albus to the trying on of clothes. She likes him I bet. But they are so teenagery that they beat around the bush and are insecure about it and really they just love each other and probably don't want to lose their friend. I can't believe it :)

Scorpius is not as subtle as he thinks he is- we all know he is into Rose. But he is a good friend for pushing Albus towards what he really wants.

And James is kind of a jerk. All of his pranks being played on Albus. Albus is actually really smart for keeping anti charms in his pockets. I bet Wren noticed his flinching around James. But they are both keeping secrets. It's so sad that that is how their friendship is. And she laughed at Albus. Poor guy's ego is shattered :(

Author's Response:


So nice of you to do this impromptu review! come by anytime you can. I don't mind the wait.

Yes, Wren does really think she's going crazy. It's the only logical explanation in her mind for what's happening. It keeps Albus an arm's length away from her right now, which is good for the plot, but frustrating on all other fronts. Also, it's tough to be young and not know how to move forward.

Scorpius is not as 'anything' as he thinks he is. That's probably why I enjoyed him so much in this story. He's all kinds of cocky, but he does a great job of supporting Albus.

Yeah, there's that frustration again.

Thanks so much for coming by! I hope you get to drop in again soon, or at least find time to read to the end. I just marked this story 'complete' last night!


 Report Review

Review #25, by StarFeather 11. Hearts Enthralled

31st August 2015:
#Last Spurt @ Review NaNo 2/ 21

Hi, Pix! I came back to your Wren and Albus.
Itís interesting to read your story about vampire. The first part was written from Nateís POV and I found this character was getting important in your story. Will he feel jealous about the relationship between Wren and Albus?

The scene when Albus helped Wren with setting her down on the ground in the library reminded me of the same situation on TV. The man and the woman of the drama became a married couple later. I like this heartwarming scene of the young couple.

So the ingredient of the tea saved her from dark magic Dillon cast through the bunny. I wish sheíll find the way to solve the problem trapped by Dillon quickly.

But you set more before she found out what Dillon was up to. The tea Madam Pince gave Wren must be brewed under the instruction of Dillon. Besides Mr. Summers drank it, which might do some troubles later. I wonder whether Albus drank the tea as well. I reckon he was smarter enough not to. He must have feigned.

I think the fact that James got the map will cause a good effect later. The episode Wren put on Thrall of Drakull indicates something important will happen. Iíll keep reading the next! :) Thank you for brownies.


Author's Response:

Hi Kenny!

I had to poop out of the review-a-thon if I wanted to get this story finished for the Finish Your Fic Challenge. It was so worth it. I feel strangely liberated having posted the final chapter after hanging on for so long.

Ah, I'm glad you liked the library scene. They have so few moments of uninterrupted time together in this story. Dan was teasing me about that earlier today. :P I totally did it on purpose too.

It makes me SO HAPPY to know that you understand how this tea thing works by chapter 11. I can't tell you how much I fretted over making the whole "tea" mechanics clear enough that people wouldn't get confused. When a story prop has too many rules, things get complicated and it's difficult to keep everything consistent. That's what I get for making it that way. Lesson learned.

Just to be clear, that's punch from Madame Pince, and tea from Smeed. There's a big difference. It would be bad to get them mixed up. Albus is smart. He's not drinking anything. I might want to check and see if he's hydrated enough through thirty-one chapters...

James and the map and Albus have this thing. I hope you find it entertaining as you move along.

You're welcome for the virtual brownies! Thanks for reading more!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>