Reading Reviews for Waltz
  
46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by snufflesthedog Waltz

26th June 2014:
This story was so beautiful, and poetic. It almost made me cry! It has a sort of purity about it and it just flows, exactly like a waltz! I loved it, so 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this truly lovely review! I'm so thrilled you enjoyed it so much and that it provoked such strong emotions! Thank you for leaving this comment, it's really so kind of you; I sincerely appreciate it! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #2, by LetterGirl Waltz

23rd June 2014:
Beautifully written and yet so simple. It somehow calms me down. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! I sincerely appreciate it and am just thrilled that you enjoyed it so much! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #3, by yerawizard27 Waltz

18th June 2014:
Wow! I really loved this. Such an original idea, and written so beautifully- It was like I could feel exactly what Rose was feeling, and honestly, my heart was thumping!

Wonderful concept and excellently executed, 10/10!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm so glad you found it both original and well-written, and I'm especially thrilled that the story was able to effect you how it did! This is such a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to leave it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #4, by Limited_Edition151 Waltz

3rd June 2014:
That was very good, good, good! It was confusing at first with Scorpion's stutter, when it was hard for him to say the G's, but other than that fact, I would read, read, read this again! I have always been a fan of RosexScorpious, and I am looking forward to reading more of your material.
Don't Forget To Be Awesome!
-Ellie-

Author's Response: Hey, thank you so much; I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I had a feeling that in the beginning, with the vague comments regarding it, that people wouldn't grasp onto the fact that Scorpius has a stutter in this story, but it seems like people have been able to come to understand it as the fic progresses, so I'm glad you were able to eventually pick up on that as well! It also makes me exceedingly happy that you, as a fan of this ship, enjoyed my version of them! I truly had no idea what I was doing at the time, so hearing they've been so well-received in this rather uncommon fashion is such a compliment - I truly appreciate it!

And thanks for the reminder! I forget to be awesome, like, all the time. :-p
Tanya


 Report Review

Review #5, by Liana Waltz

8th May 2014:
Poor Rose and poor Scorpius for putting up with her. I think she needs counseling or medication. The kissing part was funny though along with Scorpius asking if she needed to go brush her teeth.

Author's Response: haha Yeah, they both have their own struggles, but I think they find solace in one another in a way that helps them both deal with their anxieties! I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I very much appreciate it! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by R Waltz

8th May 2014:
Amazing, amazing, amazing piece of writing :)

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! That's so kind of you and I'm thrilled you enjoyed it so much! Thank you for taking the time to leave this comment, I sincerely appreciate it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #7, by Kristy Waltz

7th May 2014:
THIS IS AMAzING! KEEP WRITING MORE FANFICS OF ROSE AND SCORPIOUSPLEASE!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so happy you enjoyed my versions of Rose and Scorp! I know they're a little odd compared to how they're usually portrayed, but it's great you want to see more! I'll do my best to stir up a new plunny for the two. Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a lovely comment, I truly appreciate it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Veritaserum27 Waltz

17th April 2014:
Hi Tanya!

I read this a while ago and didn't get a chance to leave a review and I thought, what better time that now to review my eggstravaganza teammate??

This was such a great story. I loved every word of it. Of course, I am a huge ScoRose fan, but this was such a refreshing twist on the pairing. You did a fabulous job depicting both accurate traits of both afflictions and the frustration that consumes both of them.

At the same time, you can tell that he is completely in love with her and she is too plagued with her OCD to do anything about it. The simple kiss, and the fact that she didn't need to brush her teeth was so heartwarming - it give the reader hope for their future.

Fantastic job! 10/10

Beth
Reviewed for the Hufflclaw/Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Aww, well I'm so happy that the Eggstravaganza brought you back to this fic, and am especially thrilled that you enjoyed it! Yay!

Eep! You're so sweet; that's so lovely of you to say! Thank you! I'm also extremely relieved to hear that an avid ScoRose fan enjoyed this, as my versions of the two are quite different than what you usually see! When I first posted this, I was very worried that people wouldn't be all that receptive to them, but I'm very happy that I worried over nothing! As far their afflictions go, it's just as much of a relief when people think I handled both well, so thank you for saying that, and I'm glad you could feel that frustration that each endures through my writing! Woot!

Daww, I'm glad that came through! He really is quite fond of her. hehehe And yay for simple kisses without a frantic toothbrushing following it! :-p I'm glad that moment stood out for you, as it was one of the last lines I thought up before posting and was really happy I snuck it in when I had the chance!

Thank you again, Beth, for this truly lovely review! I sincerely appreciate it!

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #9, by aleksa Waltz

7th April 2014:
this was so lovely! very well-written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much; I'm glad you feel that way! And I really appreciate your taking the time to leave such a kind review! :-D

 Report Review

Review #10, by EarthsTrueGreen Waltz

29th March 2014:
This really was a charming one shot. I really wish that you would expand this into a full fledge novel or novella. These characters are so unique. "To be human is to be beautifully flawed" and that is what you did in this story, you really made their flaws beautiful. This story honestly left me wanting so much more and I am sad that this is all I get. Thank you for writing it.

Author's Response: Hey there, EarthsTrueGreen! Thank you so much for this lovely review; I'm so happy enjoyed it! I've actually been toying around with the idea of revisiting these versions of Rose and Scorpius and showcasing them in a novel. They might be more background characters rather than the two leads, but I've got a new Next Gen novel idea in the works, and I was thinking I might involve these two - give a little more background on them? Either way, I'm very happy to hear that you'd like to see more of them! I can only hope that if I do revisit these characters, people are as receptive to them elsewhere!

I love that quote. It's so very true. It really warms my heart to hear you say I made their flaws beautiful! Ah, you're so lovely! Okay, well, I can't make any promises, but I'll take another look and see if I can't find a way to expand their story! How's that? ^.^

Thank you again for leaving such a kind review. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #11, by Tuesday Waltz

27th March 2014:
This is incredibly well-written and the characters just came to life.
The way you wrote about Rose and Scorpius dealing with their own personal struggles was sensitive and wonderfully handled.
I loved this.
Tuesday xx

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much, Tuesday! It's wonderful to hear that; I sincerely appreciate it! I'm especially thrilled that you felt I handled both Rose and Scorpius' struggles well! It's always a risk taking on such sensitive subject and I was very nervous for a long time about how my version of them and of these issues would be perceived, so it's incredibly reassuring to hear you enjoyed my take on it all!

It's so kind of you to have left me such a lovely review - thank you so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by megthechef43 Waltz

20th February 2014:
writeyourheartout,

Beautiful. This was written beautifully while respecting the people with a stammer and ocd. I really like when you wrote about Rose wishing she didn't have to dance each morning. Super sweet ending and I'm glad she let him waltz with her.

I really enjoyed reading this one-shot.

Meg

Author's Response: Meg,

Ah, thank you so much! This is such a sweet review! I'm so happy you enjoyed it, and am exceptionally pleased that you found the subject matter involving the disorders both beautiful and well-handled. It's always risky to write about these types of more delicate subjects, and so I was a bit unsure of how it would be taken, but I'm so glad you feel that way; it's a great relief. I'm happy you liked the ending, too! I almost didn't include that final line about Scorpius learning to dance, but am glad I decided against nixing it.

This is such a lovely review! I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write it. Thank you so much!

Tanya :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by skyblue Waltz

10th February 2014:
This was beautiful! I love that Rose and Scorpius are both so flawed, although most stories on this website depict next generation characters as the confident, near-perfect people their parents were.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm so happy you enjoyed it! I was actually quite nervous when I was writing Rose and Scorpius because I wasn't sure how well-received they'd be, so it's great to hear that you liked them! I was certainly going for exactly what you've said, so yay! Phew! haha Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review; I sincerely appreciate it! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #14, by Unicorn_Charm Waltz

7th February 2014:
This is such a wonderful story. It's incredibly sad but very heartwarming all at the same time. You can really feel poor Rose's struggle with her OCD. Absolutely beautifully written.

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed it! That combination of sad and heartwarming is so very much what I was going for, so I'm just ecstatic to have pulled it off! And I just adore that Rose's condition seemed to resonate; it was really important for me to do her character with OCD justice. You are far too wonderful. Thank you so much for having taken the time to leave such a kind review; I sincerely appreciate it! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by ARoseByAnotherName Waltz

6th February 2014:
This was such an amazing, honest potrayal of the struggle that she would be going through. Their interactions are wonderfully sweet. Well done! I only wish that there were more chapters to read!

Author's Response: Oh gosh, this is a such a kind review! I'm absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed it so much and found it realistic as well! It's always a little bit of a risk to take on these sort of issues, and staying true to them was really important for me, so I'm so happy you felt that way! Perhaps someday I'll build upon these versions of Rose and Scorpius so that there is more to read! Thank you for wishing that; that's really awesome! haha Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind response; you really made my day! :-D

 Report Review

Review #16, by desertmagpie Waltz

4th February 2014:
Oh my gosh, I love it! Absolutely adorable.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm so happy you that enjoyed it and am extremely grateful that you took the time to leave such a kind review! :-D

 Report Review

Review #17, by maraudertimes Waltz

3rd February 2014:
Hiya!

Oh, this was so sweet! I loved the imperfect perfection of them both. I can see how Rose's OCD can be difficult for her to live with, yet utterly beyond her control. It's sad to see that her dorm mates can't see that the urges aren't something she can supress. And poor Scorpius! Darling Scorpius with the stutter he tries to overcome! It's really sweet to see such evident flaws in them both, but flaws that make them perfectly imperfect and imperfectly perfect.

The constant no, no, no's were really sad, but I could see where Rose was coming from. Having to be perfectly clean, the idea of kissing isn't so pleasant. And neither would be kissing your best friend, although cleaning up glitter *is* extremely hard to do. I'm glad they kissed, though, because seeing both of them go into frenzied states over uncleanliness of the glitter variety would not be all that amusing. (okay, it might be slightly amusing, but whatever! :P)

And the ending was so perfect, and when it says "Her life is a waltz, they both understand. But he can learn to dance." I kind of squeaked and aw'ed and I'm pretty sure it's just the cutest ending ever, because it's evident that he loves her and that he will learn to dance if he must to help her and be with her.

This is really beautiful and it's extremely obvious why this is Staff's pick! You wrote this amazingly well and everything is just perfectly imperfect and imperfectly perfect!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Lo! Hi! Ah, you're far too sweet! It was such a nice surprise last night to find this new review waiting for me! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment! *hugs*

*squee* I'm so happy you liked it! I completely agree about her roommates, but I just felt that the unfortunate truth behind OCD is that a lot of people don't have the patience or tolerance to deal with it; even when it seems like such minor ticks. :( Poor Rose. And yes, poor Scorpius, too! Oh man, I wasn't very nice to them, was I? haha I'm glad you found it sweet though as he tries to overcome his stutter! I really wanted their flaws to make sense as to why they fit together so well, and I'm glad you enjoyed them each! :-D

The no, no, no's were a little heartbreaking, right? I love that you understood both sides of the action, though! Ha! The glitter. I feel bad making her choose between two evils (sort of), but at least it got them to kiss, right? ;) Seriously, she should be happy I didn't choose the glitter. :-p

Aww! Yay! I'm so happy you picked that line, too, cause it almost didn't make the cut of the story! I was a little worried about it, too, once I did add it in, so I'm glad to hear you liked it so much! *flails*

Gah, seriously, you're far too kind! Thank you so, so much for this incredible review! I can't stop grinning! :-D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Kirinin Waltz

24th January 2014:
Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you! :-D

 Report Review

Review #19, by LoveHarryPotterHearts Waltz

15th January 2014:
I've been reading fanfiction for a while now, and believe it or not, have never read anything other than marauder era stories. That was always my favorite era in the books I guess. However, I am very glad that I took the time to read this. Thank you for writing such a fun and creative story! I particular enjoyed your attention to character development. It was obvious that you put a lot of time and thought into this work. Wonderful!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm so glad you took a peek at my story, even if it was a different era than you're used to (I LOVE Marauder era stories as well)! I'm even more thrilled that you enjoyed it! Ah, this is so sweet and it's always great to hear that my time spent on the characters and the small details didn't go unappreciated! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind and thoughtful review! :-D

 Report Review

Review #20, by alexaemd123 Waltz

13th January 2014:
Awe! I loved it! It was very cute!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Maelody Waltz

12th January 2014:
Hey there! Hey there! Hey there! (Hehe, get it?)

So this is the second fan fic story I've ever read that has OCD in it, and just like the first, this was exceptionally well written! It honestly pulled me into the head of those that were suffering and it really makes me feel for them. The anxieties are real, and the reminders are there over and over and over again.

I think my favorite bit that was added was Scorpios' stutter. I've never read a story where someone had this sort of setback, and I don't know why seeing as how that is something a little more common than most remember, and I really liked it. It made him seem so adorable, and sweet, and it showed a different side to him that other stories don't delve into.

I don't know if the mistletoe bit was made up on your bit or not (for some reason my brain is telling me that happened in the books, too, but maybe it is because you made it so absolutely magical and believable?) but I loved that you added it either way. Glitter would be a nightmare for anyone who has to be clean at all times.

I sort of want to bounce on the heads of all the girls in poor Rose's dorm. I understand she gets where they're coming from, and I get how they feel to because sometimes it is hard to understand something that you yourself don't go through, but you would think after all the years, they would just roll over and wait for the one solid minute to end. There's no need to make her feel worse than she already does.

All in all, I think it was a beautiful little story and I have absolutely no complaints! (Not that I was looking for one). Rose was different than any other Rose I've ever read, and the same goes for Scorpios, and that's what made it so enjoyable. There was a sad note playing in the waltz the whole time, but you knew that she would go on in her life of threes just fine as long as she has Scorpios by her side. Lovely job! I really loved it! :)

Author's Response: Mae, Mae, Mae! Hi, hi, hi! ;)

Ah, yay! I'm so happy that you enjoyed it - especially considering you had another with similar aspects to compare it to! It's so great that you felt like you were in Rose's head, too, so that you could understand her struggle on such a real level! That's wonderful!

I'm just thrilled you liked Scorpius and his stutter! He's very sweet in this version, I think, and I'm glad you agree; the stutter seem to add to that, huh? It's like you just want to hold him! (Or is that just me?...) Thank you! :-D

hehehe Nope, I made it up! But that's pretty nifty that I may have fooled you! :-p I'm so happy you liked the idea of the glitter-bombing mistletoe! I was a little nervous about it, because in fanfiction the big mistletoe thing is to make it trap people, so I wanted to stay away from that. Anyway, phew! Thank you!

Right?! Bounce on them, Mae! I grant you permission! ;) But you're absolutely right: there really are two sides to OCD - the people who have it, and the people who have to tolerate the people who have it. It's sad that some people simply do not have the patience for the little ticks and compulsions, but I like to think that's what adds to Scorpius' charm here - because he doesn't just tolerate her, he loves her. ^.^

Yay! No complaints is always great to hear! And I'm so happy to have created a unique Rose and Scorpius! Gah, you're just incredible! Thank you so very, very much for leaving this review! *sends endless amounts of 'thank you's and cookies your way* :-D


 Report Review

Review #22, by hotohori2931 Waltz

10th January 2014:
I have to say, this was splendidly original! Very well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That's wonderful to hear and I'm glad you think so! I really appreciate you taking the time to review! :-D

 Report Review

Review #23, by GalleonScarlet Waltz

9th January 2014:
This was great! Loved it!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so happy you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #24, by Lululuna Waltz

9th January 2014:
Hello! :) I'm here for your requested review from last year (haha) and I'm so sorry for the delay! :( But this way I get to properly congratulate you on winning in the Duel! You really deserved it! :D

I like this a lot. I love how original the characters are, how both Rose and Scorpius have their own struggles and challenges to confront in their personal and social lives, and how they take refuge with and support each other. It was really beautiful and warmed my heart far more than any love/hate dramatic Rose/Scorpius story ever could. I really liked how Rose reminds me a little of Hermione, but her OCD sort of amplifies Hermione's characteristics and makes her a different person. The mention of her hair being frizzy was great as well, and a really interesting addition in how her hair frustrated her because it was the one thing she couldn't control.

I felt quite sorry for the way Rose's roommates didn't really understand, and the little jibes they made. The idea of Rose hearing them say mean things about Scorpius and that he wasn't attractive was a really sad image, but I like how she didn't let that influence her and was sort of immune to peer pressure in that way. It's funny, because I can see both sides and understand how Rose pacing every day early in the morning would be a little frustrating and something I might resent, but I don't think they needed to be so snarky about it. :P So, I really liked the way you portrayed Rose as an outsider and how her roommates compared.

Scorpius, wow, he was just adorable here. I think the idea of him having a stutter but he and Rose soothing one another's anxieties was really lovely, especially his satisfaction when something came out right. I really liked how Rose dissected the qualities which made other people think badly of him - that he seemed pompous or condescending - and how she sees him in an entirely unique and affectionate way. My heart melted a little when she said that she thinks he looks lovely: in my opinion, that's what true beauty is, when somebody may not be traditionally attractive to everyone else but to the person who truly sees them, they're the most beautiful thing. :) Then when Rose admitted to day-dreaming about kissing Scorpius it really made me smile - we're onto you, miss Weasley!

I loved your writing here, how rhythmic the story felt with Rose's counting and how careful and delicate it felt. The writing really showed how Rose has to sort of move lightly and cautiously through life, how fragile everything is. You also did a really wonderful job of showing, not telling: like when it was explained they were Ravenclaws by pointing out the identical ties, and the descriptions of things like a hair on her clothes that Rose would see as unacceptable. Oh, and I loved the last line as well. It was very sweet. :)

Lovely job, my dear! :D I really enjoyed reading and reviewing this! ♥

Author's Response: Hey Lululuna! No worries at all about the delay! And thank you so much; I still can't believe it! :-D

I'm just thrilled that you liked my versions of Rose and Scorpius! It felt incredibly risky taking this route, and every time I hear that they've been well-received, it's a huge relief! And I'm really happy I decided on this friendlier version of the two of them rather than a dramatic one; I agree that the comfort they found in one another was quite sweet! And yay! I love when people see the small parallels I drew between Rose and her mother! It's always exciting when those little subtle details are picked up on! Thank you! And that hair, ugh! Poor thing.

Aw, I know, I love that Rose is able to brush off their shallow assessment's too. And I totally agree with you here. It's a really hard situation to handle, both for Rose and for those who have to deal with her quirks as well. It's tricky because even though she has this mental disorder that forces her to rely on these rituals, her roommates know that completing said rituals won't actually affect anything, and so feeling bitter about her completely pointless compulsions is unfortunately the way I think a lot of people would feel - snark included. It's sad that a lot of people would find that they just don't have the patience for these sorts of things, but I'm glad you felt it worked and liked the way it sort of separated Rose from them!

*squee* You know, I've never cared for the next gen kids, but I fell for Scorp a bit while writing this; I'm glad you found his as adorable as I did! And yes: beauty truly is in the eye of the beholder, and it's funny how someone who may not be classically good-looking can still be seen as beautiful because of who they are. I've gone through these sorts of realizations before and it's truly lovely. hehehe Rose's daydreams are quite revealing, huh? :-p

Thank you!!! I'm so glad the writing worked for you! I read your story and thought you have such a beautiful way with words and with flow, so it's so nice to hear that you enjoyed mine as well! I take that as a very high compliment! And YAY for showing, not telling; something I was not always good at, so woohoo for progress! :-D And I'm glad you liked the last line! I almost didn't include it, but couldn't help myself! I'm so glad it worked!

This is such a beautiful review; wonderfully detailed and so very, very kind! Thank you so much for taking the time to write out such a long response - this was entirely worth the wait! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan Waltz

9th January 2014:
Hi! I read this when I saw it was nominated for Hufflepuff Featured Story and I didn't have time to review then, but I do now. Maybe a good thing I waited, because now I can congratulate you on winning your prompt in the Writers Duel!! :D

This was such an original piece. You have a talent for that - I remember reading one of your stories ages ago that rhymed.

I really liked the way you approached the characters here. You did well at portraying how difficult it is to live with those conditions without sensationalizing them. Particularly Rose, what with her repetitions and her anxiety about the order begin messed up. Her narration is so wonderful because it allows me as the reader to get inside her head, which is such an interesting place, a different view of the world through her eyes and routines. The repeats of threes also makes the writing so rhythmic and flows beautifully... like a waltz! There's something to be said about finding beauty in strangeness.

I loved your attention to Rose's daydreams in how she can be different in her dreams, and how there's no germs haha! And I can see the influence of Hermione's personality too, how Rose is so particular about her packing!

Your interpretation of Scorpius is wonderful as well. He was doing really great awith the stutter until that glittery mistletoe made him nervous - but Rose doesn't seem to show any annoyance about him taking forever to spit out his words, which I like. Much like the end when he speaks in threes for her, Rose is very patient for him :)

She likes Scorpius because he makes her feel almost normal - aww! Seriously, I love these two. They are perfect for each other in all their imperfectness - they both have issues, but they both understand each other. And it doesn't hurt that Scorpius is three inches taller than Rose :P The brushing teeth comment made me giggle too.

I adored the part under the mistletoe with GLITTER. Oh, that would have been horrible for Rose particularly - but really anyone! Glitter is the worst.

This was a really fun story, so sweet and I loved your portrayals of Rose and Scorpius. So glad I read this and you totally deserve the award! :D

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you so much!!! I'm still a bit in shock about the whole thing! *hugs*

Aw! That's so lovely to hear; I'm so flattered that you feel that way, about both this story and Mouse! :-D

It's such a relief that you believe I pulled the characters and their conditions off! I certainly tried to be very careful with their approach and it's just thrilling that you felt both were handled well! And same with the repetitions of three throughout the story - specifically in the narration as opposed to the dialogue, as I wasn't sure whether or not that actually worked before posting! Phew! Thank you so much! And beauty in strangeness: I couldn't agree with you more. :)

Yay! I love when people have picked up on Rose's Hermione-like tendencies that are simply amplified by her OCD! And the daydream I found to be a sweet thought, too - sort of a break from her reality! I'm glad you enjoyed that!

Eee, Scorp! I fell for him a bit here, I must say; he's pretty cute. :-p I'm so glad you found them a good fit for one another and that you understood how significant their patience for one another's conditions is! And double yay for seeing the perfect in their imperfections! I'm so happy you found them to balance each other out so well, as it's really exactly what I was hoping for!

Glitter is the devil for those of us without OCD; poor Rose would have been a mess (in more than one way)! I'm glad the glitter-bombing mistletoe worked for you! hehehe

Ah, this is such a wonderful review! I'm so happy you enjoyed both the stories and the characters! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed response! *squee* :-D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>