Reading Reviews for Waltz
  
52 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Cappuccino Waltz

20th November 2014:
Reading this story made me cry. I literally sat down and sobbed for about 5 minutes until I regained any remaining control over myself. You are, in my opinion, a very, very, very talented writer and I love how flawed your characters are because in the end, that's what makes them human. The very idea and the writing of the story was beautiful. You're amazing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by BitterSweetFlames Waltz

15th November 2014:
Hi Tanya.

So, I totally felt compelled to read this because you mentioned it had reached 50 reviews and I was, like, ooh I want to read that! :)

Anyway, I'm glad you did. OMG, you are an amazing writer. The way you wrote this was just so beautiful. Your treatment of Rose's condition was so understanding without skimming over it. It's hard to live it and you got that through without making Rose seem annoying but you can also empathize with the people who live with that everyday, it's not easy.

The use of a waltz, the counting 1, 2, 3 was just perfect. To anyone who's gone through dancing classes, it's annoying to have to count all the time in ones head just to get the dance done so I can't imagine the horror of having to be compelled to have that count in your head all the time!

Scorpius was wonderful in this, I think. It's common to see him portrayed so many ways. Proud, arrogant, aloof but the fact that his rigidity is because of a compulsion and he's fighting through some condition as well was perfect!

This story is just so original and I actually read it twice before I left a review because it was just so beautiful! Thank you for sharing.

--Carla

 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Waltz

14th November 2014:
Hi Tanya!

So I have to confess, I actually read this just before NaNo started (although how on earth I went so long without reading it, I don't know, because I've been hearing people talk about how amazing it is since it went up on the archives), but of course with all the NaNo frenzy I didn't have time to leave a review until now! Anyway, hopefully this will give you some extra encouragement too - not that you need it, since you're doing amazingly! :D

This story really was as amazing as everyone said! I don't tend to read that much Rose/Scorpius anymore but I'm getting all excited for Christmas and this was a really perfect story to put a smile on my face, and I think this is one of my favourite versions of the pairing that I've read!

To be honest, it's kind of hard to know what to say in a review of this so I should probably warn you now that I'm just going to be rambling about your great writing :P

The title of this has always intrigued me, and I kind of thought at first it was going to be about Rose and Scorpius at a ball or something (I know, that was an original guess, right?), so I really liked the way that you started off with those first few lines which made me realise I'd been completely wrong about it. And then I think that using a waltz as a metaphor for Rose's OCD was a great idea, and the way that you employ the theme throughout is just so great.

I've seen so many different versions of Rose in fanfiction - the girl who's really intelligent, boring, a rebel - but I honestly think this is one of the most original portrayals of her that I've seen. I felt so sorry for her here, but I really thought you did a great job of conveying the way that she goes through life with OCD, everything in a pattern of three, so that everything's perfect - it seemed so realistic and believable to me. You got over the 'compulsive' aspect very well too, since it didn't seem like something she had much control over and she really had to fight it.

Aw, I hope that her roommates are more sympathetic in normal circumstances, but I can understand that it would get irritating to see Rose waking you up every morning with her routine, even though you still want to sleep. I loved the way you highlighted how something that can seem so minor and insignificant can be a big deal to Rose, like the number of steps on the way down to the common room fitting into a multiple of three.

And the way you introduced Scorpius to the story was fantastic! It wasn't something big and dramatic; they'd just gradually become friends of sorts over time and it wasn't something they really seemed to think about as a big deal. I really liked the understated nature of them being friends because I think there's so often a tendency to dramatise that aspect, or make it a romance immediately or something, and I found this much more believable and nicer to read.

Scorpius was so adorable, too! I really liked how underconfident he was because of his stutter and the fact that he was so different from all those stories that portray him as this cool, arrogant guy who is really popular. Rose and Scorpius were kind of like two misfits who found each other and became friends in this, and I really liked that. Scorpius (and Rose, for that matter) was a character that I just warmed to immediately, as soon as he appeared.

Ah, the dreaded mistletoe! The poor things, innocently planning their trip back home for Christmas and making sure that everything is precise, and then they get trapped by the dreaded mistletoe. And the trick that gets played on them if they don't kiss while under it sounds just awful, but at the same time something very Hogwarts-y!

I really liked the way that you showed how nervous and stressed the two of them came when they realised the situation that they were in. Scorpius's stutter became so much more pronounced and Rose's compulsion for everything being in sets of three came through much more violently, even in her speech, as though it would help her somehow in getting out of it. And at the same time, I loved the way that you showed that, even though they were really nervous and scared, they both had feelings for each other and wanted to kiss in a way, there was just a lot that seemed to be preventing them.

The gradual build-up to them kissing was so well written, Tanya! It was so sweet to see Scorpius pushing through the stammer to say her name and get out the words, and then the kiss - it was written so perfectly, not at all exaggerated but just really sweet! And I loved Rose's surprise at how much she enjoyed it, and Scorpius's question afterwards seemed to be perfect for the moment, too.

Those last few lines - what can I even say? They were just brilliant and I thought they captured the relationship between them perfectly. The two of them can learn to be together if they want to be, and I think the mistletoe was kind of the trigger they needed to actually force them to admit their feelings (in a sense - there's not been much admission going on here, except in their own way there has been). It was just so sweet and perfect, especially for Christmas!

Okay, I'm going to end this review here before I bore you by rambling on and using up all my characters. But here's to review 50 on this story, and good luck for the rest of your NaNo!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by LightLeviosa5443 Waltz

29th October 2014:
Hi!

So I saw you post the lovely review Joey left for you on this story in the reviews that made your day thread and I had to come running over to read this.

This was a remarkable piece of writing. Like, more remarkable than your usual is which makes it infinity remarkable. Because that makes sense, right? I don't even know where to start talking about this. First of all, I love how we dive right in, and we see Rose going through this morning routine that she cannot break. I don't have OCD, but I have a minor anxiety disorder, so I've got routines that I have to follow when I do things. For example, I have to check all of the locks six times on every door and five times on every window before I can get in bed. That said, I love the way that you show Rose going through hers. It's perfectly done, the repetition fits flawlessly, and I'm in love with the effortless way you've brought us into feeling her frustration.

I can't imagine how grating the comments of her roommates must be. Just reading them killed me. I lvoe that she has this kind of solace in Scorpius though. It really was sweet for their friendship to benefit one another. I like the idea that two can help each other with the anxiety that plagues them. I also love that it's Rose and Scorpius. I'm a sucker for ScoRose :P

The way she reacted when they were under the mistletoe was just wonderful. I'm a germophobe, and I've been really offensive to people when I get all freaky about germs not intending to be, so I loved the way that you had her unable to stop saying no. I loved the way that both of their anxieties came back as the time went on. And then I loved that kiss. It was so sweet and cute and I was completely heartwarmed by the way it happened.

This was a wonderful, beautiful piece and you did an amazing job at seeing it through and tying it together and ending it and just making it this one believable masterpiece. I can't believe I've never read this before because it really was just so lovely.

xoxo Sarah ♥

 Report Review

Review #5, by crestwood Waltz

29th October 2014:
THIS STORY. This has been on my reading list for actual months because so many people were recommending it. I had no what it was about until recently. I have OCD as well and it's a lot like Rose's with a few other things thrown in. Although, we just might not have seen the full extend of Rose's here. But one thing I found striking is that the Waltz is actually one of the things that calms me because three is my number. I was listening to Waltz #2 by Elliott Smith throughout reading this and it actually kept time with the song, so that's just about the most impressive thing I've ever written down.

Her roommates reaction is exactly why I like to be alone a lot of the time. I despise that reaction and I have had entire days ruined by it. It was extremely realistic though. I appreciate that it was written in because it's certainly the reality of what happens.

I have a friend with a stutter and I understand how impatient and rude people can be about it and I'm just going to imagine that everyone's really respectful and nice to Scorpius in this universe because there's no evidence to the contrary and that's what I hope is true :)

I feel the real importance of not being disgusted by a person touching you. Rose not having to brush her teeth after kissing Scorpius is like, the most important thing. When I was young, maybe about four or five, I didn't know what OCD was. I was under the impression that I was the only person like this and wow, if someone could have read this to me back then...it would have changed my life. Even now, it has. I still haven't stumbled across many depictions of the condition in media that aren't played up basically as a useful superpower or a comedic, simplified 'I. need. to. clean.' kind of thing. Actually, this may be the first accurate portrayal I have EVER read. I'm crying and everything. Thank you for this, really. I appreciate everything about this so much.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Penelope Inkwell Waltz

4th October 2014:
You did a truly excellent job with this.

Rose has OCD, yes? I do, too. It's gotten much better, but when I was younger I was a lot like Rose (My number was four). It's SO NICE to see that represented in a story! I cannot even tell you how wonderful it is. I think that if I had read more characters like me in my childhood/tween years, it would have made things so much easier. Representation is so important! So, props to you for throwing some (mental) diversity in there!

Really, I cannot give you enough congratulatory snaps.

And Scorpius has a stammer. And is adorable and considerate! And he maybe isn't the guy every girl thinks is dreamy, but Rose totally sees it! I love that. :D

When he smiles and says the "Good, good, good," part...I can't even...my heart!

The whole thing was also just so poetic and symmetrical, which I adored. And having the waltz as a sort of embodiment of her number was so clever!

This is a beautiful piece, and I have, like, mega feels now. Thank you so much for writing it! I wish I could go back and wave it in middle-school-me's face and be like, "Here is this story it's beautiful and it's like you and you're going to love it!"

Collegiate-me loves it, too.

Thanks.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #7, by snufflesthedog Waltz

26th June 2014:
This story was so beautiful, and poetic. It almost made me cry! It has a sort of purity about it and it just flows, exactly like a waltz! I loved it, so 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this truly lovely review! I'm so thrilled you enjoyed it so much and that it provoked such strong emotions! Thank you for leaving this comment, it's really so kind of you; I sincerely appreciate it! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #8, by LetterGirl Waltz

23rd June 2014:
Beautifully written and yet so simple. It somehow calms me down. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! I sincerely appreciate it and am just thrilled that you enjoyed it so much! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #9, by yerawizard27 Waltz

18th June 2014:
Wow! I really loved this. Such an original idea, and written so beautifully- It was like I could feel exactly what Rose was feeling, and honestly, my heart was thumping!

Wonderful concept and excellently executed, 10/10!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm so glad you found it both original and well-written, and I'm especially thrilled that the story was able to effect you how it did! This is such a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to leave it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #10, by Limited_Edition151 Waltz

3rd June 2014:
That was very good, good, good! It was confusing at first with Scorpion's stutter, when it was hard for him to say the G's, but other than that fact, I would read, read, read this again! I have always been a fan of RosexScorpious, and I am looking forward to reading more of your material.
Don't Forget To Be Awesome!
-Ellie-

Author's Response: Hey, thank you so much; I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I had a feeling that in the beginning, with the vague comments regarding it, that people wouldn't grasp onto the fact that Scorpius has a stutter in this story, but it seems like people have been able to come to understand it as the fic progresses, so I'm glad you were able to eventually pick up on that as well! It also makes me exceedingly happy that you, as a fan of this ship, enjoyed my version of them! I truly had no idea what I was doing at the time, so hearing they've been so well-received in this rather uncommon fashion is such a compliment - I truly appreciate it!

And thanks for the reminder! I forget to be awesome, like, all the time. :-p
Tanya


 Report Review

Review #11, by Liana Waltz

8th May 2014:
Poor Rose and poor Scorpius for putting up with her. I think she needs counseling or medication. The kissing part was funny though along with Scorpius asking if she needed to go brush her teeth.

Author's Response: haha Yeah, they both have their own struggles, but I think they find solace in one another in a way that helps them both deal with their anxieties! I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I very much appreciate it! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by R Waltz

8th May 2014:
Amazing, amazing, amazing piece of writing :)

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! That's so kind of you and I'm thrilled you enjoyed it so much! Thank you for taking the time to leave this comment, I sincerely appreciate it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Kristy Waltz

7th May 2014:
THIS IS AMAzING! KEEP WRITING MORE FANFICS OF ROSE AND SCORPIOUSPLEASE!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so happy you enjoyed my versions of Rose and Scorp! I know they're a little odd compared to how they're usually portrayed, but it's great you want to see more! I'll do my best to stir up a new plunny for the two. Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a lovely comment, I truly appreciate it! :-D

 Report Review

Review #14, by Veritaserum27 Waltz

17th April 2014:
Hi Tanya!

I read this a while ago and didn't get a chance to leave a review and I thought, what better time that now to review my eggstravaganza teammate??

This was such a great story. I loved every word of it. Of course, I am a huge ScoRose fan, but this was such a refreshing twist on the pairing. You did a fabulous job depicting both accurate traits of both afflictions and the frustration that consumes both of them.

At the same time, you can tell that he is completely in love with her and she is too plagued with her OCD to do anything about it. The simple kiss, and the fact that she didn't need to brush her teeth was so heartwarming - it give the reader hope for their future.

Fantastic job! 10/10

Beth
Reviewed for the Hufflclaw/Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Aww, well I'm so happy that the Eggstravaganza brought you back to this fic, and am especially thrilled that you enjoyed it! Yay!

Eep! You're so sweet; that's so lovely of you to say! Thank you! I'm also extremely relieved to hear that an avid ScoRose fan enjoyed this, as my versions of the two are quite different than what you usually see! When I first posted this, I was very worried that people wouldn't be all that receptive to them, but I'm very happy that I worried over nothing! As far their afflictions go, it's just as much of a relief when people think I handled both well, so thank you for saying that, and I'm glad you could feel that frustration that each endures through my writing! Woot!

Daww, I'm glad that came through! He really is quite fond of her. hehehe And yay for simple kisses without a frantic toothbrushing following it! :-p I'm glad that moment stood out for you, as it was one of the last lines I thought up before posting and was really happy I snuck it in when I had the chance!

Thank you again, Beth, for this truly lovely review! I sincerely appreciate it!

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #15, by aleksa Waltz

7th April 2014:
this was so lovely! very well-written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much; I'm glad you feel that way! And I really appreciate your taking the time to leave such a kind review! :-D

 Report Review

Review #16, by EarthsTrueGreen Waltz

29th March 2014:
This really was a charming one shot. I really wish that you would expand this into a full fledge novel or novella. These characters are so unique. "To be human is to be beautifully flawed" and that is what you did in this story, you really made their flaws beautiful. This story honestly left me wanting so much more and I am sad that this is all I get. Thank you for writing it.

Author's Response: Hey there, EarthsTrueGreen! Thank you so much for this lovely review; I'm so happy enjoyed it! I've actually been toying around with the idea of revisiting these versions of Rose and Scorpius and showcasing them in a novel. They might be more background characters rather than the two leads, but I've got a new Next Gen novel idea in the works, and I was thinking I might involve these two - give a little more background on them? Either way, I'm very happy to hear that you'd like to see more of them! I can only hope that if I do revisit these characters, people are as receptive to them elsewhere!

I love that quote. It's so very true. It really warms my heart to hear you say I made their flaws beautiful! Ah, you're so lovely! Okay, well, I can't make any promises, but I'll take another look and see if I can't find a way to expand their story! How's that? ^.^

Thank you again for leaving such a kind review. *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #17, by Tuesday Waltz

27th March 2014:
This is incredibly well-written and the characters just came to life.
The way you wrote about Rose and Scorpius dealing with their own personal struggles was sensitive and wonderfully handled.
I loved this.
Tuesday xx

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much, Tuesday! It's wonderful to hear that; I sincerely appreciate it! I'm especially thrilled that you felt I handled both Rose and Scorpius' struggles well! It's always a risk taking on such sensitive subject and I was very nervous for a long time about how my version of them and of these issues would be perceived, so it's incredibly reassuring to hear you enjoyed my take on it all!

It's so kind of you to have left me such a lovely review - thank you so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by megthechef43 Waltz

20th February 2014:
writeyourheartout,

Beautiful. This was written beautifully while respecting the people with a stammer and ocd. I really like when you wrote about Rose wishing she didn't have to dance each morning. Super sweet ending and I'm glad she let him waltz with her.

I really enjoyed reading this one-shot.

Meg

Author's Response: Meg,

Ah, thank you so much! This is such a sweet review! I'm so happy you enjoyed it, and am exceptionally pleased that you found the subject matter involving the disorders both beautiful and well-handled. It's always risky to write about these types of more delicate subjects, and so I was a bit unsure of how it would be taken, but I'm so glad you feel that way; it's a great relief. I'm happy you liked the ending, too! I almost didn't include that final line about Scorpius learning to dance, but am glad I decided against nixing it.

This is such a lovely review! I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write it. Thank you so much!

Tanya :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by skyblue Waltz

10th February 2014:
This was beautiful! I love that Rose and Scorpius are both so flawed, although most stories on this website depict next generation characters as the confident, near-perfect people their parents were.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm so happy you enjoyed it! I was actually quite nervous when I was writing Rose and Scorpius because I wasn't sure how well-received they'd be, so it's great to hear that you liked them! I was certainly going for exactly what you've said, so yay! Phew! haha Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review; I sincerely appreciate it! ^.^

 Report Review

Review #20, by Unicorn_Charm Waltz

7th February 2014:
This is such a wonderful story. It's incredibly sad but very heartwarming all at the same time. You can really feel poor Rose's struggle with her OCD. Absolutely beautifully written.

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed it! That combination of sad and heartwarming is so very much what I was going for, so I'm just ecstatic to have pulled it off! And I just adore that Rose's condition seemed to resonate; it was really important for me to do her character with OCD justice. You are far too wonderful. Thank you so much for having taken the time to leave such a kind review; I sincerely appreciate it! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by ARoseByAnotherName Waltz

6th February 2014:
This was such an amazing, honest potrayal of the struggle that she would be going through. Their interactions are wonderfully sweet. Well done! I only wish that there were more chapters to read!

Author's Response: Oh gosh, this is a such a kind review! I'm absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed it so much and found it realistic as well! It's always a little bit of a risk to take on these sort of issues, and staying true to them was really important for me, so I'm so happy you felt that way! Perhaps someday I'll build upon these versions of Rose and Scorpius so that there is more to read! Thank you for wishing that; that's really awesome! haha Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind response; you really made my day! :-D

 Report Review

Review #22, by desertmagpie Waltz

4th February 2014:
Oh my gosh, I love it! Absolutely adorable.

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! I'm so happy you that enjoyed it and am extremely grateful that you took the time to leave such a kind review! :-D

 Report Review

Review #23, by maraudertimes Waltz

3rd February 2014:
Hiya!

Oh, this was so sweet! I loved the imperfect perfection of them both. I can see how Rose's OCD can be difficult for her to live with, yet utterly beyond her control. It's sad to see that her dorm mates can't see that the urges aren't something she can supress. And poor Scorpius! Darling Scorpius with the stutter he tries to overcome! It's really sweet to see such evident flaws in them both, but flaws that make them perfectly imperfect and imperfectly perfect.

The constant no, no, no's were really sad, but I could see where Rose was coming from. Having to be perfectly clean, the idea of kissing isn't so pleasant. And neither would be kissing your best friend, although cleaning up glitter *is* extremely hard to do. I'm glad they kissed, though, because seeing both of them go into frenzied states over uncleanliness of the glitter variety would not be all that amusing. (okay, it might be slightly amusing, but whatever! :P)

And the ending was so perfect, and when it says "Her life is a waltz, they both understand. But he can learn to dance." I kind of squeaked and aw'ed and I'm pretty sure it's just the cutest ending ever, because it's evident that he loves her and that he will learn to dance if he must to help her and be with her.

This is really beautiful and it's extremely obvious why this is Staff's pick! You wrote this amazingly well and everything is just perfectly imperfect and imperfectly perfect!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Lo! Hi! Ah, you're far too sweet! It was such a nice surprise last night to find this new review waiting for me! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment! *hugs*

*squee* I'm so happy you liked it! I completely agree about her roommates, but I just felt that the unfortunate truth behind OCD is that a lot of people don't have the patience or tolerance to deal with it; even when it seems like such minor ticks. :( Poor Rose. And yes, poor Scorpius, too! Oh man, I wasn't very nice to them, was I? haha I'm glad you found it sweet though as he tries to overcome his stutter! I really wanted their flaws to make sense as to why they fit together so well, and I'm glad you enjoyed them each! :-D

The no, no, no's were a little heartbreaking, right? I love that you understood both sides of the action, though! Ha! The glitter. I feel bad making her choose between two evils (sort of), but at least it got them to kiss, right? ;) Seriously, she should be happy I didn't choose the glitter. :-p

Aww! Yay! I'm so happy you picked that line, too, cause it almost didn't make the cut of the story! I was a little worried about it, too, once I did add it in, so I'm glad to hear you liked it so much! *flails*

Gah, seriously, you're far too kind! Thank you so, so much for this incredible review! I can't stop grinning! :-D


 Report Review

Review #24, by Kirinin Waltz

24th January 2014:
Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you! :-D

 Report Review

Review #25, by LoveHarryPotterHearts Waltz

15th January 2014:
I've been reading fanfiction for a while now, and believe it or not, have never read anything other than marauder era stories. That was always my favorite era in the books I guess. However, I am very glad that I took the time to read this. Thank you for writing such a fun and creative story! I particular enjoyed your attention to character development. It was obvious that you put a lot of time and thought into this work. Wonderful!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I'm so glad you took a peek at my story, even if it was a different era than you're used to (I LOVE Marauder era stories as well)! I'm even more thrilled that you enjoyed it! Ah, this is so sweet and it's always great to hear that my time spent on the characters and the small details didn't go unappreciated! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind and thoughtful review! :-D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>