Reading Reviews for Of Bets and Broom Cupboards
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by navyfail Of Bets and Broom Cupboards

21st December 2015:
I'm literally dying. THIS IS LITERALLY SO GREAT.
Oh James, you sexually active animal. What to do with you?
I love your character of Ursula Umbridge and I absolutely love her name because of the alliteration. And honestly when I read her name for the first time I immediately thought back to the Little Mermaid and all those tentacles. Also so much pink! She takes after Dolores Umbridge so well. The pink amethysts on her braces were a nice touch too.

And Albus! Sneaky, sneaky Albus... putting the thought of Ursula Umbridge in James's mind, especially when James said:

"Then she bloody sticks that nose up as far up in the air as the stick up her backside and you just think that you'd rather be gay than hook up with her. "

I think it's clear that James would rather hook up with her than be gay, just sayin' ;)

I think this is a really cute, funny fic and it definitely made me laugh and smile in many places. I love how you characterized James. Even though he is a bit of a pig, he's huggable pig. And I love how all of his family didn't trust him to stay away from ahem extracurricular activities for that long.

Anyway great job and happy holidays!

*throws confetti*

~Sama

Author's Response: *basks in the confetti*

Hey, Sama! Glad that you're dying. That didn't sound nice. Glad that you ENJOYED it rather, especially considering it was written way back in 2013 (wow, has it really been that long?!) when most of my writing left something to be desired :P

"James, you sexually active animal." OH MY GOD. I DIED WHEN I SAW THAT. What DO we do with him, huh? Apparently, trick him into dying his hair pink.

He IS a bit of a pig. I definitely wouldn't approve of him if I was at Hogwarts, but I adored writing him this way. His one track mind was great to get into.

Ah, Ursula Umbridge. Not the most pleasant character, but I do feel a bit sorry for her in the end :P But she really has it all stacked against her - the pink, the Umbridge and the connotations to Ursula from the Little Mermaid. I could so see her trying to reel James in with those tentacles!

And yeah, James was so lying to himself when he said that he wouldn't hook up with her. Poor boy. Not such a great liar. :D

Happy holidays! I'll be heading over to Crossing the Borderlines soon!

Plums

xo


 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotter Of Bets and Broom Cupboards

21st March 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this was absolutely hilarious! It's such a funny idea for a story, and even though you can tell James is going to crack, it's still funny to watch him freak out for two weeks first! Haha.
Ursula Umbridge seems pretty awful. I think she's just too much like Dolores, and it makes me shudder a little bit! And all that pink!
I really loved how you wrote Al. Most of the time I read him being characterized as a really nice, stand-Up guy, but I thought it was a really cool choice of yours to make him more of a stereotypical Slytherin. He was cunning and smart and knew exactly how to trick his brother into losing the bet!
I'm really intrigued about the feud between Rose and Molly...
Overall I thought this story was really great. It was a really fun read, and I loved the way you characterized all the Weasley and Potter cousins!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi! I'm just about to head to your page to fulfill my end of the swap so hold tight ;)

Thank you for your compliments. It was great fun to write James in such a stereotypical way. His pain is hilarious. As for Al, I love him, even when he's so...Slytherin (?). Especially then. I prefer him as a Slytherin, but if he's going to be in the house, he has to show some of its qualities. Sometimes I find that some writers place him in Slytherin, but write him as a Gryffindor. I didn't want to do that here though.

Ah. The feud between Molly and Rose. I'm pretty sure that when I wrote Of Bets and Broom Cupboards, I intended to upload more material in that universe e.g. a ScoRose story where the Feud was explored. Unfortunately, I scrapped that idea. I might return to it one day though. :)

Thank you for the review swap!

Dirigible_Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #3, by shez Of Bets and Broom Cupboards

4th January 2015:
Here for the review swap but I'm definitely planning to stay ;)

So I'll preface this by saying I was originally going to do your Tom Riddle fic (but then I realized I'd already R&Red it. Then I was all OMG WHY HAVEN'T I READ HER OTHER WORKS??) And I don't usually read fluff, but this was so witty and refreshing I COULDN'T RESIST.

So. I love this. I don't usually like next gen but this is just PLAIN GOOD. I love the sex-deprived ultra obnoxious and yet somehow still endearing internal world of James . I love your "little shit" Slytherin!Albus a more though. I love how this didn't meander into a love story, and Ursula remains obnoxious from beginning to end. I love how the Wotters give James such a hard time (and just the whole conversation between them. It's a rare feat to write group conversation so well). But mostly, I love the dynamic between the brothers. Can this be a full fledged fic? I'd love to read more ways Albus ticks off James.

EDIT: Oh, just one concrit: dialogue tags!

If you're describing the way someone says something, it's a comma and a continuation of the sentence. Otherwise, fullstop.

Ex.

"Shut up," she says breathlessly. (COMMA, LOWERCASE)

"There, there." Freddie smirks, patting my head.
(PERIOD. NEXT SENTENCE)

s'ok. I screw this up all the time too :)

And since I realize my review is pretty lame in comparison to yours, I just wanted to say that I really genuinely enjoyed this story. Enough to favorite it, actually. You're a very good writer technically, and you write the sort of stuff I like (Tom Riddle, Slytherin!Al-- I need to get to your Sirius Azkaban fic next since I'm sure I'll end up liking that too).

Can I somehow bribe you to write more stuff?

Author's Response: Hi! I haven't checked out 'Of Bets and Broom Cupboards' in ages so I don't really remember most of the dialogue, only the fundamental plot. Either way, thank you for the compliments. They're always nice to hear ;)

As for the dialogue tags, I completely forgot about them! I uploaded this AGES ago before I went through the crash course and forgot to edit this along with other one shots. I'm planning on doing that soon so thank you for the reminder!

As cliche as this portrayal of James can be, I remember it being surprisingly easy to write him and enjoyed doing so. I might upload a longer fic of him, but it'd be months before that happens. I'd have to plan and write a few chapters before I actually upload it.

I love the Potter boys. That is all I can say.

Thank you for stopping by. It's always nice to see you around :)

Dirigible_Plums xo

(But really Slytherin!Al and Tom Riddle are what I live for, I really don't think any other explanation is necessary??)


 Report Review

Review #4, by ladymarauder85 Of Bets and Broom Cupboards

14th January 2014:
Brilliant! I love this already!
I've read a few stories where the blokes are on a no sex bet but this one has been done to perfection - no cliches and over within a chapter - great job! I love your Al and James too. They've got really distinct voices if that makes sense? I loved James comment about Slytherin and how Al's different there and then Al being warmer when he was with his girlfriend. It's going to be great seeing more of him.
Oh god, Umbridge!
Just please hurry with the next chapter because I'm dying to find out what happens to your characters!
:)

Author's Response: Well thank you for all of the compliments, I'm looking like a Weasley right now...except I'm not ginger. Unfortunately "Of Bets and Broom Cupboards" is only a one-shot but I wouldn't mind doing more of them and possibly writing a novel(la) later on. Hope that doesn't disappoint you too much.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Zqad Of Bets and Broom Cupboards

14th January 2014:
This was a fun trip :) Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by BBWotter Of Bets and Broom Cupboards

6th January 2014:
Oh my gosh this is hilarious!! I love it! Can't wait for the next update :) xx

Author's Response: Haha thank you, I'm glad you found it good. I was a teeny bit worried because it was my first ever Next Gen one shot & my first time writing in James' voice

-Dirigible_Plums xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by newgenerationlover Of Bets and Broom Cupboards

20th December 2013:
Absolutely love it!!

Author's Response: Haha I'm glad! Hope the unedited version didn't annoy you though, I'll fix it in the New Year, I promise x
Thanks for R+R+Ring!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Fonzzx Of Bets and Broom Cupboards

20th December 2013:
I LOVED this :D it was brilliant!

Author's Response: Oh stop it, you're making me blush ;)
I'm glad that you loved it though because after I'd put it up, I freaked out about it because, well, what if it was HORRIBLE? But I'm glad you liked it.
Thanks for R+R+Ring!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login