Reading Reviews for close your eyes, listen on up.
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Roisin under the mistletoe.

8th September 2014:
DAW!
What a lovely little ending! I loved how sparing it was. Such a non cliche way to go, so simple and fresh and honest and delightful.

I really liked the easiness of the writing here, too--it seemed so comfortable and natural and casual, and really suited the story.

And I loved how there was no big horrible drama or fall out after they kissed. Yes, that does happen sometimes, but it's nice to see the other side, too. The side that's just NICE.

I'm also a big fan of arbitrary diversity--like Dumbledore didn't HAVE to be gay, he just was, or characters being not-white and it not being the most important thing about them. So I liked that Lily was blind, but it really wasn't the FOCUS of the story, she just WAS. It ended up being a part of her, influencing what happened--but you COULD have written her seeing, and it could be the same story. Also, that her blindness wasn't a huge bummer, and didn't upset her or stress her out. I HATE when people treat disability that way, because it's rarely true. Mostly, people like the way they are. Anyway, I appreciated it :)

Author's Response: i'm so glad you liked it! i wrote this in a slightly more informal style than i ususally use, because it was set in a more modern era, but i try and keep that simplicity and 'sparing' style in all my writing, so i'm really glad you think it works here!

since this was a fluffy christmas fic i didn't want to have any huge drama - i did just want it to be nice, as you said. so i'm really glad you liked that!

i also like arbitrary diversity! no one thing ever defines a person, but i think people can slip too easily into making one diverse aspect of someone turn into their whole personality, and it really ruins a character for me. even if something is important to a person's identity, you can never say it's EVERYTHING about them that's important. like, i'm gay, and i'm also a green haired hippie, and i'm also lactose intolerant, and i also love harry potter - how can you say what's the defining feature that makes me ME? because it's a combination of everything. so i do love giving attention to every part of my character's life, not just whatever might make them 'diverse'.

thanks so much for this awesome review!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #2, by Emmie under the mistletoe.

9th May 2014:
This was just beautiful. Gay!lily is honest to god my favorite thing, and this was just so wonderfully written. I loved the prosa, the beauty of it. Just brilliant.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I love gay!Lily too (also gay!every other next gen character, oops), i think it's such an interesting story to tell. Thanks so much for this lovely review!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #3, by LovelyLilyNP under the mistletoe.

11th March 2014:
By gosh, this has to be one of the sweetest oneshots I have ever read, in my whole entire lifetime. You really have a way with words, and if you did happen to enter the writing industry in the future, I would definitely read your works.

You captivated me so easily. I've read tons of other romance fictions, but I love how yours is femslash.

Before reading your work, I used to think, Ewww, I don't get how anyone can be a Lesbian. That's just disgusting. Girls are made for guys. But your story.

I tell you.I've read thousands of romance fics, quite a few of them being slash. But I still didn't get the 'charm' of femslash. Now that I read your story, I can't help but wonder, Why not?

This is such a sweet femslash, and if I hadn't read this one, femslash and I just wouldn't 'click' But really, you wrote femslash so well, and you've got me convinced there's nothing wrong with it.

Caitlin and Lily seem like a perfect match, and I love love love how Lily was blind. Whenever you add a disability to a story, it makes a thousand times better. It makes it feel real. It makes it have this inexplicable magic which isn't present anywhere else.

Yours is the first fiction that really has any substance, that really really actually touched my heart. The first. The very first. It's so different and unique, and it intrigued me the moment I read the title.

Yours is so real.It has substance, you know what I mean. The beauty of it has really wrapped around my soul like a warm blanket. I'm still slightly in shock from reading that. If you become a professional author, I'd love to read some of your books.

Wow. Just wow. I never thought a piece of writing could be influential, so heart touching, so beautiful. You really do maximize the power of words.

Hats off to you, and please, keep writing!

Author's Response: Wow. It's taken me a long time to respond to this review, simply because I don't know how to. I honestly can't express how much it means to me to know that my story has made you realise there is nothing wrong with lesbians. That is really incredible, and thankyou for this incredible review. I am very glad to have touched your heart.



 Report Review

Review #4, by Cecily under the mistletoe.

27th February 2014:
Aww, that was very sweet. Beautiful imagery. I especially love the line " maybe better, because it's almost like looking at it through a lens of Caitlin." Wow. What a powerful sentence.
Thank you for the amazing read!

Author's Response: aww, thanks, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Em under the mistletoe.

8th February 2014:
Hi! I really love this story, and I can imagine myself coming back to it any time of any day. It's very lovely, very original. The words just flow of the page and I got to that magical place where you don't even feel like you're reading words anymore because you can imagine the scene so perfectly and vividly in your mind. I love when writers can do that - just like you did with this story. I love that Lily is romantically interested in a girl, as well. I find that there are far too few stories embracing the LGBT community, which I think is a shame considering fanfiction sites like these are meant to fuel the imagination and to free people from societal restrictions.
Anyway, I really loved your story and I'm on my way to your page to check out more!
-
Em

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much, I'm so glad you liked it! I had a lot of fun writing this, I love exploring unusual concepts and I feel like the plot is what really fuels my writing, so I'm so glad you liked the actual prose so much. As a gay girl myself I'm always disappointed by how little LGBT fanfiction there is on here, so I figured I should just write some myself! Haha.

Thank you so much for this lovely review!

~Maia xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cannons under the mistletoe.

24th January 2014:
Your an amazing writer, so talented :)

Author's Response: Aww stop it you're so sweet, I'm glad you liked it xx

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #7, by Slygrifflepuffclaw under the mistletoe.

18th January 2014:
Now I try to avoid one shots at every possible opportunity, but that was one of the best ones I have ever read. It was brilliant :) Keep up the good work

~Slygrifflepuffclaw

Author's Response: Aww that's such a compliment, I'm really glad you liked it!! Thanks for reading and reviewing :D

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #8, by Unwritten Curse under the mistletoe.

9th January 2014:
I. Love. This.

Your prose is absolutely gorgeous and I can't even. I can't even produce words. You break the rules in the most inspiring ways and I thank you for that. I thank you for showing me that writing isn't a formula and that beauty comes through taking risks.

Please never stop writing.

Author's Response: Oh my god, this is just the sweetest review. I'm so glad you like my style - I really just try to write like I talk and hope that it comes off in a natural sounding way, so it means a lot that you like it!

Thanks so much for reviewing xx

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan under the mistletoe.

8th January 2014:
Firstly, congrats on winning your prompt in the writer's duel!! This was an absolutely adorable piece and I just loved it.

I liked the informal writing style, I felt like I'd known the characters for ages. I think it was really fitting especially with the way Lily and Caitlin had been best friends for years, it was a friendly narration, if that makes sense haha.

Most of all I love how descriptive you've managed to be, without describing any settings. Because Lily can't see, you've described everything in terms of her other senses, things that Lily smells, or feels, or hears from Caitlin. Really, I could picture everything in this story, which is so impressive because nothing is described visually, but it's still expressed. The buildup of emotions and feelings was just so well done. And I'm so glad Caitlin felt the same way :) this was so sweet!

I applaud you on this piece (and really, just all your writing :p ) Great work!!

Author's Response: Ahh, thank you! I only found out that I won today so I'm still super shocked and amazed!

Lots of people have mentioned the informal writing style in this - I'm glad it's a hit! Since I usually write such angsty stories making this more informal seemed like a way to make it warmer and more fluffy - glad you think it worked!

Gosh, you're sweet, I'm happy you liked the description :) I really wanted to add another layer of challenge to this for myself, and I usually rely on sight quite a lot in my writing so I thought it would be so interesting to have to find other ways of describing. I am very glad you liked that aspect of it since I was nervous and thought it was gonna go terribly!

Thanks so much for reviewing :D

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #10, by BenedictPumpkinpatch under the mistletoe.

7th January 2014:
Review 4 for the Winter Writer's duel.

You really do have a talent for evoking a feeling of being there with the characters of your story. I'm not going to put this story into any kind of bracket. It's just a romance between two people and a very well written one at that.

Your descriptions allow the reader to feel the urgency between the couple as they realise their feelings. But you are a good enough writer that you don't need to lower the tone to make the reader know how much they feel for each other, and how much was in that single kiss.

Your writing flows effortlessly and your descriptions (especially of Caitlin by Lily) are wonderful.

Well done. You throughly deseved your win.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! I'm so glad you thought I wrote the romance and connection well - I've never really tried to write a romance like this before and I was super nervous about getting it right, so it means a lot that you like it :D

Thanks so much for reviewing, and I'm really glad you liked it, you're the sweetest :D

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #11, by Josette_Phoenix under the mistletoe.

4th January 2014:
This was absolutely beautiful. You've done it again :')

Author's Response: Aww you're so sweet, I'm glad you liked it < 3

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #12, by LightLeviosa5443 under the mistletoe.

4th January 2014:
I had been planning on reading this earlier in the week but I got distracted. When I saw you won the duel for this category I knew I HAD to come read this story.

This is simply amazing. I truly have no other words to explain was a fantastic job you did with this story. It was moving, sincere, and detailed and so wonderfully written that I felt every emotion the characters did. Bravo Maia. This is incredible. It's no wonder you won.

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Hiya! Aww, I'm so glad you liked it. This is such a sweet review. I only just found out I won and I totally wasn't expecting it so I'm still kind of in shock! But everyone's nice words are making me extrememly happy :D

Thanks so much for reviewing! < 3

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #13, by peppersweet under the mistletoe.

3rd January 2014:
Hey Maia! Here for the 12 days of reviewing challenge. I've read a lot of of 'stuck under the mistletoe' type stories this winter, but this was by far the sweetest and most engaging. Caitlin and Lily's progression from friends to lovers was so natural! I liked how Lily knew she loved her from day dot, even if she couldn't comprehend it at the age she was. Their relationship was beautifully written and they sounded like a perfect match - Caitlin's comment about the bee between the lips was really funny and I could just imagine her making comments like that to Lily all through the years.

One of the best passages was Lily's reaction to the kiss, I thought, especially this line: her mouth falling just the slightest bit open and her tongue darting out to check inventory of her lips, because it feels slightly like Caitlin’s taken them with her when she pulled away, like she’s taken all of Lily, that she’s a hollow-shell-girl now - ugh, what a gorgeous piece of imagery, so evocative and sensual and eeep. I love the two of them a lot already. The narrative voice in this was really sweet too. I felt like I'd sat down for a cuppa and a natter and got this story chucked in as a surprise bonus.

The only criticism I have is that the spacing in this chapter is a bit weird - the HPFF editor does that sometimes. Didn't detract from the story at all, though, which was fab.

Really good job! Best of luck with the duel and have a fab start to 2014 :D ♥

Author's Response: Hiya! Yay, reviews from you always make my day :D I'm so glad you liked it! I think when I started writing this I honestly thought the enchanted mistletoe was something from canon - then I realised it wasn't and I must have read it in a fic ages ago and merged it into my brain as canon... but I liked it so I left it that way :P I am really glad you liked it and thought it was engaging! I'm terrible at writing romance and really struggle to make a good connection between the characters, and the characters and the reader, so I'm super glad you think that worked here!

Lots of people have commented on the informal writing style! I'm glad it seems to be such a hit - I think I did write this entire thing while drinking tea, so that might have had something to do with it :P

I've edited the spacing now but it's still a bit inconsistent so I might have another shot. SIGH. hpff editor drives me crazy sometimes.

Thanks so much for reviewing! Happy 2014 :D

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #14, by alicia and anne under the mistletoe.

2nd January 2014:
Okay, I have got to say that this made me feel so happy at the end! I was so worried that Caitlin wasn't going to feel the same way about Lily but I'm so glad that she does. I am so filled with happiness now.

I really liked how you portrayed Lily's blindness and how important Caitlin is in her life, and I must admit that I maybe think that Caitlin wanted Lily to be under that mistletoe?

Amazing job! I enjoyed reading it. :D

Author's Response: Hiya! Awww, thanks for this so awesome review! I'm glad you liked it, haha.

I used to stick purely to angst but recently I seem to be incapable of writing a story without a happy ending? When I first started writing this I was actually intending for Caitlin to not feel the same way, but I couldn't do it! I'm turning into a big sap :P

I don't think Caitlin planned the mistletoe thing, but subconsciously, I'm sure she wasn't against it ;)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Aphoride under the mistletoe.

2nd January 2014:
Hey there - dropping by from the review battle! :) jumped in when I spotted you since you left those reviews on In Theory recently (which I absolutely loved and will reply to soon, I promise! :D) ;)

You know, it's strange, but I don't read that much femmeslash, mostly I think because I haven't found a ship to ship, if that makes sense, though I've read bits of Fleur/OFC and Luna/Ginny before.

I loved this, though. I loved how you didn't focus on the fact that they're two girls at all, that was almost sort of irrelevant, it was mostly about how they're best friends and Lily can't see, which I think fits really well with it being Next Gen, you know? They're at school in the 2020s - the world's going to be different from now then; things will have moved on.

I liked how even though this is a one-shot you still took the time to explain that Lily lost her sight and how they met when they were little and things, and then at the end that they spent so much of their lives together. It was really sweet, like a kinda story or flickbook of important moments, you know? It almost felt like Lily was telling it to someone else, in third person, almost, say James' kids or something.

You dealt so well with her being blind, as well. It's such a difficult thing to tackle, I think, because it's so hard to really understand properly what it's like for people who are blind, you know? But I think you did so well with it - you pointed out that things were harder for Lily, picked presents she's likely to get, mentioned things like how she couldn't see her clothes or her hair colour or Caitlin, which were all such wonderful details.

I love their characters as well. I love how Lily's nervous and wants to be able to see just for that moment, sort of, but so happy and really pretty darn brave, too. I loved how Caitlin is such a wonderful friend and seems so chirpy and patient and kind. They're such a lovely pair of characters, and they really feel so real, you know? :) Yeah, I really love them both. They're so adorable - apart and together!

Your writing, as well, is so lovely. Clear and just the right balance of description and action, it flows so easily... gah, so nice! :) There were a few formatting issues, but they're easy enough to tidy up and, frankly, they're not that big a deal ;)

So yeah, I loved this! I'm so glad I read this! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi hon! Thanks for this awesome review - I've taken so long to respond to it because I honestly didn't know how to respond to a lot of it! You're far too sweet :D

There isn't really a lot of femslash on the archives, so it's understandable that you haven't read a lot of it! As a pretty resolute lesbian myself I have kinda taken on the task of singlehanded changing that by writing quite a lot of it ;) I can honestly say I've never read a Luna/Ginny, though I now really want to since you've said that, but I am currently writing Fleur/Katie Bell and finding that really fun!

I really did want to take the almost 'political' aspect of this out, and just focus on their love rather than making some big statement about gayness :P I am sure they would face some adversity in the long run but like you say, this is a while in the future and things will have changed at least somewhat by then, and for this story at least it's not about the bad consequences of being a gay witch. It's a love story between two two people, and one of them is blind, and they're best friends, and it's just cute! I'm glad you liked that about it :D

I'm also happy you liked the little snippets of their past that I started off with. I have a habit of writing long, winding fics that take place over a series of relatively disconnected scenes, and it doesn't always work well for short oneshots like this, so I was trying to get out of that pattern - but I couldn't help giving just that little bit of backstory! I hate trying to cram backstory into the main body of a fic, though I know that's just a failing of my own writing ability, haha :P

Most of the reason I decided to make Lily blind in this is as a challenge to myself, because typically I use sight SO MUCH as a description in my writing. I really wanted to force myself into focusing on things like smell and touch and sound, because I think it's great writing practice to challenge yourself like that, so eliminating sight was super hard but I'm glad I did it. I'm really happy you thought I did a good job, too! I was nervous about all these weird new methods of description...

I was a little worried I hadn't developed Caitlin's character enough, so thank god you liked her! Haha, she is definitely very patient and lovely, which is really perfect for Lily. I think they are some of the most real characters I've ever written, to be honest - they don't have any extreme quirks or anything, but they still fit perfectly together, in a kind of subtle way. Thanks so much for saying you liked that :D

Thankfully I've now fixed the formatting :P It was driving me crazy the whole time the queue was closed!

Thank you so much for this awesome review!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #16, by kenpo under the mistletoe.

2nd January 2014:
This was so well written! I loved it! The way it was all set up was genius. The description of how she lost her sight was just vague enough. I can't get over how good this was. I was captivated from the first little section.

The ending, I loved how simple it was. So simple. So perfect.

I love your writing style, it reads really smoothly and it's interesting.

Really, I just loved this and I'm going to stop talking because there's only so many ways I can say how fantastic this is.

Author's Response: Awww, I'm so glad you liked it! You're too sweet :D I didn't want to go into too much detail about how Lily lost her sight because really, this is just a love story, but it also felt too significant to not mention it all together. I'm glad you think there was the right amount of vagueness :D

Thanks so much for this lovely review hun < 3

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #17, by GingeredTea under the mistletoe.

26th December 2013:
This was simply wonderful. You took a true fluff story and gave it depth and motive and - I'm not sure how to describe but I WANTED to read it and to be honest, I rather dislike fluff in general. Awesome job.

From the way you introduced the story, to the way you broke it up, to the ending you gave the readers - simply brilliant.

The only CC's I have for you is the spacing between paragraphs, but then I have lost my temper numerous times at HPFF's "paste" function over things like that. LOL.

OMG, I am in love. Favoriting!

Author's Response: Hiya! Ahhh, I'm so glad you liked it! I've really never tried to write fluff before and I really hate mushy stuff so I tried to give this as much depth as possible - I'm really glad you think it worked!

uuugh the spacing, yeah as soon as the queue reopens I'm gonna fix that! The hpff paste function drives me mad sometimes! I think it was because I submitted this to the queue at like 3 am, I just forgot to go though and put proper spacing in again :P

Ahh I'm so glad you liked it so much! Thanks so much for the review, and the favourite!!

~Maia xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by momotwins under the mistletoe.

25th December 2013:
I like the style you wrote this in. It's very informal, like the narrator sat us down and poured some coffee and told the story. The four year olds were sweet, made me smile, and oh man, the potion accident :( How awful. I do love the idea of her wearing whatever and not caring, rather than carefully planning and coding her wardrobe so she knows what she's wearing. It's sort of pleasantly chaotic to picture her in hand-knitted ugly sweaters and neon t-shirts.

The progression of the story is great, really natural. Lily's reasoning for staying behind makes tons of sense, and her internal narrative feels very realistic. I like Caitlin, her comment about the bee between the lips was funny and witty. And I loved the enchanted mistletoe, it's perfect for Hogwarts. Aw they're super cute. You're a good writer! I really like this story, your descriptions and dialogue are fantastic, and you convey emotion really well. What an adorable story! Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! This was one of those fics I didn't really think too much about writing - I didn't plan it or know where it was going when I started, and I didn't edit it much, so I think that probably lead to the informal kind of style. I really was just trying to tell a story over a cup of coffee, haha, I like that way of putting it :P

With the wardrobe thing, at first I thought maybe Lily would only own jeans and grey t-shirts or something so she always knew she was co-ordinated, but I thought about how boring that would be and decided to make her a chaotic and uncaring dresser instead. I think it's more fun and it doesn't exactly matter to her anyway, and it kind of shows that she's embraced her disability, rather than feeling too hard done by she's learnt how to live with it well. I'm glad you liked that about her :)

When I started writing this for some reason I really thought the enchanted mistletoe was canon? I quickly realised I had either made that up in my head or read it somewhere else and absorbed it like I thought it was in the books, but I decided to keep it in, so I'm glad you think it worked and fit with Hogwarts :D

Thanks so much for reviewing! This was such a nice review to get!

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #19, by georgie under the mistletoe.

23rd December 2013:
really loved it.

well done.

also loved how it was set at christmas because the mistletoe was so cute.

Author's Response: awww, thanks! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by smitlikesllamas under the mistletoe.

21st December 2013:
Hey! Thanks for the request. You know, just the other day I was just thinking about how interesting a Lily/Female OC pairing could be, and what do you know! You request one for me. :)

And you know what? I was right! That was interesting. It was cute and funny and fluffy and adorable and I loved it.

I liked how even four year old, eight year old Lily knew she felt different about Caitlin than she did for most people, that was nice.

You were worried about the romance and the disability. As for the romance, I think you did a great job. I mean, it was just really cute and I liked it and I don't know what else to say on that.

As for the disability, I don't have any problem with how you wrote Lily. I don't think I've ever read a blind fic, and I don't know much about blind people's lives, but I mean, I think you did well. It was believable and that's really the only thing that matters, right?

Anyway, that was cute (how many times can I say that?) and I'm glad you requested it. :)

~Smit

Author's Response: Hiya! Wow, you got this out fast!

Aww, I'm so glad you liked it! Cute and funny and fluffy and adorable was exactly what I was aiming for, haha, I just wasn't sure how well I'd achieved it so I'm glad you think it worked :D

Yeah, I kind of wanted to show how their relationship has always been special, it's not like they're friends who've grown into a romantic relationship, it's more like that's always been an undertone to their relationship.

Phew, I'm glad you liked the romance! I seem to naturally gravitate towards writing angst so this was a bit of unfamiliar terrain for me, haha, I was just hoping it came off cute without being cheesy :D

Yeah, I've never read a fic about a blind peron either, which is why I was a little worried about writing this. I'm glad you think it was believable - I agree, that's basically what matters, and what I was aiming for!

Awww, I'm so glad you liked it, and thanks for the great review! May have to come and request more from you at some stage ;)

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #21, by darcy. S under the mistletoe.

20th December 2013:
rlly loved it.. only thing is the huge gaps between paras where a bit annoying but i know that the hpff editor does that itself sometimes so its probs not your fault... but the story was completely beautiful and lily and caitlin seemed so goodtogether that i was really happy when they got together, and the ending was just < 3

well done xx

Author's Response: awww, thank you so much! I am so glad you enjoyed it :D I know the paragraph spacing is super annoying and I'm gonna fix it as soon as the queue reopens!

Thanks for reviewing hon :D

~Maia


 Report Review

Review #22, by MissesWeasley123 under the mistletoe.

20th December 2013:
SO MANY FEELS AHHH. HOW DOES THIS EVEN HAPPEN, I DO NOT UNDERSTAND OH MY GOD.

I was seriously panicking at the end because wait, what if they don't end up together??? BUT THEY DO AND YUS! So cute.

See, this is why I love slash so much. For me, it's never the same as stories with straight pairings I suppose. I feel slash stories are just so more important relationship wise... or maybe it's because authors write them with such tenderness and care and make beautiful stories out of them.

Everything about this was so sweet, and I died at the last line. I love your idea so much and you're just such a brilliant lady Maia, it's amazing. I love reading your work because I never know what I'm going to read, all I know is that it will be awesome and breathtaking, and you pieces always are. Also, one tiny thing for when the queue reopens, I think you might want to fix the spacing in this, it's a bit spaced out.

My favourite part, obviously was this:

Later still - the rest of Lily's life.

It's nice.

She spends a lot of it with Caitlin.


So perfect. I loved their relationship as friends, and then more. It was perfect. I hope you win the Duel, this is one of the best for this prompt that I have read. Beautiful writing as always.

Author's Response: Ahhh, Nadia, how are you always so sweet oh my gosh. I'm so glad you liked it!

I was kind of intending for them to not end up together when I started writing this - I'm an angst author at heart! - but I couldn't do it, haha, they had to end up together :P If I can't write happy stories for CHRISTMAS then I'll never get another chance!

That's a really good point. I feel like the fact that they've had such a deep friendship makes their relationship so good, and their friendship was probably deeper because they're both girls so have more in common than most boy/girl friends. Plus, there was a lot more riding on that kiss, since neither of them knew if the other one was gay or whatever so I feel like that moment was more significant and risky than it would have been for a straight couple, which kinda makes it more romantic when they do end up together!

Everything you say is just so sweet, gosh, I'm so so glad you like my stories! Like I'm just a dummy kid who likes Harry Potter too much and I love writing so anytime someone compliments my fanfic I pretty much die < 3

Urgh, the spacing is driving me crazy, that's the first thing on my agenda when the queue reopens!

I definitely have steep competition from pretty much EVERY other entry to the duel, so I'm not sure about winning, but I just had an awesome time taking part! Thanks so much for this gorg review, you're so sweet!

~Maia xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by BitterSweetFlames under the mistletoe.

20th December 2013:
-sniffs- well, that made me sigh at the end. Not an exasperated sigh, ok? Just the OMG, that was such a beautiful end sigh. And it was... The end definitely affected me. I loved the pairing! I think the way you introduced Caitlin was just precious. I can just imagine it.
And then when you describe the accident? Poetic and short but really really sad as well. :(
The kiss is also very well done.. Yay for mistletoes! Naughty naughty mistletoes.
I loved this one Maia. Idk if you intended it to be so though but there is a LOT of space between every paragraph.. HPFF tends to do that to me too but I just didn't know if you intended it that way. It's just that sometimes scrolling makes it difficult to get to the next part which is sad because this story packs a punch.
I love the writing style and the feeling that it's fast but it's not rushed.
well done, maia and good luck with the duel!

--Carla

Author's Response: Hi Carla! Awww, I'm so glad you liked it! I was having so much trouble with the ending, I had the whole fic written for ages but couldn't figure out how to end it which is why it took me so long to get it into the queue, haha. So I'm really really glad the end made you sigh!

I'm glad you liked Caitlin, too - I'm always really wary of writing OCs and especially introducing them can be hard, so I'm super glad you thought that worked! I kind of wanted to show their connection when they were children so they had all that history behind them :)

I didn't want to go into too much depth about the accident because in a way I didn't want it to be the focus of the story, so I'm really glad you think the shortness of that worked.

Uuugh, the spacing. I usually avoid the spacing issue by pasting as plain text but I didn't want to lose all my italics and stuff in this fic so I pasted with the formatting... only then it puts massive spaces inbetween each paragraph... I want to change it but now I'll have to wait until the queue reopens in January since I'm not a TA!

Thanks for the lovely review, I'm so glad you liked it!

~Maia xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by gleefreak123 under the mistletoe.

19th December 2013:
this was one of the sweetest fics i have ever read. i'm not ususually into slash but this seemed like a interesting idea with lily being blind so i decided to click and i'm glad i did, it was amazing!

Author's Response: Awww, you're so sweet! I'm glad you liked it, and liked the idea of Lily being blind :)

Thanks for reviewing < 3

~Maia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login