Reading Reviews for Resolute
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lumos_knox Resolute

24th April 2014:
That was really good- it sums up Voldemort perfectly! Thankyou for your brilliant writing skills

Author's Response: Gah, thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it - and thought I did well with him! Thank you again for stopping by! It means a lot! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by Cannons Resolute

22nd February 2014:
Hey, here for our review swap!

This was one of the most impressive things I've ever read! Your writing is so smooth and easy to read. Your characterisation of Tom was really amazing, he was so realistic I don't think J.K could have done a better job herself.

I was going to review a chapter of 'House of Cards' but then I spotted this which I had already seen before but didn't have the time...at the time. :P

I really liked how you showed the reader that he never was content with his achievements, always wanting to do bigger things, achieve more. Also how scathing he is of his peers and teachers, there's no doubt in his mind that he is better then them and it really came across well.

Slughorn was also written brilliantly and I felt a little sorry for him!

You had me enthralled from the start, your writing is superb and I'm going of to read something else that you've written!

Cannons

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by and for the review swap! I really enjoyed it, so I'm glad you liked it too! :)

Gah, thank you so so much - that has genuinely left me speechless and smiling randomly for the last few days, haha. I can't believe that, wow - thanks! :)

Haha, no worries about that!

Thanks! I found it really interesting characterising him, though I was really nervous about it because he's, you know, Voldemort. I looked up Anti-Social Personality Disorder traits for him, which is where most of those sorts of things came from/the ideas behind them came from, so I don't think I can really claim to all of them, haha ;)

Yeah, same! He's attempting to manipulate, and getting so easily, unknowingly manipulated in turn. It's kinda bad for him.

Thank you so so much for this lovely, lovely review - it was honestly such a wonderful thing to get! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by True Author Resolute

5th February 2014:
Here for the review battle!

First of all let me give you a big hug for your characterization. You did an extremely lovely job! The way you insert small details like him enjoying to see something burning and not needing a potion were effective enough to know what kind of person he was.

I liked the quotes you used for every part and the plot was great. Just thought it should have been shorter, but probably I think so because I always prefer keeping the word count short so don't mind. :)

Great job!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Gah, thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked how I wrote Tom - I was really apprehensive about writing him since he's such a difficult character, you know, so it was a bit nerve-racking. I based a lot of his personality on anti-social personality disorder traits, so I tried to show that through the details, so I'm happy you liked them! :)

Thanks so much! Haha, yeah, I tend to write long things - I think this is one of the shortest things I've ever written, if not the shortest, so it probably could be ;)

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Remus Resolute

10th January 2014:
Heya!! Rosie here with your review! So sorry that I've taken forever and ever to come but hey! I'm here! Better late than never, no?

:)

So I've never read a young Tom Riddle story so I was very excited to read this. And I have to say, you didn't dissapoint.

Your opening quote was definitely the first thing that caught my eye. I'm a "Grinch" when it comes to the new year so that quote was the perfect for me. From then on I was sucked into this story.

Your Tom is arrogant, evil, and just nasty and I absolutely love him! It honestly felt like you took him out of the books and plopped him into your story. I liked how he just disregarded the Felix potion. Of course he sees himself as above that, he's Tom Riddle and he doesn't need luck. Ugh, I wonder what would've happened if he had taken that when he went to kill Harry.

smoothen out his hair and tuck his shirt into his trousers. It hardly matters since no one will see him anyway, but the idea of someone seeing him in any state other than perfection is abhorrent.

I really liked that line because I can really see him doing that sort of stuff while at Hogwarts.

Ugh and of course he goes for the Chamber!! Evil Tom!

Ah Slughorn. Poor, poor man. He doesn't know that he's being used. Even if it is just for truffles. I wonder what would've happened if Tom went on to become a politician. What would've happened if he decided to become the next Minister of Magic. He probably would've been more successful but alas, he saw himself as above that as well.

Overall this was a fantastic fic! I was definitely impressed with your handling of Tom. In the whole series, Riddle, Snape and Dumbledore seemed to me as the most complex so kudos to you for making him feel real.

Thank you so much for letting me read this!!

Until next time!

--Rosie

 Report Review

Review #5, by academica Resolute

7th January 2014:
Hey, here with your requested review!

Wow, this was really impressive! I adored how dark you went with Tom's characterization. You can see him spiraling into the bottomless pit, and I'm not sure he could turn back now even if he wanted to. I definitely picked up some good antisocial personality disorder (that's the formal name for what we call psychopathy) symptoms, namely his lack of empathy, his thrill-seeking nature, and his glib outer persona. For example, the thing with picking out his own birthday present - I got the sense that he would just steal from someone else if he saw something he wanted, and without a second thought about it. Clearly he was a thrill-seeker because he needed to up the ante every year, and sometimes (like with the Chamber) even that wasn't often enough. It was intriguing how he really lived in his own head, saying whatever he needed to and using others at will but pretending to be the "golden boy" so that no one would even suspect him. You wrote so many layers to him and I'm impressed with your accuracy and the obvious research here. For future reference, if you ever want to consult on mental disorder symptoms, I'm happy to help :)

Slughorn was great as well, very in character with his joyful attitude - and he's obvious beside himself to be spending time with a student as impressive and composed as Tom Riddle. The mention of politics was a neat touch as well, because I think Slughorn probably thought he'd get as much out of that career as Tom would, with favors and special invitations and whatnot. I love Slughorn but rarely see him written, and I'd love to read/write more about his complicated and regret-filled relationship with Tom.

I like the quotes and they clearly connect with the themes in each section. However, I had some trouble figuring out their significance. My first thought was that maybe they were from the books Tom was reading, but those were probably more likely related to dark magic or Horcrux creation, right? If you're worried that they clutter the piece, I think it would be okay to take them out. I also didn't feel that they detracted from the piece, so leaving them in would be fine too.

I was just really impressed by this. It's easy to see how you wound up winning an award in the duel. I will definitely recommend this if it's not already listed on the forums. Nice work!

I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks so much for stopping by, Amanda! :)

Gah, thank you so so much! I'm so glad you liked him - it was surprisingly difficult to get inside his head and understand the way he thinks, simply because of the way I've always pictured him as having Anti-Social Personality Disorder (thanks for mentioning that - I hadn't heard the name change, for some reason :D). I'm so so glad you like his characterisation, because I really wanted to get it right and the internet is not necessarily the best place to get technical info :) I did like the idea that everything is for his own amusement, almost, like a thrill and he has to go after it, because it kinda makes him almost more understandable, though not more likeable.

Thanks! :) I really liked writing Slughorn and I wanted to include a sort of antithesis to how Tom actually is, and have someone who doesn't see him like that, so that it kinda emphasised the difference between how he views himself and how everyone else views him. So Slughorn fitted so well for that! I actually like writing him, too - he's an interesting character to me, because he's so pompous and self-absorbed.

Yeah, I liked the quotes because they kinda seemed to fit the general themes/feelings around the different sections, but they're not overly important. I dunno, really, I'm glad that it works either way, though - it means I don't have to worry so much about whether or not I should take them out, haha! :)

Thank you so so much for this - and for the recommendation! It was an amazing review to receive, particularly from you, given your expertise, and it really, really made my day! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by BenedictPumpkinpatch Resolute

6th January 2014:
My second review for the Writer's duel.

You managed to capture the essence of the boy as he grows into the 'man' we all know too well. A 'private smile', an 'arrogant stride', he 'praises himself'. All aspects that can so easily be part of anyone's personality, but with what we know of things to come, it's all too obvious that this boy will become something even more obnoxious than a self preening, arrogant sixteen year old.

Wonderfully written and well thought out. A worthy winner.

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by! :) I'm so glad you liked it!

Writing him was more difficult than I thought it was but surprisingly fun, though I don't know what that says about me, haha. You've definitely hit it on the head with self-preening and arrogant ;)

Gah, thank you so so much for all the compliments and the lovely review - it was such a great surprise! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by Freda_and_Georgina Resolute

6th January 2014:
Oh my goodness! This story is amazing! It put a whole new spin on the prompt, and accomplished what is often one of the most daunting tasks in fan fiction: getting inside Voldemort's head! You did a really great job with it, too!
I loved how you portrayed his independence, and his superiority complex, per say.
This is a really impressive piece, and congratulations on winning the writer's duel! 10/10!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for stopping by! :) Yeah, it was a pretty big challenge - I really wanted to get it right, as well, since it's Voldemort, you know? :P He definitely has a superiority complex, haha, and writing that was surprisingly fun!

Thank you so so much, both for the review and the compliments (and for the congratulations!)! I really didn't expect to get anything! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by NinthHorcrux Resolute

5th January 2014:
*shiver* Wow! That was an incredible story, it literally made me shaky! Voldemort is scary as an adult but as a sixteen year old he is even more cold and distant. We see it in the books/movies and now even more so in this fantastic story. I like how you describe Tom Riddle's thoughts and how he sees his goals. This is very unique too!

Great job! Love the story! :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for stopping by! :) I'm so glad you liked it - it was a bit of a challenge to say the least to tackle Tom Riddle, but I actually ended up enjoying writing it, which was a little weird, lol.

Thank you very much for the review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by peppersweet Resolute

3rd January 2014:
Hi, here for the 12 days of reviewing challenge!

This was an excellent insight into Riddle's mind. I like where you went with the prompt - instead of pondering how to change himself for the better and be a good man, Riddle's 'new year, new me' thoughts are fixated on how great he will become. The only way is up for him. I thought you brought across his arrogance and psychopathic traits well in this. It was written very subtly. Of course, psychopathic as he is, Riddle would never let anyone on to his dark thoughts and actions, and so the ease of tone and flow in this even when discussing some of his horrible deeds (like killing the Head Girl's owl) really suited his character.

I especially liked this line: He does not need a potion, even one for luck. He would create his own luck, if he ever needed it, and he never needs it. I felt like it was a really good piece of characterisation, Riddle just destroying the Felix Felicis, even being offended by it. It displays his arrogance and ambition perfectly.

Really good job. Best of luck with the duel! ♥

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by! :) Good luck with the reviewing challenge!

Thanks! :) I'm so glad you liked it - I've been wanting for ages to write something about Tom Riddle and so when I saw this prompt, this was the first thing which popped into my head. I looked up lists of traits of psychopathy online, tbh, haha, so I'm happy you thought it came across well.

Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it - I wasn't sure if that bit was a bit too much, in all.

Thank you so much for the lovely review and good luck with the reviewing challenge! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by BookDinosaur Resolute

29th December 2013:
Hi there Laura! I'm here with your requested review. :)

I really loved this oneshot, it was a wonderful story and I'm sure it'll do well in the Writer's Duel. :)

Your decision to have the narration as third person present tense was really interesting, and I think it suited the story really well. The present tense heightens the suspense and the mysterious element in the story, and the third person is very suitable for a story about Tom Riddle because it doesn't allow us to really connect with Voldemort's thoughts - the narration remains more removed, like Voldemort always was. I hope that made sense. :P

I absolutely love your characterisation of young Voldemort, Tom Riddle. The way he's so self-confident in himself (like saying that he'll make his own luck) but somehow he's prudent and careful as well was a really complicated mix, but you pulled it off really well and Tom just turned out as such an amazing canon character, you shouldn't be worried about your characterisation of him at all! I really loved how he kept bad-talking hs friends, it relly emphasised how alone he was and how he did have followers, not friends. I really liked how indignant he was that someone might insinuate that he needs assistance, and how he feels like he's entitled to everything, so he just takes whatever he wants.

I think Slughorn was characterised really well too, those comments about being Minister 'in ten years, perhaps less if you're lucky' were really in character for him, so kudos to you for that as well.

I think overall, the flow of the story was really good, I loved how you incorporated those quotes in - they served as a sort of transition between the scenes, but the whole oneshot flowed really well between Tom's desires and his ambitions and the scenes where he was talking and the scenes which were all his thoughts and actions.

I really liked your incorporation of the prompt into the story, it was all very natural and I love how you used the New Years' Resolutions theme to highlight Tom's ambition to become better and the best in the next year, because ambition is a Slytherin trait, so really, everything in this oneshot somehow relates back to Tom Riddle and Voldemort. It's genius, really.

This was an amazing oneshot Laura, I'm sure you'll do well in the Duel! Good luck!

Author's Response: Hey there, Emily, thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Ah, thank you so much! I'm so happy you liked it!

I'm really glad you liked it! I've been finding recently that I'm really enjoying writing in third person present tense, it seems to feel really natural. And yeah, don't worry, it does make sense! He's a pretty removed person, so I get why a more close person would have felt strange! :)

Gah, thank you so so much! I'm so glad you love the characterisation! It was probably the biggest challenge in writing this, to make him seem realistic but also like Tom Riddle, if that makes sense. I actually based most of his traits on the list of anti-social personality disorder traits, so the whole taking things he wants came from there, so I can't claim all the credit for it! :)

Thank you! I'm so glad you liked him! He was strangely fun to write, even in Tom's pov, where he's seen as so pathetic because he's so easily manipulated and yet admirable because of his ambition. It's a fun combination to write!

Gah, thank you so much! I'm so happy you liked the quotes - I wasn't really sure about including them or not, so I'm glad you liked them. Maybe they can stay :P

Haha, it wasn't totally intentional as a whole circular kinda thing, tbh, but it's a really cool thing to have happened nonetheless - thanks for mentioning it! :D

I'm so glad you liked it! It was a really quick thing to write and I didn't take that long over it so I'm so amazed at the response this has got so thank you so much! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by momotwins Resolute

25th December 2013:
I think you did really well writing Voldemort's perspective. I liked his confidence that he didn't need assistance of a magical kind and never would, because it gives his actions in DH (when he's so desperate for the Elder Wand) an interesting twist. I also like that he mentions Dumbledore doesn't praise him - seems in keeping with canon. Dumbledore wouldn't have wanted to encourage him.

For some reason, the idea of young Voldy stealing library books seems totally in character. He's just the type, isn't he? He'd feel entitled to whatever he wanted. Also the bit with the Head Girl's owl is dead-on Voldy - right up his alley.

Fascinating piece, spooky and very well written. Great job, I enjoyed it! Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for stopping by! I absolutely adore your work, so I'm so bowled over that you came by and liked it! :)

I'm so glad you liked the way I wrote him since I was a bit worried tackling him since he's such a big character and I didn't want to get him wrong.

Mahaha, he really is! He thinks he deserves it, he really does. I based a lot of his characterisation on lists of psychopathic traits, so I'm glad you thought it worked out! :)

Thank you so so much for all the lovely compliments and the great review! Belated merry Christmas to you too! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by DracoFerret11 Resolute

21st December 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums! I decided to read and review all of the Writer's Duel entries! :D So, let's go over things:

Grammar/Spelling: I only noticed a couple of errors. One, you wrote, "flames licking at the edges of the parchment, dying them black" in which "dying" should be "dyeing." And also, "if even anything, or who he's promising this too" in which "too" should be "to."

Plot: Okay! So, this was really interesting! It's the second Voldemort-New-Year's story that I've read and this was really quite great. The other story was after Voldemort's resurrection, so it was interesting to read a younger version of him as well. I think you definitely captured his goals and ambitions in this, and the ways in which he would go about achieving those.

Characterization: It was very impressive how you captured Tom's character. He was devious, ambitious, evil, everything you'd expect from a young Lord Voldemort. This was probably one of the best young-Tom stories I've read, in fact. Spot on. Great job. :)

Descriptions: Since this story was character-driven, I don't exactly think it was necessary to include a lot of details about how things looked, sounded, felt, smelled, etc., so I think what you have here is great!

Emotions: Ahhh, so evil. Bleh. But so well-written! You captured Tom's ambition and pride wonderfully. I could almost feel his confidence. Ick.

All-in-all, you did a really good job with this. Keep up the incredible work and good luck in the Duel.

--Emily

Author's Response: Hey there, Emily! Thanks so much for stopping by! Wow, reviewing all of the entries is pretty impressive - good luck with that! :)

Ah, thanks! I always miss typos and grammar mistakes and things when I go through things. Particularly when I'm writing them quickly, like with this. I'll definitely go through this and check all of those! :)

Really? Wow! I had no idea people were doing so many Voldemort-New-Year stories, it's so weird. Anyway, I'm so glad you thought I actually captured his personality - it was the thing I was most scared of when starting it.

Ah, I'm so happy you think that! I really wanted to show the characteristics he has in the books, and show other sides of him - though not nice ones - which we don't see in the books. Thank you so much! :)

I'm so so glad you liked this, and so happy you think it was good! Thank you so much again for stopping by, and thank you so much for the wonderful review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lululuna Resolute

20th December 2013:
Hello! :) Ah, this was just an amazing take on Voldy, and you really characterized him perfectly, from the formal language to the creepy, calculating thoughts. There were so many little details here which really reminded me of him very strongly: how he's not interested in his physical appearance but enjoys the idea of leaving a part of himself behind to manipulate girls (like he did to Ginny in the diary and then Hepzibah), and how he was rearranging the words in the books reminded me of how in CoS he re-arranged the letters of his name to say "I am Lord Voldemort" - I was always rather impressed by that. :P

This was a great moment in showing his decision of how to become even more extraordinary through immortality and opening the chamber of secrets. Something you did really well was show how important it is to him to prove his superiority: his superior bloodline even if nobody is vocally opposing it, his intellectual superiority and control over his "friends" and easy manipulation of Slughorn. Really, you characterized him so well and I think if JKR were to write more about young Riddle this is exactly what it would be like! :) You did an amazing job, and good luck with the Duel! :)

Author's Response: Hey there! I'm so glad you liked it - it was more than a bit of a challenge to take on young!Voldemort, since he's practically an iconic character and I really wanted to get him right... he is definitely very creepy :) I'm happy you liked the details - I never connected the idea of him rearranging the words in the books to how he rearranged the letters of his name... but good point! ;) And it is oddly impressive, isn't it?

I've always been so curious about what he was like at school, and what it would have been like for him, so this was sort of where this came from. Oh wow, thank you so so much for that! I'm completely blown away by being compared to JKR - gah, thank you so so much! :) He's definitely obsessed with superiority, and Slughorn was such a fun character to write! :)

Thank you so so much for this lovely, lovely review - it really made my day - and I'm so sorry for the lateness of this reply! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by MargaretLane Resolute

20th December 2013:
I suppose this is for the New Year, new start prompt? I didn't actually look to see which it was for. I never thought how well Voldemort would fit that. He DEFINITELY had a lot he wanted to achieve.

I like your decision to make this present tense. It sort of heightens the suspense somehow and makes things more ominous. I don't know why that is, but I feel it does and that definitely fits the character.

And it is SO in-character for him to denigrate his friends like that. You can immediately sense what Dumbledore told us; that he never really had any friends, only hangers-on.

I love his dismissal of the Felix Felicis, as he can make his own luck.

Oooh, that stuff about the mirror kind of foreshadows what he will do to Ginny. And his pleasure at the thought of driving somebody out of their mind is creepy. It fits perfectly with his love of power and his comments to Dumbledore as an eleven year old.

I really wonder what he is planning. *is intrigued*

The comment about Slughorn being more generous after a couple of glasses of wine made me laugh.

I think the Imperius curse is spelled like that, without an "o".

Oh gosh, I can guess what he is doing now, and should have immediately. Releasing the Basilisk. The mention of Slytherin gave it to me. The mirror should have.

Oooh, that's a rather frightening image, for some reason - Tom Riddle just standing there and laughing. Somehow I imagine it as a rather manic laugh.

And I like the idea his housemates don't really believe him but are scared to openly doubt. It makes a lot of sense. Somebody claiming to be related to an ancient hero WOULD meet with doubt, but no way would anybody openly contradict Riddle.

LOVE the paragraph about avenging his mother. It is really creepy.

He'll "merely" become immortal. *is amused* It's totally in character for Voldemort to rate himself so highly and take it for granted that great achievements will be his.

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks so much for stopping by! And yeah, it is. As soon as I saw that prompt this just popped into my head, so I wrote it down :)

I'm so glad you like the present tense and feel it suits him, and that Riddle's character is in line with canon. It was really strange writing him at first - he's really intimidating! - but I tried to focus on how he views himself, and that's where the whole denigrating his friends and throwing away the Felix Felicis came in. I'm happy you liked it, though! :)

Haha, thanks! I'm glad you liked the comment about Slughorn - I find Slughorn an intriguing character, but he is really pretty smarmy and able to be bribed.

Ooh yeah, thanks so much for that! I forgot about that! :)

Yeah, probably cold and high and creepy... but then he's a creepy kinda guy. Ah, I'm so glad you liked that bit - I wasn't sure about it, since it's a little different to how people often present him and things going for him, but it seemed to make sense to me, you know?

Thanks so much! :) I'm so happy you liked that! Haha, yeah, grandeur is something really in his character, so I wanted to play on that and how he thinks he seems and all.

Thank you so much for stopping by - I'm so glad you liked it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by BitterSweetFlames Resolute

20th December 2013:
Hello. :) Carla here with our review swap. I must say, first and foremost I truly enjoyed this story. I'm glad I had the opportunity to read and review this story...
Anyway, I think this was a truly ingenious answer to the prompt you chose for the Winter Duel and the choice of Tom Riddle as your character was genius.
The choice of quotes at the beginning of each part is perfect. They were all well-chosen and added to the story without detracting from it.
Tom Riddle, as you wrote him is perfect in characterization, I think and the way you describe all of the things he did that he considers his 'accomplishments' like the Imperius curse, the dead owl that was brilliant! It just shows that, talented as he was, he was truly evil underneath it all and that's just truly scary.
The way you wrote his resolutions was twisted. Here is a man who could be anything he chose to be and he chose to be feared, chose to be evil and the opening of the Chamber was truly a big thing.
Anyway, this was a great one-shot and good luck... This is an amazing entry!

--Carla

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you so much for the review swap, I really enjoyed it! :)

Wow, thank you so so much! I got the idea as soon as I read the prompts and just had to write it, so I'm glad you thought it worked! I wasn't honestly sure about including the quotes, because it's something I haven't done before, and I wasn't sure if they all really fitted, but again I'm so so glad you liked them! :) I do like them all as quotes, haha.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you like Tom Riddle - I was so anxious about writing him, since he's the kind of character I feel I have to get him right, you know? It was surprisingly fun in the end, particularly writing his accomplishments. He's definitely evil - a real psychopath - and I'm glad (is that the right word? :P) it was scary, and liked his resolutions! He's so determined to be something, and to be powerful and he doesn't care about anything else... yeah, the opening of the Chamber was fun! :)

Thank you so much - for the review and for the swap! I really enjoyed it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by UnluckyStar57 Resolute

17th December 2013:
Hello! I'm just stopping by with a random review for you! :)

It's a bonus that I get to be the first to review this marvelous story, yay!

I really loved this--the way you set it up with the quotes at the beginnings of the sections, and how you explored Tom Riddle's deep, dark, scary mind. Showing him as a sixth year, so bored of his peers and his presents, was brilliant. I found the smashed jar of Felix Felicis to be quite ironic--someone's luck was running out, but it wasn't his own, at least, not at that point in time. The opening of the Chamber of Secrets brought everything to a culminating point--it was his destiny, he believed, and as the heir of Slytherin, he would exact revenge upon every single muggleborn he could possibly find.

Reading about his "accomplishments"--his mastering of the Imperius curse, the study of the Cruciatus curse, and the dead owl outside the Head Girl's window--was rather shivery. Tom Riddle was always a BAD GUY, and every move he made was a quest for power. He struck fear into the hearts of his classmates, and through fear, he controlled them.

You did an awesome job with this story! I love your writing style, and reading this was really fun!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hey there - this was such a great, great thing to see pop up, thank you so so much for leaving this! :) It really made my day!

I'm so glad you liked it and thought I did well with Tom Riddle - I was so nervous about writing him! I really, really wanted to get it right, so I'm glad you thought I did alright :) I based a lot of his characterisation on the signs of psychopathy, which include narcissism and arrogance and a lack of concentration, so that's sort of where the Felix Felicis came in. He very definitely believes in destiny and revenge and making himself powerful.

I actually quite liked coming up with those, lol. Is that weird? :P But yeah, they're a pretty scary list in all - he's really not a 'good guy'/'nice guy'.

Thank you so so much for this review - I really, really loved reading it! It was so nice to get! :) :)

Aph xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login