Reading Reviews for Big Meanie
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudertimes Big Meanie

14th March 2014:
Hello again!

Aw! This was so gosh darn cute and I loved it and I loved your characters and I loved how you wrote it and I loved everything about it, and just aw!

Albus was such a sweetie and I think you utterly nailed writing through his POV as a six-soon-to-be-seven year old. His mispronunciation of big words was so darling, and his frowns and how his Grandmother told him it keeps the monsters away was just adorable.

Lexi was a sweetie too, and is it just me or does she like Albus? I don't know if it's the child kind of puppy love, or just that she wants to be his friend, but she is so cute and the interactions she has with Albus are too!

Theo, I'll assume is Theodore Nott, although I could very well be wrong, but anyways, he is so nice and it was great to see how well his relationship with Albus is. And of course, the fact that he calls Lexi his angel, yet Albus still doesn't see it is absolutely adorable as well.

Goodness, this one-shot was just full of aw moments and cuteness and I utterly adored it! Amazing, spectacular job!
Lo:)

Gryffindor vs Slytherin Blackout Battle Round 3 Review 17/20

Author's Response: Hello!

Ahh, you read Big Meanie! It's probably one of my favorite things I have ever written... and I've written a lot. :P

Albus is so adorable, I think (because I wrote him, so I'm biased). I just want to hug him all the time, even though he'd hate that unless he could smell the soap. :P

Right now, she doesn't like him or want to be his friend (well, that's what she thinks), she just wants to do as her daddy asked and her daddy asked her to get Albus out of the corner.

Yes, it's Theo Nott. He's awesome, I love him so much, I had to include him. Theo says a lot of things, including Albus being a brat, but deep down I think Albus is his favorite of Harry's family. He pulls a face when he sees the mistletoe, but really he's glad it's Albus Alexa ends up with. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #2, by nott theodore Big Meanie

6th March 2014:
Hi Sam!

I can't believe I haven't reviewed more of your stories before - I actually read all of Silver Linings before I started reviewing properly, and now I feel so bad! But I saw this on your AP and the summary was so cute that even though it's now March I couldn't resist reading it!

This was perfect, seriously! I've always loved your writing but this was just so cute and fluffy and perfect for Christmas (we're ignoring the current time of year now) and I have a massive grin all over my face after reading it. You captured Alexa and Albus brilliantly - of course, since you've written them for so long - but as children, which is even better!

I could picture this whole scene in my head, pouty, sulky Albus at the Christmas party suddenly finding himself under the mistletoe with a girl who he doesn't like that much, and then having to kiss her... I bet he never thought that he'd end up kissing her a lot more in the future!

You captured Albus so well, the whole narrative just felt so child-like (in the best way possible) and I loved the way that he seemed to stumble over words in his head and kept mentioning what other people in his family had said. It was so cute and definitely what little kids do, so it fitted really well and made me want to give him a hug.

Aw, Lexi and Albus ♥

I can't say much more about this, but it really is perfect and I loved it!

Sian :)

Blackout Bingo 6/15

Author's Response: Hey, Sian! Thank you so much for reviewing Albus/Lexi!. :D

Aww, that is so sweet of you to say, but you don't have to. Don't feel bad!

*Ignoring the current time of year* This idea was too adorable to not write. I had to show them as kids, before they liked each other. Like, they really don't like each other before Hogwarts (when they start school, they haven't seen each other in a long while).

Haha! No, he really doesn't see that Harry is right when he says "Give it time." This was a very bad moment in Al's life at the time. He won't think that later. :P

Albus is pretty much me and my little brother at that age, so writing him was more natural than others might have been. You can try and give him a hug. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne Big Meanie

6th March 2014:
Of course Theo smells nice! :D We should all hug him all the time... I would say smell him as well... but that would be weird... I would so smell him as well.

:O Louis is mean saying that the corner is for Freaky and lonely people and George is for saying that Al is crazy!

Awww! I love how Al thinks of Harry! He is such a big hero, I definitely agree.

I absolutely love how Al thinks of Lexi, the future mother of his children. :P It's brilliant! I love how she has a habit of kicking. Young love!
I absolutely adore how you've written young Al and Lexi, it's brilliantly done!

Ahhh! Theo and Harry's reactions to Lexi kissing Albus is priceless!

I LOVE THIS SO MUCH! THIS HAS TO BE MY NEW FAVOURITE THING EVER!

You need to write more Al and Lexi younger moments. :P

Author's Response: Of course he does. Haha, and you say it anyway. :P

They may be mean, but are they wrong? ;)

Al loves his daddy, he'll always be the big hero just not for what the rest of the world thinks.

You love it now, but he'll have different feelings about the future mother of his children in just a few short years, and then it'll change again when baby number one comes along. She still kicks him.

I might, I have an idea of a missing moments collection for them. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Unwritten Curse Big Meanie

1st March 2014:
Here for the Blackout Battle. I just had to read this story after I saw the adorable title. And I'm glad I did! What a delightful read. Let me list the things I liked:

1. The kid language. The "claust-phobic" and "prob-ly" and the bit about Albus being glad he's a boy. So adorable and so accurate. This world is definitely being shown to us through a child's eyes.
2. Albus explaining his parents made me 'awww' out loud. That his dad reads to him and his mom makes him cakes. I found those details to be so sweet.
3. The ending! AH! And Albus finishing the scene by once again reaffirming that Lexi is a "big meanie" was such a fitting end.

One thing that slightly confused me was Albus calling Lexi's dad "Theo." Wouldn't he refer to him as Mr. Nott (I'm guessing that this is Theodore Nott)? Children don't usually refer to adults by their first name, but maybe this is just an Albus quirk.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this one-shot. Great work!

-- Gina

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm so glad you liked it, it's something I loved writing so much because Albus is basically me. It was so natural and easy.

Albus calls him Theo not Mr. Nott (yes, it's Theo Nott) because he's known Theo for a long time and Theo doesn't like Mr. Nott, too formal and reminds him of his dad, so Theo is all Albus knows him as. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by BKL8008 Big Meanie

28th February 2014:
How cute!
Sounds a lot like my Godson's 5 year old; people come over, he's gone. I think you got the kids just right here.

Author's Response: I think kids are quite easy to write, but only because there are a lot in my family. Albus, however, is the easiest to write because he's, well, he's me. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotter Big Meanie

9th February 2014:
Hi Sam!
This was so cute! It was really fun to read, and I loved seeing Al and Lexi as little kids! Al's voice as a six year old was so believable, and I loved that he had an issue with hugging people. Little kids often have things that they're very particular about, and you captured that so well! This story just made me smile, and I'm so glad I read it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey, Cassie!

Albus is so much fun to write, no matter what age, but young Al is such an adorable germaphobe.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by BookDinosaur Big Meanie

3rd January 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the Eighth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing. :)

This was such an adorable little story! It was really fluffy and sweet, I enjoyed reading it.

The way you told this was amazing, Albus' voice was really childlike, but it wasn't too much. He sounded really young and stubborn, just like a little child would sound like. I really loved how you chose to tell us the story through Al's point of view, and I love your take on the prompt, sticking two little children under the mistletoe rather than having it as a romantic story. :)

I love how you characterised Al, you managed to write him so that he came off as a child, telling a child's story, and I find that really hard to do personally, so kudos to you for that!

I think the way you included little details like how Theo always smelled like bath time or how Uncle George says he's crazy helped to make the story more 3D and realistic. I really enjoyed the Theo smelling like bathtime, even as a kid Al bus was very anti-germs, haha!

I really like the idea of Harry telling stories and mimcking Hermione, that's sucha cute idea!

And ahh, that last comment from Harry made me chuckle. Give it time? So both parents are already anticipating their children will become a couple later on in life, ahahaha.

I really enjoyed reading this and I'm so glad I had the chance to! Congrats on getting an entry into the Duel, and good luck!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad you think so, he was actually the easiest to write for me because he's the most like me and I have a lot of family of all ages to draw experience from. I'm so glad you like the take I took; it was my idea the moment I saw the prompt. :)

Yeah, Al is very anti-germs. He probably always will be. Theo is his favorite person because he smells like bathtime.

They don't like each other as children, so they mostly hope Al and Lexi will be friends one day, but Harry won't be against the idea of them being together. Theo, on the other hand... ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Infinityx Big Meanie

3rd January 2014:
Hi there! I'm here for the eighth day of the 12 days of reviewing challenge.

This was such a beautiful story. I love your take on the prompt, and this was so unexpected. It was very cute and flowed so naturally. I think you've done a marvelous job on the characterization of little Albus. All those little details about how the people who hugged him gave him germs and Theo smelling like bath time were just so adorable!

I love how Albus says Lexi isn't an angel but just a big meanie, and then goes on to describe her appearance which looked just like an angel. It's so cute how he gets the mindset that girls are complicated at such a young age as well.

I really like the way you've written Lexi as well. She seems really bold and eager, especially with her use of a big word. :D

The way you've ended the story is so beautiful as well. Albus wiping the germs off his face followed by a small statement from adult Harry just gives the story a complete, sweet and unique feel.

This was so amazing, and I'm glad I read it. :)

- Erin.

Author's Response: Hi, Erin!

Albus is probably my favorite person to write, especially as a child, so I was so excited to be able to write him for the prompt. :)

I think he'll always see her as an angel, he just won't admit it, not even to himself. He sees her, but he doesn't like her, so he won't believe it. :D He listens to Harry, Harry says girls are complicated. :D

I'm so happy that you liked the end.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by momotwins Big Meanie

25th December 2013:
This was very sweet, and you did good writing from a child's point of view without being so childish it's unreadable, if that makes sense - it felt right for his age. The idea of Harry mimicking Hermione's voice while he tells stories is really hilarious, I love it. I guess Theo is a friend/co-worker of Harry's? This was a really cute story, good job with it :) Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: I thank my five siblings for being able to try and write children. It helps. I think things would be different otherwise. :P

I like the idea of Harry being the one telling stories and doing voices and just being a normal person doing normal dad-type stuff. He deserves it. I'm glad you liked it, too.

Yeah, Theo was his partner in Auror training until the third year, when he specialized to become a hit wizard. They've been friends for a while. :)

Thank you so much for the lovely compliments and for leaving a review.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by DracoFerret11 Big Meanie

22nd December 2013:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums! I decided to read and review all of the Writer's Duel entries! :D So, let's go over things:

Plot: This was a funny take on this prompt, and I thought it was really cute. Normally I don't like stories with children in them prominently, but I thought this one was pretty good. Albus and Lexi were funny and believable and I could definitely see this happening. I assume "Theo" is Theodore Nott (who I ADORE because he features hugely in my story, "Rule Breaker"), and I like that you made a former-Slytherin friends/coworkers with a former-Gryffindor. I love that dynamic.

Characterization: Really good job with the kids. I don't think I could write for anyone under the age of sixteen. That's about as far back as I remember, so that's about as far back as I could write. :) But you did a great job creating very distinct characters and giving them unique voices. Well done.

Descriptions: I loved seeing the world through a child's eyes. It was interesting the choices you made in what Albus noticed and didn't notice. Really cool.

Overall, this was cute and funny and I think you did a good job. Good luck in the Duel!

--Emily

Author's Response: Hey, Emily!

I'm glad you like my take on the prompt; the idea came to me as soon as I saw it and it seemed different, so I had to go for it. :) Theo is Theodore Nott, I love him so much that he had to be in it. He's very good friends with Harry, for reasons that make sense in my headcanon. I'm glad you like that. :D

Kids are easy for me because I have a big family of all ages, so I can draw from them, you know? Plus Al reminds me of me. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lululuna Big Meanie

20th December 2013:
Hi there! :) This story was so adorable: I love the original take on the mistletoe prompt by writing about these two as little children and how Albus thinks Lexi is so icky. It was very sweet and realistic, and I loved how Albus' voice was so stubborn and simple, just like a little child would be. The comments about Theo smelling like bath time really made me laugh, and how of course Albus, who seems very clean and anti-germs even as a child, would think bath time is a very good thing.

His relative dislike for Lexi was so silly as well, how he was happy that he knew more than her about the mistletoe, and even referring to Teddy as teaching him grown-up stuff when I think Teddy would still be quite young at this point was sweet and very childlike. Harry's comment about giving it time was so adorable too- maybe Lexi and Albus will return to the mistletoe in twelve years or so? Oh, I also really enjoyed when Albus said that Lexi belongs to Theo and how she isn't really an Angel, it was so funny.

Harry was such a wonderful character here, I love seeing him as a Daddy. I love picturing him as this awesome dad who tells stories and makes Hermione's voice. :P It made me feel all happy and Christmassy to think about it. Amazing job and good luck with the Duel! :)

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm so glad you like my take on the prompt; it seemed like it would be something a bit different to what one might usually read and I really liked the idea. It just had to be about Albus, who is very anti-germs. Bath time is his favorite thing ever. :D

Ah, he really doesn't like Lexi when they're young, or at least he thinks he doesn't. ;) It's 2012, so Teddy is... fourteen. Al thinks he knows a lot of grown up things now. :P

Twelve years... did you make a guess or have you read Silver Linings? ;)

I love writing Harry in this, he'd be a very cool daddy.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by teh tarik Big Meanie

19th December 2013:
Aww, this was such a lovely, fluffy story to read! I really enjoyed this, how you wrote child!Albus' POV; you've captured his voice so convincingly; I love all the little details here and there, like how Theo smells of bath time, and how Albus is afraid of germs and such. Lovely characterisation! Albus sounds like he has a bit of an obsession with personal hygiene; he's like an older person trapped in a very young child's body. I loved this. It's a really lovely thing to include in a fic about a kiss. I can imagine poor Albus rubbing at his lips and then going to wash his mouth from all the germs that Lexi gave him. :P

Speaking of Lexi, I love the way you've written her. Such a determined, bold child, and I love their interactions together, her and Albus. Poor Albus, standing in the corner and wanting to be left alone, free from all the people and their germs, and Lexi barging into his space, demanding he come out and join everyone. I can tell that she'll be good for him. :)

I also especially adored those final sentences, when Harry tells Theodore to "give it time". So understated, but really well-written. It's one of those moments which places the reader temporarily outside of the child's narration, because Albus doesn't understand what his dad means, but we do, and it's a lovely moment to end the fic on, this little break in perspective. Albus will come out of his shell one day, I think, and will probably be great friends with Lexi. :) Hopefully...

This is a really sweet, fluffy piece, with a really unique voice! I really enjoyed this. Great work and best of luck in the Writers' Duel! :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey!

Albus is so lovely and easy to write, he's just so adorable. I'd hug him if he'd let me (well, I wouldn't because I don't like people touching me - we'd nod and agree :P). He's OCD and hates germs, it will get worse when James is sick and sneezes on him. ;)

Lexi is a very confident child, not afraid to say what's on her mind. It makes her fun to write, especially as a child. She'll be very good for him. :)

Harry knows that one day Albus will call Lexi his best friend. It's unavoidable really. :D

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by Sweets-Caandy Big Meanie

17th December 2013:
Naaaw how cute! :')
I really loved how you did the thoughts and the kids voices ;)
A super sweet and funny Christmas one shot if you ask me :)

Cheers, Hanna

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it; I wanted to do something different with the prompt, and though I've written kids before, I've never written something from a kid's PoV before. It was very fun to write.

Thank you so much for leaving a review, Hanna!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #14, by MissesWeasley123 Big Meanie

16th December 2013:
I actually really hope you win for this prompt because usually one would never expect this. You have no idea how as a reader, I thought this was the cutest thing ever, and Theo Nott is such beauty and I love him so much ♥

Albus was the cutest thing in the world, and so was Alexa. It's crazy how sweet and cute this was, and if it was any longer I'd probably have gotten diabetes because whoa, this is awesome.

Excellent work!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you. I thought it would be something different, it's definitely different for me to write, and I'm glad you like it. And Theo. I love Theo, he and Harry are my favorite people ever, though a lot of it is probably because of my headcanon. :P

Thank you so much for liking Albus and Alexa, and for leaving such a lovely review!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login