Reading Reviews for In Love With Your Laugh
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Susan Bones In Love With Your Laugh

13th November 2014:
My socks are not yellow... they're black, pink, and green. horrid things.


What's not horrid is this one-shot. I love it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Panda Weasley  In Love With Your Laugh

3rd June 2014:
Hi Leviosa,
I just want to let you know that I really enjoyed this story. I liked the plot and I think it flowed really well. Having Evalin's thoughts was a really nice touch, they were hilarious to read. I liked the whole story but I especially liked the part at the end with Lily. I think her reaction was really sweet.

You said at the end that you were worried about Fleur's speaking. I think it was fine, hard to understand at points but that makes sense because of her thick accent. I do have to say that I think her accent would be just as thick as it was in Goblet of Fire because that was really her first time that we know of outside of France. If you compare a section of her speaking in the book to her speaking in this fic, you might see what needs to be changed if any.

I really truly loved this story and I think you did an amazing job! I only found one tiny error. Instead of of you put fo. That was miniscule
compared to the greatness of the story however.

Excellent job!
~Panda (B vs. B)

Author's Response: Hi Panda! Thanks so much for the review! You're so sweet and I'm glad you liked it. If I could do one thing different I'd probably go back and change the way I wrote Fleur's speech. Thanks for the tip! That's a good idea!! I'm glad you liked it so much, and thanks again for the review!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #3, by masterhasgivendobbyasockr In Love With Your Laugh

3rd April 2014:
Technically, right now my socks are white.
I FINALLY HAVE A SISTER
Oh my goodness that was funny
He accidentally set me on fire it was so romantic
Also funny
I generally liked the whole thing!!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!!!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ih8Voldemort In Love With Your Laugh

2nd April 2014:
omg, you are actually ah-MAZ-ing!! I can't wait to read your other fanfics...

x

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! You're sweet!!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #5, by Lorz Potter In Love With Your Laugh

3rd March 2014:
I'd love to say that my socks are yellow but sadly they aren't and I must not tell lies. Honestly this was an amazing story and just so perfect! I loved the POV and everyone was just perfect!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for the review! And thanks so much for the compliments!!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #6, by love_is_magic_ In Love With Your Laugh

27th February 2014:
Hello!

Wow, where to begin? I love the way you introduce the situation. The Weasleys are an absolutely ginormous family, and then to think of their collective successes... that would be a very intimidating family to meet. Especially considering, as you mentioned, that James is the first son of Harry Potter. I feel for Evelyn.

I love the fun, quirky side you gave a lot of the characters :D Albus' summons and Lily's fun comments were just so great!

"What is this? Some sacrificial ritual for newcomers?" hahaha! I lauged so hard at this!!!

Overall, this was just a lovely story :D The only thing I would have changed was that you never mentioned why James was famous? Is it just because he's Harry's son? Honestly, you could have had a very good reason for not mentioning it, and you really didn't have to. I guess I'm just too curious for my own good!

I really did enjoy it so much! Awesome job :D

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for this lovely review! I'm so flattered and so glad that you liked it! I was actually reading this over the other day, to see what I wrote and see what I could edit, and was so surprised that was in there. But it was so funny.

Sorry! I thought I mentioned it! James plays Quidditch too :)

Thanks so much!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #7, by maraudertimes In Love With Your Laugh

7th February 2014:
Hello!

Well my socks are purple with dogs on them, but that's not what I wanted to review about! ;)

Okay, so first things first, I really liked this. It was cute, it was funny, it had moments where I almost had second hand embarrassment (that's a real thing!), and the ending was just the sweetest thing ever.

The one thing I do want to point out is that both Evalin *and* James were named hottest *insert gender here* of the year. It seems a little bit... too much that they would *both* be named hottest of the year, at least to me.

But other than that, it was hilarious. I especially loved Angelina's little quip about George setting her on fire. Seems like something that George Weasley would definitely do! :P

I also loved how the Aunts that had married into the Weasley family were sympathetic to Avalin. It shows how stressful meeting the family can be, since it seems all of them went through similar situations when they met the Weasley family as well. And Fleur's little thing about Nana Weasley loving her after she realized that Fleur actually did love Bill, and that Nana Weasley would love Avalin too, well that was just really cute and a little insert of canon!

The ending was so sweet and I loved what James said. It was the cutest thing ever and I absolutely loved it! You did a magnificent job with this.

Great job!
Lo:)

Author's Response: Hi!

Hahaha, I love that you mentioned that!!!

I will admit, it was a little over the top, even I think so, but I wanted to give them an aire of perfection and show that even people who seem perfect, aren't. Like she's so many great things and she's terrified to meet the Weasley's! (and rightly so!)

I'm glad that you liked everything!! I loved inserting those fun little bits that made it more realistic, and figured that bit of canon could make people understand Molly's actions a bit more!!

Thanks for this lovely review!!!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #8, by keyty In Love With Your Laugh

30th January 2014:
AH OH MY GOD THIS IS SO FREAKING CUTE. I love me some fluff!

I love Evalin's point of view. It's so realistic and I can totally relate to how she feels. I like that she was questioned by the girls in the family, I don't think anything else would be realistic. It's not like they would just accept her like that!

There were a few issues with you jumping between present and past tense, but it wasn't too major.

I am just feeling so cute and lovey right now oh my goodness.

I think it would be really interesting if you did another one shot of this whole thing but from James's point of view. That would be so cute. Oh my gosh.

Author's Response: I'M SO GLAD YOU LIKED IT!

This was my first full on fluff piece, and it was the easiest story I've ever written. It just flowed right to me.

I'll check out that past and present tense issue, I know I do that sometimes, so I believe it!!

I was planning on expanding on this story, actually, but one from James' POV is a good idea. I might just do that to add some more stories to my archive. I won't lie, I'm a little afraid to write from his POV but I've gotta get over that eventually!!

Thanks for the review darling!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #9, by Infinityx In Love With Your Laugh

18th January 2014:
Hello! I'm here for the BvB review battle.

This was such an adorable story. I love the informal tone you've used for Evalyn. It was wonderful to read as it felt like listening to her speak. It was so effortless and flowed beautifully.

I love how James keeps making faces at her when she laughs. That's the cutest thing ever! :D And the way he proposed...I almost had tears in my eyes. It was so sweet and you've written this so well!

I found a few spelling errors in some places. Nothing major but I suggest you go through this once more to fix them. Another thing that struck me was that in the beginning you've used "you see" three times and they all occur pretty close to each other. So it felt a bit repetitive. Just thought I'd point that out. :)

I love the sense of humor in this story.
"The Potters like you, so what's another twenty-two family members?" When I read this line, I burst out laughing and I knew from that very first line that this story would have some amazing funny moments.
"Oh look, dad's just giving James some support for functioning normally like the rest of us." Hahaha. Lily really has some great wit. I love the way you've characterized her.

Your characterization of James and Evalyn are wonderful as well. They really seem perfect for each other.

One small thing that I found a bit off was the lack of warm welcome. The Weasleys are known for their kindness and even though they might be a bit wary of Evalyn, wouldn't they still be friendly towards her?
I love how they each ask her questions and talk to her. I think you've written Nana Molly incredibly well. I can imagine her doing this to Fleur as well. She really can be intimidating when she wants to.

When Angelina said "He set me on fire by accident. It was lovely." That was just brilliant! I'm really curious now. It would be amazing if you could write a story about that! I would definitely read it!

I loved this story. It's witty, light and extremely refreshing to read. I really enjoyed it! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the lovely review!!

I'll check out those spelling errors and those you see's, thanks for pointing them out!!

I'm so glad you found it funny! I really wanted to make this lighthearted and fun!

As for the Weasley's. Both Ginny and Molly hated Fleur at first, so I figured Molly at least would probably have the same sort of standoffish nature towards someone similar to Fleur. Especially when she seems vain to one who might not know her.

I'm glad you liked the story! I'd love to write about it.. But I'm afraid to write anything other than next-gen. So we'll see, maybe in the future if I'm ready to step outside that comfort zone!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #10, by kenpo In Love With Your Laugh

16th January 2014:
My socks are white. I thought it was important that you know that.

BvB battle!

I actually started reading this a while ago and then I was interrupted and now I'm back!

I really liked this. I thought her nervousness was really realistic (meeting your S/O's family is terrifying.) I think that the story flowed very well.

The Weasley women are great. Fleur was a little hard to read at times, but I think I got the jist of what she was saying.

James was awesome, and so cute.
They're totally a power-couple. She'll fit in fine with the family :).

His proposal was so cute. I like how he wanted her to meet his family before he did it. It fit his character really well. Those Potters, family is important!!

My biggest complaint is that there isn't more!

There were a few spots that could use a thorough read-through, but overall very good.

Awesome chapter! Really fun read.

Author's Response: Haha! I'm glad you liked it! And phew, I was worried your socks were like... technicolored or something. I'm glad you came back!

Haha, meeting your s/o's family IS terrifying!! I'm so glad the story flowed okay! You're not the first person to mention Fleur, I intend to go back through and fix her up a bit.

I'm glad you liked it! I'll read-through it!

Thanks!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #11, by ReeBee In Love With Your Laugh

14th January 2014:
Ah the characterisation was to die for! Evalin's so confident and sassy and so cute when she frets about meeting the Weasleys! And they are perfect for each other! :D And James! PERFECT GUY! *swoon* loved how he knew exactly what Evalin was thinking! :)

I loved the dialogue! Especially between the family and Evalin! It was so so funny and on that motor, I think u could have added in a bit more dialogue /)

The description! So cute in most parts! I would have loved to see more during the actual proposal and the part just before :) and the actual proposal!! Oh my god! So sweet! Called it, but Evalin didn't know that was happening, so that's ok!

Great job! Oh and this is for our review swap!

-Curie :)

Author's Response: Thanks love!

I loved reading your reaction, isn't James just faboo? ;)

More dialogue seems to be a common trend, everyone is telling me that lately. I should probably take their advice and throw some more in.

I know, the proposal is ADORABLE!

Thanks for the review!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan In Love With Your Laugh

13th January 2014:
For our review swap!

Aw, this was cute! I really liked Evalin, she sounds sweet! You did well writing her (understandable) nervousness throughout. Meeting a family that huge would be so intimidating, especially since James' father is Harry Potter, the person who saved the wizarding world! Yeah I bet she'd be a little intimidated to meet him! Especially as she hasn't really had her own family up to that point, poor thing.

I loved James' aunts helping her out though. Fleur's case was especially strong since Mrs Weasley (oh, there are too many of those now. Molly Weasley the first) didn't like Fleur for the longest time! And lol I loved that story about Angelina and George :D

My goodness, if I were Eva that proposal would have been the scariest - in front of the whole family, right after meeting them - eek! But at least she knows they like her, and it seemed to go all right in the end :D If they were all cheering that's a good sign. And haha, Lily at the end was the best! Nice job integrating the quote, btw.

Thanks for the review swap, I enjoyed reading this!

PS. Since you asked, my socks don't match, one is orange and the other is a Christmas one :p

Author's Response: You rebel you! Wearing a christmas sock after christmas!

This review was cute! I'm so glad that you liked Evalin, and Fleur's part too (phew). I felt like Angelina and George was just that perfect touch to the story.

Haha, I probably would've had a nervous breakdown if I had been Eva. I had so much fun putting Lily's line in there, because it was so believable to me. And thanks on the quote, though in hindsight I should've put it in italics.

Thank YOU for the review swap! I enjoyed reading your story and your review!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #13, by UnluckyStar57 In Love With Your Laugh

10th January 2014:
My socks are yellow! Hahaha, just kidding. I'm here with the review you requested. Sorry it's taken a couple of days to get to you!

I thought that this was a good little story about "meeting the family," so to speak. It is understandable that Evalin is nervous, and that really shows throughout the story, whether she's getting ready to go, or talking to the Wotter women. However, I find it a bit odd that she's never met the entire family before. She is a famous Quidditch player, so she must have rubbed elbows with other famous people before. And most of the Wotters are such Quidditch nuts that they must've gone a bit crazy when they found out that James was dating the star Keeper of the Holyhead Harpies. Also, why WOULDN'T they remember her from Hogwarts, if she was top in her class AND she led the Ravenclaw team to victory for three seasons in a row? Those are just some things that were running through my mind--it just confused me a bit, how she didn't want to meet them, even though she probably already met a good many of them. She doesn't seem too very snobby to me, but it does seem that she is being falsely modest--as in, she considers herself "unworthy" or something to meet the Wotters, even though she herself is a famous person, AND she was with them at Hogwarts. If she were a bit less well-known, I could understand her extreme anxiety about it. However, I do understand that meeting the family is daunting--it just seems overly daunting to her, which is why I'm a bit confused about it all.

What is James' career? I don't know if you mentioned it. If you did, I'm sorry I missed it! My mistake...

The way that James casually threw out that Evalin was voted the "hottest woman of 2031" came across as a bit awkward to me. Would that really soothe Evalin's anxieties about meeting the family? Sure, she wants to look presentable, but wouldn't a more personal compliment from James be a bit more soothing? I also found it a bit superficial that James was voted the "hottest man of 2031." It is very clear that James and Evalin's relationship is based on so much more than attractiveness, so I don't think that it should factor so much in the way she thinks about him, or the way he talks to her. Just a thing to consider.

I found a lot of words that weren't capitalized, but they should've been. Among them: Head Girl, Muggle, Ministry (in reference to the Ministry of Magic, which is a proper noun), and Quidditch. These are generally capitalized because that's the way they appear in the books. It makes sense to me to have them capitalized, but if it isn't something that bothers you, you may ignore me!!

The few misspellings that I caught: When you said "Weasley's Wizard Wheezes," you spelled "Wheezes" incorrectly. And at one point, "of" appeared as "fo." But again, these are minor things.

Fleur's accent was a bit unbelievable. I'm not sure that I could understand exactly what she was trying to say. If I were you, I would read over her lines of dialogue in a French accent (it might sound silly, but it might help). This will aid in translating the heavy accent into something a little more readable.

Okay, so I know that this seems like a lot of criticism, but I promise you that my intentions are good. I truly enjoyed this story, especially when James proposed at the end. That was a perfect ending to the story, and I thought that you integrated your quote from the challenge perfectly! The suggestions that I made are purely based on my own thoughts and observations, and if you disagree with any of them, please feel free to ignore my advice!! I only aim to help you in your writing quest! :)

Happy Writing!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review, it was worth the wait! I just feel like I should explain everything you commented on, maybe it'll make more sense then?

-About Evalin's nerves: Somewhere in the story I briefly mentioned her not having a real family growing up, due to deaths. I didn't want to highlight that, because it wasn't a real main part of the story in my opinion. However, her being muggle born, growing up in foster homes explains why she would feel uncomfortable in a family setting. Especially a family as large, famous, and influential as the Weasley's. I was trying to convey that as not obviously as possible though, so I can see why it would come off as awkward. As for them not remembering her, a lot of the cousins would've been graduated by the time she had her Quidditch glory or several years below her.

I didn't mention it, I didn't want anyone to focus on it. He's a quidditch player in this story. If I ever expand on this couple (which I'm really considering doing) I'll come up with what position he plays and for what team. But I felt his career wasn't too integral for the story.

As for the hottest woman and hottest man thing. When I first came up with the story, I didn't have that in there. But I wanted to make them a sort of amazing couple. I also wanted to give Evalin a leg up, I felt like maybe being so incredibly famous would sort of help her in meeting the family.

Thanks for catching those spelling mistakes!
I'll read over Fleurs dialogue again. I tried doing it in a french accent before, and it just didn't seem THAT french to me, this was overdone, but there was no mistaking how thick it was.

Thanks so much for the review, I appreciated all of your comments! I'm glad you liked the ending!!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #14, by BookDinosaur In Love With Your Laugh

10th January 2014:
MY SOCKS ARE YELLOW. (Well, no they're not, I don't have yellow socks and right now I'm not wearing socks at all, so yeah.)

I thought you might need some cheering up after what I saw on the forums. *hugs tightly* I'm so sorry, Sarah.

Ah, so this was really fluffypuffy and I love fluffypuffy, so this went down really well with me, haha.

I think you did a great job of characterising Evalin, I think her voice were really definite and her narrative was lovely. I really like your James as well. *fans self* He seemed really quirky and just really lovely, I think he and Evalin just seemed really perfect for each other.

Hehe, I've never been such a big fan of casual endearments like 'babe', but somehow James and Evalin make it work. ;)

Ah, the Weasley clan was just so perfect, I absolutely love how you wrote all the characters but kept them all individual, Al was so quirky and I really loved him, haha.

AH HE PROPOSED AND IT WAS SO ADORABLE! I want to smuch James and Evalin now. I absolutely love how you integrated the quote into the story, it was really natural and flowed really well, normally the quote sticks out but this seemed really natural, I had to look at the story summary to find out what it was, so congrat on that!

Ah, all in all this was an adorable oneshot, I really enjoyed reading it. I hope this cheered you up at least slightly! :D

Author's Response: Hahaha, I was waiting for one of those. I own yellow socks, they're highlighter yellow. I actually think I was wearing them when I wrote that!

Thanks so much *hugs* I appreciate it, you guys are all so supportive and awesome.

I was so excited to write a full out fluffypuffy story, but I wasn't sure how many people would like it, so I'm REALLY glad you did!

I'm so glad you like Evalin, she was a lot of fun to write, and her relationship with James was so cute and just perfect it was irresistible. I agree on the casual endearments, I hate when people use them on me, but it just seemed to fit. It was something I could definitely see James saying.

WASN'T THE PROPOSAL ADORABLE?! I watched like a thousand youtube proposal videos just to make sure I got it perfect. And I used some of my own personal proposal in there. I'm glad you liked the use of the quote, I tried to have him get all goofy when she laughed so that it would make a little more sense!

This totally cheered me up, thanks so much! I appreciate the review!!!


 Report Review

Review #15, by nott theodore In Love With Your Laugh

10th January 2014:
Hello! I've seen your name around the forums recently so I wanted to pop by with a review (I also wanted to try and cheer you up a bit :) )

This was a really cute story! I loved the progression through from the beginning to the end and I have to say I think you got the flow just right with this one. It's something I always struggle with in first person, so well done for that - also for varying your sentences and avoiding repetition here, because I feel like that's easier to do in first person.

You did a really good job of tying in the quote and the title to the actual story as well, and I liked the way everything seemed to fit together.

Evalin was a great character (her name's lovely too!) and I was impressed with the amount of depth that you managed to give her in a one-shot. She definitely didn't feel like an OC we'd only just met. I really liked the way that you went through her nerves at the beginning - I think putting the focus on them for so long helped us to understand what a big deal this was for her.

I've got to admit, I'd be terrified if I was meeting all the Weasleys for the first time, especially if they were my boyfriend's family. Having said that, I'm impressed by the way you handled writing a whole cast of them and still keeping in character. I loved the way they treated her, gradually becoming accepting but still very protective - it's just what I imagine them to be.

Some of my favourite characterisations were probably Rose - seeing her cold and jealous was quite original, and Fleur, because I really liked the way she was the one to comfort and reassure Eva. The detail about why her accent was stronger was also a great one!

Loved the line about George setting Angelina on fire, though! I was laughing so much but I can definitely imagine that happening!

James was cute in this too, and I loved the way you wrote the relationshop between them. I have to say I was expecting the proposal, especially when the men and women went in separate rooms, but it was lovely all the same. I thought Lily really stole the show at the end, though, and her exuberant reaction seemed to fit with the family as a whole.

Great job with this!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Awe! Thanks so much, you're so sweet!

This review was so lovely, and such a treat to wake up to! I don't even have words for how perfect this review was. Writing the Weasleys in such a big setting was really nerve wracking for me, so I'm glad you liked it!!

Fleur caused a full day of panic and re-writing. Between her and Molly I, I was at a total loss. I'm so glad that you liked her, though!!

I originally wanted the proposal to be a surprise, but it seemed more sweet if the reader know, but Eva didn't. Thanks so so much on your lovely compliments and this fantastic review!!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #16, by LG655 In Love With Your Laugh

9th January 2014:
Haiii!
Okai, so I loved this! Especially the way James proposed. (': I might've shed a couple tears. The ending was perfection. Just the one sentence of "I Finally have a sister" ties the knot. Rose was exactly as she should be written, her persona spot on. The Wotter household was also spot on, and I really liked how you wrote Fleur. As for things I would change? Well..., I don't really have any! This was amazing, and I'm actually extremely surprised you didn't win! Or at least get 2nd or 3rd place? Well, honestly, this story deserves a 10/10, not even! More like a BMS.

xox,
LG

Author's Response: Hahaha, thanks little sis.

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #17, by LilyLou In Love With Your Laugh

8th January 2014:
Hi, here for the Ravenclaw Review Battle!

I LOVED THIS. LIKE OH MY GOSH IT WAS THE EPITOME OF PERFECTION. The depth was astounding. I could see someone else writing this, and not including the fact that she was an orphan, or how her parents died. You included everything anyone could possibly ask for! Everything made sense, and you wrote it all just wonderfully!

I really love how nervous you made her. I understand why she was so nervous. You listed all of her reasons, as well as why she was so uncomfortable in a family setting. You spent a good 300 words at the beginning with her just running through her mind different reasons why and how she got in that current sistuation.

The family was marvelous. Rose was written perfectly! I wouldn't have expected anything different. She was bitter, but decided that for James' sake, she approved, and that was perfect, an example of how that family works. I loved Fleur, as well, with her explanations on Molly's actions and feelings. It was wonderful.

Beautiful job here! Good luck in your challenge, I have a feeling you'll do great!

-Janelle

Author's Response: HI!

OH MY GOSH I WANT TO SQUEE BECAUSE YOUR REVIEW IS LIKE SO FANTASTIC I CAN'T EVEN HANDLE IT!

I was so not expecting a review, and I came on to this, and it was just so utterly wonderful I can't even thank you! I had so much fun writing this story, and throwing in those details so you could better understand the characters. So I'm so so so glad that you liked it!!

When I first wrote it, my beta said there should be more nerves, so I added more, and then once I started I couldn't stop. So then she was just one big bundle of nerves but you liked it so I guess I didn't over do it!

AH! Yay! You liked the Weasleys! *sighs in relief* It was so much pressure writing them all in one story. Like no big deal! I'm so glad that you liked it, all of it!

I didn't win, but that's okay! Your review totally makes up for it! Thank you so so so so so much for such a lovely review. You truly just made my day!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #18, by Siriusly89 In Love With Your Laugh

8th January 2014:
Oooh, review-swap, this is exactly what I wanted to do and I go on the forums, and thereís already one waiting for me! Right, letís get down to it, off I go!

Now, Isnít this a coincidence, in another of my things I scribble, thereís the meeting of parents occurring, so yes, funny the way the world works sometimes! Can I just say that I love your OCís name, Evalin is really beautiful? And a keeper too, heh. Sorry, that was a terrible pun.

That description of James Sirius Potter though. I never pegged Harry as one of those ĎGod heís a good looking bloke isnít he?í but your James definitely took after his second namesake, going by the description anyway. I really hope this goes well for the two of them, I really do. Imagine if they got there and everyone was just hostile (I know this wonít happen, but imagine if it did?) it would be terrible.

And they were, as expected, perfectly lovely! Molly I doing all the hugging and Hermione with the introducing and whatnot. Donít ask me what Lucy and Molly are doing though, pulling off Evalins shoes and just tearing at her feet, seems a little bit too friendly for me, but then again I suppose that Molly is her best friend, so she can be excused for now.

Awh, Evalins back-story really is sad, isnít it? HmmÖ.but at least she has James now, and the previously-stated monstrous Weasley clan, so I think it will all work out for her from now on, hopefully anyway! And ack, Albus requesting the presence of people, I know whatís going to happen here. I know, and you know but Evalin doesnít know which makes it all the more interesting, no?

AH! I knew it, he proposed, and it was adorable, and Lilyís response was even more adorable, and the adorableness is killing me right now because I just want to grab everyone and hug them. AhhÖ.adorable. I loved your use of your quote for the challenge you wrote this for, itís just a gorgeous line, and you fitted it in so well!

This was such a sweet one-shot, I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Review swaps are so much fun!

Thanks so much, your comments were lovely, and reading you react as you read the story was fantastic!!

Haha, that was not a terrible pun, that was a great one. I kind of want to edit the story and put that in there because it's so funny and I think James would totally say something like that.

I've always pictured James and Albus as spitting images of their father, just hunkier. Besides, how do you NOT make James hunky?

Thanks for the review swap! It was fun!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #19, by Lady of Tears In Love With Your Laugh

7th January 2014:
Before I forget...I'm guessing "Wotter clan" was intentional? Because it was HILARIOUS!

More than anything else, I have to say your story put a smile on my face. It was just genuinely funny and Evalin had a great voice to her. I enjoyed being inside her head.

One suggestion I have is to break up the paragraphs a little and add some more action and dialogue. With first person there can be a lot of thought and there were a few times I had to re-read just because it was a lot to take in.

At the end, I would have also liked to see some more shocked, humorous responses. Of course they're all supportive, but is Percy around? I can see him face palming as his nephew proposes to someone the whole family just met.

But overall I think this story captured the great familial bond between the Wotters (haha!) and what it would be like trying to enter into such a family.

I'm glad I got to read this. Like I said, it brought a smile to my face!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for such a lovely review.Wotter clan was intential! I'm so glad you liked it!

I'll look into those paragraphs, I was trying to get this in for a deadline, so I didn't really proofread it!

I'm so glad you liked the story! Thank you so much!

xoxo LL


 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsKatieGrint In Love With Your Laugh

6th January 2014:
Hey there! KatieRoo from the forums, FINALLY here with your challenge review!(:

Wow, this was so incredibly wonderful! At first, I din't really see how the quote I gave you was going to tie into your story, but I was so so so happy with the way you used it! Seriously, I was smiling at my screen!

I thought Evalin was a wonderful character. You made her fabulous, and I couldn't imagine someone better for James. I also adored the way you characterized James. He was quirky, funny, and simply charming.

I thought it was was so in character for the Weasley clan to be so doubtful of Evalin, and I think that scene was played out beautifully.

As far as the proposal, wow. Stunning really. I thought it was such a heartfelt speech leading up to James asking her. The quote was used perfectly there!(: And Lily was adorable!

Thank you so so much for participating in my challenge! Good luck to you!(:

~Katie!(:

Author's Response: Hi!!

I certainly don't mind waiting for such a lovely review!!

Yay! I'm glad you liked the way I used the quote, I was trying to give hints about the laughter aspect throughout the story, but I also didnt want to give it away! I'm so glad you liked Evalin, I really wanted her to be this person who seemed so flawless on the outside, but was so nervous and humble on the inside! I felt like that'd be the perfect fit for James! Yay! You liked him! I know he's a fan favourite so writing a story about him was a little scary, I won't lie.

I really wanted to play up on the fact that they don't ALWAYS accept people right off the bat. I also felt like Fleur needed some lovin'.

Some of the proposal was from my fiance's proposal to me. It just tied in so nicely I couldn't help but use his words. I actually cried a little while writing it!

Thank you so so much for giving such a wonderful challenge! I loved every second of writing it!!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #21, by MissesWeasley123 In Love With Your Laugh

5th January 2014:
Hello! Here for day 10 of 12 Days of Reviewing!

Wow. I think you made such great use of the quote that you had received. I love taking a peak at the chapter summary unlike others, because I know some people don't read them, but when I read yours my heart started beating faster because this was too cute.

I really love James, honestly. He is a total sweetheart, and he loves her so much. His voice choked at his speech, and that entire moment was adorable. He really loves her and you showed it so well, so well.

Evalin seems like a great girl, and their relationship is so pure, so kind. You get that feeling of eternal love, if ya get what I'm saying. Her first person narrative was fun to read.

Going back to the speech because it was awesome ahem..

"I wanted everyone to see why I've become such a better person now than I was when I was in school. They did today. You make me good, you're my better half.

Like, asdfghjkl; so cute. I loved it lots.

One thing though, you might want to do a quick read through, because there were some errors and misplaced words here and there.

Fleur was great, but Lily truly stole the show at the end! That was so awesome!

Great writing, and good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Hi!

Oh my gosh this review is such a compliment I can't even. I don't even have words.

Thank you so so much! I had so much fun writing this story. I won't lie, some of James' proposal was from my fiance's to me. I'm so glad you liked that part, I think I teared up while I was writing it.

I will do that quick read through, I was in a bit of a rush to get it posted in time, so I'm sure there is!

That Lily, she is a show-stealer. I'm so glad that Fleur was great though, I was probably most worried about her.

Thank you so so much for this review!!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #22, by potterfan310 In Love With Your Laugh

5th January 2014:
Me again!

I always seem to end up here don't I :p I spotted your request over at TDA actually and voila here I am. I've gotta say I love your writing and your stories, first a Scorose, then a Lily II/OC and now James II/OC I'm spoilt for choice! :D

I like Evalin, she seems well thought out and I love how she's super nervous about meeting the Weasleys. I mean all of them staring at you and questioning you, it's enough to make anyone nauseous.

James is brilliant! His characterisation is great and I love how he keep reassuring Eva. Where can I get one? Lol :p

One thing caught my eye - "joke shoppe" When Evalin is saying about people's jobs. Brit picking 'couch' try sofa or settee.

Trying to write Fleur's accent is a struggle for me as well, but I think you did in perfectly fine! Is it weird I read it in her accent? Your Rose is really interesting as well, writing her sort of cold with a grudge, it's unusual but I like it.

How Lovely, think that explains George really. Setting Angelina on fire :p

Aww James is speech is so adorable, him and Evalin are perfect! I think you did such a good job of showing the love for each other in just one chapter.

Is this just a one-shot or is it going to be a short story/novel? As I'd love to read more about James and Evalin.Definitely adding to my favs. Also good luck in your challenge.

10/10
-Potterfan310
Soph :) X

P.s I don't know if this is any use but I noticed you requested your banner and CI separately for this, but you can post them together in the CI forum as it's for story sets (A banner and one CI) as well.

Author's Response: Hi!

I love that you always seem to end up here! And thanks so much! I had a lot of fun writing this story, even though it didn't center around James that much!

Evalin was so much fun to write, I really enjoyed writing her, and her and James' relationship.

Thanks for the britpicking!!!

Oh my gosh, Fleur's accent was probably the hardest thing I've ever done.

Part of James' speech was the quote I had to use for the challenge, but some of it was from my fiance's proposal to me! I had such a good time showing how much they loved each other. I feel like sometimes stories will leave that out, and it's such an important part of any serious relationship. I wanted to highlight it as much as possible.

It's just a one-shot, but I might make a longer story about them once they're married, tie together the Scorose from my challenges, the Lily II/OC and James II/OC. Still playing around with how that will work.

Thanks so so much love!

xoxo LL

P.S. Man, I wish I had known that before I posted the requests! I'll have to do that next time!!! Thanks for letting me know!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login