Reading Reviews for Caught Under the Mistletoe
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan Chapter 1

3rd January 2014:
Hello there, I'm here for the 12 Days of Reviewing and boy am I glad that it led me to this one-shot.

I loved this so much! It fit in so well with the holiday spirit that was floating around during Christmas. The relationship between the Marauder's was brilliant and you could really see how close they all were by their interactions. That and the fact that you've got to be really good friends with someone in order to plan a prank like that on James and Sirius. James didn't think anything of it, he just smacked on Sirius and moved on. Sirius's reaction was hilarious though. To be honest, I would've expected him to be slightly more easy going about it but maybe that's just the Sirius in my head. I could totally see him punching James though.

They're like brothers so the incident was probably forgotten in about an hour or so at the most.

I have to say though, you should never to try to pull one on Lily Evans, by the looks of it trying to prank her never ends well. I feel so proud of her though, she's slowly becoming one of the Marauder's, I can just see it happening right now. Lily is joining in on the prank-making.

Absolutely brilliant one-shot!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm so glad you liked it! I feel like James wouldn't care about things like that and neither would Sirius, he would just like to make a big deal out of it because he's Sirius. :p Also, it WAS in the seventies so in my head canon, Sirius was totally fine with other people being gay but wouldn't be able to handle people calling HIM gay :p

Yeah, the incident was forgotten, definitely! :p

Yes, Lily slowly is making her way into the Marauders. She wouldn't fit in otherwise! :p

Thanks for the lovely review! You're very kind! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by MissesWeasley123 Chapter 1

3rd January 2014:
Hey there! I'm here for day 8 of the 12 Days of reviewing!

This was so cute. I usually try to stay away from Jily, because I like them but its so tough to find good pieces on them. Also, I'm tying on a rather unfamiliar keyboard, so sorry in advance for random errors in this review.

REMUSS ♥ He's adorable and exactly the way I like him, calm but funny too at times. I loved your characterization of all the Marauders, not one was done badly! Sirius was amazing. His dialogue honestly is the greatest, for example:

Sirius chuckled. "Yes you did, but now I've checkmated your king." -- that was great. I always imagined him to be laid back and very chill, and that's exactlyhow you wrote him.

The ideaa was so sweet, and I wish you luck in the Duel!

Another thing I must compliment you on is James, he is too cute. Lily was cheeky and it worked magically. They really are adorable. You have a really unique writing style, and I enjoyed this a lot!

Good luck and great writing!
- Nadia

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review and for giving my Jily piece a go even though you usually stay away from it! I'm so glad you liked all the characters! :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by peppersweet Chapter 1

3rd January 2014:
Hiya, here for day eight of the 12 days of reviewing!

This was such a cute and christmassy one-shot. I like how Lily and Mary get their own back on James and Sirius ultimately, especially with the help of Remus and Peter. I really liked how just adorably fluffy it was, and how well you depicted the Maraudersí friendship - a lot of writers tend to slip in as many hints as possible about Peter being a bad egg, which is unrealistic because he was a marauder, so I appreciate that you didnít do that here. Also, loved how sarky Remus was. (James, thinking? Blasphemy!)

One wee criticism I have is that your phrasing was a little awkward in places. I donít really get this one line in particular: They each put four up in the locations that Lily had overheard and with the help of the others. I understand the first bit about Lily overhearing the locations of the mistletoe, but the Ďhelp of the othersí bit confused me. Do you mean Remus and Peter?

Good job, though! Happy 2014 :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Yeah, I always get really annoyed when authors tend to make Peter as a bad guy from day one. In my opinion, if the Marauders were prepared to die for Peter he must have been a pretty good friend! You don't just die for anyone!

Haha, I'm glad you liked Remus! :p

Yeah, I meant Remus and Peter but I wanted to try and be subtle and not ruin the prank idea. I admit that I felt that was awkward but I couldn't think of a way to change it. If I think of another way to write it, I'll fix it up! Thanks for pointing it out, though!

Thank you for the lovely review! Happy 2014 to you too! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by BookDinosaur Chapter 1

3rd January 2014:
Hello Kayla! I'm here for the Eighth of the Twelve Days of Reviewing.

I really enjoyed reading this! It had me laughing out loud, and there aren't really many stories here that make me do that.

I absolutely loved your Marauders, I think you characterised them all spot-on. I really enjoyed reading the banter that they said to each other in the Common Room, and I realy liked that you included Peter in the scene because a lot of people forget that Peter was a part of the Marauders, he must have been on good terms with them, and I'm glad you took that into account.

I really like how you opened the story, with the four of them just relaxing and bickering in the Gryffindor Common Room, it felt really Marauder-y and just perfect for the four of them.

Ah, I think you got the interations between Sirius and James just right as they were stuck under the mistletoe, it was so funny to see Sirius objecting and James just wanting to get out of the mistletoe and have the kiss over with, it was hilarious! Sirius accusing James of being in love with him was just the final touch, it was amazing, and their friends didn't seem to sympathise, ahaha!

The final interation between James and lily was perfect as well, you really captured Lily's mischeivous spirit perfectly as well, and I really enjoyed Lily making James work for any kisses and James promising that he will get that kiss one day, it was just so adorable! I think Lily and Mary are such a dynamic duo, they might give the Marauders a run for their money!

This was a lovely Chrismassy liitle oneshot, I really enjoyed reading it. Congrats on getting an entry into the Writer's Duel and good luck in it!

Author's Response: Hey, Emily!

haha, I'm glad that I could achieve that! :p

Every time I see a Marauders story without Peter in it I get so upset. He's a terrible person and all, but he was their friend. One they were all prepared to die for so I think he was a pretty good friend up to the moment where he joined the Death Eaters!

Thank you so much for all your kind compliments, I'm so glad you liked it! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by momotwins Chapter 1

25th December 2013:
"Don't do the thing, boys."
"Guys, we have to do the things."
Ayup, that's the Marauders in a nutshell. Serves them right if Lily gets them back finally. You did really well writing the boys, and I loved their mistletoe prank. And Lily and Mary turning it on their heads was great. Especially loved Sirius punching James and James calling him a thickhead. Cute story, really enjoyed it, and I like your writing. Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: Hahaha, I thought so too :p

Thank you so much for the lovely review, I'm glad you liked it! ♥

Merry belated Christmas to you too!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Lululuna Chapter 1

20th December 2013:
Hello! :) Aw, this was so adorable! I love these more lighthearted Marauder stories, though the threat of Voldy is on the horizon, and this lovely little story was so much fun. I think James and Sirius especially were characterized perfectly, especially with how playful and earnest James was while Sirius' pride is a little more easily wounded. James is so easy-going and such a good sport, which I really appreciate in him.

The prank just made me giggle so much, it was so clever! Lily really showed a mischievous side showing how she could give the boys a run for their money. I liked seeing Peter too since at this point he would still be a good mate, though it was interesting how he lost the chess game which I feel was probably the sort of thing which happened to him a lot in which he could never be quite as good as Sirius and James.

The ending was so sweet, good for Lily for making James work for his kisses! I loved the promise of a future between them, and how Lily clearly likes him though she plays it cooler than he does. This was a great story, and good luck in the Duel! :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it and the characterisations. I get so happy when people like my Marauders :D

hahaha, let's face it; Lily was much cooler than James with her feelings. He probably didn't understand them properly, hahaha!

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm glad you enjoyed it! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by APerkins Chapter 1

16th December 2013:
Loved it (and yeah, today was a stinker... Christmas in oz is hot! lol)

thankyou for making me laugh and not cringe at a mistletoe story! really really enjoyed reading this!

Author's Response: Although for the past few years Christmas day keeps raining! All the days around it are really warm but then Christmas comes and it turns into buckets! D: But I love Christmas season anyway :p

Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarik Chapter 1

15th December 2013:
KAYLA! Ahhh, OK, this is such an adorable oneshot ♥ You've just made me giggle uncontrollably and slap my knees and all, and that really is a feat, seeing as I don't usually read a lot of Marauder fic, but time to time I do enjoy a well-written prank fic. And Lily and Mary are a wonderful duo here! I LOVE how they sow such dissent among the four Marauders, by splitting them up and turning them against each other and making James' and Sirius' plans backfire. And I love how Lily teases James with that final moment.

Also, I love how you opened the story, with James sitting upside down and Remus doing his homework and Sirius and Peter playing chess. It's just such a wonderful relaxed scene, and it is very Marauder-y. Especially loved how elated Peter is to have captured Sirius' queen, only to have all the triumph squashed out of him when Sirius checkmates him. LOVELY.

Congrats for writing such a lovely Christmassy Writers' Duel entry, Kayla! And best of luck with the competition! ♥ ♥

teh

Author's Response: TEH! Aw, thank you so much! You're always so kind and beautiful, you need to stop it! *blushes like a tomato*

Thank you so much for this lovely review! You're far too sweet! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Secret Santa :) Chapter 1

15th December 2013:
Santa Claus is comin' to town! And I saw that you had a Christmasy-themed story and I knew it would be the perfect one to kick off my reviewing spree. I think you did a great job with it! It made me smile and it had just the right amount of awkward for a mistletoe situation :)

I really like the rapport you gave your Marauders. I've never tried writing them before because I'm so afraid I won't be able to do them justice. So I'm really impressed that you tackled them, and that you did it so well! Sirius and Remus were especially spot-on, I think...I loved their little quips throughout the story. And I think you nailed the mistletoe part! I couldn't stop smiling! And I could just feel poor Sirius' shock and outrage when James kissed him. But hey, James was willing to do whatever it took to get them free. I imagine their friendship would get a lot more comfortable after this incident :)

The one line that hit me wrong was when Lily and Mary were talking about Snape, and you mention that she "doesn't need that kind of negativity in her life." And then just leave it at that. I imagine that Lily would be a little more conflicted about her decision to cut Severus out of her life. Even though it was the best decision for her, I don't think she would be quite so cold when she thinks of him. They were best friends for years, after all. But I really did like your Lily overall. She had some sassy moments that really made me laugh, especially at the end when she teases James :D

This is such a cute oneshot! Good luck in the writer's duel, and in the meantime keep watching for me to drop off another present! Merry ten-days-till-Christmas!

--Your Hufflepuff Secret Santa

Author's Response: Hello Santa ;) Sorry for the late response to these!

I would have thought that as well, but as someone who has just cut out two of her best friends (we'd been friends for ten years - my whole childhood was with them), I can say that they were my thoughts on it and at first it surprised me but Lily is a very strong girl and I think she felt like their friendship was long over, that was just the last straw (again, like what happened to me) so that's why I put that in there. To show how strong Lily truly was. But I can see why you think that it's a bit wrong, but that was my way of thinking for Lily. Of course she'd have days where she'd be sad but I personally think that most days she'd be happy that she cut the toxic out of her life. But maybe that's just my head canon :p

WOW, sorry about that massive thing! I hope I didn't come across as rude!

Anyway, thank you so much for this review, Maggie! Thanks for being my Secret Santa! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by dobby88 Chapter 1

15th December 2013:
Aww this was lovely!!! I love Jily so much and this captured them perfectly :D Such a nice festive fic :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it! :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by LG655 Chapter 1

14th December 2013:
I've never really ventured out, and read a Marauders Era story, but I'm glad I did. This was awesome! Very well written. (:
I loved this, I got a nice laugh out of it. I also think it was great how you didn't have Lily and James kiss at the end, it was the perfect fit, and just made their flirtatious (If that's the right word, haha) relationship cuter.
Well, anyways, great job!
xx,
LG

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by HollyStone73 Chapter 1

13th December 2013:
This was super cute! I love the idea of Lily being able to outsmart James and Sirius. I especially love the idea of being trapped by the mistletoe and not being able to get out without kissing first. Brilliant way of bringing magic into a traditional muggle Christmas object. Super great job!! Good luck on the contest!!

Laura

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by ReeBee Chapter 1

13th December 2013:
Oh my god! That was awesome! I was just looking through the writers duel page and saw this, and I'm always a sucker for a good fluff! and mistletoe! Even more perfect!

Hm, I usually like to give long and helpful reviews but my brain isn't working... So...

I LOVED IT! The plan of Lily's was so well thought out and it was written really well! Somehow, u managed to make it hilarious without much characterisation! The only thing if like to see is a bit more setting description, but it was so well executed that even that's not necessary :)

Hilarious dialogue! Definitely a 10/10 and a favourite from me!

- ReeBee :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!

Hahaha, any review is dear to me, no matter what their length is! I still appreciate every word! ♥

I'm always terrible at description, but I'll definitely work on it for future projects! Thanks for the tip!

Thank you so much for this lovely review and that rating! :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Fonzzx Chapter 1

13th December 2013:
I LOVE THIS :D :D :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login