74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The One With The Chewed Quill

11th July 2014:
Hey again :)

So, quite a few bits happening in this chapter. Firstly, I think James second idea is the better one... I hope they do the talent show and re-enact it. I can't wait to find out what James' talents are!

Michelle. Again. I really can't stand her! She's so awful to Abigail! I know Abigail's worried about having no friends but she would have Isabelle! She's loads nicer. She should definitely ditch Michelle, she's doing nothing to help her confidence or relationship with James. I think James seems to be able to sense the relationship with Michelle is quite rocky too with the smile and wave he gave her in potions. Isabelle certainly has picked up on it. I do really feel sorry for her though, she doesn't deserve to be treated how Michelle is treating her.

Can't wait to have more cute James and Abigail moments!

Lauren
House cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #2, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The One Where James Is Up All Night

11th July 2014:
Hey Tammi, I'm back again.


Okay, I'm as intrigued as Abigail here... What was James doing all night? I hope it will all be revealed soon! He added a bit of mystery around it but I also thought it was really cute that he was a bit awkward too... Making it sound worse than it probably was. It seems he sometimes gets nervous around her.

I love Abigail's thoughts as she waits for James and gets happy when he sits next to her and stuff. I know she thinks she uncontrollable with it but I think everyone tends to think like this when they have a crush... You certainly write it well. I can totally relate to my teenage years...

I must admit I had to giggle when James fell asleep bless him. He must have been very tired! The doodling was then very cute... I figure he might have pocketed it to save it himself. I hope so anyway... I get the feeling he likes her too.

Great chapter again!

Lauren
House cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #3, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The One With The Muggle Studies Project

9th July 2014:
Hi again

So plenty of James and Abigail action in this one! I love it! It was really cute that James came and sat next to her... I don't care what Michelle thinks... I think it's clear James does like her! All the little comments he makes and stuff. I hope he does anyway.

I love your characterisation of James. He seems to have that mischievous streak in him but he's not a ladies man or anything which is sometimes what you read. I like this version much better... He gets so excited over things, like when he's talking about programmes and stuff. It's a lovely change.

This chapter was also full of cute little details like the fact harry still feels the need to show off to Dudley and about how Muggles look after eggs to represent a baby (I always thought that was daft!)

Oh and ink! James smelt ink in the potion! I think I'm definitely right about him liking her!

Great chapter once again!
Lauren
House cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #4, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The One With The Four Hour Nap

7th July 2014:
Gahh!!! Why won't she stand up for herself? Please let her answer back to Michelle just once. It's almost painful to read, I am literally willing her with every part of me to speak up :( I must say though, Even though I can't stand her at this moment in time, your characterisation of michelle is really good. I've known girls to be like her. It's clearly driven my jealous. I just want to say HA to her. James clearly likes Abigail and not her.

Now this Isabelle seems really nice. I hope Abigail spends some more time with her :) she seems like she would be a much better friend than Michelle, and Abigail definitely deserves that.

I must say, I did did it funny though, the four hour nap. How I wish I could have so many of those!! It does tend to leave you more tired by it at the end though. You wrote it well :)

I'm looking forward to more James and Abigail in the next chapter though!!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The One With The Change In Friendship

7th July 2014:
Hey again :)

Oh my goodness. Seriously, I get so frustrated reading any part of this with Michelle! She's so horrible, can her and Abigail please stop being friends? Because right now I'm going to go and punch her for Abigail. I know she's jealous, that's clear but jeez. She doesn't deserve a friend like Abigail.

However we do have more Abigail and James action! Loving it... Please keep that coming! Bless he sat behind her. I liked to see the progress in their conversation here. It wasn't quite so awkward as before which is great. I'm definitely shipping the two of them already!

Can I just say... Honey lip balm? Parchment? Are these not things James smelt in the love potion? I'm sure they are!! Hmm definitely a good sign for the pair of them :)

I'll be back again soon!
Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The One With The Chocolate Of Forgiveness

7th July 2014:
Hey :) I'm back for more!!

Hmm, I'm glad we got a bit more James in this chapter... And not James under a love potion! He seems really genuine and I really liked it. He didn't have to come and say sorry, especially seeing as it wasn't technically his fault. I think if it would have been me though, I would have trusted the chocolate ;)

I think my favourite thing about this chapter though was the conversation. You really nailed awkward teenager here!! I could feel myself cringing a little when James told her he would be good at stalking, it made me laugh too though. I presume this means he has his fathers cloak? That could certainly be interesting later on if so!!

Also, seriously hating on Michelle. Why is she so horrible? Eugh, I just want Abigail to tell her to leave her alone!!

Another great chapter!!
Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The One With The Love Potion

7th July 2014:
Hi again!

Woah so definitely an action packed chapter as you promised. But first, Abigail. I'm literally willing her to stand up to Michelle as I read, I really wish she would answer back. She ought to. Michelle isn't really a good friend at all.

But, the love potion. I was cringing for poor Abigail, and James too. But for her to like James and have that happen must have been awful. I thought you did a great job of writing James under the potion though, his actions and words seemed spot on with how Ron acted under it's influence.

I'm definitely not liking Barry and Elijah so far. They seem a bit too irresponsible! William on the other hand seems like a much better friend for James to have.

Great chapter again - I feel so sorry for Abigail and I hope once James is sorted it won't stop them from talking!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The One With The 'Supportive' Best Friend

7th July 2014:
Hey again :)

So I was kind of sad to read that I was right with Abigail being a push over. Michelle was a real cow in this chapter, nothing like a friend should be. I know it's easy to be mean when you're tired but that was a bit far. Michelle seems jealous to me that Abigail had that bit of time with James. I hope eventually Abigail does stand up to Michelle. She needs too.

It was really cute though, James looking at her across the hall. I hope this is the start if something and Michelle is completely wrong.

Another great chapter :)
Lauren
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing The One Where James Knocks Me Down

7th July 2014:
Hi there!

So I remember you started this story for NaNo and it sounded good so I definitely wanted to come and check it out. You've immediately got my interest!

Abigail's a nice character. I really like her so at. She's very quiet though which makes me feel she might get walked over a bit. Michelle seems the opposite so far... Perhaps that's why they fall out so much? Anyway, I love that Abigail likes comic books... It makes this story really stand out as it's so different and I can't wait to read more.

I liked what you did with the literal run in... It was written well and didn't get confusing at any point which exchanges like that sometimes can. I could literally see what was happening.

Great job on a good opening chapter! I will most certainly be reading more.

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #10, by potterfan310 The One Where I Engage In Gossip

29th June 2014:
Me again :D

Whoo, Go Gryffindor.

No, Abigail, James is your fancy man.♥

Michelle is behaving, either she's ill or something is definitely up. Maybe she's somehow got Rebecca to go after James, pushing Michelle out of the running? AAhh theories everywhere.

Ahh Louis and Horatio!!! I refuse to mention her name (you know which her :p)

James is good looking, hell yes! So are most of the Weasley/Potter boys (and girls. Haha it's a shame I love Molly and Louis too much, but a teeny part of me wants Horatio to date Isabella.

James likes you Abigail, see what's in front of you woman!! I am so glad the girls are telling her about James and he catching glancing at her. ♥♥

Can't wait for the next one and more James :p

-Potterfan310

 Report Review

Review #11, by potterfan310 The One Where James Is A Dragon For The Day

29th June 2014:
Finally I'm able to read this!!!

I'm not a big fan of Halloween but the way you've described it makes it sound so much fun!! Plus I think any holiday at Hogwarts would be ten times better, because y'know it's at Hogwarts :D

I LOVE the concept for her dad's comic books! Plus the whole idea behind 'Minister of Deduction'.

James is such a big kid and I want one, he is adorable and fabulous and just yum. ♥

No idea how happy I am right now, slightly embarrassing he caught her smelling him but they share a love of coconut and James is loving every second of this, I swear! Not just the dragon costume but Abigail as well!

Oh my god no! Please, please do not let James date Rebecca in the slightest way. No, No, No...

What's this, Michelle apologising, am I dreaming?

Off to the next one now!

-Potterfan310

 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderslover15 The One Where James Knocks Me Down

23rd June 2014:
HI! Dez aka marauderslover15 =D here with your review you requested!

I really like how you first started out the story with friendship. It is actually really refreshing to see this because many of the Next-Gen stories tend to start off with crushes on a boy. So, I am glad to see Abigail focused on her friendship.

The flow of the first chapter is nicely done. She mentioned her best friend in the very beginning and you did have us reader met Michelle a little after that so that was very good flow by mentioning and then meeting. I love your wizard comic book by the way. It fits incredibly well into the wizarding world and is 100% believable.

I also thought the flow was phenomenal by references you used earlier in the chapter when James said “We can tell people, ‘hey guess who I just ran into’ and it will in fact be true….” Then a few lines later when Abigail said, “Guess who I just ran into?” I loved that by the way. But I found it slightly unrealistic (as according to canon) that James could call her by her first name if they aren’t in the same social group. Surnames are used quite often as Harry called his fellow teammate Woods or James I called Lily Evans even if he had a crush on her. BUT it really isn’t a big deal.

There are a quite a few grammatical mistakes that I noticed, but I am far from being the Queen of grammar. There are commas where there should be periods and the tense is mixed up, but that is minimum. But I thought I should let you know. It can be easily fixed.

Annnddd that’s it! It’s a great first chapter. It is setting the basis like all first chapters do. And I’m curious to see how Abigail and James somehow interact more when they are from different social groups. Please, request again! ^__^

~marauderslover15

Author's Response: Hello! I really wasn't expecting a review this quickly, thank you. :D

I'm so glad that you liked the beginning, I wanted to have the main focus be the friendship between Michelle and Abigail, show that it's not that great a friendship.

Haha, thank you. I really wanted to include something different and I've never read/seen a story that included wizard comic books in them, so I figured, why not? :D I'm so happy that it's believable. :D

Awww you make me blush with your kind words! :P There are quite a few more references I made throughout this story that I'm hoping you notice when I rerequest. :D

Ah, I never thought of that with the last names. I always figured that they would call each other by their first names. I might change it to last names being used, just so it can fit in with canon.

Thank you for pointing those out, I have finally gotten around to getting a Beta reader, something which I have been putting off for quite some time now, so hopefully those will be fixed soon. :D

Thank you so so much for filling the review request, I loved your review and it's really helping me improve this story. I shall be rerequesting soon so that I can hear what you think of the rest of the story. :D

Thank you once again

Tammi x


 Report Review

Review #13, by 800 words of heaven The One With The 'Supportive' Best Friend

19th June 2014:
Hey, hey, hey! I’m back for chapter two! Who says I’m procrastinating studying for my exam? Not me at all! But seriously, I am enjoying reading this story, so it’s not just the procrastination that has brought me back.

I find Abigail and Michelle’s relationship very interesting. I had a friend like Michelle, who’d get angry with me over the weirdest of reasons, and it drove me up the wall. I can understand why Abigail is reluctant to let Michelle out of her life though, and thus puts up with her. She’s her only friend and loneliness is a lot more terrifying a prospect than having a friend with such odd mood swings.

I was a little confused at first why Michelle chose to make James and Abigail’s rather mundane encounter such a big deal. It was obvious in the first chapter that it wasn’t a case of Abigail loving the popular boy – whilst he might be popular, them not being friends was more because they just moved in separate circles than anything else. But then it was revealed that Abigail used to have a crush on him, and things started to make more sense. Michelle really is quite obnoxious about it all, though. She’s turning into a character that I love to hate. She is keeping Abigail’s life interesting so far, so that’s something.

And there’s so much room for Abigail’s character to grow! Yay! Being a pushover can be tough, but oh, how it makes for excellent character development fodder!

And woohoo! Plans for plans to make life-changing decisions! Yay! Once again, I hope I shall be back for the next chapter soon :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heaven The One Where James Knocks Me Down

17th June 2014:
Heya! I'm here for the Slytherin review exchange!

So I've had my eye on this story for a while now, and this month's review exchange gave me the perfect excuse to finally start reading it. Also, I just wanted to say that it was incredibly difficult for me to even choose a story in the first place since you've written 32 (what a number). What amazes me even more is the number of reviews you've posted! I'm so impressed (and slightly inspired)!

So I really like the start of this. No real idea about a plot yet, but I'm not too fussed. First chapters don't always have to include plot for me. Abigail seems very... normal, which is oddly refreshing to read. It's nice to see just normal people doing normal things for once! But I'm sure this year has a lot of craziness in store for her, since she felt the need to say that this year was going to be uneventful - definite sign of eventfulness to come!

Possibly my favourite thing about this chapter is the little details. You've revealed a lot about who the characters are in off-hand comments and very natural bits of description (I'm incredibly jealous :P ). I particularly loved the description of the comic books. I love comics, but I can't read them for some strange reason (except Tintin, but I make many exceptions for Tintin) but I feel as if Wizard comics would be easier to follow.

Lovely start! Hopefully I shall be back soon to read on :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by JKsarmy The One Where James Is A Dragon For The Day

14th June 2014:
I just love James and Abigail! I adore the way you write James too, it's so sweet yet real and he just seems genuinely wonderful just like the son of Harry potter would be! Rebecca sounds like a bit of a cow to say the least! (Keeping it PG). Love this story, keep it up xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by lightyoureyes The One Where James Is A Dragon For The Day

13th June 2014:
I am absolutely in love with this story! You have developed your characters and the plot fantastically, and I can't wait to read more! Please never give up on this one, because I see a lot of abandoned stories. This is a gem!

 Report Review

Review #17, by ReeBee The One With The Chewed Quill

7th June 2014:
Hiya Tammi!!

So I am super behind :/ Blame exams right? Anyway, thought I could come and relieve my stress by reading about awesome Abigail and James :D Anyway- onto the review then :P

OMG JAMES AND ABIGAIL! THERE WAS SO MUCH CUTE STUFF! I DIED ;) OHGOD! PERFECTION!! *clears throat* anyway. I really like that she's so comfortable with him to admit that she wasn't listening! Theres the depth there that sort of isn't there when the character tries to make up for it… If that makes sense… anyway I found it was uber cute! :D And James! Oh god, you write him in such a cheeky, annoyingly faux innocent way! I just said annoying and that is meant to be a compliment :P I really do love him (i don't think i need to repeat myself ;) )

And then Abigail! Oh god! She's so cute! I just want to give her so many hugs and then kidnap her into my RL and have her be my bestie ;) Honestly, if she goes missing…don't blame me :P

And Isabella! I love her! She's so strong and fierce without being too rude! And she's such a good friend!!! Totally rooting for Isagail friendship wise :P Honestly! She'd be such an awesome friend! I can almost hear her saying things in my head (not healthy i know, but you know about my addiction :P)

And E U R G H. Michelle! Dont even get me started! GAH! She annoys me so much! but…i think thats the intention…? :P But honestly she is SUCH a little witch (connotation intended ;) ) But gah! I don't think i can deal anymore! SHE! EURGH! Anyway…

THIS WAS AHMAZING! As usual ;) And the plot :O I don't even get life and how awesome this story is! I cant wait to read the next chapter! (I should get around to it soon :) )

Stay perfect,
Curie :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by JKsarmy The One Where I Find Out Why James Was Up All Night

28th May 2014:
I love this story! The horrible best friend is actually very relatable to many and I've never read a story like this before. I love finding unique stories! I can't wait for you to update more Abigail is so lovely! Xx

Author's Response: I'm so glad that this is relatable, I've based Michelle off of a best friend I used to have and I didn't realise how many people have been in that situation as well until I started hearing about it in reviews.

I'm so glad that you're enjoying this so much, and I hope that you continue to do so :D

xxx


 Report Review

Review #19, by potterfan310 The One Where I Find Out Why James Was Up All Night

15th May 2014:
Hiii!

Urgh, Michelle. Way to ruin Abigail's happiness. Me thinks she's a little (more like a lot!) jealous of Abigail and James' blossoming friendship.

Yes! I feel the need to whoop on behalf of Abigail because she stuck up to Michelle!! :D

I can't help but wonder whether James found her by chance or whether he had a bit of help from a certain magical Map :P

Aw, seriously the cuteness between him and Abi is just asdfghjkl. They both like the same comic. ♥

For whatever reason my brain kept reading 'Minister of Deduction' and all I could think was Sherlock :P Probably shows I should read less and sleep more. Either that or go to sleep at a decent time :p

James is adorable and I want one ♥ He is fangirling and I love it! In fact I just love his characterisation because he is so different to other James' I've read. It's so nice seeing his softer, geekier side :D It's so great when you find another person to fangirl over stuff with, Iagree with Abi in so many ways right now.

Is her partly asking her out or at least sussing her out because ohmygod! I feel like singing he likes her, he loves her, he wants her :p I don't think I can wait to see when/how they actually get together, I'm so excited already.

Can't wait for the next one!

-Potterfan310
Sophie xx

 Report Review

Review #20, by TheGoldenGirl The One Where I Find Out Why James Was Up All Night

13th May 2014:
yay i am really happy for abigail :) please keep updating x

Author's Response: I'm happy for her too! More updates are on the way :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by kristyhes The One Where I Find Out Why James Was Up All Night

13th May 2014:
Hey there! I just started reading your story and I really like it. Abigail is my favorite character so far. James is funny and you wrote about him in a way that I haven't read before. It's really refreshing. And um about Michelle, maybe she's jealous that Abigail hot a boy's attention, a boy who's THE James Potter.

Well anyways, I'll be waiting for your update :)
Toodles ^_^

Author's Response: Hello!! Thank you for taking the time to read my story, I'm so glad that you're enjoying it, I hope you continue to do so. :D

Yes! Michelle is not a nice best friend, she does redeem herself at some points, but it is all mainly down to jealousy.

Thank you so much for the awesome review! :D I hope you enjoy the rest of the story.


 Report Review

Review #22, by potterfan310 The One With The Talent Show

10th May 2014:
I am in agreement with Abigail and I swear every now and again she reminds me of myself :p Public speaking is the worst!

I love the ideas James wanted to be as he was growing up their super original and cute! Maybe not so much the clown.

Awww James is super sweet for not forcing Abigail to do it. ♥

They're bonding and asdfghjkl I love it!! ♥

Mention of Louis and Freya!!! And of course Horatio ♥

James is just perfect and I can't wait for more Abigail/James action!!!

Looking forward to the next one!

-Potterfan310
Sophie x

Author's Response: I absolutely love that so many people can relate to Abigail, that's what I wanted, I wanted people to see themselves in her. :D I hate public speaking as well.

Thank you :D James has many plans for his future, and his future career is something he's actually wanted to do for a while. :P

Yes! They're bonding! :D There shall be more bonding in the future as well as more Louis, Freya and Horatio! :D

More shall be soon, thank you so much for the amazing review Sophie! :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by newbeatle The One With The Talent Show

7th May 2014:
Great chapter! I loved that James didn't force Abigail to perform her talent. That makes him a very considerate person. I know how hard is to be in front of an audience if you are not confident about what you are doing. It can mean a lot, if someone with more knowledge or confidence can make the whole thing easier. And there aren't a lot of people who do that.

And I imagine Harry's face taking his son to some gymnast classes :D

Good luck with writing the next chapter. Can't wait to read what happens next. ;)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so glad that you liked it so much. :D

I wanted to have James as a genuinely nice guy, he would never forced Abigail to perform if she wasn't ready.

Haha, I like to imagine poor Harry waiting around in a gymnastics class for James. :D

Thank you so much! The next chapter is out now! :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by LilyLou The One With The Change In Friendship

6th May 2014:
Hi!

So I have been meaning to read this for a while, and I have to say I love it! It is truly amazing. I love your characterization and lovely, original idea.

Your characters are amazing. Each of them are unique and special, written to however you please. You didn't follow the stereotypical way of writing James, with a smug attitude and unkind, snarky comments always at the ready. Your version of James is sweet, thoughtful, and considerate thus far (though, I suppose that could change. I like him how he is right now.). And ooh, I saw what you did with the Honey lip balm (at least, I think I did. Unless that was just a coincidence?) Abigail is very real. Actually, she reminds me of myself. Very self conscious, and tends to think lowly of herself. But I love her perspective on life, and that she enjoys being alone, but is still up for people interaction. Michelle reminds me of my one friend... She is so rude, smug, and selfish. Yet Abigail can't find it in her to let go. Your characters are distinct and amazingly written.


Your plot is slowly coming together. I cannot wait for them to bond over their love for comics. I'm sure that will be wonderful to read. They'll be fangirling!!! Ahh I can't wait to get to that, it'll be funny!

I love it so so much! Honestly, this is great.

This will be a favourite of mine (although I'm not reviewing under my account, LilyLou, because I'm not logged in and had this all typed out before I realized it.)!

-Janelle

 Report Review

Review #25, by anna smith The One With The Talent Show

6th May 2014:
when is the next update pleaaassse

Author's Response: I've only just updated this one :P The next one is half written at the moment, so I'm hoping soon. :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>