Reading Reviews for One Blaze of Glory
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan Only Blue, Lonely Blue

22nd July 2014:
I love Marietta. Telling it straight, like it is. ROMULUS YOU HAD BETTER LISTEN TO HER. OR I WILL ALSO KICK YOU IN AN UNCOMFORTABLE PLACE

It's so sad to see Maria in a situation like this, she is suffering so much. At least she has admitted she has a problem, and has friends who are trying to help her. What a difficult situation too - how getting her off Euphoria will be good for her in the long run, but in the short run it will destroy her and there's not much of her left anymore as she's so thin and ill.

The tidbit about Nadia supplying Maria with the potion for all those years was interesting too. It's a complicated issue and when you're trying to do the right thing for someone, what exactly is the right thing? She was hurting Maria more than helping, regardless of how she thought about it - it's sad, but also I like the way it shows how even the best people make mistakes. I don't know, I just like the moral ambiguity there I guess :p

Sounds like a lot of people are trying to move to Canada. I hope that Romulus meets up with Aisling wherever they end up going, because I think Romulus isn't going to go back to his friends of his own volition, but only if he runs into one of them.

Omg but the end, Fenrir came into Maria's flat to be creepy? What is he doing adkjfkasdjkfl please update soon because I can't handle the suspense.

Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: I love you so much for reviewing so quickly! Thank you thank you thank you!

Marietta is my idol. Sometimes. Parts of her. Toned down a little. She's really fun to write, at least.

Yaaay for moral ambiguity. There's a lot of that here. I think that Nadia's issue was that she would try too hard to make others happy and make sure that everyone liked her. She always had good intentions, but didn't always know where to draw the line.

And Maria... yeah... yeah... she's pretty stuck. And everyone around her is pretty stuck. It gets pretty sticky.

Yes there's Canada and that's all I can say about that. :D

Yes there's Fenrir and that's all I can say about that. :D

I'll update as soon as I get the next chapter all edited! Hopefully in the next 2 weeks, but I can't make any promises because Rumpel and I tend to keep going over and over forever.

Thank you so so so much for reviewing, it really means the world to me!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #2, by newgenerationlover Feel the Heat of the Future's Glow

2nd June 2014:
Hey! Great start to this story!

Well I've never watched but now I'm intrigued to. I am glad that someone has finally written a story to really go along with the main reason JK put werewolves in HP in the first place. I think you have done a great job showing the prejudice that is held towards these people and the level of living conditions they have to take because it is the only thing available to them. Although the main theme of prejudice in HP was the purity of blood, there seems to be a whole lot more sigma towards werewolves. I mean, at least muggle borns can get jobs.

I am glad that Marcellus stayed with his brother, otherwise Romulus probably would have ended up like his girlfriend: dead. It must have been a strange thing to have such un-judging children come from a very prejudice, high up family. I like how you put in the odd mention of their family, allowing us to see the backstory by not really telling us it... if that makes sense at all haha. As my English teacher says "Show, don't tell!" And that is exactly what you did. Kudos to you.

Good job jumping right into the story. There was some introduction, but you have already set up an impending conflict and I can't wait to find out what happens because they are refusing to join the Death Eaters. I feel like the landlord isn't really that bad, but rather he is under a lot of pressure from Voldemort to give him more followers. He is probably being threatened and that is why he has to make people pay their rent. He seems like everyone liked him before and I'm a little surprised that no one (no other characters that is) realize that it isn't really his choice to change his ways.

Great start!
Mary

 Report Review

Review #3, by toomanycurls Goodbye, Love

29th May 2014:
Okay. I'm here.

I read this yesterday and couldn't think of a way to review this without a lot Mature rated words repeated over and over. HOW COULD YOU DO THIS?!? I'm more angry than sad.

I'll try to focus on other stuff during the review.

It made me giggle that Romulus was, um, interested in the companionship Maria after transforming back. Good thing Marcellus is keeping him focused on getting better. I felt so bad for Maria as she struggled through being clean. For a few moments I thought she was the one to get it. Drug withdrawl is extremely hard and I appreciate the humanizing view you put on it.

Another thing you did well in this chapter - BESIDES KILL ONE OF THE NICEST PEOPLE IN THE STORY - was show Marcellus' shock and inability to deal with her body. Ugh, your description of her body was just too much (in the it was brilliant and it made my skin crawl).

Aisling kept it together remarkable well when they found her body.

I'm really glad she had a well attended funeral. People like her touch a lot of lives.

...stupid feels...

It was good to see Aisling's grief kind of peak while he was speaking at her funeral. I mean, it's understandable that he'd be in shock before but it really becomes real at someone's funeral that they're not coming back.

Maria's relapse was completely understandable here. Sad but, yeah. I don't have feels left for her drugs right now.

THIS CHAPTER WAS AMAZING AND SAD. I didn't cry though. :P I just got angry, very angry. Will we find out how she died - er, who killed her? WHEN ARE YOU UPDATING!?!

-Rose

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan Goodbye, Love

27th May 2014:
Omg the feeels. This chapter was so intense and so sad! I totally didn't see it coming. But all the signs were there, like if I'd paid attention to the chapter title. And how the beginning of the chapter was just so happy, too good to be true, as Marcellus reflects on how much his friends mean to him.. And how Nadia is essentially the equivalent of Angel. I should have been prepared for this! BUT I WASN'T AND IT WAS SO SAD. PLEASE TAKE THE PIECES OF MY HEART AND STITCH THEM BACK TOGETHER. :(

It was sad enough about Nadia... it is always the good people who die young, and she was so good. But on top of that, everyone else starts fighting and running away and agh Nadia would hate it! She really kept all these people together. I was disappointed in Maria for returning to Euphoria - she had been doing so well and was almost free of it, and had the support and care she needed - she'd been through SO much only to regress and have to do it all over. But I can understand why she went back to it, as much as I wish she didnt. It's a hard enough time for her as it is. And then Romulus decides to run away again! Nooo but they could help each other! Ahh I just want to shake them! So many feels here. It's so sad and frustrsting and just agh. I feel so bad for Aisling. Well, all of them really, but especially him. I am sending virtual hugs to each and every character in this story. Even Bennett, for whom I have previously professed dislike, but I was impressed with him here. Way to do the right thing Bennett.

GREAT chapter, Georgia! Bravo.

Author's Response: Ah I haven't responded to this yet?!? What happened?!?!?

It's okay that you didn't see it coming! I can tell you that after this chapter, the plot does a lot of breaking off from Rent, so... don't feel bad!!

I did make the first bit of the chapter particularly fluffy, didn't I... Well, I want them to be happy for at least a little bit!! And I can assure you that there was about a month of happiness between the last chapter and this one that wouldn't be too interesting to devote much time to.

Yes everyone fights and it's horrible! Just the way I like it!

I'm really glad that you saw a shimmer of good in Bennett. He's a really interesting character, and I'm not gonna get much chance to explore him, but I will if I can!

Thank you so much for such an amazing review!! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it.

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #5, by toomanycurls Leap of Faith

26th May 2014:
Thanks for doing a review swap!!

Can I just say that I'm scared of the next chapter? Also, Sarah might strangle you if you make me cry first. :P

I love how you describe Maria fussing over her hair and looks while not even being dressed. That's a pretty typical order of operations though. I always get dolled up before finding my clothes. Her worry about what Romulus will like is adorbs. The early stages of love are always spastastic (I'm just making words up here) and cause people to worry about stuff like that. Romulus' nervousness is also quite sweet. :D Girls over analyzing what a boy does - oh man, totally been there (still go there actually).

...I'm so happy they're bonding over nosebleeds. :P haha, I'm glad they have marietta to push them a bit closer together.

How did they get a muggle at their table? Oh well, at least Marietta is taking advantage of the situation. hmm, it is interesting to get Marcellus' view of her and a potential hook up. I still hope they get together in some capacity.

How are they paying for the dinner? With Greyback's money?

I love the way you've fast forwarded past a bit of their relationship. It works really well iwth the idea that Marcellus was writing about it. It's kind of meta.

I can see why all the sappy love would get to Marietta. three is a crowd after all

Dude, party foul to Romulus - he can't get all in depth on Maria's family then lose his cool when she asks about Avril.

it is nice that he's trying to talk her into getting off euphoria. I'm interested to see how that goes.

This chapter was epic!!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hello!! Thanks for the swap!!

I won't say anything about the next chapter :). It did make Rumpel cry, but that's not too difficult to do these days.

Maria and Romulus are both so rough around the edges, but then when they're together they sort of turn into high-schoolers in love.

The muggle (Daniel or David? I'm like Marietta. I can't remember his name) is Marietta's date. She met him... at a club. Somewhere.

No, they don't take money from Greyback. Nadia's financial situation is... not great. She was attacked when she was about 23. Before then, because of her really high level of charisma, she had a surprisingly well paying job for someone her age. She lived with her parents until she was 21ish, so she didn't have many expenses and was able to save up a lot. Since she's become a werewolf, she's been able to hold down a muggle job. She can also get her landlord to be more lenient about her rent because she's such a good tenant otherwise. With Aisling, while he doesn't have a job, people try to give him money for teaching when they can. So... they really CAN'T afford dinner, which Maria points out. Nadia is just so driven to be helpful that she spends more than she has to make other people happy.

I struggled for a long time to figure out how to jump ahead (chapter 7 is in February, chapter 9 is in May), and then all of a sudden I remembered that I have a lovely narrator!

Romulus has issues. Clearly. He tries, but he's not gonna be the perfect boyfriend

Thanks for such a nice review!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #6, by toomanycurls In Cups of Coffee

22nd May 2014:
Hello!!

Thanks for doing a review swap. I haven't had much time for them lately so it's nice to do afew while I can.

I love that you spend almost half the chapter talking about how long it had been since Marcellus got lucky. And I love Marietta's lifestyle choices. I especially appreciate that she differentiates between romance and sex. :D They had such good chemistry while talking - I'd like to see more happen there.

I'm so excited for Romulus to figure out his feelins for Maria. DON'T KILL EITHER OF THEM YET. I NEED TO SEE THEM IN LOVE OR CLOSE TO IT. Then you can kill them. ;) Romulus' scene in the flower shop was amazing. I loved his candor with the florist and that she gave him a free rose. While it was a small gesture, it really showed a nicer side to humanity.

Oh, wow, Nadia paying their rent is huge. I don't trust Bennett - you should definitely off him. :D

Great chapter!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hey!

Marietta is a character. She's really fun to write, and I love writing she and Romulus.

I can't make any comments about who may or may not be killed or injured at any point.

Don't trust Bennett, but try to see that he's also in a tough place. I wouldn't want to be friends with him, though.

Thanks for such a nice review!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Leap of Faith

19th May 2014:
I sympathise with Maria about curly hair. Sometimes it just does what it wants and there's nothing you can do about it. :P

Why is this girl putting on makeup before she puts her clothes on? That's pretty much a guarantee she'll get lipstick all over the inside of her dress or something. Silly Maria, this is why you don't take Euphoria.

lol at Marietta yelling at them to hold hands. Good on you, Marietta. Also, her interactions at this party are lololol. I love her.

EEE YAY ROMULUS AND MARIA ARE SO HAPPY ♥ Maria's back story is so sad though!! :( I'm glad Romulus is helping her through her Euphoria addiction. And even though he's not telling her about Avril, I still think he's come a long way. Maybe later he'll tell her.

Awesome chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing!!! It really means so much to me that you're sticking with this story.

I have the opposite problem. My hair will NEVER curl. So I just have a pixie. It's easier.

Maria doesn't need your social rules. She's her own woman, yo! And she's scatterbrained because of constant, decade-long drug abuse...

...oh...

Marietta is so fun to write. I can't get enough of her. There may be a spin-off one-shot about her somewhere in the future.

ROMULUS AND MARIA YAAY!!! Making them happy makes me happy. Everyone's back story is a little sad, to be honest. And Maria knows who Avril was and what happened to her (they might've met a few times, I honestly don't know). Romulus had made a lot of progress, though.

Again, thanks so much for the review!! It means so much to me.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Rumpelstiltskin Leap of Faith

12th May 2014:
Yay!

I'm not sure what to say that I haven't already. Let's recap, then ^.^. Maria's excitement over the dinner party was awesome, and although Romulus may not have minded if she didn't remember to dress, it's probably a good thing that she did! The dinner party made me laugh, you have some great dialogue in there -- especially with Marietta and Daniel (David? :p) and Romulus and Maria. It was great to hear some of Maria's background, and wonderful that Romulus is attempting to help her with her Euphoria issue. The short section about Avril did reveal some tension that still exists in Romulus' personality (bum, bum, bum...). And I think you did a fabulous job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Yay!!
I love that you review. It makes me happy, I need to catch up on reviewing the stories that I beta for. Aka I need to be more like you.

So thank you!

Marietta is fun to write, if you haven't figured that out yet. This whole chapter was nice to write, even though it took me forever. A little fluff now and again is good for the soul!!

Thanks again!!!
-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarik Feel the Heat of the Future's Glow

7th May 2014:
Hello Georgia! I just found out your name was Georgia, hi! :D I'm here for the first of your prize reviews. Congratulations again for winning the challenge, by the way!

I've never heard of RENT, actually, but I still enjoyed this chapter very much. I think you've got an incredibly intriguing start! I've never come across another fic on HPFF which focuses on the werewolf community through the perspectives of OCs, rather than major werewolf characters like Fenrir or Remus. And for a first chapter, your characters are remarkably well-developed; I got a good sense of Marcellus and Romulus's upbringing and current status and living conditions, as well as their relationship to each other. The brothers are very close, and it's especially heartwarming to see Marcellus stand by Romulus and follow him and continue to be supportive. And Romulus on the other hand is just as caring and protective toward his younger brother, despite his condition. He could so easily retreat into himself and become brooding, self-loathing and isolated from those around him, which I feel Remus Lupin is sometimes prone to do. But Romulus is lovely. I felt a twinge of pain at how he must feel, constantly worrying that during one of his transformations, he might end up hurting innocent people, and worse of all, his own younger brother. I really love the relationship you've built between the two brothers (I always love reading about sibling relationships!), and I can't wait to see how this develops in future chapters.

Another great thing about this opening chapter is how quickly you establish the atmosphere of tension and danger with the First Wizarding War. (I also think it was a great idea to make allude to Remus starting Hogwarts in September; it really situated your story firmly within canon timelines without being too obvious). I like how you show that alliances can shift in times of war, e.g. Bennett's pressuring his tenants to pay him rent and to join the ranks of the Death Eaters. Bennett is interesting, because even though I don't know how he was before the war, he seemed like a fairly benevolent person who provides werewolves with a place to live without demanding payment. But it appears that there's a drastic change in his character. I'm keen to read on about how the war will affect individual characters and change them.

Hairy Snout, Human Heart is an absolutely wonderful title for a book providing a sympathetic view on lycanthropy! And the way you began the story with the italicised bits is an interesting stylistic choice, and I can't wait to see how that develops.

Brilliant start, Georgia! I enjoyed this chapter and I'll be back with more reviews. :D

-teh

Author's Response: Hello!!! Yep, I'm Georgia!

Thanks! I know that everyone says it about every challenge, but I had so much fun writing for yours. It really made me think through plot and I went out of my comfort zone.

Okay. I'm almost as big of fan of Rent as I am of HP, so I'm going to have to try to not give you a long ramble and just say:
It's a play written by Jonathan Larson based off of the opera La Boheme (yes I'm writing a novella based off of a play based off of an opera). It's about a group of bohemians living in NYC in the 90s, many who are HIV positive. Jonathan Larson died suddenly the night before its Off-Broadway premier. He posthumously won a Pulitzer Prize in 1996, as well as multiple Tonys. I've seen places that JKR meant to use lycanthropy as a symbol for HIV/AIDs, so that's where this came from.

If you ever do want to see it, there is a filmed live on broadway version, and it was turned into a movie (with six of the original cast members) in 2005.

That was the short Rent Rant.

I'm always so nervous about this story, because it's pretty much all OCs. One canon character has an important and recurring role (spoiler alert that's not really that much of a spoiler: it's Fenrir), but other than that it's just cameos to fit the story into a canon universe.

I do work hard on these characters, though! I think that they're easier for me to write because I know the character that they're based off of so well. There are differences (Like my Marcellus is much more emotionally open than his parallel Mark, and later Marietta is introduced, who is a mix between two Rent characters), but it's a little bit like writing HP canon characters, just with a LOT of wiggle room.

Romulus... he's... he is pretty angsty and brooding, but he also is really protective, and... he's... complicated... I don't remember how much of his background is in the first chapter, so I don't want to give anything away, but... he's... complicated. Also very fun to write.

Yay!! I love writing the relationship between Marcellus and Romulus. It only gets more complicated from here, but... yeah. I really love writing them. (That's another difference. In Rent, they're not brothers, just close friends).

The tension from the War comes and goes, but I try to always make it present, and it ends up playing a large role in the plot. I'm glad you liked the note about Remus. Establishing a timeline was exactly what I wanted to do.

Bennett is a character to watch. Rumpel, by beta, hates him, but he's... also complicated.

Hairy Snout, Human Heart is actually semi-canon. I believe it's mentioned in a note that Albus wrote in the Tales of Beedle the Bard. The stuff that's italicised is part of the book. It's a little strange, but it doesn't creep up too much so it's usually used for narration over periods of time and self-reflection for Marcellus. There's one or two times that there are letters, which get italicised, but that's usually clear because of the greeting and salutation. There's also flashbacks, but I don't remember if those are italicised.

WOW THIS WAS A LONG RESPONSE I'M SORRY.

Thanks so much for this review!!! I'm really glad you liked this, I hope you continue reading!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #10, by jessicalorewrites Feel the Heat of the Future's Glow

4th May 2014:
Hey!

So this isn't my usual type of read. I typically opt for Marauders-centric works in this era. But I surprisingly found this very intriguing! I feel like it is going to offer an alternative view on the First Wizarding War that Rowling has yet to expand upon, and I think you will do the story justice.

It is well written and your characters seem to be quite three dimensional thus far. Providing I have time, I think I will come back and continue to read this :)

Thanks again for such a lovely read,

- Jess xo

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for checking this out!

I did feel strange labeling this as Marauders Era because none of the Marauder characters are in it... but it starts in what would be their first year, so after lots of bugging people on the forums I decided that the Era just means time period.

I work really hard on character development in this story, so I'm really happy you thougt they seemed good.

I hope you do continue, but no hard feelings if you don't.

Thanks!
-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #11, by Veritaserum27 Feel the Heat of the Future's Glow

28th April 2014:
Hi Georgia!

Here for the review swap. I chose this story because LightLeviosa spoke so highly of it and I can see why.

First off, I need to congratulate you for such an original idea. I've never seen Rent, but I have always wanted to and I think it is so creative to blend the two story lines together.

Your writing style is nearly flawless and you have a knack for putting a lot of information and back story into the writing, but still moving it along at the same time. There is a lot packed into this relatively short chapter.

I love the loyalty of Marcellus. He is such a good brother - giving up his family and nice cushy future and basically becoming his brother's caretaker for life. That is real love.

You've given us just a taste of the Dark Lord's rising. Enough to want to find out what happens next. Things are starting to go bad with Bennet joining the death eaters and turning off the heat. (By the way, I love the line about how silly the term 'death eater' is - I giggled at that).

I'm curious as to what happened to Ainsley. I'm guessing nothing good, it is dark times, after all.

I also like the guitar. It is a nice touch and brings a bit of humanity to the werewolf, letting us know that they are more human than monster.

Overall, I really liked this story! Nice writing style!

Beth (Veritaserum27)

Author's Response: THIS REVIEW IS SO SWEET YOU'RE SO SWEET.

You should see Rent. There's a movie, and while it's not as good as the play (I saw it a few years ago when three of the original cast members revived their roles and I'm not ashamed to say that I was so excited I cried).

This was a first chapter that did have a LOT of backstory, so I'm glad you didn't find it overwhelming.

Marcellus is very much a Hufflepuff and I love him and the person who plays the role that his character is based off of is one of my favorite people in the world.

The werewolves really are mostly people. To see what happens to Aisling you'll just have to read on ;)

Thanks so much for such a nice review!!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan In Cups of Coffee

28th April 2014:
Hello! Sorry it's taken me over three weeks to read this, but I should be better about staying up to date with reading now that I'm no longer travelling.

The quote in your chapter summary is one of my fave quotes from Rent!

Omg, yay! I'm so happy for Marietta getting her article published! The conversation she and Marcellus (and that poor unsuspecting woman) had in the cafe was pretty hilarious. :P Marietta is awesome in her filter-lessness, and I loved the contrast between her loud, strong personality and Marcellus' embarrassment and discomfort with being the center of attention.

I know I shouldn't be giggling at this but the part where Romulus is looking in the mirror and angstily reflecting (lol) on how long his hair is and how it covers his eyes I'm brought to mind of Spiderman 3 when he's really emo and angsty. I hope Romulus is less ridiculous than this.

Oh good, he's buying flowers for Maria! Or, well, obtaining flowers. Yay! I'm glad he's getting out of his little self-pity-party (which, admittedly, his pity party was understandable with his girlfriend dying and all, he deserved some time to be sad. But he's allowing himself to be happy again which is good). Romulus: 1, Spiderman: 0.

LOLOL Nadia showed up during Marietta's little speech hahaha. Aw! Nadia is such a good person, covering for Marcellus and Romulus. But where is Bennett going? Nowhere good, I expect...

Great chapter, Georgia! As always this is a great fic! :D

Author's Response: This review made my day!!! Thanks so much!!

Chapters seven and eight are written and going through the many rounds of editing, so I'm hoping to be able to update about every two/three weeks until it's finished.

Big goals. Little me.

I went to look at which quote I used, and I just noticed that I somehow managed to misspell peace. Pease. What? I need to go change that.

Marietta is... interesting. She's really fun to write, I'm never really sure what she'd going to say or do next, haha. I also really like writing the friendship between Marcellus and Marietta. Sometimes I actually enjoy writing friendships more than romances.

You can feel free to giggle at Romulus. His angst is... yeah. He's also really fun to write, because he's so moody. You can't really blame him, though, after the year he's had.

Yes! Flowers! He's working on getting out of his little funk. You'll have to see if he succeeds ;)

I don't think Nadia would be surprised by anything that comes out of Marietta's mouth, honestly. And yes, she's a very good person. I like her very much.

Err... where is Bennett going? Uhh... good question. I have no idea. He's probably going to meet with Death Eaters, but this particular meeting isn't important.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I really can't tell you how much it means to me that you read this!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #13, by keyty In Cups of Coffee

21st April 2014:
Nooo where's the rest? Update soon please!

I'm glad this was a happier chapter. I was so afraid something bad was going to happen! But it didn't. Does that mean it will in the next chapter? Now I'm really scared. But I like Marcellus and Marietta's little coffee date. It was sweet. They got to talk about stuff that regular people talk about, they were young again. And I love the detail you have with her, like the bit about the lipstick on her tooth.

I also love the bench metaphor for Romulus's love life. It's kind of sweet, Avril sitting there with Maria. Hopefully he starts to open up to her more, because he's right, when your life span gets shorter, you've gotta live quicker! He needs to experience happiness, not just all this misery. That's all he's been allowing himself to feel, and I'm glad he's decided to give Maria a chance. He really needs to let himself be happy. I just hope things go well between them. They both seem really intense and that could get bad quick.

I must say, I'm worried about Bennett's meeting. It seems that the only interests he has in mind are his own. I bet if the financial advantage was switched, he'd defend his tenants in a heartbeat. Maybe they should start investing in the lottery... Hmm how funny would that be? They could just 'buy' Bennett back. :P

Anywho, another lovely chapter! Can't wait for you to update and scare me with more foreshadowing ;)

Author's Response: Hello once again!! The rest is... somewhere...
Chapter seven will be up within the next two weeks.

I'm so happy that you're scared. And I'm also such a horrible person, but I don't even care. I will tell you that the next chapter will be the fluffiest chapter in the whole thing.

Romulus has a weird love life. Technically, Bellatrix should be somewhere on that bench because they were supposed to get married, but I choose to ignore that.

Romulus... has issues. He's starting to understand himself better, though. It's funny that you say "when your life span gets shorter, you've gotta live quicker" because the tagline of Rent, which this novella is based off of, is "No Day But Today".

Again, Bennett is complicated. I'm not sure if his issues will ever really come up in the second half of the novella, but... yeah. I think of him a little bit like Regulus, in that he made some bad choices and now he's a little lost.

Thank you thank you thank you for such amazing reviews! You're the best!!


 Report Review

Review #14, by keyty Reason Says I Should've Died Three Years Ago

21st April 2014:
Oh, yay! I'm glad Romulus is being less stubborn. He needs to realize that brooding will not help anything. He would be so much easier on himself by going out and doing things, distracting himself, instead of laying in bed and thinking things over and over.

But wow, Greyback is just so awful. It sucks that these people have been put in this situation. They have no money, and they are being shunned from society. It's only natural for them to take the first chance they get at any kind of money. But it's just so terrible that they made Portia kill that child. And it's just worse that they'll have to go to the funeral from afar. At least Bennett told them about it, but I don't think that's an indication of his attitude getting better any time soon.

*sigh*

I wish I could blame you for their hard times, but this is completely realistic (unlike my story where I just bring tragedy upon my poor OC). Everything that happens makes complete sense, and I honestly couldn't expect anything better for the times they're living in. You're doing a great job of portraying the life of werewolves during the 70s. This is just such a great story. You deserve a pat on the back!

Author's Response: Yay!! Hello again!!

Romulus... man, he's so difficult and angsty and frustrating. He'll get a little bit more agreeable. One of my goals with this novella is to create characters that are really seriously flawed, but somehow you're rooting for them are care about them anyway.

But yeah... Romulus... he was wakes up on the wrong side of the bed. Every day. His bed is just on the wrong side.

Greyback is really awful. He does not fit in with the earlier statement of wanting to create characters the reader cares about. I hate him, you can hate him, we can all just agree to hate him.

Bennett is... complicated. Obviously, from these character's POV's, he's one of the villains, but he's also stuck between a rock and a hard place. I might eventually write a one-shot or short-story about him.

Hmm... I wonder if you'll keep the same attitude of not blaming me for their hard times wink wink wink.

I literally just pat myself on the back and now I'm getting stares and I just sort of pretending it was an itch. Thanks so much for that.

But really, thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #15, by keyty I Can't Control My Destiny

21st April 2014:
Hi! It's been so long! I'm so glad I'm back!

I've missed reading this! You are just such a lovely writer. There were so many interesting twists in this chapter. I like that you're including their backstory. I think sometimes people get so focused on the plot that they forget to reveal important information from the characters' pasts. And their parents' involvement with Bennett is also really interesting. I'm curious to see how that'll pan out.

And then there's poor Marietta. It must be devastating to have to go through all of that. First she finds out her father is the head of the Black family, then she's attacked by werewolves. At least he's helping them out, but still, it must be really difficult. This may have been answered in an earlier chapter, but it's been so long since I've read them (sorry!). Did Marietta inherit any magical powers? If not it must have been even more shocking to her to have to go through the whole ordeal.

Even though there wasn't much plot movement here, I still love this, because it's still really interesting. It makes me more curious to read on -- so I'm going to do just that! :)

Author's Response: Hello!! Thank you so much for these reviews, you're so nice!!!

For these characters, their pasts really dictate who they are, so I thought it was important to pretty much dedicate a chapter to it.

Oh man, Marietta would be so mad if she knew you said "poor Marietta". For her, even though she's had an exceptionally rough life, I think she'd be bored if she were normal. If she was actually raised a Black, I think she would've gone crazy. Yep, all these characters are magical (other than ones specifically said to be muggles, like Walter. Who isn't in the chapter, I don't thin. But whatever). The reason they rarely do magic is because A-Maria and Marietta were turned before they turned 11, so they never went to Hogwarts and B-At least in Marcellus and Romulus' building, they're not supposed to use magic so that the Ministry doesn't know all the werewolves are living in one place.

(Because I imagine that if the Ministry noticed a high concentration of magical activity in a muggle neighborhood, they'd investigate)

Yeah, something I could've done better is get the plot moving faster. These first four chapters are a lot of character development, and then the plot moves incredibly quickly in the second half.

Thanks so much for the review!! I'm gonna go respond to your other two :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by LightLeviosa5443 In Cups of Coffee

8th April 2014:
So, I guess I'm going to make your day even though you're expecting this review. But that's okay.

I really liked this chapter. I liked how enthusiastic Marietta was, and how Romulus made some rude comments then rolled over back to sleep. Guys do that far too often. It's so infuriating. Marietta in the coffee shop was so funny. Oh my gosh, if I was that girl I'd be so horrified!!! That'd be so awful!! I'd be the color of a tomato.

I really love this story, can you finish writing it? :P Though I know what's coming up and I'm terrified. Woah.

Why is this review so short? It looked longer when I typed it in word. I can babble for a bit if you want. What am I even saying. Okay. I'm done. :P

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Yay! This did make my day! And it's okay that it's short. I don't mind.

Even though Romulus has all his issues, he's still totally a guy:p

Marietta is... she's... I love writing her, but I think I'd hate being her friend. Or maybe I want her to be my friend. I haven't decided yet.

Thanks for the review, dear!


 Report Review

Review #17, by LightLeviosa5443 Reason Says I Should've Died Three Years Ago

5th April 2014:
BvB!

This chapter was so sad and so lovely. I kind of like knowing what to expect, but not knowing what you'll put in, and what you won't. I really loved this chapter, though.

I thought it was sweet the way that they had meetings, and how everyone was very close together. Like a family (as you put it in the story). Ugh. It was just all so cute. I really liked how Marietta already put in the story, and the way Maria joked about it. Though I'm still peeved with her. I get that Romulus has problems that he has to sort out, but when he acts like he does I just get so frustrated! There are people that love you dude! Spend time with them!

Lovely chapter hon!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing!

Although... you review a lot, so you probably won't see this...

I put in some stuff, and not some other stuff, and then I added some stuff. ;)

Romulus really does need to sort himself out. You should give him a talking to!!

Thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfan Reason Says I Should've Died Three Years Ago

25th March 2014:
I saw you updated this ages ago and I've only just had time to get around to reading it! *brings a plate of chocolate chip cookies straight from the oven to apologize for being such a bad reviewer*

Aah, that part about Portia was so sad! I can't imagine how it must have been for her to be that desperate and then tricked into something as horrible as that. The support group is wonderful, though; it must help a lot for them to be able to talk and understand each other. Hopefully one of these times, Marcellus will be able to convince Romulus to go, it'd do him good.

Nadia and Aisling!! :D Aaa so cute. Love it.

How sad for Marietta that they won't publish her article - the fact that she didn't finish school doesn't mean she's not intelligent! I'll bet they didn't even read it! :( At least she has an opportunity to publish it under Marcellus' name though. Good for her. Don't give up, Mariertta!

And yay, Romulus agreed to go to a meeting and actuallly be there, rather than creeping outside the wall. I think it will help him. At least I hope so.

Another awesome chapter! Keep up the great work :)

Author's Response: My last three reviews are from you, so maybe I should respond to them!! (Haha, but really, you're the sweetest!!)

Oh man. I hadn't realised how long it's been since an update!! Chapter six has been done for weeks, I'll have to get around to posting that... Hopefully I'll be posting every two or three weeks until it's completed.

...hopefully...

I really wanted to show that even though these are characters that we're meant to like... they still do the bad things that we hear about on the other side. They do kill livestock and occasionally people... they just feel horribly about it.

Don't worry about Marietta. She's way too stubborn to give up. On anything. Ever. Almost to the extent where it's a little annoying.

In the next two chapters, we'll get to see non-angsty Romulus. Nearly... cheery Romulus! Who knew that could happen... ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. It means so much to me!!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Rumpelstiltskin Reason Says I Should've Died Three Years Ago

21st February 2014:
Oh, I haven't loved all over this yet!

Marcellus is still the amazing brother he always is! Romulus is slowly coming around, it seems. He's at least been sneaking to the meetings :D. Bennet I always give the short end of the stick to...I know he's in a rough situation. I mean, the dude's married to Greyback's sister! Aisling and Nadia are perfect for one another and I LOVE THEM SO MUCH! I'm so glad that they're moving in together!

Er, yeah, that's all :D.

You did a wonderful job, of course!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: I... haven't responded to this yet!

WHOOPS!

Need to write... need to write... tomorrow I won't even have a car, so I'll just get up and WRITE!

I wish Marcellus was my brother. I'd totally be a werewolf if I'd get Marcellus as a brother... (sigh dreamily...)

Thanks for the review, even though you probably won't see this response...


 Report Review

Review #20, by toomanycurls Reason Says I Should've Died Three Years Ago

14th February 2014:
RRT!!

I'm so happy you wrote more of this wonderfully story!

I liked the idea of a bi-weekly support meeting for werewolves. It had an AA meeting feel or any 12 step program, which fit with how they must feel as werewolves. Except they can't control the monster that comes out monthly.

I can get why Romulus wouldn't want to go to the WA (werewolves anonymous) meeting but I can't help but feel sad for his loss of community and comradery that could come out of it. Which is why I was glad at the end when he agreed to go to the next one. It fit very well for Marcellus to go and I'm glad they accepted him there.

the church and pastor who let them use their space was just so touching! I loved how compassionate he was and that they told him about being werewolves. It just made me feel better about people to read about such humanity and love.

:-o Portia's story is horrific. From a story perspective, I like that Fenrir is lying to people to get them to attack children. I couldn't believe that there were tons of werewolves out there just as eager as he was to change kids so having it be something they're tricked into felt very realistic. Portia seems like a good person who was lied to about what she'd be doing. Then when Bennit walked in and said he gave Fenrir Portia's name - I was surprised they didn't beat him up or something (I would have). I felt so bad for Portia throughout this whole chapter - even more so once she learned the child died.

I NEARLY DIED FROM SQUEE WHEN AISLING AND NADIA DECIDED TO LIVE TOGETHER!

I'm glad Marietta is pushing to still get her story published. It's a sham they won't publish her but I hope they'll take it from Marcellus.

It was a relief at the end to see Romulus come around a little - I hope he continues to do better.

-Rose

Author's Response: I love writing this story so much.

It's actually based off of the Life Support meetings from the show Rent, which were based off of meeting of a group in NYC during the 1990s called Friends in Deed, which comforts the terminally ill (all illness, not just people suffering from HIV/AIDS) and their close friends and family.

(I seriously know waaay too much about Rent.)

Don't lose faith in humanity!! Walter is here!!

Portia's story really is meant to be upsetting. There's really bad situations and tough decisions for everyone involved (except Fenrir. He's just awful through and through).

Bennett will (hopefully) actually become a character that you'll eventually feel bad for. A little. He's stuck between a rock and a hard place, too.

NADIA AND AISLING ARE MY FAVORITE I LOVE WRITING THEM SO MUCH.

Romulus!!! I love him!

(I don't know if you can tell, but I really love writing this)

Romulus is in for a bumpy ride. He'll have his moments of happiness, but this is angst...



 Report Review

Review #21, by LightLeviosa5443 I Can't Control My Destiny

10th February 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the review battle!

Wow. So, I haven't read this in a while and had to go back and give myself a mini-refresher, but your writing just gets better and better.

I can't even begin to pretend being comfortable enough with my writing to write a scene with a werewolf transformation. But you did, and amazingly so! It was like, wicked awesome to read!!!

I really loved the scene with Marcellus and going from one place to another and how we really got a good backstory on how the boys split from their parents, and how that whole world works. It was interesting and a great touch because it helps me understand why Marcellus does what he does. And it helps me see such a huge contrast between Marcellus and his parents!!

I loved the scene with Marietta, I think that it was great and you wrote Marcellus' reaction wonderfully. Rumpel is a fantastic beta because I couldn't find a single thing wrong with this chapter either! (not that I'm so great with it anyways :P)

Overall this was wondiferous.

HULKREVIEWER LIKE STORY!

hahahah, sorry, I had to do it!

Author's Response: EEEKKK I LOVE REVIEWS ON OBoB THANKS SO MUCH FOR REVIEWING I LOVE YOU FOREVER.

I mean, I did already, but I seriously LOVE getting reviews on this.

So much.

Seriously.

Siriusly.

This is technically Marauders Era, so I can say that.

EEEP YOU'RE SO NICE.

It took me so long to write the transformation. I'm really glad that you liked it. Yaaay.

Writing these guys' backstories is SO MUCH FUN. I honestly might end up writing a series of spinoff oneshots because it's so fun.

Marietta YES I LOVE WRITING HER SO MUCH. SHE'S SO FUN. And Marcellus. Those two!! In chapter 6, we get lots of fun Marietta/Marcellus superfriendship love.

RUMPEL IS FANTASTIC YOU ARE CORRECT.



 Report Review

Review #22, by Infinityx For a Thousand Sweet Kisses

5th February 2014:
Hello! Here for the BvB review battle. I can't believe I didn't come back to read this earlier though!

"his voice lathered with fraudulent cheerfulness"
I love this line. Your descriptions are wonderful.

"Aisling could see his dark, diseased gums and smell raw meat on his breath." Ugh. *shudder* You've brought out Greyback's menacing character incredibly well. What a creep!

"the hills and valleys that were his swollen face"
Again, a wonderful use of imagery. I could picture the entire scene unfolding before my eyes. Great job!

Aww. Nadia and Aisling are so cute. I love how you've made the tone of the story shift without it seeming abrupt. All those cheesy lines were so sweet!

I can't wait to see what happens next. I think it's so brave of Aisling to go against Greyback like that. I hope nothing happens to him! Wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Hey! Finally responding!!

Oh man. I have to confess. In that first line, the use of the word "fraudulent" was 100% my beta, Rumpel. I don't remember what I had there, but it wasn't that good.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #23, by marauderfan I Can't Control My Destiny

1st February 2014:
Agh sorry it took me so long (I'm travelling and typing this on a tablet) but I'm here for the review swap!

I love the way you've portrayed the lead up to the full moon,and the way they prepare by clipping their nails, sitting around nervously before moonrise. Their emotions are so strong, well done writing that. Romulus' transformation was really well written too -lots of detail, the imagery really powerful.

Ooh, those flashbacks are so interesting! First Romulus insisting that his brother not date a mudblood, but then later Romulus himself is dating a Muggleborn. I wonder what made him change his mind? And all the stuff about the family, I am SO curious what his surname is, because it sounds like he's from one of the old pureblood families. That makes it even more difficult that he's a werewolf, with all those pressures. :(

Wait, did I just read something about Mrs Greyback!?!? Fenrir greyback is MARRIED? Ok, would not have predicted that. She must be insane. :p

vhiufugfdasfjsfk Marietta is an illegitimate child of Orion Black?! So did not see that coming. I am so curious about all these families. The back story in this chapter was fantastic. I get the feeling that the first three chapters were all kind of introduction, but this feels like where the story really starts.so much great and surprising stuff in this chapter. I'm putting this story in my favourites now! :D Thanks for the swap!

Author's Response: Don't worry about it! I understand, I'm on my phone a lot.

I'm glad you liked the lead-up. I rewrote it a few times, but I settled on this one.

A note about the surname... because of the nature of this story, they don't have one. The family line pretty much died out when Romulus was bitten. So we won't find out their surname. You can make them whoever you'd like (other than the Blacks or Malfoys or Lestranges).

Actually, Bennett is married to Fenrir's sister. They said "Mrs. Greyback" for emphasis that she's part of that family (and because, like all the characters, Bennett doesn't have a last name).

Marietta's back-story might eventually give birth to a one-shot or short story spin-off about her. The first three chapters are sort of introductory, but they also set up a lot of the plot. If you're going to read on when I update, I do suggest giving 1-3 a read. Ahh, yay! Thanks!!

Thanks for such a thorough review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Rumpelstiltskin I Can't Control My Destiny

29th January 2014:
Okay, I'm here to love!

Marcellus!...if he were real, I would probably marry him.

And poor Romulus and Avril!

This chapter, as you know, has one of my favorite conversations (between Marietta and Marcellus). This here, along with Marcellus' other considerations during the conversation, "Oh God, Marcellus thought, my Mum was having an affair with Orion Black" absolutely killed me :D.

Anyway, fantastic job, as always!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Yay! I always appreciate that you review even though you've already given me opinions:D

You can marry Marcellus. If he were real he'd be in his mid-sixties (he's in his early twenties here).

Yay!! Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #25, by toomanycurls I Can't Control My Destiny

28th January 2014:
I'll never get tired of review swapping with you!! :D I'm glad to be the 1st review on this chapter! I really get thrilled by the simple things in life.

I love the idea of them going somewhere remote for Romulus' transformation. I giggled at the better sheep than people - partly because of the wolf getting sheep thing in stories/cartoons, but also because of the idea of sheeple (which I'm sure you weren't referring to).

Your description of his transformation is rivetting. I once tried to write about how it would feel but painted it with poetic prose rather than blunt reality. I like your blunt reality more.

This chapter is just full of the feels. I can't imagine what it would be like to be Marcellus and have to agonize each month while my brother was out there in danger (and dangerous to others). Part of me is super floored that Romulus and Marcellus are from a pureblood/muggle hating family. I love how you mentioned Molly in this! But, yeah, I can only imagine how being a werewolf was even harder for Romulus given his upbringing.

...their parents need to sort out their priorities!! Son bit by a werewolf and they're worried that he's under a love spell for dating Avril!?!? I could just give Marcellus a standing ovation for turning away from his family!!! Whoo!!!

After reading everything about his family, I shouldn't be shocked that they're in league with Voldemort but it's still a slight jolt to read.

I'm calling this chapter "shock and awe" I don't think my jaw could have dropped more after finding out Marietta is really a Black. I'm dying to know what family Marcellus and Romulus are in.

Ah, this was just incredible!! So, update soon. :D

-Rose

Author's Response: Yay!! I was so glad when I saw that you reviewed this chapter!!

I... can't say I know what a sheeple is.

I rewrote his transformation about thirty times and kept annoying my beta with comments like "Do you think this is enough? Do I need more here? Does this seem cheesy?", so I'm glad you liked it. I'm sure your poetic prose was well written:)

This Novella is sort of full of feels, I'll warn you now. Marcellus is very stressed but he doesn't care because Marcellus lurv Romulus so much! They're from an extremely pureblood family! And yay for Molly! And yes, Romulus lost much more than most people do when they're bitten. That's why he's so moody all the time. And the whole dead girlfriend thing.

They can't have an heir to the family fortune who goes romping in the woods every month!

Yeah, they're D.E.'s. If you were jolted, imagine how Marcellus felt!

Marietta! Yes! There might be a spin-off one-shot or short story sometime in the future where she meets Remus and they eventually figure out their connection through Sirius and Marietta meets him (or, depending on Era, is disappointed that he's a mass murderer or dead. Small window, there).

Alright... here's the thing. You'll never find out what family they're in. I don't know what family they're in. The trouble is that most of the pureblood families we know have children conveniently aged within about five years of the Marauders, which doesn't work. For this to be a currently existing family, they would've had to have had their first child in the mid-seventies. I just couldn't find that. The family name essentially died on the night Romulus was attacked. Even though he technically still carries on the bloodline, it isn't the same thing.

I'll update... soon...ish. I need to get through the next two chapters that are... not filler, but more difficult to write... then it'll be quick(ish. bimonthly?) updates till the end!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>