Reading Reviews for One Blaze of Glory
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarik I Can't Control My Destiny

19th August 2014:
Hello again, Georgia!

I'm back with the last of your four prize reviews. :) (Never fear, I shall continue to read your amazing story at my own pace! I really love your characters and the whole concept of this!).

Of course, this being a werewolf-centric fic, there will be the inevitable transformation scene. Transformations are always so painful to read about (I can't even imagine the werewolf's physical pain undergoing such an awful process), and I think you did a brilliant job capturing Romulus's agony, and the shifts in his body.

He felt his spine start to stretch and pull against his skin. Romulus groaned as his legs broke and regrew into a different form in under a minute. He felt his claws pierces through the tops of his fingers. He dug his hands into the ground; he needed something to hold onto.

^ Wow, his paragraph gave me such chills. The language is sparse, but so concise and whatever details present are painful and vivid.

It was interesting getting to know some backstory about Marcellus and his family. Their parents represent some of the worst parts of ruthless pureblood society, and it was really heartbreaking to see them disown Romulus the moment he's been inflicted with lycanthropy. I love that Marcellus, feeling so desolate and lonely on New Year's Eve goes to visit his old abandoned home, before finally going to check on his parents. Despite how much he despises them and what they stand for. Ugh, I got all the feels from reading about him watching from afar.

I think it's a very interesting revelation that Bennet's pressuring his tenants is being paid for by Marcellus and Romulus's parents themselves! I wonder if they are aware of their actions, and how it's influencing their sons? I don't think they'd care a lot, really.

Marietta's backstory was really tragic. Ugh, these poor people isolate themselves because they're a danger to others around them, and they've even hurt their loved ones terribly. I can't imagine the amount of guilt some of them must be feeling. :(

And so Marietta and Marcellus and Romulus are sort of distantly related? Interesting turn!

I'll be reading on! Another fabulous chapter! :D

-teh

 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarik Your Hair in the Moonlight

19th August 2014:
Wow, this chapter ended on such an intense note. Like all the other OCs introduced earlier, your two new characters, Maria and Marietta, are just as striking and so well-thought out. I love this little group of friends; you write their interactions so well, and I imagine that with their condition, they only have each other to seek solace from, seeing as they're pretty much alienated from mainstream society.

Marietta not being able to correctly use grammar and punctuation as a result of not going to school is such a realistic detail. It's something that many people writing werewolves would overlook. I'm glad Marcellus is there to help her. He certainly recognises her talent and potential; it would be a tragic thing if many werewolf children's potential were stunted because of their condition, but it's clear and ever so admirable that Marietta tries so hard here, tries to make the best of her condition.

I love how in-your-face Maria is! I feel that she could really help Romulus overcome his grief about Avril, if only he would give her a chance. She's lively and she sounds adventurous and fun! The inclusion of the Elixir of Euphoria was so intriguing. I love this expansion of canon, and I'm always interested in reading more about *cough* magical recreational substances. From what you've mentioned about Euphoria so far, it does indeed sound addictive, and I think you've portrayed the symptoms of addiction very well. Especially with Romulus: despite being clean for three months, he still can't bear the idea of not having some reserve of it close by. As though he expects to lapse right back into his habit anytime.

The counting at the end and Romulus smashing the ELixir was kind of a painful thing to read; it just makes me realise how much pain some of these characters are going through.

Fantastic chapter, Georgia!

-teh

 Report Review

Review #3, by teh tarik For a Thousand Sweet Kisses

19th August 2014:
Hey Georgia!

I'm back to deliver the second of your four prize reviews! ...and you've probably forgotten that you won the challenge ages ago.I am SO SORRY for taking an age with this, but I'm BACK now.

OK, I love Aisling here; he's such a decent and caring character. I feel that if the werewolf population had more people like Aisling and fewer people like Fenrir, they would be a lot closer to their dream of Rome, or at least being a self-sufficient community like the werewolves of Rome. I love that Aisling is giving so much to educate the werewolf children, even though he himself suffers this awful condition.

And ugh, Fenrir is just downright awful. He's a werewolf, but he doesn't even treat his other fellow werewolves with much respect; he completely dehumanises them, and declares them as belonging to him. I shuddered a bit during that confrontation with Aisling, and how in the end he let his cohort beat the other guy up.

Nadia is lovely. Definitely shipping Aisling/Nadia here! I loved their fluffy romantic exchanges; it definitely set the mood for some Christmas fluff, and it was a great contrast to the darker, more violent opening section of this chapter.

I'm enjoying your fic a lot! I think you've come up with a set of really realistic and likable characters, and their problems do really fit well within the turbulent context of the first wizarding war. Great work! I'll be reading on. ♥

-teh

 Report Review

Review #4, by Aphoride Feel the Heat of the Future's Glow

15th August 2014:
Hey there! Stopping by for our review swap! :)

I have to say, part of why I love summer is because I get to come along to all those stories I've seen around on the forums for ages, with people recommending them and stuff, like with this one. I loved the idea of the book when I heard about it in the canon, and he idea of a story based on that book is genius.

I love how you start it with the introduction to the book, with him talking about what he's going to write and how it's going to work, stressing that it's important. Because it is. Also, I really like how you describe the attack and make a point of stressing how they came from a wealthy, prominent family and after the attack Marcellus was expected to simply leave his brother behind, on his own, with nothing. It's such a harsh life, you know, but it kinda speaks about so much more and can be applied to so many things. It makes you think, I guess, is what I'm trying to say.

So yeah, I like that this isn't happy at the beginning, but it's the kind of story which almost shouldn't be, partly because of the canon information going into it, but also partly because of the sort of point I guess you're trying to make? But I love how you don't overdo it - you just mention things, almost casually. In the sense that, Marcellus doesn't seem to sort of dwell on things, he's more like a reporter than a writer, in the sense that he's just writing down what happens, not adding anything or changing anything. At the same time, with the situation, you manage to build this wonderful sympathy and empathy for with the characters. I want them to do well. I want them to, not get better, but do better. Be happy - all that kind of stuff. You make me root for them, seemingly without trying.

Your writing in this is gorgeous too - I love how you use description so effectively and your dialogue is so good, too - you adapted it to each character, which I'm so jealous of! Your word choice was brilliant in places and so suitable. Everything was just... gah, it just all flowed and fitted together so beautifully and it was so engaging. Like, I couldn't stop reading it.

I think I'm going to have to add this to my favourites :) Thank you so much for the swap, too! :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #5, by toomanycurls Life is Your's to Miss

9th August 2014:
This is me. Glaring at you. You know why. HOW CAN YOU END IT THERE AND PUT MARCELLUS IS HARM'S WAY LIKE THAT? IT'LL KILL ROMULUS IF HE HARMS HIS BROTHER. I WAS STARTING TO THINK THINGS WERE LOOKING UP FOR THEM TOO.

um, back to the beginning.

I love how you combined really cool wizarding history with muggle history. I can see why Mary-Lee would have seen Romulus as determined to be a grump, but his connection with the collesium would make anyone a bit put out.

AND THEN THERE'S BENNETT. I didn't think it would be Marcellus but, wow, Bennett has some gall claiming to have written that article.

I like how you showed that Romulus has quite a bit of magical power - that never quite came througb while he was in London because they were restricted from using magic.

On to Marcellus. I love that he used his family's reputation to get a free connection to Canada. Out of all the relationships in this story, their closeness as brothers is the msot heart warming.

THEN THAT ENDING. I MEAN, WAS THE FULL MOON A SURPRISE??! GUASFLKAJFAKL ASDLKFJASKLDJF LKJDF

Post the next one soon. very soon.

-Rose

Author's Response: Hey there. Thanks for the review.

Hehehe I don't mind the glares. And... uhhh I can't say anything about that ;)

Bennett is kinda a jerk, yeah. Not gonna lie.

Romulus is totally awesome, duuude. Like really.

MARCELLUS I LOVE HIM.

It wasn't a full moon, it was a solar eclipse. They didn't know that it would make them change. Aisling knew, but he didn't know that Romulus would be in Canada. Confession: the reason for the move to Canada was primarily because the eclipse that occured on July 10 1972 wasn't visible from Europe... and in a story about werewolves and magic, I just have to stick to be realistic...

I'll update soonish. 11 isn't done yet. or betaed. Uh yeah I'll get there.

Thanks again!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #6, by toomanycurls Only Blue, Lonely Blue

7th August 2014:
Heyoo!

I've had this chapter open for a while to review (days, actually. I'm sorry). I JUST GET BUSY AND AND AND. *hides*

I'm mad at Romulus for running off. At the end of the last chapter things seemed okay. WHY AREN'T THEY OKAY NOW!?! Don't make me go over there to set this right! Oh Marieta, don't wish him dead - otherwise Georgia will do that.

Romulus in Rome - seems fitting. and highly symbolic. At least he's in okay living conditions. Nice move with Romulus talking in his sleep. :D So.. is there something with the Mary Lee?!! I'm just eager for someone to love someone else in this chapter. I really like how you've depicted their interaction as two people in a fringe society. Also, HIS NEXT MOVE SHOULD BE TO GO BACK TO LONDON. and a part of me is glad that Maria is haunting his dreams. the jerk.

It means a lot to me that Marcellus is still hanging iwth the werewolf crew when Romulus is MIA. I dunno, talk about solidarity. I laughed at his comment that he and Romulus look more neighbors than brothers. That me with my siblings too.

I thought you showed Nadia meeting up with some shady folks at one point. I assumed that's where she'd been getting the drugs.

You do a really good job talking about and depicting addiction. I mean, it seems very realistic.

I agree, Aisling shouldn't leave.

WHAT, NO. NOT FENRIR. WHAT ARE YOU DOING?

Just... finish this before college. okay?! I need to have you finish it.

-Rose

Author's Response: Hello!! It's okay! What matters is that you reviewed eventually!

What do you mean, things seemed okay at the end of the last chapter? O.o how do you define okay?

Romulus was always going to be going to Rome! Huh. Is there something with Mary-Lee? Are you going to be shipping them? She's also in chapter 10. His next move will be... away from Rome. That's all I can say about that.

Of course Marcellus is staying! He's a Hufflepuff! And where else would he go... back home?

I've never really been around drug addiction very intimately, so I'm glad it seems realistic!

Aisling will do what he does and he'll do it.

YES FENRIR IS BACK. HE'S BACK.

Uhhh I probably won't finish this before college because that's the Tuesday after next. It will be finished, though! Don't worry. Uhhh I honestly think that every chaper until the end will end in a cliffhanger... sorry...

WAIT NO! I don't think Chapter 11 does. I'm not sure yet. I haven't written the ending of that chapter yet.

Thanks for reviewing!!! Chapter 10 is in the queue!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Only Blue, Lonely Blue

22nd July 2014:
I love Marietta. Telling it straight, like it is. ROMULUS YOU HAD BETTER LISTEN TO HER. OR I WILL ALSO KICK YOU IN AN UNCOMFORTABLE PLACE

It's so sad to see Maria in a situation like this, she is suffering so much. At least she has admitted she has a problem, and has friends who are trying to help her. What a difficult situation too - how getting her off Euphoria will be good for her in the long run, but in the short run it will destroy her and there's not much of her left anymore as she's so thin and ill.

The tidbit about Nadia supplying Maria with the potion for all those years was interesting too. It's a complicated issue and when you're trying to do the right thing for someone, what exactly is the right thing? She was hurting Maria more than helping, regardless of how she thought about it - it's sad, but also I like the way it shows how even the best people make mistakes. I don't know, I just like the moral ambiguity there I guess :p

Sounds like a lot of people are trying to move to Canada. I hope that Romulus meets up with Aisling wherever they end up going, because I think Romulus isn't going to go back to his friends of his own volition, but only if he runs into one of them.

Omg but the end, Fenrir came into Maria's flat to be creepy? What is he doing adkjfkasdjkfl please update soon because I can't handle the suspense.

Excellent chapter!

Author's Response: I love you so much for reviewing so quickly! Thank you thank you thank you!

Marietta is my idol. Sometimes. Parts of her. Toned down a little. She's really fun to write, at least.

Yaaay for moral ambiguity. There's a lot of that here. I think that Nadia's issue was that she would try too hard to make others happy and make sure that everyone liked her. She always had good intentions, but didn't always know where to draw the line.

And Maria... yeah... yeah... she's pretty stuck. And everyone around her is pretty stuck. It gets pretty sticky.

Yes there's Canada and that's all I can say about that. :D

Yes there's Fenrir and that's all I can say about that. :D

I'll update as soon as I get the next chapter all edited! Hopefully in the next 2 weeks, but I can't make any promises because Rumpel and I tend to keep going over and over forever.

Thank you so so so much for reviewing, it really means the world to me!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #8, by newgenerationlover Feel the Heat of the Future's Glow

2nd June 2014:
Hey! Great start to this story!

Well I've never watched but now I'm intrigued to. I am glad that someone has finally written a story to really go along with the main reason JK put werewolves in HP in the first place. I think you have done a great job showing the prejudice that is held towards these people and the level of living conditions they have to take because it is the only thing available to them. Although the main theme of prejudice in HP was the purity of blood, there seems to be a whole lot more sigma towards werewolves. I mean, at least muggle borns can get jobs.

I am glad that Marcellus stayed with his brother, otherwise Romulus probably would have ended up like his girlfriend: dead. It must have been a strange thing to have such un-judging children come from a very prejudice, high up family. I like how you put in the odd mention of their family, allowing us to see the backstory by not really telling us it... if that makes sense at all haha. As my English teacher says "Show, don't tell!" And that is exactly what you did. Kudos to you.

Good job jumping right into the story. There was some introduction, but you have already set up an impending conflict and I can't wait to find out what happens because they are refusing to join the Death Eaters. I feel like the landlord isn't really that bad, but rather he is under a lot of pressure from Voldemort to give him more followers. He is probably being threatened and that is why he has to make people pay their rent. He seems like everyone liked him before and I'm a little surprised that no one (no other characters that is) realize that it isn't really his choice to change his ways.

Great start!
Mary

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for reviewing!

A lot of this is based off of little snippets we heard from Lupin, and I'm writing this as pre-Wolfsbane potion, which would make it even more difficult for them.

With how un-prejudice they are... I think that Romulus easily could've ended up like that. Part of his turn-around was meeting and falling in love with Avril, and another was (obviously) becoming a werewolf. Marcellus was always a sweetheart, though.

I'm glad that you see that Bennett isn't all bad! He's a very... complex character and I don't spend as much time with him as I wish I could.

Thanks so much for reviewing, I hope you keep reading!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #9, by toomanycurls Goodbye, Love

29th May 2014:
Okay. I'm here.

I read this yesterday and couldn't think of a way to review this without a lot Mature rated words repeated over and over. HOW COULD YOU DO THIS?!? I'm more angry than sad.

I'll try to focus on other stuff during the review.

It made me giggle that Romulus was, um, interested in the companionship Maria after transforming back. Good thing Marcellus is keeping him focused on getting better. I felt so bad for Maria as she struggled through being clean. For a few moments I thought she was the one to get it. Drug withdrawl is extremely hard and I appreciate the humanizing view you put on it.

Another thing you did well in this chapter - BESIDES KILL ONE OF THE NICEST PEOPLE IN THE STORY - was show Marcellus' shock and inability to deal with her body. Ugh, your description of her body was just too much (in the it was brilliant and it made my skin crawl).

Aisling kept it together remarkable well when they found her body.

I'm really glad she had a well attended funeral. People like her touch a lot of lives.

...stupid feels...

It was good to see Aisling's grief kind of peak while he was speaking at her funeral. I mean, it's understandable that he'd be in shock before but it really becomes real at someone's funeral that they're not coming back.

Maria's relapse was completely understandable here. Sad but, yeah. I don't have feels left for her drugs right now.

THIS CHAPTER WAS AMAZING AND SAD. I didn't cry though. :P I just got angry, very angry. Will we find out how she died - er, who killed her? WHEN ARE YOU UPDATING!?!

-Rose

 Report Review

Review #10, by marauderfan Goodbye, Love

27th May 2014:
Omg the feeels. This chapter was so intense and so sad! I totally didn't see it coming. But all the signs were there, like if I'd paid attention to the chapter title. And how the beginning of the chapter was just so happy, too good to be true, as Marcellus reflects on how much his friends mean to him.. And how Nadia is essentially the equivalent of Angel. I should have been prepared for this! BUT I WASN'T AND IT WAS SO SAD. PLEASE TAKE THE PIECES OF MY HEART AND STITCH THEM BACK TOGETHER. :(

It was sad enough about Nadia... it is always the good people who die young, and she was so good. But on top of that, everyone else starts fighting and running away and agh Nadia would hate it! She really kept all these people together. I was disappointed in Maria for returning to Euphoria - she had been doing so well and was almost free of it, and had the support and care she needed - she'd been through SO much only to regress and have to do it all over. But I can understand why she went back to it, as much as I wish she didnt. It's a hard enough time for her as it is. And then Romulus decides to run away again! Nooo but they could help each other! Ahh I just want to shake them! So many feels here. It's so sad and frustrsting and just agh. I feel so bad for Aisling. Well, all of them really, but especially him. I am sending virtual hugs to each and every character in this story. Even Bennett, for whom I have previously professed dislike, but I was impressed with him here. Way to do the right thing Bennett.

GREAT chapter, Georgia! Bravo.

Author's Response: Ah I haven't responded to this yet?!? What happened?!?!?

It's okay that you didn't see it coming! I can tell you that after this chapter, the plot does a lot of breaking off from Rent, so... don't feel bad!!

I did make the first bit of the chapter particularly fluffy, didn't I... Well, I want them to be happy for at least a little bit!! And I can assure you that there was about a month of happiness between the last chapter and this one that wouldn't be too interesting to devote much time to.

Yes everyone fights and it's horrible! Just the way I like it!

I'm really glad that you saw a shimmer of good in Bennett. He's a really interesting character, and I'm not gonna get much chance to explore him, but I will if I can!

Thank you so much for such an amazing review!! I can't tell you how much I appreciate it.

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #11, by toomanycurls Leap of Faith

26th May 2014:
Thanks for doing a review swap!!

Can I just say that I'm scared of the next chapter? Also, Sarah might strangle you if you make me cry first. :P

I love how you describe Maria fussing over her hair and looks while not even being dressed. That's a pretty typical order of operations though. I always get dolled up before finding my clothes. Her worry about what Romulus will like is adorbs. The early stages of love are always spastastic (I'm just making words up here) and cause people to worry about stuff like that. Romulus' nervousness is also quite sweet. :D Girls over analyzing what a boy does - oh man, totally been there (still go there actually).

...I'm so happy they're bonding over nosebleeds. :P haha, I'm glad they have marietta to push them a bit closer together.

How did they get a muggle at their table? Oh well, at least Marietta is taking advantage of the situation. hmm, it is interesting to get Marcellus' view of her and a potential hook up. I still hope they get together in some capacity.

How are they paying for the dinner? With Greyback's money?

I love the way you've fast forwarded past a bit of their relationship. It works really well iwth the idea that Marcellus was writing about it. It's kind of meta.

I can see why all the sappy love would get to Marietta. three is a crowd after all

Dude, party foul to Romulus - he can't get all in depth on Maria's family then lose his cool when she asks about Avril.

it is nice that he's trying to talk her into getting off euphoria. I'm interested to see how that goes.

This chapter was epic!!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hello!! Thanks for the swap!!

I won't say anything about the next chapter :). It did make Rumpel cry, but that's not too difficult to do these days.

Maria and Romulus are both so rough around the edges, but then when they're together they sort of turn into high-schoolers in love.

The muggle (Daniel or David? I'm like Marietta. I can't remember his name) is Marietta's date. She met him... at a club. Somewhere.

No, they don't take money from Greyback. Nadia's financial situation is... not great. She was attacked when she was about 23. Before then, because of her really high level of charisma, she had a surprisingly well paying job for someone her age. She lived with her parents until she was 21ish, so she didn't have many expenses and was able to save up a lot. Since she's become a werewolf, she's been able to hold down a muggle job. She can also get her landlord to be more lenient about her rent because she's such a good tenant otherwise. With Aisling, while he doesn't have a job, people try to give him money for teaching when they can. So... they really CAN'T afford dinner, which Maria points out. Nadia is just so driven to be helpful that she spends more than she has to make other people happy.

I struggled for a long time to figure out how to jump ahead (chapter 7 is in February, chapter 9 is in May), and then all of a sudden I remembered that I have a lovely narrator!

Romulus has issues. Clearly. He tries, but he's not gonna be the perfect boyfriend

Thanks for such a nice review!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #12, by toomanycurls In Cups of Coffee

22nd May 2014:
Hello!!

Thanks for doing a review swap. I haven't had much time for them lately so it's nice to do afew while I can.

I love that you spend almost half the chapter talking about how long it had been since Marcellus got lucky. And I love Marietta's lifestyle choices. I especially appreciate that she differentiates between romance and sex. :D They had such good chemistry while talking - I'd like to see more happen there.

I'm so excited for Romulus to figure out his feelins for Maria. DON'T KILL EITHER OF THEM YET. I NEED TO SEE THEM IN LOVE OR CLOSE TO IT. Then you can kill them. ;) Romulus' scene in the flower shop was amazing. I loved his candor with the florist and that she gave him a free rose. While it was a small gesture, it really showed a nicer side to humanity.

Oh, wow, Nadia paying their rent is huge. I don't trust Bennett - you should definitely off him. :D

Great chapter!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hey!

Marietta is a character. She's really fun to write, and I love writing she and Romulus.

I can't make any comments about who may or may not be killed or injured at any point.

Don't trust Bennett, but try to see that he's also in a tough place. I wouldn't want to be friends with him, though.

Thanks for such a nice review!!


 Report Review

Review #13, by marauderfan Leap of Faith

19th May 2014:
I sympathise with Maria about curly hair. Sometimes it just does what it wants and there's nothing you can do about it. :P

Why is this girl putting on makeup before she puts her clothes on? That's pretty much a guarantee she'll get lipstick all over the inside of her dress or something. Silly Maria, this is why you don't take Euphoria.

lol at Marietta yelling at them to hold hands. Good on you, Marietta. Also, her interactions at this party are lololol. I love her.

EEE YAY ROMULUS AND MARIA ARE SO HAPPY ♥ Maria's back story is so sad though!! :( I'm glad Romulus is helping her through her Euphoria addiction. And even though he's not telling her about Avril, I still think he's come a long way. Maybe later he'll tell her.

Awesome chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing!!! It really means so much to me that you're sticking with this story.

I have the opposite problem. My hair will NEVER curl. So I just have a pixie. It's easier.

Maria doesn't need your social rules. She's her own woman, yo! And she's scatterbrained because of constant, decade-long drug abuse...

...oh...

Marietta is so fun to write. I can't get enough of her. There may be a spin-off one-shot about her somewhere in the future.

ROMULUS AND MARIA YAAY!!! Making them happy makes me happy. Everyone's back story is a little sad, to be honest. And Maria knows who Avril was and what happened to her (they might've met a few times, I honestly don't know). Romulus had made a lot of progress, though.

Again, thanks so much for the review!! It means so much to me.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Rumpelstiltskin Leap of Faith

12th May 2014:
Yay!

I'm not sure what to say that I haven't already. Let's recap, then ^.^. Maria's excitement over the dinner party was awesome, and although Romulus may not have minded if she didn't remember to dress, it's probably a good thing that she did! The dinner party made me laugh, you have some great dialogue in there -- especially with Marietta and Daniel (David? :p) and Romulus and Maria. It was great to hear some of Maria's background, and wonderful that Romulus is attempting to help her with her Euphoria issue. The short section about Avril did reveal some tension that still exists in Romulus' personality (bum, bum, bum...). And I think you did a fabulous job!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: Yay!!
I love that you review. It makes me happy, I need to catch up on reviewing the stories that I beta for. Aka I need to be more like you.

So thank you!

Marietta is fun to write, if you haven't figured that out yet. This whole chapter was nice to write, even though it took me forever. A little fluff now and again is good for the soul!!

Thanks again!!!
-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #15, by teh tarik Feel the Heat of the Future's Glow

7th May 2014:
Hello Georgia! I just found out your name was Georgia, hi! :D I'm here for the first of your prize reviews. Congratulations again for winning the challenge, by the way!

I've never heard of RENT, actually, but I still enjoyed this chapter very much. I think you've got an incredibly intriguing start! I've never come across another fic on HPFF which focuses on the werewolf community through the perspectives of OCs, rather than major werewolf characters like Fenrir or Remus. And for a first chapter, your characters are remarkably well-developed; I got a good sense of Marcellus and Romulus's upbringing and current status and living conditions, as well as their relationship to each other. The brothers are very close, and it's especially heartwarming to see Marcellus stand by Romulus and follow him and continue to be supportive. And Romulus on the other hand is just as caring and protective toward his younger brother, despite his condition. He could so easily retreat into himself and become brooding, self-loathing and isolated from those around him, which I feel Remus Lupin is sometimes prone to do. But Romulus is lovely. I felt a twinge of pain at how he must feel, constantly worrying that during one of his transformations, he might end up hurting innocent people, and worse of all, his own younger brother. I really love the relationship you've built between the two brothers (I always love reading about sibling relationships!), and I can't wait to see how this develops in future chapters.

Another great thing about this opening chapter is how quickly you establish the atmosphere of tension and danger with the First Wizarding War. (I also think it was a great idea to make allude to Remus starting Hogwarts in September; it really situated your story firmly within canon timelines without being too obvious). I like how you show that alliances can shift in times of war, e.g. Bennett's pressuring his tenants to pay him rent and to join the ranks of the Death Eaters. Bennett is interesting, because even though I don't know how he was before the war, he seemed like a fairly benevolent person who provides werewolves with a place to live without demanding payment. But it appears that there's a drastic change in his character. I'm keen to read on about how the war will affect individual characters and change them.

Hairy Snout, Human Heart is an absolutely wonderful title for a book providing a sympathetic view on lycanthropy! And the way you began the story with the italicised bits is an interesting stylistic choice, and I can't wait to see how that develops.

Brilliant start, Georgia! I enjoyed this chapter and I'll be back with more reviews. :D

-teh

Author's Response: Hello!!! Yep, I'm Georgia!

Thanks! I know that everyone says it about every challenge, but I had so much fun writing for yours. It really made me think through plot and I went out of my comfort zone.

Okay. I'm almost as big of fan of Rent as I am of HP, so I'm going to have to try to not give you a long ramble and just say:
It's a play written by Jonathan Larson based off of the opera La Boheme (yes I'm writing a novella based off of a play based off of an opera). It's about a group of bohemians living in NYC in the 90s, many who are HIV positive. Jonathan Larson died suddenly the night before its Off-Broadway premier. He posthumously won a Pulitzer Prize in 1996, as well as multiple Tonys. I've seen places that JKR meant to use lycanthropy as a symbol for HIV/AIDs, so that's where this came from.

If you ever do want to see it, there is a filmed live on broadway version, and it was turned into a movie (with six of the original cast members) in 2005.

That was the short Rent Rant.

I'm always so nervous about this story, because it's pretty much all OCs. One canon character has an important and recurring role (spoiler alert that's not really that much of a spoiler: it's Fenrir), but other than that it's just cameos to fit the story into a canon universe.

I do work hard on these characters, though! I think that they're easier for me to write because I know the character that they're based off of so well. There are differences (Like my Marcellus is much more emotionally open than his parallel Mark, and later Marietta is introduced, who is a mix between two Rent characters), but it's a little bit like writing HP canon characters, just with a LOT of wiggle room.

Romulus... he's... he is pretty angsty and brooding, but he also is really protective, and... he's... complicated... I don't remember how much of his background is in the first chapter, so I don't want to give anything away, but... he's... complicated. Also very fun to write.

Yay!! I love writing the relationship between Marcellus and Romulus. It only gets more complicated from here, but... yeah. I really love writing them. (That's another difference. In Rent, they're not brothers, just close friends).

The tension from the War comes and goes, but I try to always make it present, and it ends up playing a large role in the plot. I'm glad you liked the note about Remus. Establishing a timeline was exactly what I wanted to do.

Bennett is a character to watch. Rumpel, by beta, hates him, but he's... also complicated.

Hairy Snout, Human Heart is actually semi-canon. I believe it's mentioned in a note that Albus wrote in the Tales of Beedle the Bard. The stuff that's italicised is part of the book. It's a little strange, but it doesn't creep up too much so it's usually used for narration over periods of time and self-reflection for Marcellus. There's one or two times that there are letters, which get italicised, but that's usually clear because of the greeting and salutation. There's also flashbacks, but I don't remember if those are italicised.

WOW THIS WAS A LONG RESPONSE I'M SORRY.

Thanks so much for this review!!! I'm really glad you liked this, I hope you continue reading!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #16, by jessicalorewrites Feel the Heat of the Future's Glow

4th May 2014:
Hey!

So this isn't my usual type of read. I typically opt for Marauders-centric works in this era. But I surprisingly found this very intriguing! I feel like it is going to offer an alternative view on the First Wizarding War that Rowling has yet to expand upon, and I think you will do the story justice.

It is well written and your characters seem to be quite three dimensional thus far. Providing I have time, I think I will come back and continue to read this :)

Thanks again for such a lovely read,

- Jess xo

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for checking this out!

I did feel strange labeling this as Marauders Era because none of the Marauder characters are in it... but it starts in what would be their first year, so after lots of bugging people on the forums I decided that the Era just means time period.

I work really hard on character development in this story, so I'm really happy you thougt they seemed good.

I hope you do continue, but no hard feelings if you don't.

Thanks!
-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #17, by Veritaserum27 Feel the Heat of the Future's Glow

28th April 2014:
Hi Georgia!

Here for the review swap. I chose this story because LightLeviosa spoke so highly of it and I can see why.

First off, I need to congratulate you for such an original idea. I've never seen Rent, but I have always wanted to and I think it is so creative to blend the two story lines together.

Your writing style is nearly flawless and you have a knack for putting a lot of information and back story into the writing, but still moving it along at the same time. There is a lot packed into this relatively short chapter.

I love the loyalty of Marcellus. He is such a good brother - giving up his family and nice cushy future and basically becoming his brother's caretaker for life. That is real love.

You've given us just a taste of the Dark Lord's rising. Enough to want to find out what happens next. Things are starting to go bad with Bennet joining the death eaters and turning off the heat. (By the way, I love the line about how silly the term 'death eater' is - I giggled at that).

I'm curious as to what happened to Ainsley. I'm guessing nothing good, it is dark times, after all.

I also like the guitar. It is a nice touch and brings a bit of humanity to the werewolf, letting us know that they are more human than monster.

Overall, I really liked this story! Nice writing style!

Beth (Veritaserum27)

Author's Response: THIS REVIEW IS SO SWEET YOU'RE SO SWEET.

You should see Rent. There's a movie, and while it's not as good as the play (I saw it a few years ago when three of the original cast members revived their roles and I'm not ashamed to say that I was so excited I cried).

This was a first chapter that did have a LOT of backstory, so I'm glad you didn't find it overwhelming.

Marcellus is very much a Hufflepuff and I love him and the person who plays the role that his character is based off of is one of my favorite people in the world.

The werewolves really are mostly people. To see what happens to Aisling you'll just have to read on ;)

Thanks so much for such a nice review!!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #18, by marauderfan In Cups of Coffee

28th April 2014:
Hello! Sorry it's taken me over three weeks to read this, but I should be better about staying up to date with reading now that I'm no longer travelling.

The quote in your chapter summary is one of my fave quotes from Rent!

Omg, yay! I'm so happy for Marietta getting her article published! The conversation she and Marcellus (and that poor unsuspecting woman) had in the cafe was pretty hilarious. :P Marietta is awesome in her filter-lessness, and I loved the contrast between her loud, strong personality and Marcellus' embarrassment and discomfort with being the center of attention.

I know I shouldn't be giggling at this but the part where Romulus is looking in the mirror and angstily reflecting (lol) on how long his hair is and how it covers his eyes I'm brought to mind of Spiderman 3 when he's really emo and angsty. I hope Romulus is less ridiculous than this.

Oh good, he's buying flowers for Maria! Or, well, obtaining flowers. Yay! I'm glad he's getting out of his little self-pity-party (which, admittedly, his pity party was understandable with his girlfriend dying and all, he deserved some time to be sad. But he's allowing himself to be happy again which is good). Romulus: 1, Spiderman: 0.

LOLOL Nadia showed up during Marietta's little speech hahaha. Aw! Nadia is such a good person, covering for Marcellus and Romulus. But where is Bennett going? Nowhere good, I expect...

Great chapter, Georgia! As always this is a great fic! :D

Author's Response: This review made my day!!! Thanks so much!!

Chapters seven and eight are written and going through the many rounds of editing, so I'm hoping to be able to update about every two/three weeks until it's finished.

Big goals. Little me.

I went to look at which quote I used, and I just noticed that I somehow managed to misspell peace. Pease. What? I need to go change that.

Marietta is... interesting. She's really fun to write, I'm never really sure what she'd going to say or do next, haha. I also really like writing the friendship between Marcellus and Marietta. Sometimes I actually enjoy writing friendships more than romances.

You can feel free to giggle at Romulus. His angst is... yeah. He's also really fun to write, because he's so moody. You can't really blame him, though, after the year he's had.

Yes! Flowers! He's working on getting out of his little funk. You'll have to see if he succeeds ;)

I don't think Nadia would be surprised by anything that comes out of Marietta's mouth, honestly. And yes, she's a very good person. I like her very much.

Err... where is Bennett going? Uhh... good question. I have no idea. He's probably going to meet with Death Eaters, but this particular meeting isn't important.

Thanks so much for reviewing! I really can't tell you how much it means to me that you read this!!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #19, by keyty In Cups of Coffee

21st April 2014:
Nooo where's the rest? Update soon please!

I'm glad this was a happier chapter. I was so afraid something bad was going to happen! But it didn't. Does that mean it will in the next chapter? Now I'm really scared. But I like Marcellus and Marietta's little coffee date. It was sweet. They got to talk about stuff that regular people talk about, they were young again. And I love the detail you have with her, like the bit about the lipstick on her tooth.

I also love the bench metaphor for Romulus's love life. It's kind of sweet, Avril sitting there with Maria. Hopefully he starts to open up to her more, because he's right, when your life span gets shorter, you've gotta live quicker! He needs to experience happiness, not just all this misery. That's all he's been allowing himself to feel, and I'm glad he's decided to give Maria a chance. He really needs to let himself be happy. I just hope things go well between them. They both seem really intense and that could get bad quick.

I must say, I'm worried about Bennett's meeting. It seems that the only interests he has in mind are his own. I bet if the financial advantage was switched, he'd defend his tenants in a heartbeat. Maybe they should start investing in the lottery... Hmm how funny would that be? They could just 'buy' Bennett back. :P

Anywho, another lovely chapter! Can't wait for you to update and scare me with more foreshadowing ;)

Author's Response: Hello once again!! The rest is... somewhere...
Chapter seven will be up within the next two weeks.

I'm so happy that you're scared. And I'm also such a horrible person, but I don't even care. I will tell you that the next chapter will be the fluffiest chapter in the whole thing.

Romulus has a weird love life. Technically, Bellatrix should be somewhere on that bench because they were supposed to get married, but I choose to ignore that.

Romulus... has issues. He's starting to understand himself better, though. It's funny that you say "when your life span gets shorter, you've gotta live quicker" because the tagline of Rent, which this novella is based off of, is "No Day But Today".

Again, Bennett is complicated. I'm not sure if his issues will ever really come up in the second half of the novella, but... yeah. I think of him a little bit like Regulus, in that he made some bad choices and now he's a little lost.

Thank you thank you thank you for such amazing reviews! You're the best!!


 Report Review

Review #20, by keyty Reason Says I Should've Died Three Years Ago

21st April 2014:
Oh, yay! I'm glad Romulus is being less stubborn. He needs to realize that brooding will not help anything. He would be so much easier on himself by going out and doing things, distracting himself, instead of laying in bed and thinking things over and over.

But wow, Greyback is just so awful. It sucks that these people have been put in this situation. They have no money, and they are being shunned from society. It's only natural for them to take the first chance they get at any kind of money. But it's just so terrible that they made Portia kill that child. And it's just worse that they'll have to go to the funeral from afar. At least Bennett told them about it, but I don't think that's an indication of his attitude getting better any time soon.

*sigh*

I wish I could blame you for their hard times, but this is completely realistic (unlike my story where I just bring tragedy upon my poor OC). Everything that happens makes complete sense, and I honestly couldn't expect anything better for the times they're living in. You're doing a great job of portraying the life of werewolves during the 70s. This is just such a great story. You deserve a pat on the back!

Author's Response: Yay!! Hello again!!

Romulus... man, he's so difficult and angsty and frustrating. He'll get a little bit more agreeable. One of my goals with this novella is to create characters that are really seriously flawed, but somehow you're rooting for them are care about them anyway.

But yeah... Romulus... he was wakes up on the wrong side of the bed. Every day. His bed is just on the wrong side.

Greyback is really awful. He does not fit in with the earlier statement of wanting to create characters the reader cares about. I hate him, you can hate him, we can all just agree to hate him.

Bennett is... complicated. Obviously, from these character's POV's, he's one of the villains, but he's also stuck between a rock and a hard place. I might eventually write a one-shot or short-story about him.

Hmm... I wonder if you'll keep the same attitude of not blaming me for their hard times wink wink wink.

I literally just pat myself on the back and now I'm getting stares and I just sort of pretending it was an itch. Thanks so much for that.

But really, thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #21, by keyty I Can't Control My Destiny

21st April 2014:
Hi! It's been so long! I'm so glad I'm back!

I've missed reading this! You are just such a lovely writer. There were so many interesting twists in this chapter. I like that you're including their backstory. I think sometimes people get so focused on the plot that they forget to reveal important information from the characters' pasts. And their parents' involvement with Bennett is also really interesting. I'm curious to see how that'll pan out.

And then there's poor Marietta. It must be devastating to have to go through all of that. First she finds out her father is the head of the Black family, then she's attacked by werewolves. At least he's helping them out, but still, it must be really difficult. This may have been answered in an earlier chapter, but it's been so long since I've read them (sorry!). Did Marietta inherit any magical powers? If not it must have been even more shocking to her to have to go through the whole ordeal.

Even though there wasn't much plot movement here, I still love this, because it's still really interesting. It makes me more curious to read on -- so I'm going to do just that! :)

Author's Response: Hello!! Thank you so much for these reviews, you're so nice!!!

For these characters, their pasts really dictate who they are, so I thought it was important to pretty much dedicate a chapter to it.

Oh man, Marietta would be so mad if she knew you said "poor Marietta". For her, even though she's had an exceptionally rough life, I think she'd be bored if she were normal. If she was actually raised a Black, I think she would've gone crazy. Yep, all these characters are magical (other than ones specifically said to be muggles, like Walter. Who isn't in the chapter, I don't thin. But whatever). The reason they rarely do magic is because A-Maria and Marietta were turned before they turned 11, so they never went to Hogwarts and B-At least in Marcellus and Romulus' building, they're not supposed to use magic so that the Ministry doesn't know all the werewolves are living in one place.

(Because I imagine that if the Ministry noticed a high concentration of magical activity in a muggle neighborhood, they'd investigate)

Yeah, something I could've done better is get the plot moving faster. These first four chapters are a lot of character development, and then the plot moves incredibly quickly in the second half.

Thanks so much for the review!! I'm gonna go respond to your other two :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by LightLeviosa5443 In Cups of Coffee

8th April 2014:
So, I guess I'm going to make your day even though you're expecting this review. But that's okay.

I really liked this chapter. I liked how enthusiastic Marietta was, and how Romulus made some rude comments then rolled over back to sleep. Guys do that far too often. It's so infuriating. Marietta in the coffee shop was so funny. Oh my gosh, if I was that girl I'd be so horrified!!! That'd be so awful!! I'd be the color of a tomato.

I really love this story, can you finish writing it? :P Though I know what's coming up and I'm terrified. Woah.

Why is this review so short? It looked longer when I typed it in word. I can babble for a bit if you want. What am I even saying. Okay. I'm done. :P

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Yay! This did make my day! And it's okay that it's short. I don't mind.

Even though Romulus has all his issues, he's still totally a guy:p

Marietta is... she's... I love writing her, but I think I'd hate being her friend. Or maybe I want her to be my friend. I haven't decided yet.

Thanks for the review, dear!


 Report Review

Review #23, by LightLeviosa5443 Reason Says I Should've Died Three Years Ago

5th April 2014:
BvB!

This chapter was so sad and so lovely. I kind of like knowing what to expect, but not knowing what you'll put in, and what you won't. I really loved this chapter, though.

I thought it was sweet the way that they had meetings, and how everyone was very close together. Like a family (as you put it in the story). Ugh. It was just all so cute. I really liked how Marietta already put in the story, and the way Maria joked about it. Though I'm still peeved with her. I get that Romulus has problems that he has to sort out, but when he acts like he does I just get so frustrated! There are people that love you dude! Spend time with them!

Lovely chapter hon!

xoxo Sarah

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing!

Although... you review a lot, so you probably won't see this...

I put in some stuff, and not some other stuff, and then I added some stuff. ;)

Romulus really does need to sort himself out. You should give him a talking to!!

Thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by marauderfan Reason Says I Should've Died Three Years Ago

25th March 2014:
I saw you updated this ages ago and I've only just had time to get around to reading it! *brings a plate of chocolate chip cookies straight from the oven to apologize for being such a bad reviewer*

Aah, that part about Portia was so sad! I can't imagine how it must have been for her to be that desperate and then tricked into something as horrible as that. The support group is wonderful, though; it must help a lot for them to be able to talk and understand each other. Hopefully one of these times, Marcellus will be able to convince Romulus to go, it'd do him good.

Nadia and Aisling!! :D Aaa so cute. Love it.

How sad for Marietta that they won't publish her article - the fact that she didn't finish school doesn't mean she's not intelligent! I'll bet they didn't even read it! :( At least she has an opportunity to publish it under Marcellus' name though. Good for her. Don't give up, Mariertta!

And yay, Romulus agreed to go to a meeting and actuallly be there, rather than creeping outside the wall. I think it will help him. At least I hope so.

Another awesome chapter! Keep up the great work :)

Author's Response: My last three reviews are from you, so maybe I should respond to them!! (Haha, but really, you're the sweetest!!)

Oh man. I hadn't realised how long it's been since an update!! Chapter six has been done for weeks, I'll have to get around to posting that... Hopefully I'll be posting every two or three weeks until it's completed.

...hopefully...

I really wanted to show that even though these are characters that we're meant to like... they still do the bad things that we hear about on the other side. They do kill livestock and occasionally people... they just feel horribly about it.

Don't worry about Marietta. She's way too stubborn to give up. On anything. Ever. Almost to the extent where it's a little annoying.

In the next two chapters, we'll get to see non-angsty Romulus. Nearly... cheery Romulus! Who knew that could happen... ;)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. It means so much to me!!


 Report Review

Review #25, by Rumpelstiltskin Reason Says I Should've Died Three Years Ago

21st February 2014:
Oh, I haven't loved all over this yet!

Marcellus is still the amazing brother he always is! Romulus is slowly coming around, it seems. He's at least been sneaking to the meetings :D. Bennet I always give the short end of the stick to...I know he's in a rough situation. I mean, the dude's married to Greyback's sister! Aisling and Nadia are perfect for one another and I LOVE THEM SO MUCH! I'm so glad that they're moving in together!

Er, yeah, that's all :D.

You did a wonderful job, of course!

-Rumpel

Author's Response: I... haven't responded to this yet!

WHOOPS!

Need to write... need to write... tomorrow I won't even have a car, so I'll just get up and WRITE!

I wish Marcellus was my brother. I'd totally be a werewolf if I'd get Marcellus as a brother... (sigh dreamily...)

Thanks for the review, even though you probably won't see this response...


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>